Zen Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Zen.

Recent Customer Ratings for Zen

  • Satisfaction
    4.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4.5 stars
  • Speed
    3.9 stars
  • Reliability
    4.2 stars

Based on 288 customer ratings since 2019-07-09 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Zen   Read our Zen buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

119 Customer Reviews for Zen

  • Showing page 1 of 3, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Excellent service from an ISP that allows extra functionality.
Great that you can use your own router.

Reliability has been very good, and speeds are consistently the maximum my line allows.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Caerphilly Zen  
Ben with Zen for years and I will never leave them as long as they carry on as they are. Great and personal service
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Woking Zen  
Since we hired this account around 2 months ago Internet never works properly experiencing up and downs or not Internet at all. We hired this company because the good reviews but I don't know they got so many reviews when customer service do nothing to help us with our issue. We are paying a bit more to get a good adsl but seems not worth the money.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Zen  
Absolutely godawful. Don't believe what they say about their customer service - we've been treated like mugs, told off for complaining about glacially awful (and very expensive) service (upload speeds are such that it takes an entire day to send a 30MB file). Avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Zen  
Have been with Zen for well over 10 years now and have never had a problem, their service is faultless.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Barnsley Zen  
We run a very small charity that rehomes ex racing greyhounds. We took over the shop that supports the kennels last Oct 2019. Zen had already been installed in the shop by the previous trustees of the charity. We decided we could no longer afford internet and contacted Zen. They said as we were tied into them till March 2021 we could not leave the contract. So we lived with it. Now due to Corona Virus we have had to close the shop and therefore loose our income. Again I spoke to Zen and asked for a payment Holliday. Again I was told no. I asked, what would happen if we defaulted on our payments ( we don't have enough in the bank to pay for kennel fees and food after march) I was told they would pursue us through the court's. **** you, Zen
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Moffat Zen  
Not massively pleased with customer care from zen. Been without internet at home for a month, so was excited about my activation date for zen was last Tuesday. Been ringing them everyday since then, been told I’d be called back a few times for updates and only been phoned back once.

They offered to top up my data so I’m not cut off last week, this week different story and won’t be offering to top up my data as the top up was for me to use for emergencies and will only do £20 a month for customers.

I lost my job 2 weeks ago due to corona virus and am unable to work from home (I have been offered work but unable to accept due to having no internet at home) I have online gaming subscriptions and streaming services which I am now paying for and unable to use.

Why do zen not offer dongles or to make sure customers have adequate data to last. Would have been good for zen to offer to pay for a unlimited data top up for the month last week (it’s only £5 on top of the most they said they could stretch to) they have literally no idea when I will be activated as it is with openreach to fix, but they refused. Not a happy customer at the minute, if I had been granted the unlimited top up for my phone I would not be ranting now.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester Zen  
Best ISP out there!

Constantly hearing reports of BT outages on the estate - Zen has never once failed.
Customer support is second to none - don't waste your time looking around, Zen are THE dudes!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Milton Keynes Zen  
I have switched to Zen from TalkTalk nearly a year ago and I'm really glad I did!!! What a difference. Beaing with TalkTalk for a few years I had to reset my modem few times a week. Finally I had to replace their SuperRouter with my Netgear to prevent resetting every few days. With Zen's Fritz Box I didn't have to reset my router at all since I moved to Zen. Speed is concistent, no reason to fault it at all. I wouldn't move to other provider unless there is a someone else offering faster FTTP broadband to my location. Thank you Zen.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Consett Zen  
Very happy with Zen. Previously with BT and Plusnet. Plusnet was unreliable but Zen has been rock solid, fast, and the router has more features and better range than my BT smart hub 1. Also Zen promise no price increases.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London Zen  
I called Sales on Saturday 08 Feb (@ 16:20), to discuss coming over to them from BT. Live chat wasn't available.
I was on hold for 15 mins before I hung up.
Hello Zen, this is the Sales line, a customer's first contact. Wake up! I can't even sign up with them, even if I wanted to, as no one answers the phone.
Shame really, as they had generally good reviews.
(Really, all your agents are busy on other calls on late Saturday afternoon at 16:20, when you close at 17:00? c'mon! There was no one there!)
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
Chichester Zen  
Unreliable company who take no responsibility for their own failures. Signed up to internet on the 21st with an agreed upon start date of 28th. Come the 28th no internet and an appointment booked for the 30th. Come the 30th no internet and another appointment booked for the 3rd with someone needing to be home (despite the fact we can’t work from home because no internet). Continually blaming others and delaying. Been over two weeks without internet. Stay away from this company
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Zen  
I have been with Zen 12 years as they always amswer the phone and help me with any issues unlike the other companies who usually make you sit for hours on an answering machine, Cannot rate highly enough !
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
HIGH PEAK Zen  
Mixed experiences would be as generous as I can be. The broadband speed I’ve enjoyed varies day-to-day from highs of close to 100Mb to, this evening, 2Mb. Have been on package since 2017, the cost of which to new customers is £9 per month less, yet my tariff has not been reduced, a clear contradiction of the spirit - and the letter - of Zen’s price promise. Very disappointing service from a provider that, for the first few months of the relationship, I couldn’t fault.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Zen  
We had massive ongoing problems with unstable internet connectivity that was driving us demented. Between Zen and ourselves and a LOT of effort from openreach we finally go the bl. thing sorted out. So theough perseverance we all got there in the end.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London Zen  
6 months in, I can't fault them for anything. Smooth process, great router (top of the line and awesome range), good speed and reliability (no dropouts ever!) for a reasonable price.

For me, peace of mind does worth it!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Leeds Zen  
From being great 5 years plus ago, the service has gonE to same old tripe and poor support of other providers.
Looking forward to ditching the guff Openreach RESELLER offer for 4g or 5g.
Seriously unless you need a static ip for a particular reason-
ZEN ARE NOT WORTH THE PREMIUM
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
uk Zen  
Two contracts for two separate properties. Zen have charged a £20 connection fee for a rolling monthly contract which is advertised as 'no set up fee.' That basic broadband has been working.
The second contract is for fibre. I have just measured speed six days into this contract - 0.10mpbs. I have stopped watching online film for the second time in 30 minutes and the second evening since Zen took over my service. At other times, speed reaches 40mpbs.
With property 1, my router would not connect to Zen. It had connected with my previous ISP (not supplied with that ISP so not tethered to them/blocked). Zen had no answer. It connected after I switched off my mobile phone and gave up with tech support.
Both connections took in excess of 5-6 hours to be up and running.
Will be wasting work time again tomorrow - ringing Zen. Feel foolish for believing Which's recommendation.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Derby Zen  
At the moment experiencing problems with connection and speed due to Openreach network and nothing to do with Zen itself. Always professional and helpful. Best customer service ever. Reviewers that have given a poor rating for this company are doing so because of the fault of the Openreach network and not do not understand that Zen are reliant on Openreach to resolve some technical problems, they own and operate the Network that Zen customers use to access Zen Broadband. I would always recommend Zen above any other provider and if you look at all the reviews and awards they have receive you will see that they provide excellent customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Highlands Zen  
Terrible. We've hardly had stable internet for more than a week. Support is non existent. We are paying handsomely for superfast broadband. We are getting nothing like what was promised. Just terrible.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
SW London Zen  
Signed up for broadband and line rental, got the line rental but broadband was never connected.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Essex Zen  
We left Virgin for Zen 10 days ago. Signed up for the 66 and are regularly getting 60. No outs, just a good reliable service. The router (Fritzibox) works well, and Zen fixed with Virgin to transfer our landline number. Very happy.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London Zen  
So i have been with zen for a while now and i noticed that my speeds were starting unusually slow, 0.5-1.5 mbps and i thought that i would just leave it as there maybe something wrong with my line. A few months later and i contacted zen to find out that my speed has been capped at 2 mbps, and we were not told about this, and now apparently after calling on thursday i have to wait till tuesday for the cap to be removed, pretty outrageous, paying £50 a month for 2 mbps
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester Zen  
Having just had an email problem sorted I feel that I must commend this company for offering good value and a properly functional service. I have just had a problem with my email solved, although problems rarely occur. The helplines are always manned and if they are busy you get a callback very quickly. Their employees are helpful, knowledgeable, patient and they speak good English which you can understand. Having tried several other broadband providers, I am fairly certain that I shall stay with this one - you do get what you pay for and the ethos seems to be that of giving good service. (And I am pleased to say that no-one to date has asked me how I am or told me to have a nice day!)
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Huddersfield Zen  
Been with Sky for the last number of years maybe should have stayed as this was slower I'm on the unlimited 2 (70Mbps) Download speed is 50Mbps My Sky was faster Disappointed with Zen....
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Craigavon Zen  
I've been trying to transfer from BT to Zen for exactly one week and have got absolutely nowhere.
I placed an order with Zen who told me that they were not able to process it as there was an open order on my line.
Since then I've been batted back and forth between BT and Zen - BT telling me there is absolutely no open order on my line, Zen telling me that there is.
In order to speak to anyone at Zen Customer Services you typically have to wait between 10 and 30 minutes or more to get through.At the moment of writing this I have been on a call to them that has now lasted 41 minutes.

If this is a foretaste of their customer services I think I would rather not bother with them.
Meanwhile what I think of BT is unprintable.
  • Customer Service
    1 star
London Zen  
I've tried the main broadband suppliers, and despite reasonable speeds, the reliability has always suffered. I ended up involving the ombudsman with both Virgin and BT to get out of contract with them.

I've been using Zen for 2 years and NEVER had a problem. Speeds are fast, but most importantly for me, the line has never dropped as I rely on it for work. It's not the cheapest, but it is certainly the best.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Inkberrow Zen  
Hi, Needed to upgrade my current broadband to Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) and was unable to do so with my current provider. Was limited to who I could switch to , but having used Zen Internet in the past, this seemed an easy decision. (Sorry BT you are still more expensive!)

Called Zen sales team on 29-May, decided on the package & within one week BT OpenReach had installed new fibre line to my property and I am now using Zen's supplied Fritz!Box router and getting 69Mbs download/ 18Mbs upload. Very happy customer!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Truro Zen  
I was thrilled with Zen to begin with! We are in a very rural position & always had trouble with poor service from all our suppliers(no high speed or fibre in this vacinity)!
At first we could guarantee our connection but at Christmas we had breaks in high usage times & thats continued. Not as bad as the other suppliers but wet evenings, bank holiday evenings. Saturday nights & this morning around 8 until now 8.45. No WiFi.it is the most expensive I have had in 15 years no phone with it £35 A month & I was willing to pay while it worked.. but what now??
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Ash Zen  
Stay away from these guys...worst experience, and bad costumer service...for months now we are going back and forth about them wanting to charge us installation fee twice...as when first installation was scheduled the person never showed up even though I took a day off and waited for him all day...even manage to get the guys number through costumer service that day when it was getting late...texted him, said he is coming "back" then just disappeared and never answered further messages later, anyway they asking for a charge for rescheduling...guess it's their way of making money with a scam.. meanwhile after hours and hours spent on the phone and while us paying the monthly fee regularly and the first installation fee (for nothing) I still can't use internet at all... really disappointed
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Acton Zen  
Really good customer service, not the cheapest, but also not out there to cheat you with 12 month offers like the others.
Have been with Zen for 18 months now. Had a problem about 8 months in. I called up Zen (was answered quickly by a real person) and they organised for BT to come out and give me a new service for free. They did all the chasing for me!
I feel confident if I call Zen will answer my call and help me sort the problem. After years with the main suppliers this is like a breath of fresh air! Go Zen!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Haywards Heath Zen  
Terrible speeds. 1mb average a night when advertised at 20mb. They boast having good tech support but they were unable to fix my problem. This took several months.

Very poor customer service and embarrassingly dated web portal.

Incredibly expensive. £27+ a month! They will not let me cancel contract without charging me.

They were good once but now are absolute overpriced garbage.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Zen  
Top marks, excellent provider the fibre works anytime of the day and always at top speed the router is the best I’ve had more powerful than some very expensive purchases.
One happy customers
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
South Woodham Ferrers Zen  
Unfortunately, I've had a really bad experience with Zen and had read good things so have been really disappointed. I signed up for a new FTTP service 1 month ago (3 weeks before the activation date) to give Zen enough time to get it ready for the activation date. I had information to say the service was activated and ready to go on the assigned date - great! However, nothing worked. I contacted Tech Support and was sent around the houses a few times before they realised the line was provisioned at the incorrect address and now I'm being told the line needs to be 'cancelled' before a new one is activated and that could take until the end of the week. This would be 1 month+ since ordering. The tech teams seems to be doing what they can but the communication hasn't been good and I'm also concerned about my data as I got a call from an Openreach engineer planning a visit who had the incorrect address for me.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Buckinghamshire Zen  
Expensive, slow speeds, poor customer service, very dated web interface.

Was told Fibre wasn't available when moving house and they put me onto a broadband contract for 1 year. After checking sometime after Fibre is available but through other providers.

Rather than roll my contract over when moving house they started new contract locking me into it.

My new Broadband connection was under 2mb download most evenings. I was promised 20mb. Worked with tech support for almost a month and did not find a solution.Gave up.

The web portal for managing your services and account is extremely dated.

Rude customer service on phone. On one occasion the lady ended up saying "I cant help you mate".

They advertise themselves as putting customers first but clearly this isnt the case anymore. Avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
UK Zen  
We moved to ZEN,after trying AOL,Tiscali,TalkTalk(The worst ISP!),and
Plusnet(BT Group!).
I have been checking review sites for years,to try to find a decent ISP provider,and recently deceided to go to ZEN,as Plusnet contract had finished.
Plusnet are always telling you how great they are yet they forget to tell you they are a BT Group company!
I contacted BT years back,to say that I will never ever go to BT again,and then joined Plusnet,and found out they are BT!
I signed-up for up to 66MBs,yet only got 40MBs,so got them to reduce bill.
Service has gone down numerous times,and their customer service is up and down.
Compare this to ZEN,which gave me a speed of 77MBs,and 19MBs upload,before I signed-up,and I get it!!!
Their customer service has been awesome both times,and they have been really quick to answer,as well as efficient.
The first time,I rang after I had connected up to their service,to get the dodgy Wi-Fi deactivated,as I use cables,and the second to add a service.
Both time's they were very friendly,and actually knew what they were doing,too!
We have had no issues,and speed has been 100% reliable,too.
They have been by far the best ISP,and
they are providing the service,we want.
They are more expensive,but I don't put cost first!
Life is about choices,and I drive a V8
American car,and eat organic,too!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Spaxton Zen  
My BT Broadband and Landline contract was due to end 22/2/19 and having done some online research I felt that it might be time to try a new provider. Having looked at a number of different reviews, Zen seemed to be an attractive option with excellent reviews for speed, service, support etc

The timeline is as follows:-

10/2/19 Contacted BT to confirm end of policy for 22/2/19

10/1/19 Contacted Zen to order Broadband / Landline package with a planned activation date of 22/2/19 (correct date)

11/1/19 Received email from Zen confirming activation date of 25/1/19!!! Contacted Zen to change date to agreed 22/2/19. Was informed that they would check recorded phone conversation to clarify

21/1/19 Received Zen Hub from DPD group

8/2/19 Received email conforming activation date of 22/219 (correct date)

8/2/19 Received email containing username and password for hub

8/2/19 Received letter from BT confirming 22/2/19 as leave/transfer date

19/2 11:24 Received email from Joel explaining that landline transfer rejected
19/2 12:15 Received email confirming landline transfer
19/2 13:30 Received email that activation will occur 5/3/19!!!

Having given Zen 6 weeks to organise a simple transfer of landline and broadband they have failed.

Following the last email I spoke with a representative who explained that there was an issue with this case. I took my dog for a walk, pondered the situation and decided that the service and support so far had raised a number of alarm bells and I rang back to discuss the case with the same person. After ringing your number and going through the options (of leaving Zen etc) I then was then kept waiting for 30 mins before I could get through (see enclosed picture)

I did read a reply to one of your complaints that you offer a call back facility, unfortunately this is not true and while i was holding on for 30 mins this was never offered…..only a 'please hold all our team are busy’.

It takes years to build a good reputation and they have ruined theirs in less than 6 weeks.

Avoid
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Mortlake Zen  
Greedy and inflexible.
Easy enough to setup, however when i was forced to cancel due to a relocation they required the full length of the contract INCLUDING line rental to be paid in full for a service they are no longer required to provide. I can see no reason particularly for the line rental charge as BT would not even be taking a fee after cancelation.

They estimated a fee of £250-300 just for the remaining 6 months.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Greater Manchester Zen  
Easy enough to setup, however when i was forced to cancel due to a relocation they required the full length of the contract INCLUDING line rental to be paid in full for a service they are no longer required to provide. I can see no reason particularly for the line rental charge as BT would not even be taking a fee after cancelation.

They estimated a fee of £250-300 just for the remaining 6 months.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Manchester Zen  
Combination of bt and zen = very poor service
charges for installation go up as service goes down, zen don't appear to care, service nothing like it used to be.Bt never cared
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Edinburgh Zen  

Loading...

  • 119 reviews, showing page 1 of 3, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk