Zen Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Zen.

Recent Customer Ratings for Zen

  • Satisfaction
    4.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    4.4 stars
  • Speed
    3.9 stars
  • Reliability
    4.2 stars

Based on 277 customer ratings since 2018-07-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Zen   Read our Zen buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

94 Customer Reviews for Zen

  • Showing page 1 of 3, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I've been trying to transfer from BT to Zen for exactly one week and have got absolutely nowhere.
I placed an order with Zen who told me that they were not able to process it as there was an open order on my line.
Since then I've been batted back and forth between BT and Zen - BT telling me there is absolutely no open order on my line, Zen telling me that there is.
In order to speak to anyone at Zen Customer Services you typically have to wait between 10 and 30 minutes or more to get through.At the moment of writing this I have been on a call to them that has now lasted 41 minutes.

If this is a foretaste of their customer services I think I would rather not bother with them.
Meanwhile what I think of BT is unprintable.
  • Customer Service
    1 star
London Zen  
I've tried the main broadband suppliers, and despite reasonable speeds, the reliability has always suffered. I ended up involving the ombudsman with both Virgin and BT to get out of contract with them.

I've been using Zen for 2 years and NEVER had a problem. Speeds are fast, but most importantly for me, the line has never dropped as I rely on it for work. It's not the cheapest, but it is certainly the best.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Inkberrow Zen  
Hi, Needed to upgrade my current broadband to Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) and was unable to do so with my current provider. Was limited to who I could switch to , but having used Zen Internet in the past, this seemed an easy decision. (Sorry BT you are still more expensive!)

Called Zen sales team on 29-May, decided on the package & within one week BT OpenReach had installed new fibre line to my property and I am now using Zen's supplied Fritz!Box router and getting 69Mbs download/ 18Mbs upload. Very happy customer!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Truro Zen  
I was thrilled with Zen to begin with! We are in a very rural position & always had trouble with poor service from all our suppliers(no high speed or fibre in this vacinity)!
At first we could guarantee our connection but at Christmas we had breaks in high usage times & thats continued. Not as bad as the other suppliers but wet evenings, bank holiday evenings. Saturday nights & this morning around 8 until now 8.45. No WiFi.it is the most expensive I have had in 15 years no phone with it £35 A month & I was willing to pay while it worked.. but what now??
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Ash Zen  
Stay away from these guys...worst experience, and bad costumer service...for months now we are going back and forth about them wanting to charge us installation fee twice...as when first installation was scheduled the person never showed up even though I took a day off and waited for him all day...even manage to get the guys number through costumer service that day when it was getting late...texted him, said he is coming "back" then just disappeared and never answered further messages later, anyway they asking for a charge for rescheduling...guess it's their way of making money with a scam.. meanwhile after hours and hours spent on the phone and while us paying the monthly fee regularly and the first installation fee (for nothing) I still can't use internet at all... really disappointed
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Acton Zen  
Really good customer service, not the cheapest, but also not out there to cheat you with 12 month offers like the others.
Have been with Zen for 18 months now. Had a problem about 8 months in. I called up Zen (was answered quickly by a real person) and they organised for BT to come out and give me a new service for free. They did all the chasing for me!
I feel confident if I call Zen will answer my call and help me sort the problem. After years with the main suppliers this is like a breath of fresh air! Go Zen!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Haywards Heath Zen  
Terrible speeds. 1mb average a night when advertised at 20mb. They boast having good tech support but they were unable to fix my problem. This took several months.

Very poor customer service and embarrassingly dated web portal.

Incredibly expensive. £27+ a month! They will not let me cancel contract without charging me.

They were good once but now are absolute overpriced garbage.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Zen  
Top marks, excellent provider the fibre works anytime of the day and always at top speed the router is the best I’ve had more powerful than some very expensive purchases.
One happy customers
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
South Woodham Ferrers Zen  
Unfortunately, I've had a really bad experience with Zen and had read good things so have been really disappointed. I signed up for a new FTTP service 1 month ago (3 weeks before the activation date) to give Zen enough time to get it ready for the activation date. I had information to say the service was activated and ready to go on the assigned date - great! However, nothing worked. I contacted Tech Support and was sent around the houses a few times before they realised the line was provisioned at the incorrect address and now I'm being told the line needs to be 'cancelled' before a new one is activated and that could take until the end of the week. This would be 1 month+ since ordering. The tech teams seems to be doing what they can but the communication hasn't been good and I'm also concerned about my data as I got a call from an Openreach engineer planning a visit who had the incorrect address for me.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Buckinghamshire Zen  
Expensive, slow speeds, poor customer service, very dated web interface.

Was told Fibre wasn't available when moving house and they put me onto a broadband contract for 1 year. After checking sometime after Fibre is available but through other providers.

Rather than roll my contract over when moving house they started new contract locking me into it.

My new Broadband connection was under 2mb download most evenings. I was promised 20mb. Worked with tech support for almost a month and did not find a solution.Gave up.

The web portal for managing your services and account is extremely dated.

Rude customer service on phone. On one occasion the lady ended up saying "I cant help you mate".

They advertise themselves as putting customers first but clearly this isnt the case anymore. Avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
UK Zen  
We moved to ZEN,after trying AOL,Tiscali,TalkTalk(The worst ISP!),and
Plusnet(BT Group!).
I have been checking review sites for years,to try to find a decent ISP provider,and recently deceided to go to ZEN,as Plusnet contract had finished.
Plusnet are always telling you how great they are yet they forget to tell you they are a BT Group company!
I contacted BT years back,to say that I will never ever go to BT again,and then joined Plusnet,and found out they are BT!
I signed-up for up to 66MBs,yet only got 40MBs,so got them to reduce bill.
Service has gone down numerous times,and their customer service is up and down.
Compare this to ZEN,which gave me a speed of 77MBs,and 19MBs upload,before I signed-up,and I get it!!!
Their customer service has been awesome both times,and they have been really quick to answer,as well as efficient.
The first time,I rang after I had connected up to their service,to get the dodgy Wi-Fi deactivated,as I use cables,and the second to add a service.
Both time's they were very friendly,and actually knew what they were doing,too!
We have had no issues,and speed has been 100% reliable,too.
They have been by far the best ISP,and
they are providing the service,we want.
They are more expensive,but I don't put cost first!
Life is about choices,and I drive a V8
American car,and eat organic,too!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Spaxton Zen  
My BT Broadband and Landline contract was due to end 22/2/19 and having done some online research I felt that it might be time to try a new provider. Having looked at a number of different reviews, Zen seemed to be an attractive option with excellent reviews for speed, service, support etc

The timeline is as follows:-

10/2/19 Contacted BT to confirm end of policy for 22/2/19

10/1/19 Contacted Zen to order Broadband / Landline package with a planned activation date of 22/2/19 (correct date)

11/1/19 Received email from Zen confirming activation date of 25/1/19!!! Contacted Zen to change date to agreed 22/2/19. Was informed that they would check recorded phone conversation to clarify

21/1/19 Received Zen Hub from DPD group

8/2/19 Received email conforming activation date of 22/219 (correct date)

8/2/19 Received email containing username and password for hub

8/2/19 Received letter from BT confirming 22/2/19 as leave/transfer date

19/2 11:24 Received email from Joel explaining that landline transfer rejected
19/2 12:15 Received email confirming landline transfer
19/2 13:30 Received email that activation will occur 5/3/19!!!

Having given Zen 6 weeks to organise a simple transfer of landline and broadband they have failed.

Following the last email I spoke with a representative who explained that there was an issue with this case. I took my dog for a walk, pondered the situation and decided that the service and support so far had raised a number of alarm bells and I rang back to discuss the case with the same person. After ringing your number and going through the options (of leaving Zen etc) I then was then kept waiting for 30 mins before I could get through (see enclosed picture)

I did read a reply to one of your complaints that you offer a call back facility, unfortunately this is not true and while i was holding on for 30 mins this was never offered…..only a 'please hold all our team are busy’.

It takes years to build a good reputation and they have ruined theirs in less than 6 weeks.

Avoid
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Mortlake Zen  
Greedy and inflexible.
Easy enough to setup, however when i was forced to cancel due to a relocation they required the full length of the contract INCLUDING line rental to be paid in full for a service they are no longer required to provide. I can see no reason particularly for the line rental charge as BT would not even be taking a fee after cancelation.

They estimated a fee of £250-300 just for the remaining 6 months.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Greater Manchester Zen  
Easy enough to setup, however when i was forced to cancel due to a relocation they required the full length of the contract INCLUDING line rental to be paid in full for a service they are no longer required to provide. I can see no reason particularly for the line rental charge as BT would not even be taking a fee after cancelation.

They estimated a fee of £250-300 just for the remaining 6 months.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Manchester Zen  
Combination of bt and zen = very poor service
charges for installation go up as service goes down, zen don't appear to care, service nothing like it used to be.Bt never cared
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Edinburgh Zen  
I feel ZEN are losing their way and blaming the customer rather than taking on Openreach. They also charge new customers less for the same service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lymington Zen  
Terrible service the last 6 months, had our account cancelled in error, various faults reducing our 80MB to 1-6MB. All caused our company serious problems and still not resolved!
Prior to this we had been a happy Zen Business customer for years and used to recommend them to many, now I'd advise you avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
Manchester Zen  
It was good until our contract had finished. We simply started receiving higher bills. There was no contact from Zen to inform about higher bills or offer of a new contract. When we decided to move to another provider we C ouldn’t. Zen have done something with the phone line which prevented our new provider to complete transfer. I was helpless and could not resolve this issue, even during multiple follow ups. Altogether I have regrets about paying premium for a year to get such an awful end of contract experience. Avoid! It was truly awful.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London Zen  
switched to these guys as they have great reviews. I thought it would be worth paying double the going rate (£43.99pcm unl fiber) for a great connection but what I got was NO CONNECTION for a week, then it got fixed (£22.50 credit given). A few weeks later more problems, then fixed. finally in month 10 and more issues with loss of internet so decided to switch as had enough. Guess what they want 2 x £43.99 and a part month as its a 12 month contract. I assume the contract also says they will provide me a stable internet connection?
AVOID ZEN unless you like paying top money for a poor connection. all they seem interested in is ££££££
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Harrogate Zen  
Extremely Disappointing - Avoid!

Zen are very expensive so I wrongly assumed we would get a much better service than we did from Sky. Zen’s service speeds are even slower.

Since the very beginning we have had problems with Zen Internet.

We are getting nowhere near the Typical download speed they advertised. They still won’t let us change providers without huge early termination charges despite speeds that are much slower than promised.

Save yourself loads of hassle and avoid Zen Internet!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
UK Zen  
Absolute top-notch services provided by Zen.

I live in an area where it can only be serviced by a small number of providers, and being on BT takes some years off my life.

Decided to take the plunge based on some reviews and have not regretted ever since.

Admittedly the price is slightly more pricey than BT, but the quality of the service, both in terms of the internet and also customer, has been fantastic.

Renewing contracts take literally minutes and everything is clearly documented and good to go.

Really happy with the service and could not rate it anymore highly.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London Zen  
I have been a Virgin Media customer for broadband for nearly 10 years, and a BT customer for landline for 35 years. Both are expensive, and the wireless performance of Virgin's 'Super-Hub 3' router, is anything but super. Virgin refused to accede to my request for a reduction in their latest annual "much-more-than-inflation" price increase, so I began to look for an alternative, and mentioned it to various friends. To my surprise, Zen, a 'local' (NW England) firm was very highly recommended by two friends - particularly in respect of service quality. I did some research, top-notch service being my my highest priority, followed by price. I must admit that Virgin have been pretty good at service, but the reviews of Zen are outstanding. When I used Zen's website to find out how much a combined landline/broadband contact would be, I found to my amazement that I would save £25 per month in the first year and £18 in the second year. Virgin had regularly offered to provide me with a dual service, but this would have meant another cable coming into my house, which I didn't want. Being a retired IT person, I phoned Zen's Technical Dept. to ask them various questions, and was impressed by the replies I received - technically savvy, polite, friendly and quick. My Virgin cable broadband achieved 90Mb/sec download speeds on speed-check apps, but I never got anywhere near this in real life - obviously the speed of routers which are negotiated in getting data to me can adversely affect everyday speeds. By switching to Zen Fibre, I now get 40MB/sec, and HAVE NOT NOTICED ANY PRACTICAL DIFFERENCE from Virgin in day-to-day use. The Zen router's wi-fi is in an entirely different league to Virgin's - I can now stream to my TV without any problems. The Zen router (a Fritz!Box) arrived when promised and is pre-set - all I had to do was plug it in, connect the leads and everything worked first time with no problems. My landline has just swapped to Zen - again, no problems at all. It will take a few weeks to get the BT and Virgin DD's sorted, with refunds and so-on, but I am relaxed about that. So, this long review is, intentionally, just about as positive as I can make it.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Preston, Lancs Zen  
DISGRACEFULLY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE! Not only do you have to wait hours to get through to anyone, but they are RUDE and condescending when you finally do! The last person I spoke to sounded like he was playing games with a colleague after I called up to find out about a ‘fault’ - which by he way has been going in for nearly 12 hours bow. I was literally laughed at and told it’s not their problem and it’s an open reach problem. But the open reach status website says there is no current fault. Awful service that I assumed would be good because of a review by Which. Even signing up was a nightmare and took weeks to get connected. Will be changing provider immediately after contract expires!!! AVOID!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Zen  
Can't give less than one! Horrible service from the word go. I was with Virgin all these years and made a mistake of switching over to Zen purely based on Which? review. Installation engineer did not know he is coming for installation. He rather thought it is for repair. When he arrived he found Zen had not delivered BT openreach modem to me. Modem for unlimited ultrafast 4 fibre optic service? He had to go and get it. Took whole day to install. In the end he said everything is working and left When I tried to connect, realised Zen had not spoken to BT to activate the service. Contacted Zen. No one in Zen seems to know what was happening. Children and myself left with no internet for days. Could not do their home works. Speed- rubbish, compared to Virgin. Thinking of leaving the contract and going back to virgin at a significant cost. Horrible tech support; don't seem to know where the problem was. AVOID ZEN!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Zen  
Moved address in July, asked to move over fibre optics service. Advisor told me they would need to check if fibre is available after £70 line rental instalation. Begrudgingly agreed, wasn’t aware that once they installed the line and realised they couldn’t run fibre optics, would only offer ADSL which i never wanted. Went with Zen for fibre. Could have gone with Virgin Media who previously cancelled my early termination charges as they was unable to contunue provinding fibre optics service. Zen charge me a total of £250 to cancel early, was totally not negotiable and failed to meet any deadlines of call back and a lot of the time not call back at all. When i finally got through i was repeatedly told “we have systems in place which mean we can’t do anything about the charges”. I’m rating 1 star as paid for a service i was no longer using. Therefore, meets minimum score in all areas.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southend-on-Sea Zen  
Zen terminated my telephone and broadband without notice and they don’t know why - blaming openreach - promised to get it up and running in 24 hours - still waiting 6 days later. Terrible customer service neither mixed messages from different people - I don’t believe them. It’s good when it works - their systems are terrible and they can’t cope with a problem. Lost loads of business and many disgruntled residents without broadband - instead of an apology and compensation they sent me a bill for a service I don’t have - can it get any worse.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Grange over sands Zen  
I switched my small business broadband & phone services to Zen IT about 3 months ago. The customer service has been top notch! It is so refreshing to speak to customer service agents who (1) speak in a clear, understandable manner and (2) listen to what you say before riddling off a script. My broadband service dropped this weekend and the service & response time were brilliant. I understand services have issues once in while - the thing that makes the difference is the manner in which a company fixes those issues. Zen IT handled my call with speed, clarity, efficiency and friendliness. The entire service call was stress free. I would recommend Zen IT to anyone.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Knaresborough Zen  
For myself its always the customer service that counts, lets face it all of the ISP's apart from Virgin use BT lines.

I have found out via a Subject Access Request that the staff have been lying to myself about not already having the account details on the screen in front of them, as they have been making entries on my account notes despite claiming that they have no access to the account until I answer the questions - which by-the-way do not provide security which I think according to the GDPR and the ICO they are supposed to do. The questions that are asked are mainly common knowledge questions, questions whose answers are in the public domain - I am sure that my landlord and his son know where I live, what my name is, and have a telephone.

I would say that if one can write entries on the account notes and the account notes are part of the account, then access to the account is enabled.

Also, if they do not know who they are speaking with over the telephone, its amazing how they are able to pin-point the correct account to write the entries on - every-time.

I also noticed that the notes were inaccurate, and appeared to be written with the intent of keeping the call centre staff's job at the expense of the customers reputation ie he did this, he did that, but I was great - this type of thing.

Last week I had five of their representatives/agents slam the telephone down on myself, while I was telling them why I was calling. Five calls on the trot. Which is when I sent an email.

I have given them sometime to answer my email to them, I have not heard a even a peep, so now I have come here to report it - so to speak.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
mid west wales Zen  
I was almost deterred from moving to Zen because of the reviews here. I so glad I went ahead. No issues at all with the change over. No drops in Internet. So pleased to be out of BT contract and the years of stress they caused me. Now I’m simply paying the same amount each month. No price hikes. No random charges. Peace of mind at last.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
East Midlands Zen  
Most of the time reviews you read on the internet are the result of someone's ire causing them to try to find a way to pay back the harm that a company has caused. But I, personally, can't speak highly enough of the peace of mind these guys give me whenever I call them.

From set-up to moving house to cancellation and renewal of contracts, every time I've had an issue with them, I've given them a call to be answered by a lovely Northerner within 3 minutes, and had all my concerns put aside.

Speeds have been a pretty constant 6-7MB/s download for a year now, with only a week here and a week there of wobbly slow-down that was always corrected.

In a 2 person-household the prices are roughly £25/month each for their top-tier speeds, but given the reliability and the actual customer service, it's worth the extra spend compared to someone like Virgin with their constant drop-outs, throttling, and customer service outsourcing.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
London Zen  
I joined Zen around 2013 since then the service has become diabolical.
The Tech support staff are morons who seem to read from flow charts, when you call due to lost connectivity to the Internet they blame YOUR equipment, router, Ethernet cable, micro filter, computer - its never their fault always yours and despite buying a new router, micro filters and Ethernet cables the last time, they still weren't happy, the first guy failed to diagnose an trunk outage in my area affecting many residents all on different providers. The second failed to walk me though setting up a new router I had to rush out and buy as the first guy insisted that my router, micro filter and Ethernet cable was likely the fault, then I was asked despite telling the second guy (all this in the same day) that I had had a stroke and heart attack and was struggling physically, to get down on the floor to struggle to unscrew a phone socket on the wall to get at a test socket - only to be told he advised me to unscrew the wrong one, so then I had to trace wiring to the feed socket in my garage on the other side of the house then he asked me to unscrew that one and try a phone in it, so had to go all the way back to the other side of the house to get the phone but no that wasn't enough I was asked to go and get my router so had to go back to the other side of the house to get that. struggled to plug the phone or router into a live test socket hanging off my garage wall and the second tech guy decides its an outage in the area as both phone lines and internet by this time are down so books an engineer, telling me that if I don't pay £120 to get a private Broadband engineer out to check my internal wiring I might be asked to pay BT £140 - £178 for the call out I was incensed.
Called out a Broadband specialist costing £120 this was on top of having to rush to a local computer store on the insistence of the first tech guy and spend £75.91 on a router, Ethernet cable and micro filters, the Broadband specialist asked the neighbours if they had any connectivity and they didn't after he had tested the internal wiring.
I called a PC repair guy out as it was suggested by the first Tech guy it may also be my computer, so that cost me a further £50 and all of this time I am losing income from booked in clients on the busiest night of my working week as I need the phone and internet to run my business.
The PC repair guy said he migrated away from Zen Internet as he found them a rip off and completely incompetent and he had had the same problems as me.
I phoned to lodge a complaint and a 3rd tech guy was smarmy and condescending, utterly rude and disrespectful, so I really did lose my temper by this time as he tried to justify the actions of the previous two tech guys, as if I was at fault.
I then demanded that a manager called me on Monday one between 11 am and 12 noon as I started work at 12 noon and at 12.54 pm on the Monday someone called Nick called claiming to be a manager - he was only their supervisor and he was equally obnoxious and unhelpful so I have asked for my complaint to be escalated above him, he refused to reimburse me for the costs I incurred from the Broadband specialist call out and PC repair man call out and only offered to pay for the router claiming that none of the tech guys recommended me calling out a Broadband specialist, but fact is I would never have l thought of doing that as I never knew they even existed until the 2nd tech guy suggested it, so they endlessly back their staff and have zero respect for their customers. The support is diabolical amateur and useless, no 24/7 tech support either yet I pay stupid money for this crap service - £67.67 per month for one phone line with broadband on and one without and no more than 5.85 mbps download speed and 0.84 mbps upload speed, diabolical customer service and they know I am self employed and if I am late paying a bill their Rottweiler in Billing spams me with nasty threatening emails with an insipid tone and they wonder why you lose your cool and tell them that you are far from happy with their service. Threaten to leave them and in a smarmy voice they rudely tell you you will never find as good a deal elsewhere, well I will do this time as I am done with X+Zen Internet they are a disgrace and should be closed down I am far from happy - my advice - steer well clear utter rip off utter rubbish and crap rude unpleasant experience.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Holmeswood, Rufford, Ormskirk Zen  
What a waste of time this provider has proven to be.
Alright they phone back when you report a problem but at the end of the day I still have an unreliable connection- Avoid at all costs.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southend on Sea Zen  
I came to Zen on the advice of a colleague, and for about two years, they were brilliant. Over the past six months, the connection is dropping every two days - sometimes more often. When I ring their support line, I have to listen to their equivalent of 'have you tried switching it off and on again?'.

Then they go through the big list of 'troubleshooting' that I need to try - most of it designed to kill time so that either the connection comes back up or else the customer gets bored and waits for the connection to come back up.

And then when you complain, the response is 'broadband isn't a guaranteed service'. Is there any other commercial service where we'd accept this cr*p? How about I say that my payments aren't guaranteed? How quickly do you think the service would be cut off?

Utter rubbish.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Zen  
I've been with Zen for 10+ years. I've never minded paying the premium for their support/service until now. They've turned into a company that just shuts cases even though faults clearly remain in order to hit SLAs and Goals. They pass off as much blame or potential risk to the customer as possible when faults are clearly diagnosed. They'll do whatever they can not to pass off issues to BT Openreach, where I assume they are bonused on passing off as few issues as possible. What was once a great ISP has turned into the new "We're just here to make money." Real shame.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Maidenhead Zen  
I currently have a problem with the broadband. The engineers at Zen have been brilliant. Not only have they patiently gone through changes with me, but they have even diarised and called me back a few times to see how I am getting on. There are very few companies that will do that IMO.
A bit thank you Zen technical team.

Even the sales team are good
I asked them if I might upgrade to fibre and they said that, rather than take my money, they didn't think that the speed would be significatnly better so recommended that I didn't upgrade. I am not confident that many other broadband sales teams would say that.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Huntingdon Zen  
We switched to Zen 12 months ago based on (a) their great reputation and (b) faster speeds. Initially we had problems with advertised speed - not as promised. Eventually resolved. Over the last ten days we have lost our internet connection twice (first time three days with a BT Openeach engineer turning up unannounced). Now again yesterday. Each time we are asked to accept liability if it is our fault otherwise they won't investigate / resolve. Obvious from the engineer's visit on Saturday that there is a problem with the exchange. A refund for days lost is irrelevant - it is fact that we cannot use the internet when we need and having to revert to other ways of access ...... not at home. We will be switching. Great customer service does not outweigh getting the problem fixed quickly. No previous issues with Sky.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
NW5 Zen  
I switched to Zen in mid February as I was fed up with BT price hike. Since the 2 week cooling off period ended, every weekend we have had constant losses to our connection at peak times. Zen keep saying that there is interference on the line, even though drop outs only happen at weekends. I would not recommend them and will go back to BT next year.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Truro Zen  
We have been with Zen for many years and they used to be very good. For the last 12 months the service has been useless and almost unusable.
Speed test today: 1.23 Mbps download, and 0.36 Mbps upload.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southampton Zen  
This company was good.....things change.....it takes ages to get through on phone....sometimes the are unhelpful...and the telephone answering system is not always operating....Zen do not answer emails...or in my case they have not
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
london Zen  
You don’t get what you pay for.l with Zen I don’t believe.

The old adage that you get what you pay for is just not true any more in my experience.

Zen used to offer superior customer service. And I can’t even figure out if that is true, or had ever been true.

Is it case that Zen started out when everyone else was terrible and they appeared good relative to the rubbish competition at the time?

Whichever it is, they are now so far behind the competition.

I have had excellent experiences with some of the big providers who provide decent routers, fantastic customer service and want to keep your business through good pricing and a professional customer service.

Call Zen today and you are met with arrogant technical support. And you are always met with Zen’s favourite one-liner “have you got another router”.

After 13+ years with them it’s time for me to leave.

If I were to meet anyone considering Zen I’d tell them to save a shed load of money. Cancel your BT line and move to one of the big providers that have fantastic offers that include line rental.

Pound for pound the service of other providers is way above Zen and their supposed superior customer service.

It just isn’t true any more from what have experienced and it’s taken me several years of giving them he benefit of the doubt to final realise it’s them, not me!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Manchester Zen  

Loading...

  • 94 reviews, showing page 1 of 3, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk