TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for TalkTalk.

Recent Customer Ratings for TalkTalk

  • Satisfaction
    2.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.6 stars
  • Speed
    2.3 stars
  • Reliability
    2.5 stars

Based on 10326 customer ratings since 2018-05-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit TalkTalk   Read our TalkTalk buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

5363 Customer Reviews for TalkTalk

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Moved from BT for lower price but unreliable connection means I'm going back to them. Plus net seem to spend more on their marketing than they do on their network infrastructure. Disappointed to say the least.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
Stroud TalkTalk  
Phone line went dead 2 weeks ago..Been with TT for along time.Eventualy resolved..Had enough with there customer service having to call,chat and repeat what the problem was numerous times.Have now changed to another provider even though having to pay exit fees..If you have problem then it will be problem!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Manchester TalkTalk  
My phone tine went down and I contacted and told them the problem No phone and no broadband and a disabled customer relying on this safety line .Spent hours trying to get help they promised to check the dead line persisted telling me to check the router Waited a week for an engineer to tell me the line was dead !!!! Avoid this company !
  • Speed
    3 stars
Scotland TalkTalk  
Compared too a lot of reveiws initial connection,speed and phone are working very well, on par with BT who continually keep bumping up their charges which is why I left them.
BUT TalkTalk customer service is chronic, for only simple enquires on two occasions I spent half an hour or more being sold things I didn't want which didn't make a lot of sense as I had only just joined them a few days earlier. Judging by the lack of comprehensible English and poor lines from the people I spoke too, I can only assume my enquiry was being shunted to various parts of the world. This is something that I recall years ago from a consumer TV programme possibly Watchdog or similar on which TalkTalk was slated for this very reason.
All I can say about this is "TALK TALK HASN'T LEARNT ANYTHING FROM THAT PROGRAMME.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Warwickshire TalkTalk  
What can i say. Im just switching it to another suplier. I pay about 30 or 35 and just right now i have 2.99Mbps. yeah!!!
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
South Kirkby TalkTalk  
Basically I had 2 accounts..one for me the other 4my son..talktalk advised me to complete change of ownership for my son so he could deal with his own acc..thurs 7thsept I ring as no device.. 2hours l8tr and after making a payment I'm advised it's cut off (No reason)..but they can't discuss it as talktalk put my son in charge of MY ACC!!!..SOME 6.5 hours of talking to talktalk..talking to miss Burnley..tracy acc manager
Sam..siya..wendy Sheila AND 4days l8tr a call from TEFFY the top talktalk MANAGER..STILL NO ONE cud change the names bk..but get this they wouldn't talk to me about it as I'm not the acc.holder...aaarrrggh...anyone would think they are Lloyds bank with their security questions etc..to say I'm flaming mad is an understatement.. the payment I made tho I categorically gave them my address..they took it off my son's acc..they won't put that right..also to have my acc on n running I'm advised to take a new acc n new phone no.?!!..some 6days l8tr of pure anger/frustration my son had to ring and say I want you to put my mum's acc back on..youve put me as owner of her acc but I'm telling you I'm not!!..THEY PUT IT BK ON!!!!..After running around punching the air n shouting in pure joy..door knocks..its a new router from talktalk!!!!..you all can gather y the 17th Sept I will own 3 accounts 3 phone no.s....WATCH THIS SPACE..#NO CUSTOMER SERVICE..#No common sense.. .#no empathy and basically it a lot of anything...TRACIE PENNELL
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
St. Austell....cornwall TalkTalk  
A lot of problems with internet connection. Several engineering visits and replacement routers. Speed is OK. Customer service is a nightmare. The calls take ages as although the staff speak English it is often difficult to understand and the superfluous chat doubles the length of conversations.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Cumbernauld TalkTalk  
I tried to remove a boost from my package. When attempting to do so on the internet I was told I couldn't do so and had to call a number. That number then had an automated message telling me I had to remove any boosts on the internet, very frustrating.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bristol TalkTalk  
very poor custumers service. I have to call and stay on the phone at least 1 hour every time I call even for a simple issue. They are very polite and keep on repeating that they are very sorry with the waiting, repeating themselves and not solving the issue. Either they are treating you as an idiot or they are idiots
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
london TalkTalk  
Unfortunately, in February 2013 I made the mistake of changing my provider for T.V.,broadband and telephone to TalkTalk. I paid extra for power cables and set up my own system as preferred by TalkTalk saving a fitting fee. The broadband and telephone was not a problem except that TalkTalk told me I had to change my phone number, I later found out this not to be true. From the moment I got the T.V. I had problem after problem with freezing, buffering etc. I completed over forty e mail complaints, had three service engineers and still very poor service. In January 2014 I decided enough was enough and cancelled my contract. They attempted to threaten me with I would have to pay the remaining money owed and tried to charge me for the box. They eventually conceded after I pointed out that they had been fined by of com in 2011 for over charging. They sent a bag to send the box back. I posted it and received a receipt on 10th February 2014, on 16th April 2014 they took by direct debit £150 from my bank account for the box. I had to raise a complaint and after providing the posting code, they conceded that they had received the box on 13th February 2014. I am now awaiting the return of the £150. So BE AWARE IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING THIS VERY POOR COMPANY.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Wirral TalkTalk  
This company is a nightmare. One problem after another. They don't look after their customers and to get things fixed at times is so lengthy and complicated. Will NEVER go anywhere near this company again. Do yourselves a favour and don't buy into the cheap and enticing deals they offer you WILL regret it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Northamptonshire TalkTalk  
Reviewing Talktalk isn't normally straight forward having been with them three times now. I have found their faster broadband very good and reliable and have no issues, however their customer care continues to have concerns with if/when wishing to deal with any concerns. I have just ended my contract with them on the agreed date yet still continued to get billed. Despite 11 x emails to complain with only two responses, eventually agreed to have a call made to speak about the refund due which did get settled correctly.
So broadband/phone very good as was price but just hope nothing goes wrong during your contract period.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Lanark TalkTalk  
Some times i can get no broadband at all and when its windy the speed is low. Overall they are ok.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Dyer TalkTalk  
Ok i am having a very mixed tie with these. Firstly was an error with my phone line internet worked but phone didn't for aprox 2 weeks after going live.

Had an engineer visit sorted it out by fixing the line it was free as the error was theirs and got credit off them for this and i received it as well.

I will admit to get it sorted it was hours of calls and getting no where.. But it eventually did get sorted.

I live in the country side the average speed by e at best is 4mbps with sky 2mbps with bt and so on. My speed is 22-26 on standard and i cant complain about that at all if it lags i do the auto test and it gets increased if drops (i test on ookla).

They take for ever to admit they are in the wrong but so do SKY, Three, T-mobile and EE..

So i get a great overall service internet wise it has only played up once since it was sorted and that was for a few minutes because hey are installing fibre optic in my area (so they say).

BUT their mobile service is terrible.

1) i put a cap of £25.00 on and i still got a bill of £70+ still arguing this now...

2) Did not give me the promised deal (double data was not added)

3) Keep taking more out my account than they should.

4) Their website is dreadful, you cant see amounts paid before your bill, it never updates the account balance in a reasonable time frame, you have to call to sort issues out.. This is a big problem in my opinion changing plan details and limitations should be available online because their call centre staff are terrible alot of the time.. A) cant understand you when you state problems B) They always pass you around and always contradict what they have stated before. C) They can be rude and very uncaring and alot of time lack basic english motor skills.

They are ok but its like walking through electric fences to get home, it can be worth it but sometimes you know there's an easier way.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
shropshire TalkTalk  
i have been a talk talk customer for 2 years. today me and my partner sat down and started to look at different providers at a cheaper option as our little family had grown. i then went on to my online account to try and find out when my contract would end knowing it would end early this year. i couldn't find it online so i spoke to an online adviser and they informed me that it ended in june 2017!!! i recently moved home and rang up to change my address so i could get my package at my new home when i did i got an asian woman on the phone which my 2 year old daughter can speak better english but at no point in the phone call did she advise me that the contract would be extended by another 18 months. i rung talk talk up straight away and they said that they had informed me and sent a letter out to my new address, if they had informed me that the contract was getting extended i would have told them to shove it up their @rse, not only that but south african who was on the phone when i asked to speak with a manager said he would put me through didn't he put my on hold and then came back and said the manager was listening in on the phone call, by this point i wanted to $hit down their necks and i had to go to work so i passed it on to my partner. before i got to work i spoke with her and she had since been on the phone to virgin media who advised us that automatically extending the contract without notifying us is illegal to which i am now taking it further.

talk talk are rubbish and i would advise anyone to stay clear, they are rude, don't listen, can't speak english and my 7month old child could manage and speak to customers and understand them better than their managers. I'm pretty sure the syrian refugees that are fleeing syria land on a beach and get a managers job at talk talk, absolutely shocking.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
HARROGATE TalkTalk  
Their broadband was fine, worked pretty well.
But when I tried to move House it all went wrong. They couldn’t activate the new service so I cancelled and now 7 months later they are still trying to bill me for broadband they don’t supply. The worst thing is when I phone them they actually agree that I shouldn’t be billed and will fix it, but then next month rolls around and here comes another bill. It doesn’t help that you can’t understand the person that you try to talk to.

Just don’t sign up with them. Even if you think hmm it’s a pretty good deal, just don’t. Go with anyone else.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Essex TalkTalk  
I spoke to LORETTA to cancel my contract she was so rude and just laughing with her colleagues at the back.asked me my address 3 times because she was not even listening to me whatever i was saying. She was too busy laughing with her friends. Disgusted with the service. Worse experience.
Will never come back to talk talk.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Smethwick TalkTalk  
RUBBISH. My phone broadband and tv freeview bill was excessive so calls very expensive. I cancelled to move elsewhere after contract ended and due to having to pay yet another month i had the choice of paying yet 2 months as I would have to cancel the cancellation in order for the provider to move me over which was very annoying when it ended in 3 days time!!! otherwise I would lose the home number and have yet another delay in the changeover. What a waste. Also changing is not that easy. So now I am left with my son home from Uni doing dissertation work and probably no broadband. I cant see why they cant just allow the changeover when I am paying an extra month and also have not cancelled the Direct Debit so are getting their money when the 3 days ends. Thanks for nothing Talk Talk. The phone line has been awful for most of the contract and TV kept buffering and cutting out films.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
northampton TalkTalk  
As a complete gamble moving away from BT and a month into TalkTalk's service so far so good. Openreach engineer arrived on time, self install of router easy and so far so good. whilst being aware of TT's Asian call centres and their preferences for online communications this doesn't really worry me. My expectations were a basic internet service and landline all of which so far seem reliable and good value. Hopefully I'm not proved wrong months down the track.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Essex TalkTalk  
Just switched to Super Fast Broadband with Talk Talk and it is appalling, the router Admin doesn't work with Chrome (they identified this issue in 2014 with other customers, its on the talk talk Community site, but they haven't bothered to sort it out since then). I work from home so broadband reliability is key, at present the connectivity drops every 5 minutes, I've been told it could take at least 5 days to fix it and by the way your option to cancel your contract with Talk Talk at short notice is 14 days OR until they say the service is 'Live', as far as Talk Talk are concerned my system is Live. The fact that it drops connectivity every 5 minutes and is unusable doesn't matter. Luckily my wife is a solicitor and she has checked the contract if they don't resolve issues within 28 days you have a get out......doesn't really help short term though !!!! When calling talk talk support, if they have logged and issue, the message automatically says call back in 5 days (72 hours) if they have logged a call, doesn't matter if you have another technical issue, if you have one outstanding issue, thats it, you can't speak to a technical rep for 5 days! The only way I've managed to get round this is to request to to speak to the cancellation team, they answer the phone, explain you are cancelling your contract, they then put you through to Tech Support. This is the only way that I find works!
  • Speed
    3 stars
Hartley Wintney TalkTalk  
TERRIBLE - disgusting customer service!!!! RUDE, FRUSTRATING AND LIE CONSTANTLY
  • Speed
    3 stars
Wigan TalkTalk  
Recently changed my bank account. Talktalk got all the details in time for the monthly DD:
- Failed to change their details
- Failed to act on the DD refusal by my old bank
- Failed to tell me my old bank had refused their DD request
- Failed to tell me my account was in arrears
- Failed to tell me they were cutting off my phone and internet

Then I called them - oh dear me. Possibly the WORST call centre experience ever! And they lied about me being able to escalate my complaint to the ombudsman.

Phone and internet are good when working but pray it never goes down or you need technical help.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Falkirk TalkTalk  
Avoid. Service is unreliable with frequent long broadband outages, and forget trying to talk to anyone. Customer service is the worst I have experienced from any company. Be prepared to spend an hour on hold to get through to someone who barely speaks English, with no product knowledge whatsoever.
  • Speed
    3 stars
Shrewsbury TalkTalk  
Truly awful customer service. I will be switching at the first possible opportunity. Completely unhelpful staff.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
cambridge TalkTalk  
Unfortunately I did not read the reviews on this site and now it's too late. TV service very poor. Waste of money signing up with TT. Sky def worth extra per month for quality service.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Manchester TalkTalk  
terrible customer service!!!!!
  • Speed
    3 stars
wirral TalkTalk  
What is promised is not received
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Exeter TalkTalk  
I am a carer for man with disabilities and mental health problems. They had rang him up and got him to agree to a mobile phone contract that he didn't need as he is with Orange PAYG which suits his needs. I rang them along with himself and after an hour while sorting this out after many departments got cut off. I then decided to email them explaining about these mental health problems where he's vulnerable. They replied saying I needed 'Power of Attorney' and to get a lawyer. We then rang up again and explained the situation together with him giving me authorization to talk to them. After him being with them for 4 years they told us his address wasn't right after both of us repeating it about 6 times! Then how is it we have all these papers from you with these details on in front of us. The representative was rude so I insisted he gats his supervisor on Manager there as I didn't like his attitude..trying to start a fight with me and to get this sorted. Firstly he said they weren't.It's only when I demanded to see them that he got a manger who continued to say his address was wrong! They said they'd sort this out but we'll wait and see. Don't have much faith as he obviously doesn't exist unless there's money to be had! Apart from this we find the broadband OK here. They seriously need to work on their customer service...also not to lie about things on your bill and how it will 'be cheaper for you'...I checked the bills and it would have cost more. I also do not like being mislead into thinking their directories are free also. One person said they are completely free and the next not. We are asking for a vast improvement in customer service and honesty which should be expected.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
West Sussex TalkTalk  
I can honestly say that Talk Talk are the worst company I have ever had the displeasure to deal with. From contradiction on prices,speeds,billing,accounts. I could go on and on. However I have allready wasted enough of my life with these people.PLEASE DON'T even consider using them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Rochdale TalkTalk  
Talktalk have managed to lose my E-mail address in the last 5 weeks, about the time of the cyber attack. You ring them up to ask where it is, and then after they appear to fill in online forms you hear nothing, presumably sent to to your old E-mail address. They also send you details about a free upgrade to that same address, that they have lost and that they know doesn't exist. You tell them that you don't want any upgrades as you already have everything, so they offer you £10........Pathetic.
The call takers are in Mumbai, don't understand English or know what they are talking about. They are cheap because the service is cheap, try another provider instead
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Cambridgeshire TalkTalk  
The worst ever! You pay for something that you never have. Then you need to keep calling them to complain and eventually they fix the issue for 1 or 2 days. then everything is back to the same rubbish! Horrible! Average internet speed (when you pay for up to 35!) is 0.8!!!
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Sunbury-on-Thames TalkTalk  
Absolutely terrible. They spent 7 weeks sorting out a fault which left me with no phone line and limited internet. Made over 15 phone calls, over 12 hours. Useless overseas call centres. Eventually got through to the "CEO'S Office", which is just another call centre in he UK, after the fault was fixed. Very unsympathetic about the amount of my time I spent chasing the issue and that had to take time off work, for a fault which they were 100% responsible for.
Got a similar response from the 3 months previous, when the same fault occurred, but fortunately it only took them 2 weeks to fix then!
Definitely the worst customer service I have ever received.
  • Speed
    3 stars
hereford TalkTalk  
Had Fibre Large package with TalkTalk. The fibre was great, got 71mb download speed and 19up. ALso had the plus TV package which was awful. The box had to be restarted every few days otherwise all the internetnet channels wouldn't work. The box was very clunky and slow in its interface. The website is a mess, they used to allow you to add and remove extras but then changed it forcing you to call if you wanted to remove anything meaning a lengthy wait for customer services who then tried to sell you something. Customer services stuck to a script and just awful awful conversational skills.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Wirral TalkTalk  
Been with talk talk for quite a long time now from when it was Tiscali. So frustrated recently when lost phone and broadband due to work carried out by openreach. You cannot explain to the tech staff at all they have a script and stick to it. Very disappointed with the whole experience. No common sense applied in my situation
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Nottingham TalkTalk  
Billing enquiry. Sent email, told will get reply within 5 days !! Tried the Chatline - three starts, three cut offs. Tried phoning, asked the same question five times and was given a speech on TV package five times. That was not my query. My love of India has now been exhausted.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Colchester TalkTalk  
TalkTalk were easy to setup with, and an engineer came in (for free) to set up the line. However, the speed we got was always on the lower end of their speed range. They said our speed would be between 7-17mbps, with a minimum of 5.8mbps. We regularly received 6-7mbps. When they raised the prices and we decided to leave for Plusnet (best offer at the time, and we could leave for free), they said we would not get a better speed, and tried to encourage us to stay if they could strike a deal. They couldn't match Plusnet, and since moving we now get on average 9-10mbps! Somewhere somebody wasn't telling the truth...so whilst they were okay, obviously they do control the line speed!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Birmingham TalkTalk  
Do not ever trust these bunch of monkeys.
They will overcharge you, somehow eg.
Text you on Friday evening saying your package for tv box (?) you ordered (not) is on its way.
Hours of complaining about wrong bills etc to different Asiatic call centres and local "managers" only disappear when you you threaten them with court action and the usual ombudsman etc bodies.
They are the scum of the earth. You have been warned. I'm not like this usually and am a forgiving christian type, but this lot deliberately use foreign, distance, mis-selling agents.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Oldham TalkTalk  
Talk Talk is the worse company that I have ever been with, the internet connection is nearly inexistent and so bad that I have to switch my phone to 3G! I pay money for no reason at all and I couldn't cancel my contract unless I payed a huge sum which was very annoying. 'Lowest price broadband company' you get what you pay for as it is cheap!
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
TalkTalk  
One of the worst customer services department ever. We had a sky sports package paid for until 6th January 2015 at half price for £15. They charged us an extra £5 in December. When we queried this they said it was an error. They said they would sort it out. Then they cancelled the sports package without us knowing until I tried to watch a football game. Got on phone and said it was our fault. Tried ringing them. They would not Listen to us, kept trying to say we cancelled when we queried extra £5 charged by them. Waste of space, as soon as contract up we are changing, have had nothing but problems with them and they DO NOT LISTEN we you speak to them, it's always the customers fault. Worst service ever
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
scunthorpe TalkTalk  
On the whole I find TalkKalk to be good value and provide a good service. Their On-line chat staff are very good, but their Customer Service staff by comparison are poor. They do not understand their product and provide incorrect information. Very disappointing performance. They let TalkTalk down.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Fleet, Hampshire TalkTalk  

Loading...

  • 5363 reviews, showing page 8 of 135, skip to page 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk