TalkTalk Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for TalkTalk.

Recent Customer Ratings for TalkTalk

  • Satisfaction
    2.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.5 stars
  • Speed
    2.3 stars
  • Reliability
    2.4 stars

Based on 11614 customer ratings since 2018-03-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit TalkTalk   Read our TalkTalk buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

5269 Customer Reviews for TalkTalk

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Looking down the reviews - below - makes interesting reading as it seems to show that the Customer Service offered by TalkTalk is steadily getting worse as time goes by. In my case the equipment has - thus far - exceeded all expectations - apart from their “System” insisting that there was a problem with my router connection - in-spite of the fact I was 'on-line' and it was working correctly at the time – it is their management of my account that is “Unbelievable” and I have now resolved to go elsewhere when my contract ends. Their Customer Service philosophy seems to be “Pay-up, Put-up and Shut-up. Treating the customer as nothing more that a revenue stream for their benefit and if you have any issues they will have a stab at fixing it but if they cant - well there are more where you come from! I had moved from Northamptonshire to one of the more “out of the way” parts to Yorkshire and TalkTalk were the only internet and telephone service providers who could offer the service I needed – and as I say it does work – so far. The main problem is/was that they insist on a ludicrously low monthly telephone call charge limit - £20 - far below even my modest monthly requirements. After I discover this six months ago this I called TalkTalk – no small effort in it self – I arranged for it to be increased to £40 – or so I thought. I had no problems until 2 weeks ago when I had a reaction the some treatment at the nearest Oncology Center – about 50 miles away and had to be hospitalized. My wife was trying to keep updated with my progress only to discover that the telephone call charge limit had exceeded £20 - not the £40 at it was supposed to be. After 24 Hrs incentive treatment at the hospital I was sufficiently recovered to call home – only to discover that my wife was in a flat spin having exhausted both her mobile battery and pay as you go credit and the phone not working – and it was only the fact that I called her that I was able to reassure her of my recovery. We resolved to sort this out with TalkTalk once I was able to return home – and that is when all of the fun and games began. TalkTalk don't make it easy to “Talk” to them - indeed that put up as many barriers as possible – and if you express negative opinions as to their service they just cut the call. Is it such a big thing to 'talk' to a customer and fix an small problem before it becomes a big one? It is now clear that they have no intention of improving their service – in-spite of their pronouncements – the best judge's of that service are after all the users as other have found also. BT – bless them – are now rolling out vast infrastructure improvements in our area so other ISP's will be able to offer a service that I need - so by the time my contract ends I should be able to move on to the service I require but not one that TalkTalk seems able to provide.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Flamborough TalkTalk  
Got internet on a 12 month contract the set-up was easy and generally the internet was ok. Sometimes a little slow at peak times however I did get the cheapest possible internet from all providers so this is probably to be expected. Biggest problem was that at random times the internet would become unusably slow/ not work at all and I had to turn the router off and on... then it would work fine. It was annoying if I was e.g. in bed and had to go downstairs to do it. Also customer services not amazing... used the live chat several times and the agent didn't really listen to me not really answering my questions properly seemed like copied and pasted answers. Not sure if it was a language issue or poor training or what but it was a somewhat frustrating process. The cancellation process is also annoying (as most of these things are) felt like they were hoping you'd mess it up so they could get a few extra quid to be honest... it says you need to give 30 days notice but what this actually means is that you need to give notice on the exact date your contract is due to end (not 30 days before) otherwise you will be charged an early cancellation fee. Then they will disconnect your internet/ broadband within the next 30 days and as long as you don't use anything then won't face additional charges (or so I've been told).
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Edgbaston, Birmingham TalkTalk  
I have just signed up for faster broadband at a cost of £4 pound a month extra on my bill, supposedly 20 mb's just checked speed is around 10mb's I live about half a mile from the exchange, pretty disappointed.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
walkden,manchester TalkTalk  
I'm writing this review only because one of your customer service team Leticia gave me such exceptional service that I feel she deserves a large pat on the back.
Extremely understanding, very professional and helpful beyond the call of duty, So a very big thank you to her and I do hope her excellent service is recognised by her managers
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Rickmansworth TalkTalk  
Dealing with Talktalk technical department is like trying to knit with fog. They must be the worst trained group of supposedly 'technical' people I have ever had the misfortune to have to deal with. TalkTalk would be better of with a million trained monkeys who just pressed random buttons at least occasionally they would get things right. I had one appointment from a talktalk engineer who identified the fault as being outside my property which I already knew as I lost my braodband while OpenReach were working outside. I then had one appointment which was cancelled because TalkTalk said thath I would need to be at home. The second appointment was not made because TalkTalk said that I would not have to be at home after all. A third appointment was just not scheduled at all by Talktalk and finally the fourth appointment was made and I was told I would have to be at home after all. However when the OpenReach engineer arrived he said there was no need for access to the property as obviously the fault was outside, which is what the original Talktalk appointed subcontractor had said at the very start. What a useless load of technically challenged phone operators TalkTalk employed. But if you want to pay peanuts you have to expect monkeys unfortunately they all seem to be incompetant monkeys!
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Oxfordshire TalkTalk  
No problems with the connection or service itself, HOWEVER...
This is the very short version: I got disconnected for being organised. Put a home move order in and cancelled it realising my moving dates had changed. This was all well in advance and confirmed. Woke up beginning of the month with no internet (the only service I use from them). After HOURS of talking online/ phone calls, being passed from pillar to post, spoke to a member of management.
She then confirmed TalkTalk had cancelled the home move order but forgot to cancel the disconnection order. They accepted it was completely their fault but couldn't reconnect me, but when I moved they could offer me a month free and a month compensation for the inconvenience. Told them to shove it.

Then a week later, thought I would have a look to see if it had been cancelled etc.... NOPE! STILL TRYING TO SORT THIS SH#T OUT
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Essex TalkTalk  
I've only ever used Talk Talk. There have been times when I've called customer service and been given excellent service. Two people were very patient with me on 2 occasions when I had a problem. Then in Nov 2014, things went downhill. I was pushed into having the TV package, even though I made it very clear I didn't want it. I was sent a set top box I didn't want, sent it back and then spent ages being pressed for it's return. Then I was charged for not sending it back.
Quite often, I have great difficulty understanding the person's accent. My hearing isn't 100%. So I decided to change provider. I read reviews for all the main ones and decided there was no point changing!
I then rang Talk Talk to tell them I wanted to renew my contract afterall. They had to put me through to another dept., About 30 min later I finally got through. The line was so bad I had no idea what the woman was saying and had to end the call. I'd been on the phone 3/4 hour.
I'll probably stay with them on the basis of " better the devil you know".
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Blackpool TalkTalk  
The customer service agents are perfectly nice, however they have a script and have to stick to it, no matter what. If you escalate, the 'supervisor/manager/whatever' has to go through exactly the same script no matter the relevance. If the script doesn't fit your call, the only way to get resolution is to go through the ceo's office.

The speed into the house/router/via ethernet is just about perfect. However, what they don't tell you is that the wifi signal on the router they provide will only give you around half speed. They cite (rightly) other signals etc reducing the wifi., however my own situation, where there is nothing that could reduce the wifi signal, means that this does not stack up.
The sales agent was misinformed, assuring me that there would be no more than a couple of MB wifi drop in speed.

A visiting engineer out and out lied.
Some Talk Talk engineers and BT Engineers are pro-actively telling the customer how rubbish TalkTalk is which doesn't help create any faith in the company.

Reliability is excellent.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
South East England TalkTalk  
Talktalk can be good but every time there is an issue with your Broadband they say it's a problem in your house! I paid extra for their fasted Broadband and get what I was paying for at the lower rate?
Not too happy about this and changing would be a nightmare!!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Edinburgh TalkTalk  
I have been with talktalk for some years and in the last few months the internet would only pick up if ur in close proximity to the router....Therefore I could not use the Internet in no other room. Customer services were trying to be helpful by going through all types of troubleshooting however this problem still remained!! They even told me I had a problem with the wifi adapter on my laptop in which I seeker advice and there was no problem with this. After much perseverance I finally decided to change to sky broadband and I must say so far the service is fantastic.....I can use Internet in all rooms of my home as one should!!
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
london TalkTalk  
My broadband with TalkTalk is fine, but in the last six months my phone service has stopped working four times. TalkTalk gave my number to multiple customers and getting it put right took a long time. My phone was down for six weeks all together and I had to phone TalkTalk over 10 times - which wasted hours of my time. TalkTalk customer service is the worst I have ever experienced. Avoid them if possible. I wish I had never taken out my contract.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Kent TalkTalk  
Firstly, I will say that I consider basic telephone and broadband services as UTILITIES, not some high tech option or accessory subject to brand differentiation or loyalty. That said, TalkTalk may be somewhat cheaper than BT (who I left two years ago) but they play fast and loose with their contracts and term variance, just like or perhaps more than other providers. Getting problems resolved contract complexities explained is neigh unto impossible. A time consuming pain.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
West Sussex TalkTalk  
Useless customer service.

I've been a customer for over 5 years an never had a problem with the line.

it started when the talktalk router HG635 kept dropping the wifi signal and then asking for the password of devices that were already connected before it dropped every few days and having to reboot the router for the wifi signal to work. When the wifi is dropped, the SSID is not visible so cannot chosen. This increased to 3-4 times a day. Before i contacted TalkTalk CS i did a few checks of my own (my job includes working with networks, routers, switches etc). We had recently bought new cordless house phones and eliminated them from being the cause by disconnected them and went back to the old phones for week and also changed channels on the router but the problem still occurred. My line is good and any device connected by Ethernet had no issues even when the WiFi had dropped, they still worked. I have network points in every room with devices connected via 16 port hub. So with this I narrowed the fault to the router. I called the CS number (0345..) which put me thorough to a utterly useless messaging service. After explaining the issue in full and what i had done to fault find, all they kept doing was line checks and of course it was fine. This went on for over 4hrs after which they said they could book a engineer which will be chargeable (£65). This is useless i thought and contacted them by the Chat window thinking i'll get more joy. Explained the issue and said i had tried the messaging service and what checks i had done to prove the fault to no avail. They did the same test with the same results (Really!!). To be fair the lady did try but the issue returned with gusto after a day. So i contacted them via the chat window again while the wifi was down thinking they have my previous call on record and could check the router (which they can) while the the problem was in effect and see for themselves. Oh no, No records of my previous contact and I had to go through the same palava again after i said the line been checked by themselves numerous times and the fault is with the router. Being that i was chatting to them using my pc in my house which is wired and i confirmed, they couldn't grasp the fact the line was good.
Again they said they can book an engineer at cost. they added that if the router had to be replaced this would be extra £60 and have to (get this..) return the faulty one back to them.
That done it for me and at this point i had enough and bought one of the bay for HG633 for £3 + postage which will arrive in a few days.

I never had a problem with the line and still don't but it seems their script only contains info about the checking of the line and goes blank if anything other than that.
I'm not expecting them to know the environment in my house but if the problem only exists in the house and only on wifi and proven, it does not take a IQ of Albert Einstein to quickly realise the fault is with the router.

Being charge to return a faulty unit on top of being charged for a replacement takes the utter Pee. If this is how they are, i may as well buy a my own router like a draytex router which i had before and was faultless and provided excellent service for the 7 years i had it
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
London TalkTalk  
Connection drops everyday but their customer service or technical dept do nothing and go over a fixed script and they do this everytime you call. The talk talk call centres in india is the most fraudulent as they sell customer details to thiefs for business. The thiefs will take personal info, name address and telephone and ring them to scam money out of the customers. Talk talk doesnt care as long as they get cheap workers so they dont have to pay full wage to workers such as in the UK. Talk talk know its happening but dont give a toss. So dont do business with them.
  • Speed
    3 stars
Uk TalkTalk  
Billy Mcneill I have just been on T/T internet chat about my account,Problem,i move address and ask to move my account over ok that was done But when i got my phone bill my day time calls were charge to my account as i did not pay for this before i emailed them on live chat,only to be told that my account was right ?i had not boost my new address to recive my free calls as i told them i was not and did know i had to do this ,so was phoning thinking it was free,they offered me £3 pound which i refused so please do this re boost when moving as they say its not there problem,even if they do get more money out of you,P/S i spoke to 4 agents and was on line for 2 Hours Still not resolved.so i want every body to send this all over face book.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
clay cross chesterfiled TalkTalk  
Not happy with broadband speed, very slow at times, especialy booting up
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Doncaster, South Yorkshire TalkTalk  
Just had a phone cal from TT to 'review' my contract. Soon became apparent that "are you happy with the service" means "do you want to enter into a new, 24 month contract without actually being asked a direct question?"

I asked for e-mail of offer, Ts & Cs etc. Couldn't be done. I wasn't content to agree first and see what I had agreed to afterwards, or to root around TT's website trying to guess which package I was being offered.

Went round the houses several times. When threatened with being put onto monthly terms, I retaliated by threatening to look for another provider. Suddenly, I could have the offer by e-mail. Hasn't arrived yet, and I'm inclined to look elsewhere anyway, given the underhand way in which TT tried to get me to stay.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Shropshire TalkTalk  
Customer service really lets them down! Can't understand you or me them. Make mistakes with your bill, on the phone for over an hour to get it corrected and next month they add it back on my bill. I just give up!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Basildon TalkTalk  
We got talktalk within the first two weeks our hub stopped work they kept telling us the new hub was on its way but It wasn't then we got the new hub we were meant to get 3 months Compensation but we never they canceled the compensation without telling us the worse company I have ever dealt with
  • Reliability
    3 stars
TalkTalk  
Have been with TalkTalk since July 2009. Supose to have gone livein the July I eventually got my router in August only after I told them I was cancelling with them, Someone had not orderd it, had to call them around 8 times about this and blatently lied to all but the last time when i was phoning to cancel. Billing a joke had to cancel my direct debit with my bank and in the end change my bank as they were trying from the oct of 2009 to take the money from my account day's earlier than dd set up for so i was getting hit for nonpayment by them and bank charges because of the nonpayment also late payment fees by talktalk. it was costing me around £200pa to have talktalk dd. Upgraded computers april 2010 have had no security from them since then but still being billed for it even now, TT ask me to switch fromn essentials to pluss package in August 2010 still waiting and being charged for the download boost that was cancelled when I agreed to switch£4.00pm + the£2.00pm for security. I am promissed at least twice a month that i have been switched over when i have not been so still being charged for calls that should be cheaper or free. Router went down 18th sept 2010 bought my own got fed up with waiting for equivilent to be dispatched got that Jan this year from them. Been disconnected twice even though bill was paid. To be honest for a comunication company the dont communicate with each other or the customer. They have failed to honner there contrat with me from July 2009 yet threaten me when i say im wanting mac code to go else where I believe i would be with in my rights to walk from the last5 months of this contract i have never recieved any appologies or real offers of compensation from them. I desperatly want a new Provider and soon as they just talk but dony doMy oppinion of them is rubbish all this is factual not like them fictional in there stories to cover there backs sorry but the customer is not ever right in there eyes incompedent
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Tilbury,Essex TalkTalk  
So I have had talktalk as a provider for my phone and internet since I lived in Gosport in September 2010, I then moved to Ely, Cambridgeshire in November 2011, and despite phoning and emailing them they were unable to transfer my phone and broadband until a month after I moved but that it turns out was the least of my problems, I added tv to my package when it became available and then in February 2014 I then moved to Benwick, Cambridgeshire and began trying to get my talktalk package transferred to the new house, now at first my new address wasn't available on their system, to the point they asked if it was even registered with Royal mail and said they would have to add it to their system and this would take 3-4 days, a week later I then phoned again to find out what was happening and turns out the request to have my address added had not even been filed so I was told it would take another 10 days - 2weeks, around 2 weeks later I phoned again- at this point I had already moved out of my old house, it was then they told me that they could only provide me with a phone line at my new address, so naturally I requested to cancel this also involved them asking me if I wanted to put my account on hold for 2 months while I thought about it- not much to think about really as I wanted phone, internet and tv, thinking the request for cancellation had gone through I continued to set up my new house with bt as they were able to proivide all services. A month went by and suddenly money for a talktalk bill was taken from my bank account, now I hadn't used any of their services for over a month and having asked for it to be cancelled I got back on the phone to them, where they passed me from person to person hung up on me and tried to refuse giving me my money back, until eventually telling me the only was I could get a refund would be in a months time or unless I filed an indemnity claim with my bank- now I did not see why I should have to wait a month for them to pay back money they had essentially stolen from me so I went ahead and file an indemnity claim at the bank, whilst on the phone talktalk assured me I would be charged no more money and all charges such as early cancellation charges would be voided as they could not provide me with the services I wanted and they had messed me around. Finally I was seeing the light at the end of this rather stressful period, until today (19/04/2014) over 2 months after my first contact with talktalk I receive and email telling me my april bill is ready to be viewed, and this is where I get the biggest shock the bill is a total of £332.15 - listing Contract Breakage Fee charges of £154.92 + YouView+ Box Deferred Fee of £200, so their promises of voiding all charges was clearly yet again another lie and not once did they ask for a return of the youview box, nevertheless they will not on any circumstances be receiving another penny from me as I have cancelled the direct debit, and I refuse to pay for their mistakes and lies.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
cambridgeshire TalkTalk  
Unstable broadband since the contract started and no solution given so far. Unfortunately I have to stick to the contract otherwise I have to pay more than £200 fine.
DO NOT USE TALKTALK. LOOK AROUND
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
London TalkTalk  
As I no longer require my Talk - Talk connection and the telephone is to be discontinues. On 10th Sept I called for the service to be cancelled. I spoke to a most unhelpful person in India ?? who told me that I needed to give 30 days notice. It has been arranged for this Sat. Since then I have advised / replied 4 times to their e-mails. I have just received another e-mail from them saying I need to give 30 days notice.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
brighton e.sussex TalkTalk  
The broadband is fine. NEVER take on the phone from Talk Talk. I cannot even make any calls out and there is the most awful noise on the line, I got through once they tested line and said all ok, then I said it is not so they started to tell me to get a screwdriver and undo the input or something, I am not technical and did not understand or want to do this myself as I know it can be dangerous and if I had done anything wrong it would be my fault. So they then asked for £60 for an engineer to come out. I am left nearly a month later with a phone I cannot hear anyone when they call and I cannot make any phone calls out. I CANNOT WAIT TO END THE CONTRACT AND WILL NEVER TOUCH TALK TALK AGAIN. They send a letter asking me to call them oh well I would love to if I could use the phone
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
northampton TalkTalk  
Although Talk Talk will bend over backwards to try to help sort out the problem, nothing ever seems to get sorted. I don't know if this is because Customer Services is based in India or not, but I am always speaking to an Indian on the phone!!!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Chelmsford TalkTalk  
Rang Talktalk on 1st jan to change my package. Since then have sent 2 letters and they still havn't made the change and are still charging me for last years package. Customer service REALLY lets this company down.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Hampshire TalkTalk  
It was easy to get the service switched from BT. Speed and line reliability good. (The Huawei router can be a big problem to configure forwarding if you need it.) A year later trying to move service to another house was a nightmare.The main problem seems to be poor training and extraordinarily poor communications skills on the part of their support staff. In the end I just cancelled the service - which wasn't easy either! After a few wasted hours they agreed to cancel. Then I got a phone call from one of their sales staff. After I told him what poor service I got, he tried to persuade me to stay with the service. What an idiot! I wouldn't recommend anyone to go with TTalk unless they plan to connect a basic service from them and not make any changes - including cancelling. Just putting a block on the line when I moved house was handled badly. TTalk either don't care about bad support, or are incompetent, or take the view that some people want a service dirt cheap and are prepared to accept the service that goes with it (dirt).
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Suffolk TalkTalk  
Have had talktalk broadband for around 10yrs recently i upgraded to fibre along with TV package.
I got an email confirming my go live date for the fibre but nothing about TV package. I phoned Talktalk to inquire about the TV and was told there was no order placed so i placed another order, again after a few days no confirmation email and nothing on my account. Another phone call and was told no order placed so again reordered and was told i would get an email confirming delivery but of course no email arrived. Must be the worst customer service ever! They seem to want to keep you on the phone yet the call is free, i was put on hold 3 times for 10mins on one call so the agent could look at my account. Also they will promise you all sorts of things not to cancel but take my advise its all lies CANCEL YOUR ACCOUNT!
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Belfast TalkTalk  
Tried and tried to change date they take money from my account. Each time I am assured it has been sorted. Each month they take it earlier than asked. Wage is not in and I get charged £25 off my bank plus 12.50 from talk talk. Took this on because it's cheap broadband. It's cost me a fortune so far. Hopefully sorted now. Third time lucky. Will see on next months bill date.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Leeds TalkTalk  
I purchased a Talk Talk broadband and phone deal from a door to door sales woman. I did not have a provider before so I wasn't switching. She made everything easy for me to order on the day, it took about 30 minutes. When the activation day came, I set up everything and was online soon after. No problems so far and the download speed seemed satisfactory. However, after switching to another provider, I noticed my pages were loading much quicker, so I don't think I was getting all the speed my line could handle with Talk Talk.
The problems with Talk Talk started to arise about 6 months on. Nothing major, just in the last 6 months of my contract they put up their line rental up twice; the second time it was very near to my contract ending (12 months) and they also announced price hikes in phone connection charges, which made me want to switch. After the 12 months were up, I checked my account and my bill was £1 higher than usual (not including line rental), although there was no mention anywhere in the contract that the price might go up after one year. And yes, I read the small print too.
I was advised by the provider I was switching to, to contact my current provider to tell them I'm leaving, although in hindsight I shouldn't have done. Or maybe I did the right thing, otherwise Talk Talk would have had a better review from me... I didn't need a MAC code anyway...
So an adviser answered in a very thick accent (I don't mind outsourcing, I'm not a native English speaker neither, but please hire people that are easy to understand), which made me ask him to repeat himself a few times, making the conversation frustrating from the start. He then proceeded on asking me who I'm switching to and why and trying to trash the provider as best he could ("they are lying to you", "the deal on the website is not what you're getting", "many customers return from them after a few months"). I explained to him several times the deal I switched to, and that it is not available on the website, he kept on saying that I will not get that deal, because it's not what he sees on that website right now. In the end, he said, "Ok, if you FEEL you're getting that deal, then fine." - like I'm an idiot who can't read. From this point on he started to offer me deal after deal, but even he offered free broadband and line rental, I wouldn't have taken it, for being made to feel like I did. The deals he offered were not suitable for me anyway, they included unlimited phone, and I used my landline maybe 5 times in a year (3 of which calling 0800 numbers). This call took a long time, by the end my daughter woke from her nap and started crying and told the adviser this, so could he tell me quick if I need a MAC or not. No, it took another 5 minutes for him to read some pre-scripted stuff, then telling me I don't need a MAC, then trying to flog me yet another deal... URGH! I obviously had went to my daughter by then and I'm sure he could hear her crying, but he was still trying to make a sale... Management, what are you doing???
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Northumberland TalkTalk  
Speed varies wildly from day to day. Internet constantly drops out, particularly during peak hours. Customer service is meh.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London TalkTalk  
Okay provider. Customer Service is often poor, speeds provided are a little under what is advertised, and connectivity can be occasionally unreliable.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Shropshire TalkTalk  
Extremely bad to non-existent customer service. My broadband service failed after being a customer for +10 years, multiple technician visits couldn't fix the problem and when I left, TalkTalk wasn't even able to port my number to the new provider, whilst they are required by law to allow this. Don't try phoning their hotline, it's a complete waste of time.
  • Speed
    3 stars
London TalkTalk  
Moved from BT for lower price but unreliable connection means I'm going back to them. Plus net seem to spend more on their marketing than they do on their network infrastructure. Disappointed to say the least.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
Stroud TalkTalk  
Phone line went dead 2 weeks ago..Been with TT for along time.Eventualy resolved..Had enough with there customer service having to call,chat and repeat what the problem was numerous times.Have now changed to another provider even though having to pay exit fees..If you have problem then it will be problem!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Manchester TalkTalk  
My phone tine went down and I contacted and told them the problem No phone and no broadband and a disabled customer relying on this safety line .Spent hours trying to get help they promised to check the dead line persisted telling me to check the router Waited a week for an engineer to tell me the line was dead !!!! Avoid this company !
  • Speed
    3 stars
Scotland TalkTalk  
Compared too a lot of reveiws initial connection,speed and phone are working very well, on par with BT who continually keep bumping up their charges which is why I left them.
BUT TalkTalk customer service is chronic, for only simple enquires on two occasions I spent half an hour or more being sold things I didn't want which didn't make a lot of sense as I had only just joined them a few days earlier. Judging by the lack of comprehensible English and poor lines from the people I spoke too, I can only assume my enquiry was being shunted to various parts of the world. This is something that I recall years ago from a consumer TV programme possibly Watchdog or similar on which TalkTalk was slated for this very reason.
All I can say about this is "TALK TALK HASN'T LEARNT ANYTHING FROM THAT PROGRAMME.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Warwickshire TalkTalk  
What can i say. Im just switching it to another suplier. I pay about 30 or 35 and just right now i have 2.99Mbps. yeah!!!
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
South Kirkby TalkTalk  
Basically I had 2 accounts..one for me the other 4my son..talktalk advised me to complete change of ownership for my son so he could deal with his own acc..thurs 7thsept I ring as no device.. 2hours l8tr and after making a payment I'm advised it's cut off (No reason)..but they can't discuss it as talktalk put my son in charge of MY ACC!!!..SOME 6.5 hours of talking to talktalk..talking to miss Burnley..tracy acc manager
Sam..siya..wendy Sheila AND 4days l8tr a call from TEFFY the top talktalk MANAGER..STILL NO ONE cud change the names bk..but get this they wouldn't talk to me about it as I'm not the acc.holder...aaarrrggh...anyone would think they are Lloyds bank with their security questions etc..to say I'm flaming mad is an understatement.. the payment I made tho I categorically gave them my address..they took it off my son's acc..they won't put that right..also to have my acc on n running I'm advised to take a new acc n new phone no.?!!..some 6days l8tr of pure anger/frustration my son had to ring and say I want you to put my mum's acc back on..youve put me as owner of her acc but I'm telling you I'm not!!..THEY PUT IT BK ON!!!!..After running around punching the air n shouting in pure joy..door knocks..its a new router from talktalk!!!!..you all can gather y the 17th Sept I will own 3 accounts 3 phone no.s....WATCH THIS SPACE..#NO CUSTOMER SERVICE..#No common sense.. .#no empathy and basically it a lot of anything...TRACIE PENNELL
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
St. Austell....cornwall TalkTalk  
A lot of problems with internet connection. Several engineering visits and replacement routers. Speed is OK. Customer service is a nightmare. The calls take ages as although the staff speak English it is often difficult to understand and the superfluous chat doubles the length of conversations.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Cumbernauld TalkTalk  

Loading...

  • 5269 reviews, showing page 7 of 132, skip to page 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk