TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for TalkTalk.

Recent Customer Ratings for TalkTalk

  • Satisfaction
    2.8 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.7 stars
  • Speed
    2.5 stars
  • Reliability
    2.7 stars

Based on 6303 customer ratings since 2019-08-13 (Show all time ratings)

Visit TalkTalk   Read our TalkTalk buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

5938 Customer Reviews for TalkTalk

  • Showing page 4 of 149, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
All what people are saying about talk talk broadband are well wrong I left sky to go to talk talk and it knocks spots of sky broadband
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Basildon TalkTalk  
I have been unable since February to reliably access my tiscali email despite many calls. There service is a complete disgrace. Have written to their complaints department and been ignored. I would not recommend them to anyone if this is how they treat a long standing customer who will be leaving at the end of the contract
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
wirral TalkTalk  
If I could give 0 stars I would. We have had non stop issues with the internet dropping and extremely low speeds despite being on the best deal possible and paying extortionate prices. The live chat are humans with no IT knowledge reading off a script and solving nothing. Can not contact anyone helpful or competent. And we’ve been promised everything from new routers, to package upgrades, to refunds that have never happened. Horrendous.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Surrey TalkTalk  
Good luck trying to play any sort of online game while talk talk are slapping u with 500+ ping without fail never had worse wifi
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Southport TalkTalk  
upgraded to faster broadband in November 2019 which is suppose to be over 60 Mbps at an extra cost , Its now May 2020 and getting 12 Mbps !
I have spent over 14 hours trying to get this problem sorted out .
I am using the talktalk router and every time I phone to complain they say they need to run diagnostics on the line .
We are now 6 months in and have been paying the extra money from November 2019.
On the last conversation I told them I was going to cancel the direct debit as I am not getting what I'm paying for and have waited for 6 months to try and sort this matter.
They told me if I did cancel they will charge me the full contract term which still has 12 months to go !
They are truly thieves in every sense of the word and advise never to go with such a company .
I really hope this review saves people from going through what I am going through
Disgusting disgusting disgusting .
Talktalk are nothing but thieving scum .
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester TalkTalk  
My elderly and widowed mother has been with talk talk for several years. She has a phone and broadband package with them. During the COVID crisis, housebound, she has needed to rely on online provision and needed a new router. I called on her behalf last Saturday - exactly one week ago to be told that the number I had called was only for people who wished to move to talk talk. I was given another number for people already with talk talk who needed help. I called it but it was only operational on weekdays, so I called the following Monday. A recorded message said they were having to help vulnerable customers and therefore couldn’t process my request. My sister has tried emailing over a week ago and participated in online talk talk community help - but again, no response so far.
Yesterday, I called BT who said government guidelines now say no transfer is possible as all efforts should be directed to helping vulnerable customers. Therefore, had we been with them, they would immediately have been able to supply another router.
Talk talk - you’re a despicable, dirty company - without ethics or care, once you have got a customer, your interest in them stops.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Ruthin TalkTalk  
Terrible company, i canceled contract after end of contract, they are still taking money, cannot speak to anyone, the smarmiest recorded voice I have ever heard takes you on a massive loop and then directs you back to unhelpful website. I am an undemanding user of the internet and could put up with the slow speeds and may even have used talk talk again when I move into new house, out of habit, but after this experience I will never use them again as long as I live, absolute bunch of **nts Avoid at all costs!
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Devon TalkTalk  
Very good, good speed and there's 4 tablets on at a time in my house.it was running but slow a few months ago either sent engineer out he didn't turn up but the speeds have been good again and received £50 for engineer missing my appointment
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Leeds TalkTalk  
The internet I’m opinion is not very good the speeds are decent but however as seen in my ratings the reliability isn’t to good. I mean the internet is good when it works but every 2 or 3 hour it goes terrible and sometimes switching off. Also you might of seen that I have rated the customer service bad this is because I have rung them a lot and all they tell you to do is restart the box repeatedly until it works overall I hate this internet provider and wouldn’t recommend it even if it is fairly cheap
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Blackburn TalkTalk  
The first three weeks were fine then my internet stopped working & the customer service is by far the worst thats if you ever get through to someone. You can't get through on the phone the emails are all auto responds and after a day I got through on the live chat. I was on the chat for over 2 hours while they did different checks then all of a sudden the chat dropped and when I re connect they don't respond. I would avoid at all costs I'm switching to another company and will happily pay more. I previously didn't have any problems since I moved 10 years ago I changed because they were cheap .
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Chester TalkTalk  
Awful Customer Services - Once your contract ends talk talk will double your monthly payments and make it impossible to contact anyone from customer services -AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
UK TalkTalk  
Appalling company. They're AWOL during the Covid crisis. My broadband speed has always been low, but now that I'm working from home and my son is going to virtual school the cracks in talktalk's service are starting to show.
My connection is so poor that sometimes my PC lags while opening an email I cannot use teams to video conference and am finding myself going around in circles trying to get this resolved.

TalkTalk have simply disappeared. I will be looking to get out of this contract asap. Will never use them again. Appalling company
Appalling Connection Speeds
Appalling Customer Service.
Simply the Worst!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Norwich TalkTalk  
Reliably slow. Met lowest end of target speed for a week or two after sign up. Never since. Cannot get hold of customer support. Appear not to care.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
chorley TalkTalk  
All good, speed, customer service and price - what's not to like?
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Banbury TalkTalk  
The worst provider I have encountered. I switched to save money but bitterly regret this now. I'm on the 37GB package but receive speeds ranging from 0.5MB to 3MB. It also disconnects regularly. The support is a messenger service but after several hours talking to 3 different agents I was no closer to getting anything fixed. Same basic questions read off a script, no real help offered, and each conversation ended with them cutting me off. They clearly talk to several people at a time as massive delays between answers and asked me questions I had already answered and gave me wrong advice based on my answers. Totally useless, please avoid. Luckily they haven't taken my 1st payment yet so that will be cancelled before they do.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Spalding TalkTalk  
Had no service since they installed in March. they keep telling me to check online but there is no problem with connection but obviously is with the router and they refuse to help but continue to take money out of my account. Poor showing in this current crisis
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Liverpool TalkTalk  
Dreadful service. The people seem helpful on the phone, but when it comes to the work they produce, it is terrible and the only means of contact through this pandemic is through a community hub, what sort of nonsense is that? I have a simple problem which will take less than 5 minutes to sort out. I would never reccomend this company and would probably actively discourage people to use the service. I would rather pay more to get more.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
TalkTalk  
Absolute rubbish, we barely have internet as it drops out constantly for days on end. I can't find a way to contact them at all. I've been trying for the past week.
meant to be working from home due to this coronavirus, my job is now in jeopardy because I can't get anything done (Ive been hit with a massive phone bill because I've had to use my data), I can't contact my family who are on the other side of the globe.

Just close my guy, just close.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Horsham TalkTalk  
Absolutel Fraudsters!
No sense of morals, ethics or integrity.
We bought our package of landline and broadband which was supposed to go live on 20/03/2020.
We were charged a week in advance before our broadband was to commence. It became live on 20/03/20. It was live for only one day. For no reason they cancelled our order and cut off our broadband and out landline. I tried to contact them on a number of occasions, but Each time I was through to an automated voicemail or automated email which led to nowhere. They are all hiding behind the facade of The Corona Virus epidemic and exploiting innocent people.
I am a healthcare worker and have 3 children. One of them with special needs. They need internet for online education and entertainment as they can’t go out of the house due to the lockdown.
THEY ARE THE WORST
DO NOT USE THEIR SERVICES
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Surrey London TalkTalk  
One month ago (prior to the virus) I contacted talk talk to 'port' my landline number from our old provider to our talk talk line. The staff member confirmed this was possible (having checked with a supervisor) and processed this request. Several days later the number to changed, to a totally new random number. I contacted again and was passed to different 'team's', totally 8 different staff, of which I had to re do security and explain the issue EVERY time.. totalling over 4 hours on the phone and finishing with being told my complaint (I wasn't complaing i just wanted it resolved) has been escalated.. I was called back the next day by a 'manager' who has no clue about my issue, I re explained who then said she wasn't sure they could port an old number.. having check she then confirmed talk talk can..and processed my request again. Several days later the number transferred, to another new random number!! I emailed twice to try and resolve.. and now have been told no body can help due to the virus. The knowledge of the staff and process has been appalling. This issue is still not resolved.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Chichester TalkTalk  
Absolutely awful!

Trying to call the customer service - automated hang-up or call back later. Sometimes robot says you can only proceed if you are vunerable and already regisered and directs you back to the website.

Tried typing issue into the website - the advice is generic and goes arund in a loop - it doesn't actully get anywhere.

Internet has been tripping out - broadband speed slow or just stops affecting everything. I got through weeks ago to complain about it and the woman on the line, though pleasant, said no - no problem. Everything is working. It clearly isn't.

Apart from the inconvenience, many applications require ongoing live connection - such as banking. Loss of connection resets everything and you lose what you did/saw.

If I could break the contract, I would. Unfortunately, they offer in their literature that they provide 'up to' so-and-so speed, but are not contractually required to actually provide it or even answer the phone when they don't.

IT is a system of automation so it is increasingly lazy for bad service of of companies to keep pointing to Cov-19 as their excuse as to why they are not fulfilling their requirement when they are still receiving money in full.

In fact, the lack of service is unjustifiable. Awful - truly awful. I may look tobreak this contract and buy a dedicated line because Talk Talk cannot be trusted
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Suffolk TalkTalk  
The broadband cuts off randomly near midnight, the speeds tend to keep up with an approximation of what's offered IF you live in the right area. Other areas are abysmal. But the worst thing is they just don't care: their people are hugely incompetent and lazy they never even try to give a good service. They're super rude. Terrible company. Worst I've dealt with in a loooong time haha.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Huddersfield, UK TalkTalk  
I ordered upgrade to fibre on 2/3. Notified there would be a short delay. After a number of "chats" could not find out why or how long. Router delivered 11/3 and promise to "go live on 12/3. successfully installed BUT NO FIBRE.
Endless "chats " all taking at least 30 mins to get nowhere Similarly complaints sent but no solution. Discovered that they had wrong address for me in their system. I have not changed my address since original contract. So now Iam faced with "catch 22'. I cannot change my address as I have an order "pending" and they will not allow me to have fibre as my address is wrong. I sent a letter to the CEO asking her to put it right. I received a standard letter saying I should use "chat" or complaints which I have used several times and found them incoherent and utterly useless. They clearly answer from scripts and are therefor lost if they are not faced with a common problem. Yet TalkTalk have the cheek to advertise their service on TV in the middle of a lockdown, which means they have staff available. It is now OVER 5 WEEKS and still no upgrade. I have been with TalkTalk for 15 years and yet I waste hours identifying myself. Now thanks to Covid 19 I will never get an upgrade. I sincerely hope that TalkTalk CEO is informed about this email. She should be thoroughly ashamed of heading a company that lets down the British telecom industry.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Trying Herts TalkTalk  
Absolutely diabolical from start to finish. Ordered broadband and didnt work . They sent an engineer out prior to going online to see if everthing was ok with the line and the modem hes said yes its fine . Saying this he never even took it out of the box to try it . 3 months on no refund of money paid for somethong i didnt use as i cancelled in 14 day cooling off . An now just get fobbed off by call centres thousands of miles away . Stay well clear .
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Warrington TalkTalk  
Corona virus times. People depend on their internet connection. I was using BT hotspot, and decided for that same reason to switch to a traditional broadband.
I got the modem by mail (being a risk nowadays). Waited 48 hours and no connection. Meaning, that the modem/router is not getting a connection from the network. The status on the modem is flashing amber (meaning that there is no reception, according to talktalk own manual).
I first contacted this morning (48 hours after my contract started). They wasted 45 minutes of my time for nothing, just to tell me that I should turn off the modem and switch it on in 30 mins. Of course nothing happened. 2 hours later I contact them again. They wasted 40 minutes of my time.
Can you believe that their staff is so incompetent, that they have ask me to reboot my ipad, change browsers, when there is no reception from the network. Still, have no connection, and they refuse o terminate my contract.
Well, thanks TalkTalk for leaving me more isolated, and forcing me to throw away 20 gbp. By the wau, I have recorded the last chat ... and guess what I'm contacting the Ombudsman.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
TalkTalk  
Closed my dads account 78 year old and moved house, thru 2 months later took money from him being vulnerable, after complaints so so many calls agreed to refund and can’t get the money returned, they are by far the worst company in terms of customer services and complaints process, going to have to escalate complaint to ofcom
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Staffordshire TalkTalk  
I have just become another hapless victim of these utter cretins . I can't go into the ins & outs of it all because I think I might lose it so suffice to say every horrible thing you've heard is true . I wish two things , that I'd never heard of them & that I'd checked out the reviews here first before I signed up . Review first folks , always review .
Gillingham TalkTalk  
I have waited six weeks to have broadband installed and it just hasn't happened. Two engineers have come to the house (and one just didn't arrive) and not done the work and then I've received messages saying they weren't able to because I was out. The helpline is anything but helpful, they put you on hold while they speak to openreach and then tell you wrong information. You then get passed from person to person, again, with wrong information being shared so you spend most of the call correcting people. There is nothing about TalkTalk and the service they provide that I would recommend to others. I eventually filed a formal complaint only to be told this would be closed when I told them I would be going to another provider. DO NOT USE THEM.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol TalkTalk  
not great internet is slower than it should be, and goes off quite a lot,how ever on the plus side,when logged in to your account you can do a speed test,and get a breakdown off the results.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
STOURBRIDGE TalkTalk  
Absolutely pathetic. Terrible service, terrible customer service, and broadband is a joke. Not once since joining have we got what we pay for. Ring customer service up for help and end up being passed around and each give different answers. Trying to double charged now even though they confirmed over the phone that it had been paid already. To quote "the money was successfully taken but there is insufficient funds in your bank to pay the bill"?????
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Mansfield TalkTalk  
Recently had a problem with stability of connection which caused speeds to drop. Your service enabled me to monitor the position and also show the Openreach engineers when they visited. I am not saying they didn't believe me but so much easier to show them the speed check history visually.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
Cambs. TalkTalk  
Like most providers, it is only when it goes wrong that you realise how good or bad a company is. In six months I have had two major outages. One for ten days, which required three Openreach engineers to come out before the problem was solved. The final one, a more experienced chap, found the line fault that had eluded the others in about five minutes. The second time I was without internet for a week, because of a coding error at Talktalks end, which meant I was only getting a scrambled signal. When trying to get back online I found that the router I had, a Netgear, which was originally supplied by Talktalk, was no longer supported by Talktalk, so they tried to charge me for a new one!!!! Eventually they relented and sent me a freebie, as they should have done. I use the Hotmail interface as my 'client' email, and have my own domain name connected to my business and website. The break in broadband connection caused severe disruption to all the settings around my email, and took days further to sort out. I will say that some of the support staff did their best and were genuinely helpful, but others just could not be bothered, and at the end of the day all of them have their hands tied by a poor company. At the moment I am trying to get early release from my Talktalk contract, so I can move to a decent supplier.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Surrey TalkTalk  
Talk Talk sale man was lying on the deal, he told me I will have £105 voucher once I sign up the contract. he gives some discounts extra. actually £105 only I sign up online, I have asked him many times about his offer. because friend told me talk talk is really bad service. but sale man said it is good deal, I will get £105. I made complaint. they contacted me but still no £105 . only £40 on rental. it is really really bad, lying on the customer. I suggest if you want to sign up with talk talk , please do not trust any salesman. this company employee do not have any integrity. how can you trust them !!!!
  • Customer Service
    1 star
aberdeen TalkTalk  
-1 in my view!! Worst service I have ever received! Cancelled my home move and a renewed account twice and then expect me to go through two credit checks because of THEIR mess!! South African call centre BEYOND useless with people who can’t even spell!! Waiting, after 6 weeks of not having broadband, to have a CEO management complaints member to ring me! Now can’t get broadband through another provider due to 3 credit checks put through by these fools!! Wait for over an hour with no resolution! Have made over FIFTY calls since 27 January with still no help!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cheltenham TalkTalk  
Tried to sign up via uswitch which had a £100 voucher offer. Transferred to the TT website where I fill in all details and and get to the point where it tells me to wait for direct debit details to be verified. 10 minutes later I am still waiting so start online support chat.

Support idiot tells me I am on a uswitch website and it not working is nothing to do with TT and offers to sign me up manually. I have to point out that I wouldn't get the £100 uswitch voucher if I did that. Support tells me they can give me a £20 discount instead. What kind of idiot thinks being £80 worse off is an acceptable solution? The ones TT employ it seems.

I point out the URL I was on is talktalk the https certificate for the site was issued to talktalk, but, not a tt problem it is uswitch.

I didn't expect TT customer service to be good, I didn't expect to find out it was this bad before I even managed to sign up.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Hants TalkTalk  
Terrible constant intermittent faults followed by days of no internet at all. Customer services non existent had a complaint open now for 14 days no response from Talk Talk
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Chelmsford TalkTalk  
Very poor customer service without internet now second week, promised new router in fact promised twice , nothing arrived .I am very dissapointed and when I said then I want to cancel my account they said it will cost me 150.00 pounds!!!!The customer service and the technical team are not prepared at all, and not supportive not to mention the poor quality calls .When I will be out of this contract I will never make anything with Talk Talk
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Godalming TalkTalk  
8 months of internet problems, 6 engineers requested 4 actually came out and still not fixed, 8 months of phones calls empty promises, not sending equipment, the latest 2 engineers not turning up, still charging full price for a crap service, not even being offered reduced rate until fixed. Owed 8 months of compensation going elsewhere for a reliable service!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
TalkTalk  
Speeds and connection has been good for a month, however we suddenly lost internet and lodged a fault with TalkTalk. They informed us on Friday that the issue was being worked on, then on Saturday we were told that an engineer is working on the issue, and would contact us between 18:00 and 21:00 for an update, which never happened. On Sunday we were told the issue was being worked on and would be fixed by 18:00, and then we were told by a different advisor that infact noone was working on our issue and that openreach does not work weekends (a lie), and that they would start working on the issue on Monday, to be fixed estimated Wednesday. This is unacceptable, and considering BT would fix issues straight away (including weekends) even though both providers use the openreach network, it seems you pay for the cheaper price by having useless support and terrible service. A total of 6 days without internet is costly and damaging for business, so I'd recommend paying the extra tenner a month for a competent provider. Disgraceful and useless service from TalkTalk.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Telford TalkTalk  
using internet, since I signed up with you and a package that included a landline, the service has been awful, I have a monitor screen in a LG TV connected through the Ethernet and a cable from the box and port. The screen eventually allowed me access, however, it takes forever for the talktalk screen then the youview screen to go, I am supposed to have access to basic tv, I would have expected to be able to utilise the few tv channels such as bbc iplayer, itv, channel 4, and channel 5 ... nopt the bloody stuff you allow, some childrens channels and subscription. I am not interested in , I am interested in free tv.... basic... like back in the 1960's when you paid for a tv licence, and with now paying for the provision of broadband and wirless. the tv channels should be automatic ... when switching on, and off..... without having to wait ... whats the point of a speed in my internet when it takes so long to download the bloody start, whats the use of having a remote control when the bloody control cant access the specific channels - basic channels, why cant talktalk provide a decent - easy to access internet tv.... I choose 'guide' and switched onto bt sport x2 - bloody typical cannot get rid of it it remains on the screen now, I have no wish to pay extra of the sky and other 200 channels - that are ****
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
westbourne bournemouth TalkTalk  

Loading...

  • 5938 reviews, showing page 4 of 149, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk