TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for TalkTalk.

Recent Customer Ratings for TalkTalk

  • Satisfaction
    2.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 628 customer ratings since 2023-05-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit TalkTalk   Read our TalkTalk buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

7,013 Customer Reviews over 176 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Disgusted and appalled with this company!
    Disgraceful customer service. Promised I would be online by 23rd April 2019, Still not connected by the 27th April 2019. Two engineers sent to fix issue with the line without success. Phoned customer service to cancel the contract and was told they will charge 99 pounds cancellation fee. Stay away from TalkTalk. Absolute disgrace of a company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    They are very bad at retaining customers with false sense of speeds and reliability. I never once had the speed i signed up for had less than half and they still had cheek to give me a penalty charge before leaving. Pathetic
  • Reviewer
    Location
    birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Talktalk is the worst company i have EVER dealt with i was two days late to ring up about cancelling an account at a house that i no longer live at and i now have to pay untill august which is disgraceful and on top of that i demanded that the line was blocked and that the internet or phone could not be used as i DONT live there anymore but it hasnt and im getting charged for other people to use my account even though i have asked it to be blocked. Opening a new account with you was the worst experience possible i ordered my new internet deal only to find you hadnt actually sent it out you cancelled it but wasnt told about it you made me miss the lovetoshop voucher deal and i had to wait THREE weeks for yout lousy internet to be installed and the worst part was having to arrange it over the phone with your customer service on my mobile because your too incompetent to install a landline costing me £68 to talk to an entire customer service team which cant understand english!!! I was finally given 30 credit and then asked to arrange it all myself having to ring up again and speak to the most incompetent manager ive ever spoken to in my life repeat catchphrases obviously read of a script because he didnt have a good enough grasp of english to reposnd to me .... again costing me a bloody fortune, so im stuck with this pathetic company now paying for TWO accounts and the only way for me to sort it out is to ring up which will in no doubt cost me about £68 quid. AWFUL COMPANY
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful internet slow or non existant. Waiting for end of contract to leave. Offered me faster if I paid more but said no guarantee!! I thought there was new law saying you could break contract for poor service??
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BIRMINGHAM
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking broadband service. Every 2 minutes disconnect. Speed is ridiculously slow and disconnect ,disconnect,disconnect and again disconnect. I can say for sure talktalk alongside Vodafone are the worst broadband service provoders in the UK. One worse than the other one. Trust me it will give you a heart attack over your 12 months contract period,if you decide to go with either of these shambolic companies. STAY AWAY FROM TALKTALK AND VODAFONE.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Worst ever network.My contract ended on May 7th and I requested via talk talk chat team to cancel my contract by April itself,but itnot cancelled.Then they said its my fault as I didn't call customer care.It was a joke that their customer bcoz their customer care was not opened.Is it my fault???Then they sent me bill of £34. I paid and said to cancel.They cancelled it and sent me another bill of £30(am not using talk talk from April2nd,but still bills coming because of their irresponsibility)as final bill and the mail says I need to renew my service to fix the bill. what a joke on this earth. They are looters. My experience with their network was very bad. not at all I get a good service throughout the year and am still paying even though am not using it. The worsssst customer service and company ever..
    I don't want to even think about this service..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    The most awful broadband provider I have come across. Drops the connection constantly. Cannot wait till I can get rid of them. Please avoid these idiots.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    100% rubbish
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been recieving calls from different people looking for a place called priory. I decided to call talk talk to let them know that my number was registered by some company and have been recieving calls from people looking for it. The person i spoke to did not seem to understand what i was talking about and spent a few minutes resolving the issue. He then spent the rest of the call trying to sell me other talk talk products and right now i still do not know if my issue was ressolved or not. Worst customer service i have dealt with especially from a company as big as talk talk. Not acceptable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely awful, internet is as slow as my nan trying to put the shower on, slower than watching aunt Bessie's roasters cook on a really low setting, overall rubbish. Had this slow internet since we taken out the contract don't get sucked in as you can't back out once you have taken a contract out, it's cheap but imagine how bad your life is when you have to put a review up about them using your iphones mobile data!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BIRMINGHAM
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    OK i called them at 7.30pm they close at 8pm. so each time i called it connected you can hear the mugs in the back. then they put me on mute. lazy tossers can be bothered to take a call. well im definitely leaving them. im not bothered about speeds but this took the piss
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Horrendous customer service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    TalkTalk is the worst network ever, no value for money, shady terms and conditions, they will actually charge for services not rendered. Very unhelpful staff. Big mistake. They are a total joke
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Well what can I truly say about Talk Talk, they are the worst internet service provider I have ever been with, I've had the same problem since I've had it installed, it's an intermittent internet connection, I've had my fault escalated to a priority department so many times, my internet goes off for weeks at a time they send engineers out to "fix the problem" but not one engineer has found the problem, not one engineer has fixed the problem, they have run so many different tests they are repeating them over and over again, they say that I need to give them one more chance to fix the problem, how many chances can you give one company before they actually fix the problem, they say I'm entitled to compensation for the time I've been without Internet, do I really think that they are going to refund me an entire year of money that I've paid them, I really wouldn't mind paying for services that I'm getting but for me to pay for something that I'm not getting is wrong. They need to book up there ideas and start actually fixing the problems that they say they will fix, they are full of empty promises and I just wish that they would fix the problems that I have with my internet. I never write reviews but I thought that the general public should know.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst service ever. Broadband was working fine until I upgraded to the fibre optic. Had a engineer round to rectify the problem and nothing changed. Sick and tired of TalkTalk and customer service is disgusting.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    Two stars for speed because this does feel slightly faster than my first broadband connection back in 2005. For reliability, you may as well roll a dice: 4-6: it's actually working, a 3 and nothing will load because of an 'unsecure connection', 2 means "Oops! We’ve noticed that your TalkTalk router isn’t connected to the Internet!" and 1 means that you can't actually find the network to connect to, even though the router is three feet away from your PC and all the lights are on like they should be.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    talktalk is the worst broadband company i have ever come across absolute jokers, customer service can't even speak fluent English how annoying I ADVISE anyone TO STAY WELL CLEAR FORM THAT DREADFUL COMPANY. PAYING FOR A SERVICE THEY CAN,T PROVIDE AND THEY GET AWAY WITH LEGALLY ROBBING ME
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    This must be the worst company ever. They advertise that your price won't increase during your contract is just pure lies. They have put mine up after spending almost 2 hours trying to sort it out I got nowhere with there unhelpful staff who don't give a toss about customer service . AVOID. AT ALL COSTS
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    Very poor.
    Speed is so poor can no longer work from home.
    Support service is poor- clearly not based in the U.K. Standard message us that there is maintenance work.
    I can wait to get out of my contract.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    This must be the worst company ever. They advertise that your price won't increase during your contract is just pure lies. They have put mine up after spending almost 2 hours trying to sort it out I got nowhere with there unhelpful staff who don't give a toss about customer service . AVOID. AT ALL COSTS
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    TalkTalk customer service is the worst that I have seen for years! I left them in May 2014 and paid up in full and they STILL keep sending me bill after bill. I called them to stop this and make sure that my account is closed, they said yes it was closed, but I still get demands for payment!! This is harassment! I hate this company with a passion! SAVE YOURSELF ALOT OF STRESS AND GO WITH ANOTHER PROVIDER. They are cheap in every way possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    If you value your health and sanity I implore you do not use Talk Talk. I have been lied to laughed at and now I'm trying to leave they want me to pay a termination fee. So the fact in the 8 months I have been with them my internet and
    Phone line has worked less than it has worked. I have been down now for 2 1/2 weeks
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'm really discussed with the service from talk talk over the past two weeks I've had no internet connection I've contacted them 5 times about the problem to still no broadband I had a ring back scheduled to which I didn't get so I thought enough is enough I went online to chat to make them cancel my service to which the some on chat couldn't find my account but I'd provided the account number I've since cancelled my dd and they can swivel their customer service is disgraceful would never reccomend
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    Constantly losing connection, customer service a complete waste of time they never give you an explanation why this is happening they keep on doing the same diagnostic checks then say it should now be ok next day - NO IT IS NOT back on phone again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Very impressed,it was easy to register over the phone and had a call just before the installation.The broadband and phone was installed within half an hour and the broadband is super fast at a great price.I used to have Virgin media and this seems the same,very fast.I don't get the negative reviews!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    A couple of times a year some problem I think common to all providers. Last time a problem on Friday with broadband not working at all, brilliantly solved the next day on Saturday.Customer service contacted in chat.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DONT EVER GO WOTH THIS STUPID COMPANY!! They have taken 70 something pound off me!! And trying to take another 132?! Even though I owe them 50!! And now they have the cheek to take my WiFi!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    TalkTalk increased prices from 17.70 to 19.00 within a year, an increase not mentioned in my contract. They then strong-armed me in paying cancellation fees, as I requested to leave due to price increase and poor service. Just stay clear and spare urself unwanted sleazy corporation bureaucracy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been offered boosts and told i would get them free for 1 month. well they are now on my bill but my broadband speed has now dropped to less than 2 meg. What a con these people do not deserve customers. They should deliver what they promise without the customer having to chase things Up. Prehaps they are thinking of running for goverment as they have the same problems.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I've been trying to contact customer service for over a month by direct chat or by phone, each time the same answer, too busy, really bad. The technician to install my box it works, but it has to pass the cable through the window, and in front of the house, it is really not good, it was to come the following week, I am no news. Do something! One month that I cannot close my window, you are incredible!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful. Awful, awful customer service, the worst I have ever experienced. Moved house, unfortunately no good fibre optic providers in my area so went with TalkTalk, but started off bad with the internet not being provided on date they said it would be. Then followed 8 weeks of no proper internet, kept dropping out and phone line crackled all the time so couldn't make or receive calls. Explained this to them over and over again, and each time I called I was told that they had no record of previous calls or complaints and each time they conducted a 'test' on my line and told me they couldn't find fault, in the end after approx. seven calls they sent a BT Engineer out who found a problem in the road outside, talk talk did not contact me at all to keep me updated on BT's progress and I learnt more from my chat with the engineer than every call with TalkTalk who also threatened to charge me for a BT callout cost. Finally spoke to someone a bit more helpful who said that they would refund my bills to date and not charge me for this month as they could see that I hadn't had proper internet and no phone for past three months, well no surprises that I was charged this month and received no discount/refund on previous bills, TalkTalk customer service is just awful, their agents don't want to understand anything you're saying or apologise and with no UK call centres things are lost in translation, staff are arrogant and rude and talk over you. There should be a UK based escalation team who can deal properly with the more complex issues. Clearly TalkTalk don't care about retaining customers, as soon as I can I am leaving this contract.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Initially things were going well but had to upgrade to fibre to get a decent enough speed to stream TV. Then after 6 months things started to go horribly wrong and after 3 replacement TV and broadband routers, terrible customer service and no apology for outage and recent security breach I have paid a termination charge to exit early, you get what you pay for... Be warned!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Initially things were going well but had to upgrade to fibre to get a decent enough speed to stream TV. Then after 6 months things started to go horribly wrong and after 3 replacement TV and broadband routers, terrible customer service and no apology for outage and recent security breach I have paid a termination charge to exit early, you get what you pay for... Be warned!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Never recommend a **** WiFi like this, talk talk as they advertise isn't that good.
    In my previous address it was in coma situation meaning the speed however in my new address it is unfortunately dead.
    So my advice never do a contract with talk talk as they are not providing a good WiFi plus a good customer service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disappointed, with the service. The internet would be if correct speed for few weeks and the connection drops and the speed is so slow that you can't even load talk talk.help website. Customer service wants to upsell their products
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    I give them 0 ratings for everything coz that's what They deserve.
    Got a call a month ago saying "yr internet will go off in 2 hours coz yr internet is being hacked. So follow these instructions on yr laptop, then type in Teamview" ( then they will be able to control my laptop remotely) I cut the call when I realised what they were trying to do. Since then I've been getting these calls every week & I cut the calls while they're still talking. Def terminating my contract.
    The WORST customer service I've ever experieced!!!! Very rude and clueless. Does anyone from Talktalk ever read these complaints.
    Stay away from Talktalk.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi, please don,t get talk talk any service they got really bad customer service they mix my phone line to other people line I been telling them to fix my problem still telling me tomorrow since I got line with talk talk all the time HV to tell some time phone line don,t work and some time broad band does,t work really fedup.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am a long time customer for TalkTalk. 2 months ago the regular internet service become unreliable.
    I switched to Fibre and it is no deference. Top of that they are giving the same deal to new customers cheaper. Clearly they are not rewarding loyal customers. Be careful, because your contract is starting when you are placing your order and the delivery time at least 2 weeks, so with a 20 days cooling period, you do not have time to test the system. I was on my holiday when they delivered the new service, so when I started to use it, I was already the end of my cooling period. Very bad customer service and broadband service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Comments
    I have never ever received such poor customer service and I would strongly reccomend everyone to avoid this service!!i contacted talk talk on the 6.11.2018 to set up broadband/tv as I was moving into a property on the 16.11.2018 (10 days in advance) I was on the phone to them the first time for 1 hour just setting up my details etc which I’m okay with as I knew (assumed)by the end of it I would have a package.i explained to them that I was not moving in until the 16th and they would need to send the equipment to another address or make sure it wasn’t sent out until the move in date-i was told it’s okay they would put a card under the door to tell me where it has gone (bare in mine I had no access to the house and couldn’t retrieve a care)they told me that was no problem they’d put me through to customer services to arrange delivery.After holding for a further 20 minutes I was put through to customer services who told me the order was not yet on the system so they couldn’t do anything to help despite the fact I had received an order confirmation whilst on the phone to the man arranging my package with all my details engineer appointment etc yet they still couldn’t trace it ?they said to call back in 24 hours and this would be resolved-the next day I tried to call back as I was asked and the number I was given required a landline number to go forward and get to the correct department which of course I did not have !!!i eventually spoke to somebody spending another hour on the phone and was still no quicker getting anything resolved-I spoke to a manager who was no help I was told I’d receive a call back & the next day I received a text message telling me they’d tried to get in touch which was complete lies as I had no missed calls!!!this went on and on with the same story of not finding my order,I then finally recieved a call yesterday (19.11.2018)2 weeks after my initial call telling me they STILL haven’t found anything and we’re no closer to resolving my problem despite me sending them a copy of my confirmation-at that point I told them to cancel the whole thing -I am now without internet and have to wait 2 more weeks for my new provider to connect our internet-I spent 5 hours in total on the phone to them and never got a resolution !!!they never offered to simply reprocess my order and we’re very unhelpful-Please avoid !!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    TalkTalk
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not sign up to Talk Talk! I will repeat that again. Do not sign up to Talk Talk. Speed and reliability since installation 8 months ago have been awful. Paying for 78mb speed getting around 15mb Max! Live right next to the overreach cabinet. Had Sky before no iusses around 68mb. We are now on the 4th engineer visit! Terrible! You have been warned.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.