SSE Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for SSE.

Overall Customer Ratings for SSE

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.4 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 3693 customer ratings since 2015-02-12 (Show recent ratings)

Visit SSE   Read our SSE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

357 Customer Reviews for SSE

  • Showing page 1 of 9, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Due to transfer to SSE on 27 the December but still no connection ( 18th January ). Long waits on phone - 45 mins to an hour. No proper explanations or time frame for start of service. Utterly dire . Avoid at all costs . Back to Vodafone for me .
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lancaster SSE  
If I could give zero stars that would be too many. Takes on average 40 mins to answer the phone lines. I switched in September and still awaiting my phone number in Jan 2020.

Avoid this provider at all costs as they simply haven’t a clue
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wigan SSE  
Absolutely appaling SSE! Keeps dropping off although I am in area of at least 12Mbps. The connection to internet with them is like a yo-yo. On-Off permanently. Imagine doing on-line banking using these useless people !
My advice to everyone. Discard this company. They don't know what are they doing.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sutton SSE  
Internet is constantly going on and off at any random moment and restarting itself. Internet also switches off whenever a device connects to it. Customer service only open 8-8. Would not recommend at all! Awful internet connection.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Mansfield SSE  
I’ve been with SSE since April 2018 when I relocated from Yorkshire. I cannot fault the service I’ve received.
I constantly achieve the average speeds advertised and am on a rolling monthly contract so if I wanted to (which I don’t) I could cancel with no termination fee.
There have been occasional outages, but these were rare and beyond SSE’s control as large geographical areas were affected at the time.
I’ve always got through to customer services without too long a wait and have found them to be very courteous and helpful, on the rare occasions that I’ve had contact them.
I live in a smallish village in Cumbria so I’m not sure if this is why I get such good service, compared to bigger conurbations where demand for internet services may be higher.
WiFi coverage is good with just 2 blind spots in a 4 bedroomed detached house.
Value for money has always been good.
I did however change the DNS settings on my smartblu-ray player as I began to have problems streaming when using SSE’s DNS address, I expect they were traffic managing, however my service has recently been upgraded to truly unlimited with no traffic management.
I’ve done regular comparisons with other providers but haven’t changed because the costs savings would be minimal and why risk going with another provider when I’ve received such a good service?!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Cumbria SSE  
Awful customer service and broadband is not reliable. After multiple issues we decided to cancel earlier. There is a waiver for the cancellation fee if you’re not happy with the service but they refused to waive the fee as they felt they hadn’t be given a chance to correct the issues. This was after multiple issues. When I checked the internet speed and noticed it was consistently about 1 third of what we’d been paying for I decided enough was enough. So had to pay £172 to cancel a service I wasn’t receiving. Avoid like the plague.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cambridge SSE  
Broadband reliability is awful. Mine has been down for five days. The wait time to contact customer support is at least forty minutes and often I’m on hold for over an hour. When I finally get through they usually refer me to their specialist team who promise to contact me later. They never do (I’m beginning to believe they don’t exist). The last time I managed to get through I was told another THREE days that will mean no internet for EIGHT days. If you need reliable internet AVOID SSE
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bordon Hampshire SSE  
Will never recommend
very poor service
broadband suddenly went off for few days and no satisfactory answer from the customer service.
Unable to fix the problem.
Hopelesss service
waste of money and time
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
ALTRINCHAM HALE SSE  
Cant fault the actually broadband as ive never had any faults. Mine starts with me and possibly others being ripped off.
Started with moving house,everything went fine.. Smooth changeover, the lot.
until a few months later i rang up to upgrade my broadband.. slightly slower where I live now.
waiting 45 minutes to get through as this is always the case they tell me im already on their fastest speeds.. erm.. obviously not... They dug into it and apparently my package got changed with the house move by who ever done it without notifying me and doing a full change, i.e contract ect so i was never aware. He sneakily upgraded the package so i was getting charged more (probably for his commission) but never actually put it through proper so i never actually got the higher speeds just paid more over the year. Constantly got told I would get a call off sse which never happened. Ive been ringing for the last 2 weeks nearly everyday for an update as to whats happening bearing in mind there is always a 30-1 hour hold times on the phone to be told nothing other than "its being processed". If you've been ripping a customer off that's been with you for a long time you prioritize that problem especially when you've ripped them off instead of worrying about signing up new people for you to potentially do the same to them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Manchester SSE  
Avoid!!! worst broadband provider ever frequent speeds of less than 6mps and when we complained told we were getting 11 mbps which was a total joke as we tested speed hundreds of times and never had any where near this.After we complained speeds got worse on average 4.5 mbps and now we are leaving the internet is far far worse/ unuseable if I could give a minus star rating I would avoid at all cost.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Taunton SSE  
Ridiculously Slow Broadband and Appalling Customer Service

In early November 2019 I decided to switch to SSE for my ‘phone and broadband service. Since then I have had issues indicating an appalling level of service.

On 07/11/19 I received a welcome e-mail with 2 attached docs, both of which indicated that I was living in Morayshire, the next County. During a ‘phone call on 25/11/19 I was advised that the wrong address would not appear on important letters. On 02/12/19 I received an important letter from SSE again showing the wrong County.

On Sunday 24/11/19, and without any warning from SSE my internet connection with with Plusnet stopped. This was the first indication that any technical action had occurred.

It took me about an hour on 25/11/19 to get thro’ to SSE. I was only then told that the changeover had actually occurred. The letter advising that the ‘phone & broadband start date “will be” 21/11/19 only arrived on 02/12/19.

Similarly I did not receive the wireless router in advance of the change. It was delivered on 27/11/19. I had been without any internet service for three days.

Since setup of my broadband on 27/11/19 my download speed has consistently been below 3Mbs and sometimes lower than the upload speed. Three requests to improve this have, to date been ignored. To avoid long waiting times on the ‘phone, two have been by the on-line query/complaint form and one has been by e-mail to SSE Broadband Enquiries.

Having used broadband for 10 years at, or near, my current Postcode address I know that I can get much higher speed. I am convinced that SSE have artificially degraded my connection and that they have, so far, deprived me of the proper and normal speed available at my address.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Nairn SSE  
Serious failings in the management of the business and customer service that make it not fit for purpose and not a reliable operator. After receiving an email advising that we would have an ‘upgrade’ to our service, we have been informed that SSE have a ‘known problem’ and hope to be able to rectify the issue within 48 hours or c96 hours from when the problem started. Try calling them? They aren’t available in the evenings until 8am in the morning. No website cover for the big transition project. Try emailing them? A 5 day turn around time? I waited 30 mins to be able to speak to customer services who were useless. DO NOT USE SSE FOR BROADBAND. They are not fit for purpose!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kingston SSE  
I switched from Sky to SSE it was faster and cheaper, what a mistake, i have been with them for 3 months now and the broadband keeps crashing, up to 30 times a day I sat in one day and watched it. I work on my laptop and every time the broadband goes down i lose everything. But here is the best bit, try and get in touch with customer service. 9 times i have called and i waited up to 45 minutes a call, i have had one email back from them saying call after 6pm, its still the same, no one answered. Customer service is rubbish and so is there broadband..I have told them i will send the router back and cancel my direct debit. Terrible service SSE.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Peterborough SSE  
WARING! Worst broadband provider.
All the reviews you have read are correct an acurate. Avoid at all costs. You have been warned.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Reading SSE  
Promised average 35 Mbps speed, but is now always UNDER 4 Mbps!! (When I could still cancel the service, the speed was around 30 Mbps) Constant delays to get the service running, I had to register online FOUR times because of 'technical' errors. The first engineer to install was rude and didn't do it properly, had to get another to re-do it.The customer service was always very nice, but actually, nothing gets done!!! Connection cuts off every few days for no reason. It's a cheap deal because it's a cheap, unreliable service.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Portsmouth SSE  
Truly awful. We have been with SSE for years with electric and gas and have never had an issue. Three months ago I asked SSE to supply our broadband. All online stuff was completed and they sent an email asking me to complete my registration.
Now, every week they sand me the same email saying I have not completed my registration and I need to, then they say I am registered and they do not have my full address so I need to reply to the email with my full details. Which I do. This triggers an email that says this email address is not monitored.

A few days later I receive another email reminding me to register for my broadband package.

Three months now without broadband or phone line and if I call them there is a hold message saying it will be over an hour to talk to anyone or I can request a call back. I have requested 4 calls back now and received none.

Truly the worst customer service I have ever seen anywhere. Ever.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Suffolk SSE  
Terribly slow broadband, typically takes 10-15 seconds once clicking a link on google to the page opening and often just does nothing and freezes. It may be 50% cheaper than BT but, from my experience, the saving is painful. Personally, I would avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
UK SSE  
At first the service was excellent. At the end of the contract I was robbed. Asked for a new contract. I now find that in the evenings it is so slow I cannot get e-mail. I am supposed to be on a 35Mb/s fibre service. They recently fired a lot of staff, hence the poor service. I have allready switched energy companies. I will switch phone and internet companies as soon as possible. I suspect they have a new boss who is killing the company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Stevenage SSE  
Am 'live' today. Or would be if the router arrived which it wont for at least 3 days so I don't have internet access. Thanks for nothing sse and once I'm set up I'll be cancelling.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
County Durham SSE  
SSE are reselling a poor service from BT/Openreach, which was OK. Website and customer service is poor. No other way to contact them but by phone which took 20 minutes. Then put on hold and finally cut off. Very poor aftercare service.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London SSE  
I was a bit worried when I signed up for ssc broadband, as Iv read some of the reviews.
But I'm pleased I ignored the bad reviews and carried on with my contract, the service I received was excellent and the broadband was spot on, it came live early morning as I was expecting it to be late evening.
Happy customer
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
Staffordshire SSE  
We switched to SSE broadband a year ago and have had no problems. The speed we get is low - but that is due to location - it is actually slightly better than we were getting with our old provider and is enough for our needs - general internet use and Netflix etc. Customer service is excellent, response time to logging a phone outage was very good, the service has been very reliable. I'm very happy with SSE.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Argyll SSE  
The worst customer service.

Even after getting the confirmation of closing my sse account, the sse company carry on taking money and stole money from my bank account which left me in big trouble.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Peterborough SSE  
Avoid!
I am still waiting to be connected over a week passsed my transfer date! Takes ages to get through to anyone in customer service and when I do there is no resolve. How can companies get away with this?! If you purchase a product then you expect it to be fit for purpose. In any other area of retail this would be addressed and sorted. Disgusting.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Warwickshire SSE  
I do not think it is possible to put into words just how strongly I am urging the reader of this review to not sign up to a broadband contract with SSE. Find a different provider! My connection was due to go live 3 weeks ago now, and I still have no internet. I have spent hours over the last few weeks on the phone to the helpline, and most of that has been on hold. Be ready to be on hold for about 30 minutes before you get through to anyone. Then you will have to explain the problem again from scratch. Then you will be told to carry out some new check on the connection, probably one that you have already been asked to carry out several times before. Sometimes they will actually be proactive and phone you, but the person will have information about a week out of date and will be mystified at the fact that the thing they have called you about has now already been checked. The latest update is that they want to schedule their second engineer visit. Why this is required when the first engineer told me that they had tested everything at my end and found no problems, no one so far has been able to adequately explain. They want me to take another day off work. Should I change provider? There is apparently a chance there is a network problem which would go with me to a new provider, but I was still tempted to do so for the chance I got a more competent help service.

Fortunately I have now discovered that I can get fibre broadband installed in the property, so I will be doing that. I pity anyone in this position who does not have that option.

To sum up, sign up to a broadband contract with SSE at your own risk!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sheffield SSE  
The slowest and most unreliable broadband ever! When contacting them they say it's fine their end and don't know why it's bad my end! Useless!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northumberland SSE  
Internet outage is now a joke. 1 year ago, it was 1 a week, now it’s 5 times a day ranging from 5 minutes to many hours. Complained, and of course, no reply.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Horsham SSE  
This is the first time I’ve ever felt the need to leave a bad review but honestly this company is awful. The internet hasn’t got one day without at least one issue. Some days it would go off and not come back on for days. After repeatedly phoning customer services they had these two cracking bits of advice...1: take the fascia off the box and use the lead that way, we told them we have a crawling baby and that’s not a safe option and plus it’s a stupid option at that. 2: plug the laptop, PlayStation etc directly into the router with and Ethernet cable, which would mean us all huddled together in the hallway to be able to use our devices like the good old dial up days! Except this isn’t the good old dial up days it’s a time where you pay 28.99 a month for broadband and expect at least a half decent service. I’ve lost work, gone days without internet and still been charged on numerous occasions and at this current moment I’m trying to leave a bad review which took 20 minutes just to get on the page. Moving back to Now Broadband, they were brill. If you want a rubbish service that cannot go one single day without an issue and ridiculous customer service then SSE are the ones for you. If I could leave no stars I would have!
West Midlands SSE  
I had to ring twice before receiving my router. Then received router 3 days after my internet service started.
I then cancelled the contract having been advised by SSE Talk that no exit charges would be levied if I cancelled within my "happiness" period (60 days within service date). But they still tried to levy extra charges 1 month after my cancellation.
Also, after having called and emailed them several times, I am still waiting for the prepaid envelope they promised several times for returning the router for which they threatened a further charge. Talking to the complaints manager was equally useless.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Broadband intermittant.download speed 1.86.Try to call and hung up after 10 minutes on three occasions.Everything is just poor.Am trying to cancel.How do you do that when no-one will talk to you.Very disappointed.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Perth SSE  
1st day broadband, had to call sse yesterday waited 25 mins to talk to someone. Had to call again today waited 25 minutes to be told i would have to wait in a q to talk to an engineer, after complaining i was told the engineer would call me back. Sure enough within an hour i got called back,I answered phone a robot voice told me what a valued customer I was then put me on the end of a q, waited a little while and gave up. I have just left post office, after 18 month cost went from £18 to £27.50 so changed but post office answered my calls within minutes i would recommend to anybody. Sse absolutely useless.
Rothesay SSE  
The whole service is crap.
Internet has to be the worst I have ever even seen
Customer service is rubbish as they just palm you off with excuses
Grantham SSE  
AVOID!!!!
Absolute shambles of a company. Signed up to their 'Fixed and fibre' package, which was to include energy supply (electric and gas) as well as broadband. The energy tariff wasn't the cheapest available to me, but with the discounted broadband price it worked out pretty well. However I have now come to realise this was all too good to be true. I have now been waiting around 3 months for my broadband to 'go live'. This includes multiple visits from engineers and hours on hold on the phone to multiple people repeating the same story over and over and over. Every time I call they say 'we need an engineer sent out', then the engineer comes out and tells me everything is fine and tests it to make sure. Then I have to go back to SSE and repeat the whole cycle again. I am now currently on my 4th or 5th 'Go live' date with yet again no broadband. I could of went with another company and had internet in my property by now. I would warn anyone considering SSE as supplier to stay well clear. Not worth the hassle!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aberdeen SSE  
SSE try to be helpful but speed is dreadful. Was better off with Plusnet but they put their price up too much which made me change.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Essex SSE  
Couldn’t ask for better customer service. There were problems, which were down to the wholesalers, Daisy, and I had to wait 2 weeks past my connection date, but this would have happened with whoever I went with. The difference was whenever I called SSE they were lovely. They gave me £5 off the first month for the inconvenience and I didn’t pay a penny till it was sorted. The connection is great, once the 2 week testing period was over and although I chose the standard broadband, not fibre, it has been perfect, even when watching YouTube and BBC iPlayer in a town house, the coverage is brilliant. I highly recommend them.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Somerset SSE  
Haven't even been able to get started with SSE broadband. Good communication while you're signing up but doesn't extend past this. I was given a 21 day wait start up time, lengthy but fair enough. Date comes and goes with no notification. Get a call a few days later saying they actually cancelled the order because of an admin error but will restart it. 10 days till start date, that then comes and goes. Phone them up, "oh just another 4 days" with no explanation. Another 4 days past this, phone them up once again, "That data got changed again, it'll be another two weeks, nothing I can do".
I can deal with disappointing wait times but to not even phone, email, text me to say these massive delays are coming, unreal.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Oban SSE  
worst broadband ever
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aberdeen (Scotland) SSE  
SSE - the worst experience I ever had. I was attracted to the low monthly cost, about 20 quid. However, the consistent signal drop for 30 sec to 1 minute renders Netflix and Amazon useless. I experience that loss of signal when banking on-line!
I spoke to them, they gave me a pep talk about "you live in a congested area " and nothing else happened. Well guess what SSE? The traffic will only continue to grow. I feel like they are still in the nineties.
Imagine watching GOT and the fly of the dragons are frozen ... Relaunch Netflux ... Go back to "Resume" ... :))) pretty cool eh?
My advice to everyone reading this: avoid SSE broadband like a plague.
Horrible.
They are either a bunch of incompetents or a bunch of cheap corporate mongers practicing "traffic management". Pay up a tenner more for anyone out there and have proper internet, proper service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Hackbridge SSE  
The broadband keeps on cutting out. Also very slow speeds.
Had Sky before and wish I had stayed with SKY. Huge mistake to get SSE. AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
I had SSE broadband for about 4 or 5 weeks and speed seemed ok but noticed in the mornings I had sometimes dropped the connection. Then after about 7 weeks it began to get annoying. This never used to happen on Sky, plusnet, talk talk, all of which I had used successfully, especially Sky. Phoned customerservices and spoke to a very attentive Lucy who tried various things and I seemed to have a stable and fast connection for couple of days. Then it started dropping again. Lucy in the meantime recalled me as promised to check progress. It was acknowledged something was wrong and SSE arranged for Openreach to come and check my line out. They found no fault, but did update master socket. But low and behold I have had continuous service ever since. Lucy called me back again as promised to check progress and arrange for outage credit. All in all very happy, and fair dues, customer service very attentive.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Alnwick, Northumberland SSE  

Loading...

  • 357 reviews, showing page 1 of 9, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk