SSE Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for SSE.

Overall Customer Ratings for SSE

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.5 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 3217 customer ratings since 2015-02-12 (Show recent ratings)

Visit SSE   Read our SSE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

287 Customer Reviews for SSE

  • Showing page 1 of 8, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
My FIBER internet with SSE is appalling it is forever dropping connection. I have since learned that you only have fiber internet if it is delivered straight to you house.mine come from the local exchange down to local box then is delivered to house by BT old underground copper cabling. No company should be allowed to advertise this without explaining it won't stop any of the problems you currently with connection while on this system. It is false advertising, I still have the same problems with fiber as I did with broadband but I just pay more now. My contract is due to end and I will go with the only company I know of who delivers fiber straight to the house which is virgin. Sick and tired of being ripped off
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kent SSE  
The fundamental problem with SSE is that their routers cannot provide the speeds they quote without freezing.

The moment your internet speed (i.e. data/time) reaches a certain point, the router will freeze and you will need to restart your device's connection.

This means that for most video streaming services, the video will pause and you will need to restart your internet connection, refresh the video page, and then skip to where you left off.

Likewise, if you are downloading a file via a browser, it will most likely disconnect (thus cancelling the download) within 20 seconds.

I went with SSE for their high speed in my area (~90), and their one month contract. They do provide the speed they advertise, and I've had no issue cancelling my contract.

However, I would never ever recommend SSE to anyone till the company gets off its backside and fixes its hardware issue. I would rather pay more for a slower speed than deal with this frustration again.

Stay far away.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
It really astounds me how in this day people still blame their slow speeds on the supplier.

The speeds are a product of where your house is located! If you live in the middle of nowhere, don't moan about the service.

Regardless of what company you are supplied by, all use a BT Openreach line.

People also moaning about not getting the speed you are promised! Again, you are told you get up too 17, 38 or 76Mbps, Not once will you be told you are guaranteed it. Again this is due to BT.

SSE have the best customer service I have ever experienced! Everyone is amazing and always have your best interests at heart!

People need to stop blaming their choice too live in a house that will never get fast speeds on actual suppliers, blame Openreach.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Scotland SSE  
Do not trust these absolute thieves. They DOUBLED my broadband bill and when I noticed 4 months later they told me they were at liberty to increase the rate without notifying me. They said that had I gone and logged into their system I would have seen a notification there that they were doubling my bill. But they didn't e-mail me or send me a letter - they just expected me to log in each month to check they hadn't arbitrarily doubled my bill. Cancelled and moving supplier. Oh and also when I signed up to them in the first place they told my old supplier to cancel my contract but then SSE forgot to connect me to their system, so the first month with SSE I had no broadband at all. Steer well clear. There's a reason they have such dismal reviews.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Switched over from Sky a few months ago and that was where the issue started. 7 weeks without broadband because SSE cancelled the first 2 orders. 1 was because I purchased the fibre package but there wasn't enough space in the cabinet (not their fault) but they didn't even bother to tell me... I had to wait until the connection date and to call them. The second was because they forgot to go through the verbal contract with me. Again they didn't tell me and cancelled the order.

Immediately after I finally got connected I started having issues with WiFi.

Note: there are never more than 2 devices actively using the WiFi at any one time.

Note: The speeds are good. Not great... but good.

The issue with the FiFi is every 5 minutes it will stop working. videos will stick on the buffering screen for about 10 minutes then resume for another 5 minutes. This only happens with my laptop, Tablet and 2 phones. PS3 seems to work ok for Netflix with only a slight drop in quality. A fix for this issue is to manually disconnet the device from the router and re-connect. Were good for another 5-10minutes.

Phoned them today after finally getting fed up and i am try explaining to them that there is an issue with their provided router. There is something fundementally wrong with these devices and they are not up to par with others on the market. The response i recieve and i quote "the router if adequite for the service we provide".

I'm sorry but it isn't.

On top of that she ADMITTED she is also with SSE AND HAS THE SAME ISSUE WITH HER ROUTER!!!!

My options are;

Buy my own router at my own expense (no discount on my broadband for my issues) or go to a different provider.

Thats what i was told by the SSE rep on the phone.

Customer service - shocking!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Inverness SSE  
I am very pleased that I didn’t read the reviews before I signed up, I was with plusnet prior to changing to sse, the service was crap and was ages getting a decent signal.
Since joining sse which is about 6 months been extremely satisfied. I had to call help line today as could log in to access antivirus, The lady I spoke to was very helpful (uk call centre ) and nothing to much trouble. Well done SSE
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
North lincs SSE  
We had limited choice of broadband provider as we're renting temporarily and didn't want to be tied into a yearly contract. SSE offer a monthly contract so despite a lot of bad reviews we went ahead and we were impressed right from the start. Customer service has a call back service so we don't have to hold on forever (and they really do call back!) and the advisers are friendly and helpful. We were connected earlier than expected which was great and we've been using it for over a month now with no problems. When we move to our permanent home, we're considering SSE for a longer term contract. Highly recommended!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Drumnadrochit SSE  
I read an Ofcom review of SSE broadband - they have one of the worst drop-out rates on their ADSL service, presumably to drive people to upgrade to the more expensive (nearly) fibre service. I contacted SSE about the number of service drop-outs I am experiencing (2 or more every day) and they said it was because I was using my own router - replacing with SSE's router has not improved the situation. I cannot wait for the contract to end to I can get out and use Plusnet which I use at another location and is much more reliable - even though this location is out in the sticks and the infrastructure is mostly on poles and is old and noisy. I couldn't recommend anyone using SSE for broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wirral SSE  
After reading many of the reviews of SSE Broadband, one could be easily mistaken for thinking SSE broadband is a pile of s__t. What nobody ever seems to realise is the quality of your ‘fibre’ broadband is going to be wholly dependent on the quality of the copper line from the node, to your premises. Seemingly a lot of people whinging on this website, simply have a crap copper line, or are miles from the fibre node, and therefore, will have issues with their VDSL regardless of the provider.

I took the leap to SSE broadband a few days ago, the reason namely due to the fact I already was with SSE for electricity and didn’t want to sign up to an 18 month contract with another provider for fibre. I have had TalkTalk and Sky on the same physical line, with absolutely no issues.
The result?

Three days of a solid connection of 10 mbit up, and 40 mbit down. Uploaded 40GB to Google Cloud in a day without issue, speed tests using fastest.sh (on Linux) have been consistent:

2018-10-19, 18:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 12:03, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 12:06, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 15:35, None, 37.1, None
2018-10-19, 15:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 16:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 17:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 18:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 19:55, None, 37.4, None

What can you ask for really? YMMV. If you have a poor quality copper line to your house, you're going to have poor internet regardless of the provider - blame Openreach.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  
Terrible broadband, slow, unreliable. Disconnecting every 5 min. While I'm writing this I have to use my mobile data because wifi is not working. I cant believe that such bad broadband still exists in 21st century. I'll be forced to switch to another network ASAP.
Not to mention that they sent engineer to the old address when I was moving so I was waiting for internet for 1 month. Overall really terrible.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Reading SSE  
Had issues for the length of the contract. Using an old Plusnet router helped but as soon as I have switched back to the SSE router I am having problems with internet dropping though the router shows no problem and being connected. Continuously unable to load a web page.
Customer service are helpful but go through the same process every time meaning you are repeating previous checks and wasting your time. Not sure how many times I have taken the socket of the wall to do their checks for them as I have lost count.......
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Kent SSE  
do not bye this it will put an end to gaming and netflix 6kbps is the ussal speed
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
place SSE  
No doubt this company has 1 star it's sooooo horrible. Please do NOT use this as your broadband provider. You'll speak to some lady in UK somewhere who will not do a thing to help other than follow some BS manual and ask questions like, "is your router not working because it is on a wooden stand?" I mean... are you flippin' kidding me?

5 days later on most expensive service tier and my internet drops out literally every couple of hours. I've talked to 3 different people, lodged a complaint, been incredibly patient and now I just want to clunk all their stupid heads together and get my money back.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Had problems with my phone from the start and broadband, they transferred all my calls to my mobile saying it wouldn't cost me or callers a penny, but I got a massive bill and so did someone else, my phone was never fixed and I called them to ask about this bill, they said I was refusing to pay my bill, I said I wasn't, but the woman said that I was refusing to pay it and as we spoke on the phone I noticed my Internet had gone off, so I told her and she said she had switched it off, then after the call I needed to call social services regarding my Lifeline pendant but my phone has been switched off, I have had letters sent to me saying that I am using my phone quite a bit more than usual, how can I be when its not on? Also one letter is dated 4th October 2018 and one 9th October 2018 saying I'm using my phone a lot, I'll let the scientists in America know not to continue their study in Time Travel because SSE have beaten them to it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham SSE  
Oh my god I can not wait to get out of the contract with SSE Broadband and phone, its the Broadband ever since I joined from day one until my 18 months is finishing soon, I have lost internet from day 1, oh and I was told its my pc, over and over again, but no it wasn't, also I think the people who you think can help you they do not have enough technology to help, totally useless, anyone
thinking of joining SSE Broadband and phone DONT
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lincolnshire SSE  
Abselute nightmare! How can these people be allowed to run a company! Previous property, they took 2 weeks after 'Live Date' to actually connect us, promissed engeneers will turn up, they never do. Engeneers actually said SSE send them the wrong information. Move property a few weeks ago, again same story! Supported to conect on the 18th, after hours on the phone with a manager. The 18th comes, am told order was not put through, wait another week, complete an unbeliebvab1le waste of time!! DO NOT GO WITH SSE!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Inverness SSE  
APPALLING. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

SSE have consistently lied about issues with my broadband switch. Delayed my switch over to them with no communication. Refused to provide an interim solution to their own fault - so I was left without internet for 12 days after they had told me i would be receiving it. Only found out about the problems through calling up as they had not even bothered to let me know.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
NEVER GO WITH SSE BROADBAND If I could put zero then I would have done, been on SSE broadband for 18 months, wish I never joined. From the first month onwards I have had nothing but problems, broadband is so slow, all I get is no connection, I phoned up they said its my pc, luckily I know about computers, so then line was not working etc etc, really have had enough of SSE broadband and no advisors seem to know how to solve the problems, am paying up early just to get away from SSE, never experienced such a bad service, am going back to SKY
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lincolnshire SSE  
Connected to wrong exchange for two weeks until I suggested it was a second exchange in the same town! Very poor speeds continue. Tried to put up prices until I advised it was a fixed 3 year term. Therefore not the best.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Essex SSE  
Took out an 18 month fibre (39Mb/s) contract with SSE back in Nov 2016 after the local ADSL service went to rats. At £21 a month it seemed like worth the risk despite dodgy reviews at the time. The next cheapest fibre we could get was about £40.

The kit and the service arrived on time as promised and, for the past nearly 2 years, it's just worked.

Speeds have been consistently around 35 - 37Mb/s from the start, more than enough for our typical use of a bit of streaming to tablets and laptops + general internet browsing. We usually have 1 or 2 laptops, 3 tablets and 2 or 3 smartphones going at a time and it manages to keep them nicely fed.

The wifi from the supplied modem / router has been a little weak for our 300 year old THICK stone walled house and did get a few drop-outs upstairs but picked up a cheap £25 Tendra AC6 router to use as an additional AP and that cured that!

Recently I realised that we'd gone past the end of our contract and reverted to their "standard" pricing of £42 per month since May. Really the only gripe I can think of is that they didn't give any sort of reminder or move us to their new monthly pricing automatically.

Still, phoned them up yesterday to see what they could do and got a very helpful and pleasant assistant who ran through the options without any up-selling or pressure and we settled on changing to line rental (no calls cos we don't use them) plus 76Mb/s broadband at £30/month less a £4 discount for having our electricity with them as well.

That's the only time we've needed to use their customer services and it was exactly how customer service should be!

So that's £26 for full speed FTTC with no headaches or hassles, on a 1 month rolling contract and price guaranteed for 3 years.

Happy bunny and more than happy to recommend SSE based on our experience over the past couple of years!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Anglesey SSE  
17Mb Con - YOU WILL NEVER GET 17Mb or anywhere near it. SSE say 3.4 - 7 Mbs = 17Mb contract. With only 0.5Mb upload on top leads to an abismal service. PROTECT YOURSELF FROM THIS CON AND DO NOT USE SSE. SSE ARE DELIBERATELY ABUSING YOU
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Littlehampton SSE  
Broadband Appoling
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh SSE  
Been with them a year, broadband keeps on failing, had engineer out, external problem, should hear in 48 hours, a week ago, 24 minutes on the phone - not to get through, your choice!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
chester SSE  
I’ve been with SSE 38mb Fibre for almost a year. I was on an older plan with a contract which was more expensive but they changed me to a cheaper plan with no long term contract delivering exactly the same service, Broadband has been excellent, no outages that I can recall and very consistent up and down speed near to 38/10mb, router is fine and does the job. CS have been good when I’ve called. All in all it’s good value.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Merseyside SSE  
Best broadband I have ever had. No issues with their Technicolor device. Very good UK based Customer Service. My spped is 38 Mbps all the time. Dropped down maybe a few times. Ping 30-35ms. Can highly recommend
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Warrington SSE  
I have spent 3 months waiting for SSE to start the service. First appointment with openreach was cancelled by openreach and sse failed to tell me. They booked it on another day which I was not aware of so open reach attended when no one was there and it was a missed appointment. Sse apologised for the mistake and booked another appointment 6 weeks later. I confirmed 3 times over the phone including this morning since it was an am appointment, and was told the appointment was confirmed. Nobody turned up. I called they said they didn't understand and would call me back. They called back and said no appointment had been booked for today!! I raised a formal complaint They are trying to book another appointment now, but can not confirm a date, unbelievable. I'm wondering how there's so much confusion on the broadband side, perhaps I should look elsewhere and let them stick with energy, the signs are very bad.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Worst Internet provider, ever. Problems after problems, engineer after engineer, router after router, still never managed to fix the problem, in the end I left because it took too much time and money too get this issue fixed, I had to wait 30 minutes for a phone line everytime I rang, and to wait and explain to all theses different people each time I phoned, really did me no favours thinking I'd be better off with sse with no month contract, but I was kidding myself. Worst Internet provider ever. Waste of time.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bodmin SSE  
I am in the process of transferring my SSE Broadband & Phone number to a new address and SSE have been worse than useless. Despite being very clear about the dates that we require Broadband, they have booked it for a month late - August instead of July. This will kill my business and seriously disrupt my family and social life. I am now trying to get them to sort the issue out, but there is no urgency whatsoever. I can see that I will probably have to cancel my contract and find a better provider, putting me back at the mercy of BT Openreach too, but its will still be quicker and probably less frustrating than dealing with SSE.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Twickenham SSE  
Just got my broadband from SSE! Very satisfied with customer service and punctuality! I don’t need more. Speed is not the issue as it flows on the same cables. I did left sky for terrible customer service!
Thank you SSE!!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Colnbrook SSE  
Since I signed up the internet has been very slow. For me to reach a customer service adviser takes me at least 20mins wait. Today the internet is completely dead - red lights no green lights - and waited another 20mins on the phone to speak to a member of staff who booked an engineer to try to resolve this problem for Wednesday only. SSE is the wrost internet provider I ever had! Don’t signup for it. You’re going to waste time and money.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Went for the fibre (to the cabinet) option with adsl delivery to the house. Openreach engineer turned up as booked, albeit an hour late. But certainly knew what he was doing and had me up and running an hour later. Had it a week. Impressed with speed - 36 MB download, 10MB upload as measured with speedtest.net. Seems very reliable. Very happy right now.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Newbury SSE  
10/10 - first class ISP - everything works fine since start date - using Unlimited Fibre plan, speed test shows 27ms ping, 36.16Mb/s download speed and 9.16 upload speed with 4 devices connected on local home network. Router is VERY GOOD with AC wifi standard, USB disk & printer sharing and many other useful functions.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Aberdeen SSE  
Service can be slow sometimes and drop out at others. Calling customer services is too painful and they do not call you back as promised.
My main gripe however is that when your contract is at an end they do not warn you at all. They simply double the cost of your bill & take the direct debit. The call centre are not interested in complaints - they admit they do this and are sorry you are unhappy!
Devious company - would not recommend at all!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
London SSE  
If you go with sse don't take it with you when you move, over a month to swap to the new house and had to take out a new contract rather than a direct transfer. since then the connection has been hesitant and intermittent often disconnecting and reconnecting on the wifi. was told during the move they would move my connection date forward seeing as we had been trying to get this organised for over a month before the move and only managed to speak to someone that knew what they were doing a few days before the move, but what they didn't tell me was, that was just the phone line and the internet connection would still be another 3 weeks. no point ringing up to complain, all they want is to close the complaint whether its resolved or not. I'll be looking elsewhere when the time comes, cheap tariff seem to equal cheap service. i guess you get what you pay for rather than what they promise
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
lancashire SSE  
I am just coming to the end of my 18 months contract and it has been extraordinarily cheap for me. Superfast broadband, phone line, international calls to selected destinations - all for £24.00. I joined during their promotion when their services were apparently not up to scratch. As for the last 18 months have been a dream. I had very slow speed after 2 months, contacted them, did a few online speed checks, sent the results to them, engineer sent in within 48 hours. Problems resolved and it has been a dream dealing with them. I won’t hesitate recommending them to anyone.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Welling SSE  
Total pants was installed on 23rd may took 5 mins great 27th of april goes off called up get pushed from one person to another lies saying was cancelled left no service awaiting a re install Dont go with total bunch of idiots worst provider there is stay clear off
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Westcliff essex SSE  
SSE is cheap, has a 1 month contract and the customer service is OK inasmuch as they answer the phone fairly quickly and speak English. However, I have had recurring technical problems, the computer disconnecting from the server even though the signal is strong, dropouts when it is connected, and most of the time a broadband speed of around 0.5Mb - rather less than the "up to 17Mb" promised. SSE customer services seem to be just guessing at the cause, replacing a cable or a filter, blaming it on the line etc. all to no avail. Out of sheer frustration I am now on the verge of moving to another supplier.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh SSE  
Have had SSE broadband for almost 17 months now and its been the best we have had, good speed, reliable and excellent customer service
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Surrey SSE  
Without a doubt the worst ever internet provider!!!!!
unreliable rubbish speed
Customer service team unattainable
Go else where!!!!+!!!+
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aylesbury SSE  
My 18 month contract with SSE ultrafast fibre came to an end but the price increased to a staggering £48 i did consider switching but its to much hassle instead opted for the new monthly service same broadband but line rental only as i hardly use the landline , i still think this is an ok deal as ive always had a good speed with SSE.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  

Loading...

  • 287 reviews, showing page 1 of 8, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk