SSE Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for SSE.

Recent Customer Ratings for SSE

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.3 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 415 customer ratings since 2018-11-19 (Show all time ratings)

Visit SSE   Read our SSE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

341 Customer Reviews for SSE

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
We had limited choice of broadband provider as we're renting temporarily and didn't want to be tied into a yearly contract. SSE offer a monthly contract so despite a lot of bad reviews we went ahead and we were impressed right from the start. Customer service has a call back service so we don't have to hold on forever (and they really do call back!) and the advisers are friendly and helpful. We were connected earlier than expected which was great and we've been using it for over a month now with no problems. When we move to our permanent home, we're considering SSE for a longer term contract. Highly recommended!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Drumnadrochit SSE  
I read an Ofcom review of SSE broadband - they have one of the worst drop-out rates on their ADSL service, presumably to drive people to upgrade to the more expensive (nearly) fibre service. I contacted SSE about the number of service drop-outs I am experiencing (2 or more every day) and they said it was because I was using my own router - replacing with SSE's router has not improved the situation. I cannot wait for the contract to end to I can get out and use Plusnet which I use at another location and is much more reliable - even though this location is out in the sticks and the infrastructure is mostly on poles and is old and noisy. I couldn't recommend anyone using SSE for broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wirral SSE  
After reading many of the reviews of SSE Broadband, one could be easily mistaken for thinking SSE broadband is a pile of s__t. What nobody ever seems to realise is the quality of your ‘fibre’ broadband is going to be wholly dependent on the quality of the copper line from the node, to your premises. Seemingly a lot of people whinging on this website, simply have a crap copper line, or are miles from the fibre node, and therefore, will have issues with their VDSL regardless of the provider.

I took the leap to SSE broadband a few days ago, the reason namely due to the fact I already was with SSE for electricity and didn’t want to sign up to an 18 month contract with another provider for fibre. I have had TalkTalk and Sky on the same physical line, with absolutely no issues.
The result?

Three days of a solid connection of 10 mbit up, and 40 mbit down. Uploaded 40GB to Google Cloud in a day without issue, speed tests using fastest.sh (on Linux) have been consistent:

2018-10-19, 18:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 12:03, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 12:06, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 15:35, None, 37.1, None
2018-10-19, 15:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 16:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 17:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 18:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 19:55, None, 37.4, None

What can you ask for really? YMMV. If you have a poor quality copper line to your house, you're going to have poor internet regardless of the provider - blame Openreach.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  
Terrible broadband, slow, unreliable. Disconnecting every 5 min. While I'm writing this I have to use my mobile data because wifi is not working. I cant believe that such bad broadband still exists in 21st century. I'll be forced to switch to another network ASAP.
Not to mention that they sent engineer to the old address when I was moving so I was waiting for internet for 1 month. Overall really terrible.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Reading SSE  
Had issues for the length of the contract. Using an old Plusnet router helped but as soon as I have switched back to the SSE router I am having problems with internet dropping though the router shows no problem and being connected. Continuously unable to load a web page.
Customer service are helpful but go through the same process every time meaning you are repeating previous checks and wasting your time. Not sure how many times I have taken the socket of the wall to do their checks for them as I have lost count.......
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Kent SSE  
do not bye this it will put an end to gaming and netflix 6kbps is the ussal speed
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
place SSE  
No doubt this company has 1 star it's sooooo horrible. Please do NOT use this as your broadband provider. You'll speak to some lady in UK somewhere who will not do a thing to help other than follow some BS manual and ask questions like, "is your router not working because it is on a wooden stand?" I mean... are you flippin' kidding me?

5 days later on most expensive service tier and my internet drops out literally every couple of hours. I've talked to 3 different people, lodged a complaint, been incredibly patient and now I just want to clunk all their stupid heads together and get my money back.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Had problems with my phone from the start and broadband, they transferred all my calls to my mobile saying it wouldn't cost me or callers a penny, but I got a massive bill and so did someone else, my phone was never fixed and I called them to ask about this bill, they said I was refusing to pay my bill, I said I wasn't, but the woman said that I was refusing to pay it and as we spoke on the phone I noticed my Internet had gone off, so I told her and she said she had switched it off, then after the call I needed to call social services regarding my Lifeline pendant but my phone has been switched off, I have had letters sent to me saying that I am using my phone quite a bit more than usual, how can I be when its not on? Also one letter is dated 4th October 2018 and one 9th October 2018 saying I'm using my phone a lot, I'll let the scientists in America know not to continue their study in Time Travel because SSE have beaten them to it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham SSE  
Oh my god I can not wait to get out of the contract with SSE Broadband and phone, its the Broadband ever since I joined from day one until my 18 months is finishing soon, I have lost internet from day 1, oh and I was told its my pc, over and over again, but no it wasn't, also I think the people who you think can help you they do not have enough technology to help, totally useless, anyone
thinking of joining SSE Broadband and phone DONT
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lincolnshire SSE  
Abselute nightmare! How can these people be allowed to run a company! Previous property, they took 2 weeks after 'Live Date' to actually connect us, promissed engeneers will turn up, they never do. Engeneers actually said SSE send them the wrong information. Move property a few weeks ago, again same story! Supported to conect on the 18th, after hours on the phone with a manager. The 18th comes, am told order was not put through, wait another week, complete an unbeliebvab1le waste of time!! DO NOT GO WITH SSE!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Inverness SSE  

Loading...

  • 341 reviews, showing page 7 of 35, skip to page 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk