SSE Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for SSE.

Recent Customer Ratings for SSE

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.8 stars

Based on 418 customer ratings since 2019-01-23 (Show all time ratings)

Visit SSE   Read our SSE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

357 Customer Reviews for SSE

  • Showing page 5 of 9, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Don't bother. Signed up for the deal in mid October and still wasn't connected 5 weeks later! Customer service takes an age to get through to, very pleasant when you finally succeed, but couldn't give a time scale when problems would be rectified by. I'll be leaving as soon as possible.
Lincs SSE  
It took eight weeks for them to install BB, after many phone calls & promised dates I had about given up then hey presto my BB connected but they forgot to tell me!! They offered a little compensation but the the size of my mobile phone bill it doesn't do justice, my opinion don't bother, cheaper is not always the best
Littleborough SSE  
17Mb Con - YOU WILL NEVER GET 17Mb or anywhere near it. SSE say 3.4 - 7 Mbs = 17Mb contract. With only 0.5Mb upload on top leads to an abismal service. PROTECT YOURSELF FROM THIS CON AND DO NOT USE SSE. SSE ARE DELIBERATELY ABUSING YOU
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Littlehampton SSE  
Waited in all day for the BT engineer, only to be told that they often don't need to call at your home, but also don't tell you when they're finished at the exchange/ junction box.

I was told I was getting the full 80Mbps, got 55Mbps until I upgraded the master socket myself (which the engineer was supposed to do). I still only get 65Mbps.

This is not a truly unlimited service either, they have pretty brutal traffic shaping. My P2P traffic in is down to about 0.3% of full speed, even in the middle of the night.

I wouldn't have signed up knowing what I do know, and will terminate the contract after the 18 months is up
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Liverpool SSE  
Well these guys are rude and can't behave and are obviously trying to get a one-up on customers. They have a "cooling-off" period where they expect you to chase them to install. Well I don't know where they got the idea they were so great but they aren't.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
london SSE  
The broadband keeps on cutting out. Also very slow speeds.
Had Sky before and wish I had stayed with SKY. Huge mistake to get SSE. AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Am actually not sure what the fibre speed would be but I almost signed up to the SSE £21 deal today but had one more go at getting a good deal with my current provider TalkTalk and they are giving me free fibre broadband for 12 months so will only be paying £17.70 per month for better more reliable download speeds by the looks of the reviews on here and am so glad I read the reviews so I would say check with your current provider first and you may get a better deal and a more reliable service - I am one happy customer now and TalkTalk will be switching me to my free fibre broadband in 9 days with no fees or extra charges
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London SSE  
I would like to thank for the best broadband which I had in UK!

All other companies charge high prices for low speed broadbands and let me tell you - it's insane! Then I moved to new place and I found about SSE company I tried and from now on I recommend it to everyone.

This company doesn't spend a lot of money for advertising so it's common that most of us even don't know about SSE.

Just one minus is that you need to spend around 20 minuets to be connected to customer service. I hope they going to sold out this problem soon.

In the end even you need to spend around 20 minutes on phone but you going to have high speed broadband for amazing price.

All the best!

Reda
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  
I had to ring twice before receiving my router. Then received router 3 days after my internet service started.
I then cancelled the contract having been advised by SSE Talk that no exit charges would be levied if I cancelled within my "happiness" period (60 days within service date). But they still tried to levy extra charges 1 month after my cancellation.
Also, after having called and emailed them several times, I am still waiting for the prepaid envelope they promised several times for returning the router for which they threatened a further charge. Talking to the complaints manager was equally useless.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
The customer service is disgraceful. I tried to take my SSE broadband with me when I moved home. I waited for two weeks with no letter received in the post as promised regarding my move. I called SSE only to find out that my account had been closed and I had been charged with a termination fee. A customer adviser promised me that this fee would be removed and my account would remain closed. The following week I received a router and and charge remained on my account for over 4 weeks regardless of an official complaint being made. I had also asked to speak to a manager on many occasions only to to fobbed off by a customer adviser who would say they have no power to do anything. Was I reimbursed as per company states on website for a call back that was not made? Or for the stress they have caused me? Of course not. I strongly advise everyone NOT to use this unprofessional company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
London SSE  
Since I signed up the internet has been very slow. For me to reach a customer service adviser takes me at least 20mins wait. Today the internet is completely dead - red lights no green lights - and waited another 20mins on the phone to speak to a member of staff who booked an engineer to try to resolve this problem for Wednesday only. SSE is the wrost internet provider I ever had! Don’t signup for it. You’re going to waste time and money.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
After reading many of the reviews of SSE Broadband, one could be easily mistaken for thinking SSE broadband is a pile of s__t. What nobody ever seems to realise is the quality of your ‘fibre’ broadband is going to be wholly dependent on the quality of the copper line from the node, to your premises. Seemingly a lot of people whinging on this website, simply have a crap copper line, or are miles from the fibre node, and therefore, will have issues with their VDSL regardless of the provider.

I took the leap to SSE broadband a few days ago, the reason namely due to the fact I already was with SSE for electricity and didn’t want to sign up to an 18 month contract with another provider for fibre. I have had TalkTalk and Sky on the same physical line, with absolutely no issues.
The result?

Three days of a solid connection of 10 mbit up, and 40 mbit down. Uploaded 40GB to Google Cloud in a day without issue, speed tests using fastest.sh (on Linux) have been consistent:

2018-10-19, 18:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 12:03, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 12:06, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 15:35, None, 37.1, None
2018-10-19, 15:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 16:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 17:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 18:55, None, 37.2, None
2018-10-19, 19:55, None, 37.4, None

What can you ask for really? YMMV. If you have a poor quality copper line to your house, you're going to have poor internet regardless of the provider - blame Openreach.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  
Service can be slow sometimes and drop out at others. Calling customer services is too painful and they do not call you back as promised.
My main gripe however is that when your contract is at an end they do not warn you at all. They simply double the cost of your bill & take the direct debit. The call centre are not interested in complaints - they admit they do this and are sorry you are unhappy!
Devious company - would not recommend at all!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
London SSE  
I have spent 3 months waiting for SSE to start the service. First appointment with openreach was cancelled by openreach and sse failed to tell me. They booked it on another day which I was not aware of so open reach attended when no one was there and it was a missed appointment. Sse apologised for the mistake and booked another appointment 6 weeks later. I confirmed 3 times over the phone including this morning since it was an am appointment, and was told the appointment was confirmed. Nobody turned up. I called they said they didn't understand and would call me back. They called back and said no appointment had been booked for today!! I raised a formal complaint They are trying to book another appointment now, but can not confirm a date, unbelievable. I'm wondering how there's so much confusion on the broadband side, perhaps I should look elsewhere and let them stick with energy, the signs are very bad.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Avoid its criminally slow at peak times. Switched to the SSE Ultra fast fibre so I could stream HD and 4k movies and I can get 65mb/s in the middle of a weekday but at any 'peak' time I'm getting 4-10mb/s. My previous standard broadband gave a constant 17mb/s which was more usable. AVOID.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London SSE  
Documentation/info provided before sign up is misleading and in part contradictory. Customer service rubbish. Waited 30 mins without being connected to advisor and all I heard was "thank you for your patience" until my patience ran out. This is on an 0345 number which I only get 60 mins free per call. If they ever answer, I would probably have to end the call or risk being charged. And this is before even signing up.
London SSE  
Ive been with SSE fibre 76 for a year now and its my 5th provider at this address and the best constant speed no problems apart there is traffic management .
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  
Signed up in July went live August. So far ive had no issues at all with SSE despite all of the negative reviews here and on other review sites. I get an average of 70 to 80 mb with ultrafast fibre ,customer services can be a little slow however when i have spoke to them they have been very good.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  
The fundamental problem with SSE is that their routers cannot provide the speeds they quote without freezing.

The moment your internet speed (i.e. data/time) reaches a certain point, the router will freeze and you will need to restart your device's connection.

This means that for most video streaming services, the video will pause and you will need to restart your internet connection, refresh the video page, and then skip to where you left off.

Likewise, if you are downloading a file via a browser, it will most likely disconnect (thus cancelling the download) within 20 seconds.

I went with SSE for their high speed in my area (~90), and their one month contract. They do provide the speed they advertise, and I've had no issue cancelling my contract.

However, I would never ever recommend SSE to anyone till the company gets off its backside and fixes its hardware issue. I would rather pay more for a slower speed than deal with this frustration again.

Stay far away.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
SSE are reselling a poor service from BT/Openreach, which was OK. Website and customer service is poor. No other way to contact them but by phone which took 20 minutes. Then put on hold and finally cut off. Very poor aftercare service.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London SSE  
No doubt this company has 1 star it's sooooo horrible. Please do NOT use this as your broadband provider. You'll speak to some lady in UK somewhere who will not do a thing to help other than follow some BS manual and ask questions like, "is your router not working because it is on a wooden stand?" I mean... are you flippin' kidding me?

5 days later on most expensive service tier and my internet drops out literally every couple of hours. I've talked to 3 different people, lodged a complaint, been incredibly patient and now I just want to clunk all their stupid heads together and get my money back.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
APPALLING. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

SSE have consistently lied about issues with my broadband switch. Delayed my switch over to them with no communication. Refused to provide an interim solution to their own fault - so I was left without internet for 12 days after they had told me i would be receiving it. Only found out about the problems through calling up as they had not even bothered to let me know.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Do not trust these absolute thieves. They DOUBLED my broadband bill and when I noticed 4 months later they told me they were at liberty to increase the rate without notifying me. They said that had I gone and logged into their system I would have seen a notification there that they were doubling my bill. But they didn't e-mail me or send me a letter - they just expected me to log in each month to check they hadn't arbitrarily doubled my bill. Cancelled and moving supplier. Oh and also when I signed up to them in the first place they told my old supplier to cancel my contract but then SSE forgot to connect me to their system, so the first month with SSE I had no broadband at all. Steer well clear. There's a reason they have such dismal reviews.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
So far a brilliant find and excellent surprise. I was with Virgin, paying for 200Mbps I didn't actually need. Problem was I didn't have a physical phone line at all so moving to another ISP was rather costly. Comes SSE, they said setup fee was £30. I explained I didn't have a line and they said they would send an Open Reach engineer. At not extra cost. BT usually charge about £140 for that, and SSE do it for nothing, with a 1 month rolling contract. Seriously? I thought it was too good to be true. Well, the engineer came the day I was told he would, set up the whole thing within 3 hours, then I plugged the router and within 5 minutes all lights were green and everything was working. I signed up for the Unlimited Fibre (38Mbps down, up to 10Mbps up). I've been doing speed tests regularly to see how it behaves and I'm consistently getting between 36 and 38Mbps down, and 9 to 10Mbps up.
So, I'm saving a fortune, I'm not tied to a 12 or 18 month contract, everything went super smoothly, the router is decent and service is as promised. Well impressed!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  
My 18 month contract with SSE ultrafast fibre came to an end but the price increased to a staggering £48 i did consider switching but its to much hassle instead opted for the new monthly service same broadband but line rental only as i hardly use the landline , i still think this is an ok deal as ive always had a good speed with SSE.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London SSE  
Switched from BT - to "SSE Superfast". My A**e. It is turtle slow, keeps cutting out and has low download speeds - less than 11. Trying now to get out of this deal as no good paying for something that has been falsely advertised in my opinion.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
Very poor speeds with this supplier. Download speed is 0.19 and Upload speed is 0.25. I did a BT speedcheck the guaranteed Min Download speed is 3.0 Mbps
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lower Cambourne SSE  
Firstly this has to be the best price deal around - I will struggle to get anywhere near £21 per month when my deal ends in October 2017.
However - Although the speed is very good, I get near 50Mbs download it has an annoying habit of dropping the link randomly.. Not that random - usually within a few minutes of starting streaming a movie or downloading a large file, or a few seconds after I hit SEND to a long involved email, which is lost and I have to sometimes start over.
It is so unreliable I can rely on it being unreliable.

If it was not so cheap I would have dumped it 12 months ago. Now it is just annotying - bit like toothache.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lowestoft SSE  
Been with she now a month my sped most of the time is around 4-7mb download upload only 1mb nothing has been done to sort it

Steve
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ludlow SSE  
Broadband service AVOID at all cost! No matter how good the special offer is, it's not worth the hassle!
My contract date started 18 Sept 2015 special offer , 2 years free broadband , £8 for line rental( not Fibre).
After receiving all paperwork, contracts, no router arrived. I was without internet for 5 weeks, after my old supplier was informed and disconnected me ,my phone line didn’t work for 2 weeks and when it started working, there was a very loud noise disturbance on the
Telephone line. I couldn’t make any calls. On the 9th October I was assured that my router will be sent to me in the next 7-10 days and broadband will work. I was very polite, and lovely lady at the call centre told me that she would fail a complaint, because I was waiting a long time .12 days later, after 25 min of waiting to speak to customer service, I was told that my broadband order has not even been placed. That they will look into the fault on my line and someone would call me back.
Nothing happened! I called again, to the point when SSE manager Michael Frankland called me back, to assure me that my broadband will be ordered. I asked to have it sorted in 3 days as a priority customer, for waiting so long, he wasn’t able to do so.
I am leaving SSE , and going back to SKY broadband – had no problems with them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
Maida Vale London SSE  
Still no broadband after a week. Never answer the phone and when they do you get smirked at, can only think this is a regular occurrence. Absolutely terrible company. Definitely AVOID!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Maldon SSE  
New customer hope to change to S S E on phone over 5 minutes waiting gave up no one answered
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Maldon SSE  
Switched to SSE from plusnet. So far 3rd week without broadband. Once you get through to support (on average 40 min wait) they fob you off and say nothing can be done at all. If you are OK to be without internet access for a month when switching to SSE, then this is company for you. Been their customer for only 3 weeks and really regrety decision to go with them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester SSE  
Switched to them phone and broadband at the beginning of August. Then they disconnected my broadband and now I'm in 5th week of trying to get it re-connected. Nightmare company to deal with, constantly fobbed off by support and still don't know when I will have broadband back. The few pounds you may save with them is really not worth it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester SSE  
Cant fault the actually broadband as ive never had any faults. Mine starts with me and possibly others being ripped off.
Started with moving house,everything went fine.. Smooth changeover, the lot.
until a few months later i rang up to upgrade my broadband.. slightly slower where I live now.
waiting 45 minutes to get through as this is always the case they tell me im already on their fastest speeds.. erm.. obviously not... They dug into it and apparently my package got changed with the house move by who ever done it without notifying me and doing a full change, i.e contract ect so i was never aware. He sneakily upgraded the package so i was getting charged more (probably for his commission) but never actually put it through proper so i never actually got the higher speeds just paid more over the year. Constantly got told I would get a call off sse which never happened. Ive been ringing for the last 2 weeks nearly everyday for an update as to whats happening bearing in mind there is always a 30-1 hour hold times on the phone to be told nothing other than "its being processed". If you've been ripping a customer off that's been with you for a long time you prioritize that problem especially when you've ripped them off instead of worrying about signing up new people for you to potentially do the same to them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Manchester SSE  
Totally mis-sold on speed. They dont care. You cant cancel as they wait 14 days to even set it up. Cancellation costs more that the product. Can't even watch Netflix!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester SSE  
Really happy with my are fibre broadband package had no problems with it at all excellent customer service changed over to see broadband and home phone from Plusnet after terrible service also got cheap deal for 18 months also changed my gas and electricity supply over to see so all my managed by one company who look after the customers glad I changed to sse highly recommend them
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Manchester SSE  
Never had any problems, customer service is fantastic and not once has the connection dropped. Not overally keen on traffic management but I understand the pros and cons. Speed can vary but overall reliable. They did however promise me at least 50mbps but only get 35mpbs otherwise I would given them 5 stars for everything.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Manchester SSE  
Internet is constantly going on and off at any random moment and restarting itself. Internet also switches off whenever a device connects to it. Customer service only open 8-8. Would not recommend at all! Awful internet connection.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Mansfield SSE  
Due to superb customer service, I nearly adopted a grin and bear it approach. When the service worked - it was good! When it was sporadic (half the time) it was unusable. It did allow me to reminisce of the days where a modem sounded like a banshee-but not the best if streaming anything. Unfortunately I need reliability - or I would have stayed with them.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Market Drayton SSE  

Loading...

  • 357 reviews, showing page 5 of 9, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk