SSE Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for SSE.

Recent Customer Ratings for SSE

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.8 stars

Based on 419 customer ratings since 2019-01-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit SSE   Read our SSE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

357 Customer Reviews for SSE

  • Showing page 2 of 36, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Ridiculously Slow Broadband and Appalling Customer Service

In early November 2019 I decided to switch to SSE for my ‘phone and broadband service. Since then I have had issues indicating an appalling level of service.

On 07/11/19 I received a welcome e-mail with 2 attached docs, both of which indicated that I was living in Morayshire, the next County. During a ‘phone call on 25/11/19 I was advised that the wrong address would not appear on important letters. On 02/12/19 I received an important letter from SSE again showing the wrong County.

On Sunday 24/11/19, and without any warning from SSE my internet connection with with Plusnet stopped. This was the first indication that any technical action had occurred.

It took me about an hour on 25/11/19 to get thro’ to SSE. I was only then told that the changeover had actually occurred. The letter advising that the ‘phone & broadband start date “will be” 21/11/19 only arrived on 02/12/19.

Similarly I did not receive the wireless router in advance of the change. It was delivered on 27/11/19. I had been without any internet service for three days.

Since setup of my broadband on 27/11/19 my download speed has consistently been below 3Mbs and sometimes lower than the upload speed. Three requests to improve this have, to date been ignored. To avoid long waiting times on the ‘phone, two have been by the on-line query/complaint form and one has been by e-mail to SSE Broadband Enquiries.

Having used broadband for 10 years at, or near, my current Postcode address I know that I can get much higher speed. I am convinced that SSE have artificially degraded my connection and that they have, so far, deprived me of the proper and normal speed available at my address.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Nairn SSE  
Serious failings in the management of the business and customer service that make it not fit for purpose and not a reliable operator. After receiving an email advising that we would have an ‘upgrade’ to our service, we have been informed that SSE have a ‘known problem’ and hope to be able to rectify the issue within 48 hours or c96 hours from when the problem started. Try calling them? They aren’t available in the evenings until 8am in the morning. No website cover for the big transition project. Try emailing them? A 5 day turn around time? I waited 30 mins to be able to speak to customer services who were useless. DO NOT USE SSE FOR BROADBAND. They are not fit for purpose!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kingston SSE  
I switched from Sky to SSE it was faster and cheaper, what a mistake, i have been with them for 3 months now and the broadband keeps crashing, up to 30 times a day I sat in one day and watched it. I work on my laptop and every time the broadband goes down i lose everything. But here is the best bit, try and get in touch with customer service. 9 times i have called and i waited up to 45 minutes a call, i have had one email back from them saying call after 6pm, its still the same, no one answered. Customer service is rubbish and so is there broadband..I have told them i will send the router back and cancel my direct debit. Terrible service SSE.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Peterborough SSE  
WARING! Worst broadband provider.
All the reviews you have read are correct an acurate. Avoid at all costs. You have been warned.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Reading SSE  
Promised average 35 Mbps speed, but is now always UNDER 4 Mbps!! (When I could still cancel the service, the speed was around 30 Mbps) Constant delays to get the service running, I had to register online FOUR times because of 'technical' errors. The first engineer to install was rude and didn't do it properly, had to get another to re-do it.The customer service was always very nice, but actually, nothing gets done!!! Connection cuts off every few days for no reason. It's a cheap deal because it's a cheap, unreliable service.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Portsmouth SSE  
Truly awful. We have been with SSE for years with electric and gas and have never had an issue. Three months ago I asked SSE to supply our broadband. All online stuff was completed and they sent an email asking me to complete my registration.
Now, every week they sand me the same email saying I have not completed my registration and I need to, then they say I am registered and they do not have my full address so I need to reply to the email with my full details. Which I do. This triggers an email that says this email address is not monitored.

A few days later I receive another email reminding me to register for my broadband package.

Three months now without broadband or phone line and if I call them there is a hold message saying it will be over an hour to talk to anyone or I can request a call back. I have requested 4 calls back now and received none.

Truly the worst customer service I have ever seen anywhere. Ever.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Suffolk SSE  
Terribly slow broadband, typically takes 10-15 seconds once clicking a link on google to the page opening and often just does nothing and freezes. It may be 50% cheaper than BT but, from my experience, the saving is painful. Personally, I would avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
UK SSE  
At first the service was excellent. At the end of the contract I was robbed. Asked for a new contract. I now find that in the evenings it is so slow I cannot get e-mail. I am supposed to be on a 35Mb/s fibre service. They recently fired a lot of staff, hence the poor service. I have allready switched energy companies. I will switch phone and internet companies as soon as possible. I suspect they have a new boss who is killing the company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Stevenage SSE  
Am 'live' today. Or would be if the router arrived which it wont for at least 3 days so I don't have internet access. Thanks for nothing sse and once I'm set up I'll be cancelling.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
County Durham SSE  
SSE are reselling a poor service from BT/Openreach, which was OK. Website and customer service is poor. No other way to contact them but by phone which took 20 minutes. Then put on hold and finally cut off. Very poor aftercare service.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London SSE  

Loading...

  • 357 reviews, showing page 2 of 36, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk