Gigaclear Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Gigaclear.

Recent Customer Ratings for Gigaclear

  • Satisfaction
    2.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.3 stars

Based on 145 customer ratings since 2023-06-05 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Gigaclear   Read our Gigaclear buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

196 Customer Reviews over 5 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Booked two all day appointments. The second after the first no show.
    A no show on each occasion. No message from Gigaclear to give a reason or say they weren'tcoming. Sat in all day. Two whole days of my life wasted waiting for these clowns who haven't the decency to inform you. A big sales team but no customer service or commitment.
    Avoid
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Zhu
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If possible, I would rate zero star for the service. The engineer did not show up on the installation day without any reason, also no notification at all. After I chased the customer service 5 times, they suggested a new installation date on end of April, that's insane. Really disappointed, not recommend this broadband service provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Somerset
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    After only one issue in 18 months you would think the service was good, right? Well to be honest the service , less when it went on holiday for 4 days, has been faultless. Now I came to the end of my 18 month contract and it was time to renew. Gigaclear was sold to us on the promise that if we saw an offer we wanted on their site we could change and it would be created as a new contact less the time we used. Well end of contract came and my charge was lifted from £24 to £54. Contacted and arranged the new contract after a fight and the advisor not believing the promise until I told him it was then classed as mis-selling and I could claim back my contract costs he checked and was advised that this was promised by sales people to secure the sale. The change was made but Gigaclear still tried taking £54 which my bank rejected. Needless to say Gigaclear wasted no time in cutting my service. Had to phone again and was promised it would be looked into. Was then told I would have to pay the £5x and they would credit my account with the excess. I reluctantly paid the £54 just to get back online but requested the excess back. They held onto my money until the following months charge went out then refunded me £3! A week later my connection went down again. I’m disabled and it’s my only way of being involved with outside world. On the second day I was promised a call back to advise a time and day or tech engineer to attend. No call or email. So they left me the weekend without any form of communication and my TV runs through broadband connection. They don’t conform to Offcom code of compensation because they know they are awful at customer service. Paid for from the public purse in government subsidy yet won’t conform to the automatic compensation amounts which have been proved a fair reflection for level of disruption caused.
    Please whatever you do think long and hard about signing for Gigaclear because when things are working they are great and the network is a godsend however the customer service is quite possibly the worst I’ve known in any sector. There are more excuses than you can think of and I think they work their way through them one by one. Communication is shocking in actual fact it’s non exsistant. It’s no wonder they don’t conform to Offcom rules because they would lose so much money they would be out of business by now. I’m writing to my MP as the money for installing this rural network has been paid for by government eg from you and I and as such they should be made to conform and government should impose these requirements on them. I have a14 day cooling off period for my new contract and if they don’t get their act together and make good an offer of compensation I shall be off and going to BT or Sky.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    They've missed 4 installation appointment dates so far. No calls, no apologies. Nobody turns up, you call them and they offer you another date a month later. Rinse and repeat. Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere for broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yeovil
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They connected broadband cable and internal and external boxes in March.
    The Engineer couldn’t get a signal and said there must be a problem with the connection. He said someone would be out that day or the following day to fix it.
    Weeks later someone from gigaclear came and said he could not believe the mistakes that had been made.
    The cable had been connected to a street terminal that didn’t serve our house. It had also been attached to an electrical pole which isn’t allowed. 4 weeks later After numerals phone calls to customer services and given false promises with no results, I was forced to cancel gigaclear and stay with my current provider before they cut our broadband off.
    Now I have asked gigaclear to remove the boxes and they say they must stay attached to the property!
    If I remove them myself it will be classed as criminal damage.
    So not only have they not provided any broadband but have left me with there useless boxes.
    This company is a complete disgrace and I wish I had never had any dealings with them.
    Don’t be taken in by there flashy adverts, read the terms and conditions carefully they are cowboys!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    Signed up after finding that there's no other decent broadband connection to my new house. Two weeks later I was still waiting to hear about the install date so called them only to be told that it could be up to 2 months before they can get me connected! Nothing mentioned about this at the point of booking. Now have a choice of signing up to a 12 month contract with another provider at minimal speeds, or using a mobile router.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid this company, they basically keep cancelling the installation date without any notice, so you basically have no idea what is going on and when it will actually be installed you could be waiting months or years, appalling service. Do not waste your time with this company just pay for a reliable provider instead
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Willand
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They made the same mistake twice and learned nothing. They promised me a date at the end of Augest and then prospned becuse they got the install type wrong. We rescheduled for november, and five days before the install they call up asking to pospone again.
    If they are so incapable of getting an install right for a new customer I hate to think what their customer service is like for an existing customer.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID at all costs! I joined Gigaclear in June 2021 as had no other options in my area at the time. There was a 1 month delay and my installation date kept getting put back. They told me it was due to not being able to locate the box outside our house. The box was clearly there so sent photos on of the box and location, they then came back with more excuses. Since joining them our connection drops every couple of months due to their poor cables that feed our house. There is never any urgency to come and resolve the issue and it’s usually always a week without any connection. They give loads of empty promises! We have now been without wifi for a week and someone was suppose to come today between 8-12 so I took the day off work to ensure I was home. No one turned up, no one contacted me at all. I chased them at 12pm and they said someone will call me back. It was not until 1.30pm that I received a call saying no one would be coming today as one of the engineers are ill and they won’t be back now until Thursday! The customer service at Gigaclear is the worst I have experienced!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I signed up with these guys just over a month ago on their biggest package which states I would be getting an average speed of 900mb up and down... 3 days after it went live I was still getting speeds less than their smallest package (150MB) - I was getting 109mb up/down. Now I know that the speeds are not guaranteed to be 900mb being a home broadband service but when I was with Virgin I always got close to the specified speeds. Then the line was down for a day and half due to a damaged fibre cable which they can't be blamed for - but no compensation offered, as with virgin media or BT when there is a significant outage.

    Anyway, I raised a support ticket which I explained everything in detail and all the necessary steps take at my end (I've worked in IT for 18 years). A rep from the company replied 2 weeks later - not even having read my initial support request properly and asked if I had tried all the things I had already stated... I replied instantly and have heard nothing for another 2 weeks.

    On top of that, the line is grossly unstable and often hangs when watching YouTube or other streaming services. The same services work fine when using my mobile phone's 3G connection...

    I've since swapped out all the equipment they supplied (Linksys VELOP) with my own enterprise equipment and the line speed is significantly faster, but still very up and down in terms of speed and stability. As an example back-to-back speed tests will yield between 100mb to 300mb - the results always grossly different even when tests are performed one after another.

    As for the customer services - I've read other pre-lockdown pre-covid reviews that also have the same experience of no response. I would not recommend this company at all based on my initial experience. I am really disappointed with the service or lack of..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The service has only been available for a short while, locally. I have to say, the' sales and installation have been fine so far.
    The installers were not 'over qualified', I'm afraid. The inside guy was confused about installing the 'land line simulator'; he was new to it and had never seen my ordinary (emergency) handset which I suggested he should use to test the system. There was a delay in connecting the phone gizmo but the internet connection was there and the speed is what I'm paying for.
    I have read a few "avoid" comments but what can one do to 'avoid' when there is only one supplier?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Herefordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi All. I live in West Herefordshire. Gigaclear installed a Broadband network last year around our area and started signing up customers. I waited for a few months and then thought I would give it a try. On the appointed installation day (after an initial scoping visit), I waited and waited. NO one turned up and Gigaclear were never able to explain why. Frustrated with this I cancelled my service without ever receiving a service, hence no rating for that. After a month I saw Squirrel broadband advertised, they use the Gigaclear network. Unfortunately, this means that Gigaclear, or their contractors carry out the installation. Squirrel appear to be good and responsive but today I have waited all day for my installation and guess what, NOTHING has happened. Gigaclear are apparently unable to tell Squirrel why this is. Yes I know it is a 'First World' problem in the great scheme of things. How Gigaclear has any customers I find difficult to understand given their approach to customer service. I am unsure what to do next. Living in a rural area can be lovely but some basic services, and that includes 4G are not great.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Northants
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The customer service provided by this company is appalling. I have registered my interest in receiving a service but got no reply (as had been promised). After speaking to an operative I was put on hold whilst something was checked and after 30 mins on hold I gave up. An email has not been answered. Maybe Gigaclear doesn’t want to provide me with a service, but now I don’t want them to given that if there was a problem I would have no confidence that they would address it efficiently (or at all). So it is BT instead.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swallowfield
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Expensive, unreliable, unreachable support.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hollingdon
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I pay for a business broadband with 24hr call to fix. They cant get an engineer out for 11 days!!
    Nothing they can do because they are all on holiday. Fault reported 23rd December so i get they may busy but 23rd/ 24th are working business days, as are 27th,30th and 31st Jan. Not for Gigaclear apparently who let all their engineers have 2 weeks holiday! But their paying customers are told to try and buy a Vodafone WiFi dongle and that should get you get through! Not for business PC users with no WiFi capability it isn't. Oh and they will give a months free subscription and pay any WiFi costs. Really unhelpful, and clearly no business sense at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aveton Gifford
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Fast bout not as fast as advertised... If you use their speed checker facility it is not accurate....it adds 70- 100mbs to the speed
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southwest
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Abysmal service and even worse customer support. AVOID!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aston Clinton
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Well Gigaclear has had issues since day 1 of install. The service always cuts out and they get you to do continual hard wired speed tests. The speed is not 900mbps but more like 600mbps. Engineers don’t turn up for appointments. Holes get left on n the walls. Customer service hang up on you. The whole system is a mess. They can’t give you an unreliable service and expect you to stay with them. Even their mesh system resets itself all the time. I work from home so having unreliable service really impacts me. I will be taking this further
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Witney
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Not sure about the speed and reliability of the broadband because we never got that far. All friendly and helpful when I phoned to get the discount deal they offered, but awful after that. Booked a date in Dec22. Given a time the engineer would arrive, so we knew we had time to pop out for a quick lunch. Only just as we've ordered our lunch a good 1.5hours before the appointment they call to say they are on site. I can't leave and they couldn't wait so they went to another site and didn't return. I had to find a way myself to book another day through their portal. Only one available was 2 months later. New date arrived. I checked the portal to make sure I had the right date. Portal said yes and it's an AM appointment before 12:00 and engineer will be in touch will actual time. 12:00 came and gone. 12:52 engineer asks if 13:30 is good. He had been given PM. Concerned this is only a sign of things to come I decided to stay with exiting provider Zen Internet, maybe supposedly a bit slower but super reliable and forthcoming with excellent customers service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Herefordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Entered into a contract with Gigaclear in June 2023, with payments to start after my installation. Eventually received an installation booking for early in August. This was cancelled a few days before installation was due. No details on another date. Eventually got an installation date in November. This was cancelled a few days before. Got an installation date for 17 Dec. This was then cancelled. Told earliest would be 17 Jan 2024. At this point, I cut my losses and cancelled the whole thing. Internet is full of reports from miserable customers who hate Gigaclear! Only upside was that the customer support staff are decent, helpful, honest, and dealt straighforwardly with me. Unfortunately they usually have little to no useful information to provide though. What's the point in waiting till 17 Jan 2024, only to get a service installed that is almost guaranteed not to work as promised? And then wait 3 months to get an engineer to come and fix? No chance. I'm better off staying with TalkTalk on snail-pace fibre to the cabinet. Other reports online suggest this company is VERY hit and miss with their work. I suspect poorly-trained technical staff and rushed work. I also suspect corruption that they got the contract for the rural fibre network.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Maidenhead
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Nothing but good things to say. Was a BT customer - got 8meg if I was lucky and very unreliable. As soon as this was available, opted for install and cancelled BT landline.

    18 months in 6000 Meg, couple of minor outages, great reliability, speed always as promised.

    Issues - none, but ones typically discussed. Customer service - they are a relatively small business, temper expectations. WiFi speed, is always tricky around buildings, many devices have a theoretical / hardware max of 250 Meg, which mine get, with expected speed drop off around the house. I added two nodes and in the worst spot, get 150 meg on tablet. hardwire and of course you get the full speed. (I have a garden office 30M from house and get the full speed there)

    I'm just renewing which will mean a price increase - more feedback to follow if this proves panful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Midlands
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Can’t rate the broadband as I simply never got an install. Mis sold is the polite way of saying what I’d like to say.
    If they can’t supply they should have said so at the start, but instead they made promises and then didn’t deliver, strange as my neighbour has gigaclear and had no issues, but life goes on and I’ve learnt a lesson, I’d advise the first time they fail to install as promised I’d not bother keep trying, just move on.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ascot
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The most awful experience. I have not seen any other utility company as ignorant, careless and disappointing than Gigaclear.
    Really feel bad I signed up with them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ascot
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst thing is being lied to by the customer service, when they know they have an outage but they deny it like a fool taking you as an idiot.
    Day 2 without any broadband
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ascot
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Went start of Nov22 finally fixed 2 months later.
    Terrible customer service.

    And now a month after fixing is dead again!!

    Still waiting for an acceptable compensation offer.

    Beyond bad service where simple basis diagnostic checks just didn’t happen, in my opinion.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I say speed and reliability is poor - i didnt get that far. I signed up for Fttp one month ago. Aranged a field visit as its an old property. They didnt turn up. Customer ser4vices didnt know why. They never phoned me back. I contacted them a week later. Two days after the visit should have taken place it was cancilled - they didnt know why. They cant give me another one for a month - an install would be a month after that - i cancilled the contract! How much worse could it get!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Signed up with them in Sep 2023. Two missed installations with no reasons given and at short notice. Abysmal customer service in terms of getting issues fixed (the people on the call lines are very good and pleasant but appear to have no authority). Luckily I had not cancelled my current provider (BT) so I cancelled Gigaclear today and will never go near them again. So if you decide to ignore the reviews on here, take my advice and do NOT cancel your existing provider until you are up and running with Gigaclear.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Upleadon
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Very quick installation - within a week from ordering! WiFi speeds are around 80mbs throughout the house, which is really good. To get the 300mbs will need connecting via Ethernet cable. That is fine, however, because the router is so rubbish, they have installed a Velop Mesh booster to boost wifi, this makes the router just a signal receiver (bridging unit) and you can't use the Ethernet ports as they don't work! Problem is the booster only has one Ethernet port, so will have to buy a multi port Ethernet switch. That is 3 devices that need plugging in because the router is rubbish. Add the additional phone adapter from Vonage, that makes 4 plugged in devices to replace one for 'normal' broadband - so much for progress and efficiency! Can't understand why the Velop Mesh booster doesn't have the same number of Ethernet ports as the router. Or rather why they haven't replaced the router for one that is fit to do the job in the first place!
    No problems with the service so far though!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cote Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Comments
    Still waiting for connection that was promised for August. Now put back to May. Internet speed is awful in our village. Come on gigaclear live up to your promises
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Extremely poor and I would avoid if you can. Our internet has been continuously down every afternoon for 4 weeks. We've had weekly engineer visits and it is still not fixed. I was told I would get
    a 4G dongle after it was down for 10 days but when I chased up and they said we don't have any available as the engineers are using them all and I would be placed on a waiting list. Gigaclear promised compensation but it's just an empty promise. They haven't acted on it. You call and they say a senior manager will contact you but no one does.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Not impressed so far.
    Ordered broadband last week and was told that as the property had been connected before they only had to deactivate the service. I informed them that the external,box was damaged and needed replacing and also relocating nearby. I was told an engineer would be around on Monday. Needless to say no one turned up. Called to find out what was going on only to be told other than my order there was nothing on the system. They would sort it and get back to me. A couple of days later a message on my phone asking if I would like the system to be activated before the engineer called. They seem to have overlooked the fact that the old equipment is damaged. I called again only to find out that nothing has been done, no appointments or bookings made so a week wasted. I now have a date in 2 weeks time for a survey to be done which will come to the conclusion that the external box needs replacing and moving about a meter to one side. After that we can book an installation! No doubt a few more weeks will pass before that is finally carried out. That’s if I don’t cancel the order.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Oxon
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Ordered the hyperspeed 900 package in July 2023 this was put back three times - fibre to the building was installed end of Jan and the fibre to the modem installed by their contractor early Feb, the engineer said that the fibre is rolled up around the top of the telephone post.. so not connected! and the fibre to the house has been cable tied around the down pipes!! contacted gigaclear but they dont seem bothered so will renew my contract with talktalk next month and they can collect their hardware and make good the works so far. what a waste of their contractors time..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnham Essex
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Back in 2016, gigaclear promised us a network in our village in Farnham, Essex. They dug up the roads and laid their cables (in some areas the 'repairs' are beginning to break up). In December 2017 they wrote to us all stating:

    "We fully understand the frustration surrounding the delay to your village. Unfortunately, due to factors beyond our control we had to re-evaluate some aspects of the project before continuing the build. However, we are pleased to confirm that all residents will be live on our network by the 30th June 2018."

    It's now March 2023. Not one house has been connected.

    This is how they treat some of their customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cullompton
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    How could a company compete for prime installation in my area, and then run the show like a cowboy outfit. I was told several weeks ago my service would go live, but they sent an engineer 2.5 hours away from me to carry out the install only to be told they needed specific permission from the property owner to make a few little holes to route the cable into my flat? Now several weeks on, I am still in limbo with some guy calling me from a mobile phone seeming to understand perhaps a little bit more than the call centre but even he has gone cold turkey on me! I am not impressed and a lot of hype, major roadworks impacting locals and for what???
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newbury
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Probably the most useless broadband company in Britain. I've ordered broadband from them 4 times over the last 18 months and each time they're very happy to get your direct debit details and order. But their ability to deliver is 0 (Zero) . All sorts of excuses, but the worst of all is zero contact from them. The chief exec must be like the fat controller from Thomas the Tank Engine.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ongar
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    We have the basic package and my son uses it to play his computer which works well. However if we're watching a film or sports on T.V the speed generally isn't quick enough which is really frustrating
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Comments
    We live in a small village .Gigaclear is our only option for full fibre broadband. Have been waiting since last September, have had 4 cancellations , only 2 with prior notice.
    Today Gigaclear confirmed the installation, Incontacted them twice this morning to check it would go ahead. By 3pm I ran get and was told it had been cancelled due to Health and Safety issues, but this had been flagged up last October during a supposed site visit.
    I have read other reviews and people have had the same problems.
    The only choice we have is to pursue this or give up.
    After reading the reviews it looks as though giving up is the best option.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    CHEPSTOW
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Comments
    SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE
    Installation of boxes was fine. However, following the internal installation the technician said "All finished now" It was not, since neither internet nor phone line worked. After a week the internet was mysteriously restored but not the landline phone. I have since contacted Gigaclear endless times by email and hone but to date, after 29 days without a phone line, I have yet to receive any acknowledgement that anything at all is happening. No message to say the fault is logged. No phone call to discuss the fault. Simply a great stone wall of silence. I am on the edge of cancelling my contract and returning to Talk Talk who, at least contacted me. Absolutely hopeless customer service. If any.
    Christopher
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What can I add to these reviews.. I have never received the 300Mb as promised for any length of time and have been battling poor customer service and ineptitude for almost a year. I am listing my speeds on twitter (colwobs33) and am doing the WIRED SPEED TO THE NODE and also wireless speed to my laptop with just that using wireless.. If you complain often enough you'll get a free node, complain a bit more and you'll get the network switch you need cos the node only has one ethernet port available for any wired connections, and you need everything possible connected by LAN cables.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cotswolds
    Reviewing
    Gigaclear
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Broadband speed good but customer service poor.
    Big increases in price at the end of contract. We gave Gigaclear the required notice to terminate our service & we received acknowledgement from them.
    However a month after the end of contract & use of their broadband we are still being charged £54/month. They refuse to stop charging us or respond to our emails even though our broadband service has been terminated.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.