Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Overall Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    3.1 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 180063 customer ratings since 2009-04-06 (Show recent ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,816 Customer Reviews over 96 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Utter gits. They so messed up transfer from Sky that I permanently lost my landline number, and never had a working landline. Their support helpline is absolutely grim. More thanan hour wait each time and the line is dropped about a third of the time. AND YOU CAN ONLY CANEL USING THAT LINE! You can' teven WRITE A LETTER TO TO THEM TO CANCEL. So I eventually cancelled. They would not allow it and persued me with relentless debt collectors. I took them to arbitration and they lied there too, but I still won. I left them the year before becuase they was monsters. They learrned nothing except that, hin the UK, delivering good service is simply not cost effective - there's no incentive to do it, and the law is quiet on the matter. MORALLY BANKRUPT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Galley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been a virgin customer for many years and in the past have been very happy with the service however since my latest contact it has been appalling- the customer service is shocking and if you need to call be prepared to be passed around and waste hours of your time without anything being resolved and that is even if you can get thru. I signed up for 200mbps and I can only get this in the room where the router is - virtually nothing upstairs when it has always been fine before - I was sent a booster which you have to pay extra for when this service is not fit for purpose and other providers give these free. I wanted my access point moving and they refused to do this due to ‘covid’ but when asked they confirmed they had no problem doing this for new customers. Despite not resolving my issues they have no problem calling me in a weekly basis trying to sell me more products when I have asked them not to - this is a breach of my marketing preferences. I also spent hours raising a complaint via webchat only to receive an email the following day saying the complaint had been closed. This company has gone downhill big time in the last 12 months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    Virgin is terrible. It's down very often. Virgin has no customer service to speak off. I will never sign up for Virgin again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Erith
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Reliability is poor, a nightmare
    Reliability is poor. Speed is intermittent and no where near advertised, I have the 100mbps package and only receive 20-40% of the speed I pay for. Wi-FI absolutely unreliable, it drops every 30 mins or so The customer service is atrocious. You sit on hold forever.
    They trick you into longer contracts and then make it really hard to cancel.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Erith
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have the 100mbps package and only receive 20-40% of the speed I pay for.Reliability is poor. Speed was intermittent and no where near advertised
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Team cut off our internet for no reason and left.

    We work from home and a reliable internet was the selling point signing with virgin media. Of course we came to learn that is not reliable at all, it's always dropping - halfway through meetings is a classic.

    This Monday, someone from Virgin came to fix something in our building unrelated to us. They cut off our internet, so we went downstairs and talked to the the engineer. explaining that whatever he was doing, had cut off our connection. He said he would restore it, but then simply left without fixing it.

    Result: from 16h Monday to now we've had no internet. We contacted them several times - always a hassle, since speaking to human is luxury at Virgin - and after a lot of 'nothing can be done', they schedule an appointment for today, Friday. So all this time, no internet, no work - just a borrowed WIFI and our 3gs to do the bare minimum. Already unacceptable.

    As if it wasn't enough, they didn't show up to their appointment (which I've been waiting since 8am). Instead, they called me once (while I was in the middle of a meeting). I tried calling straight away back, but all I get is a message 'The Virgin team has tried to contact you, goodbye'. Very unacceptable.

    He left a message, that is absolutely impossible to understand. More like a grunt 'This is from virgin media kskshds'. No way to contact him. No way to know what's going on. Not even a written message of any sort.

    So unprofessional, complete disregard for their clients, absolutely unacceptable costumer service. The fact that the engineer was here on Monday to fix something, cut us off and then left knowing of our situation is beyond me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Eddington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst customer service and company I have ever come across worse than Ryanair. I ordered my broadband on 5th May, today is 11th June, they have cancelled 3 appointments to fix the internet outside. on top of that, I called to ask them OMG they asked my name and address like 3 times and transferred to 3 different people. I don't want this kind of customer service. Virgin Media has good marketing and SH** customer service. I am trying to cancel it today but after 15 minutes of unwanted songs I got to 2 transfers then they ask me to hold then they hung up on me. DON'T BUY THEIR DEALS VIRGIN MEDIA IS NOT A RELIABLE COMPANY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin media is total a fraud and I have been told by virgin media that they do only soft search on your credit history. But they did hard search on my credit history and damaged my score. Also complained but after 10 days contacted again and been told there's no complain on their system, second time complaint and beed promised I will receive the reference number through the post email but never received so I'm thinking to take a legal action against the virgin media.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Props to the virgin media for having one of the best but scummiest business model in the world. Customer service is phenomenal as well, I got passed around from person to person like a cheerleader in a sports team, giving security information 4 times because every person got fed up with me for trying to get a better deal.

    I'm paying £33 for 50Mbs package but because it's wireless it's only 30. After an hour long call with them I accepted the fact that I will never ever get 50mbs but I will still have to pay an absurd price for it.

    I was trying to cancel my contract and there's a fee so I thought I had to wait a year. Turns out, THEY CHANGED IT SO THAT THE CONTRACT IS 18 MONTHS, HOW CONVENIENT! They just take more and more money from me but never give back.

    I've been a customer for 3 years and there's literally no room for negotiation anymore, everything is so conveniently made so that they make as much money as possible before you can change and make your life better, it's horrible and I sincerely hope that they change or else I will just move after the convenient 18 months! 12 months contracts have been around forever until now it's insane.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Maghull
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Honestly when it runs. It runs well but there's no responsibility. It's rare I get to use it properly cause I'm at work but when I'm at home and I just sit down to play games with my friends it's completely unreliable to the point I have to apologize to my friends for the sake we can't even play games together without me disconnecting at least twice in half an hour minimum
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have the 100mbps package and only receive 20-40% of the speed I pay for.

    All attempts at getting it sorted are mired by slow and bad customer service that seems to be put in place to just waste you time and not resolve anything.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London , pemberton gardens
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Media - Is really and truly an absolute joke
    I can't believe how useless this company is!! I have not had any internet from 6/04/2021 until 26/04/2021.the representative has told me on the phone that I will have the best internet broadband ever, (I have left talktalk because the service was really bad, intermittent broadband, no internet broadband at all sometime ) that what I have told the representative as the reason to join virgin media .
    An engineer attended to sort the problem out to be told he can not fix the problem , so there is a need to send me another engineer - which is on the 26 June - that will be more than 3 weeks with no internet, and no one in this company can seem to help me get this done quicker!! its an absolute joke!!!!!
    The second engineer told me he fixed the problem, but to my amazement it did not solve the problem ,on top of that my service hardly ever works.
    I call them once every week trying to sort my connection -, but it had not changed
    they say I will get repaid for the amount of time I wasn’t able to access internet , but was told later I am not eligible for that , I t’s absolute shambles I can't tell you nor express how much I hate this company now

    I told them I am one of the nurses , but they have not given any discount , even they say on their web page they do .we have in the hospital where I work something called freenet, where an employee can leave feedback about any services he wished to, I have left negative feedback in there, it is viewed by more than 30,000 employees in the NHS trust , some staff asked me about joining virgin media , I expressed my feelings and told them the truth, now they joined another broadband provider.I am well happy that my feedback has been seen by around 13,000 staff so far. I don’t know how to upload the picture for the screenshot otherwise I would show you the feedback.
    Please avoid at all cost!! do not join with them!!! just useless in every way you think about .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Reliability is poor. Speed was intermittent and no where near advertised.
    The customer service is atrocious. You sit on hold forever.
    They trick you into longer contracts and then make it really hard to cancel. You can upgrade online but not cancel online only on the phone. Then they don't employ enough staff so I have been on hold for a cumulative 3 hours.
    You cannot cancel more than 30 days in advance but then have to give 30 days notice so they can take an extra payment.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've had the virgin M100 package for 4 months and it has never worked (Wifi drops every 30 mins or so). Today they have excelled themselves and said that you don't pay for wifi and so they aren't contracted to deliver it. They say the routers are capable of delivering it however it isn't part of the package and its just luck if you get it. So if you want wifi (you can only hard wire 4 devices into the router) don't use Virgin. I have also spent over 2 hrs on the phone (or in a queue) today and got no where. Unfortunately I am tied to them for another 14 months and they will not release me but if you haven't signed up, please go elsewhere if you want reliable broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Deceptive (and costly) charging and awful customer service

    The internet is okay, but the service is appaling. I signed up and attempted to claim the refer a friend discount (£50). This was never honoured. I tried to resolve this repeatedly, and at each stage was told a new story: first that it would be taken off my next bill (it never was), then the money would be credited to my account (it never was), and then that I need to contact the third party to arrange the credit myself (contacted them to be told me they could not help). When I called up to cancel after several months of this, I was advised that they would honour the refer a friend credit (now long promised) so long as I stayed on as a customer. At this point I cancelled my service as trust and good faith were spent - they then advised they will charge me an additional month (?) and then send a cheque to repay me the extra month I would be charged.... there appeared to be no reasonable explanation as to why. I do not trust I will ever recieve this cheque. The customer service is actively deceptive and incompetent, explain at each step why the previous representative was wrong with no apology or acknowedgement, present you with a couple of new rules and regulations, make promising assurances, and then there is absolutely no follow through. It's a shame as the internet was reliable and speed okay. Just the deceptive charging and incompetent customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin are absolutely atrocious. I have had them for 4 months and never had an acceptable service. I rely on broadband for being able to work from home and don't get a single acceptable call during the day. Their servicedesk doesn't provide service - you get cut off before speaking to anyone and their online help is more stupid than most of their support teams. Use anyone other than Virgin.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I tried contacting Virgin to cancel the broadband as I'm moving houses and plan on changing as I'm a uni student so will be able to get use of alternate 12 month contracts. I was kept on hold for half an hour, then hung up and called back, only to be left on hold for an hour.

    I am now trying to cancel through web chat and am still being strung along. I have explained multiple times that I am not continuing with my Virgin deal...


    The broadband has generally been fine, needed ethernet cables occasionally but generally operational and reliable.

    Just awful customer services.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Media - I can't believe how useless this company is!! I have not had internet for 5 days now.., they need to send me another engineer - which is on the 15th June - that will be 3 weeks with no internet, and no one in this company can seem to help me get this done quicker!! its an absolute joke!!!!!
    on top of that my service hardly ever works, I am on the phone to them at least once a month trying to sort my connection - then they have the audacity to increase my bill - and when I tell them - they say ok will give you a discount which is basically still more than I was paying - when searching for new lines - I see they are doing the exact same package as mine for half the price! FFS are you kidding me!! It's a joke!! I can't tell you how much I hate this company!
    Avoid at all cost!! do not join with them!!! just useless in every way possible!!!
    Anyway, now I'm basically stuck with no internet for 3 weeks, unable to work, which will affect my income, a phone bill is ridiculous as I've actually called virgin 30 times in the last 5 days to try and sort, and not a single person has been helpful! I really don't understand... can anyone explain???

    AGAIN STAY AWAY FROM VIRGIN MEDIA! ITS NOT WORTH THE PAIN!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Solihull
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I opted to switch from Sky to Virgin Media on 24th December, as Virgin are currently the only fibre provider in our area. I cancelled my contract on 1st April - at which point they hadn't even installed it!!

    I had engineers come out to the house on 3 separate occasions - which was on top of the occasion when someone was meant to come out, but no-one bothered & I didn't even get a call/text/email to let me know.

    We live on a main road, but they had to do some external work to fit the cable (which the engineers said was a "standard job that they do all the time"). This work was pushed back numerous times to the point where they said my next installation date was April & by that point I'd given up. There was a month or so in there when one of the other utilities were digging which held things up a little (before their "customer experience" team try to reply & justify the delay), but the work should have been done months before this started & I left plenty of time afterwards before I cancelled it.

    Trying to contact them was impossible & when you did get through it was to an Indian call centre who had less information than I had, so that was completely pointless - they couldn't give me any information whatsoever.

    I'm really glad that I did cancel it, as since telling others of my experience it seems I'm far from alone with the implementation problems & the service only gets worse once you're a paying customer!!!

    I'll be sticking with Sky & waiting for Openreach to upgrade us to fibre.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Horrendous customer service, really appalling .
    On the phone for nearly an hour waiting to get through to the right department, then I was cut off. Phoned back and now still waiting again and it’s been 30 mins so far.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    slough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Today is the final champions league and from.morning no internet....plus.my contract was raise from.26 to.29.50 witjout announce me ...no compensation....worst company ever. Ombusdan and small.court !!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I cancelled before they even gave me a service.

    My sky broadband was ending mid June.

    20th Feb I ordered virgin broadband to be installed 29th March, so I could avoid sky price increase. Come 29th March I got a text message saying there is a delay in starting your services. I thought fine, is this a delay for a day, 2 days, a week, a month? What am I expecting.

    So I waited 2 further weeks thinking I'll get a letter, an email, phone call or something to say what the delay is for, roughly how long, I heard nothing from them, so I phoned up myself to see what's going on. I explained I purchased on February, for march install, and we're in mid April and I've heard nothing, he explained about road works needed permission to dig up, which I totally agree and knew about, hence why I ordered way in advanced, so he said could I give it until end of April , I said yeah sure no problem


    Anyway end of April comes, again, nothing , no text, email , phone, letter. So I thought well this is now beginning of May, I'm done, my actual sky broadband ends in a month's time I'll just simply stick with another OpenReach network provider.

    So I phoned virgin up, and said I want to cancel everything. Well, the Indian guy on the phone certainly didn't like that, asking me What am I going to do with no internet!? (Shock horror), so I said oh no sir I'm fine, my sky doesn't run out until June. To which he replied "Then why are you in a rush to cancel", in a rush? I ordered 20th February, it's now May, I was certainly in no rush otherwise I would have voiced concerns waaaayyy sooner. He then asked am I going to use virgin in the future , "yeah of course I might, could be 1 years time, 2, 5, 10 years, I have no idea". So he said Then let us continue with installation as no matter what you're going to need to have this outside work carried out regardless, so I said yeah true but I don't care at the moment, I'm done with it, and I'll worry about that when I decide to try virgin again. He then proceeded to say the same thing over and over again about getting the work installed anyway, my answer was the same each time, I'm done with it, don't want it. He said why don't I just get the work carried out, then cancel once it's done. So again I said, no I'm cancelling now, if you want to carry the work on, go ahead but I'm not using the service when it's setup anyway. He finally gave up , cancelled it within about a minute, and said all done, you'll get an email confirmation
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aylesbury
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst internet provider I've had so far. I've been with them for a few months only and since then I've been constantly experiencing connection issues. Now my wifi has been out for 4 days now, and nothing has been done to solve the problem. Their customer service is non-existent. To be avoided.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    The speed is good,but the customer service is horrible. I can't view my bills online as I can't create a account and this has been reported since I got the connection. Every week I get a call from virgin media call center to check the issue and no one has bothered to fix it. Two months and the issue still persists.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    For money they took for the service they do nothing. Incompetent installation, bad connectivity, low quality support. There is much more interesting suppliers on the market
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It’s is the worst internet provider do not provide what you pay for don’t believe poorest loss of connection.when you ring and complain very rude unhelpful put you on hold then cut you off this has happened around 6 times very angry
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Waltham abbey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      5 stars
    Comments
    I've been a virgin customer for 8 years. The first 7 years was brilliant fastest speed and very reliable! BUT the last year, especially since February I'm only having internet for maybe 1-2hrs a day if im lucky! The engineers are at my house every single week telling me it's a network issue and going to be fixed on the same day! Obviously nothing happnens. I've had enough! I'm sending everything back to them and never use virgin again! Paying £60 a month for literally nothing. Call center is so bad, can never speak to a manager.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sussex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    My VM email address of 20 years stopped working 4 weeks ago. Ringing VM daily - am told each time, 'yeah yeah it'll be fine in an hour' - 'we'll ring you later to check'... blah...

    Still doesn't work.
    Still no call back from them.

    They are unable to fix their own simple error - or use a telephone.

    Incompetent and lazy
    No MORE MONEY FOR YOU, VM!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London catford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    There are no words to describe how bad their service is.
    They're advertising 200MBS and I'm currently getting 15MBS more than 10 times slower.
    I have moved from Talk Talk to them back in February this year, based on their advertised speed, but that was nothing than a trap, i have complained several times they have said they will monitor it and fix the issue but that story is going on and on and speed and reliability is worse and worse.
    Stay away from them, not to say that they're customers service is in some foreign country who bluntly just cannot comprehend the situation.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    When it works - its fine. But if you ever get a problem - good luck. Its impossible to get support and they just keep telling you to reboot your router. So frustrating.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BIRMINGHAM
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Have requested switch to virgin in January 2021 but the installation date was postponed two times in Feb and then no installation date given till 20 May. Four months wait for nothing so terminated the never existing service. Very bad customer service and will not recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kingston
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer service are useless and extremely unhelpful I ended up cancelling the service and taking my business elsewhere
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Keep clear, a horrible provider. I have been trying to cancel or downgrade my price plan for 3 months. You will simply be disconnected after the agent says they are putting you through to customer retention. I finally got through today, I spoke to two ladies who were extremely helpful despite not remembering my password on the account they asked for other additional security questions which I passed. When they put me through to customer retention the lady refused to help me stating that, if I did not remember my password there was nothing she could do. I told her that I had passed security with 2 of your colleagues. She flat out refused to assist me with my cancellation request. It is the law she said, she furthermore said there not enough other security questions to ask you despite clearing security with 2 of her colleagues. I am really appalled by the attitude of this provider. I have spent 1.5 hours on the phone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Guildford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    The customer service is the worst. They’re not reliable at all and they’re not helpful they only make things worse and they were supposed to file a complaint and didnt. They kept putting me on hold a lot and then hung up on me. I’ve been on phone calls with them for 2 days and it’s not easy to reach them at all
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gloucester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Greatest saddest about VirginMedia broadband and V/M tv box main problem after 2021 because broadband ran very slowly and also tv box ran very very slow that I contacted V/M via texts BUT they said it still works. A engineer came here to put old broadband box instead of new broadband and also old tv box instead of new box and then I contacted them and they said other departments other department other departments or departments that it is making me more stressing and hurting my body because I am over 77 years old and profoundly deafness that V/M are still labelling my body because V/M are still ignoring to reading Disability Discrimination Act forever. V/M should be close down possible because under DDAct. Now withdraw all V/M router, tv box and etc. which throw away because V/M can take second hand boxes to other people that's not fair that they MUST have NEW BOXES in the future.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking! on given install date, they say work needed and make a new install date. guys turn up with shovels, have a cuppa and leave. Now livechat says order cancelled no explanantion and transfer to a sales bot. wow.. am.relieved its over now!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Firstly, for the actual service, I was with Virgin Media for 2 years. The deal was the most competitively priced for 100mbps speeds. Throughout those two years the internet speeds never felt great, many days I would check the speed and it would be below 10mbps. Virgin’s terms and conditions make it difficult to challenge drops in speed. On the 27th March I switched provider to get 67mbps speeds for the same price, and honestly, the service has been far better and consistent.

    Now to share my story at how awful it has been to move my services. Middle of March 2021, I contact virgin via the web chat to make them aware I’m moving homes. They tell me they cannot offer 100mbps at the new home, that is fine, I put in a cancelation request. A few days later, I get a call from Virgin telling me I can get those speeds at the new home and they offer me a good deal, I accept and share my details, such as my moving date, the 27th March.

    20th March, Virgin Media terminate my existing broadband, 7 days too early. Leaving me to have to purchase and use Data in order to do my job. To get reconnected took 4 hours 14 minutes (14 at least different calls). Why so many calls? I would be reconnected to another department rather often, and just less than half the time, my call would be disconnected while being transferred. This happened roughly a dozen times from start to finish. I was reconnected after 4 days without broadband.

    While the team helped me get reconnected, they brought it to my attention that the there is also a problem with the new property I asked to move my broadband to. They have to do some building work to get the broadband up to speed and this would take between 4-8 weeks, they said they would supply me with a dongle in the meantime. They gave me a number I had to text in order to sort out the dongle. I text the number it led to a conclusion that someone would call me within 24 hours to sort out the dongle. No one called. I text the number again, same conclusion someone will get back in touch. No one called. I text the number again, same conclusion someone will get back in touch. While this was going on, I was still phoning virgin to get reconnected, since it was a 4-day ordeal. While trying to get reconnected, I finally threw in the towel and said I don’t want any services from Virgin anymore, I would like to leave. The dongle was given up on as well. I went with a new provider EE, who have been great so far.

    My final date with Virgin media was the 27th March. I got a letter saying I was owed £13 for my services being terminated in late March, since I did pay for the full month right at the start. I raised a complaint and they kindly offered me £50 in a goodwill sorta thing for my troubles. This was confirmed in an email on 16/04/2021. Fast forward to 10th May. I had still not received my Credit. Not only that, I was sent a letter that I owe Virgin £30ish. Well 5 calls on the 10th, lasting a combined 4 hour 22 minutes consisting of a few disconnections (one disconnection happening 3 hours into a call) I find out that Virgin never cancelled on the 27th March. They were still trying to charge me. And the Credit I was promised was used to reduce these charges on my bills I never received. This has took out some of my credit score success since it appears I’ve been missing some payments I had no idea about.

    During my 4 Hour 22 Minute worth of calls, I do speak to a lot of customer service reps. Two of which are very helpful. They explain to me why I haven’t had my credit, that I’m still with Virgin apparently. They set me up to have my account cancelled (again) the following day. They tell me they will ‘remove’ the charges between the 27th March and 11th May. And I may see my credit on my final bill. So I was expecting a final bill of £63 Credit, the £50 from good will and the £13 owed from March. Nope on 12/05/2021 they still want £9 off of me? Despite getting letters of credit from them and myself and the customer reps agreeing that I was mistakenly still with Virgin Media after the 27th? So what are they charging me for?

    All in all, this is the worst product I’ve paid for. The amount it has cost me in time and effort, when originally this all started just because I told them I was moving and would like to move my services. It’s ended up in me losing out on Credit Score, Time, Data and Money. Virgin lost a customer who was wanting to stick with them despite some drops in speed, because after all their prices are very good. No one’s won. My ordeal continues to this day trying to not be charged and trying to get my credit although I’m less bothered by the Credit at this point. I just want it to be over without conceding and paying an overdue amount.

    I would advise anyone reading this to never go with Virgin Media for anything. Their prices are nothing more than a trap.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newry Northern Ireland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    Salesman was a pleasant guy, installation was quick and caused no disruption, bandwidth is uttter crap, getting 3mbps - 12mbps, paying for 100mbps. These companies just do whatever they want.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Orpington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    Having asked for my address on their website, it was claimed there that my house could receive internet. That was untrue. After several weeks, and an engineer visit, apparently they need to do some construction to lay the line to my house which takes 2.5 months! My wife and I have been unable to work from home.

    Customer service is a joke. After waiting a minimum of 30 mins, you get transferred from dept to dept with no one having a coherent view of my account and status. No one is customer centric and no one cares. I also lodged a complaint with them and they said they would call back - call backs never happen by the way. They have no shame either. Other than for their name, they should be ceased from existence and the regulators should do some serious probing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Eton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Delayed instillation three times and was left without internet for 4 months have now had to change to bt as virgin never came to install the internet

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.