Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 2682 customer ratings since 2021-08-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,224 Customer Reviews over 106 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    From the day we got Virgin media we have had broadband that is quick when it works (around 75mbps) but on an daily and sometimes hourly basis we have to restart the modem as either the signal vanishes or the server stops responding. If you are in the room directly above the modem (old house, timber floors) you can never get a signal and have to rely on a wifi extension plug. The tv package is ok but at around 65 quid a month it's not worth it. Better get a 17mbps package that works with another supplier than bother with Virgin. When you complain they can normally send an engineer no sooner than five days later. If you work from home it's a nightmare.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Turvey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful. Just awful. Their customer service is hideous- called to let them know I'd moved, they don't supply to our new location. Agent I spoke to was rude and sarcastic, they then put their "manager" on the line who thought got it was appropriate to laugh at my dilemma. Sent a letter via recorded delivery to resolve the matter, never received a response. Gave up (more fool me), paid to close my account and despite their claiming my account was on hold whilst we discussed my case, I find virgin have now added a default to my credit score. I will never use any Virgin product or service again and would discourage anyone from using their services. Unprofessional bunch of scammers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    TW3 Whitton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Pathetic, appalling and poor service. Didn't realize i have been with them for almost a decade. I pay £61 a month for my package (mixed TV, 200 MBPS Broadband and Weekend calls on Phone). We don't use landline at all and TV is a rare scene but mostly the internet. They have promised 200 MBPS but in reality I don't even get 40 MBPS. What a shame. The internet connection is poor, intermittent. I have made numerous call to customer services but complete waste of time and the service is not worth the price you pay. They treat existing customers like milking cows knowing they are trapped in the contract. All discounted offers are for new customers again like anything other company but comparatively the service is completely degraded with no respect for customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    TWICHENHAM
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    The worst experiance i have ever had with customers service. i have booked for virgine media broadband installation to be carried out on the 23/08/2016. After two months waiting they failed to deliver the service and no one informed me about the cancellation until i called custimers service and i found they have booked me on the 5th of october 2016.
    i had enough from then and i cancelled the agreement. i joined John Lewis co which is a respectfull company and i recomend it to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Your Virgin Media company is completely useless!!

    Anyone looking for Broadband, definitely go to one of their competitors. Virgin Media do not care about customer service or quality of any service they provide. I am surprised they have not lost their licence already. 6 months, numerous calls and texts and still I don't have a recognised account with this useless company.

    Do yourself a favour and go to another company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband reliablity and speeds have significantly deteriorated over two week period to the point that I'm considering exiting the contract. I should be receiving averaging 108Mbps but using the the OFCOM independent speed checker I'm getting 12 - 14 Mbps. Customer service is helpful as it is insightful. When I was put through to technical assistance it turned out to be a BOT running through a standard checklist. Eventually I was told there was outage (depsite their own service status tool telling me there was no problem) when clearly there was. It will a week to resolve the outage.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Having been with Virgin Media for 8 years, I have finally cancelled my contract due to an unacceptable deterioration in their services. When I first became a customer in 2010 I was impressed with the broadband service and this continued for 5 years, using them in two properties. For the last 3 years, despite paying for the 100mbs package, I have had ongoing issues with speed, reliability and most notably, wireless signal. Despite MANY calls to their tech teams and eventually a replacement router, the service if anything has continued to deteriorate. One customer service agent admitted that Virgin Media have oversold their product in certain areas and do not have the capacity to provide the broadband speeds as advertised, or it seems, the reliability. Be vary wary of their advertised speeds - I have been unable to consistently achieve much over 20mbs at best via my wireless router for almost three years, despite having a 100mbs package.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’ve been with Virgin Media for almost five years now with an average spend of around £50 per month in that time. That works out to around £3000 that I’ve spent on a service that has continually let me down. So you might be asking why am I still with them? Well initially, my company was paying for the Virgin Media service so when they first started letting me down with crackling on the phone line, I wasn’t really that bothered. It meant I didn’t have to speak to my colleagues as often! It took them about a year to solve the issue and everything was OK until recently again. At the start of the year 2015, I noticed the router would occasionally disconnect from the network and struggle to reconnect. Having called out the engineers several times and given one excuse after another, I am still having the issue 6 months on. It’s been getting worse over the past month. I called them today when my router was down, and during my conversation with a very hostile customer service lady, it came back on and she said there was nothing she could do now because everything was up and running again. I explained that this was an intermittent problem, but she really couldn’t care less. Now I’m having to decide to sacrifice speed for reliability by signing up to another provider.

    The last engineer that came out was a nice man who explained that there was an issue with the line running from my property to the main box in the street. He said the cable would need changing so he booked this in for me. Funnily enough, which I suspect is down to the cost, he called me a day later to say that a network engineer had resolved the issue and the line would not need changing so he cancelled the job. My suspicions are that he got a rollicking from his superiors by even mentioning that option to me. It appears Virgin Media do not care about long standing customers. And why would they. I’ve given them so much cash, they couldn’t care less.

    The intermittent problem aside, when my up to 100Mb line was working fine, it would often slow down considerably at peek times, so I could be watching Netflix in HD for it only to slow down and buffer. Yes they offer a very fast connection speed relative to the other providers but their customer service and dedication to resolving customer issues is really poor. I'm now looking to sign up with BT Infinity.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Went to virgin from Sky the promise of faster broadband
    Just over 2 weeks in no broadband
    Need to prosses payroll told an engineer can come in 3 days!
    On the phone to virgin tonight for over an hour and half
    No solution
    Can't imagine a worse service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Works okish until you last month of your contract. Customer service is rubbish, technican booked never arrived and claiming they did. Min once a month router needs restarting, wifi did not work in the bathroom which is 5 meters away from router. Not worth the money. Very unhappy, customer service talks over you or they dont speak good english.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twickenham , London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I got a contract for 18months because the price was really good. But in the end, it seems to be more expensive.
    When I initially started the contract, I asked what would it happen if I cancel before the end on the 18months. They said I could move my services to the new flat or cancel paying a disconnection fee of maximum 50% of the current monies left.

    Well, now that it is happening is another story. I have 6 months left. They cannot supply internet where I go (Brighton, odd). And basically they are saying: one month needs to be paid to have the services on until I leave which is understandable. That is £23.95.
    But the following 5 months the disconnection fee is £106.38, which is £21.27 per month!! Nearly the same I am paying to have the service!

    On top of that. It is impossible to speak to an agent on the phone. Every time I want to speak to an agent I need to spend 15-20min chatting to a machine, and then depending o the issue an agent would appear, which replies every several minutes. I never receive clear information, so confusing. I have spent literally 1 hours chatting to cancel my services. And I still need to send the router to them to avoid a fine.

    Summary. Never getting Virgin Media again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Twyford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Uncontrolled prices, broadband drop out, impossible to contact customer service and banal / transparent telephone system to bore you into giving up. Incredible that such appalling service survives - I pay A LOT to these guys. Moved mobile & will move TV. Soooo disappointing (& offensive).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tyne & Wear
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin router is as advertised (very fast) which it is if your stood right next to it. But virgin need to make customers aware that the wifi signal strength is very poor around properties. The only way there offering to improve is the added cost of an extender another £60 per yr. All the staff that I spoke to were very pleasant but when your trying to sell an inferior product you've gotto be a good talker.I had 3 Phone calls from virgin staff offering to reduce the cost if I stayed with virgin. Unfortunatley they can offer all the speeds but they can't offer the coverage without added costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    tyne and wear
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    i was with these for ove 20 years, last 5 years were terrible lied to all the time, never notified of rip off discounts running out, never sent a bill or email for at least 5 years, bill raised from £52 to £98 and i was told i had to pay this for 12 months as i signed a contract, another lie, waste of time ringing tbem as more lies, canceled direct debit, move to another supplier, they never stopped calling and sending letters until i paid what i didnt owe, bunch of thieves,
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tynemouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been with bt no problem same speed better had virgin for years complete waste of time virgin are a bunch of robbers also can't understand virgin workers ringing up after ended contract be warned stay well clear of them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UB35LU
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Unfortunately, but after 17 months of the contract, I find that the company has very poor contact with the customer, the link often fails. I pay for 350Mb / s link, of which I usually had less than half of that, and in the last month they broke all records where the speed dropped even below 5Mb / s. Unfortunately, contact with customer service usually ended with the fact that they did not see any problem at home, the link returned to normal for a while, and then the fun started all over again. Today I have decided that this is the last month of my cooperation with this company and as it turns out I have been waiting four hours for any answer in the chat. Bravo for the approach to the client ...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UB5
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DON'T MAKE MY MISTAKE AND RENEW YOUR CONTRACT WITH VIRGIN
    Probably the worst Internet service provider specially after renewing the contract, and the worst customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Horrible liars. They make you sign up for a 1 year contract then if you move your service they force you into a new 1 year contract regardless of how much you have left on your contract. If you refuse to sign up for a new 1 year contract they force you to pay out the remainder of your previous contract before you can cancel. Horrible company!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer service is non existent, if there is an issue expect at least 6 months before it is resolved as all people working in their customer service team are clueless. And that is if you can get hold of them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I paid all the bills on time. When I was trying to move the service from my old home to a new home I requested a technician but they didn't agree and they asked me to install it at the new address myself.
    Submitted a request on Saturday to disconnect the service on Monday (at the old address) and activate it at the new address. They were supposed to disconnect at 12 pm (my request was) but they disconnected at 12 am. Called them and they were very rude.

    Supposed to be back ON at the new address at 8 am but has not been activated till now. Called 6 times and went through many security questions but still not fixed yet. Very bad customer service and rude agents but they sent me an estimated bill for 71 GBP at the new address. They don't even know how to pull my account with my account number. Worst experience. Avoid this provider at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Try cancelling a phone contract. Cancelled in Feb 19 as phone is broke.Virgin continue to Bill.send complaint that phone is no longer in existence including number and they say they have addressed complaint.WHen advised I had received no response to my complaint they said they tried to phone but the phone was not working !!!! the very mobile I was complaining about.
    Come on Richard sort your customer service out.Again cancelled today May 2019 trying to rip me off for a further three months contract.I DON'T think so.Terrible way to run a business. Won't be using any of this company's products ever again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    was fine until i report that want to cancel due the price for next year, now i got 1mbs and i`m stock with that broadband for nearly month, it`s not funny, rubish
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We have been without internet for 36 hours and have spoken to numerous customer service people.
    At first we were told it was a fault with the hub and a new one would be delivered in 2 days.
    When we said we had internet earlier that day but it had dropped out in the afternoon, the customer service rep said he needed to send out an engineer to check and asked if we were available for a visit between 12.00-16.00 the following day. Due to work commitments we arranged for family to come over to be present when the engineer arrived.
    I received a call at work saying the engineer would be late arriving at 17.00.
    At 17.46 I received a text saying the service visit was now on hold while Virgin investigated a network problem. (A whole day wasted for our family members who kindly offered to help).

    Called Virgin and they offered little explanation as to the cause of the problem only that it was being worked on and they predicted it will be resolved around 01.30 a.m. When I asked how we would be compensated for lack of service they offered £5 deduction to our next bill which I said was unexceptionable due to the inconvenience of waiting in all day for an engineer no show.
    Having been put on hold for what seemed like an eternity they eventually came back with the offer of a £10 deduction to our next bill.

    Later that evening I received a text to say the issue was now resolved, please restart your equipment and wait 30 min. (Which I did). No change still no service....

    Again called customer service to get no real help. More trouble shooting which I had already done with countless other customer service reps only to be told they needed to send an engineer to site to investigate further.

    Having explained the situation again and again and again, we found ourselves right back to where we started with the earliest an engineer could come to site being the start of the following week leaving us without service for 3 and a half days...... I asked how we would now stand to be compensated for the additional lack of service and was told we had been compensated by the system to the maximum level for amount of days without service.

    When I asked to be put through to the manager I was transferred but no one answered the call transfer, there was just background office noise. Had to hang up and ring back explaining the situation again for about the seventh time and again asked to speak to a manager. I was told they were busy and would call back. I said I would wait and they insisted they were too busy to talk and only offered a call back. I told them not to bother and said I would leave feedback for others to read for reference.

    The whole situation has been handled pretty appallingly and this is not a stand alone case for Virgin in our experience.

    We have been with Virgin for a number of years but have now handed in our 30 day notice to transfer over to SKY due to a steadily declining service.

    No attempt was made at the time to retain our business. Only days later having submitted our 30 notice did we start to get calls from the so called Virgin (LOYALTY?) team. Too little to late I’m afraid. If you wanted us to stay, maybe trying harder at the time would have been an idea....

    I can only recommend others to avoid using Virgin. They want to take plenty but give little in return I’m afraid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have never been mucked around so much by a call center. It was literally easier for me to cycle 40 minutes with my modem in hand than it was for me to cancel my account. I am currently working in a different country and only have a small interval to call in, and whenever i did I had issues. The last stint I was transferred repeatedly until the 13p/min had climbed to 30 minutes. After being transfered for so long, i began to lie to try to get through the beaurocracy, and then after throwing a tantrum and calling back, some idiot repeatedly asks me why i have been given different information. She persisted for another 10 minutes while only mixing it up with trying to offer me different deals. IF I DONT WANT YOUR SERVICES, JUST CANCEL IT! Lets no pretend like you didnt charge my an extra 44 pounds for the 3 days i was late to cancel; crooked thieves.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Service was acceptable until the new TiVo 6 installation. Since then is absolutely shocking, WiFi drops out literally every five to ten minutes making internet use impossible, and you can forget YouTube or Netflix. Service engineers couldn’t lie straight in bed. Virgin media, a service not fit for purpose. Please do not waste your money or time subscribing to them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    One star says it all really! I have a list of issues as long as my arm since becoming a Virgin Media customer. My advice to anyone considering joining them would be to avoid them like the plague. Unless they are the only provider of fibre broadband in your road. Then you are kind of stuck like I am with shocking non existent customer service and unreliable broadband that constantly drops off the connection or buffers and lags when streaming even though I allegedly have 109mb broadband and only ever have 2 devices running off it at any one time! They will also illegally over charge you and then take forever to rectify their error!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    after leaving Virgin Media due to the helpful way they sold me off to Talk Talk, I now find out that their ebilling system has been hacked - maybe mid July 2015 - they cant tell me if I have been compromised or not. they have account details; passwords; maybe copy bills in .pdf format with my home address on.

    I understand it is their system that got compromised. letter only comes 2 weeks after the breach!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I would advise anyone looking to go with virgin media for any service to not waste their money. They are money grabbing and horrendously unfair, leading people into contracts they are not fully aware of and taking more and more money they are not entitled to.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Disconnected my broadband by mistake a month before the schedule disconnection (how does someone even make this mistake!) Tried to get it reconnected but an error on their part meant I was phoning them everyday for 2 hours and being told continuously to wait 48h. Well, I waited 6 days wfh with no wifi and still wasn't solved!! In a moment of desperation I switched to BT, and had great Wifi the next day (highly recommend BT). Virgin also has not refunded me for the extra month I was charged where I didn't have Wifi, and my time they wasted. Would have given 0 stars if I could.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Virgin Media are an appalling 'company'.
    All these reviews are 100% corrrect (when the majority of trust pilot reviews are fake) - Virgin Media themselves ignore this.
    Other review sites shamefully ignore these reviews too.

    Virgin Media has non existent customer service - I mean non existent.
    Nothing works - live chat/website - no one ever gets back to you.

    The twitter team are a waste of space.

    The exec team rang me last week - she was the most nonchalant person I have ever spoken to in a complaints team. I had zero confidence she would do anything right or properly and this week I have been proved right.

    I had complained because of live chat, the website, the twitter team and a non response from a letter I sent in a month ago to no response.
    B. in the exec team was supposed to mark my contract as cancelled on the 13th April 2020 and credit my final month as an apology.

    Instead, on Tuesday Virgin Media have sent me a new contract starting 20th April - Virgin Media are total cowboys.

    Never ever give Virgin Media your money.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Very poor customer service. A girl who spoke with indian accent lied to me. We agreed on 26.50 pounds every month, but when I got agreement it was 28.50 written on it. What a bunch of liars working there. They lost one customer.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    A total joke, border on criminal. Bare face lie about broadband speed. I was informed I would get over 150mb when infact I received LESS THAN 12mb that's enough to stream around 30secs before buffing !! For more info look up watchdog virgin lie about broadband speeds !!
    Billing was always wrong always over charged and customer service was the worse I have ever had before this point. Trust me I used sky for 16yrs before moving house and giving these muppets a go as cable was an option ! NEVER AGAIN back with sky Entertainment package? There is naff all entertaining about virgin media.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Internet connection CONSTANTLY INTERMITTENT. You phone up and they fob you off with ‘you need an extension router to stop intermittency’ then you buy one and the connection is still intermittent on and off constantly. Load of crap!£
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What more is there to be said about Virgin Media, the WORST TELECOMS COMPANY on Earth !
    Never again will I use their service, total rip-off at £79 a month for a renewal. I just signed up to 5G from Three and every device in the house, 27 devices, is working at full speed without any problems, the cost £21 unlimited data, beat that Virgin.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Got a new sim for a "Network Expansion" - Yea, right... Put new sim in, and "Sim Not Supported", Phoned them up, and now my phone is literally DISABLED, you cant do nothing for 5 working days, Farewell to my business for 5 days, sorry any of my customers and people after quotations, i have lost money, over this, i will be seeking compensation...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID AVOID AVOID

    Had to take them to CISAS due to their incompetence and appalling customer service, Conclusion from CISAS

    a. The company has broken a term of the contract and has failed in its duty of care to the
    customer.
    b. The reasons given by the customer are sufficient for the company to remove the ETF or
    termination fee from his account, provide a written apology and pay compensation of
    £75.00.
    11. Therefore, my decision is that the company shall remove the ETF, provide a written apology and
    pay compensation of £75.00.

    If your a customer don't put up with their crap and if your not don't join them!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    where to even start ...

    Service is unstable and inconsistent if i had the option to go with another ISP i would have a long time ago however in my area VM is the only provider available.

    the customer service agents are rude, inexperienced only know how to follow a scripted set of instructions and will go silent for 5-10 minutes before just hanging up on you wasting at this point 20-60 minutes plus phone call just so you have to ring back up and start over... oh and they will easily lie to you for a temporary resolve

    they do not follow or care about complaints or if their service is not working as long as one device is connected out of many you may have that seems to be an acceptable reason for them to say its working

    they seem to not be able to change adjust or amend any settings any other service provider would have the options of changing despite them being a sole company (not like bt /talktalk /ee who operate via openreach) i asked if they can't get these things changed who can and the answer was literally no one ...

    they only seem to care about being paid the money for the service and not upholding their side of the deal providing said service even when they are clearly going against it for example i have 1 gig package with a guaranteed minimum speed of 550mbps i constantly get 250-300 mbps but they say thats ok.

    they have no respect for ones feelings or conditions or the fact they cause stress.

    i have been with them for over 5 months now and all my devices were working up till a few months ago i started getting the below guaranteed speeds. last week for no reason my xbox wont connect via Ethernet and it will even stop the xbox booting up while plugged in (just get a black screen) i showed them its not my xbox by using my mobile phones internet via hotspot and it loads up and connects straight away no issues they still refuse to say theirs an issue on the home broad band side despite showing them /the engineer.

    this is literally the worst ISP i've ever had in the 20 odd years of using internet and by far the WORST customer service team ive ever had to talk with.

    they forced me to install whatsapp an app i'd rather not use, all the live chats/phone calls start with a stupid robot ai system that's pathetic then when you eventually get to speak to a live person its no different feels like they for got about feelings altogether.

    seriously AVOID this scumbag service it literally will make you stressed or depressed

    i wouldn't even say their worth the 1 stars but i had to click them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Around 6 weeks ago I had Virgin Media installed - the engineer kindly dragged his equipment across my wooden bedroom floor, causing 33 inches of scratching. The whole floor needs to be sanded/varnished to get it back to it's original condition.

    He also took a chunk of wood out of the hallway floor and caused scratch marks in the living room because he was too lazy to lift the TV stand, with the TV on top - instead of lifting it, he dragged/scraped it across the living room floor.

    For 6 weeks I have been trying to get Virgin Media to even acknlowedge me. A complaint was instantly raised and I must have called 10+ times to chase it up.

    I am told 'another department is looking into it'. I was also told the complaint wasn't sent on to the right department, then it was, then it wasn't.

    I was **PROMISED** a call back 4-5 weeks ago and was advised someone would be in touch, maybe to come round to view the damage.

    No call.

    I was then **PROMISED** a call back 'by the end of thw week, 2 weeks ago.

    No call.

    I was then **PROMISED** a call back 'by the end of the week, this week.

    No call.

    I just called again and all that can be said is the case is open, you can't speak to the people dealing with it directly.

    Because I need a whole new floor - this means having a bed delivered has been on hold for 6 weeks, which has caused a domino effect of other issues.

    I raised the complaint initially by the online form and replied to the automated email with pictures, as well as many follow up emails - I had no idea if anyone had read them. But someone in Customer Service confirmed they were visible on the system - not one human response to any of the emails.

    Genuinely shocked and appalled how they can do this and have zero care to even acknowledge the customer.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Been with virgin media for 4 years. I pay a lot for just phone and broadband. At the start of my time with virgin they said I can't have tv and they don't do fibre optic but should do in the future. It's been now and they still said the same thing. I looked at other providers for better deals and I wanted tv in the new package. I was going to move with talktalk because it's cheaper and then 2 days later... Virgin moved me to talktalk randomly. No deals or anything because I was technically a virgin customer still. I started experiencing this stupid home safe on every website I tried to get on. Customer service for virgin is ridiculous, 1) I kept telling them it's not my router as I can access the internet but they kept sayings it's the router, well duh I don't work there but it's not rocket science. 2) no-one speaks fluent English, I'm asian so don't say I'm racist. 3) they said I need to speak with talktalk, adds another £20 to my bill, thanks for that. 4) promises saying they'll note it down, but we all know what happens, it goes in the bin or doesn't get noted at all. I had enough so I moved to talktalk. I actually got a fluent English speaker and his name was Ben! Very helpful and I'm waiting for them to move me over. They can offer me tv also! For the same price as I am paying... Actually cheaper. Get off virgin, it's a scam provider and hopefully watchdogs will get them because they are ridiculous. One more note when I started they said they would send an engineer to do my phone line and they didn't. First 2 months I was paying for phone line rentals when my phone wasn't installed or connected and they said I've been calling off it? Lol, finally got an engineer round. Can't issue refunds? Lmao I left it as it is because too much hassle.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worse company ever! the worse customer service it is shocking. I have called them 10 times in two months to return my router. Every time they say they will send a new return package -they refuse to send a tracked one- and despite the fact that I am home all the time I nver receive one. They keep texting me, emailing me, harassing me about a £40 charge of I do not send it back by the end of the month!! I call them and email them without reply. There is no way to contact them and solve their fault. Do not sign with them! You will regret!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.