Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 8776 customer ratings since 2019-01-23 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3290 Customer Reviews for Virgin Media

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I used to work for virgin and was selling it like it was an amazing servo e and thought I knew everything about it.....WORSE MISTAKE I EVER MADE. Becoming a customer after I had moved into an area that allowed virgin I was excited to finally have the service.....i hate it half way through a programme it shuts down on Netflix or hay u I never get to watch what I want iv applied to go back to sky immediately I can't wait.....dont get this service most of u will regret it and our bill went from 50 to 90 pounds and there's nothing you can do once your in that contract...never been reimbursed for any loss of service as everyone we call up the message says they're aware of the fault n never let u speak to anyone it's disgusting do t bother with it.
  • Speed
    3 stars
WYTHENSHAWE Virgin Media  
Why do I only get a satisfaction survey after a satisfactory telephone conversation? Perhaps it's a language problem when dealing with someone who's first language isn't English. Perhaps it's just me?
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Cheshire Virgin Media  
WiFi just Disappears intermittently. It is incredibly frustrating
  • Speed
    3 stars
London Virgin Media  
Virgin media has a reputation but not able to provide good customer service.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Hayes Virgin Media  
If you're reading this with a view to using VM, just don't, please god just don't! Worst customer service ever experienced, they switched my service off "by mistake". 72 hours later 9 phone calls, 15 people spoken to, still no service. "wait another 24 hours" - waiting for god!
Use BT, plusnet, sky, a piece of string and two paper cups...........just don't use VM. Unless you're into BDSM & enjoy pain! Totally useless, total & utter incompetent customer service, in fact that's a misnomer - no customer service! I loathe & despise them with a passion beyond belief!
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Nottingham Virgin Media  
I've been a Virgin customer for more years than I care to remember (anyone remember Telewest?). Until recently I could not fault the service apart from the odd couple of issues that were resolved very quickly.
However, in the last six weeks I've had constant issues with my internet connection dropping for a few minutes at a time. This happens between two and five times an hour. Gaming or streaming media is impossible. Being from an IT background I have a better understanding of what the issues might be and what might be involved in fixing them.
I'm tired of constantly being stonewalled by their customer support when I try to find out exactly what is going on. Being told to "check back in a week or so" really doesn't cut it.
The fact they seem incapable of resolving the issue is worrying. If my company took this long to resolve a fault somebody would be out of a job. Rather than offers of credits on my bill, I'd rather just have a service that works.
Virgin Media is out of touch with what really matters to customers and I think they will find that despite offering cash bribes to keep customers placated, many (including me) will start moving to alternative service providers.
I no longer have any confidence in Virgin as a service provider. Their customer service is pointless. Their engineers are clueless and yes, I'm really p***ed off with the lot of them.
I wonder if any of their senior management read these posts and realise just how much in danger they are of seeing an exodus of people leaving them? Would it make any difference? I doubt it. Prove me wrong Mr Branson.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Essex Virgin Media  
signed up for VM ON 26 July 2017 with a good 12 month deal that i was quite happy with. 11 days later I get a letter saying the price was going up by £2.99. I called customer service to see what was going on, their reply was 'its unfortunate we had to put the price up so early on in your contract but thats the way it goes sometimes'
Do I need to tell you I went potty. VM gave me the option of cancelling my contract, which I took them up on. They couldn't care less whether or not I stayed.
On the plus side I have to admit the speed and reliability was very good but their attitude stinks
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Heathrow Virgin Media  
it is all about sales with virgin , i have the top 50mb package at 45 pounds on it own and never have had anywher near this speed on avg over 26 weeks my speed was 11mb, virgin unhelpfull staff point out that 50mb is not what was promised at all, it is up to 50, not 50, most expensive but no where near the best, if the drinks industy sold beer in up to a pint but only supplied a pint once in a blue moon no one would buy beer, out and out dishonest
  • Speed
    3 stars
livingston Virgin Media  
Never reached what I'm paying for in all the time I have been a customer. Stopping tomorrow
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Carbis Virgin Media  
Virgin Media broadband itself functioned well. We had a couple of broadband crashes over the year but besides that wifi operated okay. However, their customers service is terrible and unreliable. The falsely told us that they had not received a bill that I had clearly paid and demanded that we pay it again. After doing so, they later confirmed in having received the original payment. When I asked for a refund they failed to do so. This happened in March and 3 months later I still have not received my refund. I have been in contact with multiple departments of the Virgin Media team but they keep bouncing me off to departments. I have called them numerous times, visited their physical branch, sent them proof via post, contacted them via e-mail and their website but have yet to receive a transaction to my account, a miss that only occured due to their own inadequacy. I would not recommend Virgin Media, if you do not want to be scammed and keep your money.
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
UK Virgin Media  
There broadband is indeed the best on the market, fastest, most reliable in my experience. However there customer service is shocking and they will rob you for every extra £ they can make through their 'mistakes'. Like logging you cancelled the contract. Not logging your referred by a friend discounts. They will charge you the full length and cost of your contract if you move house and they can't provide internet at that postcode.
We had 3 months of of super fast broadband but ended up having to pay over £300 for it
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Preston Virgin Media  
This man is making so much money that his staff have no remorse on even people with disability! Not helpful and if want help with billing will not give you any compation in your situation so if want help or support with virgin media you will not get it
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
W3 Virgin Media  
slow broadband - I'm on 10mB, not a lot I know, but it shouldn't be this slow.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
le2 3ga Virgin Media  
In September 2013 I signed the contract for 18 months. The first 6 months promotional offer was £14.99 and after promotional offer is £29.49. During this time they INCREASED PRICE and somehow service charge is £36.40 now!!! Very disappointed. They answer for this is always "investing".
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Studley Warwickshire Virgin Media  
Pitiful customer service featuring a labyryinth of passed over complaints, all I wanted to get a cable redirected to a new office 3 months for initial broadband with 4 site visits, then hours on phone totally unnecessary.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Cheltenham Virgin Media  
worse ever customer service, they are masters to leave you on hold for hours.... useless ever customer service
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
birmingham Virgin Media  
When it's good it's good. When it goes down it's terrible, the customer service is useless, very hard to contact and when you get through they just pass you around and loads of B/S.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Kingswinford, Dudley Virgin Media  
Average is what I call Virgin Media Broadband. Customer service technical support not that great. whilst reporting a fault they said its been fixed just as my modem went off. they then change their mind and said its a modem fault. I know its not a modem fault (I am a network technician) most of the time the service is stable, a little slower than what I would like. Speed restictions are in place between 5pm and 11pm. when calling them they have automated selection which talks way too much. I would say to anyone thinking of joining them. most of the time its a fair service 80% of the time the other 20% I would say poor but not completey bad.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
stockport Virgin Media  
Virgin fibre promises speeds of up to 200 Mbps - I average between 25 and 30 Mbps at best and my computer is literally beside the network router. Unfortunately there is no good alternative in my area which can offer a full TV and phone package as well - so much for the market delivering quality services and product!! Phoning Virgin to communicate issues is difficult as the Virgin Rep often does not understand a Scottish accent and frequently records information wrongly. Unfortunataly the accompanying TV package does not give access to Sky Atlantic, the Virgin TV interface is badly designed and the Tivo box often freezes while the wi-fi range does not cover my whole flat. I would like to move to SKY fibre if at all possible but surprisingly it not available in central Edinburgh.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Edinburgh West End Virgin Media  
The original deal seemed to good to be true, 100mb and tv for £30 a month for 12 months. Half way through hey add £3 a month. In the last month the WiFi didn’t work for a week. And trying to contact customer services was impossible. We decide to cancel. Yet 2 months later are still being charged as they didn’t consider our cancellation and charged us a new improved price.
This company model is built on the completely wrong thing. And it’s a scam. Honestly the worst company to deal with.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Virgin Media  
Overall satisfied with Virgin Media but they made us a nice present for christmas. We are paying 43.99 per month (we are not even using the phone) and now they want to increase the bill by 3.99£ starting from the 1st of February. The bill will be around 50£ per month and I really think it's too much consider what they offer. But I have to say we haven't got any problem with the broadband, tvbox until now so they are quite reliable.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
London Virgin Media  
Virgin media's customer service sucks. I'll advice anybody looking for Virgin to look at other providers. In particular their billing and payment, they will pile up arbitrary charges and then use terms and conditions to nail you.
  • Speed
    3 stars
Northwood Virgin Media  
The wifi is good. It doesn't cut out and it is very fast HOWEVER it costs an arm and a leg. They don't help out existing customers like they do new customers. Overall their customer service team are really unhelpful and rude (they basically say there is nothing they can do about charging me £45 a month for a service that new customers get for £23 a month..) Very poor.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Farnborough Virgin Media  
I had no issues with Virgin until my contract came to an end and I tried to leave. Once they knew I was cancelling, they made everything as difficult as possible and added extra charges that I did not owe. After 5 hours on the phone to them, I finally got through to someone helpful and they cleared my account of what I owed and shut it down. All seemed fine until I got a letter from a debt collector saying I still owed them £15. After a further 2 hours on the phone to them, they finally admitted that they had billed me for this incorrectly and cleared my account. Unfortunately, not before this late payment affected my credit score. If you ever plan on ending your contract with Virgin, I’d advice you to stay away.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Devon Virgin Media  
I moved to a new area which previously had Virgin installed so thought I would give them a try. The internet speed and reliability was great, TV box was a slot slower than sky but manageable. About 5months in there was an outage in the area, no internet at all but was told repeatedly this would be resolved in the next 24 hours. This went on for 6 WEEKS! Can you believe that?? No interner and after the first week or so the TV service became unusable. They wouldn't let me leave, said at least 3 engineer visits would have to come EVEN though they know what the issue is. Can't believe any issue can take that long. I eventually got out of the contracted when I noticed on an increase in charges letter that you have the right to not agree with the increase and cancel without paying in fees, even this was a struggle. PLEASE STAY WELL CLEAR OF VIRGIN! Now happily living with BT Infinity.
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
SE London Virgin Media  
I have been with Virgin for over 10 years. Recently changed to Sky TV package but kept my broadband and phone package with them. Broadband had been fine for a while, after intermittent problems some time ago, but today it starting acting up again - kept dropping, rebooted modem and got it back, then it dropped again, over and over all day. So I rang them this evening to try to get the problem fixed and was told that it was due to "very high usage" in my postcode area (too many people using too little bandwidth after their recent sales push), that the engineers were working on upgrading the equipment and THIS SITUATION WOULD CONTINUE UNTIL SOMETIME IN JULY!!!!!!! So, I am faced with dreadful intermittent, slow broadband for the next 3 months or so?!?!?! This is NOT GOOD ENOUGH! You sell like mad, run out of capacity, do an upgrade (during which we suffer poor service) and then you sell like mad and we go round the cycle yet again. As far as I am concerned this is breach of contract and, unless this is resolved I shall be looking to cancel my contract with Virgin and move to another provider - probably BT or Sky. It will be slower (no Affinity here yet) but hopefully it will be more stable. Shame on you, Virgin. What most customers want/need is not lightning fast broadband, just reasonable speeds that are reliable and consistent. I believe Richard Branson is no longer involved with Virgin Media(?anyone know if that's correct??, else I would write to him in person about this.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Belfast Virgin Media  
Have been paying extra for uprated Broadband speed for two or three months now; but despite taking the money; I am STILL waiting for the up-graded service.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Loughborough Leics. Virgin Media  
I’ve been with virgin for about 14 months and in terms of speed and reliability for the most part no other provider comes close but for the past 2 months I’ve been left without internet for perhaps 8 days if all of the time was added together which is unacceptable.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Wigan Virgin Media  
Phone line. It took two days of persuading operators that I have a fault. I bought new phones thinking it must be my problem.
today I have been told "yes there is a problem, we will fix it"
I rang for an update tonight and was told the techs will be here 20 feb. Its the 8th today.
I had passed my mobile number to be updated and no one has yet contacted me. Not well pleased with this service.
07704725245
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Bristol Virgin Media  
Cusomer service it's useless. Drives you mad. You just want to cancel everything and never have to deal with the company again.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bedford Virgin Media  
Do not go with Virgin. Their customer service is appalling, they put your bills up with no warning and you cannot contact their customer service unless you are prepared to wait over 30mins on hold. Absolutely awful!!
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
York Virgin Media  
Well what can I say other than, STAY AWAY!!!

I use to be a loyal Virgin customer for years from 1998 before they became Virgin, till 2015. The service was good when it worked, but when there was a fault it took anything from a week to 3 weeks before an engineer could be send out to find the fault, at one point I was left for 3 months with no service, and was told my line from the road to the house needs replacing. On the day the engineer was booked he didn't turn up, after a huge fight with someone on the phone they send an engineer the next day and the problem was fixed in less than a half an hour. Finally when my service went down again just before Christmas 2014 and I was told I will have to wait 3 weeks before an engineer could come out and find the problem, I had enough, and changed to BT.

I wish I could say that was the end of my story, but it's not. BT's service was more reliable but intermittent and just not as fast as Virgin. When the internet went down it would be off for 10 - 15 min a couple of times a day, but all ways came back on, but irritating enough to encourage me to make the leap back to Virgin.

BIG MISTAKE, HUGE!!!!!!

I was suppose to switch back to Virgin on the 31 March 2017, the engineer turned up as planned. He installed everything that needed installing, but the internet would not connect. I was informed that there was a fault on the area line and the internet should come online by 6pm that evening, and with that he left. Well six o'clock game, and no internet, and along with that no TV service either. I phoned Virgin and after all the usual checks was done, I was told they will have to send out another engineer. As per typical Virgin, no engineer was available till the 7th of April 2017. Not the best way to start, but I agreed and was hopefull that I will be back online the following week.

On the 7th the engineer turned up as arranged, it took him less than 30 min to inform me that the line from the road to my house was dead and need replacing, which apparently should have been picked up the previous week and fixed, but was missed. I was then told that they will have to book another team to come and replace the line, and as this is a new instalation should happen within a week and a half and some one will phone me later the same afternoon with a date, and he was on his way by 11:30am, with me waiting for the call. No call came so by 4:30pm I phoned Virgin. From that point onwards I was send from pillar to post talkeing to several different call handlers, all vriendly and trying to help, but with no answaer for me. The last lady I spoke to Friday evening promised I would be called before 8pm with an answer, but the call never came.

So this morning Saterday the 8th of April 2017 I rang up again. Was then again passed on to the relevant party, a very friendly and helpful young lady, who was left to give me the bad news that the new line will not be installed before the 31st of May 2017. I was speechless to say the least. I told her that that is absolutely unacceptable and cancelled everything there and then. I was told that I will not need to pay any cancellation fees seeing as I have not had any service from them since the day I switched to Virgin, and that they will provide me with the relevant packaging to send their equipment back.

I immediately phoned BT and switched my service back to them this morning. I would have been far better of leaving well enough alone as I will now be with no internernet till my switch over date with BT witch will be on the 25th of April 2017, but at least it will be more than a month earlier than it would have been had I stayed with Virgin.

All I can say is that none of the service providers are perfect and that the lure of faster broadband speeds from Virgin sounds enticing, but until they can back that up with better customer service and more reliable and acceptable engineer appointment times. Their internet can be 10 or 20 times faster than everybody else's, but if there is no service the speed really make no difference. Maybe instead of trying to provide faster speeds than everyone ells in the market they should start by trying to deliver reliable services first. No connection will always be the slowest connection!!!!
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
London Virgin Media  
The worst service i have received from any providers. The customer services and installation team are a bunch of cowboys and don't know what they are doing at all. Their managers are utterly rubbish, they do not even call back and they keep extending the time by 48hrs. They wasted so much of my time that eventually i have now lost connection and number of my landline. And no date has been set for the fix and installation of the services. I have now decided to go back to SKY and have to cough up £50 to re-activate my line again.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London Virgin Media  
Virgin has cable in our street so should be the fastest. However, my speeds have got slower and slower since signing up with them. They are about to raise their costs too. You have to threaten to leave before they will give you the best deals and even then, the speeds are not impressive, at just 11 Mb
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Bristol Virgin Media  
Before I signed up with virgin media through Currys store I wished i'd looked online for reviews because I have regretted it till today. Biggest rip off all time they even changed my broadband package without informing me and charged my over £100 until I luckily received the email and rang them to sort it out. I had no option but to be stuck with them and now thank god I've only got till December left thank god because I will never EVER go or recommend them to anyone. Staff are useless and your on hold for over 10mins untill you decide to hang up once you fed up. I honestly hope they get exposed for their rip off deals. P.s if you try and cancel your broadband you will have to pay the remaining amount which aint worth it really. Good luck to everyone because I feel like I'm finishing my prison sentence with them
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London Virgin Media  
Every time I call virgin my blood pressure goes high, this company is full of useless, they doesn't undesrtand what they have to do.
After my 12 months contract I decided to give them the months notice to swap company, after a couple of days, somebody from virgin called me to offer a good package for broadband and phone) to keep me with them.
I accepted, but by sorprise, they cut off my service.I called them and one of the useless said that service was ended due to my request. That day started a new nightmare with virgin. I lost my phone line, nobody can find that conversation where I agreed to have a new 12 months contract. They estore my broadband in the mean time they looking for the evidence of new agreement.After a week, called virgin and the useless again said...sorry but you lost your number by your request, we put in place a new contract for your broadband and you have 14 days to cancel this new contract...
I never agree a new contract, They never said this restore service was going to cost me a standar rate and on top without lineland.
It's disgusting, 90% of customer service are Sh>>>useless, htey doesn't undertand nothing. I feel so frustrated, nobody care about customer, I swaped from BT(another Sh...)but virgin I think is worse.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
cambridgeshire Virgin Media  
Contacted in September re; joining Virgin.Installation on January 25th. Installer couldn't activate installation i was ringing on mobile till 7pm. Left with 4 plug extension lead plus 2 plugs connected to 2 plug socket = Fire Safety Hazard.Plus no phone connection still; Virgin hasn't contacted previous provider.Have
to date have had yet another of piece necessary equipment installed now 7 plugs connected to 2 plug socket !!!!! Have had bill from previous provider plus 1st bill from Virgin.
Not using any equipment from previous provider and can't on advice of Fire Safety Officer use new equipment from Virgin.
Have contacted Virgin several times full of excuses.Want me to pay £100 for 5 new sockets.
Contacted CEO of Virgin Media haven't bothered to contact me.
How many more customers have been left in such circumstances.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Leicestershire Virgin Media  
Don't believe hype, meant to be on 200md download, yes if plug in with Ethernet cable to router but wi if right in front of router 20 to 30 Bm throughout house whether computer iPad phone etc. Pop down friend with bt and consistently 45mb. Virgin prone to interruptions and drop outs
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Hp6 Virgin Media  
It is costly. It is only good for new customers, while you get a cheaper rate. Afterwards, your price will increase every year by a few pounds. I tried to call the customer support, but the person would only argue with me and didn't stop to listen to me. I am very disappointed.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
London Virgin Media  
Shocked to find that I cannot contact Virgin Media by email. I tried the online form and it took forever to fill in a long list of required fields which they already know as I'm signed in. Then, to add insult to injury, the whole lot was lost before submission. I'm sick of speaking to them on the phone. Only interested if they can sell something. Looking at alternatives
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Plymouth Virgin Media  

Loading...

  • 3290 reviews, showing page 9 of 83, skip to page 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk