Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 9140 customer ratings since 2018-12-06 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3240 Customer Reviews for Virgin Media

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Virgin Media is the worst broadband experience I've EVER had!! Some stranger will cancel your contract just because he used to live under the same address. CARD CHARGED. NO INTERNET. NO SORRY. AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
This is the first time I've ever done one of these but after being with virgin for 5yrs. This last year has been nothing but stress and lies. Price hike with no notice. Lies about service bad internet which ment my phone bill went up (using mobile data) only to be told it's my phone then to find out it was a fault with virgin.. hung up on twice for wanting to speak to a supervisor.. only to be told it was my fault for the way I spoke to them. Then when questioned they said it was a mistake and it just cut off... nothing but lies and mis informed services.. really gone down in customer service.. avoid at all cost would not recommend
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Derby Virgin Media  
Absolutely terrible customer service and the most unreliable broadband I’ve ever had EVER.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Camberley Virgin Media  
Worlds Biggest Liars and Cheats, they were the best once upon a time, but days pass by and they cannot be honest with customers been loyal with them for years.....

Say one thing and try to blame on customers that they did not understand what they said....
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Virgin Media  
Virgin media by far is the ******** broadband provider going.
Every single day we have problems where there is no internet connection , we are paying £35 for the fibre optic broadband and its just *****. We are sick of complaining and nothing getting done . If anyone is thinking of getting virgin media, save yourself the time and your money. You will only be dissapointed. Even the sky £7.50 basic package is 100% better.
Newcastle Virgin Media  
Terrible service very rude customer service unhelpful
Slough Virgin Media  
Very poor Wifi, we even have a Wifi booster, the technician are useless and cant really do anything. We only have a few devices connected and we lose connection always having to reconnect and enter password again etc as it says connected but in brackets no internet.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newcastle Virgin Media  
very unprofessional service very rude staff and unhelpful first time i have this but very disappointing
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
slough Virgin Media  
Absolutely aweful randomly reboots itself and has constant lag spikes. Had eningeers out about 5 times in last month or so and each time they’ve just made it worse cannot wait to leave!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sheffield Virgin Media  
Worst company I had to deal with.
I agreed for a one year contract for Broadband 100Mbps for £32/month.
Meanwhile I became a Virgin Mobile customer too.
After 9 months I received an email informing me the price will go up with £3 after the one year contract period will be over.
Opened my bank statement and realized I am paying £41 per month(this is £9 more!).

So after more then one year of being with Virgin Media and also opening another account with them, not only that I have to pay more for the exact same product, but I am being charged without previously being informed.

Plus you I am enjoying the experience of being called a few time a month by the sales team.

Can not wait for the day I will close all my accounts with Virgin Media.
Well done, Virgin Media!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
North London Virgin Media  
Stay well away, Once they have you signed up there hole package is shocking. Vip bundle,we have had nothing but issues time and time again, its all a joke
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Hampshire Virgin Media  
as the ratings suggest...it is indeed the worst company to deal with....they will increase your bill without bringing in your notice...their customer support system is the worst...its not a customers support system..its a customers torture system....they will make you wait on the call for more than 30 minutes and then their customers' services will make you through same checks 3 times in one call.. and wont still be able to sort your issues.....
their prices are the highest and their quality is the poorest.... so stay away from this garb of a company if you want peace of mind.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
Worst customer service I’ve ever experienced. Enquired why I have been charged a cancellation fee (outside of a contract) and told “That is not our concern”

Rude customer services hung up the phone. Would not use them again if they were the last provider available. Internet connection was terrible too. Shambles of a company with a useless bunch of unhelpful staff
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sunderland Virgin Media  
The worst broadband service provider ever, promised the world said they were miles better than BT and were they hell!!!! shocking customer service of call centres in India, they have one common phrase just reboot your hub box!!! 3 months I have had intermittent broadband not to say the money I have lost from my business having to work from home, and the hrs and hrs of time of the phone.
Richard Branson you proclaim to be a genuine entrepreneur wanting to give to the public but all you do is dupe people in thinking that Virgin are something extraordinary in fact they are a fraud.
My biggest mistake and regret was to leave BT, I would pay that bit extra in order to get the service as they promise.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Leicester Virgin Media  
Been with Virgin Media for 14 years. The broadband is good, albeit goes down a few times a year. Big issue is if you ever have to phone them they are useless - hours on the phone and seldom able to help. Best just to wait until services return or accept they will not setup your account or be helpful. Ive even had them promise I wasn't tied into a term, for someone else from Virgin to say that was a lie. If you are lucky you will get through to someone in uk as they are much more able to help - the foreign call centres are a waste of space / effort calling them.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Edinburgh Virgin Media  
I placed an order through my work with virgin media partners, the deal was full house movies with vivid 200 at a reduced price. I received an order confirmation the same day, this service required me to set up a direct debit, credit check and confirm an installation date.

After a week (26th February) I still had no news so I called up, sales said they could see the order but they couldn’t process this due to no authorisation codes. I then spoke to pre installation and after around 30 minutes I was asked to send my order confirmation to kenneth (pre installation manager). I received a call back at 16.29 on 26/02/2019, it was then confirmed Kennith had reviewed the confirmation and virgin would honour the order confirmation. I recieved the paperwork for my new service which all stated £60 per month. I emailed Kennith to question this with no reply.

I rang again on 1/03/2019 at 10.36 and spoke to Ranjit. He spoke informed me the call was being recorded and confirmed the £45 per month price after consulting with Kennith. I asked about the cashback and Ranjit said he would need to confirm that again with Kennith. I requested an email to confirm the price and he said this would be no issue. He said he would call me back to confirm the answer on the cashback and would send the email confirmation of price after, neither of these happened. I then proceeded to send multiple emails to Kennith to try and find out what’s happening all have been ignored.

I phoned up again on 6/03/2019 at 11.19, the service operator spoke to Kennith and is now informing me they cannot do the deal previously agreed, I asked to speak with Kennith which I was told he was on another call, I was offered a call back which I agreed but this never came. Terrible customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
West Midlands Virgin Media  
Normally never write reviews but compelled to write this one. The worst broadband provider and customer service we have ever have to deal with. Intermittent connectivity issues over the last 8 months since installation. Essentially paying for a service that we’re not getting. The HOURS in total spent on hold on the phone over the past months with little to no help from virgin staff (multiple calls dropped or diverted randomly). Had enough and ending contract early and will be reporting to ombudsman. Shocking that such a large corporation provides such awful service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Virgin Media  
As much as the speed is good the customer service is horrendous! We were told we would get a refund on numerous occasions from 2 different people then when you chase it up they say otherwise. I wouldn't recommend them, they don't want you to stay with them and they lie about other providers. Not impressed at all. Not wasting my time with these people anymore
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bridgend Virgin Media  
Disgusting customer services... They are very rude and obnoxious...And cannot understand english!!!... They constantly talk over you reading from a script which they repeat over and over which is exasperating!!!... ...(All done strategically to try and wear you down)... A rip off regarding charges and they send late payment charges when they hadn't even sent the bill out. Beware!!!!!... Even when you say you are leaving at the end of your contract they cut off services and keep charging you for no services at all.. And they won't allow you to leave until you pay those absorbitant fees. Virgin media are without a doubt the worst company i've ever had the misfortune to deal with. They're money mad and completely unscrupulous. I'm reporting them to trading standards etc.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
East Midlands Virgin Media  
We've switched from Hyperoptic to Virgin only because we cannot get Hyperoptic at our new house.

Internet has been on and off for the past month and we're never getting the speeds we were promised. On the phone with these jokers every night and no one is able to resolve this.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
Worst experience in life. I will never use Virgin Media again and definitely, I will not recommend to anybody. My contract has just ended now so I am cancelling it altogether.

-Every often price increases even if you have signed a contract for a year.
- Customer service tells you something and then they do a different thing. You give them the details of who you talked and when but they never have the records.
- On the 22nd February I paid a bill of £32 (which i was told by customer service it was my last bill) as the internet connexion will be cut on the 8th of March. Now I have just received a new bill of £33 (???) to pay by the end of March. What is this for? and different amount again!! This is just a joke.
- There was a time when I had to contact Virgin Media near everyday during a month due to the bad connexion. The connexion was fixed for a day and then again down or really slow.

Virgin Media experience is being just a nightmare that i do not wish anybody.

So my advise is that if you want to relax and enjoy your internet conexión DO NOT GET Virgin Media.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Virgin Media  
Ive been with virgin for 4 years now and the only real issue i have is the broadband goes down for maintainance sometimes for long periods and they still charge you for it, but i have the 100mb package and i get well over that around 123mb-150mb without fail and i have moved house 3 times, Their Tv and phone service is not the best still pretty slow even with the new tivo box, skys tv is much better, they came and laid brand new cables to my house without asking, and the customer service do try and help as much as they can, they will always book you an engineer if they cant solve the problem, if youve been with talk talk or any other cheap provider then you know then struggle, virgin is by far the best for broadband in my opinion
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
wolverhampton Virgin Media  
Half the time these days the internet is down and they always have some excuse and say it will take a day for it to be back up. Just awful. Better pick another provider.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Virgin Media  
I've made many complaints by phone and the problem is still unresolved.
My contract states that I should pay £27 a month.
Their system charges me £47 a month every month. I've been told 3 times that it is resolved and it will never charge me £47 a month again but it charges.

The only company on the market that clearly steals your money.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Virgin Media  
Extremely poor customer service, no connection form2
Months no one cares, speed is a big lie
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
Disgusting customer service most repulsive people we’ve ever had the misfortune of dealing with.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newcastle upon tyne Virgin Media  
The worst company our family has ever dealt with bar none!
We have told everyone to steer clear of these sheisters. They should wear a mask for trying to rob you !
Unprecedented increases, poor viewing, crackle telephone and an absolute disregard of the customer.

Happily we have warned close people and now you can also learn to avoid them . They are evil.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Romford Essex Rm5 3ax Virgin Media  
Been with virgin media over 2 years now and I can't fault them...I've only had problems with internet twice and both times they sent an engineer out to me within 24 hours in fact this last time I rang them at 10pm last night and without hesitation engineer will b sent to you 2moro between 8 am and 12 pm...problem solved within 14 hours....never ever had that with sky I used to beg for an engineer as broadband terrible but they always refused....so big shout out to virgin...credit where it's due and thankyou for your prompt efficient service
Tracy webb
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Harrogate Virgin Media  
The VM 'customer service' phone line is pretty abysmal. In mid-December 2018, I requested (via web chat) that my package be downgraded. I was informed that it would be done by mid Jan 2019.
This didn't get done and I continued to be billed the original amount. I called VM media in late Feb 2018 to inform them about this. I waited around 10 mins in the queue, and eventually spoke with an advisor in an Indian call centre. I informed her of my problem and during the call I was put on hole twice for around a minute each time - whilst she discussed my case with a colleague. After the second hold, and without being informed, I found myself speaking with another advisor (in UK/Scotland based call centre, judging my the accent)...who started by asking me why I was calling and going through the same security questions that I had already been through with the first lady! I explained it all again only to be told that I would be put on hold again for around 5 minutes whilst *she* discussed my case with her manager. I complained about my experience, about being bounced between advisors and having to provide them with the same information repeatedly.

On the plus side. I was assured that my account changes would be applied immediately and that I would be refunded the amount that I had been overcharged. Also, the on-hold music doesn't feature the usual and infuriating 'your call is very important to us...' looped message. In a way this is probably an accidental admission that our call is in no way important to VM and they would rather we didn't bother them at with our problems.

VM are no probably better or worse than their rivals or corporate entities in general, who view customers as an unwelcome nuisance to be treated with contempt.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
slough Virgin Media  
I initially started my order with Virgin on 11th Nov... After terrible service my order was picked up by the Managing Directors Office and Lisa within it. Lisa said she's take me on a "Journey" and would get me Internet! on 27th Feb I still have no internet. Virgin has kept me waiting whilst they send my "pack" for the "civils" (digging up) to Finance, they've then applied for a Wayleave to Bradford Council when it should of been to my landlord as they are digging up his drive - despite having a site visit. They then sent the Wayleave to my landlord - didn't wait for him to sign and dug up the drive without his consent. After I called Lisa to inform her of the boo-boo she then tried to persuade me to inform him and get him to sign the wayleave, then said Virgin's stance wasn't to admit to mistakes. At this point I told him. Lisa then asked if she could shut the complaint down - I said no as we still had no internet. Once we had consent from the landlord I was told "the order manager would contact us" - this was from Lisa. I asked for the order managers contact details, she refused on multiple occasions and called me abrupt. Don't think we are buds anymore. I have had zero contact from the order manager.
I have since reverted to calling my illusive sales guy, Matt - who after accepting 2 calls is now ghosting me.
However I did get through to the order team in Bangkok, or somewhere similar. Who have said the "civils", digging up, isn't complete and they have bounced this back to finance to see if there are even doing this job - despite digging up the landlords drive!!! Also there is a delay on finance replying as this pack was sent to them on the 13th Feb!
No one at Virgin has a clue what's going on! So messaged my best buddy Lisa - got an out of office reply. Spent 30mins trying to speak to someone else in the Directors Office, only to be ghosted again.
Feel like a side chic on Valentines Day
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bradford Virgin Media  
The service has been intermittent for the past couple of days.
We've been informed that due to more customer usage and subsequent outage issues. Virgin will need new upgrade the cables in the Enfield area.
Apparently this will not completed till 12th June!
We have been with Virgin for approximately one week!
Why were we not informed prior to signing up??
The customer service has been absolutely shocking!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
I joined up for the £27 per month offer with a £20 setup fee. My first month I was charged £108, then every month after £47. I've contact them twice to rectify this. Both times I was told my billing would be amended but 5 months on and I'm still being overcharged and I've not received any refund for the excess charge. Also, although the internet is adequate speed, it's nowhere near as fast as advertised, and has cut out on a few occasions
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Exeter Virgin Media  
We've had an 'intermittent' service since November 2018 which has meant I've been unable to run my business reliably from home. Customer Services are unable to shed any light on what the problem is and when it will definitely will be resolved. Each time I contact them they move the goal post. It is still ongoing and it's now end of Feb 2019. Some days it just doesn't work at all! Have wasted so much time calling Customer Services, waiting on hold, and ultimately being told to call an 0800 number for service updates! We pay for 200Mb 'super fast broadband' - I don't think I've ever seen a download speed of more than 80Mb which to be honest is extremely rare! Usually around 30Mb on a good day. Time to shop around and go elsewhere..........
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
When something goes wrong it is extremely difficult to contact anyone to get the problem resolved. Even the Customer Service Director refuses to give his phone number or e mail address. They give rebates to make up for their appalling service but the service continues to be appalling. It took 5 monthe to resolve my first problem. I cannot believe they are still in business. Don’t switch to them, use anyone else, because if anything goes wrong you’ll have a nightmare dealing with their electronic systems and Indian call centre operatives.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Derbyshire Virgin Media  
Virgin media is the worst company I have ever met on the Planet. I have had my broadband service interrupted so many times and when you call the useless call centre they are in a hurry to rush you off the phone. They need to stop using those terrible call centres. They are impatient unhelpful and totally useless. Do not make the mistake I made. Rubbish broadband service, even worse customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
NWOKEJI Virgin Media  
I upgraded from 50meg to 350meg and found no difference in speed, the only thing that changed was the amount I paid each month. I used the online chat to report faults several times to be told there are no faults, I eventually rang to cancel the account to be told the speed being delivered was no where near 350meg, I’ll be with sky from now on
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Whickham, Newcastle Upon tyne Virgin Media  
Awful service! Awful customer service! Staff provide you with false information when you ring up to enquire about faults to avoid having to pay compensation.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cheltenham Virgin Media  
Avoid like the plague. Lost all internet access for the fourth time since the beginning of February. Called on Sunday to ask for a fix, they couldn't send anyone until Tuesday evening. 2 days without internet is a joke. Go with Sky or BT
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Reading Virgin Media  
terrible every night after 12 goes out for a hour so it stops my streaming so i have to wait and without a lan cable internet is super slow so its not worth the 33 a month and it increases
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Earl Shilton Virgin Media  
If you are looking for an internet provider. Try and avoid virgin media. Their speeds are good and that’s how they get you. But it just goes down randomly I don’t think it’s planned maintenance as in there website it doesn’t acknowledge that it has gone down. However in the last 2 months the internet has gone down multiple times for no reason. Stopping me from being able to do anything on the internet for up to 4 hours. They give no indication of when it will be back online you just have to hope and wait. Terrible company with no care for there customers. Avoid them please.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Leicester Virgin Media  

Loading...

  • 3240 reviews, showing page 9 of 81, skip to page 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk