Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 1110 customer ratings since 2023-02-21 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,651 Customer Reviews over 117 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ilford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I’m writing on behalf of a friend. He thought he has paid his bill with Virgin for the internet giving his bank details and blabla to the employee on the phone but that employee put his bank details for someone else bill and then his internet cut off and now he has to pay £7.50 of late payment because Virgin team mess up and they don’t want to cancel that fee of they mistake or anything to compensate that trouble. Would say find a better internet provider with human being on the phone than them and it’s up to you if you find yourself generous to pay some else bill and trouble to get everything sorted, rude staff on the phone and trouble to talk to a manager
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stoke on Trent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hello Virgin Media,

    I want to express my deep disappointment with your service. Our internet speed has been frustratingly slow despite paying over £60 a month. We’re certainly not getting the service we’re paying for.

    Moreover, we were promised that our contract would move seamlessly to our new address on the 10th of June, yet it was disconnected prematurely last night. This has caused significant disruptions to our work and personal lives, and it’s completely unacceptable.

    In attempting to resolve these issues, I’ve encountered further frustrations with your customer service team. As someone who works in customer service myself, it’s evident to me that your representatives are poorly trained. They’ve been stuttering on the phone and providing less than satisfactory assistance.

    Finally, your WhatsApp chat service is intolerably slow. Responses take between 30-60 minutes per message. It’s supposed to be a real-time chat, not a delayed email conversation.

    I must say, these experiences have been utterly disappointing. Please rectify these problems urgently and ensure we get the service we’re paying for.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    COLNE Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible company, Tried to cancel when my subscription doubled from £26 to £54 for no apparent reason. When I asked they said it was because I’m out of contract. They have now said I am still in contract and want details of my new address to avoid early cancellation fees. Why would I have early cancellation fees if I’m out of contract. They are a bunch of incompetent buffoons who totally ignored my request to terminate and Lee requesting more money. I will not pay a penny more and if any of you have any sense you will avoid this company like the plague
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambs
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They promised high speed, ive seen faster snails!
    But the REAL issue is the connection just keeps dropping out for no reason? I have to switch my PC on and off until it works again.
    Customer service is non-existant
    Then they send me a letter to say they are putting their prices up! But they don't tell you by how much! Virgin Media..I cant put into words how bad they are!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North East England
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Rubbish. Over three months ago they dug up the top of my drive to put straws into the street. Three months on, they sent an email telling me that they were no longer going to install fibre into those straws. All that mess for nothing. No reason given. Shocking. Made worse because they are proceeding in parts of the estate where provision of broadband is already good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Livingston
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Paying over £70 a month for the most appalling broadband service ever experienced. Called virgin media so many times to report slow speeds buffering outages etc and always get the same old story " we ran a test over 3 days and your service showed no problems at all" . Whenever we call we get promised there's no issues and yet I need to now go to the office to work because of how unreliable this service is. Surely I can get out this contract early due to the service not being as described, if this was a blouse I would have returned it months ago. Shame on you virgin media for ripping us off and lying to us about there being no issues.
    Tell me again how there's no better service??
    Screen shots of errors buffering etc available on request!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Service itself was very patchy - frequent drop outs, outages and slow network problems. Attempted to cancel my service at the end of my contract. No way to do this on the website, you have to call up. Did this, but was told I'd failed security, no way to try again, just have to wait until they've sent a letter with a new password. I wait several weeks, no letter arrives. I call again, am told that this shouldn't have happened, that I was misinformed on my first call, and that a manager would listen back to the first call and if it was found that I'd been misinformed originally they would set contract notice to start from that date. No further update, so two weeks later I call back. No one has checked original call, new customer service person was rude and unhelpful, so I asked to speak to a manager. Was told none was available, so someone would call me back. No one ever called me back. Had to call back a week later, still no further information, no one had checked the original call, still no managers available to speak to. Just the worst kind of company, poor product and poor service. Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The appalling customer services may yet bring down this company. Despite already being a 'loyal customer' I was repeatedly cold-called by upsellers - this would stop for a while at my request, then begin again a year later. When I sold house and wanted to cancel, they made the process so time consuming and unpleasant that I will surely never use their service again. Way to go!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bracknell
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    So I tried to come out of our #VirginMedia broadband service we have had for 4-5 years.

    In 2021 we were sent a 'free' stream box which in 2022 VM tried to charge us for having the Stream service so I called and told them to remove it and readjust the monthly fee back to where it was. Of course the standard broadband price had gone up for Broadband so it was still £4 per month more expensive.

    Virgin Media put prices up this year another £7 per month (£10 in a year) meaning we have had to look around for a cheaper alternative.

    I tried to cancel my service and was told in the call in 2022 I had 'agreed' to another contract verbally and now it will be £288 to exit this 'contract'. We are not even paying back towards the cost of the router so where on earth has the £288 come from?

    So I am now going to ensure everyone I know and meet never choose Virgin Media for their broadband service. Starting with my Mum who spends £55 per month who will be switching next month.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Their installation team were abismall. It took them 3 weeks to try and get a line to my house. They moved my dates without informing me and each person on their customer services team told me different things. In the end, I gave them a deadline by which to go live. They said they could bu they messed it up so I went ahead and cancelled my order. Unbelievably poor customer service. Stay away
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT USE VIRGIN MEDIA - THEY'RE RUTHLESS

    I was with Virgin Media for just shy of 10 years for broadband only. I moved house in October 2022, and despite all the calls I made, and all the emails I sent to disputes, they still maintained that I hadn't cancelled. This arduous dispute continues on to this day.

    The first amount was for £125 in Feb 2023, which I just paid thinking this was the final payment just to get them off my back. How stupid I was. Approximately 3 days later I received another bill for £30.30. I told the debt companies straight away that I wasn't paying it. I hadn't lived at that address for 4 months at that point.

    Eight months later and I've been contacted by at least 3 debt companies for £30.30!! One will close down my account and Virgin sends it to another, and so the cycle continues.

    I would call Virgin to cancel and they told me to email disputes, so I emailed disputes and they told me I had to call. I spoke to at LEAST 13 members of staff and none of them cancelled for me. I would email disputes and they would basically ignore whatever I said, deny that I had cancelled and tell me to call up. When on the phone waiting to speak to Billing, the call would ALWAYS be dropped. I have wasted hours and hours of my life on this.

    I've just had ANOTHER call today 22/05/23 from the first debt company, still asking for £30.30.

    It's absolutely disgusting how this company treats you when you try to leave.

    Stop asking me for money that I don't owe!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You're not getting one more penny from me you bullies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If you value your own time and sanity you will avoid virgin at all costs. I cannot begin to explain the awful experience that I have had with them... The customer service is the worst I have seen.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tate
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Terrible Experience with Virgin Media - Overcharging and Poor Customer Service

    I recently had an extremely frustrating experience with Virgin Media, which motivated me to whine about it online.

    The main issue arose when I noticed unexplained additional charges on my monthly bill. Concerned about these unexpected expenses, I contacted Virgin Media's customer service not once, not twice, but three times in an attempt to resolve the matter. Each time, I patiently explained my situation and spent a considerable amount of time on the phone (in total almost 3h!).

    During these calls, the customer service representatives assured me that the problem had been identified and resolved. However, after every call, subsequent bills continued to state incorrect charges (over double what was stated in my contract!), despite the assurances given. Basically, Virgin added some extra services to my contract without my consent.

    Over the last 5 years, I experienced numerous problems with Virgin Media but it would take short book to describe in detail. I would recommend everyone to pick ANY broadband provider but not Virgin. They are absolutely the worst.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North East
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgraceful company, avoid at all cost. We have been with them for years and pay well over the odds for a shocking service. They don’t want to keep our custom as they will only offer a £2 per month reduction when we can go elsewhere for less than half the price. Horrid customer service, please do not go to this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have never been more disgusted by a company in my life.

    Called today to give my usual one month notice of moving out as I have done in past whenever I have moved, however I was told I will be charged over £200 early termination fee. HOW is that legal, let alone moral in a cost of living crisis? I’ve never had to pay more than £20ish for this in the past with any provider.

    Such a significant sum should be clearly communicated to a customer when taking out a contract - I can’t imagine anyone would expect to be charged that kind of money. Completely immoral and disgusting behaviour. I was even asked if I “knew anyone who would take over the contract” as if I could live with just dumping that on someone else.

    Many of my family and friends are with Virgin Media but knowing this and that some of them are looking to move in the near future I will definitely be helping them to find other providers at first opportunity.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chorley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After two separate delays (due to lack of and inadequate initial survey) totalling over a month for the installation of my broadband, we discovered that our technician was installing our router in the wrong part of our house.

    After calling customer service, the second person we spoke to after half an hour of explaining our issue started trying to talk to us about alternative package offers, despite us saying that we just wanted to have our issue resolved. He then said they would add a box onto our current package for no extra cost (without explaining what it actually was), and 5 minutes later he said "this will incur an extra £30 plus charge" and it was incredibly difficult for us to respond that we didn't want this. As soon as it was found we didn't want to purchase anything in addition, he then transferred us to tech support (so was obviously uninterested in / not his remit to solve the issue we had been discussing for the last 30 minutes and merely wanted to make a sale).

    We eventually got thought so someone who quite emphatically promised us we would be rang and seen by the technician the very same day by 5pm. As a result of this I had to leave work and remain in the house all day. No call or visit came. We then rang the next day to enquire why this had happened, and we were now assured we would receive a call and visit from the technician by the end of the working day for the second time, and a further promise that we would be called back at 9pm by customer service to ensure this issue had been resolved. Not one call from either party came, this after staying in waiting for the technician AGAIN.

    I have recieved 3 guarantees of a call and visit, and 3 times I have been outright and maliciouslylied to by Virgin customer supprt, and actively missed work as a result. Negligence is one thing but to be lied to on multiple occasions which has had active consequences for me is entirely another. It hasn't even been 48 hours, and I am now preparing to terminate my contract with Virgin, and can safely say this is the worst company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with not to mention the fact that the range of my router is far worse than the several year old sky one I have been using previously. AVOID.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had six months of unusable broadband service. Ignore the promises of automated refunds... The service needs to be fully off for extended periods to get this. I'm my experience, service will be unusably slow with regular periods off and on. They refused to refund at all even though they were well below gauranteed speeds.
    Customer service was almost none existent. I had to work very hard to get acknowledgement and engineer visits. Finally Street cable was modernised fixing the service, but I've now left for a company with actual customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Paignton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely awful service. We were rebooting the router 3 times a day to reconnect the wifi. Eventually an engineer came out and installed a new router - now nothing works at all.
    We have tried on three different occasions to contact Virgin and each time they hang up after 20 minutes.
    If you run a business, please, DO NOT USE VIRGIN MEDIA
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This company is the worst I’ve ever had to deal with. I helped a pensioner with her contract as tv part was too expensive, so after helping got a price for phone only, was sent emails and said would phone next day this was back to February 2023 never received call. Week later they phoned this pensioner she said about it they had no record even when I had emails with contract.
    This person then decided she did not want them at all, so we found her a cheaper mobile phone deal as all she wanted was a phone. So we contacted to cancel and a date was arranged for equipment collection on a Sunday, she stayed in all day as was worried and no one ever turned up, not even a call, we phoned at the time date was arranged, got cut off call so after phoning again taking over an hour spoke to someone, who then confirmed it was on there system. What a bunch of liars. Week later they took more money from her account, this was ending up hundreds of pounds of money she could not afford to pay. So after this she went to bank and cancelled her direct debit bank said let virgin know. She phoned them after some time talked to different departments again said I’ve had enough and cancelled my direct debit and put phone down as they, upset her once again with stress. Week later she gets a letter saying to pay her bill or get cut off, which is what she wanted.
    This company has the worse customer services I’ve ever contacted, everyone lies, all they want is your money. I’ve contacted CEO of Virgin media reply with info but never hear again, seems all he likes is his bonus. Richard Branson should be decussated disappointed with how his company name is being treated. Looks like we are not the first of thousands of complaints. He needs to step in and make his company great once again. As as it is I would not recommend this company like this. Please pass to anyone that can help.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grimsby
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    For reliability of service probably the worse ISP provider.The internet has decent speeds but it's not much use when it is regularly down.Id honestly recommend if internet is your top priority to shop elsewhere even if it costs more money.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Notts
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Literally the worst ISP in the country. Regularly going down completely and when it is up I get an average of 1/10th of the speed I pay for which is criminal. I have received 1/2 the expected speed just twice in tests since upgrading to 1gb speed, it was honestly better speed wise on the 350mb service. Virgin media is a con and the company should be investigated by trading standards and ultimately closed down.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Charged me twice for the same bill absolutely disgusting
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Plymouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Generally ok, until you try to change the service, or cancel. Then they reveal themselves to be the worst - they don't listen, argue every point, grasp for whatever they can get from you, upselling with extreme incompetence. Never again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    @virginmedia waiting for a technician to install super fast broadband since January- keep getting rebooked and then get cancelled appointments …super slow and super rude customer services!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrison
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Cancelled my account 5+years ago and started charging me again with no “record” of me cancelling. And that they had no “evidence”. Managers refusing to speak to me directly (stating it was “my own fault”) and leaving it to a customer person (who was amazing and informed me noice was in and left 2 weeks later ) Had to request it being cancelled TWICE (Nov 22 and Feb 23) paying (kept affecting my credit score and I lost a mortgage offer because of it) for charges and monthly payments and hours on the phone. I had evidence and nothing could fight them, I was hung up on and told it was not my fault as their “record showed no information” of what I was talking about.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norwich
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Overall fast enough for my needs but everything else is a huge letdown. Being rewarded for loyalty with higher prices than new customers to not being entitled to newest hardware because it's reserved for the new customers.
    My advice is to either avoid or not to get attached- use it and bin it when contract ends.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dunfermline
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Total failure. After 2 months of delays and failed installation attempts, Virgin were unable to connect to their cable on the pavement outside my house. They failed to deliver on every single promise they made. So I gave up and stayed with the slower and more expensive BT. Virgin call centre staff very poor. Unintelligible accents and clearly reading from standard scripts, unable to listen or deal with anything that departs from the script. Utterly appalling and unable to deliver their core service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    The problem is you can only rate speed and reliability relative to price, in this respect virgin is below average, however it is their customer service that is the most horrendous part of this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crawley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID AT ALL COST, I signed up in December 2021 its April 2023, they did not connect me to internet for 15 freaking months!! I CALLED AND i emailed they still collecting money from my acc. I tried to cancel, no luck. Today after 2h on the phone, I swear to God I have anxiety when I need to call them, menager of refund department Steven, told me I am not gona be refunded cos I did not complain enugh!! Can you imagine?? I do not have brodband over a year, Iam using mobile data if I have too, and he have a nerv to tell me that I did not complain enough!! Omg what on earth.
    Future customers of Virgin Media be pl3ase do yourselves a favour and sign up with someone else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    There seem to be a lot of horror stories about Virgin Media, but I have had a Broadband package with them for 3 years or so and never had a problem. The price is going up from next month (for the first time since contract started), but by less than 10%. I don't consider that unreasonable.
    There are occasional issues if you're too far from the router (standard) but the service is consistent and reliable with multiple devices connected all around the house.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northampton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    I have a gigabit line and problems with Wifi signal in my house, they sent an engineer out to have a look, the engineer said I need 3 boosters to get full signal, due to the type of house.

    Instead of solving the problem and sending me out the boosters they’re now telling me to struggle for another week then they’ll send one, after that one they want me to struggle for another week before they’ll send me a second one, then stuggle for a third week and they’ll send me a third.

    What sort of backward company is this?? Why not just solve the problem? You know what’s needed, your own engineer confirmed it. Just solve the issue!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Broadband is terrible! I switched from Sky to Virgin broadband on the basis that they contractually guaranteed faster speeds. After waiting weeks, they drilled a hole in my wall, stapled down cables and installed their router. The download speeds in every room other than the room where they installed the router dipped to around 6mbps download speed. I complained to Virgin and they said they could fix the issue if I paid £8 extra a month for Wi-Fi boosters in each room.
    My experience with Virgin has been terrible. I’m paying more for worse download speeds. I honestly wish I had never switched from Sky.
    I do not work for and I am not in anyway affiliated with Sky or Virgin.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Amesbury
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    recently purchased Virgin Media 550, of course on the rosey promise of Wifi conection in every room etc...

    Having moved in to a new house the port was already installed, so placed it in all good. Less one room upstairs at the far end of the house that struggles for signal and happens to be where 2 kids are.

    so I contact Virgin to ask for booster equip or to move the connection - £8 a month or £100+ to move it. What? When I questioned about there stated guarantee that was both verbal and in writing it seems it not true just a lie??? They wouldnt budge on it.

    Only room for compromise was if I was disabled or wanted another random contract with a O2 simcard. So just for clarity your money isnt the same if your not disabled and you need to pay more for the pods each month - or get rail roaded into an O2 contract for more money a month........

    Needless to say I went on ebay and jist brought one for £12, Virgin are an empty tracksuit promise world but dont deliver, and dont get me started on bouncing around about 6 call centre staff who may well be based on Mars judging by the conection and langiage barrier. And when questioned on the integrity of the intial Virgin offer just hung up!

    All in all very unsatisfied hate been lied to and then discriminated against for not been disabled or wanting an O2 contract, The poor excuse of it the walls my personnel favourite I dont live in a green house so there will be walls if you cant provide what you state to entice customers then dont say it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    This company rip you off and blame you and your house for having no broad band. I have been with Virgin for many years. Since January I have had an intermittent connection. Every time I contacted the customer service I was told it is my house that is the issue and that there are no problems with the connection. I have not been listened to at all. I finally had an engineer a few weeks ago who said the issue is a weak signal from the box outside my house which was the issue, and increased the strength. My signal was still intermittent. 10 days ago another engineer told me that the wire from the box is damaged. He did a temporary fix, and said that I would have some signal once the green light stopped flashing - shouldn't be long - and left. I had no signal whatsoever since then. I was told someone would be out that evening, then received a text saying I would have to wait another 3 days as I was not a priority. A third engineer said the line is damaged. I received a follow up call from the same man who had previously tried to blame the layout of my house (although he admitted he didn't KNOW the layout of my house). He said 'the engineer report says that the fault IS with your house'! He had said nothing of the sort so this was an absolute lie. Yesterday Virgin's 'pull-up team' came and told me that the council seem to have cut the wire, and that they have to contact them before they can fix the issue. I get charged £51 a month for not having the broadband I pay for and being accused of saying the issue is with my house and me. I agree it is my fault as I have stayed with Virgin. I contacted them again asking to exit the contract however was told to pay £288 despite it being their fault and them not ready to fix the issue . Stay away from these thieving company. PLEASE EMPLOY SOME ONE WHO FLUENTLY SPEAKS AND UNDERSTAND ENGLISH - THIS WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA OF WHATS CALLED SERVICE. Whilst each engineer has been pleasant and polite, the customer service team on the phone have been beyond frustrating. They do not care at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Applauding service and coverage in my area. Staff were evasive when internet speed was questioned. The technician in that fitting my box made fun of my disability in my own home which was very embarrassing as it was in front of my sister. I would strongly recommend avoiding Virgin Media, and beware of the exit fees. This company wanted to charge a hefty £800 early exit fee because I wanted to leave because of poor internet service provision.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely the worst decision ever, from the 1st day With Virgin it’s been awful, absolutely disappointment
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Borehamwood
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    it works then stops last week stopped 356 times this was agreed by virgin. Who said not eligible for compensation as not off continuously. Still intermittent. Pay for 100+
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wallis
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would give zero stars if possible. I would recommend that you avoid this company as they do not care about the customer. Try to woo you with offers if accoint credit that never materialise. You WILL have to endlessly chase this up and speak with people from.abroad with heavy accents that are difficult to understand. They will also struggle to understand you, the paying customer. You're first bill will be wrong and of course this will be as hard to rectify as the promossed account credit. By this time you will be well out side the cooling off period and will, therefore, have over £300 of early termination fees applied to an account that was active for a month and a half.

    Your formal complaint at this point won't even be looked at as the advisors are told to escalate them to deadlock immediately rendering your complaint pointless. You will them have to use the ombudsman service to look into the complaint (who I am sure are paid by the ISPs they are adjudicating over).

    You will be left with a negative record on your credit report if you are resolute in not paying.

    Ultimately you're only option is to take them to small claims court. I have commenced proceedings against Virgin Media for wasting my time and getting it completely wrong. I explore you to save yourself the hassle and do not use Virgin Media.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Shields
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    3 weeks after install, it started disconnecting. 1st engineer didn't show, 2nd engineer did show, but lied and after 45 mins in my house, said I wasn't in. 3rd engineer thought he'd fixed it, 4th engineer didn't believe there was an issue, 5th engineer cancelled call-out and said nothing. Nearly 6000 router disconnects in 10 weeks. Retentions called after I left contract and promised an engineer.... who didn't show. 7 hours on the phone to them. Now I'm taking them to court..... unless they read this and suddenly fix it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'd give them 0/5 if I could! They've had sooo many chances to improve our woeful broadband, even having visited our home multiple times. We've still been left with p'poor internet, which has been sooooo frustrating, and all they've wanted to do is tie us down to a new contract. We've been counting down the days to leave and it's nearly here. Can't wait. AVOID!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.