Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 1110 customer ratings since 2023-02-21 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,651 Customer Reviews over 466 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincoln
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Disconnection through customer service is cumbersome. Existing customers are chased away by high renewal rates.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cumbria
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Fantastic broadband never had an issue from the moment I connected it!! Could stream anything with no buffering. Unfortunately I moved to Cumbria where they don’t cover so had to cancel early and pay the costs but brilliant product otherwise.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I write to share my ongoing ordeal with Virgin Media, hoping to spare others from the headaches I've endured. My journey started on the 9th of March 2022 when I eagerly signed an 18-month contract at a seemingly reasonable rate. Little did I know, this was the beginning of a series of issues that would plague my experience.

    Fast forward to the 22nd of May 2023, where I signed another 18-month contract at a reduced rate. The trouble began with unexplained charges in June, July, and August 2023. Feeling financially strained, I decided to halt my direct debit on the 1st of September 2023.

    Things took a drastic turn on the 29th of September 2023 when Virgin Media claimed I owed them an outstanding balance. Despite my complaint on the 2nd of October 2023, negotiations only led to temporary solutions and broken promises.

    Service disruptions on the 3rd of October 2023 required me to pay for reactivation. Virgin Media agreed to a one-time credit, but the problems persisted, leading to another credit agreement on the 11th of November 2023.

    On the 12th of November 2023, a new arrangement was made, only for my account to be suspended again on the 4th of December 2023. After a heated argument, they agreed to reactivate my service but claimed the remaining balance would be settled by a credit, yet emails continue to show overdue amounts.

    This continuous cycle of broken promises and billing issues has left me frustrated and disheartened. I caution anyone considering Virgin Media's services to think twice, as my experience underscores their lack of accountability and persistent billing problems.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Total waste of money, I upped my speed and have gotten a less reliable service. What an absolute shambles of a company with no accountability or person to talk about the issues. Has turned not a faceless organisation with poor customer service and reliable internet speed and strength.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with virgin for years mostly due to easiness of just keeping the contract running and avoid changing but my contract expires in January and I cannot wait to leave. Trying to cancel with them they will keep you on hold once they know for least half hour so you just give up. I lost internet for 3 days and they didn’t care and then refused to compensate me for the loss of service I’m paying almost £100 a month just for internet and basic tv package unbelievable. Don’t get fooled by the promise of quick speeds if I turn my phone on the tv buffers and I have their highest package for broadband. I’m counting the days to leave
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No stars NEVER EVER get Virgin broadband, tv and phone package. We had it fitted on 11th October, had no phone for two weeks , engineer comes 2 weeks later can't sort it , next morning no devices whatsoever. Few days later they put the internet back on still no phone or TV. Eventually over 4 weeks later we get TV, 2 days after that we get the phone with a temporary number ( not so temporary as we still have it ,) in the meantime we are sent several new contracts , why ? We don't want a new contact we just want our original one honoured. Then we get a bill 3 X what we were quoted! So today we made our 24th phone call which took over an hour and a half and are no further forward. To say we are pissed off , angry , frustrated and at the point of pulling out hair out is an understatement.
    The virgin product when working is great but the customer service from them is an absolute abomination.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Downfall of Virgin's Reputation

    Using Virgin Broadband for my properties has been an absolute train wreck:

    Customer Service: Endlessly Horrendous - Every call is a descent into madness with endless waits and abysmal support. It's a vortex of despair.

    Phone Support: Excruciatingly Incompetent - They're not just unhelpful; they're a liability. Complete ignorance and utter disregard for customer issues.

    Installation: A Complete Joke - They've never met an installation date. It's a chaotic mess of broken promises and sheer incompetence.

    Service Quality: A Total Failure - The service is not just bad; it's catastrophically terrible. Constant outages, snail-like speeds—it's a disaster.

    Virgin Broadband is not just the worst in the market; it's a stain on the Virgin legacy. Their business practices are laughable, and their service is a joke. It's obvious they're headed towards inevitable bankruptcy. Everyone knows Virgin Broadband is the bottom of the barrel in internet services. Avoid it like the plague.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Virgin Media for 12 years and had quite a few issues with them to be honest, but this one takes the biscuit.

    I moved house last November and called them to say I was moving and want to transfer my contract over to my new house, however little did I know they did not carry it over but actually restarted my contract completly making the contract date end 6 months later, however they did carry over my Promotions, meaning now my promitions have ended but my contract still has 6 months left, putting my contract up from £29pm to £57pm, I contacted them several times and made a complaint, the customer service were all rude and unhelpful and in the end claimed no fault and refused to rectify the situation, leaving me paying a contract I cannot afford, I am disgusted with Virgin and when my contract renews now in May I will cancel and move to BT, never to return and make everyone aware of there antics, BEWARE!!!!, do not use Virgin Media they are scammers and cheats.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bradford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really poor customer service. No Internet in certain rooms despite it being fine to behin with. Tried contacting to get an engineer out to fix it. They didn't turn up. I rang and complained. They told me someone would call me to rearrange. Still waiting for a phone call
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grays
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's been four hours of connection for just one PC and a mobile, here is no option to upload a real time video that could save other to be cheated from big promises.
    Please do your OWN researches to go for a contract with VM

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.