Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 7969 customer ratings since 2019-03-30 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3345 Customer Reviews for Virgin Media

  • Showing page 2 of 84, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
The worst company. Overcharging customers for low speed broadband. The internet speed so low I could not download text on my phone and I have to pay 42£ a monthly. After calling them that I need to cancel and disconnect from broadband, because I am not happy with the service they double the charges to 93£ a month without notice and carried on charging me despite I have been told them to disconnect the broadband 2 months ago. Dishonest virgin media.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Virgin Media  
Well i was with virgin for over 4years and never really recieved good wifi it was quick but wasnt stable it droped all the time but trying to tell this to the tech team was a waste of time as all they will look at is signals being sent to the box which the box did get so no fault was shown and i was left paying for 200mb speed even if my connection wasn't sturdy (xbox online play would forever keep loseing connection hasn't hppened with sky at all ) another issue i had was my bill would rise every month so i asked them what the could do and they said lower my broadband speed and i could save 25£ so i dicided to leave a go with sky then they pulled there finger out sent a engineer round that week to replace my modem and offered me my virgin package allmost 50£ cheaper but the deal i got from sky was un beatable virgin was £1.40 off the best price but sky gave me sky cinima 12months and a free 32inch tele now im with sky i see how bad my virgin service was as my issue's are no more
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bedfordshire Virgin Media  
PLEASE AVOID Virgin at all costs. I am currently attempting to write this review with my Virgin broadband, which I am planning to change very soon. I am currently paying more than £50 for up to 50mpbs however, my internet is currently on 1.1 mpbs. This happens between 7-12:15 every day, 7 days a week. It is very rare that you will meet the 50mpbs in a day unless you're a night owl up at 3am. I have also had several periods where I have had problems with connectivity, which I must say the customer service is like a dictatorship. Each problem you have is answered with "we are having issues in your area and it will be fixed soon". This, in most cases was false as I checked with my neighbours who also had Virgin and had no problems.

All in all, please try to save your money and go for a different provider.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
Absolutely terrible customer service, no one at virgin has any idea what they're doing and just pass you from person to person, no matter how many times you explain the problem they just don't get I, 6 months later and things are worse then ever, nothing works but they're still happy to take your money.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Slough Virgin Media  
Virgin broadband has never been better than OK but since I 'upgraded' to their latest super fast offering (200megs) the service has deteriorated substantially. Customer service try their hardest but are of only limited assistance. The service keeps dropping (every 10 to 15 minutes for a few second) and at other times it is just so slow. Now its completely broken and they don't know why so I have to wait 4 days for an engineer. Absolutely would not recommend this service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
Another new and unhappy customer.

Joined because they offered a fantastic deal much cheaper than Sky and with faster broadband. The deal got worse as you added all the things that Sky included and the broadband speed was nowhere near the advertised 200mbs

After much messing about I have got the broadband upto about 100mps (where it limited by the modems) but only if you are with about 10 feet of the box move to the end of the room or upstairs and the speed drops off drastically. The wifi range of the box is rubbish and it still drops connection occasionally.

Oh and then they put the bill up by an inflation busting 4% deep joy!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
stoke-on-trent Virgin Media  
Virgin Media are an appalling 'company'.
All these reviews are 100% corrrect (when the majority of trust pilot reviews are fake) - Virgin Media themselves ignore this.
Other review sites shamefully ignore these reviews too.

Virgin Media has non existent customer service - I mean non existent.
Nothing works - live chat/website - no one ever gets back to you.

The twitter team are a waste of space.

The exec team rang me last week - she was the most nonchalant person I have ever spoken to in a complaints team. I had zero confidence she would do anything right or properly and this week I have been proved right.

I had complained because of live chat, the website, the twitter team and a non response from a letter I sent in a month ago to no response.
B. in the exec team was supposed to mark my contract as cancelled on the 13th April 2020 and credit my final month as an apology.

Instead, on Tuesday Virgin Media have sent me a new contract starting 20th April - Virgin Media are total cowboys.

Never ever give Virgin Media your money.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
uk Virgin Media  
When moving home had to cancel as VM don’t have services at my new address. I’d been happy with broadband & tv so would have taken them with me. When I called to cancel the very curt and clearly miserable customer services woman told me there would be a disconnection fee of £150, she refused to put me onto a senior manager. I hung up. Next day called again, very nice bright woman answered, apologised that they couldn’t offer me a service at my new address but that as I paid a month in advance I was due a refund of £50, which I duly received! Clearly no real policy just luck of the draw...so I recommend trying till you find a civilised reply!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Camden Virgin Media  
‪Just wanted to WARN existing Virgin customers about unfair “contractual” termination charges!-was just ordered to pay an extra £60 as Virgin I moving and they cannot provide me with the service after I move. I was with Virgin for well over a year but had to switch to cheaper service recently as couldn’t afford their premium charge -Now it is their payback time!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southampton Virgin Media  
Inconsistent speeds, bills and customer service. Terrible price that regularly increases and the actual received speeds could vary from "fine" to "unusable" with one person using it.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sale Virgin Media  
Primarily signed up with virgin for gaming (which against popular belief only requires a STABLE 4-5mb connection). Virgin is great at 2am when I register 34mb speeds, and a ping well below 20. My computer is new, and hard wired. But I don't really need useful internet at 2am, I expected and pay money to get useful internet during the day and evenings. After 6pm until midnight, most nights, I've observed my speeds dropping to 2-4mb. The ping results are even worse ranging from 150 to 999. This isn't a slight drop in service that's reasonably expected, this is a failure of service. I can't game at night. A 1000% drop in download speed is completely useless to me. When I ping test, I receive a level of service to various UK severs far slower than someone in New Zealand or California. I'd love to ask virgin, why is my internet in accessing a uk server slower than someone on the other side of the world? This quality of service is a complete joke. Virgin broadband, as well as useless to me at night, is not reliable or stable. How they can produce adverts implying they provide internet that is usable for a whole family? Including myself there are 2 people in the household I live. I only have one device that uses internet, my hardwired PC. How virgin have not been sued for misrepresenting claims of service I don't know. At best there claims are misleading, at worst they deliberately lie about what it is they offer. My 50mb connection is suitable for basic streaming nothing else. Even worse then my old gripes, is that now the level of service is noticeably getting even worse, over the past few months. it's gone from bad to a complete disgrace!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wirral Virgin Media  
STAY AWAY! The most disgusting service provider out there. They rob you and when you are in need they don't do anything for you. The reps give you false promises and most are outsourced so can not help you at all. Do not
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Sheffield Virgin Media  
The original deal seemed to good to be true, 100mb and tv for £30 a month for 12 months. Half way through hey add £3 a month. In the last month the WiFi didn’t work for a week. And trying to contact customer services was impossible. We decide to cancel. Yet 2 months later are still being charged as they didn’t consider our cancellation and charged us a new improved price.
This company model is built on the completely wrong thing. And it’s a scam. Honestly the worst company to deal with.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Virgin Media  
We had so many issues with our connection, the engineer came to our house 5 or 6 times in the first few weeks. They eventually gave up, so I asked to cancel my contract. I was told there would be a £200 penalty for leaving early. The connection stabilised eventually to we left it. However, they have now put my prices up with no warning and have refused my request to cancel the contract again. Therefore, I am now going to have to waste my time making a formal complaint.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bath Virgin Media  
After years of utter rubbish broadband services and price increases I decided to leave and what a relief the best decision I ever made , when I was with virgin media I was constantly getting losses of services and always getting price increases and whenever I tried to leave VM the VM customer convinced me to always stay stating there services can't be beaten your getting A+ grade service compared to all other suppliers and guess what I joined another broadband supplier and never had any loss of services it just goes to shaw don't trust this evil money grabbing company who don't care about loyal customers
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Keighley Virgin Media  
The service is unreliable. Every couple of months it is unavailable for extended periods i.e. greater than 6 hours. It is almost impossible to speak to anyone in customer services and normally takes at least 10 minutes before you can get through. When you finally get through all they do is book an engineer which is normally not for another 2 or 3 days by which time the problem has often disappeared. Customer services are never able to tell you what the problem is or when it will be resolved.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
Cholsey Virgin Media  
I have been with Virgin Media now for Broadband since approximately June 09, and so far my experiences have been to the highest quality. The service was fitted and within 1 hour the Broadband connection was running at top speed, hitting a speed test of 9.76Mbps constant for the following hours. The only problem I have ever had with the service was for approximately 10 minutes when I had a speed decrease to 3.24Mbps, this was due to a hardware malfunction and nothing to do with the connection.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Wednesbury, West Midlands Virgin Media  
I won't recommend virgin media to anyone a lot of money for nothing.
Like everyone says customer service is completely rubbish there's no email service, I call and spend ages trying to get to human and when you do they can be rude and treat people like idiots
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bristol Virgin Media  
signed up with virgin media 25/03/11 paid them £49.95 for v+HDbox,7 weeks later still no installation. they gave me a installation day of 09.04.11 and then cancelled very late the night before, saying that i needed a drop down cable to my property, and to do this they needed to lift a service pit in the road, and would have to get permission from the local council to do this!ever since then, when ive contacted their customer service desk to enquire about this, they have just passed me about from pillar to post, kept me on hold for ages, and in two situtions just cut me off, after i'd spent ages getting through to them in the first place! VERY rude i thought!im now at the point where they are going to have to sort this out very quick and offer me some sort of compensation to keep my custom! :(
south yorkshire Virgin Media  
Left the company exercising the right to leave during contract due to price February 2013 rises.
Customer service is the worst I have ever en counted from any service provider ever.36000 and rising customers cannot be wrong.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
yorkshire Virgin Media  
Worst internet ever and customer service is one of the worst there are rud and helpless.clueless and worst of all is the way the go on and on with the security details. Jokers
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Blackpool Virgin Media  
I have been a customer of Virgin ,Media ever since it was Cable and Wireless then NTL then Virgin. The speed has gradually crept up but so have the costs. Last year in March I moaned about the cost and my monthly bill went from£59 to £25 monthly for phone and 200M broadband. The reliability has always been poor and WiFi always patchy but with the router on a shelf upstairs it’s just ok.
This March I called as my bill had jumped to £44 monthly and ended up cancelling my phone service however I had the rudest operator I have ever spoken to who dropped my call before completing the transaction. Next think, the line got swapped to another provider and someone at Virgin decided I didn’t need my broadband either so switched it off. After six calls and several hour wait, three operators promised to reconnect me and apologised for their mistake. Still didn’t happen so I called yet again and was told some cock and bull story about OFCOM rules and an 8 day wait to start reconnection even though it’s Virgins fault not mine.
Cancelled the direct debit so they can whistle and BT installing this week for free. This would have been bad normally but I had a very major cancer op when our telephone and broadband were off so had lots of additional stress caused by Virgin. Of course all my friends and family know why they couldn’t call me so Virgin Media have lost several more customers already. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Portsmouth Virgin Media  
had no broadband and telephone now 4 months and no one still not been to fix it just keeps making exuses rubish customer service just keeps putting you off had my payments for over 20yrs they not bothered wouldnt recomend virgin media to my worst friend
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
tipton Virgin Media  
Terrible customer service, wouldn't answer simple questions and kept offering new offers when I just wanted to keep the contract I am currently on. Very difficult to understand them over the phone due to the strong accent. Eventually sorted what was meant to be a simple procedure as I am moving house but didn't fully complete the process over the phone. Then sent an email saying I needed to update my details online for ebilling which surely would have been easier to do over the phone. I haven't been able to do this as the instructions aren't clear and the website is extremely confusing at times. Looks like I will have to call back and deal with the poor customer service again. Not happy.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
South Croydon Virgin Media  
often very slow and unreliable sorted after lenthy phone calls dispite claims no fault found but only last a few days when signed up promised no limit on downloads yet throttled back regularly due to fair use policy (so the 100mb users can have more speed) be warned
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
chelmsford Virgin Media  
Where to start! These people set new standards of low in customer services. I am working abroad now so makes sense for my wife to take control of our account. It has taken since August last year to do this, in between we have been cut of twice. Over charged, reconnected, had the phone cut of for 3 months and suffered terrible broad bad speeds. the broad has got so bad we called for assistance the guy has finally turned up today late and said not surprised your broad band is rubbish you should have been sent a new box 2 years ago. I thought it was all solved when i threatened the ombudsman and we did get some service to only then find out that they had not changed the payment process from mineto my wifes name and i was about to get a black mark on my credit rating. But you have to struggle on service only slightly better with other providers over the years. My experience of Virgin Care the parasite that is eating away our NHS is not better, company is constant though constantly terrible!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Virgin Media  
VIRGIN MEDIA, TAKE TAKE TAKE used to be good but not these days. If you phone customer service at night you get through to people in the Philippines where you can sometimes hear children talking in the background, among other things.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Swanson, Wiltshire Virgin Media  
We were contacted by Virgin and agreed tto subscribe to their broadband service with an installation date of July 6th. On the install day a Virgin technician called and said he could not connect us bacause the Virgin cable did connect to our house. In subsequent telephone calls we were told it would take 8 weeks, if Virgin could do it at all. On the telephone the Virgin staff were rude to me and refused to let me speak to a manager. Virgin has arranged for BT to disconnect me and we were without broadband for 2 weeks.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Poole Virgin Media  
The fact that I only give them one star is because zero isn't available first they tried taking payment wrong date then after recalling it because it wasn't my bill date I had set a date to ring up and pay been informed my services will work as normal n ther will be no restrictions on my account not only was it a double payment which I wasn't informed about then I was lied to only to wake up a couple days later to my services being restricted and told to get it. Ack on I have to pay money I don't have it's a joke first they miss the payment date then take it out on a wrong day then then they lie then restrict my services and expect a payment on the day to resolve it which as I was told wasn't gonna happen so now I'm left with no services and a bill of 65 pound to pay for while not having my services on for nearly a month not to mention they haven't dealt with my previous network company like they said and I ended up having to pay line rental from both broadband providers for one month to then be told If I cancel I have to pay yet more money coz that all that company is bothered about it's not about the services or the customers it's about how much money they can steal off you your and mine hard earned money is better off being spent for services you'll actually receive never heard of such terrible customer service and service in total if stay away
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lancashire Virgin Media  
NOT satisfied with the broadband outages that keep occurring quite regularly for at least a week for no real reason and how long it takes to get it sorted EVERY TIME, but EXTREMELY satisfied with the Virgin Media engineer who spent a long time sorting out the fault, which was successful. I don't know his second name but his first name is James and he visited our property on 21/10/2016. Thank you James! He persevered and was lovely and very apologetic
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Bristol Virgin Media  
I have to admit they are not the chepest but have an excellent customer service (they answer within 1-3 minutes, I asked for older bills- they emailed it to me, they give resonable offeres, etc)No internet from any provider is at the maximum speed promise. I have 100MB and I constantly receive around 60-80 , once I had 110MB, but also when is high traffic droped to 40, etc (traffic measured through wifi/ not ethernal cable). Anyway I could still do my things. very occasionally (1-4 times a year) the internet fell compleatly and they fixed it in with 1-2 hours and once overnight (was frustraiting but nobody's perfect) I have been with them since 2011. Initially in Derby then in Reigate. Reading reviews and dealing with other providers( talk talk for instance/over the phone)OMG I prefer virgin media anytime. As over all satisfaction; they are the best you can get.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Reigate Virgin Media  
I have to admit they are not the cheapest but have an excellent customer service (they answer within 1-3 minutes, I asked for older bills- they emailed it to me, they give reasonable offers, etc)No internet from any provider is at the maximum speed promise. I have 100MB and I constantly receive around 60-80, once I had 110MB, but also when is high traffic dropped to 40, etc (traffic measured through wifi/ not ethernet cable). Anyway I could still do my things. Very occasionally (1-4 times a year) the internet fell completely and they fixed it in with 1-2 hours and once overnight (was frustrating but nobody's perfect) I have been with them since 2011. Initially in Derby then in Reigate. Reading reviews and dealing with other providers ( talk talk for instance/over the phone)OMG I prefer virgin media anytime. As overall satisfaction; they are the best you can get.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Reigate Virgin Media  
Virgin is the worst broadband provider I have ever dealt with!!! The customer service is rubbish and you need to spend hours on the phone without getting the issue resolved. Do not go for Virgin!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Knebworth Virgin Media  
I frequently work from home and could never rely on virgin media to remotely connect to my work computer. The last few weeks finaly did me in. Why isn't there a 0 score, I would prefer to chose 0. Absolutely no customer care and I've used virgin for years. I have complained about my expensive service and lack of network services for months and told them I'm leaving. I replaced my Broadband and called to confirm that they have cancelled my service as I now get service from someone else. Thanks to Keira and her manager Kenny, I am being told that today is the start of my 1 month notice as the other people I told are not from the 'leaving' department!

I asked for customer service number and was told to cut off the phone and look for it. I asked if they were refusing with the number and Keira said yes she is refusing with it. Unbelievable lack of customer service. I'm now seeing on reviews all over that this is a common theme. No people skills at all and appalling Customer service, if you can even call it that!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Hayes Virgin Media  
I don't have any major issues with broadband or their tv bundle except that is not worth the money they charge you but what i do have an issue with is their rotten customer service. I was practicly shouted at for wanting to leave. Rude and aggressive and for that reason i really wouldn't recommend them to any one!!!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Glasgow Virgin Media  
my bundle is 40MB but what i get is 4.3MB only i do the test through different speed tester i called the customer service to complain it took more than five minutes and i got nothing as usual
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
bradford Virgin Media  
they don't care about the service, they care only about money, they offer you something but they charge lots more for no reason
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Welwyn Garden City Virgin Media  
One of the worst company I have ever came across. I was moving the house so I went to Virgin media local store back in December. They told me that your installation will be done by 24th of December. its mid February and they are unable to install and always come up with different story..
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
SLOUGH Virgin Media  
ABSOLUTE B******S - IF YOU'RE EVEN CONSIDERING VIRGIN MEDIA OR MOBILE, SAVE YOURSELF AND GO ANYWHERE ELSE - PAY MORE IF YOU HAVE TO!

The internet constantly shuts off for hours on end. They put it down to 'maintenance works. No heads up, no advanced warning. When you finally give in and call, they give you an incorrect estimate for the time it will take to get back online - further messing you about in making alternate arrangements for times when internet is absolutely necessary - doing a masters degree in my case. They refund you at best 73 pence (or similar) as a 'daily maximum reimbursable amount' and have or show no compassion to any of the previous instances you've had to face as a consumer. I'm shocked they are still open and receive new business, a company like this should have dissolved long ago. I warned the representative I would be documenting my experience online to which he said 'you are within your rights to do that'. He showed no remorse in loss of consumers and it became clear, Virgin - as a company, simply do not care for existing customers. I cannot wait to change company, only reason I can't is because I'd be 'subject to an early termination fee' which I am not going to be paying.

I truly hope if you are not with Virgin and have read this message, you save yourself a long future of poor internet, poor customer service and hours lost on phonecalls with practically 0 resolution.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Virgin Media  
Don't use Virgin Media, you cant trust them and very bad Customer service
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  

Loading...

  • 3345 reviews, showing page 2 of 84, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk