Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 1011 customer ratings since 2023-04-13 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,679 Customer Reviews over 117 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gateshead
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The speed drops to 2mb at the time our household needs it most - not even fast enough for one person to watch Netflix comfortably. Often it just goes off altogether with no response from DNS server. Customer service is patronising and nobody has responded to official complaint form or repeated updates from me. I've been assured several times that it's all fixed but there's no improvement. It has got worse, if anything. Their website says there's nothing wrong with the service.
    Virgin Media is unable to provide the service they advertise and sell. It is not fit for purpose. My old provider, o2, was constant and reliable with no variation in speed and no limitations or penalties. I'm going back to a decent service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kensington
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I would advise anyone looking to go with virgin media for any service to not waste their money. They are money grabbing and horrendously unfair, leading people into contracts they are not fully aware of and taking more and more money they are not entitled to.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Pitiful customer service featuring a labyryinth of passed over complaints, all I wanted to get a cable redirected to a new office 3 months for initial broadband with 4 site visits, then hours on phone totally unnecessary.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Just paying for problems rather the service. Not reliable at all, when I get home I never know if I will be able to keep working or just make a skype call... All this for more than 30pounds per month.
    If just they were as professional as they are every 29 of the month taking the money from my bank account...For a service I am not having.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    RH11 - Crawley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Last 8 months the service in the evenings is reduced to a mere 1Mb despite paying 30Mb. Tech Support said it is a local fault and would be solved in 4 months!!! The 4 months has passed and they extended this fault for another 4 months! After several complains I received some bill credits but I want a RELIABLE BROADBAND!
    Now with the SUPERCHARGE speed... if they can't manage 30Mb, how are they going to cope with 50Mb. Changed to Talk Talk to try something different. Virginmedia is running a gruesome scam!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virginmedia broadband is poor in the evening.
    I'm lucky if I get 2.0 Mbps which means the the video you're watching constantly replays or doesn't play at all.
    Virginmedia doesn't tell you the truth. They must reduce their broadband in the evening.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    When I first joined Virgin media they were great, everything ran smoothly at a very reasonable price. Then after a year my bill was put up by £30 a month without our knowledge or agreement to pay so much extra for the same package. When I rang up I was informed that we could have 6 months free then pay £50 for the next 6 months, I even read this back to the operator who agreed that I had heard correctly.
    Shock, I am still being charged the full amount and virgin media are saying this was never offered to me and refusing to find the recording of the phonecall in which I had been misinformed. When I rang to sort this the woman was very patronising, all she wanted was to take my money. I went on to write a complaint to which I had no response. When I next rang I was told that my dispute had been closed, nobody had contacted me to inform me of this. I will be taking this further as I have just been made to pay £140 as they were threatening me with debt collectors and tarnishing my credit rating.
    It's fair to say I will not be using virgin media again after my contract ends and will not be recommending them to anyone when this time last year I would have!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hinckley Leicestershire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I started out with only praise for VM after endless issues with another major ISP. Now my mood has changed after endless down time with the Broadband connectivity and dial- up speed in the evenings. The customer service facility is the next best thing to useless!
    Will this ever be put right? The service status page for my area says "Broadband Good!" Trust me - It's NOT GOOD ! AVOID VIRGIN AT ALL COST! I made a huge mistake signing up with this 3rd rate ISP
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Broadband OK.Every thing else appalling. New contract on 11/11/14 but couldn't get phone working. Still waiting for an engineer but being charged for phone! Also, charged fu'll price for bundle as discount only applies when take phone. They can't get phone to work so charging me full price! Also charged me installation fee despite being free for my deal. Refund promised 4 weeks ago but not yet received. Aweful customer service. Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is shocking. Virgin Media Payments continually failed to correctly set up our direct debit and correct billing period leading to month after month of payment issues and repeated suspension of services. Each time we called they would apologise, refund charges, reinstate services and attempt to resolve the issue.... Next month it would all happen again!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    coventry
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Ok, the customer service is really bad. You get some help from some indian who cant even speak english properly and blames the problem on anything that isnt the actual company. The speed is rubbish as well. i get 5mb on a 50mb package. the upload is a steady 3mb and paying for 4mb so no problems there. It tends to never go down though.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am not a customer. But I am trying ....

    It seems that I need to do more. I filled in the online purchase, I agreed to pay up front, I agreed the install date and all the T&C's and sat back waiting for delivery. What a fool!

    I should have known that the install and delivery dates quoted on Virgin's own website are fictitious, utterly fabricated lies. So sad that I'd already arranged to fly back from abroad to meet this fictitious date. An utterly wasted expense that Virgin doesn't care about.

    All because I had to pass a credit check, this was news to me. Remember I'd agreed to pay the whole contract up front ... I don't want or need any credit. And I don't have a mortgage or borrowing to 'score' me on. But that didn't matter, the Virgin stupidity continued to an obvious conclusion - I didn't need credit but If I did I was good for it and therefore passed the credit check after a few days.

    But those few days were enough to ensure that my trip back to UK to meet an engineer, any engineer, were wasted. They couldn't send an engineer until I am out of the country again - how unhelpful.

    So I wondered; I asked, because they did not, "do I actually need an engineer ? Can I just get a router and plug it in?" Yes came the reply that's what the engineer would do. I pointed out the obvious that as I am a sentient being not a cabbage I am also able to plug in a router - could they just send one to me. Why yes? Of course. We'll send one Thursday.

    Well I couldn't be there Thursday, but my wife could and happily she is a sentient being too. It was arranged, Thursday, not before, delivered to my wife at her central London 8 storey building. Oh but guess what, you'll never guess ... it didn't turn up. The courier reported at 12.30pm that he couldn't get a reply? Interesting this is a building with 3 permanent receptionists - all briefed to accept this particular delivery. I suggest he did not go to the right address.

    So what did Virgin do? nothing of course. Not 'til I chased at 4.30pm did we find out that the courier could be bothered to find the correct landmark building in a central London street. Virgin have no alartm or alert that deliveries had failed - pretty poor really.

    I called the courier to be told the same garbage about no-one being there and then to be told of the impossibility that they (a courier) could deliver a package that day/evening to the correct address which was 4 miles from their depot. I assumed they they had vehicles, maybe I am wrong. Maybe Yodel (the courier) relies upon elderly gentlemen carrying heavy sacks to transport their deliveries, in which case I can see that a 4 mile journey might be hard to complete in 2 hours. Never the less I was told the 'driver' (of what?) had gone home at 4.30pm and the delivery might happen the next day.

    Now you might think I was dismayed or even angry at this point. You'd be right. Angry that I ever bother call Virgin at all. But clutching at straws I called Virgin yet again. After voicing my discontent I was bounced around a few operatives before being told that the delivery had failed - really, I had told them that 4 times at that point! And that it 'should' take place the next day.

    I pointed out that this was not acceptable and was told nothing else could be done. But that's not true, because I could readily imagine what could be done and thus I asked why a reliable and competent courier (of which there are dozens in London), one who has vehicles and competent staff, could not be dispatched to collect the package from the incompetent and aging hands of the old sack dragging deliveryman at Yodel and whisked the 4 miles to my wife. All of this could be done, but not by Virgin. They best that could be done was to make sure that it would be delivered tomorrow. Apparently they ONLY use Yodel or the Post, no other couriers ever!

    Now, I find that surprising, because I doubt that Richard Branson could have built his brilliant business empire if he was encumbered by a total inability to deliver anything on time. So I asked if this service is not good enough for Richard Branson, why should be good enough for me ... a Customer ?

    But then I remembered - I am not a customer. I am just trying to be customer !!

    PS: 24 hours later the old man dragging a sack has finally arrived, but at the wrong address! My wife isn't where she was yesterday. I'd alerted them and updated the address to Virgin and Yodel, but the old sack man must have been in transit already and arrived a day late at the wrong place. So that makes it a 100% success rate for Virgin - EVERYTHING they have told me they'll do is wrong.

    I wonder if their service even works - god knows. And we can't find out until our carrier has transported the Router to the right address, at our expense of course!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I signed up for an introductory offer where the first 6 months are £4 a month. Within a month they have advised this will go up to £7 a month. That's a 75% price hike within a month. Ridiculous. Very very unimpressed, I would strongly recommend avoiding them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South East
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No loyalty to long standing customers. 100,000 of their broadband customers abandoned and sold to TalkTalk with only 4 days notice in Dec 2014 just before Christmas. Webspace lost with just 4 days to back up and move before being no longer able to update and email addresses will be lost after 90 days. They have also made it difficult to transfer to another ISP. Despite being given a MAC code and transferring our service to BT within the 4 days they then took it back from BT and transferred it to TalkTalk with no authorisation. Still not got it back to BT yet though hopefully this will happen now that I have a second MAC code. Absolutely no consideration given to their customers. I am appalled by their behaviour.

    At least 3 months notice should have given to allow customers to transfer their accounts, web space and email to an ISP of their choice in an organised way. Only then and after clear notification offer the 'hassle free' transfer to TalkTalk.

    Hassle free is a bit of a joke as many customers including myself found that with TalkTalk the email immediately stopped working as the settings in our email client needed to be changed and as stated previously web addresses and email addresses will ultimately be lost.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Knight
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Disgraceful service from such a big company. I have currently been sitting on hold after speaking to 5 different people in an attempt to cancel my services and be rid of these incompetents! An example of how they have handled things from the beginning.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking buffering. The signal doesn't even reach upstairs in my tiny house. Cannot wait to leave. Stay we'll away from them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    northwest
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Stay well away from virgin at the minute. Problems ain't the word, now I've been with them for years (no bt)and I've had problems for over 2 years, I was on 10mb then 30mb to fix a problem with no joy.then went up to 60mb to try and fix it now on 152mb. Just to let you know if you do upgrade to 152mb don't expect to receive that speed, only ever get around 10 to 60mb.one more thing when you ring them .GOOD LUCK with that one. Get another provider. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON VIRGIN. I phone them twice a week with no joy in fixing my Internet. Hurry up BT and get in my area .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Runcorn
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    We've had Virgin Media for months and since we first signed up with them, we've had non-stop problems with our internet speeds and reliability. Virgin keep promising us the issue will be resolved by x or y date but it never is, and that's if you can get speaking to them in the first place!

    Virgin Media have terrible customer service and extremely poor communication skills between their own staff. They have no care for the service they provide or their customers. Stay away.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norwich
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I've tried to explore the cost of switching to Virgin for TV/Broadband/Phone services but their website simply fails to function at all. Judging by the reviews on this site, it has probably saved a great deal of pain and hassle.

    I'm sticking with Sky who have offered excellent service over 20 years. I just wish they'd stop increasing their prices!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    awful company. so quick to call you back and sign you up. had 2 months of poor internet despite the super fast advert and engineers confirmed fault in exchange. supposed to be repaired but wasn't still 100%. now am told it's my channels and they can't guarantee a wifi signal. (nice cop out). cancelling, can never get to talk to them on the phone as always on hold. emailed them 5 x to complain, no response and apparently you can't cancel by email either.!!!! so you have to wait 20-30min to cancel. talk about taking the mickey!!! complaining to Ombudsman as they want to now charge a cancellation fee of £173!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Maidstone
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with Virgin 8 months now and all in all I think i have contacted them over 200 times. I just have the 100mb fibre Optic broadband package. On a typical night, my fiance will be playing PS4 online and I will be in another room watching BBC i player and it will cut out and so I have to make a phone call and complain I then have to be on hold for 30 minutes and in that time the internet might pick back up. They sent a new router out after 5 months and told me it was a brand new super hub but when I received it it was exactly the same as what I already had, besides the fact that I was still getting connection problems. This has been ongoing for so long and I threatened to leave the company and she told me that she will give me a month free of internet. So I asked if I had to pay anything for that month and she said no. So come the end of the month they cut us off because we have an outstanding bill!!!! I was livid. Each time I threaten to leave because of breach of contract they just laugh and tell me I am on an 18 month contract and I will have to buy it out. Some bloke told me he would phone me back once the department I needed was open. And guess what, he never phoned me back. I rang again and some lady didnt know anything about it and said there are no notes on my account.
    I now dont know what to do because if I want to leave I will need to buy out the contract or if I stay with them I will forever have the same problems. They are useless and always foreign and they never know what they are talking about.
    Any advice as to what to do or what other broadband provider will be better than Virgin?
    Regards
    Stressed Virgin customer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I really think that some national body controlling this sector should investigate Virgin Media as awful does not even come close to describing how bad they are. In the 4 months I have been with Virgin, a conservative estimate will be that I have contacted them 20 times to complain about the service. For the first month my broadband kept dropping a few times a day. They finally sent an engineer round who informed me that the initial installation was not done correctly. The last month my tv stops working for no reason saying that there is no connection. When I contacted Virgin they tell me that they can't see a fault as the box is working. Well, clearly not. They then tell me that as they can't see a fault, if they send an engineer it will cost me an additional £25. I told them to shove it so they agreed to send one. They then told me that the have improved the signal so I should have no problems. In the last 24 hours since then, I have lost tv signal 4 times for an hour a time.

    The only reason I don't have sky is I can't rig up a dish on my building. Virgin are useless and I encourage everyone to stay well clear. Their help desk is also useless and should be called the "we don't have a clue and don't care" desk.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barking
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am suffering continously cuts in service during 1 yrs living in this house. The reason for not look for another provider is because the landlord is person in contract. Virgin media cut service many nights, every time I contact customer services they say all east of London is in repairs. I am writing this letter from my three mobile because this night 30/12/14 we are again without service. This is unacceptable
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cambridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    i thought BT was bad, but virgin plumb new depths. in the four months I have been with them I had no telephone service for first 6 weeks, the installation was carried out by Drip and Sorry, the internet TV service has been out for a day and half now over busiest part of xmas and they tell me on the phone it could be another 6 days and they had the bloody nerve to send me a letter in november saying they were delighted to increase my monthly charges to keep up the quality of the service....utter liars and crooks, hate them, but dont even get me started on the remote control (Barney Rubble could have made a better fob) and using netflix and other services, or shall I say 'non services'....there R&D and design services must be a bunch of cave dwelling morons.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    belfast
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    awful internet provider, the speed is fine when it works, which has been becoming more and more rare, it just stops working at one point and wont give you anything until maybe a few hours later ,waste of time and money
  • Reviewer
    Location
    SO31
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Broadband speed vary variable, occasionally very poor, which I believe is a BT line problem
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    I am writing about what they did and how they wasted my time with their broadband engineer who was supposed to be coming today in order to install the broadband and the phone line but they kept me waiting all day then when I called them they said they werent coming and they were apparently having some problems
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Overall satisfied with Virgin Media but they made us a nice present for christmas. We are paying 43.99 per month (we are not even using the phone) and now they want to increase the bill by 3.99£ starting from the 1st of February. The bill will be around 50£ per month and I really think it's too much consider what they offer. But I have to say we haven't got any problem with the broadband, tvbox until now so they are quite reliable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    What a diabolical company, I have had nothing but problems with their service from day one. First i was on the wrong package, had to pay to change over. then I did not recieve my bill via the e-mail so my services will be suspended untill I pay and I will be charged a connection fee. what rubish you try and speak to a manager and some woman with an accent I cannot understand or Identify says she is the best person I can speak to... God help me...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I was recently upgraded to TiVO box not my choosing but any how. When O got the box had to call in to activate it. Did that once but the service didnt activate and I kept getting message Smartcard Invalid.

    When I called again and after half hour waiting the guy tells me there is nothing to do but send the engineer. The engineer only works limited hours during the week so now I have to take time off work to stay at home for engineer to come. In the meantime no TV for 5 days. Thanks alot Virgin Media....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Oh what can I say about Virgin Media another with bad customer service under its belt!
    I signed up for 50Mb Broadband, telephone and tv in July 2014. But guess what? there was no telephone because there was no more lines available on my road. They had reached their maximum installation, I'll be put on a waiting list until a line becomes available.
    But here's the problem... the package for the three was £29.99 for six month on 18 month contract. After which I'll pay full package price at £35.00.
    They installed the tv and the broadband. I thought that I would receive some type of compensation, but instead they said I still have to pay the £29.99 for the six months.
    I had to make numerous of calls to say that this was unfair since the package I received was incomplete and the weren't in a position to inform me when I could have the telephone installed.
    I experienced frustration dealing with the representatives of Virgin Media. The internet service was also bad, as there was always a drop in speed which I had to call technical support for several times.
    I cancelled within the cooling off period and I will never go back to Virgin Media. All these companies are just extorting money from the public and are not interested in retaining customers.
    I won't recommend Virgin Media!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sutton Coldfield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Media just don’t seem to want me as a customer. They can’t, or surely they’d make some effort to complete the installation they started nearly 3 weeks ago. During most of which time, I’ve been without either telephone or broadband, because, of course, my previous provider disconnected my service, at Virgin’s request.

    Apparently, Virgin need permission from the local Council before they can carry out my cable re-pull. And they need to give 2 weeks’ notice to the Council. Which I guess they did, as I had to wait over 2 weeks for my engineer appointment. Of course, the engineer never turned up, but I suppose I should thank Virgin for the minimal effort they made to contact me, just the day before the engineer visit was due, to inform me that he now won’t be coming for another 4 weeks. Which means I’ll have been without any service for a total of 6 weeks.

    Why is it going to take 4 weeks now? Something about the poor Council being a bit overworked around Christmas time, apparently. Not Virgin’s fault at all, oh no. And no, they couldn’t possibly contact the Council on my behalf, to see if they could speed things up a bit. And no, they can’t really provide any more detail so that I could maybe chase it with the Council myself. But yes, they’ll certainly e-mail the nice lady in the Construction department, who’ll no doubt phone me back, even though she failed to respond to their previous e-mail; I’m sure she’ll manage it this time, if she’s actually in the office of course, though if she isn’t, it wouldn’t really be the done thing for one of her colleagues to pick it up instead, sorry.

    The lovely people at Virgin Media do pick up the phones quite quickly, I’ll give them that, although they don't seem able to resolve any but the most trivial issues; never mind, they’ll gladly pass your query on to someone else, who may or may not respond (Kay in the Construction department, I’m talking to you.) And you can tweet them as well, obviously while you're at work, as you’ve no internet at home, but unfortunately the Twitter people just refer you to the aforementioned telephone advisers.

    I could go on, but I have already, at some length. You get the message: do not attempt to give Virgin Media your custom, they probably won’t want it.

    PS. The people in their billing department are quite good, though, they’ve managed to bill me already for my non-existent service. Employees of the month, no doubt.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with Virgin Media for many years, enduring constant poor non existent customer service, interrupted internet service, periodic loss of telephone and television service.

    It is now 18-12-2015 8:30pm and my entire street (Virgin Media customers only) have been without television and internet for 48 hours. I have been told by Virgin's so called customer care team that it will be another 17 hours before any further updates will be given. The issue is simply due to the upgrades occurring in the area therefore it will benefit me in the long run.

    My only internet access is now through that which is provided by my mobile phone company.

    I do not know how companies like virgin get away with providing such poor service to their customers. It is wholly unacceptable. Although it means little to them, I have now terminated my contract with Virgin. I now look forward to when my 30 day notice period is at an end.

    If more customers walked away from Virgin due to their poor service and uncaring customer service team perhaps then we will see Virgin making marked improvements.

    For now as long as customers suffer in silence and pay their hard earned cash for a less than adequate service, Virgin will continue to be insensitive to their customers and treat them with total disregard.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    HAVEN'T EVEN GOT THE BOX AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE I RECIEVED WAS APPALING. I phoned up and spoke to Alex who wasn't listening to what I say saying, refused to acknowledge when I spoke and overall treated me like crap and then proceed to hang up on me! I was questioning the price of the package and has found better price for same package and he point blank refused to help! Them phoned up again and got told they couldn't help me what so ever! Been with Virgin Media for less than 12 hours and already the customer service has made me want to cancel my package!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I have been with NTL/Virgin for over 16 years and pay over £80 a month for something which is between a Big Bang and Big Kahuna package, but with no Tivo box and an upload of no more that 19 Mb. I realise that I have been stupid in not switching before. Why are loyal customers treated so poorly?

    But it is not easy to select a new provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I have been with NTL/Virgin for over 16 years and pay over £80 a month for something which is between a Big Bang and Big Kahuna package, but with no Tivo box and an upload of no more that 19 Mb. I realise that I have been stupid in not switching before. Why are loyal customers treated so poorly?

    But it is not easy to select a new provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bury
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After receiving the contract price increase letter I phoned to cancel my contract. I was informed by Virgin that it would cost me £150 to cancel the contract as I had 8 months remaining and that the price increase clause was written into the contract.

    I would encourage anyone who is not happy with their contract price increase to be wary as if you do not accept Virgin will lie and try to use the threat of a cancellation fee!!!

    Got the contract cancelled (charge free) but I wouldn't ever use Virgin again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Apart from the rubbish installation, my main problem is the slow broadband, when we complained the customer service person said they were horrified it was that slow and they would send an engineer out.

    He turned up did nothing said it was fine and we could only expect 40 mgs even though we are paying for 152. He said it was our equipment, brand new iPad ha ha and that we could only get upto a 100 mgs if we used an Ethernet cable, who uses an Ethernet cable we want WIRELESS. Don't waste your money promise you the earth to get your business and then Fob you off.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stoke
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    As a gamer it is essential that I have a good connection while online. Virgin media is arguably the worst broadband I have been with. With the super hub 2 it is very inconsistent with latency. It also cuts out every 5-10 mins in 5g, as a result of this I have had to use 2g and purchase a broadband booster. After this the quality is only satisfactory.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blackpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I thought virgin media was a good , large company that was well established and would provide a brilliant broadband service. We could have got a cheaper package from other companies but we thought virgin media would be best.

    How wrong we're we.

    Broadband is so unreliable, goes off all the time and keeps disconnecting. Had a new router sent out to us and two engineer visits but it still doesn't work as it should.

    After complaining to Virgin we have been told that Virgin say in their terms and conditions that the wireless internet is not guaranteed. They only guarantee. Wired internet connection.

    Who in 2014 wants their iPad, laptop etc connected by a wire to the internet. Everyone wants and rightly so their home internet to be wifi.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.