Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 956 customer ratings since 2023-05-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,691 Customer Reviews over 118 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stanmore, Middlesex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    We were due to transfer to virgin phone, broadband and TV on 18th June 2015. Installer for internal connection kept appointment and was very helpful However installers to connect box simpler failed to keep appointment so we have no service luckily existing supplier of phone and Broadband did not discontinue service. I complained to Virgin and installers are due to come back on the Saturday meaning we have to cancel our weekend plans
    Virgin promised seamless trouble free change.
    This is anything but
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Nightmare company!!!
    Avoid at all costs. Leave you waiting on phone for over an hour when there's a problem.
    When you finally get through its very difficult to understand what they're saying as call centre is in India and unfortunately they employ people who hardly speak English.
    Soooo frustrating.
    Personally I've had enough.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible service. No internet connection since a week, no answer from the technicians to repair it other than "wait to see if it comes back" I have cancelled my contract with Virgin and will have another week of no internet before the cancellation can go through.I am being reimbursed £7!! for 2 weeks of no internet!! - Don't bother with Virgin because they certainly won't bother to look after you!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dincaster
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I moved from talk talk because it's was unreliable but Virgin is even worse. I work from home so rely on good broadband. Tonight I'm trying to watch Netflix and it's no go, again !!! It's advertised as the best broadband - in your dreams Richard!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I am based in Guildford, Surrey and have been with Virgin Media for more than 8 years. Was happy with them for first 4 years, now increasingly dissatisfied with increasingly frequently downtimes, price hikes, with limited performance increases (despite promises after promises of 50MB speed upgrades).

    I have not switched, but am on the verge of finding viable alternatives.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Broadband is constantly being slowed down and Wifi is awful. The customer service is also appauling.

    Would not recommend to anyone who is sane.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Like many reviews on here that I have just read I am a fan of the speed but that is irrelevant if it keeps going down for hours at a time. I am almost convinced it is a ploy of VM to save their bandwidth for other activities or people paying a higher rate than I do.

    Until 4 weeks ago my scoring would have been 5 for satisfaction and I have been with VM for years so was very happy. Customers Service was always excellent and they were apologetic when things did not work properly and they always got you up and running again and usually spoke the queens English but now I seem to always get someone from overseas dealing with my issues or someone who is quite rude (and I hope they have recorded those calls and dealt with the individuals properly!) and I am fed up with them telling me again to switch off, or unplug the black lead or in one case the white and black leads from the router. I am also fed up with calling the 0845 number and them saying they want to run some checks and immediately telling me that they cannot run them - WHAT IS THE P{POINT OF THAT.

    Recently, the last 4 weeks, I have had to endure daily outages for up to 6 hours and after the on the phone "Tests" they run they book an engineer and then in a few hours time I get a text telling me they have found the problem and that the engineer has been cancelled and I get service again. EVERY DAY?????

    I am, like man here, fed up with the lies, the problems and the fobbing off that I must find a reliable alternative.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hartlepool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We've been a customer of Virgin Media for well about 8 years after NTL went bust... And what a hair ripping 8 years it has been. Before I start, I'm going to say that this review will be based more on the morals and attitudes of Virgin, rather than their broadband service.

    Firstly, all they care about is your money as a customer, rather than you as an individual. This is my biggest gripe with Virgin. Currently, we're paying £48.99 a month for 20 Megabit broadband and anytime phone. Absurd. The reason that we're still paying it is because no other ISP could before this time offer us faster broadband speeds, and we couldn't afford any slower Internet. So, we asked them how much it would cost to upgrade to 60Mb fibre; they said £20 EXTRA a month... So that's £68.99 a month they want for 60Mb fibre and anytime phone. Yet, a new customer can get all that PLUS TV for £20 a month less.

    If you're a new customer to Virgin or thinking of moving, you'll have a great first year or for however long your contract is. But as soon as you're no longer new, they're gonna kick you in the wallet and with the service they provide.

    The reliability of our Internet is insane, I would say we probably have about 60% uptime... Constantly resetting modems and routers as we're still using the NTL modem and a Netgear router, as they wanted even more money to replace them with Virgin's modem/router.

    Their morals are based around getting as much money out of you as possible, with providing as little service as they can. Ever wondered why Virgin is one of the most profitable companies in the world, and why Mr. Branson has his own island? Well now you know, it all comes from your wallet.

    Can say with huge relief that not two days ago BT posted a letter through our door saying they can finally offer us Infinity. Was on the phone immediately and made the switch.

    Don't expect to stick with Virgin for very long, the second your contract is over they'll have new offers for new customers and all current or old customers will be thrown to the back of the priority list.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    keeps dropping, customer service poor, phone contact is 0800 number which on a mobile costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bovingdon, Herts
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Been with them since NTL days, but starting to seriously think about leaving them.

    My broadband has been down several times in last few weeks and twice down for 2 days at a time. I've just noticed on my last bill that they have credited me with a whole £2.22 as a 'goodwill gesture' for loss of service. Sorry Virgin Media, but you can stuff that offer where the sun don't shine! What an insult for having to put up with your lack of service.

    Something else you should know. They have no idea when their service has gone down. The only way they can monitor this, is if enough people in your local area ring them to complain about loss of service. Call centre is in India (or similar) and they are dire. If you are one of the first to ring in, when the local service has gone down again, they treat it as if it's just you who has a problem and normally try and convince you that it's your computer that's at fault. Sadly for them, I know a bit about computers and the like, so they soon get told it's their bloody lack of service again.

    Look on their website about how to make a complaint. Directs you to ring 150 from Virgin phone and there is no option there to complain. Found a number on Resolver website for Customer Services. Rung them and said I wanted to speak to somebody about a complaint. The girl said I needed to ask for a manager in the area for the reason for complaint and before I could say anything else, just redirected the call back into the 150 system. Clearly Customer Service don't have a clue what that title means!

    AVOID!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    thurrock
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    They SUCK.ABSOLUTLEY TERRIBLE these people have no regard for their customers wish i'd gone with another provider.I'm tied to a 100mb package and the download speed is nowhere near that.Customer service is useless , they just try to fob you off.PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE STAY AWAY.Do yourselves a favour go with another provider.Oh and did i mention they SUCK.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Halesowen
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Most expensive broadband out there - how do they justify it ... it's totally unreliable and it doesn't go down for 20 minutes whilst they jump on it, it's down for 12 or 24 hours at a time ..... I don't suppose they have to justify it, well it's about time they did like some kind of watchdog that would fine them for service disruption and pay compensation to the victims!!! It's a fraud so where are the police??
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's great! When it works...
    So, for the last few Months, we have no TV, internet, or even phone for at least 2-3 days every single Month.

    Then yesterday (Monday) morning everything dies again, and the service status says that TV and internet will be working by...wait for it... Friday afternoon! This isn't just us, it's the entire area!
    In addition, it says the phone will not be working for another 7 days!

    Avoid this company like the plague, use anyone else...anyone!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newtownabby
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband been playing up got it fixed last week slow this week again.ran speed test 2.02mbps instead of up to 50m rang to get it sorted.did u run a test yes on phone u need a laptop or computer. Don't have computer or laptop test works fine on phone. You have to get a laptop or computer to do the test,so it's my job to test there broadband speed just cancelled after 15 year with virgin it's a joke
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnborough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved from 30MB (which was stable) to new 50MB which is now very unstable. Lots of Marketing hype, but very poor service delivery. This is not a technical issue but a Contention issue! Not enough bandwidth for each customer. Don't blame the Virgin brand...blame the new owners LIBERTY GLOBAL (USA)....complain to them as they hide in the shadow of the Virgin brand. IMHO - They are squeezing out profit from their new Virgin acquisition at the expense of the customers, hence why they now have an awful service!! Feel sorry for the operational personnel as they are not empowered to help customers and with limited technical availability to assist them...must be awful for them too. It won't get better until customers complain to Liberty Global directly and show disdain for their service delivery. Moan at their company not Virgin, which is just a brand name
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Shiplyey, West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Dreadful, absolutely atrocious.
    A simple task of cancelling my account (I am moving house) has resulted i over 10 calls; numerous emails; incorrect bills, overpayment. It goes on. Dont tough Virgin Media with a bargepole. Still not resolved either.
    A
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Really unreliable service, aggressive throttling during peak times makes Netflix/NowTV/on demand/iTunes practically useless. So flakey.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swansea
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    When it actually works the service is reasonably ok usually get around 5-10mbs of the 100mbs we pay for. But the problem is the service is constantly down and when it does go down customer service is less than useless and the fact you have to pay a premium rate for the call to the have your time wasted makes it all that mich better.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Egham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No broadband for 4- 5 months and failed to deliver what they promised.

    I've had a horrible time with Virgin intermittent service due to work in my area (for 5 months) also having to wait for an engineer all day and to find that my issue had been cancelled (I took a day off and they didn't inform me. The support were useless blaming the council and that they work very fast and to hold in there (4-5. Months is not fast) finally they promised not to charge me over this period and they did, I didn't bother trying to get a refund as every Time I was promised something it didn't happen, so it was easier to just let them keep the money and go to bt.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The customer service is the worst service I have received in all my life. They didn't install the broadband for more than three weeks and after maybe ten calls they didn't risolve the problem. Only one word: this service is a shit!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sydenham, London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Took 3 weeks to schedule fiber installation. Installation was between 8am and 1pm on a Saturday. No engineer showed up and received no notification to let me know. Called Virgin and they said the fiber line is damaged and they're leasing with the council. A bit of notice would have been nice so i didn't have to waste my morning! Rubbish service. I'll stick with SKY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Enfield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Big mistake to go with virgin
    Have a really really rude customer service
    My virgin box broken down for a week now , and they can't find someone to came and fixed they are sooooo busy
    So all my family sitting and watching a black screen and even they don't care
    And one of the Costmer services he said to me ( We are happy with our slow service)
    I never ever advice any body to go with them in just 5 months loads of problems and they don't want to cancel our contact , only after 3 problems , we had 8 problems but they said no those are not a complications that we cancel the contact ( A WEEk WITHOUT TeLViSIOn NOT A PROBLEm FOR VIRGIN )
    Was with sky for years , even with problems but really polite peoples
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Midlands
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had an old virgin package and it was very bad - "surprisingly" - and my dad decided to buy a new one. The seconed best one that they offer. For the first couple of days it was brilliant. All the family could use it and now, even though they promise us a good connection. Its absolutely terrible. Even when i am the only person in the house, it still lags out when one person is using one device! And nothing else is even connected! Its got to the point where i am thinkung of getting rid of my xbox because i am unable to play online at all. Virgin say they care about their customers when really all they care about is money. I wouldnt reccomend virgin to anyone ever.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    hants
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    No concept of customer service - the customer is always wrong, even when a problem is caused by one of their own technicians. They seem more interested in getting new customers hooked in than helping existing customers have what they are paying for. Impossible to get through to a real person, so have to wait in for a technician to arrive.... or not!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincoln
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Quality of broadband service is fine in my area and I've had few issues with continuity of service.

    The customer service however is appalling. The log in process, security questions and the like are abysmally co-ordinated. After three years, they still haven't managed to remove my ex-partners details from the account and account security data, despite repeated requests. It is also virtually impossible to communicate with a human being to resolve any issues.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    northampton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    like many other people, when you ring up a major company you expect to be waiting on hold for a million hours only to become irate at the customer service attendant on the other end of the line. but to my surprise this experience was a good one. i was ringing virgin media on behalf of my dad as he was paying ridiculous amounts of money for the most bog standard package and had been doing so since 2007!! i was jubious when customer service said they would see what they could do and ring me back, i expected to be waiting for hours but within 5 minutes i received the call. i was greeted by the friendliest lady (cant remember her name....sam or maybe sarah) and my package was upgraded with the cost lowered and the whole thing was done in about 20 minutes. i couldn't of faulted them. great team and a great service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I work from home and need to rely on a constant connection to the internet. Surprisingly in 2015, Virgin Media are not capable of supplying it. It can regularly go down for several hours straight, meaning I'm not able to work. The website always states that there are no issues in the area, usually a customer service rep confirms otherwise, but isn't able to do anything to fix it. I'm sure there are companies out there who provide a broadband service worthy of the name and I intend to find one asap.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had a fault with our broadband that took 4 MONTHS for them to finally send a technician round a resolve. Only given a £46 refund having paid just under £200 for that time period. Terrible service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    londin
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worst, worst company.
    After I've moved in to my new flat
    I said to go with them because the said they have the best speed in my aria.
    I've booked an appointment in 2 weeks and one day before my appointment the engineer called me and said they have some problems on my street and I have to book another appointment in 2 weeks.
    After another 2 weeks they canceled the appointment.
    4 week waiting for nothing.
    Stay away from this company is my advice.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East sussex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I'm a Virgin Media Business customer who until very recently has had not problems. An overhead line was brought down 11 days ago, and I'm still waiting for a date to get it repaired. VMB deny reponsibility as the rent the line from BT, who undertake the repairs. As a small business it is crippling to be without phone and internet, which seemed totally beyond the understanding of their customer services. "The faults team sent you an email this morning", not only a lie, but what's the point if the line is down!! Very disappointed....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Linlithgow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Not reliable if you work from home and when it goes down, it's down for hours at a time - not great if you want to work from home. It is so bad now in terms of reliability that I am looking for alternatives as the speed is irrelevant if you aren't actually connected to the internet due to continual fault disruptions.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    WORST BROADBAND AND CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. WE HAD NO INTERNET FOR 7 DAYS!!! 7 DAYS!!! The stupid customer services cannot fill in forms correctly and do not advise correctly and because of this my whole family have had to suffer. My dad deals with FOREX so every hour is crucial. He has lost thousands of pounds because of the lack of internet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It seems as if they've lost my payment & they're asking me to pay for the bill again. I've sent a copy to 3 email addresses they've given me & I've had no phone for the last 5 days & may not be connected tomorrow. They can't be bothered to look for the payment, it's just easier for them to collect it from their customer for the second time. I'll tell you what's really unfair, when they disconnect you & you haven't even been sent a bill. This has happened to us 3 times. And this is really scary when you have elderly parents, that need to speak to a doctor. They say that you can call emergency numbers, but actually you can't call your doctor in an emergency. They've sent us reminder bills instead of the actual bill & within the first week. This I think has happened about 4 times. When we had internet, my speeds were soo slow. Extremely slow. I was hacked in to. I could not get rid of whoever was on the line & then I signed up with one of their services in order to have their specialists clean up my computer over the internet. And within five minutes of their help, my passwords were hacked easily & quickly. They are a money making machine. They have no respect even for the longest standing customers like myself. I've paid for a bill that they haven't received, I sent the receipt & they still can't be bothered to even make the effort to find it or even connect the telephone for me. And even if there is one or two people that you know may help turn back on the services for you, they make no effort at all or every possible excuse not to put you through to the correct person. Their customer services will only stress you out. BIG TIME! I really wish someone would close them down. They are beyond disgusting! For as long as I've been with them, they have never ever offered me something that may benefit me. The only time I was offered something was when I wanted to leave them. I've even told them this & I've given the opportunity to offer me something, but they'won't. Every one that joins Virgin now, seems to pay twice or even three times less than I do. And the way I feel I've been treated has been really bloody unfair. If you are planning to ever join Virgin, do yourselves the biggest favour. DON@T!!! You'll thank your lucky stars someday.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    kent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Like many I have been with VM for over 12 years and until recently I've had little cause to complain. The prices aren't especially cheap, being an existing customer and signing up for the fastest broadband. Even from day one of the upgrade there were problems and that should have alerted me that VM is not as reliable as they once were. To their credit they did compensate me for the issues I had, but had I know that these issues were to continue I would have signed up with another provider. The broadband is fast when you can get it, but often you don't get that speed. Worst still the network seems to be down quite often recently. In the last week it has been down twice in my area, including today from 1pm -9pm in the evening anticipated.Customer service was useless, essentially saying 'tough' in not so many words. They claim because it's 8hrs turn around to fix the problem it is acceptable, despite the fact it's been going on several times in a short time. ALso, I would advise people to call in to let them know when the broadband is down, as it is only logged on record when you call them. Otherwise they can't see that you have had a unreliable service. I was left quite angry by response I got, to the point where I'm thinking of paying the penalty just to terminate the contract. They are like the Tesco of broadband and they will learn the same way when people 'shop'elsewhere'.
    Oh and the only reason I'm able to post this review today is by using my phone as a 'hotspot' to access the internet. Avoid
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    It is great when it works. But if there is a fault Virgin Media is not helpful at all! You will be trying to get to the customers service in hours and they will be fixing their faults for weeks and months.
    Here is what they posts to customers: "Virgin Media are unable to offer a fault free service".
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    My internet is terrible. I live in a medium-sized house where the modem is at the front and I'm at the back, and I go through about 6 or 7 hours a day where my internet is so slow it's basically non-existent. When I called Virgin to tell them this, they said there was no obligation in their contract to provide *good* internet, only to provide basic coverage. Nothing I said could make them get their asses here and sort out our net. Bloody cheek!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norwich
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've been a Virgin customer as a student for almost three years now. The first two years in my first student house the internet was generally ok, although you often had to wait for it to buffer a bit when streaming downstairs. I presume this was due to being generally further away from the router which was upstairs. However 4 of us could stream at once.

    However it was at my new house that the real problems started. First a few weeks in and Virgin cut us off without warning. Then a week after getting the internet back (in January 2015) it suddenly became unreliable- I get disconnected quite frequently now meaning trying to watch a programme or look things up can be impossible at times. I've tried phoning and Virgin said they had fixed the problem but clearly haven't because its still happening. That said when it works up here it is pretty quick.
    The internet downstairs, despite being nearer the router, is shockingly slow at all times so you can forget streaming there.

    Funny thing is my Dad switched to Virgin recently and I don't have any problems at his.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    surrey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I thought Talk talk was rubbish so decided to transfer to Virgin a month ago. Well well, believe it or not, Talk Talk service is 5 star compared to Virgin Media. No contract has been sent despite numerous promises, the package price keeps changing all the time, I think I have no other choice than to cancel my inexistant "contract" before they come to do the installation and get stuck with a company full of useless people. Very disapointing...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    All seemed fine until speed increased fom 50Mbs to 100Mbs. Now, everyday from approx 6PM speed drops from 90Mbs to 2-10Mbs. customer service just tells lies to keep you on books as long as possible.This service is not worth having if it dosen't work at the times you need it.WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY...AVOID..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin broadband used to be good before they completely oversubscribed there service. There has been ongoing issues with Virgin in Bristol for years and it is still ongoing. Speeds are less than 1 mb/s when have paid for 30 mb/s. They have said it will be fixed by Oct 2014. It is now May 2015 and they are still saying it will be fixed and give out random dates only for it to be pushed forward when the stated fix date arrives.

    If you want reliable broadband got elsewhere as Virgin have become a joke.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.