Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 2682 customer ratings since 2021-08-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,224 Customer Reviews over 106 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Paignton Devon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Broadband speed shocking even though I paid extra for the 200 package, TV system slow and barely any channel's. And worst of all, the leaving charge, they don't cover where in moving to, but have the cheek to charge me £240 to cancel with them, daylight robbery. They are unable to provide me with the service in paying for, they should cancel free of charge, but won't cause they don't care about their custoners. Would strongly avoid these theives
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crawley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely appaling!If you want to be kept on the the phone for a week that is your deal,but do not accept any improvement as people who work for them use automated service and all the employess use lines provided by the company.I had no service in the past and recent incident made me cancel the no providing service anyway.a week without internet and ingineer booked with no apperance..when you contact them it is like talking to a wall!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Shields
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Slowish Speed but good overhaul backup and Virgin keep asking if Im happy with the service but I think I could do better...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I am disappointed to say I hate the virgin media broadband service. For 2 years I've had to change my router 4 times. The reason being that the wifi is awfully slow and undoubtable poor, sometimes the wifi will turn off unexpectedly and everyone at home is struggling to go on about their daily duties without it. I have bought a virgin media sim card, which was a huge mistake as I am force to pay huge amounts of hidden fees from the company, which I have NOT signed up to do. I signed up to a contract of unlimited time and I am definitely disappointed with the customer service and broadband reliability. We have called to cancel the contract by phone and has taken over half an hour to get a responds back. Therefore I WOULD RECOMMEND you to take ANY BROADBAND EXPECT THE VIRGIN MEDIA BROADBAND OR ANY OTHER OF THEIR SERVICES.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely the worst company ever, been waiting for installation since September and whenever I call to get an update they just read out a script. Stay away from them!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Avoid at all costs. Everything has been awful from the moment we signed up. Firstly, we booked the date for them to come and set up, waited in all day, and nobody came. No reason was ever given, we were never informed, we had to call to rearrange, which of course meant waiting a couple of weeks until another opening.

    Now, 4 months into our contract, we regret every day the decision to go with Virgin. Firstly, the signal doesn't reach all the rooms, even of our very small flat, we have had to purchase 3 signal boosters for a 4 bedroom flat. Secondly, we pay for 152mbps, but you could count on one hand the number of times we have even approached this. The combination of poor wi-fi signal, and low speeds mean it's not unusual to get speeds below 5, or sometimes even 1, mbps in the bedrooms.

    Thirdly, it regularly stops working totally. It's extremely rare for a day to pass where it doesn't drop out, with drop outs lasting anywhere from 20 minutes to a couple of hours. We have to turn the router on and off again a couple of times, most days. We have had them come and replace our router for a new one, which has changed nothing.

    Fourthly, our experience with customer service has not been positive, with them showing little enthusiasm for trying to help us improve our experience.

    Fifth, they have just informed us the price is going £3/month, despite the fact we already vastly over pay for the quality of service.

    If you are considering Virgin, reconsider. When this contract is over, I will chose ANY other provider, even if it means paying the same for a 'slower' speed, as all Virgin's big promises about speed are empty.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Utter rubbish. Can't watch Netflix without the picture rebooting then freezing on 25%, a common fault judging by other people's comments. Can't watch iPlayer without it freezing. Can't watch playback without picture freezing. £70 a month for dozens of rubbish channels full of adverts and can't watch Netflix/iPlayer/playback. Totally ruined my viewing of Glastonbury weekend.
    Contract getting cancelled when it's due renewal.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    No stars from me as the service is shocking. My internet is slower than ever and when i called to try and get my problem sorted the very unhelpful lady put the phone down on me
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Tom Mockridge the Virgin Media CEO should be ashamed of himself. This company clearly has not invested enough in infrastructure to be able to substantiate its claims of super fast broadband and is in clear breach of advertising standards. The broadband took 6 weeks to install, simply awful connection, slow speeds and lots of downtime every day. To compound matters they then try to hit you for a cancellation fee, when they are clearly in breach of contract for not providing the service promised. Customer service awful - Mark Davidson, head of customer care, does not take calls or return emails, as they try to fast track you towards a debt collection agency. A shockingly bad experience.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I have allegedly the fastest and most expensive package at 350mbps but am getting abysmal speeds between 4Mbps and 45Mbps on a regular basis with regular dropouts that require switching wifi on and off every time. Engineer came but tried to say that his speed reading was over 300Mbps and was only convinced when I showed him the real speed across multiple devices. I also showed him that the speed was the same whether wired or wireless. He changed the modem but problem was not sorted. He said he will report this as it seems to be an external network error and that it will be fixed the following day. He wanted me to sign that signals were up to spec. but I made him add that the speed is still slow. I waited for this to be sorted and was in touch back and forth with the engineer for a week but nothing was sorted and he stopped replying. Complained and was booked another engineer for a time slot which they changed on the day. The engineer didn't show up, so I called and they denied they changed the appointment. They rescheduled the visit. Still engineer didn't show up. I called them and they said there was a glitch in the system and although they confirmed a time slot with me, the engineer was given a different time slot. Overpriced. Bad service. and what used to be a good speed is no longer. Do not recommend at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    There good at damaging people houses and when you go to make a complaint and claim there tell you we will have this look in to and pay for all the damaged to be fixed but tgat a lie as there never call you back there just lie and say the same everytime you call them just wait another week you will get a call when it comes to that week no call I do not trust them or go with them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    east sussex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    awful. customer services dont do anything. you have to call them up every day to give them the same information over and over again. nobody calls back and deadlines to fix the fault are always missed
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dartford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusting service they have been ripping my mum off for years! They are terrible to get hold off. STAY AWAY FROM THEM. they do not care for customers. They say they will get back to you they are liars.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    south yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    signed up with virgin media 25/03/11 paid them £49.95 for v+HDbox,7 weeks later still no installation. they gave me a installation day of 09.04.11 and then cancelled very late the night before, saying that i needed a drop down cable to my property, and to do this they needed to lift a service pit in the road, and would have to get permission from the local council to do this!ever since then, when ive contacted their customer service desk to enquire about this, they have just passed me about from pillar to post, kept me on hold for ages, and in two situtions just cut me off, after i'd spent ages getting through to them in the first place! VERY rude i thought!im now at the point where they are going to have to sort this out very quick and offer me some sort of compensation to keep my custom! :(
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Virgin media are absolutely terrible for gaming, high ping, high jitter and when trying to get hold of support you get put through to someone in Malaysia or India that goes through their "script" each time you call, effectively getting you nowhere and wasting your money on the call.

    On my second support call (which took an hour of ping and trace route testing) I was told there was a problem and it would get escalated to "the second tier" and would be called the following day to get the problem sorted.

    No call the following day and when I called them in the evening they started back at square one, trying to log into my router and change the MTU and not even acknowledging what had happened the previous day even though they had all the details sent to them in an email.

    On the third call I got through to the "technical manager" who simply went did the same thing that the very first person I called did, logged into my router and changed the MTU and upgraded the router firmware.

    Stay far away from Virgin if you want decent internet for gaming and any form of support, I have done a ton of research online on all the major UK ISPs and virgin wins by far in the complaints department.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    By far the worse UK`s communications company. They boast about the so called turbo speeds they have to offer but really never deliver.Average speed is 10-20 on a good day and drops quite often or spikes in the evening.Worst customer service I`ve ever encountered who are there just to fob you off ....that is they understand your accent in New Delhi & hardly ever make notes on their system regarding your complaint so when you call again your back to square one.
    Bet you R Branson is using BT infinity
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Witney
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible after sale service.
    Very difficult and time consuming to contact anyone when a problem occurs
    When or if you can eventually speak to someone it is suggested that you may be doing something wrong and if an engineer is needed to reslove the situation you will be charged a call out fee if not Virgin responsibility ?
    After many months of attempting to cancel my subscription both my family members and friends have now subscribed to a more impressive service elsewhere
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    i signed initally for a 18 months contract with virgin media on Feb 2014, which end on August 2015. On Feb 2015, i decided to move the house and the virgin customer service department, mentioned that they will move the virgin services to my new address and i have to stick with Virgin untill August 2015. When i tried to cancel the contract on August 2015, i was informed that they have signed a new contract untill Feb 2016, without my concern.
    i contacted the Virgin outbounds department on 06/08 and was informed that, i can end my contract with a 30 day notice, however when contacted later, they informed that i have to be with the virgin media untill Feb 2016. The customer service department is really misleading and untrained.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North shields
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    On 28th October I had appointment between 1&6 to install virgin media . This day was very hectic as we moved into property. By half 6 no engineers had arrived so phoned to be told that they were delayed and would ring me when on way . They never arrived ?????? . Following morning I rang again took 3 attempts to speak to someone and I was told they were delayed and I'd have to wait till November 19th for next available appointment . I am so annoyed and frustrated as a valued customer you would think a big company like this would have a subtle slots for the following day . This was there fault so why did they not have engineer out with in 24hrs following day ???? It's common courtesy to have a few appointments available to a customer under these circumstances . I am absolutely disgusted the way we have been treat and will b taking this further so is recommend to other customers to b very careful as we have been left with no phone internet or tv . Can't even give them 1 star for way we have been treat and we e no further on . Very very annoyed as every time I asked to speak to manager I got told nobody was available and the staff actually agreed with what I said saying about service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I had virgin at my ex's and moved at the end of Jan to my new address. I arranged to have my contract continue here and was set up on 13 Feb. I referred my ex and we were each meant to get £50 off but this never happened, but that's the very least of my worries.

    I stupidly agreed to get a phone line as this would be cheaper than not. Please note that I never use a landline and do not have a handset. When I got my first bill (March) call costs came to £160-odd. I called virgin who sent out an engineer. The engineer confirmed that the calls did not come from my house (cross line). The phone bill was cancelled and I thought all was sorted.

    In April I got another huge phone bill. Called virgin and they said they's send an engineer out. Before the engineer came out, my credit limit was exceeded (due to £180 phone bill) so I was disconnected. When I called virgin to reconnect they refused and further said they would not send an engineer out until my service was running. I was forced to pay £51 (on top of the £27 which is the actual cost of my service). The customer relations person also said that she had called the number and I answered the 'phone!!!!!!!!!!!

    The engineer came on Saturday 14 May and confirmed that there was no way I could've made the calls, he's written something about D sides and E sides at the exchange on the slip of paper he gave me.

    I called virgin back for a refund of my £50 and was promised a call back within the hour. Still waiting.

    I've just checked my credit score and virgin's put a note that I'm £90-odd in arrears on there.

    My question is, how do I sort this out? Virgin won't communicate in writing, it's all via phone calls - I've been on the phone to virgin for at least 10 hours since February. I work full time and have two young children, having to talk to virgin during the working day or in the evening is a hassle I'd rather not have, especially as I keep getting passed from pillar to post, I've been called a liar (by the person who said I answered the phone I was disputing), my credit rating's being affected by their incompetence and they say I can't cancel my contract without being charged.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible service. The Internet has been on and off all days for the last few months. I'm working remotely and have to work about 2 hours longer each day as my broadband connection is getting cut all the time. My managers at work are not happy. I missed a lot of important Zoom meetings. I will be ending the contract before the end date. I'm sure it states that the company is supposed to provide me with Internet which they're not doing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheadle hulme
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Must be the worst service I have ever had morning appointment arrived at 5 30 two change over from bt and left with tv phone not working rang them none stop but got no where cancelled and went back to bt
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sunderland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Was out of contract told them to cancel it before it ran out then proceeded to take another 50 pound out of my bank account then send me another bill for month after for 37 and saying i have to give them 30 days notice even though contract was ending and contacted customer service they say i will get 13.41 back really !!!! Its not my fault your customer service didnt cancel it had problems from day one had 3 hubs off them internet was going on and off constantly i am taking it to financial Ombudsman
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Prenton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusted with this company decided to go and install virgin at our old house we moved 3 years ago havent even got virgin never contacted them in 3 years. Knocked the poor woman up who lives there at 8am to install. She then came to my work absolutely fuming with me through no fault of our own. We will be putting in a formal complaint we are furious.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    woodgreen
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible! the worst customer service that's if you get any! misleading information! expensive! inaccurate! unprofessional! terrible! no one will answer your call or reply to your complaint.. just dont bother with this comany
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Slough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible service very rude customer service unhelpful
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield South Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    It's got to be the worst I've had. Not because of a slow broadband or problem with the service. The problem I have is how quick they are to suspend services and there is no in between with them. No warning or anything. Also adding a further £3. 45 charge this year. What on earth for?? Like they don't claw in enough already. They're greedy and as soon as I can I'm getting shot of them. Just covered one bill & anther one dropped seems like a never ending bill. Wish I'd never touched them and stayed with my previous supplier.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bolton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolute rubbish. Poor products, unreliable, terrible customer service, promise the earth and deliver nothing but very quick to take my money. Switched to virgin from BT for broadband and telephone and from sky for tv in September. Up to now never had a consistant service. TV down for 5 days, broadband no connection for 2 weeks, telephone out of order for 9 days all on seperate occasions. Promised £100 voucher never received. Cost was free for 3 months half price for 9 months and then full price, yet they have already billed us and taken more than £200 from our account. Avoid at all costs go to anybody other than virgin. Only swapped my original providers because a salesman came to the door pestering us and felt pressured to sign up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I pay for their fastest broadband and the speeds are very bad and have become considerably worse. They are much worse than those promised on cheaper packages in fact. I suspect Virgin just cannot handle the demand and hopes the majority of users do not notice that they do not get what they pay for. I am not a heavy internet user but it would be nice to have sites download faster than dial-up..........on the plus side, I find their customer service ok. It is just they cannot do anything about the demand (amounts to mis-selling and is a matter for Ofcom in my view).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    liverpool uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Hi i have just had my virgin broadband router set up by virgin but because the incoming virgin box is in the bedroom, he simply set it up there. On the opposite side of the room is the power socket so the cables are stretched between the socket in one corner and the virgin incoming box in the opposite corner with the router in between. he s tried his best to eliminate the trip hazard by stretching all cables and router to the walls of the bedroom but this means that the router is permanently behind the wardrobe or under the bed. I am not happy with this and i am trying to contact their customer care team.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bicester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Contacted Virgin media due to broadband at service fault all the time. Worse customer service from India call centre. Very rude!! She was making you feel stupid as if you don’t know you don’t how to reset the modem. She even told me that she can not provide compensation as it was just our household who had a problem with the broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    SOUTHEND-ON-SEA
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Disgusting service from the beginning. No point in raising a complaint as they'll give a reference number but no one will contact you & when chase managers will transfer you without telling you & the next person will put you hold then cut you off. So I shall be cancelling every service I have with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    by contract speed 100 but in reality 4-10mbs.and its like 1 month like that and they cant fix it.Plus service is bad and engineers are rubbish.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely awful. First of all rang to set up home internet and arrange a technician to come out. I rang the day before that was scheduled to check they were still coming and told me my order hadnt been processed correctly (no one bothered to call to tell me this) so had to do the whole process again and schedule another date (had to wait a further week) The day after the first visit was scheduled a technician arrives at my house (I was at work) and left a message saying I need to rearrange another date. I rang customer services and explained the situation and told them I did not schedule a technician to come out that day or time and gave him the order number but said unable to find my order yet a technician was sent to my house randomly. He tried to get me to do the whole process again and make me wait another week for someone to come out but I refused as twice my order had not been processed and not given the right information on the previous two occasions.
    Absolutely terrible, I will never use them again. Three different people giving me three different sets of information and cant process an order correctly
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    virgin media order placed on 1st June. then 1st issue not receiving letter from way leave team for landlord permission. after 22 days it sorted then got installation date for 12th July. 2nd issue called them to get earlier date but they comes up with they not sure they can able to install new line to my flat. Engineer has to come and check. If he can then he will do it or he will say no he can't then they can't do anything. (They checked when i placed order that i am able to get service) then i called them many times so to get answer that they can do it or not so i can go to another provider but on 3rd July they told me supervisor working on my account and i'll get call back with in 24 hour (But no call received) then i called on 5th July guy said he arrange pre-installation team visit on 7th July between 8.00 am to 1.00 pm so they can check and let me know. after that i called them on 7th July at 2.00 pm asking for no one turn up after spend sometime on call he told me he spoke to team they will there in 30min (but no one turn up). In the end I got text & email today 10th july at 12.43 pm that they wanna speak to me about my installation so I called them they said my installation is on hold due to they need some cable work and some other work near my place so they need another 5 days to work out that how long is it gonna be to do that work and when i'll able to get line in my property. so they kept lie to me since i place my order around 1 and half month. i was without internet all time. told that many times over phone to please check so i can go to another provider but they just tell lie all the time. at last i want to speak to manager but guy said manager will not do anything he was say same words as he told me to wait another 5 days. now i told them to cancel my order so let see what they doing but very terrible experience.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham uk
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I would request all of the UK citizen please do not take a contract from Virgin Media, one of the worse customer service , I ever experieced, I can give a example , I was talking to a manager he is from Philippines his name is Ian at one point of our conversation Mr Ian telling mr of saying shut up ! I was fully shocked all I ask him can you please explain me how much I paid so far ,why my bill is so high.
    So please think twice before you buy there product and please bare in your mind about the service. Thank you very much for reading.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bradford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    This provider is a total and utter joke. After telling them I wanted to change providers they offered me same package with a discount..Wrong..they are charging me £80 n more a month when we agreed on £46.65..put in complaints numerous times and told them to disconnect which they agreed but still not done and still charging me..I have copy of call when agreed on the lower charge and STILL pestering me over non payment..now in touch with offcom over the matter..anyone thinking of using this provider I would think twice..I have been with them for a long time and so frustrated and annoyed at the service received..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warfield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Changed from Sky to get 50M Fibre. Only get this on non-peak times. At peak times we only get 1Mb/s which is shocking!! Getting hold of customer services to discuss is very difficult too!! So frustrated and getting ready to leave.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Midlands
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Awful customer service. Wanted to cancel my broadband, was directed to wait "a minute" by a representative who then proceeded not to transfer me for several minutes, instead just muting on his end.

    After an hour, I had to hang up. Regular people don't have several hours to just wait on the phone. My issue, unresolved.

    They have no desire to help and certainly work as hard as possible to make cancellation a miserable experience.

    Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    I am writing this review while I sit on hold for the 36th minute with virgin media. The problem I'm facing is one caused by virgin media. Our bill is issued on the 14th with our direct debit being taken on the 4th. Theyve now suspended our services because our current bill hasn't been paid yet. I am angered by this dreadful negligence and oversight by a company that boasts to have such good relations with its customers.

    This is unacceptable and will be looking at other companies to go with. I suggest you do the same.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.