Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 1011 customer ratings since 2023-04-13 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,679 Customer Reviews over 117 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blackburn
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely shocking customer service and contract.

    You should seriously consider before signing a contract with Virgin Media since the price IS NOT fixed. Unless you're happy to pay for more than what you've contracted for, go for it.

    Also, their customer support is absolutely shocking. Cheap outsourced Indian call centre who read off a script.

    Virgin Media simply doesn't have the reputation it used to have
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stanley, Co Durham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I agreed in January to start in April but they wanted to start service in February and had an installation date of 24th Feb. So I cancelled immediately wrote to webservices, and rang customer services it was acknowldeged and so they did not turn up on the 24th Feb. I thought that was the end of it, but I was on holiday in March and webcam picked up workmen installng Virgin box to my property on the 12th March, without my knowledge or agreement atall. Infact I rang the police as I did not know it was Virgin at first. They confirmed on the phone that I had cancelled, and I wrote a formal letter of complaint as the Police stated it was trespass and 'criminal damage' to my property as they had drilled in to my brickwork. I have never redeived the Hub pack, router or anything else so no service, but today O2 rang me saying they wanted to give me a SIM to start my broadband service with Virgin and he insisted I was with them now. I told him that no permission had been given no notification at all to install equipment on my property was given to me and that I considered this to be ongoing aerial trespass and was seeking damages now. I asked him to feed that back. They are impossible to contact, leave you ages on the phone and pass you to other departments where you get cut off. Absolutely terrible I shall never recommend this company now.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would give zero stars if it was possible. Absolutely shocking!! What has happened to virgin media?? Awful awful company. Shocking service in relation to the TV and broadband but also their customer service. Rude, constantly being cut off, being talked over trying to offer new packages instead of listening to the body of the actual complaint!! Will NEVER use virgin again. Hopefully the new companies on the block currently out rolling i.e BRSK who offer 1gb download speed will give us back the choice as virgin were the only ones to be able to offer these quicker speeds.
    Avoid Virgin at all costs.....we had constant outages the online account was ridiculously difficult to try and find the link/button to log the complaint in order for them to acknowledge it even tho they email us to notify us that there is an outage or problem in the area. STAY AWAY FROM VIRGIN MEDIA it's really that simple.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Scammers. I rang to cancel 2 weeks ago (beginning of March). They've sent me a full bill for the whole month of April. They have a 30 day cancellation policy. It takes ages sorting things out on the live chat and yesterday evening didn't get any help at all. Furthermore, I was poorly when my contract ended and have been charged an extortionate amount since. AVoid avoid avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Walsall
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely awful and crooked company! Tried to charge me extra even after cancellation. 221.01!!! No help for loyal customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with Virgin for some time and everything was OK.
    In the past 2 months that has changed. The broadband speed is daily below 120kbps!
    I have complained several times. They keep suggesting it is due to my house position, wall, floors etc. However I explain the house has been here since before 1900, I am in the same room as the virgin hub and there has been no new buildings erected anywhere near me. I have explained this to their customer services several times. They won't give me a new hub and they simply insist I wait 24hrs, while they say they will fix the speed.
    Sometimes they do seem to fix it, but it goes back to under 120kbps within a few days to a week.
    They are not honouring the contract they set up with me and simply cause frustration and insult by repeating questions which suggest I have changed the location of my hub.
    Remember this is not a satellite service. This is fibre optic.
    I am within 10 feet of their hub, have visual contact with it and there are no walls or doors between my device and it.
    Also, I am only running 2 devices. My cellphone and Amazon fire!
    Abysmal
    Virgin, fix this or give me my money back.
    A totally disgusted customer.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hyde, cheshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible company!
    Poor speeds
    Intermittent service constantly dropping out
    30 day cancellation policy meaning they make you pay after you’ve cancelled!
    Terrible customer service.

    Avoid at all costs!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swansea
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Overcharged

    Recently moved home and took virgin media with me from previous home. Since then charges have been coming every month with my bill and Virgin media don't seem able to explain why.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Do not recommend using them !!!
    Can you imagine, in autumn I have signed 18-month contract with fix monthly charge and guess what - 4 month later they are increasing prices and you got no right to cancel it even you cannot afford to pay new price!
    Please run as far as possible from them as you can get much cheaper broadband and with proper contracts that got no surprises!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Solihull, United Kingdon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I wish I could have given zero starts to the customer retention policies. All deals are for new customers only. For loyal customers who have been with the company for longer years, it is nearly double the price for the same package. Ridiculous !!! Doesn't UK consumer rights not applicable for customer retention ?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Salford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Horrible customer service. If you don’t watch what you order they will add more money to your service. They pass you from person to person very horrible. Customer service would never recommend them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been a customer for 11 years (despite the unsolicited annoying quarterly calls to try and up sell me something). My contact ends in a month and the deal I want is ‘for new customers only’ with the offer to me (11 years loyalty) almost double! Time to go - what an awful company to deal with.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    How awful are you when I am unable to leave to leave your terrible and expensive service. Have tried to sort it out but have second rate service, no longer will I pay £65.by the way your customer service needs a lot to desired. As a which rep will be passing on your disinterest also your representative who immediately finished our conversation. I am afraid that this reflects on your poor customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Telford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Attrocius customer service! Terrible Internet for the price paid. Router they send can't accept more then 10 connections, keeps disconnecting and has low range.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    VIRGIN MEDIA IS THE WORST INTERNET PROVIDER
    They lie on every single matter: external work, internal installation, billing, cancellation of the contract !
    There is no ethics in this company, they don't have any respect for their customers
    One advice; if there was an option of 0 star I would have given that AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I don't know why it's taken me so long to actually leave a review for Virgin Media considering the 2 times I've used their services, it had bwen the worst and ALL the times I have spoken to their customer service support staff, they're either rude, nonchalant or unapologetic.
    I believe it's a reflection of the actual company itself. How a big global company can have a 1 star review from 65% of their customers and only 9% of cuatomers of the rest gave 5* to the technicians alone, and still be running is beyond me.

    After my bad experience with the broadband in 2019, I thought to give them a try again after moving homes and they were practically supposed to be the fastest BB in the area, and it was more of a case of being left with no choice.
    The installation process was fine, but the BB was extremely slow or barely working in some cases, and the free sim that cane with the package did not even work at all.
    After the 1st year, I called at the beginning of October to cancel my subscription with them, and the lady I spoke to over the phone mentioned that the last bill I received will be my last bill simply because I pay in advance. She instructed to cancel the direct debit once the last payment has been made, which I did. She also mentioned any other bill after that I should not worry about as this usually comes but gets cancelled out as I had called in time to cancel the subscription.

    A bill came in November that was more than usual bill, and a lover one in December (2 months after cancellation). The last bill was sent on the 8th of December, for paent on the 28th of December 2022.
    Unbeknownst to me that Virgin had added to my record that I missed a payment in November and defaulted the december bill also, on the 12th of December 2022.
    All the while, when my credit score went down in Jan 2023, I thought it was due to using my credit card a lot over Christmas. After a year of actively trying to build my credit back to excellent from poor, and absolutely no progress was made, I decided to look deeper into what was affecting my credit, and it turns out Virgin had added to my record that I missed a payment in November and defaulted the december bill. How do you default a bill on the 12th of December, it was sent on the 8th of December for payment by the 28th of December.
    Over a year down the line, when I realised this, I gave them a call, they are telling me this bill was generated because Virgin was not able to close down my account and cancel the subscription when I requested for it, the said because they were transferring the landline number to the new provider, they were not able to cancel the subscription, which was not communicated to be in anyway, this then generated a new bill and I'm expected to pay it
    Who gets a bill from an old provider 2 months later with no explanation, no calls, no emails, no text, nothing. And, when I have called to speak to them, all they can explain is that there's nothing they can do, it was my final bill, generated because they did not cancel the subscription when they were meant to, and I am to pay a bill that was generated by them.
    There was absolutely no apologies, the phone call was disconnected multiple times, ai was on the phone for over 2hrs and there was absolutely no sokution offered for an inconvenience that they have caused that's affecting my livelihood and my children's.

    I have several friends that have encountered exactly the same thing from Virgin Media and have left their credit in a really bad state, they have faced no consequences and continue to run as a global company.
    This is atrocious, Virgin Media should not be allowed to bully normal vililians into paying they're trying to scam off them, all because they're able to mess up your name and your credit, they should not be trading as a company at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID THIS SERVICES. Specially if you need it for.work. me and my Co-workers got totally compromised for they lack of professionalism.

    I would never recommend toa friend or family member or anybody.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    England
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Why can't I put ZERO Stars
    ZERO FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
    ZERO FOR LYING ABOUT MY CONTRACT, They say no rise on phone then send you a letter ONE week later
    Philipino help line REFUSE to put you through to England, Refuse to cancel your account and then cut you off mid call. THERE IS NO ONE TO COMPLAIN TO I bet they call me when they notice I cancelled the Direct Debit
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wrexham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I was tempted by the Virgin Media offer and agreed to move to them from Sky. An installation date was agreed. One day before the agreed installation date they messaged me to say additional work was required and moved the installation date 2 weeks. This will leave me with no broadband or TV package.
    After phoning their "Customer Service team", waiting for long periods and then being passed from one department to another each with interminable waits listening to mindless music they are still unable to tell me when I will be connected. This is an absolute train smash as I work from home and they do not care. I have no mobile signal at home , so unable to use mobile data. I am doing my best to cancel.
    Absolutely avoid at all costs. The are a disgrace.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I did a contract with virgin and the price was 55£ for broadband and tv. In the contract it says that the price would go up at month 19. But a few months after the contact done, they increased the payment 16% and said that it was the crisis and increased cost of something….this ia an abuse as this is not the normal increase due to inflation…..
    I don’t care about the smalll letters in contracts saying that they can increase the prices durin the contracts. I just think that they don’t care about customers and they place this conditions in small letter on purpose to increase prices whenever they can for the most stupid reasons they can find.
    Very disappointing

    Patricia Duarte
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very poor service, loads of empty promises of help - ignorance from the team - would t recommend to anyone
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is the absolute worst.
    Nothing has ever been so slow!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. broadband speeds are a lie, they are no where near what they promise and the customer service is so awful it boarders on criminal. DO NOT USE VIRGIN BROADBAND
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I received a renewal invite to renew at same cost of £45 per month with an 18 month contract, however when reviewing the contract it appears they had drastically cut my services to get the £45 per month, very sneaky! I went onto an online chat who confirmed my renewal would in fact be £166.25 per month and after a very long conversation I was advised I was currently paying £92.32 (not true), it was then reduced to £76.75 and after more conversations via online chat and telephone calls reduced to approx £56. I have decided to cancel with Virgin Media due to these stupid conversations every time the contract is up for renewal.
    At the end I gave them their 30 day notice however I was then advised I would have to pay a termination fee but it would get refunded approx. 45 days later, there is no way I will be paying a termination fee and waiting for a refund, direct debit has been cancelled. I have no idea why my monthly fee was being increased by almost 370% (from £45 to £166.25 per month) especially during this dreadful era where people are struggling.
    I think we need to highlight the measures they are going to get more money out of loyal customers (I have been a customer for almost 30 years). New customers get treated better with much better deals. Shame on Virgin!!
    I will be very glad not to have these unnecessary conversations every year and be treated the way ALL customers should with another provider. My advice would be to stay clear of Virgin Media as they are clearly out to rip existing customer off!!
    I will be writing this review on as many review sites as I can to alert as many people as I can!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    AL5 1SS
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Crooks. Changed my package 3 days before the expiration of the paid for 30 day rolling programme period...and I still owed them £69 according to them...

    Worst company to deal with on the planet....Go with anybody else other than this bunch of profiteering crooks
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The single worst customer service and one of the most distressing moments signing up with this company. I work from home and have a disability. Now thanks to the constant lies told by virgin media staff I have no internet access for 14 days. Here is what has happened to explain my outrage:
    I signed up with Virgin on 12th December 2023 as they promised I could go from 51Mbps with my current provider to 1Gbps via the new Virgin Fiber Cables installed on my road. I was told to give my current provider 30 days’ notice of leaving by the salesperson. I agreed a price per month I was happy paying as it was only £8 per month more than I was paying with my current provider.
    The salesperson told me an engineer would be visiting on 18th December to install my router – This was cancelled the day before and pushed back to 6th January 2024.
    My 6th January engineer visit was cancelled at 9pm on 4th January. When I called customer service the department for installation queries closed at 8pm. I was emailed on 6th saying my new installation date was 16th January. I rang my current provider who thankfully gave me an extension until 17th.
    The 16th January engineer visit was cancelled on 14th at 10.30pm saying it had been pushed back until 30th January. Again, I had to ring my current provider who said they would only extend this one more time until 31st January as they have ended my contract. If I wanted to stay with them longer, I would need to sign a 1-year contract.
    An engineer finally arrived at my property on 30th January but could not install my router as the wrong cables had been installed at my property by virgins’ engineers. This was at 10.37am on 30th. The engineer left saying there was nothing he could do, and I had to call customer service. I called customer service at 11.06am, I was on hold for 82 minutes and then that person said they could not help me. I then got put through to 2 other people, the last one told me (at 2.16pm) that my installation date would be now 1st March 2024. When I said I was losing my internet access they said its not Virgins problem and I needed to call my current provider. I called my current provider who said it was too late to cancel, Openreach had already closed the line and that I would lose internet access at midnight. I rang back Virgin at 4.48pm, I was on hold with this call until 8.11pm. I explained the situation and that I work from home and got told that its my fault for cancelling my existing provider. I was on hold with this call until 8.11pm.
    It is now the 31st January and I have no internet which I use for home working. Openreach cannot reactivate my address for 14 days and Virgin will not be installing my property until 1st March (or so they say.)
    This is the worst customer service experience of my life, caused me a lot of stress and I will lose money from not being able to work from home. As a disabled person I can only work from home and have never felt so isolated or useless. The situation Virgin have put me in is disgusting.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    hampshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I set up a broadband contract with your company in late 2022. The original set-up was problem-free, and we were fully up and running in our old flat on day one. Unfortunately, due to the current renting market and cost of living, our landlord chose to sell their property, meaning we needed to find a new home mid-way through our contract.

    I had no issues maintaining the Virgin Media contract and transferring it to our new property if possible. So I phoned your team well in advance, 4th October, a month before our moving date, 4th November, to ensure this would be ok, and I was advised that it would be possible. Also, Your team could install it on our move date. I was delighted with this and gained my new landlord’s permission to have the installation.

    The problems started three days before our moving date when I received an email informing me that the set-up would be delayed because it required permission from the two adjacent homeowners. This late notice did not give me enough time, and I needed to interact with neighbours myself when I was not even living at this property. This delay was unsuitable as I work from home, edit videos, and upload large files; my partner is a game developer. However, we were willing to try to connect with Virgin Media for the sake of high speeds, and I thought this might only leave us a few days without internet, so I worked on the permissions.
    Unfortunately, the couple at number 7 were away on holiday and number 6 was an elderly lady living alone. It was challenging to ask for permission as any cautious person would be weary of a stranger knocking on their door in the evening, asking for personal contact information to get Wi-Fi with nothing more than an email from Virgin Media to validate the request. Why could your team not write to the owner of each property officially, allowing me to advise them to expect a letter, and could they help me. I think this would be a better process, especially for customers who are just moving in and unaware of neighbours, so it may be an improvement point for you to consider.

    In the meantime, our existing service was stopped on November 2nd at 11:59 pm, a day early. Again, I was willing to overlook it as I thought it wouldn't take long to get a connection again.

    Eventually, we gained permission, and I provided it to residentialwayleave@virginmedia.co.uk, who 1st emailed me requesting the details. They took three days to reply, confirm receipt, and longer to take action. Eventually, both neighbours received emails with permission forms and instructions to print, sign, and scan back in before sending it back. Again, your process of using only email electronic interactions meant that this was a problem, as neither of them had access to a printer or a scanner. So I had to ask me to arrange to print the forms, which I had to go to my parent's home, at my cost, as I also didn't have access.

    I got the forms completed, but both neighbours wrote conditions on the form to make sure they got restoration of their property to their satisfaction. I then called customer service to speed up response and was advised there’s no direct way to speak to the “residential wayleave” department. You can only reach them via email, which wasn’t a fast response time again, and as I continued down this timeline, responses only got slower.

    At this point, customer service finally offered a pocket Wi-Fi, which was irritating since no other time I phoned before was this given this option, and I advised I worked from home. I accepted this offer and received a pocket Wi-Fi with 250GB capacity until December 14th. I had already been without Wi-Fi for 10 days (I had to increase my mobile contract to cope with its use at my own expense).
    The email response from the "residential wayleave" department. It took five days this time, and only to advise of a new problem, in that they couldn’t accept the forms, as they had been written on, not just a date and a signature. I didn’t see how this was an issue since their additional comments were making clear their expectations, and no one had advised how to share any expectations of the neighbours. The form still permitted with their signature. So, I had to repeat the process, inform my neighbours, and return to my parents to print off new forms. I got these back, but it took five days for any response, with no way to speed up the process as the team is uncontactable.

    We were now three weeks without Wi-Fi, and the pocket Wi-Fi couldn’t support a working household with a 250GB data limit, so we had to constantly limit our Wi-Fi usage to stretch it out and make it last.
    I was told that the earliest your team could install was December 14th, six full weeks after we moved in! You seem to get put to the back of the queue whenever you need to answer a question or issue raised by the uncontactable "residential wayleave" department. I asked to escalate this and spoke to someone on the pre-installation team. They said there was nothing they could do to bring it forward due to external work and then credited £75 to my account to compensate for the delay, as it was the best they could do.

    I asked if I could speak to someone to help your company improve this process for future customers and was told I could raise a complaint. However, based on their experience, nothing changes as these processes have remained inefficient and have been this way for a while. Hence, I decided to write a review due to this lack of customer acknowledgement which does not align with the customer-first organisation policies.

    I then waited patiently for the 14th and took the continuing financial impact as I had to travel to cafes or family members' homes. I use my phone data to do my work. Unbelievably, I received an email on December 11th, just three days before installation again, saying it was delayed. This was followed by a phone call from the company to tell me that the install date will now be the 30th of December. This would make it 8 WEEKS after my initial set-up date.
    I had no confidence that the new date would be met! So I demanded to be released from my contract with no penalties and compensation, as the failure to deliver an acceptable service in an acceptable timeframe has long passed.

    They released me from my contract with no exit fees and when I asked for the £75 credit on the account to be sent to me to help cover the cost I had taken waiting for them to provide a service, I was told they could not do this. I proceeded to ask why this was and they said that they had cancelled the account and therefore it should be sent to me automatically. I never received this!

    I am appalled at the process and treatment of this affair and the lack of urgency to complete my move process and keep my business. I have been left out of pocket during a cost of living crisis and the company Virgin Media show no remorse or customer care for causing me stress and an unnecessary financial burden.

    Their website states "customer first company." But this is a lie!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I feel obligated to advise potential customers about my disappointing experience with Virgin Media since locking into a 24-month contract at a rate of £42 per month. My intention is to highlight the reality of their service, which has been far from the high-speed, reliable internet I was led to expect.

    The service has been atrocious from the start, with frequent disruptions and sluggish speeds that undermine the very essence of what I've been paying for. As a customer, you'd anticipate a certain level of quality and support for £42 a month, but I have been met with the complete opposite. My experience with customer service has been incredibly disheartening: long wait times, unresponsive support, and a general feeling of being an afterthought rather than a valued customer.

    The situation further soured when I learned that having a technician come out to address the many issues would incur an additional £25 service fee. It's pretty outrageous that customers are not only expected to put up with subpar service but are also asked to pay more to have problems, not of their making, fixed.

    Moreover, Virgin Media seems to have constructed an escape-proof trap with their hefty £600 early termination fee. This fee hangs over your head like a dark cloud, deterring you from leaving the service regardless of how bad it gets. You're left with two undesirable choices: endure the dismal service or pay a significant sum to break free from the contract.

    I'm sharing my experience to warn others considering Virgin Media as their service provider. Do not be swayed by the glossy advertisements and the allure of fast internet speeds without first considering the possibility of being bound to a contract that neither provides the promised service nor values you as a customer.

    I urge anyone to carefully weigh their options before committing to Virgin Media. The monthly fee of £42, coupled with potential additional charges for service visits, is not justified by the level of service provided. My advice is to seek out alternatives where your business is appreciated, and your money is met with the high-quality service it should command. Avoid the trap I fell into; there are certainly better, more customer-centric providers out there.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    exeter
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    VIRGIN MEDIA IS THE WORST INTERNET PROVIDER
    They lie on every single matter: external work, internal installation, billing, cancellation of the contract !
    There is no ethics in this company, they don't have any respect for their customers
    One advice; AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Shrewsbury
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had a terrible experience with VM.
    I recently moved to a new house. I opted for their service and I got very disappointed. I couldn’t reach out to their customer service and I send the cancellation form and kit to the address on the econtract I had with them(which was sent to my mail). I am being forced to pay for the service that I never used. Also I was told their kit was not received on the same address that was given to me. I would not recommend them to anyone. Their services are wack, human resource department and customer service is really terrible. I was told I would be reported for debt and they spoil my credit score. I would be forced to pay for it. I didn’t use the service at all. The kits wasn’t even opened before I rang for cancellation. Some of their customer service representatives have very poor human relation and terrible speaking and understanding skills. Please, I will encourage anyone to go for better broadband service who will put your priority first and ensure you have the value for your money.
    If there is zero rating that is what I would’ve given for the terrible experience I have/am having with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not trust the sales pitch

    Avoid this company at all cost .Do not angree to anything until you have check what you are agreeing to .

    Everything about this company is very deceptive and They will lie and mislead you and hit you with hidden charges and double bill you when you upgrade . I specifically asked if I would be double billed or if there was any hidden cost numerous times I couldn’t be any clearer and told no and the amount I will be billed . I got sent a message to confirm the agreement also very deceptive and misleading with the layout ,

    Tried to bill me double what was agreed I had already explained I couldn’t afford any hidden charges or a double over the phone .they couldn’t care less .This would have left me in finances hardship next month .

    I’m sure I’m not the only one who they have mislead
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rotherham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking!!! I was with sky and had 2 men knocking on my door to move to virgin so i looked to move over to them as they were offering higher speed, one day 2 random men turned up at my house taking pictures of my house then started drilling into my house, the men then used my bin to put all there cans of pop in, food, ropes and equipment, i had an appiopment booked for 27th of december come home early from my parents house for the appiopment for nobody to turn up, i ring up to see where they are, my 'appiopment' was never booked even they ive got emails and in my contract it says there are coming on the 27th, while on the phone i tried to cancel they just wouldnt let me cancel kept passing me to different people/departments, finally i managed to get through to someone who cancelled my services, they sent me a bill on £30 for my broadband, even thought nothing was up and running, i had no wifi hub but on their end it was all working, ive put nothing but compalints in and nobody has got back to me, finally spoke to a manager last week and all i got from him was 'we have cancelled your services what more do you want?' Customer services is shocking and rude, i will never ever think about moving to virgin!!! They keep asking me to return the equipment but there isnt no equipment to return!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uxbridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After 15 years with this company. I will be looking to move away asap. It’s now the worse company for broadband and customer services. No broadband, telephone or tv for a week now due to fault. Engineers telling lies and rescheduling appointments whenever they want. Do yourself a favour and avoid this terrible company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    OXFORD
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Very bad, harassment when leaving.

    I have been paying overpriced internet since the end of my contract in may 2023 : 51£ a month !!! so of course, when moving out of my flat, I want to cancel !
    I felt harassed when asking to cancel my contract. They made it impossible.
    Instead, the team created a new contract WITHOUT my permission, which, I am sure, is illegal, while I was asking for cancellation of my internet from the beginning.
    Also no help and no commercial gesture when I want to leave on the 24th of january (end of my last bill and date where I will be moving out) ! Instead they asked me to pay a cancellation fee which was 30 pounds (I was not under a contract anymore, it's that you need a 30 days notice!!! I guess, anything is good to force people not to leave, I didn't know I was signing a pact with the devil!).
    Basically, virgin media are thieves, stealing money and time from people ! Indeed, it took me an afternoon and 4h the next morning to cancel my internet and the new contract they created without my authorisation.
    ALSO internet is mediocre ! I had a 250mb speed contract in a 35m2 flat, router in the bedroom, I could have good signal in the bedroom only !!!! Ridiculous !
    DO NOT go there, I wish I could have put no star at all, but not a possibility.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We were offered a £75 voucher when we signed up for Broadband with Virgin Media on 12th June 2023 and as of today (9th Jan 2024) and more than a dozen emails of complaint later, we are still awaiting our voucher.
    After first contacting their customer service team to confirm that their 120 day deadline had passed for receipt of the voucher, we were told that our case would be looked into.
    Since then, we have been passed to their Resolutions Team, who spout all the right words about us being "a valued customer" etc., but don't actually do anything. The upshot of this is, that I am now supposed to contact a third party who supply the vouchers on behalf of Virgin M and they have so far provided two different company email addresses to contact! I have emailed both of these companies twice and have heard nothing from either of them. I am sick to the back teeth of Virgin Media, they have been an absolute nightmare to deal with, not only with our complaint about the voucher but also with the whole Broadband installation. Once they had our money and we'd signed the contract everything just fell apart. They're so "good" (not) that they didn't even connect the cables to our house properly!! From the junction box in the pavement outside our house, they just laid the cable across the surface of the pavement and then buried it 1" below the surface of the soil in our front garden. Anyone passing our house could easily have cut the cable, as about 18" of it was laid across the top of the tarmac!! ABYSMAL company and even worse customer service. I don't think I've ever dealt with as poor a company in my life. Had I been able to give them MINUS 5 stars instead of plus 1 star I would have. Stay away from them if you have any sense!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    So when an experianced technically minded person approaches Virgin's Forum Team using the same user account they've used for many years helping other customers diagnose and fix faults you don't quite expect to be told that the troublshooting and investigation work into your own service problem is trash!

    I found a recent upgrade to the Hub 5 after using a Hub 3/4 at same property for 5-11 years, was a the problem causing streaming and connection drop outs (5000 in a month Virgin Media recorded) but the response from a Forum Team member with 6 years tenure says "The hub 5 is more than fit for purpose. I've had one for many months and no issues"

    So 4 weeks later, issues not resolved, 3 engineers, 1 network team manager visit later and nothing is fixed and we still know what I said in the first place, apart from now I've even investigated deeper and isolated the issue.

    Still though I'm told that Hub 5 is not at fault, so the Hub 3 connected right this second working fine must be magic.

    No replacements orHub 4 offered to test, just wasted time, appointment changes and now that same long tenured Forum Team member has said,

    "The only offer now of a complaint resolution would be a 7 day disconnection notice, not hold you to EDF's but I will be asking our Housefiles team to mark your property as a non-serviceable address as there's no issues with the Hub 5."

    Silly Me :(
  • Reviewer
    Location
    tyne wera
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Shocking service virgan you are bigoted the lack of compassion is shoking you have not done nothing to resolve the issues rased you have lack of diplomcey and the totol lack of traning of your staf is shoking.Iv spent all day on the phon to you at virgan iv spok to to prox 20 peopel but still nothin you kept me on hold for one hour and two mins shoking then you cut me off now i am going to ofcom shame on virgan
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The product is acceptable however the renegotiation of service is appallingly. I experienced a brick wall when Virgin started to take out more money than I agreed. They would not refund or speak to me, failing to call be back and ignoring my repeated Emails. Its nearly impossible to cancel. My calls took 45 minutes to get through to cancellations and then the call disconnected. The has been going on for 6 months, after which I cancelled the direct debit. Because I didn't get to speak to someone, I emailed the person they told me too. Apparently this isn't acceptable. So frustrating, they are after all a communication company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Welwyn Garden City
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    First few months no problems, 190-250mbps and around 20-40mbps upload which is what i'm paying for. After a few months it went bad. 200-700 ping on fortnite, 75mbps download and 5-10mbps upload. Overall **** broadband
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dublin 10
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    6 months ago I renewed my contract with vm and they put me virgin mobile too, nothing wrong till then, what happened? My sim never arrived, I went face to face in tallaght and talked with a guy from a shop and he said the account number i have doesn t exist, so they probably made a misstake and i won t be charged, till then for like 3 weeks i wasn t charged, after they started sucking from my account 20 euro every month on SOMETHING I DON T HAVE and i didn t notice, In december they even charged twice, once on 5 december and once on 15 december, so 40 euro in a month for nothing, I called them they said they can t give me a refund because they don t know if i used the sim or not, I talked with another agency and they said as an agent you can check if an sim is used or not, after i cancelled i received ANOTHER BILL, I went to the bank and they blocked virgin media so they won t take money from my account anymore, but at the bank they told me to call virgin media for a refund, and virgin media won t do anything, i lost 140 euro on air!!! WE ARE NOT RICH, STOP STILLING FROM PEOPLE!! Not fair

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.