Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.9 stars
  • Speed
    3.1 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 8237 customer ratings since 2019-09-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3534 Customer Reviews for Virgin Media

  • Showing page 1 of 89, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Avoid at all costs

I saw a Virgin fibre broadband deal in August 2020 which I thought I would switch to from my current Sky. I then signed up for Virgin. I was given an installation date of 30th August, and was told that some external work would be done.

I told Sky about the move, so my broadband ended with them on the 30th. However, on the 26th August I got a text from Virgin saying that they can't now install my broadband as external work has not been carried out. So with just 4 days left, I had to scramble to get Sky to keep my broadband up and til the 18th Septmeber, the new installation date. I received no apology from Virgin.

On the 17th of September at 9pm, I got a text saying the Virgin Media engineer would not be coming down tomorrow as further work would be required. The installation would now take place on the 9th of October. As my Sky was being cancelled the next day, it was too short notice for them to prolong my internet.

So now I have no internet access at all. As I work from home and use Zoom nearly every day, this is a massive inconvenience. To make things worse, due to Covid-19 lockdown restrictions in my area, I cannot travel to a family members house to use their internet. I have received no apology from Virgin, so I have cancelled them. Currently I am waiting for Plusnet to install my new broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Virgin Media  
Speed when you have it is good
Price increases over time and never offer a good deal to lonstandung customers until you leave.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Hemel Hempstead Virgin Media  
Just the worst company I've ever dealt with. Before I joined I heard that their customer service was bad, but I decided it couldn't be THAT bad. It really, really is. On top of that, given I have the 'ultra-fast' fibre, it doesn't half buffer a lot when trying to do something as simple as watch iplayer. It regularly drops out too.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Cambs Virgin Media  
Broadband deal looks great on paper. 200mbps for around £35 is a great deal! If only it was 200mbps, and not 2mbps 30% of the time.
Customer service is absolutely appaling, it takes an hour to get in touch with someone, and they have absolutely no idea what to do or how to troubleshoot this. Questions such as 'have you tried moving closer to the router?' when I am connected with a Cat6 cable (which was stated multiple times before). I ended up buying my own router and using the VM one as a modem only, which made no difference to the bandwidth reliability.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Finchley Central, London Virgin Media  
Easily the worst service out of any broadband provider. I've spent SIXTEEN days on their online chat trying to renew my package and secure a discount. I've been 'transferred' about 12 times, they are all completely ******* useless. Never in my life have I had to deal with a bigger bunch of hapless morons.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
Drops many times a day . Sometimes needs router restarted. Much worse than BT Broadband. Long wait to speak to anyone
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
No stars , Waste of Time, Zero customer service and no complaint team exist, last 3-4 months keep registering complaints and no reply, Virgin Media your managers are cowards, they never call back to face issues neither your complaint team.
My complaint numbers are as below

1) COM104060965 - Registered 24/06/2020
2) COM104116908 - Registered 29/06/2020
3) COM104132727 - Registered 08/07/2020
4) COM104222314 - Registered 01/09/2020

Not a single call back, Only word i have for your service is rubbish. And your Wifi is slower than 2G. Refund my all money.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Middlesex Virgin Media  
I am very unpleased. New customers don't pay much, but the internet is very weak. Then when your contract ends, you find out you have to pay £ 90. I called a month before the end of the contract that I don't want to continue. They said okay, I even got a confirmation email. Now I look at my bank account and see that £ 94 has been taken from me. I go to my virgin account and see that the contract has been extended because I did not let them know that I do not want to continue. Now I have a problem because probably I will not get my money back. I do not recommend!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wrexham Virgin Media  
We received our virgin media package 7 days ago which included the hub 3. Once plugged in and setup the internet just never turned on. I've tried everything, restarts, manual resets, searching the forums, running diagnostics, asking Virgin for help. None of them work as Virgin seem to put money first and customers second. I have been trying to contact virgin for days now and it seems impossible to speak to an actual person that isnt a bot putting you in a continuous loop. The phones just say "we will send you a link via text message to book a technician" Ive tried close to 10 times and each time i never recieve a text. The service is just appaling, we booked a slot for our router to get delived and that even got postponed by a week and then this happens, so all in all its been 2 weeks and we have no wifi.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Nottingham Virgin Media  
Broadband speed is a con for the price they charge, but the real problem comes when you have a problem. I went round in circles for months when they disconnected me during upgrades to their system. They gave me no discount as they said sometimes it came back on in the middle of the night for 2 mins so that counts as service. Eventually I went to Sky which I really did not want to do, turns out the service is better, they put it in within a few days and now Netflix doesn't buffer anymore. So happy to finally quit Virgin after years of being a good customer.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Grimsby Virgin Media  
I was given less speed than I was offered and I paid more than I should have not for a couple of months. I complained and I was offered an apology but no a refund of the months I overpaid. I think I was scammed.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Croydon Virgin Media  
Virgin media, what can you say? The used to be a credible company when it was virgin mobile, now they are truely awful, yea the broadband isnt too bad.. but its expensive as hell. worth it? I wouldnt say so. If you have an issue, which you will... youll have to be ignored, hung up on... and just pushed round in circles. Don't bother. If you want awful customer service...dont pay a premium for it. The tv service is slow, expensive and out dated.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Virgin Media  
Took 6 weeks to install. Originally was given a date after 4 weeks but then the day before get a text saying its been moved forward 2 weeks without an explanation. Now i have nowhere to work and do my online exams.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Winchester Virgin Media  
Run Run Run away from pathetic service provider, don't look back

Needed new installation, run away from this pathetic service provider.
This company, their support staff(online, phone) are bunch of jokers, doesnt have basic sense, they dont keep your appointment and make you spend hours with and quitely disconnect.

My experience:
Ordered new installation on July 10th, were supposed to install on 4th Aug, there was no update till I contacted on 5th Aug to asking why not installed, after waiting on the phone hours, they gave 31st aug as day of installation and thought they will not miss second time and had canceled my existing contract. 4pm on the day of installation no update, I couldnt believe it was such bad service provider it is, spent hours on online chat to tell me I should contact installation team, spend 4 hours with 5 different people from morning, these bunch of ethics less jokers keep you on hold and disconnect silently after 1+ hrs.. left with no internet.. moving to new provider...

If I had option to rate negative, I would....

Look for some other provider even they don't provide same speed as Virgin, its not worth an hassle with these a**ho**s
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Surrey Virgin Media  
So much for Virgin Media supporting NHS workers cancelled with them in June now sending threatening letters to pay for a phone line I don't have anymore. Worked right through Covid now off I'll with stress. Maybe should contact Piers Morgan he supports us key workers and he might get it sorted as I can't
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Virgin Media  
Bad service over the year of the contract, broadband interrupted constantly - which obviously was annoying working as an NHS worker from home.

They are unprofessional and behave like 5-year old children - I complaint several times and the only answer to my complaints was that they called me back but could not reach me - which was NOT true as I had not received any call.

Due to MULTIPLE problems when I cancelled my services with them, I asked to speak to a manager and I was told that "they would call me back". Did not happen. I called them back several times asking to speak to that "manager", who finally called me and hung up so quickly that I could not even answer the phone!!! I called them back and am still waiting for the call of the manager... (for more than 1 month!!)

The customer service is too ridiculous!!!

As I cancelled my account they said that I had to send back my box or they would charge me 100 pounds. I explained that I was self-isolating and could not go to a collection point and I was answered:

"just drop the box, you will not have to go wait in the queue or talk to anyone there"
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
south london Virgin Media  
Getting 1.55Mbps instead of 200Mbps that I am paying for. Connection is very unreliable, constantly keeps dropping out. Also it is impossible to contact their customer support in any way...
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Leeds Virgin Media  
Worst customer service ever.
They take million years to support your problem.
Assisting agent is impolite, not supportive, and not helpful at all.
Horrible experience.
I would definitely not recommend using their service for anyone.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Glasgow Virgin Media  
It's a commodity. It should work well 7 fast 100% of the time to be adequate.
Good customer service, clear billing, easy website, etc are potential differentiators and this is their failure.
Customer service is v v bad.
After a power surge that killed the router, it took me 1hr 20mins of hanging on the line waiting to be answered before I could get through to someone who could send me a new one. Will switch as soon as my contract expires.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
S Derbys Virgin Media  
I've had my wifi since April and my sons and I can not use the wifi for our rooms my boys have been complaining since the day they installed it that they can not play their games without "lagging out" i switched from sky to virgin and i have so far regretted my decision.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester 0161 manny on d map Virgin Media  
Probably the worst company in the U.K. Their broadband is good and fast but that is where it ends. Their customer service is absolutely appalling and they don’t care. You wait for ages to get through and when you do you have a job to understand what is said and you invariably get nowhere. Their pricing is smoke and mirrors and in order to get a better price you have to negotiate or threaten to leave. They tie you in with so called discounts and bonuses and stick you with price increases every few months. If you have a feasible alternative don’t go near them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bath Virgin Media  
I am writing this review while I sit on hold for the 36th minute with virgin media. The problem I'm facing is one caused by virgin media. Our bill is issued on the 14th with our direct debit being taken on the 4th. Theyve now suspended our services because our current bill hasn't been paid yet. I am angered by this dreadful negligence and oversight by a company that boasts to have such good relations with its customers.

This is unacceptable and will be looking at other companies to go with. I suggest you do the same.
Edinburgh Virgin Media  
Actually the worst company ever. I would never EVER go with virgin again. First of all I was put on the wrong package and had to pay a lot more than what I agreed to and was stick in the contract until the end of the 12 months even though it was there fault! I have been unable to contact them through the pandemic period. They are unhelpful and absolutely useless. There website is awful you can't even access anything. Seriously avoid this company I am surprised they are still running. Will definitely be going back to sky.there internet constantly stops and starts.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bradford Virgin Media  
I have been with many ISPs over the years and Virgin have been by far the absolute worst.

All customer service is outsourced to India apart from one department, customer retention. The only time you get to speak with someone you actually understand is when they're hounding you to stay with their god-awful company.

Virgin's prices are awful and have jumped at the chance to profit off people's situations during the pandemic with ridiculous late fees and refusal to help their own customers.

Given how terrible they are you'd expect them to go out of buisness, but that's where the nail in the coffin really comes in. If you've been with Virgin for over 12 months which is the length they get you to go into a contract with them for, BT disconnect you as you're not using their services anymore, meaning if you wanted to go with ANYONE ELSE other than Virgin, you'll be paying £50-£150 to do so, which is how and why Virgin can get away with such awful service. They rely on fresh meat that don't know how bad they are to fund their scummy practices and make it expensive and difficult to leave them when you find out.

Hundreds of pounds later I'm back with Plusnet and I couldn't be happier to be away from Virgin, they are to be avoided at all costs.
  • Reliability
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
Cheshire Virgin Media  
Horrendous in every way possible!

After being kept waiting on the phone for 28 minutes and explaining the constant issues with the broadband service dropping out at least 5 times a day everyday, I was told there was an intermitten issue which was low priority. Passed to other departments where the calls were cut off multiple times. After reporting the issues to different departments daily,I was told ther were no issues reported to do with my account and called a liar.

Absolutley scandalous the way that you are spoken to on the phone, any issues you have are low priority, passed around from pillar to post and no one is willing to listen.

Customer service is none existant, constant nuisance calls on the phone line and when we finally had enough and wanted to disconnect they asked for £160 disconnection fee plus 2 months worth of bill.

Virgin Media is the worst company I have dealt with please feel free to join their service if you want service provided by clowns and extortionists. Would rate them into minus figures if possible, they are a service you really want to avoid.
  • Reliability
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
West Midlands Virgin Media  
Poor customer service, spend hours trying to get through then passed around to people who have no idea what they're talking about. Cancelled contract but still been charged, one person says phone line still active on phone for another 3 hours only for someone else to say broad band was still active, even though they phoned and offered me a better deal, before the contract was ended. Received emails to give feed back on leaving, now have to wait another 30 days...even more expense for a service I no longer use. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND VIRGIN IN ANY FORM TO ANYONE. The most unhelpful and useless company I ever used.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Leeds Virgin Media  
Compared with BT, the speed and reliability of the broadband is good, the bad things are the prices going up and up, great difficulty in getting through to anyone by any means, phone, message, all are terrible. People who eventually answer are reading from a script so cant get anywhere. They got my name wrong from the start. They keep cutting the service off since I started working remotely and calls have risen sharply. Clearly just moneygrabbing, couldnt care less about anything else.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Peterborough Virgin Media  
DO NOT PURCHASE INTERNET WITH VIRGIN!!!!!!
They are a bunch on money thieving scammers and have 0 customer service.
Got our internet in December and paid for our first month, tried to log into our online account and it says our account doesn’t exist. Second bill comes out of my direct debit so no contract sent to us, no bill, no online contract. I called and spoke to 4 different advisors over a 2 hour period they told me the same deal that we hace access to our account blah blah blah. They finally checked the email and they had put a totally different persons emails in my login which is why I wasn’t receiving anything. This had now been “fixed”, third month no email, no bill, no contract and still could not get into my account. Meanwhile the internet was appauling! It was running at less than half the speed it should have, would not reach the top floor (was promised it would) and drops out if more than 3 people are on it. Tried calling again was on the phone for an hour, was told they can’t send anyone out to test it until I verify my online account. Is this the same account that I’ve called twice about? And have tried chasing for the last 2 months?
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Stoke Newington Virgin Media  
I did call them many times regarding my slow speed issues, they asked me to reset the router and I did so but having the same problem.
they said they can't improve my speed even I am supposed to have 100mbps and now having between 2mbps to 20mbps the speed is up and down all the time. I also did request with them to send an engineer at home when convenient and fix the issue but they refused to do so saying they can not see their device fault. Then I told them I am not happy with the service and request to cancel my contract but they said I have to pay early termination charge. I am suffering from the last five months with this issue and facing mental torcher. Thank you.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dartford Virgin Media  
Absolutely bloody awful since July, they obviously have a massive problem and they do not seem to be able to do anything about it. Have been with this provider for 20 years since they were cable london then blueyonder. If I was not in a contract I would be getting out as soon as possible. Once this contract expires will be looking at alternatives, reliable alternatives. Their customer service is bloody awful, actually got dropped into a call by the indian callcenter with their english counterparts where she was telling her colleague no point explaining the problem to me as 'I wouldnt understand'. Incredible.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
I had VM fitted in April 2020. Sinçe May 2020 till todate 24th Aug 2020 I had problems with broadband. It seems that Virgin Media are falling down in their services. Also they cannot provide the engineer to come and check the issue. Kids are at home wanting to watch their favourite programs, which they cannot. We cannot work from home. I feel Virgin may be facing financial problems. I would not suggest anyone to go with VM.
Harrow Virgin Media  
I have lived in my house for 18months now and I have never had over 70mb speed and it always crashes. And I'm paying for 500mb
BRIGHTON Virgin Media  
Virgin Media are fraudsters, AVOID!

Virgin Media fraudulently signed me up to a new contract without my permission and then tried bullying me into accepting the new contract by making it virtually impossible to cancel.

They also threatened me with legal action if I didn't pay what they said I owed. I eventually managed to have the contract cancelled after hours on the phone.

This is disgusting behavior and I wouldn't recommend anyone use Virgin Media. They used to be such such a great company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester Virgin Media  
Would definately NOT recommend anyone to sign up to Virgin Internet. Internet does not work at all. Every time there is rain (and it rains a lot in London), internet is down and takes ages for the problem to be fixed, customer service is aweful and waiting times to speak to someone is on average 40 minutes. If you want reliable service or to pay for something that you can usually use AVOID Virgin Internet by all means.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
harrigay Virgin Media  
Terrible Customer Care!!
Called on July 16th and agreed a new package instead of leaving.
Received a mobile sim as part of and cancelled my contract elsewhere and ported number over. Didnt receive my new hub so called again to double check - yeah all fine should arrive soon.
Still no hub so called again - Sorry Mr Gavin we cant give you the deal we agreed!
Not only that but they put my normal bill up from £53.99 up to £89.39 with a new activation fee and package change admin fee!
Asked for a call from complaints multiple times - apparently they sent me a letter 17 days ago that never arrive and nobody has even bothered to call me.
I've called them at least 8 times to chase the situation and nobody seems to care.
I was promised a call yesterday within 2 hours - its now been almost 24hrs and no phone call.
Best part is... i know someone on the exact package they say they cant give me. I've been a loyal customer and referrer but this has ruined the brand for me.
What a nightmare, i think i would get better customer service from Sky, NowTV, BT etc... Virgin you should be ashamed. DIRECT DEBIT CANCELLED!
If you cant even bother calling your customers who are unhappy, lets see how quickly you call for your payment!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
MANCHESTER Virgin Media  
Until July of this year, Virgin Media broadband was a reliable service.

However, there was a period throughout most of July in which there were regular outages, not only for us, but also generally in the local area. We have discussed this extensively on Facebook.

When I managed to speak by telephone to someone at VM, I was told that they had identified a fault locally on 7 July which would involve intermittent (meaning there would be no financial compensation!) losses of signal until 24 July. This sounds like quite a fault if it would take 17 days to address. Apparently, others locally have spoken to VM by telephone and have received various possible explanations of the losses, indicating that the customer service people don't have a clue of what exactly is going on!

A loss of service occurred again on 3 August, then again on 16, 17, 18 August. It seems that there is now likely to be a regular series of such 'intermittent' faults.
The same thing has happened twice already today.

I have now written to VM Complaints in Sunderland three times, the first on 24 July. None of my letters have been replied to!

Not only is this a disturbingly regular loss of internet service from VM, especially when I rely on the service for external security camera recordings, telephone and Fire Stick TV reception, as well as general computer access to the internet, but their customer service is absolutely appalling.

As VM are failing to respond to my written requests for information, I may be obliged to contact OFCOM for further advice.

VM seem concerned more about boasting of their high speeds (100 Mbs here, but 50 Mbs would suit me), yet failing to supply a reliable service.

Finally, I look forward to the possibility that a different company may eventually offer a competing fibre service in this area, as I would certainly move to that company. In fact, I'm sure they would make a killing around here.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Gatley, Cheshire Virgin Media  
An absolute joke of a company. As new customers we were exploited by the companies incompetence. Our installation was pushed back by 4 weeks, 1 week after 2 weeks of waiting, then a further 3 before we cancelled. After asking numerous times about the issue, we were given the vague reply of 'technical difficulty' and it took speaking to 5 different members of staff before we got an answer. They continued to pass us onto other members of staff in the hope we would give up and not cancel. The texting service is also very unreliable and the staff are extremely unhelpful. I have 0 intentions of ever getting a service from Virgin Media now and will discourage friends and family from choosing them over literally anybody else in the future.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sheffield Virgin Media  
Absolutely abysmal experience! Do not use!

We needed to transfer account from flatmate who's leaving, we called VM and was assured same package with same cost at £26 per month can be transferred over to me, except must start another 12 months contract and pay transfer fee of £20, which we accept and invoked the transfer. When we received VM email confirming transfer complete with new account number, we logged on website to set up online account and ddm, but VM website says A/c number wrong, and requested Area reference which isn't stated anywhere!

We called, wait in queue for 25mins, answered, told new account number not coincide with my name, cannot proceed, refused to help further!

Then received email from VM with my first invoice for £52 per month, not £29! Called, waited 43mins, told it's new monthly total, previous monthly total £26 cannot be transferred, we explained that we were told same package at same price can be transferred by VM, but VM customer service will not budge.

On opening the first invoice, I found my correct 9 digit account number and area reference, so I tried to register an online account, but this time, VM's website says, an account has already been set up for my NEW account, and it was in the name of our previous flatmate, even though he was on a totally different account number! So I still cannot open on online account!

Luckily when I emailed my application to apply for transfer, I was concerned that we only had a verbal assurance from VM regarding retaining the £26 monthly bundle cost, so I had mentioned in my email that I'm applying for this transfer based on the assurance that its the same package at the same price.

We called again to try and lodge a formal complaint, waited 30mins, call automatically dropped. Called back, waited another 45mins, answered, and as soon as I stated we wanted to make a formal complaint, the call was dropped!

As advised by local council consumer services officer, we've sent in a formal written complaint, as we've given up ringing their customer service, and cannot use their website form as it requires an online account which VM's system is unable to allow me to register.

Entire experience have been stressful, but more bewildered as to how a supposedly professional company like Virgin Media could have such an unprofessional infantile customer service, and after persistently refusing to reply and broken promises, VM alleges we're late in paying our bills, so now imposing late charges etc and has terminated our service, thus rendering us in serious position of not able to work from home! In desperation, we called VM, waited over 50 minutes in queue, spoke to "customer service" who sounded very emphatic, says will take ownership of our complaint, truly understand our case is urgent, will escalate and Manager will get back to us within two hours"
That's two days ago, still no reply whatsoever!
Have filed complaint with CISAS, the official ofcom regulator, but as this process is going to take weeks, guess VM is using this tactic scam knowing most desperate users, especially those working from home in this CV19 period, would cave in and pay up!
How our current system allows such inconsiderate corporates to take advantage of our national plight is beyond me, we will definately not be using this company again and would strongly NOT recommend Virgin Media, shame it's another British sham ...
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Virgin Media  
I've had an incredibly bad start with Virgin. I called weeks in advance to set up the wifi in my new place to avoid being here working from home without wifi. I received a weirdly garbled text from Virgin late on a Saturday night that my Monday installation was being moved back nearly three additional weeks later. I got repeat messages -- one a day after the original installation date and then the same message two days after -- telling me that the external work had been completed. However, when I called to try to move my installation date earlier, they could only move it 1.5 days earlier. The customer service agent sounded like a robot just repeating, "I'm sorry but we have no availabilities sooner" even when that wasn't a response to what I was actually saying (I heard them the first time). It feels very clear to me that they don't care that it takes them SIX weeks to set up wifi, which is an utterly absurd amount of time. If there are not enough availabilities for engineers to set up wifi for customers within six weeks, they clearly need to hire more engineers because right now they are providing apalling customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Virgin Media  
The worst customer experience I can recall in a very long time. Unfortunately for me, it's still not over.

For weeks now I have been trying multiple times a day every day to cancel my rolling/flexible contract. I’ve been trying their two registered live chat options through their website for several hours every day: one for complaints and one for moving home. I’ve not had a response on either. These efforts have burned hours out of my days waiting and chasing for any kind of response.

I’ve called their registered phone number and its automated message tells me I have to use the aforementioned live chat forums.

I’ve even messaged them on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram; all without a response.

A horrible experience and hours lost for what should have been an easy task.

Their Virgin Media customer service department is either massively incompetent or deliberately making leaving them hard. Both may be true.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Worst Customer Experience I can remember Virgin Media  

Loading...

  • 3534 reviews, showing page 1 of 89, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk