Sky Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Recent Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 877 customer ratings since 2023-07-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Sky   Read our Sky buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2,297 Customer Reviews over 58 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glenprosen
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Not good at all, quoted an average of 5mbps although apparently can go up to 17mbps. The actual average I get is 450kbps so 0.45mpbs the highest I have had is 0.8mbps. Although I pay £70 per month I tried to solve the issue by phoning sky but they said oh well you can leave your contact if you pay a cancellation fee. Instead of trying to actually solve it
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst internet and service I ever experienced. When we moved in we applied for internet and tv. Noone came to set up tv and after 3 months when tv already was canceled even not tried, they suddenly say that we owe them for tv. Now internet is not working few days even if it's paid. We tried to reconnect and reach for their help. But their chat is unbelievable. They disappear in the middle of the conversation. Better to chose something else, because even when internet was working, it was unstable, very slow. We are only two users. Very disappointing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely shocking customer service. Am moving home and called through on Sunday, 3rd June about my Sky broadband and what would happen about moving to a new property who were about to install Sky. Was told that if the new property was going onto Sky, that my contract could be cancelled with no early termination charges even though I was still in contract. Confirmed twice with the customer services operator Paul and he stated that was correct. Well that was an utter lie apparently, as when I called today to cancel my Sky contract as the new property is now with Sky, was told I was liable for £58 cancellation fee. If I had known, we wouldn't have got Sky installed last week (had already arranged the engineer). Utterly shocking that customers are told one thing and when they take it at face value are hit with a significant charge later. Won't be recommending Sky to anyone! Such bad customer advice!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No complaints procedure OTHER THAN LOG IT AND CLOSE IT!!! DISGUSTING ..Determined to 'screw' every last penny from customers!
    It's all in my title, have left and will not be joining again, poor service expensive and terrible customer experience. JUST DON'T JOIN! THERE ARE MUCH BETTER SERVICES WHERE THE PROVIDER WANTS TO PROVIDE A GOOD EXPERIENCE!

    No allowances for disability except a fob off, talks about disability law 2010 with little understanding giving back stock answers! No reasonable adjustment made at all, in fact no adjustment made at all as required in law!

    By the way, this is the first time I have left a review such as this!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aviemore
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Truly truly hopeless. Customer service is an absolute joke, and "broadband" speed lucky if it's over 0.2mb. A year I put up with unusable Internet.

    Router you get supplied is not good, also using out date components. Take your money elsewhere.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St Helens
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Down 3 times in 8 week period
    Lied ref engineer coming out
    averaged 8 days to sort out each time
    Had to chase them several occasions as they promised to contact us.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    my experience with sky was outrageous and disappointing ..my first issue with sky was that my home telephone was down for 2 months and I reported 3 times and they resolved the issue but they charged me for the service which I did not receive. I will definitely cancel the contract as soon as possible!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful broadband customer service. Tried to join sky but they failed to get an engineer round on day of installation. Repeatedly called over 3 weeks but they wouldn't get another one out. Eventually they said only way to get me broadband was to cancel the service. Obviously I went with another provider.

    However they still debited me for the broadband, and it took weeks to get them to refund it.

    Not only that, they are now trying to charge me £122 for early exit fee! Joke.

    Terrible company and terible customer service, AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been with sky almost a decade and have got to the point feeling immense hate for the company.
    Decided to take their deal in November 2022 of Superfast for 28 pounds per month for 18 months and 34 per month after and not even a year in I'm now paying 42 per month.
    How that is possible or even legal is beyond me.
    Customer service (like they have any) is awful.
    Website just takes you round in circles.
    You can DM them on Facebook apparently because that is so professional.
    Good luck getting an engineer out.
    As for the broadband itself. It's laughable.
    One day I can download an Xbox game at 40mbs the next day 1mbs or sometimes less.
    I have to reset the router almost daily.
    So if you want zero rewards for loyalty, zero customer service and completely unreliable broadband and stress every damn day All while being over charged to almost double what you sign up for choose these idiots.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Peasedown St. John. Bath
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband very slow when you can get a connection
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Whitstable
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Allegedly I have fibre, but constantly suffering with buffering and sometimes I can't get online at all. Customer services were useless. Will not be using Sky again when contract is up. No wonder you have to sign an 18 month contract, it's the only way they can keep their customers!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid at all costs! The absolute WORST Broadband Provider. Ever.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    every evening-inernet very slow or at all no internet...every weekend-internet very slow or at all no internet..every night-internet very slow or at all no internet..i cant watch any movie..even i cant go to facebook or something...because its not loading...yeah..what i can say else...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Dorset
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very poor!
    The telephone help are very nice usually but have never resolved my issues.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent Eastchurch
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It’s honestly the worst internet hands down, every 15 minutes keep turning itself off and on then when you get online it’s say you have internet but you don’t.

    In my opinion just don’t even bother with sky internet, save your money go with somebody who will give you what you paying for!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Most unreliable internet, which cannot be fixed because they possess the absolute worst customer service. If you have another internet provider option, take it. I have never held so much hate in heart for another company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    portsmouth
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    How bad well it's bad wifi is ok sky on the phone are ok, there tv is ok but not the price. my broadband is so slow that on one night I thought I buy a movie fron the sky store started to download the movie ordered a curry 1hr 20mins later the curry turned up. 8hrs later my move downloaded that's how bad sky's broadband is it's loosing them money as I will never buy a move again. but no matter BT will win in the end with all services. and it's true what a lot of comments are saying you cant even streem a 2min youtube vid. it's that bad do yourself a favour please look for another isp!!..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Livingston
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is by far the worst Internet provider i have ever had. It's download speeds are pathetic. I can't even play online games anymore due to the issues this WiFi causes. I am extremely unhappy and i would not recommend!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Sussex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer service apparently pleasant and helpful at times of complaint or enquiry and service improves for short while then reverts back to rubbish speed. I suspect someone somewhere is deliberately restricting my bandwidth to force me to upgrade
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I would give 0 Stars if it would be possible. The internet is dropping constantly and their Customer Service Team sucks, I would NOT recommend using them!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    17:18 Connection Lost - 24th April 2014 - Duration - 2 minutes
    16:16 Connection Lost - 28th April 2014 - Duration - 4 minutes
    16:59 Connection Lost - 28th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    17:04 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 minutes
    18:52 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    19:36 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    15:44 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 2 minutes
    15:58 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 40 seconds
    17:01 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 40 seconds
    20:03 Connection Issues - 02 May 2014 - Duration - 1 minutes
    22:37 Connection Issues - 02 May 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    16:37 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    16:53 Connection Issues - 03 May 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    18:05 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:10 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:15 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:28 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    23:49 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    00:24 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    00:48 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
  • Reviewer
    Location
    uxbridge
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    the offer was suppose to be £40 a month for sky tv and broadband.i decided to cancel the sky tv and keep the internet all of a sudden my bill is £60.my advise for sky is to close down there service completely bcos its not good for mankind.its a fake company.doing fake business!!!!! all these people giving bad review bcos of the stress and sufferation that we have been through with sky!! we must stand together and do a strike to get sky shut down for good!!!we can do it let do it!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Worcester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Tried to join today after having trouble joining plusnet! I checked out a deal online and called them as i would rather speak to a real person and obviously dont have broadband at my address (hence getting set up with sky broadband). I got to the end of the call and was told to get the full package i want i would have to do my order online, i was given no other choice. I went online and placed my order, they said they were going to charge my card £25, turns out they actually charged £45 pounds and assumed we needed a new phone line fitted at this address costing £20 to send an engineer out to do it. Called Sky and told them what had happened, they refused to refund the £20 although we did not need the service, and suggested we cancel our order with sky to get a full refund and then start again. I took their advice and cancelled. Later on that evening i tried to join a different broadband provider, only to be told that i would not be able to join any other provider because i have a pending cancellation and sky have hold of my line for another week! Appalling customer service and theives. Easy for these companies to take your money near impossible to get it back. STAY AWAY FROM SKY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst company ever.. Terrible treatment awful, take this honest warning.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aylesbury
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    the most pathetic service. they promise an installation date and dont turn up. calling them for last 10 days but no reply at all. they just dont understand a customers problem. call cecntre people are just talking computers trust me. AVOID THEM.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    decides to always go really slow and I hate it
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Last year in August I had a problem with my internet. It just stoped working. I called up customer service and they made me do a number of tests. I was told to do this test more than twice. Still after doing everything that was asked of me. My internet was down when I asked if I could please get an engineer sent to my house I was told no because I only had a couple of days left with sky and that they could not send anyone out. So I was paying for a service which I was not even receiving. Not to mention the amount of time I spent over the phone doing everything that was asked of me and treated as if I had no idea of anything I was doing. Totally lack of customer service. Now just 2 days ago I find myself with no internet again. Once again I called them up I told them my internet is not working and they make me do all the same tests again and still no internet then after nearly one hour on the phone he tells me he will send out a micro filter but that I will need to wait a few days for it. Or that I should go and buy one myself if I need the internet. Surely this is not the way you should talk to a customer but sadly I was spoken to like this. Then when asked if they could send out an engineer I was told I had not done all the tests and that he can't send anyone out as this will be a waste of time for them and for myself. So I patiently have to wait until the micro filter arrives and then when it more than likely still won't work call them up again and keep on eating my time speaking to pre programmed robots which have saldo no customer service skills or even any knowledge of what they are doing as I was placed on hold as he asked for advice on what else to do. I wish I had never gone with sky and will make sure I will never be one of their customers in the future. Very, very poor care for their customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shockingly bad customer service. I ordered Sky broadband, they took £5 advance payment, cancelled my order a few days later and haven't refunded me the £5 payment. That was over two months ago. I've contacted customer services three times requesting a refund, which they've promised within 3-5 days, and each time haven't delivered the refund.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North east
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really, really, REALLY unreliable. From the internet service itself frequently breaking down, to the reliability of the routers and 3 boosters and the SkybQ box itself. The signal is weak, the hardware poor and the customer “service” laughable. Having been with Sky for over 25 years we have had enough. The whole service is pathetic and over priced.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    ewell
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    highest speed 2.5 should get 4.5 in our area. Slows drastically busy times every day.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    New Milton
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We’ve been with Sky for a couple of years now, since we moved house as Virgin wasn’t available in our current house. The whole 2 or so years it’s been mediocre at best, we’ve told them several times and we eventually got upgraded to fibre at no extra cost. We’re now allegedly on their bestest fastest shiniest broadband they provide and it’s still terrible. I’m trying to watch a video on my phone at the moment (this is the reason I’ve decided to leave this review), I’m about 15 feet from the router and I can see it so there’s no obstructions blocking the signal, and it keeps freezing so it can buffer. My girlfriend has a computer based job and she quite often works from home, her laptop and computer are probably 5 or 6 feet away from the router and she doesn’t bother with the WiFi as she can’t rely on it, she just tethers off of her work phone instead, to me that speaks volumes about the quality of Sky’s service! We're moving house in the New Year and we will absolutely definitely 100% not ever be going back to Sky, Virgin was better in every way, the TV included! If we can’t get Virgin at our new place then we’ll just be having freeview and using another broadband provider. Avoid sky fibre in my opinion, it’s nowhere near as good as they make it out to be, in the advert they show getting signal in the garage, on the roof, in the garden etc, to get this coverage they must have at least 2 routers in each location! Sky TV is a rip off too! If I could leave zero stars or a negative number I would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    RAINFORD
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Our sky broadband via an Open Reach connection is not worth having and its reliability is very poor. We have been advised for the last 2 years that infinity would be available to our address. Sky or BT will not give us even a future date for when it will be available.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Greater Manchester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Where do I begin with the problems I have had with Sky's Broadband.
    Firstly, I'll mention that my house has a direct line of site (150 yards away) to one of sky's hubs (I believe this is what it is I'm not a network expert) but this info was given to me by one of Sky's Engineers. So I find it hard to believe that despite the fact that we pay so much for 72 mb/s DL I struggle to reach 1.5 mb/s. This is completely unacceptable. This is not an irregular occurrence. For the entirety of today I have been running SpeedTests Using speedtest.net on my laptop and have gotten a Download speed above 1 mb/s 1 time out of well over a hundred tests. I did not try to ring the customer service because, in the past when I have, I have been told they will only speak to the account holder. Which happens to be my mother, someone who knows next to nothing above technology and when ever she has tried to talk with the support, they have confused her with technical jargon she simply does not understand.
    In Summary, I could not be more disappointed and appalled with Sky's broadband and the way they treat customers who have been with them for years.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Sky, I could sit here for hours writing about how bad they are, unreliable, awful customer service and they lie about your broadband speed to take advantage of technological illiterate customers.
    The worst one though, they charged you money for not having services with them. So if you had phone and tv, they would charge you extra for not having broadband with them. I'm not certain if they have stopped this now, but this company is more like a hell on earth than the heaven they portray in their adverts.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    sheffield
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    absolutely disgusted by the customee servuce provided by sky. My internet and sky has not been working for the last five weeks someone was meant to come and visit to resolve the problem and till date no one has been. Then they expect mw to pay my bill for the services I haven't had. I am absolutely shocked to say how awful sky has been after been with sky for many many years absolutely disappointed and disgusted the way I have been treated. Calling sky for days and no one is able to speak as there is no one who would speak due to my bill not been paid I refusw to pay sky for the services I have not been provided with.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pottersbar
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible they wont retern calls like they said they would and they wont even come out to fix my sky modem or landline and i pay £60 a month
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Malvern
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    You would think they have never installed internet before they way they are treating me. 2 months in and still no internet. Communication has been AUFUL. A 2nd guy came out today from open reach, I waited another 3 weeks for him to say a form needed filling out - HE COULD HAVE PHONED ME WEEKS AGO. This could be another month or so before anything happens. Making it 3 months to put internet in. Everything they need I have provided NEXT DAY - yet they wait weeks between doing each tiny job or each tiny bit of communication. Disgusted - regret signing up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worse company I ever dealt with!
    I ordered broadband and the engineer came to visit/instal it but I was away. We checkhed & noticed that we have access to internet, so my partner contacted SKY and explained that we have internet and they said that's fine. Suddenly after 2 weeks, they cancelled my order without prior notice!! I can't believe it!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pont-y-Pwl
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Never ever get anywhere near the local average for download/upload speeds. Struggle to play videos, games or anything without lag/buffering.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi there,

    I ordered a sky package with sky.
    They sent me a message saying, there is some error and I need to contact them at so and so numbers.
    The problem is after 45minutes per day for the past couple of days and still I couldn't contact them. I am cancelling my order now.

    If any one is planning to take a package from them. then my humble opinion is not to do that. Completely avoid them.

    Thanks
    Kiran

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.