Sky Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Recent Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction
    2.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.6 stars
  • Reliability
    2.7 stars

Based on 8352 customer ratings since 2020-05-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Sky   Read our Sky buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1,889 Customer Reviews over 48 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barry
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The last 8 months i've had sky have been shocking, I have no end of problems, internet is always going down. I had an engineer out 4 times, the first one replaced new wires inside and it didn't work the second replaced wires outside and crossed the wires and we ended up with nothing. The third fixed the mistake and the fourth came out to the property and said we need a router, a couple of weeks later we hadn't received one so phoned up to be told we don't need one, reluctantly they sent one out and it's a lot better. However there are still times when the internet is rubbish and I can't stream anything. I would not recommend to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barton on Sea
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Rubbish service broadband didn't work for weeks because they hadn't properly installed it price increases when ever they feel like it and trying to leave is a nightmare I'm moving to virgin media and will never use sky again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barvaliya
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I join Sky July 2017 and scheme was £60 or £75 voucher you will get after few days then I called sky customer service and I explain about the deal I signup and said you will received within 28 days by post I wait and nothing get it then I called then again same explanation and I did call customer service to cancel my subscription and to know more about voucher which is I haven’t had they said you signup with third party so you have to deal with them.. such nice lie to increase more customer !!!!!! RIP
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basildon
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had Sky Broadband for 11 months so far completely dissatisfied breaks down at least once a day signal weak I've now got extra data on my phone because I can't rely on the broadband today working
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basildon
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had Sky Broadband for 11 months so far completely dissatisfied breaks down at least once a day signal weak I've now got extra data on my phone because I can't rely on the broadband today working
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basildon
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Drops out all the time and only average 3mb on speed tests and ment to be 17. Only good point was that it was free for a year
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basildon, Essex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Awesome service. 13Kb/s here all day every day. Can get a bit slow when downlaoding big files @ 1.14 MB/s and surfing but that's fine. All day everyday local calls to 01,02 and 03 and a lot of country's worldwide thrown in. Netgear router at first was awful but now got Skys Sagem F@st 2504 and never looked back. Been with Sky for nearly 20 years, no need to change.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Comments
    Don’t hire sky Broadband, the network is not working.
    Two weeks ago we have a problem for 4 days. Today is not working again, we called them and said an engineer will come on Thursday, what??? Yes, next Thursday!! One week without broadband. Who is going to pay me all this inconveniences. I have to work. This situation is an acceptable. Don’t hire Sky!! Take my advice.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My broadband has suddenly slowed today. Upload speed of 0.26mbps & download speed of 0.69.

    I called sky...apparently there is a long wait.
    The online chat is busy
    There is no e-mail support

    I think I am going to cancel.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very slow.Even the mobile internet will beat the fibre internet speed. Very worst and really disappointing . Waited so long for the internet and end up with disappointment.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    17:18 Connection Lost - 24th April 2014 - Duration - 2 minutes
    16:16 Connection Lost - 28th April 2014 - Duration - 4 minutes
    16:59 Connection Lost - 28th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    17:04 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 minutes
    18:52 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    19:36 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    15:44 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 2 minutes
    15:58 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 40 seconds
    17:01 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 40 seconds
    20:03 Connection Issues - 02 May 2014 - Duration - 1 minutes
    22:37 Connection Issues - 02 May 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    16:37 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    16:53 Connection Issues - 03 May 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
    18:05 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:10 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:15 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    18:28 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    23:49 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    00:24 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
    00:48 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke, England
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Anyone thinking of using this broadband, please think again and burn this company from your memory. Sky is the WORST provider I've ever used. I get regular drop-outs, I can't watch videos on YouTube in high quality (I select the HD option and because the connection is poor it degrades in quality as the video goes on, or it doesn't load.) Opening a new tab is a nightmare as it takes forever to do so.

    PLEASE DO NOT USE SKY BROADBAND.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bath
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Less than 2mbps - need I say any more and my area in Bath is officially not getting fibre and there an zero alternatives. Shocking service in a modern city!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bath
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I live on the outskirts of Bath and my SKY broadband tops out at 1.2Mb.
    The worst thing is that's the best on offer!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bath
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We had sky broadband about 5 years ago and it was fine but we got a better deal with BT so we changed. It was pants so when the contract ran out we went back to sky but this time it was worse than BT. It's slow continual buffering, drops out , freezes and has to be reset. Don't bother. Worst of all when you call they are unhelpful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bathgate
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    left sky because of a better offer if i had not seen this offer i probably would not have changed how glad i did speed with new supplier is so faster than sky i can not believe it i always thought that the speed was much the same for most everybody.When i phoned i asked if they could match or better
    the offer i was going to change to they could not and did not seem all that bothered they were losing a long term customer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Battersea Park (london)
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been cancel my contract with sky so the signal is rubbish in my house. After 12 month without using this company finally i can cancel my contract I did follow all the requiement with more than 15 days before my next bill and for me surprisa not just the make a new bill if not now I hace paid doble so I don´t understand nothing and I got the email with the cancelation of my contract and they don´t give my money back and I am so angry
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Beaconsfield
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I've been using Sky broadband since they bought UK Online and therefore acquired me as a customer. A couple of years ago I switched from standard broadband to fibre - originally the 35Mbps package, but they upgraded me for free to the full 72Mbps.

    Their customer service is generally very good, they don't treat me like an idiot. The standard broadband was pretty reliable but I had a couple of faulty routers over the years. Since I switched to fibre it's been rock solid and I can usually get the full 72Mbps down and 18Mbps up.

    My only gripe is the price. Without any TV package and with PAYG calls this is costing me £44/month - line rental plus broadband. But looking at reviews of other providers on here, I'm probably better sticking with what I've got than switching to a cheaper but less reliable provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bebington
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Has sky broadband since December 2016. Nothing but issues with it and phone line noise since. Numerous phone calls and messing with router and phone socket resulted in engineer coming out saying phone socket was faulty. Was only getting 0.4Mbps. Replaced socket. Got 6.4Mbps for less than a day and now getting 0.1Mbps and nouse issue back. Worst provider ever.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BEDFORD
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Might be one of the more exspensive providers.
    in the four years I have been with this company Customer service has been reasonable.
    Broadband speed could be a bit faster.
    Broadband reliability is and has been
    generally good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedford
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If only their products were as good as their customer service. I cant even watch anything in HD it will lag or freeze, for a modern day broadband company wth is this? When contacted Sky about it, they said apparently I'm on the lowest broadband package and it was not fibre, what a poor excuse as this is the broadband they advertise to be 'super fast broadband' that comes with the tv package. Never the less I upgraded, now I am paying a lot more and on fibre, my internet speed is 0.49mbps download speed and I am in a brand new 18 months contract. They made me go into a new contract paying a lot more than the previous one only for it to go up to 0.49mbps download speed? & I still cannot watch anything in HD. How can they do this to their customers is beyond me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had problems for months now. After 5 hours constantly trying to get on line I gave up. Download speed 4.8 Mbps upload 1 Mbps. Just sent another email to them saying I'm cancelling contract but not sure who to go with. Tried on line chat on my iPad as I have a SIM card but guess what? Advisors say their computer service to customer details has failed. Firstly they say there's a problem from my master BT plus to my PC then it's problem from BT exchange to my house. No Sky it's your fault.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Constantly cutting out, randomly and unexpectedly. Comes back to strength, then normally will cut out again. This usually happens late afternoon/ evening/ night, however I wouldn’t know how it worked during the day as I’m not home. The wifi worked perfectly; I would say amazingly when first installed, but has gone downhill recently, and only joined sky this year! Very unsatisfactory.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Absolute bunch of idiots. i have just transferred over to sky and they have "forgotten to tick a box" so that I can keep my existing telephone number. They are now telling me I cant have that number anymore and have to have a new number. How pathetic!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedroom
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Can't stress how absolutely awful sky are. The amount of times I've seen the exclamation mark show through the symbol is crazy. If you go 5 yards or more away from the box you have nothing in terms of signal. They're legally robbing people of money it's a mockery
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedworth
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I was originally with o2 but they shipped all their broadband customers to sky with a deal to keep the same broadband costs for a few years which they did adhere to
    It is now £10 for broadband unlimited which is pretty good value and the broadband network is usually fine
    My only gripe is that I have to pay an extra £5 for not having sky talk which brings my bill to £15
    We are on BT light user and sky cannot beat the BT light user cost for line rental, so I am paying them £5 a month for nothing
    I've complained to them and even contacted watchdog who did a feature on it but nothing has changed
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Just make sure not to disconnect your sky broadband
    before signing up with other providers it will take 2 weeks
    before new provider sets up and will leave you with no
    Broadband at all
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst ever by far. Cuts out throughout the day and night and constant speeds of less than 0.1 MB.

    Called them to resolve and advised me to cancel as nothing they could do about speeds.

    AVOID at all costs. You'd be better off using your mobile hotspot.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    complete and utter s***. don't waste your time I have to use my 4g in my home because the internet is that bad can't watch YouTube or Netflix. will just stop working out of the blue don't even try to game unless you want sky high ping. don't waste your money.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst service ever, unstable connection and useless customer service.
    The speed is ok when you have the signal.
    Instead of spending a lot of money for crap advertisements they should focus on improving their services.
    I am just waiting for Virgin Media to cable my street and I am done with them. Not impressed.
    Avoid like the plague!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    It all depends on who you talk to, how smart they are, and how complicated your query is.
    Since joing in Feb 2010, I've 'earnt' over £300 in goodwill for this, that and/or the other issues with broadband. I've received BB and LR FREE for the first year due to issues and LR free for 6 months due to having 4 different routers since 2011, all fautly, all sagem.

    It all depends on who you talk to in sky.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    belfast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I rented an apartment 8 years ago I got sky, my housemate and I paid up and on full, 7 years ago I bought my own place, I told sky that I was leaving and wanted to shut my account down but that my housemate would be happy to keep sky. I was told that was ok, and now 7 years later Im getting some debt collecting company based in Scotland sending letters to my new address saying I owe money relating to the old address, sent them the one document they asked for relating to my new house. Told them Skys phone records would confirm my assertion, just getting generic emails from the debt agency, one after another, bullyboy tactics and refuse to engage in solving the problem or understanding the issues, Ive asked them for the documents they want,they refuse to say and just keep sending the same drivel generic message back they keep claiming Im still the contract holder despite them being informed I was leaving years ago and me shutting down my direct debit, all this for £66.15 for services I know nothing about. I always pay what I owe on time but am I hell paying a penny for something nothing to do with me and because Sky didnt shut my contract as requested 7 years ago. Stay away, money grabbers whose customer services cannot be trusted to do their job.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Their customer service is a joke. I ordered my broadband to be set up on a specific day, but the engineer didn't turn up. I contacted them immediately and was told that the employee I talked to mistyped my address (which I wrote down to them correctly, they could have just copypasted it). I explained to them that I am disabled and cannot make phone calls, so broadband connection is essential for my job and also for my everyday life, and I asked them to fix the error as soon as possible. They promised me to fix the address in their system in 72 hours, but it took them a whole week to do it, and then they expected me to wait two more weeks to get my broadband set up. I was left without internet and all my job related and moving home related stuff needed to be reorganised. I was not even compensated in any way for their mistake. Avoid them at all cost if you're looking for reliable internet and professional customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bellshill
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    very reliable.. can only get max speed of 5 mb on my line........bb average speed is 3.5mb. i download quite a bit & never had a problem
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bentford
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst company ever, they sold me a broadband service that didn't work, I cancelled the service and the sent me a letter that I owed the company 83 pounds. I didn't pay them and the bpo collection called me saying that I had to pay 50.45 pounds, less than sky was asking me. So today I paid an amount for a sky service that i never had, it's crazy, plus 25 pounds that I paid for the installation. I tried to call sky , but always I were speaking with a robot, or waiting more than 30 minutes to speak with an assistant. I don't recommend anybody sky, well unless you want to trough up your money and waste time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berkshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    avoid at all costs!
    speed much slower than promised (4 times!)
    connection drops all the time
    never able to contact customer services (always busy).
    When I finally contacted - all I heard was "you did not let us know when there was a fault".
    Is there a some kind of regulator body that can launch an inspection of how they deliver what they promise (and revoke their licence if there is enough grounds)? I am sure it won't come to that, but they clearly do not care for customers, so might care about a regulator.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berkshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Terrible. Paid extra for top broadband package, paid for delivery of boosters, paid extra for sky broadband boost and still poor WiFi and dropping signal...and this is in a modern house which is not a particularly large house. Stuck now in an 18 month contract and Sky technical say there is nothing they can do.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bermondsey
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    it is most likely the worst internet provider you can choose. The speed is good if its working but we have the broadband constantly dropping out.
    The customer service is incompetent, very unfriendly and is lying into the customers face.
    once our contract runs out we are gone and would never ever go back to any Sky company....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bethnal Green, London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I was holding high regards for this company but until I noted that I was being ripped off with £10.00 evry month for 2 years on a service that I don’t use ( sky+ subscription) I’ve only sign in for broad band and phone line services when I reniewed my contract again. I was hoping to claim back but they said it’s my fault as I don’t check my bill details.... scum company... grrr and worst is very unrealiable broadband with a lot of time no internet!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Beynon
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really poor customer service blaming BT Open Reach for broadband and tel faults. Been unable to connect the line with no sense of urgency for connection. No offer to escalate the issue. Had to ask for financial adjustment to direct debit as a result of not delivering service as promised in sales advert. Very very disappointed

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.