Sky Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Recent Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction
    2.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    2.6 stars
  • Reliability
    2.8 stars

Based on 9605 customer ratings since 2019-02-18 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Sky   Read our Sky buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1711 Customer Reviews for Sky

  • Showing page 4 of 43, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Very slow.Even the mobile internet will beat the fibre internet speed. Very worst and really disappointing . Waited so long for the internet and end up with disappointment.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Basingstoke Sky  
17:18 Connection Lost - 24th April 2014 - Duration - 2 minutes
16:16 Connection Lost - 28th April 2014 - Duration - 4 minutes
16:59 Connection Lost - 28th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
17:04 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 minutes
18:52 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
19:36 Connection Issues - 29th April 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
15:44 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 2 minutes
15:58 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 40 seconds
17:01 Connection Lost - 30th April 2014 - Duration - 40 seconds
20:03 Connection Issues - 02 May 2014 - Duration - 1 minutes
22:37 Connection Issues - 02 May 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
16:37 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
16:53 Connection Issues - 03 May 2014 - Duration - 20 seconds
18:05 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
18:10 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
18:15 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
18:28 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
23:49 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
00:24 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
00:48 Connection Lost - 03 May 2014
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Basingstoke Sky  
Anyone thinking of using this broadband, please think again and burn this company from your memory. Sky is the WORST provider I've ever used. I get regular drop-outs, I can't watch videos on YouTube in high quality (I select the HD option and because the connection is poor it degrades in quality as the video goes on, or it doesn't load.) Opening a new tab is a nightmare as it takes forever to do so.

PLEASE DO NOT USE SKY BROADBAND.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Basingstoke, England Sky  
Less than 2mbps - need I say any more and my area in Bath is officially not getting fibre and there an zero alternatives. Shocking service in a modern city!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bath Sky  
I live on the outskirts of Bath and my SKY broadband tops out at 1.2Mb.
The worst thing is that's the best on offer!
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bath Sky  
We had sky broadband about 5 years ago and it was fine but we got a better deal with BT so we changed. It was pants so when the contract ran out we went back to sky but this time it was worse than BT. It's slow continual buffering, drops out , freezes and has to be reset. Don't bother. Worst of all when you call they are unhelpful.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bath Sky  
left sky because of a better offer if i had not seen this offer i probably would not have changed how glad i did speed with new supplier is so faster than sky i can not believe it i always thought that the speed was much the same for most everybody.When i phoned i asked if they could match or better
the offer i was going to change to they could not and did not seem all that bothered they were losing a long term customer
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
bathgate Sky  
I have been cancel my contract with sky so the signal is rubbish in my house. After 12 month without using this company finally i can cancel my contract I did follow all the requiement with more than 15 days before my next bill and for me surprisa not just the make a new bill if not now I hace paid doble so I don´t understand nothing and I got the email with the cancelation of my contract and they don´t give my money back and I am so angry
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Battersea Park (london) Sky  
I've been using Sky broadband since they bought UK Online and therefore acquired me as a customer. A couple of years ago I switched from standard broadband to fibre - originally the 35Mbps package, but they upgraded me for free to the full 72Mbps.

Their customer service is generally very good, they don't treat me like an idiot. The standard broadband was pretty reliable but I had a couple of faulty routers over the years. Since I switched to fibre it's been rock solid and I can usually get the full 72Mbps down and 18Mbps up.

My only gripe is the price. Without any TV package and with PAYG calls this is costing me £44/month - line rental plus broadband. But looking at reviews of other providers on here, I'm probably better sticking with what I've got than switching to a cheaper but less reliable provider.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Beaconsfield Sky  
Has sky broadband since December 2016. Nothing but issues with it and phone line noise since. Numerous phone calls and messing with router and phone socket resulted in engineer coming out saying phone socket was faulty. Was only getting 0.4Mbps. Replaced socket. Got 6.4Mbps for less than a day and now getting 0.1Mbps and nouse issue back. Worst provider ever.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bebington Sky  
Might be one of the more exspensive providers.
in the four years I have been with this company Customer service has been reasonable.
Broadband speed could be a bit faster.
Broadband reliability is and has been
generally good.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
BEDFORD Sky  
Had problems for months now. After 5 hours constantly trying to get on line I gave up. Download speed 4.8 Mbps upload 1 Mbps. Just sent another email to them saying I'm cancelling contract but not sure who to go with. Tried on line chat on my iPad as I have a SIM card but guess what? Advisors say their computer service to customer details has failed. Firstly they say there's a problem from my master BT plus to my PC then it's problem from BT exchange to my house. No Sky it's your fault.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bedfordshire Sky  
Constantly cutting out, randomly and unexpectedly. Comes back to strength, then normally will cut out again. This usually happens late afternoon/ evening/ night, however I wouldn’t know how it worked during the day as I’m not home. The wifi worked perfectly; I would say amazingly when first installed, but has gone downhill recently, and only joined sky this year! Very unsatisfactory.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bedfordshire Sky  
Absolute bunch of idiots. i have just transferred over to sky and they have "forgotten to tick a box" so that I can keep my existing telephone number. They are now telling me I cant have that number anymore and have to have a new number. How pathetic!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bedfordshire Sky  
Can't stress how absolutely awful sky are. The amount of times I've seen the exclamation mark show through the symbol is crazy. If you go 5 yards or more away from the box you have nothing in terms of signal. They're legally robbing people of money it's a mockery
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bedroom Sky  
I was originally with o2 but they shipped all their broadband customers to sky with a deal to keep the same broadband costs for a few years which they did adhere to
It is now £10 for broadband unlimited which is pretty good value and the broadband network is usually fine
My only gripe is that I have to pay an extra £5 for not having sky talk which brings my bill to £15
We are on BT light user and sky cannot beat the BT light user cost for line rental, so I am paying them £5 a month for nothing
I've complained to them and even contacted watchdog who did a feature on it but nothing has changed
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bedworth Sky  
Just make sure not to disconnect your sky broadband
before signing up with other providers it will take 2 weeks
before new provider sets up and will leave you with no
Broadband at all
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Belfast Sky  
Worst ever by far. Cuts out throughout the day and night and constant speeds of less than 0.1 MB.

Called them to resolve and advised me to cancel as nothing they could do about speeds.

AVOID at all costs. You'd be better off using your mobile hotspot.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Belfast Sky  
Worst service ever, unstable connection and useless customer service.
The speed is ok when you have the signal.
Instead of spending a lot of money for crap advertisements they should focus on improving their services.
I am just waiting for Virgin Media to cable my street and I am done with them. Not impressed.
Avoid like the plague!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Belfast Sky  
It all depends on who you talk to, how smart they are, and how complicated your query is.
Since joing in Feb 2010, I've 'earnt' over £300 in goodwill for this, that and/or the other issues with broadband. I've received BB and LR FREE for the first year due to issues and LR free for 6 months due to having 4 different routers since 2011, all fautly, all sagem.

It all depends on who you talk to in sky.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Belfast Sky  
I rented an apartment 8 years ago I got sky, my housemate and I paid up and on full, 7 years ago I bought my own place, I told sky that I was leaving and wanted to shut my account down but that my housemate would be happy to keep sky. I was told that was ok, and now 7 years later Im getting some debt collecting company based in Scotland sending letters to my new address saying I owe money relating to the old address, sent them the one document they asked for relating to my new house. Told them Skys phone records would confirm my assertion, just getting generic emails from the debt agency, one after another, bullyboy tactics and refuse to engage in solving the problem or understanding the issues, Ive asked them for the documents they want,they refuse to say and just keep sending the same drivel generic message back they keep claiming Im still the contract holder despite them being informed I was leaving years ago and me shutting down my direct debit, all this for £66.15 for services I know nothing about. I always pay what I owe on time but am I hell paying a penny for something nothing to do with me and because Sky didnt shut my contract as requested 7 years ago. Stay away, money grabbers whose customer services cannot be trusted to do their job.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
belfast Sky  
Their customer service is a joke. I ordered my broadband to be set up on a specific day, but the engineer didn't turn up. I contacted them immediately and was told that the employee I talked to mistyped my address (which I wrote down to them correctly, they could have just copypasted it). I explained to them that I am disabled and cannot make phone calls, so broadband connection is essential for my job and also for my everyday life, and I asked them to fix the error as soon as possible. They promised me to fix the address in their system in 72 hours, but it took them a whole week to do it, and then they expected me to wait two more weeks to get my broadband set up. I was left without internet and all my job related and moving home related stuff needed to be reorganised. I was not even compensated in any way for their mistake. Avoid them at all cost if you're looking for reliable internet and professional customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Belfast Sky  
very reliable.. can only get max speed of 5 mb on my line........bb average speed is 3.5mb. i download quite a bit & never had a problem
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
bellshill Sky  
Worst company ever, they sold me a broadband service that didn't work, I cancelled the service and the sent me a letter that I owed the company 83 pounds. I didn't pay them and the bpo collection called me saying that I had to pay 50.45 pounds, less than sky was asking me. So today I paid an amount for a sky service that i never had, it's crazy, plus 25 pounds that I paid for the installation. I tried to call sky , but always I were speaking with a robot, or waiting more than 30 minutes to speak with an assistant. I don't recommend anybody sky, well unless you want to trough up your money and waste time.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bentford Sky  
avoid at all costs!
speed much slower than promised (4 times!)
connection drops all the time
never able to contact customer services (always busy).
When I finally contacted - all I heard was "you did not let us know when there was a fault".
Is there a some kind of regulator body that can launch an inspection of how they deliver what they promise (and revoke their licence if there is enough grounds)? I am sure it won't come to that, but they clearly do not care for customers, so might care about a regulator.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Berkshire Sky  
it is most likely the worst internet provider you can choose. The speed is good if its working but we have the broadband constantly dropping out.
The customer service is incompetent, very unfriendly and is lying into the customers face.
once our contract runs out we are gone and would never ever go back to any Sky company....
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bermondsey Sky  
I was holding high regards for this company but until I noted that I was being ripped off with £10.00 evry month for 2 years on a service that I don’t use ( sky+ subscription) I’ve only sign in for broad band and phone line services when I reniewed my contract again. I was hoping to claim back but they said it’s my fault as I don’t check my bill details.... scum company... grrr and worst is very unrealiable broadband with a lot of time no internet!!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bethnal Green, London Sky  
Really poor customer service blaming BT Open Reach for broadband and tel faults. Been unable to connect the line with no sense of urgency for connection. No offer to escalate the issue. Had to ask for financial adjustment to direct debit as a result of not delivering service as promised in sales advert. Very very disappointed
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Beynon Sky  
Sky messed up our activation, so we've been without broadband for the last few days. Had to wait in queue for 30 mins yesterday, 10 minutes into it they cut me off and I had redial and start again. The guy I spoke to (Stephen) admitted it was Sky's fault and promised to call me back today, but he never did. So I called them back and got through to someone in India who was quite irritating but eventually transferred me to the UK. I ended up speaking to 3 different departments, having to repeat my security details and the problem each time. Eventually Helen said there was some kind of mis-match between systems which might be the cause, but she wasn't totally sure. I was told to wait another 24 hours. I asked for a refund of my activation fee (£20) and first month's line rental (~£16). She agreed to refund the activation fee, but not the line rental! I would not recommend Sky unless you want to be stuck without broadband, and spend hours one the phone being passed from person to person in their call centre. Avoid Sky at all costs!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Billingshurst Sky  
When I had a sky broadband contract I was getting a download speed of approx 13mbps and an upload speed of .75...then when my contract was up it dropped to 2/5mbps and upload of .2/.35 ???? strange that! I have noticed in previous years exactly the same would happen. I contacted Sky who said there was a problem on the line and they would send an OpenReach engineer out, I stated clearly that I would not be put automatically into a new contract if they sent someone out. The engineer arrived two days later and proceeded to check the router, phone system and line....guess what? nothing wrong at all, when I told him of my suspicions about Sky dropping the broadband speed to get me into another contract he didn't confirm it but said "you need to be having a word with Sky again"... so all infall the ******** are dropping peoples download speed to get them into another contract!!! I live about half a mile from the exchange so they cannot use that excuse; I am now swapping provider who tested my line and said I would get 76mbps and 28mbps upload...guaranteed 65mbps and 20mbps upload respectively !! I would have given sky 0 in all areas but one star was the minimum, I will never ever use Sky again..too big to fall Eh?.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bingley West Yorkshire Sky  
The broadband in my area is terribly slow, can't have more than 1 device working at any one time. Can't download to my sky box and watch things on you tube at same time . Really disappointed
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
birchgrove Sky  
Brilliant for 2 years but then removed Sky TV from package, now half the speed, frequent disconnections. Not the way to attract me back to sky tv again when they use these sort of tactics
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birchington Sky  
Terrible broadband as well as terrible customer service. They rather blame you than solve the problem.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birkenhead Sky  
Speed is always below 1Meg, customer service do not want to know, they say something has changed in the house, this is total rubbish, the speed has dropped over the last couple of years by nearly 1Meg to the point where is is becoming unusable, to download a movie it takes nearly 18 hrs, in this day and age it is total rubbish and i would not recommend.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Birkenshaw Sky  
Absolutely shocking, shocking service. Never had anything like that. First of all, they say that they give good speeds for my area yet my neighbours are only hitting 5 Mbps? If I were to only be so lucky. I have been checking my internet speeds consistently over the past few days. 1 Mbps. I started downloading a game last night at 7pm. 25 hours later and im 19% in. TERRIBLE. Also, it's worse value for money than professional football matches. Avoid Sky at all costs, people. Don't even bother giving yourself such a bad time. Never, ever again.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Sky  
The service that I have had from sky has been absolutely horrendous. The broadband is extreamly slow! Virgin is much better. When the router breaks, which it will as I have had 3, the call waiting time is minimum 40 mins each time and then someone on the other end hangs up! Would never in a million years recomemd Sky to my worst enemy! Horrific expirinace! Never again!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Sky  
In Sep 2015 I changed from BT to SKy Broadband. after 2 months I started experiencing loss of service and every 3 days my connection was lost and I had to contact them to fix the problem. After all these months the problem kept going and the only thing they did was to give 2 vouchers of 5 pounds. Last week (4/5/16) they decided to send a technician to see what is actually going on and the guy changed the router, the wall socket and did some wiring. My broadband so far is more stable but when I called to request for compensation for all these months experiencing the problem they said that they do not give credit on the account and they will send me again a voucher which, according to them, costs actually more than the cost of my loss of service. this company sounds like a joke
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Sky  
We are on sky fibre and it is up and down. Phoned several times and cannot get out of the contract.
Will definitely be cancelling when contract ens.
About time ofcom did something about these companies charging for a service which they cannot provide.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Sky  
DON’T BE REELED IN BY SKY’s DEALS WITH BROADBAND AND TV. Their customer service is long and when they send out an engineer the likely hood of them not coming is very high. Disconnects are extremely common and the router is appauling. Do not recommend. Go for a smaller ISP who will look after you And does not assume that your wallet is a pit of endless money. Worst ISP ever...
Birmingham Sky  
Been sky customer for 9 years moved houses to install services on my new addres booked the appointment twice and taken two day off from work enginier cancelled twice saying it's two dark to carry out services. No compensation nothing .would love to give them 0 star
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham Sky  

Loading...

  • 1711 reviews, showing page 4 of 43, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk