Sky Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Recent Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 900 customer ratings since 2023-05-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Sky   Read our Sky buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2,285 Customer Reviews over 58 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Absolute bunch of idiots. i have just transferred over to sky and they have "forgotten to tick a box" so that I can keep my existing telephone number. They are now telling me I cant have that number anymore and have to have a new number. How pathetic!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    alloa
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    started of fine but speed has dropped and start up used to be 15 to 20 seconds now 40 to 50 seconds .been with then 8 weeks still waiting on the £100 e voucher even after the sent a email saying it would be sent within 5 days that was 6 weeks ago. and received a letter today saying the price was going up.ive had 9 letters asking if i want to upgrade NO THANKS WISH I HAD NOT USED SKY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    The broadband service is absolutely atrocious! Been with sky since December and was made aware that within the first 10 days of connection that speeds may vary and the connection may be unstable. It is now March and things haven't improved if anything it's worse! My connection keeps dropping on all the devices and I spent the past week not being able to connect to the Internet at all. Now I'm being told that the problem may be environmental and it is probably something in my home that is interfering with the WIFI signal! I've never heard anything so ridiculous. I never had any of these problems with BT! I am one very unhappy and very dissatisfied customer.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    reading
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    Ongoing intermittent problem since nov 2015. 6 engineers to date and the problem still exists. Asked to speak to a manager yesterday, i've given-up hope on receiving the call. To my horror, I was asked do I still have an extension cable from socket to router -- the last but one engineer moved the inlet cable by front door, some 6 weeks ago. Why has that not been reflected in my records? Performance is poor and i'm now considering moving house as I work from home for a technology company and expected to be online!!! come on SKY, are you really that bad?? I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND YOU SERVICES TO ANYONE IN THEIR RIGHT MIND.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I reported loss of my phone line and slow/intermittent broadband. There was a 30 minute queue to report by phone and the text message process was slow and clumsy. Clearly a computer-driven screening process because it asked questions when I'd already provided the information. No phone service for 5 days and no refund.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I've had sky a while now and this month they've billed me 107 pounds considering it's supposed to be 45pounds ! I've rang them only to be spoke to like a child and for them to say that's the amount I've got to pay well I can say I'm defiantly not paying it and I will be changing !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Pretty poor. The service is slow. They once sent out an update which somehow managed to break my modem. The then sent out a disc to manually fix the update which didn't work, then they sent out a new modem which they wanted me to pay for. Eventually I got a new modem for free of charge but I was without any internet for 2 weeks and I didn't get refunded.

    Every so often the service cuts out and customer services are pretty poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    Really poor broadband cutting out and slow you gave us a booster that doesn't work , over 25 years with you and you keep putting prices up yet services get worse you put charges up I phoned got a deal then a month later everything went up an extra £10 a month sorry but you are leaving our household
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Overall the service was meh, ok, nothing special but beige.

    The I had to contact Sky 'customer services'. . . How to take a bad situation and make it worse.

    Here's your top 10 for how not to deal with a complaint.

    Start off by having the customer have to call repeatedly and spend 30+ minutes on hold.

    Then finally when they do get through.

    1. Do not have the facts at your disposal,
    2. Read from a script which does not address the facts,
    3. Fail to respond to a pre-action protocol letter,

    Well now I've issued proceedings against Sky (£25 via Money Claim online I'll get to talk to a 'grown up').

    PS when you get sent the un-served claim form and particulars of claim,

    1. .Don't send a letter addressed 'Hello Thomas' at least try Dear Mr O'R or Dear Sir.

    2. Don't advise me about Ombudsmans Services Communications as if this is similar to an Ombudsman's scheme like the Legal or Financial Services Ombudsman etc. It is a company limited by guarantee which charges the company's who subscribe a fee for their services and as at their last filed accounts has a reserve of £1.8M.

    Now I'm not suggesting the company are not independent or biased but the presentation of the Company without reference to their Ltd statement is, in my view poor.

    Further the use of the definitive article in the statement 'It is for the Ombudsman Services Communications to decide if they can investigate' is potentially misleading as there likely to be other ADR providers and as such Sky should use the indefinite article and also there is Offcom, a body with statutory powers.

    Now I must get a life before the wife comes down and tells me to grow up and wait for the AoS / Defence & etc.

    PS Sky, if you're reading the claim reference is C7Qz4P4M in the CCBC, date of service today.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norwich
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    2 Months into my 12 month broadband contract, my speed has dropped from 8Mb to 5Mb.

    Phoned Sky and they said that that speed is fine and they will do nothing. They gave no reason for my speed dropping by almost half.

    Have lived here for 11 years with the same phone line. BT, TalkTalk and PlusNet all gave me 8Mb all the time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    High Wycombe
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It’s fine while it’s working but customer service is execrable. I lost my phone line 2 days ago and was involved in an interminable exchange of texts asking me to upload photos, dismantle the connection box and heaven knows what else with periods of half an hour or so each time they needed to reply. Took 3 and a half hours before they booked an engineer call. Now my broadband is down and I’m having a repeat of the experience. Life is too short to use sky phone and broadband!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pontefract
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    Promised 2 Mb but never anywhere near it, used to get 4.9 Mb with Pipex homecall, but now i`m stuck with 12 month SKY contract, shouldn`t have listened to sales hype
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hackney, London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Tried to set up an account with Sky as we have just moved into a new flat. We can’t set up an account as the previous tenants already have a sky account connected to the property which wasn’t cancelled. These tenants haven’t been in the flat for months following renovations to the property. We can’t contact sky about it either as our mobile can’t be linked to an account because we can’t create one in the first place. So there is zero way to contact sky to get this sorted. And the landlords can’t enforce a prior tenant to cancel their broadband account. Seems ridiculous that this issue is even possible. Cheers
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Braintree
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    First had broadband with them about 8 years ago. Our package includes line rental and anytime uk call package with normal broadband -cost about £36 pcm. It is ok if you only have a pc maybe laptops. Add in smartphones, games consoles tablets etc and its pretty slow and unreliable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Heybridge Essex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I was guaranteed minimum access speed of 27.4mb on my Sky Fibre contract. Its only ever been 20-22mb. I had a Sky engineer come to test internally and externally to find out what the issue was. When left he told me the connection was 30mb, I run about a dozen Broadband Speed tests..is was 3-6mb he had made it worst. This lasted for about 3 weeks. Now its at 23mb. Disappointed with SKY to be honest.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    sky company promises 9 mega bite down load speed. most time I only get less than 1.5 mega bite. not happy with sky suppler. I will change suppler soon.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scarborough
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I went with sky broadband as it says super fast speed. But it is absolutely poor. I'm really disappointed. Very slow. Some days I don't get any signal. Extremely poor service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Dont go with Sky . BY give better service and customer care
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Just make sure not to disconnect your sky broadband
    before signing up with other providers it will take 2 weeks
    before new provider sets up and will leave you with no
    Broadband at all
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nr Guildford
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've been with Sky for several years and their customer service used to be superb. Unfortunately it's gone downhill and now sits within the rest of its competitors (i.e. mediocre). They are scared witless of BT and could therefore offer me a competitive deal when I was renewing my contract. The trouble is the performance of the router is so bad I can only use the wifi downstairs and within a 3-4m range. Its truly woeful. They cleverly (some may say sneakily) only guarantee the speed into your router (which is what was promised), but anything beyond that is down to me. Reading reviews on the internet, the router is the worst on the market and therefore I'm not getting my fibreoptic service in 80% of my house. Ironically I can pick up all of the neighbours' BT wifi.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Attleborough Norfolk
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Advertised a minimum of 13mb/s, it’s averaged 3mb/s over the 2 years

    £40 a month to be mugged off, be better stealing WiFi from a library
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bath
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Less than 2mbps - need I say any more and my area in Bath is officially not getting fibre and there an zero alternatives. Shocking service in a modern city!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Bromwich
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Starting out, sky broadband and connection was excellent. This was 1 year ago. Im a heavy user of broadband relying on it for work as well as domestic use. Working in the IT industry I know my stuff technically and the last month or so has been unbearable. Intermittent loss of network, severe speed fluctuation and general slowness for their unlimited dsl connection. Called tech support, ran through the usual, very helpful at this stage to help and thats where it ended. They sent out a sky "engineer". Didn't have a clue what he was on about and was constantly on the phone to someone else asking advice. He left the phone on speaker at one point to which the other "engineer" said "Well the connection hasn't dropped for a few days just plug it all back together and leave it to see how it goes". At this point he had tried his test router with same issues as I was getting and tried the phone line. Speed still dropping below 1mbps but this was normal apparently as he was submitting a survey I had filled out while connected to my Wi-Fi. It was at this point I knew I was never going to get anywhere with them and needed to leave. Virgin media - better deals,speed and support by miles (at this point in time) don't waste your time or money on this as it honestly isn't worth it. Virgin are voted the best for a reason. Only wish they had provided fibre in my location earlier so I wouldn't of had to put up with this for so long
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I wouldn’t blame the customer service agents because they try to do their best to help. It’s the company itself that is rubbish. They increase their prices in the middle of the year and instead of reducing their issues, they stop their services completely (like today). Just check the “Down” website to see the reports!! Been paying for 40Mb/s and getting 2Mp/s. Such a joke! Can’t wait for to get out of this contract.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After being 15 months a sky customer paying for my landline and broadband connection, after having changed 6 filters and having complained a dozen times for a slow or no internet connection, sky asked me to pay £65 for an engineer visit or free engineer visit but with a new 12 month contract! The worse blackmail I have had during my 57 years of life. What is next?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We have been without internet since 5 days now
    And yet 2 more days to fix problem if any of the engineers showed up
    When we first called they said 2 days and then 3 days and now we have to wait 2 more days
    Very very bad service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Downpatrick
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    You will have no end to problems with sky. First, they tell us we can't have super fast in our new home so they give us essentials. That's between 0.014mbps to 1.2mbps for a week. We ring and complain and they say they can actually give us super fast so we upgrade. Queue to upgrade day. Whatever the engineer did, he didn't upgrade. Now we have no internet at all. This is a complete mockery. I have presentations and projects to research and deliver and can't because sky are just bad.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Eastbourne
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Rubbish company, they promised 71 mb , I'm getting 12mb, I called many time they offer to pay more money to get more speed, although I'm paying now more than any other company.be aware of this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    In Sep 2015 I changed from BT to SKy Broadband. after 2 months I started experiencing loss of service and every 3 days my connection was lost and I had to contact them to fix the problem. After all these months the problem kept going and the only thing they did was to give 2 vouchers of 5 pounds. Last week (4/5/16) they decided to send a technician to see what is actually going on and the guy changed the router, the wall socket and did some wiring. My broadband so far is more stable but when I called to request for compensation for all these months experiencing the problem they said that they do not give credit on the account and they will send me again a voucher which, according to them, costs actually more than the cost of my loss of service. this company sounds like a joke
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely shocking how unreliable Sky broadband and routers are. I went through the pain of having to call them when old router constantly dropped connection with devices. Got new router and upgraded package. Two months in and same problem has started again. Regular ritual of router resets and unplugging. Do not think about using them if you value your sanity.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sussex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    When you have it, the speed is ok, but it frequently goes off. Very unreliable! Customer Service have been no help at all, leaving! Don't recommend Sky broadband at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sunderland
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Very slow broadband. Was promised 3-6 mb, got 1.5.
    Upgraded to fibre. Promised 36-40 mb, currently getting 21. Speed drops and disconnects at least twice a day and WiFi range is poor.
    Customer service isn't much better, as they keep telling me that there is nothing wrong with the service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Worcester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Good customer service, worst broadband ever! Keeps lagging every time, and I have even the most expensive fibre unlimited broadband. Bad experience for an 18 month contract -_-
  • Reviewer
    Location
    7 Shannon Square
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have called many people like you guys,they're not satisfied about the service they got but of course there are others who liked it. and If you willing to change your provider we can help you and provide you with different speeds (depends on your usage and needs) with the lowest prices in the market right now and unlimited everything, and if you running the service now with another provider you won't be offline for one day in case of switching to us.also we won't charge you a penny till you fully up and running.the process of installation will be within 4 days(depends on your availability on your home).If you would like to receive a call within the next 48 hours from sending an email including (your name,post code,full adress,phone number) to this email jimmyscottuk@gmail.com.of course your information is fully secured. and also you can determine the best time to receive a call from us. don't judge until you try.I can guarantee that for you, you will be very impressed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Cumbria
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Constant battle to keep any 'working' broadband speed. It magically improves after complaining, only to revert to the pitiful 0.3Mbps download after a short while. Plenty of rhetoric from Sky with no substance.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have no satellite signal for about a month and have spoken to customer services on a number of occasions. They are the most unhelpful people ever. They won’t send an engineer. And they say I should sort it out myself with my managing agents. I am so so frustrated with them. I want to cancel my subscription. They are a total waste of time. Taking your money but I get nothing for it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grimscott, Bude
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Best download speed over our copper wires this week: 4.79 mbps - at 06:30hrs with just my laptop online.
    Switch on a mobile and the TV and things go tragic. No information from Sky available on when we can migrate to superfast BBand which apparently is available in our area. Sky aren't interested in us having it.
    Takes 80 mins to download a 9 mins programme in SD and for this we pay Sky a premium. It's insulting.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer service was amazing everything was easy to understand and set up even during covid pandemic.
    However, the Wi-Fi goes down every night without fail, for at least 5 - 10 minutes, sometimes can be down for up to 45 minuets.
    On top of that the download speed is dreadful, we receive a speed of less than 1 mbps all day long! this makes using any steaming services almost pointless. We've currently been with sky for 2 weeks and already have BT booked to come and install some actual Wi-Fi.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ayr, Scotland
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My internet was dropping a couple of times a day. The tech support guys tried to help, but eventually said there was nothing they could do and that a couple of dropouts a day was normal and caused by "active line management". Luckily I'm out of contract so I'm moving to another provider, and am actually going to save money.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Not going to choose this broadband again. After 6 months of contract they decided to change the price, even though the contract was for a year. Is it even legal? The speed is not so good if everyone in the household use their computers - 3 of us overall. Not convenient if working from home. Choose something else.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.