Sky Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Recent Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 936 customer ratings since 2023-04-13 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Sky   Read our Sky buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2,276 Customer Reviews over 57 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Been with sky for a long time, had no real bad issues (2 routers 1 power cord replaced) bt recently have had connection drops and reduced speed issues that are terrible. Phone, TV and internet all in 1 company. Was a good idea at the time but I am starting to shop around. When they work it is grrat but when they mess up they are an epic fail.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Dreadful support. No support for use of third-party routers. Supplied router (Sky Q Hub) is basically a toy, not a serious piece of IT equipment.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Haine
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    When moving house they have failed to move the broadband, we're still waiting after 5 weeks with no broadband for all this time. Now they are making cancellations and switching to other providers near impossible. You can never talk to a person on the phone, the robot either doesn't understand what you are saying or just passes you onto the facebook messenger service, before hanging up on you. There is no contact email.The facebook messenger service take ages to reply and always seem to be passing you over to other people so that your query and problems never get solved. So all in all lousy customer support, the phone number they provide as cost me £82 so far!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    With a connection that is a tenth of what the company is advertising and have informed me that I could obtain this is very poor however the issues are due to line quality which rests entirely with BT who dispite thier billions have still to invest in fibre optics as promised some 12 years ago.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Teignmouth
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Started out on fibre with 40mbps download speeds, over the past two years it has slowly decreased down to 4mbps. Simply disgusting.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Cant get fiber here so internet is as expected however the broadband is very unreliable and is prone to cutting out multiple times per day so is very annoying if in meeting or gaming, problems have persisted for months. Very unsatisfied customer.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Can't wait to leave my current houseshare as it means I can finally ditch Sky broadband.

    The wifi works ok-ish if you're sat right next to the router. Otherwise intermittent (even with router boosters). During Covid it has been absolutely terrible. Thankfully I don't need it for work because if I did I'd be stuffed. Just very annoying - currently trying to watch a youtube video on 144p which is pausing every 10 seconds.
    If it crashes completely prepare to have no internet for 2 weeks, and to spend hours waiting on hold with Sky 'helpline'. Like my old dial-up connection in 2001. Shockingly abysmal. But Sky are raking it in from all their various activities so don't care.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Sussex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Absolute rubbish since Sky took over from O2.I'm off to another provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    11 Mitford Road
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Since I switched to Sky I have had to put in 5 service calls. I had BT Infinity normal broadband I upgraded as I had thought a much better service to unlimited fibre optic with Sky. I never had to contact BT. Very unsatisfied. Can you help I obviously had to sign up to a contract with Sky. Their router seems to be pants.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Doncaster
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Drops connection at least weekly. Sky blame BT and BT blames Sky. Signed up for line cost only for 12 months then £5 per month for Internet. Couple of months in the bill went up £5 but great news, I could now have free evening calls. I didn't ask for any calls as covered with mobile. After 12 months internet cost kicked in as agreed but cost now £7.20 extra instead of the agreed £5. Not large sums I know but I am annoyed that Sky will hold you tightly to the terms of the original contract but change the fees whenever they feel like it. Changing provider as soon as contract ends.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Heathrow
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    01/03/2024 booked my broadband to be installed on the 14/03/2024, I have taken a day off work UNPAID to make sure I was some when the engineer turned up.
    I have now received a text stating that the engineer could not start the install today, to which I have called sky strait away.
    Cut the bull**** out, sky CS said that apparently when the engineer knocked on the door that there was no answer.
    Baring in mind I have a dog in the house that barks when there is someone at the door, he can hear everything, even a needle dropping in the floor.

    After arguing with CS they advised me that the next available appointment was 4/04/2024 which isn’t good enough, that is a month after when I first booked to be installed.
    CS then come back to me and said that he has spoken to his supervisor and that I can have an AM slot on the 25/03/2024, to which is taking another day off work UNPAID

    So not only am I in the house with no broadband for nearly a month, I am also 2 days off work unpaid..


    Sums sky up to be honest.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    COVENTRY
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Extremely disappointed with sky. I cancelled my contract at end of December with it finishing end of Jan. Sky proceeded to take payments out of my account for Feb and march. When I rang they said they acknowledged there error and would refund within 72hours, a week went by and no refund. Contacted again and said it won't be till April that I get the refund and I was misinformed.

    That same week whilst waiting for my refund I was contacted to say I needed to return the kit and if not done by 30th march I would be charged. Whilst chasing the refund I asked about the return of the equipment and that I had no packaging. They stated this would be with me on the 21st and I explained that I will be away and unable to return by the 30th and that If the packaging had been sent within a timely manner and not less than 9 days before being charged I would of returned it by now. They said if it's not returned then I will be charged on 1st April, I repeatedly explained this is not possible to which they said purchase your own packaging at my own expense. With sky already having my money and me needing to put food on the table this is not acceptable. I would not recommend sky to anyone. I would also recommend when leaving cancel your direct debit as there system doesn't not work correctly (as stated by sky agent).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been in dispute with Sky since September, get passed from pillar to post to discuss and resolve the matter and still not got nowhere! A friend of mine had both sky and BT broadband and tv and advised that that they will not be renewing their contract with Sky! I can honestly now see why! Sky is only interested in Company satisfaction, not customer satisfaction.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Frimley
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    It's difficult to find your contact number online.
    It took >15 mins to get through once I found a number. Customer service team have no idea how to handle a complaint effectively.You increased my monthly bill in April, and proposed to increase it again in September despite me being a loyal customer. I expect so much more from sky!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    GARBAGE !!! Awful service overall , it’s obviously good when it works , but that is the big downside , WHEN it works ! Logging on to the website and getting a reply ....nope
    Calling and speaking to someone .........nope
    Them taking the full amount out of your bank account each month...........of course
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barking, London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Worst. There was an incident when the internet went out and my sis in law called Sky. They - according to our contract- was supposed to send a person out to fix any issues, however in order to qualify for that we had to open up the router and check for issues. So i opened up the router and started explaining what I was saying to the guy and pressing here and there to solve the issue. This is my first source of complaint because not everyone knows how to open up a router. When my sis in law was told to do that she got furious, and was lucky I was able to step in.

    The next problem we experienced was now- the winter time. The internet would literally for the whole day go out completely. It's connection is horrible as well. My phone cannot connect to the router either.

    My friends in the area in Barking are also experiencing the same issue. For me it seems that it doesn't suit my area, but having looked at the comments here i can see it is an issue with the product itself. Appalling. And i have to wait for my contract to end in April!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could give zero stars for reliability I would. Drop outs more common than a liberal arts college. I can't realistically use my internet connection for games because I will disconnect half way through every time. Streaming services are a no go either. Disastrous waste of time and money and I'd never go with them again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I live in central London near an excahnge i should have around 20mbs i have 1.7 i was told too many peeps using internet!! WTH. I pay for speed. Not good enough.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Felpham, west sussex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's a complete nightmare. Arranged to swap to Sky Q. The engineer could not install because the broadband speed was below five.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Sky joins Cadbury to make FUDGE! I raised a complaint that clearly showed a catalogue of issues that needed to be addressed. I had to chase for answers despite being promised a call back. They palmed me off with a £15 good will gesture and fudged every answer that needed answering. It left me feeling very unsatisfied and even makes me want to join TalkTalk, who are the worst of suppliers. My Sky TV has already been cancelled and I will very well be changing my service provider for Broadband come August. The customer service absolutely stinks on the Sky Fibre. A real shame, because I had good opinions about Sky for a long time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I do not advise anyone that has sky tv to have sky Broadband .Due to poor connectivity and lack of Wi-Fi , you loose both sky tv and all the other entertainment packages ,like Netflix,Disney,etc
    You can’t even watch YouTube,you have no internet .
    Rubbish system and Wi-Fi is terrible .
    Can’t wait for sky contract to end .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    Switched from BT last year. Counting the months until we can move elsewhere and regain a reliable WiFi service. Problems from the start; wifi cutting in and out, didn't cover house having to buy all sorts of extensions and plug-ins. We should have cancelled however are now stuck with a WiFi service which works less frequently than it actually works. Kids upset that they can't do their online gaming; we're having to use phone data for basic browsing etc...To date customer service of no service. I would recommend avoiding Skype broadband at all costs; easily our worst internet/broadband experience.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wallington Surrey
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What can I say.... I can't see any stars in sky, if there were a lower rating ild rate them a black hole, all you get with sky is the same bullsh!t day in day out, if its reliability your looking for, don't look up to sky all you'll find is a cloud, the signals blocked for long periods of time and when you do get a break in the cloud, don't expect to stream videos/ play games or browse web pages for longer than 10mins, there customer support team is amazing though, it seems that they can work miracles within the touch of a button when you complain, speeds seem to shoot over the top limit and everything becomes out of this world, but it ain't no heaven, after a couple of days those guardian angels seem to forget about you and you end up in hell again, struggling to do anything whilst that fcuking box smiles at you.... That's just my opinion, but if you don't mind not having there service half the time and like to watch your router smile at you, just remember it's your money there taking!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Worlds worst WiFi I could literally get a can of baked beans and create a better broadband I will constantly lag and it can barely look YouTube videos do not get this trust me it’s trash
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Durham
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Having tried Sky for a year I have got the say they really are dreadful. I have been without a signal so many times, I have list count. My telephone line wasn't working for well over 2 months and they didn't feel the need to refund me for the loss over this period. When I was nearing the end of my contract, I contacted them to inform them I didn't wish to renew, their advisor informed me that I had to call back 2 weeks prior to my contract ending which was the 28th and she informed me I had to wait till the 14th. So I did and then they still deducted the next months bill from my account. After informing me it was an overlap and I would receive my refund in 2 weeks, I waited. 2 weeks later still no refund so I contacted them again, now the amount I was going to be refunded was less than they had taken because I had an extra day of internet and their advisor had given me the wrong cancellation date. Now, 7 weeks after ending my contract, I still haven't received a penny. Sky has poor quality broadband and even worse advisors who misinform and simply mislead customers. Definitely will not be going back to Sky anytime in the future.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Just upgraded to sky broadband to replace over expensive EE. Wish I’d stayed with EE. Setup is tricky and customer support although patient and helpful could not fix the unusual behaviours of my Win10 machine. iPad works better but signal constantly drops. Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cirencester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    Had no wifi now for over a week and I am told by customer service that it will be another 3 days. meanwhile I am spending a fortune on data for my phone to use it as a hotspot. Truly useless - though they will blame Open Reach as always.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Agreed to pay £5:00 per month in October 2016 with no additional charges bank statement showed that £10:00 had been taken, am still waiting for this to be resolved despite numerous calls from them about understanding my frustration at the incompetence of not as yet listening to voice transcripts. Avoid them if you want good customer service, They also try to tell you that they charge additional charges for not having line rental etc but when contract agreed they were clear £5:00 per month.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Home
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Constantly stopping,speed of broadband very low compared to others on my street
  • Reviewer
    Location
    England
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Broadband drops on average twice a day which made working from home during lockdown frustrating on a daily basis. If you're working on the computer and another member of the household uses the wifi at the same time the computer speed goes to a crawl.
    Pxxs poor in other words.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Great Shelford
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Could not imagine a poorer broadband service. At best I see 4 mbps download..usually closer to 2. Speed is irrelevant however as the connection is not usually on long enough to get a measurement. Customer service is lovely and friendly, they just don't fix anything. Leaving for Virgin. Avoid Sky at all cost or do without.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    customer service very good but broadband terrible
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    again router just all over the place with speeds but had to listen to another idiot telling me that it is fine
    Getting 0.6 down and 7 up on a wired connection but the router is reporting 67meg down and my slow speeds might be due to peak times lol
    Fuming with the "computer say there is no problem so it must be true culture"
    Switched to bt before writing this
    Sky router was obviously from the toys r us closing down sale
  • Reviewer
    Location
    northern ireland
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    genuinely i don’t think your wifi could get any worse, the amount of times i will be sitting watching tv or on my phone and all of a sudden nothing loads cause of the wifi is unimaginable, literally the ******* thing ever! then you try and fix it and again doesn’t work, tv great fine good but the wifi is awful, worse than awful, so unreliable and inconsistent! recommend u get it sorted
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kingston
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    On Sky Fibre using the black SR102 hub on a 40MB subsription. Using a wired connection I get 39mb, but the wireless part of the hub is worse than useless I often get 1 - 2MB if I'm luck I might get 5mb down on a good day. Having researched the issue lots of people are having the same issue. From what I can make out there is interferance issue with the power supply and the wireless antenna. Long with sky using old technology in the hub adds to the problem. I would not recommend sky fibre until they sort out their routers
  • Reviewer
    Location
    IRVINE
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Not happy at all currennt speed struggles to cope witb multiple appliances signal conatantly drops mobile phone signal keeps getting booted n all sky tells me is signal is fine something inside the house is blocking the signal even after we moved ir several times th where they sugested i cant wait till my contract is up so i can leave them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    The sky braodband has issues, and hte customer care is very bad. They wont respond to you for a whole day and keep you waiting
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Absolute bunch of idiots. i have just transferred over to sky and they have "forgotten to tick a box" so that I can keep my existing telephone number. They are now telling me I cant have that number anymore and have to have a new number. How pathetic!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    alloa
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    started of fine but speed has dropped and start up used to be 15 to 20 seconds now 40 to 50 seconds .been with then 8 weeks still waiting on the £100 e voucher even after the sent a email saying it would be sent within 5 days that was 6 weeks ago. and received a letter today saying the price was going up.ive had 9 letters asking if i want to upgrade NO THANKS WISH I HAD NOT USED SKY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Sky
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    The broadband service is absolutely atrocious! Been with sky since December and was made aware that within the first 10 days of connection that speeds may vary and the connection may be unstable. It is now March and things haven't improved if anything it's worse! My connection keeps dropping on all the devices and I spent the past week not being able to connect to the Internet at all. Now I'm being told that the problem may be environmental and it is probably something in my home that is interfering with the WIFI signal! I've never heard anything so ridiculous. I never had any of these problems with BT! I am one very unhappy and very dissatisfied customer.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.