Shell Energy Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Shell Energy.

Recent Customer Ratings for Shell Energy

  • Satisfaction
    1.6 stars
  • Customer Service
    1.6 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars

Based on 570 customer ratings since 2021-07-05 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Shell Energy   Read our Shell Energy buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

844 Customer Reviews over 22 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Doncaster
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Customer service team want find a new job. They don't listen to the customers. When asked for help you get past around there colleagues. Because they don't know what to you. With your query.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincoln
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Never have I met such a totally inadequate customer service. Used the on-line chat-uselessm, was told I needed to ring. Spent hours listening to music, then told I needed to speak to Customer Service - that was who I had just rung !! That would be another 25 mins. at least. Never known such atrociuous service. I will make a claim for my wasted time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I also have BB through Shell and the service has been nothing short of appalling. Setup a Direct Debit which Shell despite saying the payment would be taken did not request payment from my bank. Clearly the DD system is beyond the understanding of some.
    However, my contract is now over and having search for a new provided have been advised by Shell Broadband that my final bill will include a cease charge of £15 as clearly shown in section 5.11 on page 16 of 27.
    This is a heads up to those looking to move to Shell, you will have to pay £15 to leave then at any time in the future.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have bee a customer since April 2021 and as soon as my contract ends I will find another supplier.
    For weeks after our service was connected our speeds were much lower that predicted and when I logged onto my account the messaging confirmed this. Customer Service at Shell refused to acknowledge this and then the speeds improved, but still lower than predicted.
    Broadband was unreliable for sometime and still resets after incoming/outgoing calls.
    We put up with it rather than spend time getting nowhere calling Shell.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Coast
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Signed up for the service back when they were still First Utility, at which stage they were nothing to write home about, but inexpensive and serviceable enough - the occasional drop-out notwithstanding.

    Since the takeover by Shell Energy, the company has become increasingly unable to provide the service we pay for. Of late, they have even resorted to aggressive 'traffic management' (throttling of downstream speeds) at peak times; it's been a lot like using an ISP from the early 2000s. In 2020, with homes far more reliable on a stable, reliable internet connection than they were in, say, 2003, this level of service is wholly unacceptable.

    Worse, from the moment we informed them we were leaving, the issues have increased. As we await the switchover to BT, Shell have quite blatantly de-prioritised our account in reaction to our departure... and will be charging us an arbitrary £15 for the pleasure of extracting ourselves from an inadequate and worsening service.

    Poor to begin with and petulant towards the end. I'd strongly advise potential customers to opt instead for grown-ups who can operate a service fit for the 2020s.

    Use Shell Energy only if you're nostalgic for the early days of broadband. Or even, at peak times, the good old days of dialup speeds.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cornwall
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Was very dubious joining this company for broadband after reading the reviews. But I went ahead anyway and well. What can I say. Faster speed than I had with sky. Reliability is brilliant. Online gaming has become fluent and no disruption at all. I highly recommend first utility !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Widnes
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi after been on the phone for over an hour to cancel this broad band as it’s off more than it’s on any body thinking of taking this broad band on wouldn’t bother it’s slow doesn’t work and charged me 102 pound to cancel and next mouth bill plz read reviews because this is worst broad band ever day light robbery and wouldn’t recommend these to any body
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I started having my broadband with Shell Energy 26.03.2020 and today 21.04.2020 I have left them. I regretted the decision to go with them because the broadband was inconsistent, cutting out multiple times. I tried to contact Shell but it was impossible as they are extremely busy. Today I had an email to say that I will be charged £111.36 early termination charge. I spoke with a resolutions gentleman, who was polite and understanding, however his senior manager said that they could not waiver the charge. I am thoroughly disgusted and disappointed with their decision.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Preston Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst experience I have had the misfortune to have. Shell upgrade my broadband to fibre without informing me. This resulted in my current rooter being incompatible. After 3 hours on the phone a new rooter was dispatched. When it arrived it was exactly the same as the original so not compatible. More complaints and I have yet to receive the correct rooter. Complete incompetence
  • Reviewer
    Location
    CF64 4AB
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Comments
    Signed up for shell broadband may 2021. Intermittent service- which was reported 5 times.
    Service engineer called out- was told there was a problem outside the house and I wouldn't be charged. But I was - £65 plus VAT.
    Still intermittant connection. Now I've been told there is a DIFFERENT problem for which I'll charged another £65 plus VAT.
    Rude customer service from 2 women - male customer service much nicer.
    Also told I should not expect continuous broadband- so intermittant service is accepted.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wandworth, London
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shell took over from my previous provider, where I had ten year of excellent service. Shell broadband is unstable and I am no longer able to use for my work TEAM or Slack calls. They never answer the phone and waiting online Chat, does not work as instead of queue position increases the longer you wait not reduces. Awful service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    kent
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    slow disconnects worst service I have ever joined I wont be staying you are like a bunch of clowns
  • Reviewer
    Location
    sittingbourne
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    useless disconnects more than is connected what a disaster sign up if you like but you might regret it later on complained countless times I will terminate my contract and go else where why should I pay for a service I cant use.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stockport
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I had a problem with broadband speeds and an engineer was sent (with the usual threats, of "if it's your wiring you will be charged") There was a fault on the local box. Fixed and no more problems.Near end of contract decided to change to different supplier who was offering fibre for same price as ordinary broadband with shell. Charged me £0.85p.
    So far so good: then received email asking for return of router and accessories, never had that before don't know where they are, be interesting to see where we go from here!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    POOLE
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    It's difficult to sum up in words , just how incredibly
    badly Shell Energy take their approach to customer relations .
    Basically it simply doesn't exist .
    They're obviously not interested in developing any sort of communication between themselves and their customers .
    They take money without being authorised to do so .
    They conjure up lies that don't relate to the actual facts .
    And they break their promises .
    And they have the cheek to hide behind the name of a world renowned company .
    Obviously Shell have somehow become involved with some tin pot broadband supplier , who has no idea to what amounts to customer satisfaction .
    Making this one of the most awful experiences I've ever had to endure, whilst trying to get back money from them , they had no right to take in the first place .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stockport
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Comments
    A total bag of excrement it has not given me anything near the speeds advertised it is always buffering and when I finally managed to contact their "Technical people" I was expected to monitor my broadband for 24 hours on the normal socket and then monitor it on the test socket for a further 24 hours and compare the two and give them the results.
    I would leave them now but am tied into a contract with exit penalties so what can I do?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Port Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had faster dial-up , the broadband is inept barely works 17mbps.. My arse! Avoid at all costs pay a bit more use uSwitch to find the best deals .. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Disgraceful company. Took over my Post Office broadband (I never had a problem in 6 years with PO). Shell cut me off straight away, blamed a cable for it. Made my buy a new router, exactly the same as the PO one. Didn't work. Said I didn't know what I was doing and was plugging it on wrong (!). Still awaiting compensation. Every time I speak to them I have to wait 45 mins on hold listening to their vile music and adverts. They have missed the March billing date for PO customers, so we will be charged double in June. I want to leave but I wonder if they're going to try and ruin my credit record and send the bailiffs round for non payment of non existant bill. The most disgraceful company I have EVER dealt with (including Talktalk circa 2008) and Vodafone. In fact, it's an insult to put those two companies in the same feedback as Shell. I cannot wait to get away from them, and yet I'm afraid to leave. They are pathalogical liars, they say they're going to do something, and just don't. WHy should they, I'm only some crappy PO customer that was forced on them. If only I'd read the reviews I could have avoided the horror of dealing with this vile company. Unless you really are stupid, don't go anywhere near them, don't buy their expensive petrol either. That's all they're good for - pumping gas.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blackburn
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible broadband connection low speed or no speed. Terrible customer service with watertight contract they will rip your pans off if you leave them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Trusted the Post Office, who no longer do broadband services, to transfer me to a decent-quality provider. But as soon as the service moved to Shell the quality instantly plummeted, slow and often barely existent especially at weekends. I really wish I hadn't agreed to transfer to Shell but having read the avalanche of appalling reviews I don't think I can face customer services!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid, avoid, avoid
    Customer service appalling.
    Internet speed useless.
    Complained many times during the 12 months I was stuck with them.
    Paid in advance so they actually owe me money but they keep billing me weeks after I've left.
    Now they say I haven't returned router, which I definitely did. They say they will add £35 to my final bill.
    What final bill??

    Beware of this scam.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

    One year of no or low connection, intermittent connection, top speeds of 0.8 upload and 5 MB downloads.

    Appalling customer service - unable to contact them via phone (which is expensive), emails ignored, complaints ignored,no ability to leave contract.

    Even after my one-year contract was up, it was impossible to leave! Weeks after requesting that they cease the line, the line is still open and they are still charging me for broadband!

    This company is impossible, infuriating and you should avoid them at all costs - don't say you haven't been warned!

    Quite how they've won a customer satisfaction award for their broadband in 2020 given the number of negative reviews they've received beggars belief.

    I would NEVER recommend Shell to anyone, and would certainly never use them again.

    I have had to resolve my complaint through an ombudsman and still have got nowhere weeks after making it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    RICHMOND
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    One of the unfortunate people 'sold' by MyPostOffice to Shell Energy. Seamless changeover promised wasn't, was without service for 2 weekends. Emails keep getting 'Delayed Mail' message. Have left several email complaints, only one responded to, to sign me up for a new [allegedly cheaper] 18-month contract, but bill came for old rate. No response when I asked for corrected bill. So very disappointed that MyPostOffice have landed us all in this.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cambs
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT use this company. you WILL regret it. Customer service is appalling, products are over priced and if you dare complain they'll flex their corporate muscles with intimidating threats. Besides the line ain't even theirs its a BT open reach line. You have been warned!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    essex
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    getting through to speak to someone takes a minimum of 35 minutes and they charge you for this which is £2.85 each time. They do not do anything they say they will do, so basically avoid them at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rustington, Sussex
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Beyond useless. Broadband keeps disconnecting, cannot get any help or advice or a resolution as unable to ever get through to customer services. Hours, and hours or trying. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sussex
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Appalling. Even if the speed was any good (it isn't) it's no use because it is constantly dropping out.

    Customer service was basically a fifteen minute phone call that resulted in them suggesting I turned it off and on again.

    AVOID AVOID AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lewes
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer service is fairly good and helpful, however, customer service should be low down the list of desirables as ideally you shouldn't need it. Speed is ok. The biggest let down for First Utility is the frequency of broadband outages and disconnections. In terms of reliability they are appalling. This is why I have rated customer service quite high as I often need to contact them to ask why I have no connection!

    Overall impression ... steer clear. Very unreliable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    great haywood
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Have had shell broadband for the last few weeks but then phone for some reason has now been disconected onthe 22nd September so I have no broadband or telephone line. Contacted shell through livechat but nothing has so gar been done to put the problem right
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yarm
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Installation date 25.04.22 speed good and that's all.Loose connection more than 6 times a day from Shell Router. Customer service poor generic and unhelpful hoping to keep you until the cooling off period is over. Have cancelled my contract as connections are now intollerable over 2 dozen today.What is the point of even paying 20p for such a terrible service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Derby
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shoddy router was and still is my issue - used another router and disconnects and speed issues have for me gone away (Ive gone back to the one I was given by Vodafone). Just for Information I don't use wifi from router as I have separate mesh for that.

    Its odd though as seems the router has half decent reviews so maybe crippled some other way
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barnsley
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    only gave 1 star as no option for zero
    shocking service wouldnt reccomend cant wait to leave
    took over from post office in feb and had nothing but issue and bad service since
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Swapped from BT infinity to First Utility. No problems at all, I haven't installed the First Utility router, just left the BT hub in place and it all just works. BT speed was fine but the price was not. Not notable difference in speed. So far so good. Not sure about customer service as I haven't tried to use it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hexham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Somehow we got disconnected after we paid the bill online. We usually pay over the phone but it would not let us. We have rang and were told it was a fault on their end. And to wait the usual 24 hrs blah blah, 24 hours has nearly passed and just to see what's going on we have rang again, only to be hung up on and no further info. Absolutely appalling, and receiving out next predicted bill during this time, oooh do one
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We are among the customers transferred to Shell from the PO and NEVER have we experienced such awful service. They do not answer the phone, they do not reply to emails except to say that it could take longer as they are receiving so many - not surprising if they treat all customers so badly! Can't wait to change to another supplier but Shell want to charge £78 as our contract does not expire till September. They do not send bills yet still take payment from our account - is this legal?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    James
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Comments
    AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID Put our prices up after not telling us if we left as energy customers our price would go up! We didn't even know that the price was special as it was the same for non-energy customers all over the internet. Their terms and conditions have been very well put together to basically charge and do whatever they like. they did not cancel my contract as I asked in writing in August 2017 and still continue to bill me to this day to the tune of £508!!! They have 5 people in their compaints department and cannot get back to you or answer your complaint 11 weeks later, their names are useless, incompitant, waste of space, why are we paying you and numpty! If you want a good provider for Home Phone and Broadband, go direct to Talk Talk!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    My contract started last November 2021 and since day 1 my Wi-Fi never worked. I have an opened case since 6 months because they weren’t able to solve it. I’ve called the customer service so many times and it’s just a waste of time. They kept asking for money even to leave the contract and they only sent me an engineer on February. The engineer proved that there’s no fault in my house and they still charged me for it. I’m not free to leave the company as they are going to charge me for it. They gave me some credit back but they are using it to pay the engineer and basically since I’ve received this credit my Wi-Fi stopped working at all. I cannot even see the line. This situation is creating me so much anxiety and stress. I’m not even sleeping at night time. Nothing like that ever happened to me in my all entire life. I regretted so much signing that contract. Don’t join it because it’s the worst company ever. I never received the service I’m paying for and they only keep asking me for money. There’s nothing worst than that. I wish I could come back and never sign this contract. I’m trapped. Don’t trust this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wisbech
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid at all costs. I was migrated from PO broadband. I've never had a problem in 5 years. I now have slow speed broad band and literally no phone. I have tried ringing customer services but there is no answer ever. I've sent numerous e mails and a letter.
    I would get out of my contract but it won't let me log in to find a way to do it.
    I have cancer and really can't believe how upsetting this all it. I just hope everyone avoids this terrible company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Market Harborough
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am so angry and upset with this company that I feel I need to make others aware of their appalling service. I was paying for ‘super fast speed’ broadband for over a year! The connection was shocking! I now realise after leaving them and joining another company, that it wasnt ‘our fault’ that it was slow (which is what we were told by Shell) it was their fault!!!! Their customer service was terrible. Even after having my contract cancelled I continued to be harrased by emails saying I owed more than £80! They even got debt collectors after me! My contract had ran out so I didnt even owe them a cancellation fee. They charged me for my router!!! Which was an 8 yesr old router from the previous company that Shell took over! Im so shocked at how they treat their customers. Trying to scrounge more monies and threatening them. PLEASE DO NOT JOIN THIS COMPANY!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    York
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Broadband is okay, is not the fastest but it's quite reliable.
    However I've just realised that Shell has charged me £54.16 for having to send the technician out because they couldn't tell me what to do and what to look for when I was installing the modem. It turns out that they could have told me the lines come from the back of the houses not the front and saved me time and money, but they didn't. How should I have known their lines come from the back of the house?
    Very poor service!!!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.