Shell Energy Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Shell Energy.

Recent Customer Ratings for Shell Energy

  • Satisfaction
    1.6 stars
  • Customer Service
    1.7 stars
  • Speed
    1.7 stars
  • Reliability
    1.6 stars

Based on 294 customer ratings since 2023-04-19 (Show all time ratings)

Find alternatives to Shell Energys to Shell Energy   Compare broadband in your area

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1,452 Customer Reviews over 37 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Moved over from BT and “go live” date was missed and was without internet for 14 days. Open reach did not complete work in time for go live date but Shell kept in contact, raised issue and compensated £8 a day for the issue. Dealt with very well.
    Connection is excellent and being part of Open Reach network should mean same as other providers such as BT which I left. Currently getting faster more consistent connection than before.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Terrible service. Tried to phone them about a router password. After 30 mins on phone I was cut off.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridgshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could give their customer service a negative rating a would.

    As a previous post office customer, I decided to upgrade to a full fiber package in early January 2023- I was repeatedly given different installation dates. Finally on the 21 March I was given a confirmed date for the Openreach engineer to arrive. Suffice to say nobody arrived on the agreed date. Subsequently 2 more engineer visits resulted in a line being installed-but still no internet service. As of the 24th of April(more than 3 months) they managed to achieve nothing.

    Dealing with their customer service is something akin to torture with endless recorded messages and options before you end up speaking to a person. They then end up transferring you from one person to another, a process which usually ends with you getting disconnected and then having to start the process again. I'm not exaggerating if I say I've talked with over 50 individuals over the course of at least 10 calls. I've also tried e-mail- which is no better.

    In the end they started charging me for a service that was not working. I finally managed to cancel my contract- but I would rather walk over broken glass than have anything to do with them ever again.

    In summary, do not under any circumstances sign up with this company- don't be taken in by good deals, its not worth it- choose any other provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cambs
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT use this company. you WILL regret it. Customer service is appalling, products are over priced and if you dare complain they'll flex their corporate muscles with intimidating threats. Besides the line ain't even theirs its a BT open reach line. You have been warned!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambs
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I can only advise you avoid this organisation. Criminal is the only way to describe their tactics. They hope people will give up and accept ridiculous hidden extra charges. Charging extra at the end of your contact, charging if you fail to return a useless router. Charging if you do return the router, but claim they need "evidence". These people should be in prison.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambs
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I didnt choose to go with shell broadband ,they took over from the post office unfortunately. The internet speed is AWFUL, it is cinstantly breaking up,everyday you have issues with it, a lot of the time its literally like youve been disconnected and you have to spend AGES turning stuff off and on or literally ust go to bed and hope its better next day. Dont knwo where they get their 3.5 stars from, you only have to look at their twitter to see the SHEER nmber of people who have an issue with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cannock
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Quite possibly.the worst thing you can do is change to first utility broadband, chat to them about problems & they say we will update you...they never get back to you.if you prone to let them know of a problem.... You're charged for the call.a new provider with.i guess,no infrastructure& no experience,launched before everything was in place.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    Post office was the best Internet provider i had ever had and then along came shell energy. They took over and what a shock to the system it was, our Internet speed plummeted despite us being on one of the highest speed pakages. I suspect we were down graded on the switch over and im lucky if i get a consecutive 5 hours of Internet without if completely dropping out. Overall its just not a good company. But thats not the worst of it. We recived an email saying the prices are increasing and we had 30 days to switch if we wanted to and we would get no exit fees. So we did just that the very same day, finding a cheaper more reliable company and set it all up. We even sent an email informing shell that we were taking them up on the offer to switch without fees. And then got an email telling us we ere gettng charged exit fees. I phoned and was told theres jothing they can do because its already on the system and its my fault because i was supposed to phone them before trying to switch and ask to be let out of the contract.which is not what ofgem states. I do not have to ask permission to switch, and the only time i need to inform them i am switching is if my provider doesn't use openreach cables. So no im not pleased at all with this company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Where do i start? We were taken over from postoffice. As if overnight our broadband was slower and dropped out more often then not for days at a time (many open reach visits and 3 new routers).

    The price rise came and i saw we could exit without fees so i decided to get out of the conrtact while i could (it was a bit of a god send especially when i was getting such a bad service anyway)so i switched, found a much better deal with guaranteed speed in my remote area.

    And when i informed them i had switched i got this haughty customer service agent tell me 'you cant do that, your in contract. If you leave it will cost you' i explained im leaving because your upping the price in a fixed term so wont need to pay and fees becuase it was shell breaking our contract agreement. Needless to say they then preceded to try and charge me and my new provider exit fees. Luckily my new provided managed to nip that in the butt quickly.

    Then we come to now, i switched got my final bill and i owed £0.00 and my new contract started on the first day of my billing month. I had to phone up on 5 seperate occasions to get a return lable sent to me to return the router. Eventually i got the label and returned it. But because they messed about so long i got a second final bill with £35 charges for non return of a router. I checked the tracking via royal mail and found it had been delivered 3 days after i posted it. So i phoned shell and told them id returned it and gave them the tracking, date they received it and the time. The agent said they had wavered the fee.

    6 weeks later ive had two more threatening emainls demanding payment for the router. I spoke to an agent today and was told that there is no charge,the fee was wavered and i shouldnt be receiving any emails. Then tried to tell me i must be reading the bill wrong. Well when it states in big red letters £35.00 debit needing to be paid by December i dont think im reading it wrong.

    I was told i cant speak to a manager or supervisor and i need to just 'ignor the emails, because they will stop Eventually'

    So my advice? Just dont touch this company, the broadband is slow and choppy. And the customer service agents took nearly 6 sweeks to email a lable to me. They just havent got a clue.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Does what it's supposed to - no issues so far but haven't had to use customer service yet. Better than the Vodafone I had before
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Genuinely the worse company I have ever dealt with. Do NOT go to this company for Broadband. No service for a month and clueless advisors who could not help in any way. Very poor service technically and bad responsiveness. Save yourself a lot of heartache and go elsewhere. I had no service at all and they blamed me for needing higher speeds for working from home.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If you want to relive the 90s spending a day on the phone with dropped calls, constant redirects, clueless staff, management with no respect for the customer. This is the company for you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Transferred from "mypostoffice.co.uk" in takeover. I've been overcharged and ignored when complained via email, but eventually reimbursed. Until my October bill:- notified of charge but unable to download and print bill despite constant failed attempts. Excuses: "Oops something gas gone try again later" "Sorry wrong password". "We are very busy try again"
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst provider ever, customer service is diabolical.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carlisle
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Changed to new contract supposed to be 19/10/22 did not have any Internet for 2weeks kept ringing 1hiur wait till anyone answered. Said line could be faulty. Openreach would come and check heard nothing after taking time of. Needed Internet since husband connected to hospital. Kept phoning then they said it was router. Sent router out still didn't work. Phoned again said they had sent wrong router and would put in a complaint and some would phone 31/10/2022 guess what no one rang. So waited again router said they would send it by dpd since urgent came by post. Rang again said someone was phoning 2/11/2022 still no one did. So rang again 3/11/2022. Asked to speak to a manager got told they can't put you through policy. So he spoke to him said he couldn't ring for 48 hours since he was busy. Asked if he worked Saturday said no so how can he ring. Chap I got was working from home could hear cat in background I asked him if he was and he said yes. Still waiting. Do not go with this company. I was transfered from post office
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carlisle
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Two years ago I joined Vodafone broadband. The service was so bad I had two heart attacks and I'm still trying to get the £200 compensation they promised. This lot are even worse and I cannot get any sense out of them. Having agreed a deal where I was supposed to get £220 bonus voucher. No mention on the contract although it was promised by IMRAN WHO from Somewhere.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carlisle
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had no other choice but to log a formal complaint today with Shell Energy, due to my - still to this day - completely un-functioning broadband.

    My go-live date with Shell Energy Broadband was due to be on 12th December 2022. Throughout that day and into 13th December, the status indicator on the router was red and the x2 wireless indicators were solid green, however the router was unable to provide any WiFi to any device connected to it. Following Shell Energy's troubleshooting advice in the leaflet that came with the router, I thoroughly followed all advice and even went as far as checking the wiring within my network connections within my home. Having verified that everything was okay from my end, I called Shell Energy on 16th December to explain the issue.

    During this call on the 16th December, Shell Energy performed a line test and this showed that there was a line fault on the local network. Shell Energy then arranged for BT Openreach to rectify the issue remotely, but failing that, an engineer would visit on 21st December.

    I waited, and 21st December passed, yet my broadband was still not functioning. I called Shell Energy again on 22nd December to explain the situation, and Shell Energy ran another line test. This time, the result of the test indicated that my router was incompatible. Shell Energy then apologised and told me that they sent me the wrong router model for my package, and they would despatch a new router to me; however, with Christmas coming up, delivery of the router would likely be the 27th or 28th December.

    Okay, so once more, I waited patiently. With no router delivered to me by 31st December, I decided to give Shell Energy a call once more. When I asked where my router was and if they could provide a tracking number as proof of postage, Shell Energy advised that no router was despatched to me following my previous phone call with them, and that they would now arrange for a new router to be despatched. I received email confirmation shortly after this phone call that the new router is now on the way to me, but I am yet to receive any tracking information to prove this, so as far as I'm concerned nothing is concrete yet!

    To summarise - I am angry, saddened, frustrated, and completely disappointed in Shell Energy for the service I have been provided thus far. As a new customer, I should receive an amazing service yet I have been failed on multiple instances now, and left with no broadband for three full weeks - now to be four weeks of no broadband, by the time my new router will supposedly arrive. Yet my contract is live and I have already received my first bill.

    I just simply cannot recommend Shell Energy. Never in my life have I been failed so badly by a company, with multiple failures back-to-back in providing the service I am asking for. The stress and hassle this has caused in both the run-up to and over the Christmas period has honestly made me resent Shell Energy.

    Hopefully my formal written complaint rather than yet another phone call will resolve this situation, but I won't hold my breath...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute terrible company. Don't get Broadband with this company, they recently took over Post Office Broadband..... and ruined it. They are a complete rip off. I am reluctant to even give one star, I would give ZERO if possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I reported a line fault and was informed by Shell that they had supplied the wrong router for the broadband package I was on and supplied a new one which didn't work !!
    I reported that the NOT wall unit indicates a line fault only to be told to perform a series of tests on the router and wiring no avail.
    Further phone calls with the telephone line disconnecting while being transferred to other technical departments!
    Further calls to Shell and finally advised that a telephone service engineer would call same day at 3pm or following day between 10 - 12am.
    No engineer arrived.
    Further call complaining about this only to be told that no engineer's appointment had been made.
    On the Saturday I was finally able to speak to someone in the UK who promised to get an engineer to attend on the following Monday.
    To my surprise an Openreach engineer came on the morning and sorted the line fault out and confirmed that it was the line and not the router or wiring to the router at fault.
    I cannot wait until I can change my broadband provider and hopefully not experience the problems with a very inefficient technical support Department like Shell.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carmarthenshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband went down at 10pm last night.
    It briefly connected this morning but has been off now since 10am.
    Despite saying c/s is open between 9am and 6pm on a Sunday when I called was told they are closed.
    Abysmal service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Caxton
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible service, slow speed, constant breakdown in email account !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Central Scotland
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    (First are just a TalkTalk reseller by the way). The ISP that doesn't supply you with the password for your own broadband. The PPPoA password is preinstalled on the router and hidden from you, ok. Want to change from their cheap, disfunctional router? You'll need the password, obviously. Try emailing customer service and they will systematically ignore repeated requests to supply you with your own password. To the extent that it is now being taken to an ADR. Quite surreal.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    CF64 4AB
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Comments
    Signed up for shell broadband may 2021. Intermittent service- which was reported 5 times.
    Service engineer called out- was told there was a problem outside the house and I wouldn't be charged. But I was - £65 plus VAT.
    Still intermittant connection. Now I've been told there is a DIFFERENT problem for which I'll charged another £65 plus VAT.
    Rude customer service from 2 women - male customer service much nicer.
    Also told I should not expect continuous broadband- so intermittant service is accepted.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cf83
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I would never go with this company again I was quoted a price through Uswitch but when I called the customer help line the lady said I had it through another website I complained no luck. At the end of the the 12 month period I have gone with another company i now have been charged for not returning the router which I sent back and it has been delivered to them avoid the company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chadwell
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The internet is awful always drops and disconnects, been with them for a month or two and wish we never did as it is all a scam. Go for any other provider and stay away from this at all costs!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chadwell heath
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Excellent speeds and connection.
    Very happy.
    Thank you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chatham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If you have any other option then better chose them over shell energy as they are just time waters and does not care about customers at all. As shell energy is relatively new broadband provider I decided to give it a go. I was waiting for broadband to be up and running and even received a router. Then I received the email that my order been cancelled???? I got on the phone with them immediately and had to wait over 40 min on hold to be told that they cannot help and the best I can do is to place the order again and hope(?!) that it will not be cancelled next time. I have already waited over a week and I said I would like to log a complaint for them as a feedback and to improve the system that is wrong and disappointing for customers but lady said she will not do it as there is nothing else to be done(?!). Honestly I wanted to be their new customer but with this attitude and lack of care I would not recommend it to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Another victim.
    Switched to cut down on Broadband bills. Will probably work as service unreliable.
    Calls to Customer services result in multiple attempts to persuade you to upgrade to same fee as previous provider, which negates point of switch.
    Avoid Shell energy slowband at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Honestly never had worse connection that with this so called broadband, I had better internet connection 15 years ago when I lived in the countryside and the local travellers had stolen the copper phone lines. Don’t even bother signing up, you will barely be able to watch a YouTube video.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Wifi is at best shocking - anything located more then 2 foot from the router will have issues connecting!
    It is the old adage; you get what you pay for and this maybe be cheap but it is crap
    We'll be moving to Sky as soon as the contract is up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Useless company want to double my bill after 8 months with them customer services totally crap cut me off twice when I found another supplier they want to charge me £118.76 to terminate contract they can do one do not touch they are useless
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Comments
    Waste of space. They give you a 3rd hand refurbished router that doesn't meet current standards. When you complain they offer to upgrade you (5 times during a 30 minute call),to a package that costs the same as the one you have just switched from.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chepstow
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's terrible. Yes I was with PO for price. But it worked. Never had a problem. Now no Netflix. Even quiet times of day, no internet. How can this be, same lines
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Comments
    The customer service is appauling,broadband unreliable was so bad had to cancel the contract within a month.Awful experience.
    I was hoping to safe some money from Sky but huge mistake.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Couldn't be happier. Get 34MB most of the time and haven't had any connectivity issues
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’d give minus stars!!
    I’d give minus stars!!!
    This company are scammers and a joke! I was originally with post office and then they automatically switched me over to shell energy! The first thing I will say is the internet never worked it was the worst internet I’ve ever had in my 30 years! Anyway it’s £25 per month so u get what u pay for really! I rang to change the direct debt details as I had changed banks, I was told this was done but it hasn’t been, therefore they charged me a direct debt return amount! I rang again and they told me that I owed money for a month on the account which was 3 times what I had normally been paying! I was happy to pay the monthly amount but they wanted £80 for September only I looked at bank statements and I was all up to date with payments and they were not having it, they said I was out of contract so I signed up again to a similar amount to what I had previously paid. 15 days later (just out of cooling period) they tryed to take the money from the old direct debt again (incompetent) I just told them I would cancel as the new contract hadn’t started yet and wasn’t due to be paid untill 20 days later, they said I would have to pay a cancellation fee, now this really f me off as it wasn’t my fault they didn’t change direct debt, wasn’t my fault they hadn’t contacted me to say my contract ended, and I didn’t even sign up with shell energy in the first place, now few weeks pass and they have sold my debt of £80 which should of only been £25 onto a debt collection agency! I then received threatening messages from shell energy by text by email by letters, so I paid the outstanding balance which was £200 (cancellation fee) I have no 3 months later received another email to say I haven’t sent the routed back to them and now owe them more money, I didn’t receive anything to send the routed back, after paying out money I shouldn’t of had to right before Christmas they are now changing me for the router aswell this company is a joke and can not do simple tasks or communicate with there customers leaving the customer out of pocket and distressed AVOID THIS COMPANY
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cheshire
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not even apply this is the worst service I have ever had.Service staff are rude and arrogant ,speed is that of an elderly slug, reliability is a joke. I tried to terminate within 14 days charge is applied.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire UK
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    All I can say is we;ve been counting the months until we can go with another ISP. For a multi-billion pound company, the functionality of the website is deplorable. I can't ever view my bills, important links on the website don't function. It's actually shocking how bad Shell are as an ISP.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshunt
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible! In the 3 months of being with then we didn't have 1 day of good broadband. We were constantly rebooting the router and restarting the box. Every time my son tried gaming on his pc the Internet would loose service and the rest of the house couldn't use their devices.Trying to get through to customer service was just as bad as I'd say the average time to get through was about 1hr. An engineer came to see why we were having so many problems and said we needed a new router but shell refused to supply 1 for free saying I'd need to pay for it. The final straw was when we lost Internet service 32 times in 1 day! Eventually shell agreed that I could leave with no fees to pay as I was not receiving my contract service agreed but instead of disconnecting the broadband on the actually day agreed they disconnected the service the night before so we were left with 1 day of no Internet. We only decided to change our broadband provider to shell as they were cheaper but to be honest I wish I hadn't bothered. My advise, always read as many reviews as you can before switching broadband provider as I wish I had researched more before agreeing to move with their service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chester
    Reviewing
    Shell Energy
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Broadband keeps cutting out for a few minutes at a time. Signal doesn't get to the front room in our house. No matter when you leave in or out of contract you get charged £15. Its unavoidable. What a joke. Won't be using their broadband, fuel stations or energy again!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Shell Energy are not affiliated with Broadband.co.uk. This page does not constitute any affiliation between Broadband.co.uk and Shell Energy.