Post Office Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Post Office.

Recent Customer Ratings for Post Office

  • Satisfaction
    2.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.6 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2.2 stars

Based on 944 customer ratings since 2019-02-19 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Post Office   Read our Post Office buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1027 Customer Reviews for Post Office

  • Showing page 1 of 26, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Well what can I say! The Post Office probably is the worst company that you are going to deal with. No phone for three weeks then no caller display. Internet is the slowest I have come across. The caller display issue is such a small issue that should have been sorted within a couple of days. But no three weeks later still no caller display. The customer service is non existent. Literally. I was told there is no customer service department!! Good luck if you choose the Post Office, you’re going to need it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Post Office  
What a load off rubbish not worth getting if you value you time spending 20 mins to load a video, was told by a member off there team when we rang to complain they said “there was no point having WiFi if it’s that slow your on about 2mbs which is useless” so please tell me what we’re paying for.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bedford Post Office  
I decided to leave a review as it appears only dissatisfied customers are leaving them.
I changed 3 weeks ago from Plusnet to Post Office saving £15.00 a month. The changeover went smooth as silk and I am getting consistently over 35Mb/sec connection speeds with very very few disconnections. Overall a very positive experience.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Sherborne Post Office  
AVOID unless you have carrier pigeons as a back up.

I took their broadband offer of £15.90 a month 10 months ago and I can’t wait until I can bin it and go somewhere else, ANYWHERE else.
I moved to this “service” on the basis of cost because Sky who provided us with a brilliant service were going to bill me £29 a month which I thought was expensive.
SO …… where do I start? With Sky we were getting a consistent 8mb, with Post office, 4mb if we’re lucky and frequently not much quicker than ISDN.
When I queried this with their laughable “tech support”, I had some Dixon’s reject telling me that it was all down to “wireless interference” from outside of our property, i.e. a neighbor was causing the mayhem. Yes, really.
SO, for four consecutive nights I hauled myself out of bed at 4.am when all of my neighbours were fast asleep and guess what? No change at all.
THEN there are the multiple daily breaks in service and I do mean daily….and I do mean multiple.
In fact it broke for 10 minutes while I was trying to submit this review.
Anyway, we have two more months of the contract to run and if they paid ME to continue with it I wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot barge pole.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
South Wales Post Office  
I read the reviews and thought surely they can't be that bad ?
Oh dear. I was put on the wrong contract at the wrong price. Twenty minutes wait on the phone for a customer service person who then told me it wasn't his fault or the Post Offices, it was Fujitsu, who he said oversees things. Eventually he told me that for 10 days although someone had instantly saw they'd filled out the boxes incorrectly, their method for telling others had not been seen or actioned. He then said he couldn't do anything until I went ' Live '. I asked what do I get for the time wasted and the mess about. £ 5. Wow ! This is all before I'm supposed to be connected next week.
Leave them ? Maybe I should but it's just a pain to switch again. Maybe they should just be able to do their job ?
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Penrith Post Office  
I have just spent the worst 3 weeks as a Post Office Telecoms customer, we had our switch on the 21st January 2020 and then spent 3 weeks with no Internet. I called 8 times and was told on 4 occasions that an engineer was coming out. I finally cancelled my contract after 3 weeks, They very nicely told me they would not charge me a cancellation fee, which considering they broke the contact on there end was a joke. An engineer finally showed up on 11th February and had the issue fixed with 1 hour, the exchange in town had no Internet connection as it had been unplugged. This could have been fixed at day 1 if they had send engineers out right away. No Compensation was offered and when I asked I was told it is not possible.

Never choose Post Office Telecoms
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Canterbury Post Office  
Absolutely rubbish wasn’t happy with the service what so ever internet was always down most of the time couldn’t connect. When phoned to say it isn’t working Kenya saying need a new connector from phone lone to modern which I had to pay for and still had same issues. Eventually decided to go with a different company and post office made me pay exit fee of over £80 even though it wasn’t my fault it didn’t work and didn’t give me the chance to dispute it really wouldn’t recommend anyone using them
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Walsall Post Office  
Awfully slow, worst ever. Do no use! In addition, customer service impossible to reach. Avoid at all costs
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wales Post Office  
Really terrible service and customer service was very poor.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Glasgow Post Office  
Would also give NO stars is possible. Please steer far and wide from this disaster of a broadband company. I placed an order with them on 1/11/19 with a go live by date of 18/11/19. After the WORST experience of my life since being a home owner (25 years) I eventually got broadband on 03/01/20. After going back to my old provider Plusnet. I switched due to cost and a better deal but how this has taught me a lesson.
I am self employed and do rely on some broadband service, although it’s not the end of my business if I don’t have any, it did cause me soooo many headaches issues due to the run up of Christmas and a big work event I had for three weeks from the 05/01/20.

This company should be shut down, never seen such poor customer service and lies after lies, passing the book etc.

I was on the verge of being ill with the stress this caused me not to mention the hours and hours wasted on the phone, writing emails, on hold etc.

AVOID AVOID AVOID.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Chorley Post Office  
I'm very happy with the service and customer care team support. A couple days passed since the activation date of my broadband and it works fine.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Manchester Post Office  
I was promised upto 9Mb speeds when I took out the contract (my previous supplier I was getting around 8Mb), although I am less than 2Km from the exchange and should achieve 12~15Mb the line is of very poor quality. The Post office broadband service as advertised assumes an ADSL2 or ADSL2+ service but in reality it is a very old G.DMT (1st gen ADSL) service not capable of more than 8Mb. I was misled into believing I would be getting a similar speed to my previous supplier but I now suffer lots of drop outs and speeds of less than 5Mb at times and never over6 (it was worse on the router they supplied). The post office are misleading customer by promising speeds that they know are impossible to achieve. Avoid this service if you view on demand TV. My set top box crashes when the Broadband is lost and rarely can I view a full program without a 5 minute interruption! The PO just tell me there are no faults on the line and completely disregard my complaint.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Upminster Post Office  
Do not touch with a barge pole- The customer service of this company is terrible (I only gave 1 star as there is no option to give none).

After being without internet for 24 days (at a personal loss of £500- I work from home) I was offered £1 a day in compensation. I turned this down only to be contacted 4 days later by a woman who clearly has not customer service experience, as she talked AT me and wasn't keen on considering the frustrated customer on the end of the phone. She told me that the Post Office didn't consider me viable for compensation...which, given I have been a customer for 15 months already, is lovely!
PO is not signed up to the OFCOM compensation scheme as they do not think “it is viable”, but they are perfectly happy to take your money whilst NOT providing a service they are contracted to do.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wiltshire Post Office  
Terrible internet provider - I do not rate them AT all. Customer service is appalling; lack of communication, incompetency and some of their staff really help to make you feel stupid. The internet drops out quite constantly and is slow. If you don’t plan to stream or use your internet for anything other than a quick Google once in a while, then it’ll be fine. Else you’ll end up trying to cancel, being told that’s all fine and still being charged £30 for the privilege of having Internet you don’t want. Really disappointed service and will wholeheartedly avoid in the future. I suggest you all do too.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Exeter Post Office  
my post office broadband internet is going down all the time my post office Fibre Broadband not been put on yet i am sick of it you call me tell me its not on yet and your work is very bad i am very sine of it meant to be on by the 28th of last month and is still not on fix it or i will be looking for some where else
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
todmorden Post Office  
If I could give 0 stars I would. Left my provider 1 month early and incured a charge. Signed up through topcashback online for broadband due to start 31.1.20. On 31st No internet no router received? Contacted them told me I only signed up for phone? I have evidence to the contrary
I was told to call back on the 1st feb as they where unable to put it through. I called back and told someone would call me back? No call back. Again 4th Feb promised a call back from complaints team? No call back. I cancelled before it started and went with another provider.post office is a Very unprofessional company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Beveridge Post Office  
MOVING THE ACCOUNT BETWEEN ADDRESSES

* 12hrs and rising over 10+ calls trying to sort issues out
* 2 callbacks promised and not made
* 7 dates given for go live - all missed
* Order is now 6 weeks late and not fulfilled
* 6 weeks without service and they wont offer any compensation for loss of service and earnings

Post office have provided hands down the worst customer service experience I have ever witnessed. They have missed callbacks, missed service delivery dates, always say the matter will be updated tomorrow (literally every time we call) and continually blamed the matter on BT Open Reach (I am an IT Engineer and sat with the engineer who talked me through & verified everything). Wont let me cancel as the order is still in process but cant give a time for delivery (and will be forver at this rate).

Avoid like the plague.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Essex Post Office  
The worst ever broadband provider I have ever been with , customer service cant even understand them broadband speed worse than the old dial up connection , Cant wait till my year is up January next year , will never use them ever again slow braodband very VERY slow and none existent customer service
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
bolton Post Office  
Useless customer service at first. Instead of consultation 3 month ago they connected me to their speedless network(7mb/s)!!! And now posted me the 150pounds bill
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sheffield Post Office  
Safeguard is blocking everything, even though it's turned off. Customer service is useless and won't reply to emails. Broadband speed is poor similar to talktalk.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Great Dunmow Post Office  
It's early days but the initial signs are not good - the broadband connection is the worst I've ever had - like stepping back years - streaming a show is pointless due to the continual buffering. Yes it's the cheapest deal on the market, but my advice would be avoid - particularly if you need broadband for your work - it's painfully bad at times...
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cardiff Post Office  
Terrible unreliable broadband, and the customer service is worse. Tried to cancel an hour after going live but the 14 day cooling off period begins from when you sign up so they wanted me pay the full amount of my contract. Had it a week now and it’s gone off twice. Phoned customer service, it’s 50/50 wether they talk to you or cut you off once you have got through.Sat in last week waiting for engineer who never came, apparently that is fine, he may not need to come to the house and they don’t tell you your ok to go out. I could go on but you get the idea.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Oldham Post Office  
Very poor and unstable internet connection. I urge anyone thinking about joining Post Office Broadband to seriously reconsider your choice.

Internet connection: Unreliable and very slow. Sometimes the download & upload speeds will almost get to zero, at which point the internet connection will crash and reboot. This takes around 1-2 minutes and you can expect multiple such events daily. Post Office Broadband even has a name for this event in their FAQs called "re-synching", but with bogus technical explanations.

Router: Cheap, old and very limited. Slow and dated interface with non-existent firmware/security upgrades. If gaming online, you can expect connection issues with other players.

Broadband Online Account: Very poor and dated interface - looks like a webpage from the 90s. Cannot pay online using bank cards! Card payments accepted only via the phone or you can pay by bank transfer. Its like a guy working part-time set up the whole thing. Totally insane.

Customer Service: Slow reply, closed/cancelled support tickets and severe lack of technical knowledge. Connection issues blamed on bogus reasons such as electrical interference, phone sockets and other things.

Moving house? Awesome! You can't take your contract to your new address like all other companies. Instead, they will let you cancel the current contract with no termination fees and make you sign a new contract at your new address. Man oh man!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Plymouth Post Office  
We are a 2 person household and internet usage doesn’t extend beyond streaming tv onto the iPad (hardly ever with more than 1 iPad in use at same time). So we have been fine with the ‘standard broadband’ packages offered by BT, Sky and most recently Plusnet. When that contract ran out in the summer I went with the cheapest option available (which I have always done in the past without any problems) and went with The Post Office. My expected speed was given as 13-17Mb but in reality it is rarely above 1Mb. Streaming is unreliable at best. The desktop computer basically doesn’t think it’s even connected to the internet! I’m seriously considering breaking my contract for the first time as previous reviews have stressed The Post Office is useless at addressing issues... I would avoid in future and maybe the ‘cheapest’ in this arena isn’t a wise option.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dorset Post Office  
your service may look good if it were the stone age, but today with the number of times it.s unavailable (thee times this year).i have spoke to your call centre a few times to complain. enough is enough I am changing to SKY as they offer a far more reliable service for ALL my requirements. I do not wish to be contacted by yourselves.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
PONTYCLUN Post Office  
Absolute joke, they have no idea what they are doing, never was connected to the internet from Friday 26/1 til I cancelled just now 31/1 called on Saturday to report no wifi, told the entire country’s wifi had gone down (LIE) and engineers do not work weekends, he would get an engineer to sort my line out on Monday and call me then. No call/wifi, called Tuesday to get a guy tell met after quick test fault in my home and I had to select 3 appointment segments ie Friday am/pm Monday am for engineer
to come and fix, Friday morning and no email/text to say when the engineer is due, call customer services agin(every time recording saying I high number of calls you are in a queue) finally speak to a women who tells me ‘ it says on my screen you went live on the 26/1’ I said what a Sunday it never did, to be told no record of an engineer being booked or my calling, Saturday,Monday! Absolute joke trying to cancel and women will not allow me to !!! Absolute joke terrible service avoid!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Brighton Post Office  
Didn't work from day 1. Had to then wait 4 days for an engineer, for it to work for a day then go off. Rung and told to wait another 3 days for an engineer (had to take day off) for me to ring and they said hes not coming it's working.. no it's not!! Told now to wait till monday. Not gold enough.. tried to cancel because I have the right to with this awful service!! And was told I'll have to play £134.. direct debit cancelled. They'll get nothing. Useless and no customer care at all. Rude!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Leeds Post Office  
Literally have to reset router every hour or so ,, even YouTube doesn’t work,, I can get that on mobile coverage,, I have even used giff gaff sim internet to run my Xbox online while waiting to be connected and tht ran better and faster .. awful would not recommend
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dukinfeild Post Office  
Wish I had read the reviews before I switched. Twice the change over date has changed and now my old provider has turned me off and I'm still waiting for a router. First day with them and I can't wait to leave already. Apparently they are Talktalk which explains a lot.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Leeds Post Office  
Router arrived very early, and the switchover was seamless. Router worked first time. Flawless.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Midsomer Norton Post Office  
Was swapping over to them from sky as the price was so much better but don’t go there.
The changeover date was for the end of this month, but excuse after excuse meant we had absolutely no faith in them as a company.
Extremely poor customer service, still hadn’t received the router even though it was only 4 days before the switchover date shocking company
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Rutland Post Office  
A completely unreliable service, mostly beyond useless. Pitiful broadband speed, impossible to stream even Youtube let alone say iPlayer or Netflix. Fails repeatedly to even connect.
The Post Office are clearly way out of their depth, they lack the necessary technical knowledge necessary for broadband provision. If I would give them less than one star I could... but then they don't care, they've had my money.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newent Post Office  
Had 38mb broadband for 2 years had a few small problems but still reliable, signed up for another 12 months at 79mb/81mb and it has been absolutely crap, I have been trying for almost 4 months to get it fixed. Phone up support wait about 5 mins to speak to someone then while they are going through some checks they will hang up and they don't call back, so you start again with someone else they apologise and then tell you they have no record of a previous call? Can they take some details which is very annoying. They try to explain that I have 9 things linked to my broadband that is why it is slow they are the exact same things I had linked to my 38mb broadband and they were all fine, I have 9 items but only 1 or 2 linked up at any time, I also have 15 lights in my house but they are not all switched on. 1 year ago I would have recommended them now I would tell folk to steer well clear. Customer Service for the most part is shocking there are 1 or 2 that try to be helpful but they are the exception to the rule
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Hawick Post Office  
Please avoid .
Why on earth I chose to leave plusnet is beyond me.
Post offive have proved me with the worst service and connection possible. I actually showed 0.18mb the other day during tests. Ping rates hover around 200-300 . As for online gaming ? Forget it. I was trying to stream netflix at 12am last week and logged onto social media briefly , instant buffering until I logged of social media. Only one device can access internet at one time .
Constantly getting kicked mid film or game.
My old iphone works faster on the net when not in the wifi.
Even aol 15 years ago provided my same address with better service.
Ive been offered £40 compensation which is offensive considering what ive put up with.
Avoid at all cost , I cant wait to leave.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Weston s mare Post Office  
Absolutely awful. Literally nothing good about this ISP whatsoever. Choose another provider even if it costs you more. Shocking. Should be closed down by the regulator.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Staffordshire Post Office  
I recently changed to post office broadband as this was the best deal on the comparison website.
I have needed to contact them 6 times over the past 3 weeks. Emails take up to 5 days to be responded to and calls take between 20-30 minutes to be answered.
My internet on my laptop is slow.
My experience has been very negative and I would warn anyone against signing up to post office broadband.
Norwich Post Office  
It ran decent for the first few months but now it crashes 4 to 5 times a day and its download speed is incredibly unreliable. I would give reliability a lower score if it let me,do not buy.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Uk Post Office  
I recently moved ISP because the total TV+BB+Phone package I previously has was out of contract and for the channels i was receiving, it just didn't justify the cost or taking out a new contract. Therefore I decided to split my BB+Phone and my TV into two service providers. I went with PO Broadband simply because they have some of the most competitive deals on the market.

Prior to the ISP switch, I received very good comms both in the form of email and post. The comms explained the contract I had signed up to and also the process of switching my ISP and when my service would go live. Shortly before my go-live date, the small broadband device was delivered.
When opening up the package it had the correct contents to get you going and to my surprise, a rather small wifi router. I immediately judged its performance without actually going live and though surely it wasn't up the job. Regardless, I got prepared and setup for the go-live.

On the go-live date, the service picked up as normal, no glitches and no real down time when attempting to establish a connection between the wifi router and the ISP. Brilliant I thought. Once the internet was available, I plugged in a few ethernet cables in the back and surely enough the connected devices received an internet connection. I immediately noticed the line speed was good and consistent. No real lag throughout the day and for a non-fibre connection, this was important. I finally began to reconnect the wifi devices around the home and as I was suspicious to see what the range through the property was, I walked around and tested the connectivity. It was great, the exact same as my previous ISP provided device, and they claimed they have the best range in the market! This little device was surely pulling its weight.

Since the connection (2 weeks), I have had a stable and reliable internet service paired with a good wifi connection. No complaints there.

I have looked on the online portal for my broadband and everything is laid out very neatly. No flashy gimicks or long loading times between the pages. A simple, straightforward website that lets me navigate to different areas concerning the contract I have. You can immediately do things such as view bills, change safety settings or purchase additional services. All very simple to use and easy to access.

Overall, I have had a great service from PO Broadband and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a cheaper alternative to the larger players in the market.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Harrow, London Post Office  
To start with the sales staff mislead me about transferring my number, said I could keep my old then changed it, everyone I spoke to was a total waste of time or just didn’t care,
The speed is absolutely rubbish, I’m so unhappy with the service I have no contacted trading standards, STAY AWAY from them
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Stoke-on-Trent Post Office  
Changed my mum's Landline to P.O. because they had a contract without Bband pointed out that number was to stay the same since my mum has Alzheimers! They said it would be done but failed and now say they can't do anything. If a zero rating is possible they should get it!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Dorset Post Office  

Loading...

  • 1027 reviews, showing page 1 of 26, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk