POP Telecom Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for POP Telecom.

Recent Customer Ratings for POP Telecom

  • Satisfaction
    2.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.5 stars
  • Speed
    1.9 stars
  • Reliability
    2.1 stars

Based on 100 customer ratings since 2018-05-06 (Show all time ratings)

Find alternatives to POP Telecom   Compare broadband in your area

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

137 Customer Reviews for POP Telecom

  • Showing page 1 of 4, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I recently left this company and i am very unhappy with how they treated me because i left
They told me in chat it was fine for me to leave when i asked to as my contract would end on1st June i asked can i leave now they said yes so i accepted my new provider starting on the 7th June and thought i would just be charged until that day but instead they charged me for a whole month without telling me that they would do so more than i was normally paying inside the contract which was 21 they now charged me 36 and even though i protested that i did not use the phone fir calls anymore they charged me and for international calls also after i had left them which i think was disgraceful
No amount of protesting would change their minds they took the money from my bank and have left me very angry even though i had been a good customer of theirs for over 2 years
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Hampshire POP Telecom  
We wish we had stayed with our previous provider, router has to be re-set typically twice daily, slow, must have wasted hours of my time over the year.
Customer service was just about adequate when I phoned up. Overall satisfaction zero.
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
Swindon POP Telecom  
Not very good, slow and we have to keep switching the router off and on when it drops out , several times per day.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Swindon POP Telecom  
Only joined 6 weeks ago and have had to complain many times about service. Told they have fixed it many times but is not any better. Now being told need new router as in their words the standard one isn't that good so I should spend more money with them for more expensive one. Lost replacement router and not responding to my emails now, will be sending to ombsman to get supply switched and only went with them as Martin Lewis site recommended them!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester POP Telecom  
STAY AWAY!!!! The worst internet I’ve ever had, having to switch it off and on everyday since I got it installed!... having to ring them at least every week about it and never tried to fix it once... now thankfully near the end of contract and the absolute cheek/threatening manner of their support team has boiled my blood!... I actually can not understand how legally this company can rip people off with their crap service and get away with it... it’s just terrible!! I would please for your own sake advise anyone to stay well clear of this poorly run business...
Fintona POP Telecom  
We were sold this deal through Currys. Never again! When you change broadband provider always do it on line and READ THE REVIEWS FIRST! OK, the very best and the very worst reviews often contain a high % of reviews paid for by either the provider or a rival company. You'll know these because you see the same wording on loads of review sites. Lets face it, broadband providers don't do well anyway so ignore the 1 star and 5 star reviews, 3 stars is average and 4 stars positively brilliant!
Lets start this from where we were. We were with TalkTalk, but we were fed up with their salespeople constantly ringing to update our deal. It was so ******* annoying we decided to leave. So we were ripe pickings for Currys sales team. They set us up with an 18 month deal with Pop Telecom. It sounded really good. No charges for phone calls and a fixed price of £18 a month for the duration of the contract. Only it didn't last. We found broadband speeds very low, and frequent freezing. The phone would stop working, sometimes for several days at a time. That was when we checked bank statements. The £18 a month for 18 months had lasted just 2 months. Then Pop put up their prices billing us for extras other companies don't charge for such as router insurance. I think we've paid for the router several times over now. Suddenly our basics were over £30 a month with calls on top of that! Far cheaper to use my PAYG mobile phone so that's what I've been doing. The trouble is we were stuck with Pop Telecom till mid December 2018. We were away for 2 months in the new year so we left things till April after we got back.
First pick of companies to take over was going to be John Lewis but they told us we couldn't switch to them without changing our phone number, so that was out. However they did advise us to go back to Pop Telecom and ask them for a better deal. So we did, explaining what we wanted and asking if as loyal customers they would offer us a better deal. Well over a week later, the time in which Pop telecom guarantee to come back to any customer enquiry, we had heard nothing so we went ahead with our second choice of provider. The switch is due in May 2019. It may be coincidence, but the day after the future provider confirmed they'd contacted Pop Telecom, Pop Telecom phoned us. My wife was not pleased to field that call. She asked why they hadn't contacted us sooner. They said they always contact their customers after their contract runs out. Strange that. They'd had us as customers for 18 months, never contacted us once even when we'd contacted them about breakdowns and they'd known our contract was due to run out in December 2018 and had had a whole month of 2019 plus the e-mail they "guaranteed" to have replied to inside a week but didn't. My wife told them very firmly but politely what they could do with their offers, the next transfer deal is done and Pop are too late!
Finally we've had a letter from them. It tells us that we're due to pay extra fees for the "early termination" of our contract that expired 3 months ago! Obviously we're disgusted with them. If anyone owes money, they owe us a huge refund. So Back to the bank before the transfer to block the direct debit...
I cannot recommend them.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Exeter POP Telecom  
AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!

The WORSE company I have ever encountered. They reel you in with apparently 'cheap' prices and then tie you up in knots to extend your contract with extortionate prices and terrible broadband. We moved house and not only have we been a whole month without Internet which they are still going to charge us for, they renew the contract to another 24 months! Been on the phone to them constantly about moving and was never once told this would actually renew the contract! All we want to do is leave this awful company but they want to charge us as much as possible to leave.

NEVER EVER GO WITH THIS COMPANY!

They should be shut down.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Essex POP Telecom  
Internet is fine just don't ring them up as they a rude, talk rubbish and dont miss a bill for a day or they will ring you fromm 9am every 15min to 30min for days and send you a email saying they will trans fer yo to carnt pay take you away over 21.99 berry professional
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Durham POP Telecom  
they messed it up royally, as they seem to have done with everyone.

Charges 10 days prior to install, threats of not going ahead etc etc, all beyond ofcom regulations.

Pulled the plug fast and to their credit, they refunded the £20 fee in 2 weeks
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Liverpool POP Telecom  
Well where to start.Having lived in the same house and had successful broadband with both BT and Talktalk for the last ten years i made the mistake of being sucked in by price. My fault. After a week the connection would frequently drop off or be so slow was unusable. They said its because your so far from the exchange. I always have been i say. Im not expecting much more than 2 megs . i do get 2 megs ocassionally but still dropping off. Tried new router, better for a short while then back to same old rubbish.I ask how can it be i have no problem with two other providers,but garbage with you. no answer. Not even responded to last couple of e-mails. So decided to just grin a bare it till my 18 months was up and could go elsewhere or so i thought. Brings us to this morning. I contact them to inform of change off address and . First they tell me a £40 charge will be made by open reach for the new line[im moving next door] and the lady discontinued her telephone service. I ask so if there was a line i assume no charge . correct they say. I say ok ill call open reach[i have contacts]. Ah no they say its not an open reach charge after all its an moving house admin charge . Open reach charge is £30 but they'll waver this. However the absolute worse thing which i think is a disgrace is because im moving home the contract renews to another 18 months. So im stuck with the worst broadband in propbably the world. I say if its a new contract then surely i can cancel within 14 days. Oh no you cant your stuck mate its in our terms and conditions. Stay well clear . Rubbish rubbish rubbish. Actually im astonished the connection has lasted long enough for me to complete this review
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
GLOUCESTER POP Telecom  
Constant communication with the company to and fro and my mobile data is quicker in all respects hands down. Cannot watch a simple hd streaming video without the quality suffering to no end. Company says I need to upgrade to fibre whereas the same service with talk talk was superb. Learnt my lesson. Company just cares about the numbers not customer satisfaction in my honest opinion. There's much better service providers,don't get trapped by the plans they fish for new customers with.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Midlands POP Telecom  
Worst customers service and
Internet Broadband provider in UK
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Stoke on trent POP Telecom  
They connected me 2 months ago - since then I have enjoyed fast speed broadband without interruption or slow down(s). Whatever their difficulties when starting out believe me, for £21 pcm this is the very best broadband deal out there bar none.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Emsworth POP Telecom  
Since I have decided to switch provider these guys have been awful. Daily calls asking to stay. Whats worse - and I'm not sure how they have done it but they have successfully cancelled 2 attempts to switch to another provider without any explanation or notification.
For balance - prior to that they have been OK with no problems
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Newport POP Telecom  
worst provider ever experienced. charged £200 for engineer visiting which there was no fault in the house, when through the telephone I cleared been told that if no fault inside my house I won't be charged. called them few times promised to send me the telephone record but nothing. in the end I just give up to argue with them. then I decide to leave them they charged me twice bill in same month, also request another early exit fee which I am already out of contract 18 months. customer service call only Monday to Friday, when need call them weekend there is no chance to contact, my internet was down for 28 days but they said needs be 30 days then I will get bill relive, too much stress for me to through this again with them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Devon POP Telecom  
Hello just thought I'd leave a review just moved in my house a few months back and was looking for cheap broadband deals came across poptelecom cheap deal thought I'd take a gamble I'm more than happy needed an engineer's to come and install a phone line to my property which only took them about an hour been up and running for abit now with no problems whatsoever happy customer cheers Chris
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Middlesbrough POP Telecom  
Poor customer service so rude and snappy, wont provide you what you pay for worse company ever would mever recommend
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bath POP Telecom  
Simply the worst customer service I have ever encountered! After I left they proceeded to threaten me with a debt collector for monies that had been paid. Rude unprofessional and almost deliberately unhelpful.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh POP Telecom  
Changed to POP recently, they do all they promise and more. I have the highest download speed now and feel confident in recommending POP to friends and family.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Emsworth POP Telecom  
Broadband speed virtually non existent, unable to use Now tv all over the xmas Period, tech support only available during office hours, so no help there, a really poorly run outfit, who are connected to talk talk can't wait to end contract, stuck with them till March
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London POP Telecom  
after a recent kerffufle with these people i think they are actually getting their act together, hooray.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
smethwick POP Telecom  
I ordered pop broadband on a deal at £21.50 with no connection fee but i got a call today from pop broadband saying i cant have that deal because were i am and its £29 a month plus £40 connection fee i have never heard of this before i wouldn't touch this company with a 20ft pole very shady
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northern Ireland POP Telecom  
I can not get WiFi it keeps dropping off and if I am on the computer most of the time it drops and I have to start all over again I'm going to contact the BBC program x-ray I hope other people will so we can make a fuss
Newport Gwent POP Telecom  
Useless booked a slot now say cant do it never met such an incompetent company maybe cheap but useless gine with another company but pay more but at least i get a service not like these fools
Mansfield POP Telecom  
Not even worth one star!! Worst company in the world the customer advisors are rude. They don’t do anything to help there customers. Total rip off! The wifi drops in and out all the time! Find any reason to bring up my bill. Can only have two devices on the WiFi anymore and it buffers for about half an hour! TGE WORST COMPANY E V E R!
Staffordshire POP Telecom  
I will give no stars. This is a disgrace of a company and should be avoided at all costs. I signed to transfer line over to this company. Was given a direct date of the 1/11/2018. However 7 days before live date which was 22/10/2018 they try and take a payment of more than my monthly bill. I didn't have the funds as I never got enough pay this month due to deaths in family and having to take time off. This company wanted me to borrow money to pay this bill and refused to honour the live date unless I paid. As I couldn't pay they cancelled my order and left me with no phone services and bank charges for unpaid direct debit. All of this on the day I was meant to go live so my old company ceased line as per request. I have emailed and the refuse to answer. I contacted ofcom who say its against rules and regulations not to disclose to me that were taking payment before live date. It all should have been fully explained but it wasn't. So in a way I'm glad this has happened cause they have shown what a disgusting outfit they are.
Newtownards POP Telecom  
Total crap service!!!.I have gone over to Plusnet.ive just had a letter from a debt collecting agency for wait for it,36p yes 36p!!!for anyone waiting to go to them!!FORGET IT!!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
North walez POP Telecom  
No stars whatsoever. Dreadful, dreadful service. Cant wait to be free of them. Will avoid like the plaque in future
East Sussex POP Telecom  
I put up with this for a year and a half. I complained Serveal times did improve temporarly. Had 5 months left and tryed to change provider they contacted me and threatened me with a cancellation fee. But gave me the same deal as other provider. My service is now worse than ever. Now I'm stuck with this crap service for another 2 years. What an idiot. Can anyone help.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
BURY ST. EDMUNDS POP Telecom  
Avoid at all costs, service is constantly cutting out and dial-up is fast, customer service well there is none. Rude, arrogant not prepared to help, refused to tell you who their ADR is so you can make a complaint and they won't do anything to help. Need closing down.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dorset POP Telecom  
NEVER EVER USE POP TELECOM!!! They are absolutely rubbish!!! Our broadband has been dropping out for months, they did a check and told me it dropped out 25 times yesterday, however, it would cost me nearly £200 if an engineer came out and couldn’t find a problem! I said well there is obviously a problem if it’s dropping out 25 times in one day! They said it could be my fault so I would have to accept the charge, they said it could be rats chewing my wires or a small child playing with the line connection?! They advised I get a screwdriver and try to fix it myself!!! Please spread the word, they are ridiculous, stay well away!!! We will be getting another provider as soon as the contract ends!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Alnwick, Northumberland POP Telecom  
Did not inform me that contract had finished!! Speed of broad band use less.have gone to another provider.had a phone call saying they could do a better deal. Would not take NO for an answer!!!.hung up in the end.poop telecom!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Anglesey North wales POP Telecom  
Overall the telephone/broadband performance was satisfactory, but after the contract was ended a very threatening email was sent demanding payment of an outstanding bill, threatening court action and debt collectors. This was only a few days after the bill had been sent out and as far as my parents knew the bill had been paid. No attempt was made to contact to clarify or seek payment in a courteous manner. An absolutely disgusting way to treat customers. Shame on you.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
North Wales POP Telecom  
Avoid like the plague. Inaccurate billing. Threatening staff. Refusal to let you move provider. DD system that doesn't work. Overcharged by 100% over 2 years. Breaches of Ofcom Regulations. Illegal debt collection practices after you've left and don't owe them a penny. DO NOT USE POP TELECOM. CHOOSE ANYONE ELSE.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
York POP Telecom  
The internet connection drops every couple of hours meaning you have to reset the router. If you phone they are rude won’t let you leave even within the cooling off period. Just a joke of a company in my honest opinion avoid at all costs.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Fife POP Telecom  
Pop Telecom are resellers for TalkTalk, the lowest rated of all broadband suppliers. So not only are you getting the terrible performance which talktalk are famous for (see 'which' reviews) but you are dealing with a middleman too. I know because I moved to pop telecom from talktalk without realising this...and only discovered too late.

I have had endless problems with them since getting trapped into signing up for them. It started when I discovered that the 14 day money back ends before you are connected with them. I got so fed up with their poor customer services that I went to visit them and found just a little locked office. Nobody would talk to me and I was told to phone them. Again.

I demanded to be released from my contract but they said they would only let me go if I paid the whole of my 18 month contract of in advance AND paid a £100 cancellation fee.

I spoke to talktalk, who I'd had problems with before and they confirmed poptelecom were reselling talktalk broadband but refused to help.

When I tried witholding payent to get some sort of service I started getting debt-collection calls (on one day I received 6 ansafone messages from different people) and eventually one that can only described as threatening.

Pop telecom is just a name. It's actually a group of 10-12 people, reselling other peoples services. They're a nightmare to deal with.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London POP Telecom  
Absolute rubbish this company I started with them at my old address and when I moved they said I had to start a new one I am due to move again next month and really do not want to start another contract
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Blackpool POP Telecom  
Poptele com found at fault by CISS in April 2018, still have not paid me my compensation sending a final bill to them via a lawyer and l will take them to court.
No broadband from July 2017, left them in March 2018 with out any exits fees because l used the CISS service offered in London, and its free.
Keep well away from them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
West Midlands POP Telecom  
Used them, think their rather good
Thanks
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London POP Telecom  
My contact has ended with pop telecom I changed provider had to pay £22.99 for leaving started to juse my new broadband then I RECEIVED a email demanding that I must setup a direct debit with them or I will be charged £9.50 a month and they will pass my case over to a third party to collect the money's and this will effect my credit rating. I emailed them back and said why do I need a direct debit with you when I no longer have a contact with you they emailed back and said you don't have a contact with us any more and you don't owe anything money no apology just dam right nasty beware of the scum you give your money to
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ashington POP Telecom  

Loading...

  • 137 reviews, showing page 1 of 4, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

POP Telecom are not affiliated with Broadband.co.uk. This page does not constitute any affiliation between Broadband.co.uk and POP Telecom.

Broadband.co.uk