Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.5 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 4692 customer ratings since 2020-05-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,346 Customer Reviews over 84 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Loughborough
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    What on earth did this shower win an award for? Placed an order for fibre for a brand new house and was assured I could take my router with me. 2 weeks after moving in we got only ADSL because the sales person had mucked up the order. 2 weeks after that fibre was finally switched on. We found this out when we lost all connection because, guess what, we DID need a new router!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fulham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Good, but turns off (broadband) at random points several times throughout the day, don’t know why, no warnings, very very annoying particularly when doing online work or in the middle of a call.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Have been a customer for 6 years and it was great up untill 2 years ago when they brought out the new hub. Can not handle 5hz so randomly locks out phones as an authorization error or drops speed when gaming. Leaving you unknowingly eating into any data allowance. Have always liked plusnet, customer service always helpful just they won't stop defending that damn hub. In 2 years I've been sent 3 to replace faulty ones and it's got worse since the last software update. I'm have moved suppliers. May come back when they lose the hub.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedford
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    This company are so simply not worth dealing with . Their customer service skills are appalling and they only know the reply to your query as being "you have agreed to the contract " funny that as you cant try their product before paying. They have messed up all the DD mandates , sent letters requesting payment , restricted services yet they had taken the money. After this contract has expired will never use them poss because part of BT that may be another negative too.
    Customer services well that is a joke they never call back and even the senior management never return calls maybe that there is indeed no senior management anyway? Quite simply they do not do what the say , never return calls and simply run a managed list of quotes off a calling sheet to deflect the issue and absolve themselves of any responsibility to the customer . hope the loose the business and go bang . I would so definitely recommend Vodafone never had a issue
  • Reviewer
    Location
    lincolnshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I've been a customer and advocate of plus net for many many years and on the whole they were satisfactory during that time. The problems started when I needed to leave. There is absolutely no way to do this other than sitting in long call queues, when you will get randomly cut off after 25 minutes and so have to start the process again. Twitter, facebook, email, web chat and raising a ticket all resulted in no joy. Archaic in the age of the internet, even more so for an ISP. To add insult to injury they will only allow the main account person to do this. Good customer service my @£$%
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northumberland
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Broadband speed and reliability fine. Their webmail email is near to useless. When I complained was informed I wasn't paying them to provide email! They helpfully suggested I open an outlook account etc
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Sussex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Further to my review on here on 20/06/15 Plusnet replied on 24/06/15 with the following:

    "
    As it stands we do not inform customers when there contracts are about to expire. However, we do from time to time send special offers via email. Unfortunately you are opted out of the special offers which we send out.
    "
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cwmbran
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I rang Plusnet regarding my recent bill. I held on the line for twenty minutes before getting a reply only to be told that I had rung the internet service and was cut off. Not good service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Weymouth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Good reliable broadband and phone service. Fairly good value for money. Appallingly bad customer service when things go wrong. Transferred from pillar to post and staff don't communicate with one another.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    liphook
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    customer service is terrible they do not care about their customers once you have signed up
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    Comments
    NIGHTMARE. My money had been taken away for nothing. I ordered a broadband from them, but since I don't have an existing line in my new place, I have to pay for line rental as well. However, they activated the line one month before the internet could go active, and charged me for a month line rental, which was basically useless since internet was not yet active. I asked for refund, but not a single duck is given! AVOID THIS COMPANY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brockenhurst
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    Worst, most incompetent dishonest company I have ever dealt with.After 12 days with no service,many broken promises and numerous lies,I cancelled the contract.They then refused to give me my pack number. Absolutely disgraceful
  • Reviewer
    Location
    newport
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    DO NOT USE!!!! Took 3 months 20 phone calls over and hour long and 5 engineers. Was promised the line and connection would be fixed installed several times. Was charged by plus net for missing an appointment with an engineer when in fact I did meet him but he wasn't able to install the line. Once the line was installed they cooked up the activation and said it would take 5 working days. Waited 5 days which was just before Christmas. No Internet. Called after Christmas. Oh sorry it wasn't done properly will take another 5 working days. I complained numerous times by email and phone and no one replied. I wish I just cancelled the contract before it started and went somewhere else. The only thing they did offer me was 2 months free broadband - £10.00 after about 30 hours of phone calls and waiting for engineers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Spent a great year with plus net then thought it was a good idea to move house.... NOT!! Thought ringing 7 days before the house move was reasonable... NOT!! here we are 37 days after the move has been completed no internet or any indication when we will get internet. Staff are being rider and ruder the more I ring just a meaningless 'I'm sorry about that'
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Be wary when joining if you ever plan to switch away. I was with Plusnet for many years, decided to switch away, then got 5 emails and a text demanding money after the switch date when I was no longer a customer! Plusnet said they weren't notified of the switch (even though it's automated), so I had to pay for 2 weeks after the switch date and then another 2 weeks after that to cover "notice" which they already should have had from the automated switch-over, then pay £30 fee because the new provider "wasn't on their network". None of this is clear or fair, but it's all buried in the T&Cs so you're stuffed. All that money and years of being a Plusnet customer and then they screw you for a few pounds if you try and leave. I've put in a complaint and another to Ofcom. Shameful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wales
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Expensive compared to other providers, up to 40mb on fibre and an extra £5 a month to get the 'full' 70mb that other providers are offering for cheaper! Also dishonest, I was basically misled regarding my fibre package and what discounts would be available and am now faced with a fight to get out of my 18 month package without incurring almost £300 in exit fees. Not happy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stixwould Nr Wodhall Spa, Lincs
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We have just moved and sadly the Broadband is none existent. Yet the service was just about working on 0.13. Now the service is not working at all. Despite all the help Plusnet has given me BT seem to not want to bother in replacing an old phone line. That said most of the BT engineers have been extremely helpful. All other sources of broadband providers either cannot work here or are so expensive. At the moment I am borrowing a friends EE mobile unit. I am angry at the system. BT have an obligation to to ensure all telephone wires work but sadly have no duty as regards to broadband. In my last home I would have given Plusnet all top stars as we have been with them for years.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ramsbottom
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Any more than 2 mobile phones in the house causes a delay whilst online, when i try to complain i just get told to unplug and switch off and on again basically. its either self help or no help? DIY troubleshooting.... nobody wants to know?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newton Aycliffe
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I changed over to SSE . It was smooth and reasonable experience . However I recommended Plusnet to friends. They were charged. Line activation was 29/1/2019 and until this moment in time they have not broadband. Customer services did not exist to resolve their frustrations. Very disappointed that I recommended them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Like some of the above comments, we have been with Plusnet for years. Recently the customer service and the costs/charges have been despicable: Bar one operater that we spoke to all others have been unprofessional sarchastic and far from offering the "reliable service" that they promote. They charged us for their mistakes which appears to be standard practice these days. WARNING:- DO NOT USE PLUSNET.
    I would not recommend them to anyone and will certainly never use them again myself.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gosport
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    They just cannot leave people on a package they are happy with .
    Raise their price make them phone up to get a better deal , waste their time and inconvenience them .
    High tech with low quality service .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Berkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I've given 3 stars purely because they're not as bad as companies like TalkTalk. I had endless problema trying to get Plusnet to refer a fault to BT, they eventually did and now fixed.

    In brief, after days of them fobbing me off saying things like "see how it goes" they did a proper line test and established there was a fault and a BT engineer would need to be called. Then bounced me round the houses. After about 2 hours on hold and spoken to about 4 people they said they would refer this to their fault diagnosis team and I'd hear back within 3 days if they'd found a fault, this despite them already having confirmed there was a fault.

    Several people later and me not taking no for an answer and just ringing up and speaking to someone else, I eventually get through to someone who knew what they were doing and he sent this for a BT engineer who came a few days later and fixed the problem.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Horncastle
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Plusnet were very slow in switching to them. Took them 5 weeks to switch over service from previous ISP. Plusnet One hub worked fine for a week then started dropping devices. They would all say connected but you could not get online. The only workaround was to reboot which eventually would connect again only to disconnect later that same day. This problem persisted around a week before things started to settle down and touch wood been OK since. However, I noted the problem appeared to be whenever devices tried to connect to the 5GHZ, devices on 2.4GHZ were ok. Looking for advice on the net, it became apparent that this issue is quite common with the Plusnet One hub and numerous discussions can be found. It would be good to use 5GHZ as when I could the speed was much faster. Turning to the line speed, the speed is running at around 4 to 5mb download slower than previous ISP and around 3mb upload slower. (Street cabinet only being 4 houses from me and the exchange being 0.7 miles away). That said its more than adequate to stream iplayer and the like. Plusnet are competitive on price
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Greater Manchester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    They make lots of mistakes.
    Did not cancel £6.60 p/m sim, consequently they added a default to my credit file. It was their agent who didn't cancel. Finnally waived by a manager but not before telesales staff were trying to blag that they were managers only to crumble when I told them calls are recorded.
    Left me with no broadband last Christmas and promised 12m FREE* BB only for me to have received a bill for £98 this month and three months early.
    Overall the broadband appears reliable but the customer services culture is poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ardrossan
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    In 6 month we have 3 months of working wifi. Initially they never connected up the line.

    4 Months in the wifi stopped, they sent out new router to an old address. When the new router arrived it still didn't work and when we requested an engineer they say it's 65 pound, basically a threat.

    Average waiting que on customer service is 45 minutes.

    Worst and most unreliable service and help I have ever experienced.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Whitstable
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    If I am sat in the same room as the router it is great, good speeds. If I leave the room it is any-ones guess if I will get on line but probably not and this is frustrating.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bradwell,GREAT YARMOUTH
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    My mother joined plusnet mainly for the Customer service. Since joining they charged her double line rental for each month. On contacting customer services they promised a refund and then failed to give a refund. The next month they took double payment again. My father had just died so I had to call customer service for her. The lad on the phone promised it would all be sorted but again nothing happened. I even phoned again and spoke to a manager and explained the situation he said he would look into it and sort out an email to my mum. The email never came. I thought that Talk Talk customer service was appalling and was surprised that plusnet has surpassed them. We'll do you proud!!!! Really?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Alloa
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Speed seems to fluctuate a lot.should be getting up to 38mb but rarely getting over 25mbps sometimes well under 20mbps.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    shropshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I previously commented on how poor Plusnet had been rating them 1 star under each marked category but I have since been contacted by a service rep called Rob Selby who has recovered the situation somewhat. Rob took ownership of the issue and arranged for a BT engineer to call. The engineer did his stuff and it seems my issue is caused by Wi Fi speed which is not guaranteed. i am not 100% convinced as I had previously carried out the same tests using a hardwire and the speed was always low, so i have decided to monitor the situation over the next two weeks. I can,t fault Rob and therefore I have upgraded my marks.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Ok until something goes wrong! Their routers often don't last as long as their contracts. I have been through four. My option to get a new router was to sign up for another 18 mos. or pay £99. I had been a long term customer, but that doesn't seem to count for anything. 1/2 hour wait for customer services seems normal.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet for years but am leaving now for EE. When it's running well it's fine but when you need to contact customer support everything changes. A few weeks ago my service went off and I waited 25 minutes to get through to customer support. This week I waited 25 minutes and still didn't get through. Phoned back and waited 40 minutes without getting through. Phoned customer support and waited 20 minutes without getting through. Signed up with EE for a much better deal !!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blackpool
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    spent all week trying to get my phone and internet connected but no joy,spent at least 7 hours trying to get through still no joy,what do they say we do you proud what a load of rubbish,will be cancaling so they can whistle for there cancaltion cost.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liss
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I called plusnet to change the account from my husbands name to mine. I explained to the operator that my husband has recently passed away and I had found an email to him from plusnet requesting we call to discuss what plan we wanted to be on when our 2 year contract ended in a couple of months. The operator took a while to understand but eventually after offering a cheaper price we agreed that the account would close when the contract expired which gave me a few weeks to get set up with another provider. Our Internet coverage had been playing up quite a bit recently and in fact wasn't working at all that day. I was told that there was an outage but service would be resumed ASAP. Next morning no Internet and now unable to make calls on the landline. I called at exactly 8am and got through very quickly. After quite a while I was told that the account had been closed the previous day and I no longer had access to the Internet. This was very bad news as so many things still have to be arranged for my husbands funeral. I now have no Internet or phone. Plusnet claims to want to care for its customers needs is a sham. At the worst time of my life I have been left totally without support. We were with plusnet for more than 20 years and truly did not deserve such appalling treatment. Shame on you plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Have been with Plusnet for 6 years now and have just moved house and not taken them with me. Every time I need to call them, I am told its at least 15 minute wait. I queried this on a number of occasions and the response was "There is a new call centre being organised that will help". I think they need about 30 calls centres as its a right pain to get through to them when you need help. eBay are quicker to get through to and that's saying something. I have absolutely no idea how they manage to rate highly on customer services but getting through to them has to be a zero star to 1 star. Over the years my fibre speed has degraded as well. Connection seems stable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dunmow
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet for almost a year. Customer service is really good but internet is very slow. Modem looks cheap and connection fluctuates. Not happy with price rise. Switching internet providers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    When I changed to another broadband supplier they said sorry you are leaving and cancelled my direct debit.
    Then the accounts dept said they couldn't access my direct debit and they couldn't take my monthly payment.I told them I had changed my supplier and that they had cancelled my direct debit I spoke to their accounts and they told me I owed £12.63 so I sent a cheque for this amount on the 10/10/15 .on the 14/10/15 I receive a letter saying I owed £1263.00 I later received an email with an apogee but still saying I owed £12.63 . A sad end to a to a relationship with a company that had up until then been vert good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Continually increased and charged me unexpected fees. Don't believe their marketing!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Once they grab you with their ever changing offers you will not receive a clear statement of what you pay, your online bills will have a mixture of complicated charges and discounts that change every now and then making it impossible to understand if you are getting what was promised. Cashback is a nightmare to claim back, I'm still working on mine!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wakefield, West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    I moved home 12 months ago, and there followed a succession of problems. Firstly for some unknown reason someone put us on ordinary broadband from the super fast, but continued to charge the faster rate. From day one we had no end of problems with coverage and reliability. After a number of calls and a replacement router, still the same problems. They then sent an engineer who suggested buying boosters as it a 3 storey house, which I duly did, still problems. They tried slitting the bands, still no better. I tried to persevere but it kept dropping all the time, which was a nightmare as my partner works from home on live spreadsheets, which are not self save, and she lost her work. Finally I decided to cancel my contract as it was not fit for purpose. A very rude lady on the other end said I had not followed their fault reporting process and I would need to pay the cancellation fee. I have now installed bt 2 all cover, perfect!If you live in wf2 do not buy plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Slow connection at peak times.Speed as measured never ever reaches claimed speed.typicaly 1.5 mbps.No where near 8 mbps !

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.