Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 5394 customer ratings since 2019-12-01 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3223 Customer Reviews for Plusnet

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Despite previous complaints still getting lower broadband speed than paid for and now getting loss of internet several times per night - and their support chat doesn't work - (overloaded???).
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
east mids Plusnet  
Used to be impressed with plus net for customer service. Been with them for over a decade. Not happy this past year or so though. 2 hours waiting for a call to be answered this week (and it wasn't answered, I had to give up!)....i have had similar waits in the recent past. Online chat was unavailable everytime i tried . Customer service variable some good people but also lots of surly ones too. And no apology for the rubbish service when I mentioned it! I will look for a new provider when my contract is up. Also, when you have no internet, plusnet say you won't be charged for the period without but you have to contact them after and ask for this amount to be refunded! Shame, they used to be good!!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Wales Plusnet  
Never had any problems with the broadband stability or speed, and I have been with plusnet for more years then I can count.

In the end what made me move away was the constant mistakes with billing. Everything was fine until I moved package then it was just mischarges month after month.

They got it sorted in the end, but by then I had lost my faith in the company.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Loughborough Plusnet  
ok for while then price doubled no warning and constant disconections, as for phone sim even worse barely useable
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
banbury Plusnet  
End of contract, and no reminder, so they made £17 more.
Would not price match other providers, so have switched to EE.
Customer loyalty , to them, is unimportant.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Hampshire Plusnet  
Absolute joke of a company.

Tried signing up in December. Order apparently went through however no confirmation email. Called the next day to see if all was okay, and was told the order was on hold as the address does not exist. Was told to phone Bt up (my current provider for 6 years at this address that apparently does not exist) Bt advised me that Plusnet (part of BT) should have completed an address update request however they offered a better deal than plusnet so i decided to stay.

I cancelled plusnet that day (23rd Dec) and got a text (no email still) confirming that a refund of the up front payment will be done within 7 to 10 days.

It is now January 17th and still no refund. Plusnet called me early January to see why i have not completed my order?? then after explaining it he tried to get the refund sorted, 20 mins of faffing around and he stated the system is having issues and would call me back.

Today Jan 17th i phoned to see how it was proceeding, after the CS agent tried for 30 mins to get the contracts team to sort it out, he came back saying plusnet systems have an incident and cannot do the refund yet as the systems having issues. But don't worry im told it's not just me it's affecting other customers.

Save yourself the hassle they may be cheaper but the saying you get what you pay for (or don't in my case) is very true here.

How good do youy expect your broadband to be if they cant even get an operating IT system for themselves?
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
maidenhead Plusnet  
Just gone into 2nd contract with plusnet. When I started out with plusnet for first couple of weeks WiFi would either go very slow or even loose connection but once I reset my router I had no other issues. When I signed up on my plusnet account for renewing my contract my Wi-Fi dropped and completely lost collection and with only useing smart tv and apps on my tv to watch tv with no connection which ment no tv I was not happy and my kids was not happy. I called plusnet and find it was a fault on the line and being a Thursday the lady told me as it's coming up to the weekend the line may not be up and running until the Monday. I decided to turn my router on on the Friday to see if on an off chance my internet was up and running which to my spruce it connected straight up so now I will have a very happy home. I would recommend plusnet to anyone just on my experience with plusnet. The woman I spoke to on the phone with customer service was very helpful and polite so all I can say is a big thank you to plusnet for Great service and keeping my kids happy.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Milton keynes Plusnet  
Just Awful. Worst provider and worst service I have ever experienced from a broadband provider. Long contracts and still stuck paying extortionately high prices for such poor service. They don’t care though.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Suffolk Plusnet  
switched to plusnet after BT continually put up their charges, but in hindsite should of just paid, Plusnet are the worst provider iv ever had, continual line problems taking days off for engineers to come out and not fix the problem. Have been running at aroung 8mbps for the last month 3 engineers out...cant help me
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southampton Plusnet  
The worst provider I've ever experienced. There are frequent issues with the broadband service across 5 accounts we have with them and terrible customer service when trying to resolve these issues.

Fiascos include them cancelling our internet contract and then refusing to reinstate it at the same price, sending routers with other customers account information, cutting us off on the phone 6 times in one day, refusing to speak to us on the phone because we "failed security" only to find that their system was down and this was just an excuse.

It really is a shockingly bad company with an appalling attitude to customers.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dorset Plusnet  
Problems from day 1 with wi-fi which they tell me is not guaranteed, tv constantly buffering, speeds slower. No issues with previus providers of Sky & BT who use the same Open reach line speed so has to be the router bos. Called customer services who have you change lines - still no improvement. Issues with their router they advised me to go and buy a BT router. Cancellation fee s £188. Avoid at all costs the discount they offer is worthless as you have no service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Whitley Bay Plusnet  
Absolute tossers. Customer service appalling. THEY suggested I took my custom elsewhere- which I gladly did. No internet connection unless router was reset almost daily, for 6 months. Eventually BT engineer called and replaced one part but said it was outside his jurisdiction but I needed a new router. Plusnet refused to send one. Finally offered me £20 compensation. Now tell me they have chaanged their mind as their 'customer service advisor' did not note it on his record!!!!! Keep well clear. Much better, cheaper and more helpful out there.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
ayr Plusnet  
So far, the worst I've ever experienced.

I switched from Sky, because a) it's cheaper b) it's (marginally) faster and c) I wouldn't be limited to using Sky-only devices.

However, I have no had a decent speed at all since switching.

I've tried resetting the router, being in contact, doing all the troubleshooting, and even got an engineer out to do the same thing (oh, and be careful because they charge you for a callout without telling you beforehand)... and there is no difference whatsoever.

My "download" speed, after a month, went from 20Mbps to about 29Mbps, and then suddenly, a couple of days before the engineer was to come out (an unable to cancel the callout without being charged), it went up to 31Mbps, the "guarantee" speed.

Then, Saturday morning, when no one else is awake, the downloads are around 34Mbps. Still below what I'm paying for, but a vast improvement... when I'm plugged directly into the test socket, a couple of feet away from the router.

However, upload speeds remain shockingly low. 2-3Mbps when I should be getting 9.8Mbps (according to all their figures).

Not only that, but when ANYTHING is being downloaded, the entire connection goes down the crapper! I'm downloading files I need for work at >1Mbps, and I can't connect to anything other online service, even on different devices.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
West Yorkshire Plusnet  
Just after setting up my broadband I had a small issue with connectivity in the end it was a simple issue, the customer service team were extremely helpful, within 15mins not only had I talked to customer service I was transferred to someone in tech department and my issue was completely solved, very happy with service
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Maerdy Plusnet  
Absolutely appalling customer service. Totally inefficient internet service. I start a new acount in October 2019 by the start of January 2020 i was ending my contract with this company. The abysmal service I have received from this company beggars belief. I was told I would be able to get £70 and for starting up my account after numerous phone calls I still not received it. I am unable to use the internet when I'm on the telephone. I keep losing connection to the internet at other times and on a weekly basis I am having to reset the router. This has been explained to the company on numerous times. To little or no avail until I said I wanted to end my account. I have been told I have to pay over £170 for the pleasure of ending my contract with Plusnet and I will be honest it would be a pleasure I have never been as happy to spend that amount of money to rid myself of the shambolic company. I was told by one of their advisors that I wasn't able to receive the £70 because the time had lapsed numerous phone calls to the company about non receipt of the money just seem to be dismissed. I was constantly being fobbed off by customer services. My telephone communications seem to have disappeared off their system. When I said I wanted to leave all of a sudden the £70 was available again for me. The customer rights act States that they should be selling a product that is fit for purpose. Which they run shotgun over. I am absolutely appalled by the way I have been treated by this company. If I could have given Plusnet lower score than I did I would have done. Do not waste your time or money with this company.
Northumberland Plusnet  
They cut me off by mistake, 4 weeks later still calling them everyday. They send open reach engineers.. All say pole is damaged, cables are old, coonection is rubbish, call plus net. Pole on its side with neighbours phone lines soon to get cut, nobody agrees who is able to repair pole. Advice by open reach, wait for fibre.. May be only a year away... That's your best option. Customer service is shocking, gave my landline away, gave me my 3rd, lost 2nd one, now billing my old address, old number, now charging me for fibre!!??? What a joke
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Truro Plusnet  
On the most part, I've always had good service from Plusnet. Customer services over the phone have always been helpful and friendly, matching prices by competitors when my contract was due for renewal. The staff on the live chat are less friendly and helpful, quite blunt and rude at times. I've not had to contact Plusnet very often though as my broadband has had very few problems. Good speed, good availability and reliability. Happy customer in general.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Devon Plusnet  
Customer service diabolical! Have asked them politely several times to update their records after receiving monthly generated email payment requests for my account. I left them 3 years ago! After disagreeing price offered to existing customer compared to new customers. Asked them today why it's not possible to update their records regarding my account? To which their response why to hang up the phone! Enough said!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Southwest Plusnet  
I was with Plusnet at my last address and didn’t have any problems ,
Since I moved home almost 6 months ago I have had nothing but problems , buffering , lost connection , so frustrating, customer service is non existent, I was told by 2 people that I would receive compensation for the continued disruption to my service, after several phone calls I got nowhere fast.
Finally yesterday after speaking to 2 operatives I was told I will not receive compensation as it was a wifi problem and they do not support wifi, I should have used Ethernet connection,
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
PH1 4NX Plusnet  
Been with Plusnet for almost 18 months and was about to renew contract for about £30.00 including anytime calls, but was told this deal was for new customers and I would have to pay an extra £10.00 per month extra. Customer loyalty doesn't matter with them.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Thirsk Plusnet  
I've been with Plusnet for 18months and I'll be honest the buffering and issues with routers have been constant. I had one failed router which I had to prove with a known good router before they would replace (difficult if you dont have one). Generally an average service. The cost comes at the end of your contract, dont expect to renew for a good deal. Currently they offer 27pm with £75 cashback for new customers. Best you will get on the phone is £33pm for 24 months and no further incentives. Given the average speed has been 20mbps below the advertised and it drops out frequently I've decided to move to EE. After cashback (100) its £21pm for 18 months, reviews suggest their equipment is superior also.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Blyth, Northumberland Plusnet  
Broadband speed & reliability is good but that's where it stops with Plusnet. Their customer service & retention are utter rubbish. They don't care about keeping customers or looking after vulnerable customers at all. When you phone up the advisors don't really care & speak to you like you are stupid. Avoid as you'll need to speak with them a lot.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Leeds Plusnet  
Absolutely terrible service, been with Plusnet for almost a year now had no improvements and had multiple engineers saying different things about why the connection speeds are so bad. It’s like there constantly making an excuse for problems and don’t fix it all they want is your money and don’t give it to them. The highest Mbs we have had is about 20 and that’s doesn’t last for long either. There unreliable, unpredictable and the worst broadband ever.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Plusnet  
Dont use plusnet there broadband is very poor, ive had nothing but trouble with then since i took out broadband with them , i was with BT years ago and was placed on an 18month contract by a lad standing in the metro cente offering a free upgrade to existing customers, any way i asked plusnet if they were the same company as BT and told Know , it was a lie. if i new that i would never have gone with them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Houghton Le Spring Plusnet  
Avoid this company like the plague. Signed up to plusnet 4/12/19. Nothing but problems from the start. Internet connection dropping out. Buffering all the time on Netflix & catch-up. Poor WiFi strength. Called plus net on 14/12/19. Was told it they would fix it. 10 days later still no good. Contacted them again to cancel. I was told we have now gone over 14 day cancellation so only way to leave early is to pay £190. Avoid Avoid Avoid!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Rhondda Cynon taff Plusnet  
Two weeks after setting up order with plusnet, no contact on day engineer was to call. We contacted
Them and they said problem with exchange and they would contact us in 1 week! Nothing after 1 week, we called them again and not even given excuses, they didn't seem to know what the problem was. Any communication was only when we phoned them, they never contacted us at any time,after two weeks I wrote letter of complaint to customer services, which they did not respond to until about a week after I cancelled.Eventually after 3 weeks they said order was rejected! No one could tell me why, I only found out after I had contacted them again. Whenever I phoned
It was at least 1/2 hour to speak to someone. Eventually I had to cancel my order as we were getting nowhere,although I had been reluctant to do so as it was getting near to xmas.
I contacted sky who were recommended to me, great communication from start, came on day stated and everything working straight away.
Thoroughly recommend them.
Sorry I wasted all that time with plusnet,never had such bad customer service.
Glasgow Plusnet  
Completely useless provider, don't be tempted by the cheap deals! Broaband was ordered over a month ago and still nothing set up. I've had to contact them to hear anything and no one knows whats going on. Avoid at all costs!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sheffield Plusnet  
Faulty router, will NOT be replaced unless you start a new contract
Terrible customer services. My router is hissing, running very hot and smells and the customer services has acknowledged this as a fault and even said that they recommend it is replaced ASAP, but will only replace it if I start another 12 or 18 month contract with them. Terrible service, nothing but rudeness and attitude from the customer services people too. Avoid!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Sandhurst Plusnet  
After 6 weeks still have no internet, paid £50 for an engineer who didn't fix the problem despite saying he had and now told I need to wait a week for another engineer to come out. Pretty damn appalling.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Burton On Trent Plusnet  
Going from bad to worse. All broadband enabled Christmas gifts unusable. Shocking broadband supplier. Seriously considering buying myself out of this contract, it’s that bad.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Herne Bay Plusnet  
Absolutely shocking broadband provider. From day 1 we have had trouble with the lack of wifi in the house, which isn’t large by any means and consists of internal stud walls. Plusndt aren’t interested, in fact quite dismissive of the issue. It’s my fault for not reading the small print. They don’t promise WiFi! At all!! So here we are, 6 months in, not being able to use our Sky Q boxes and using up data on our phone contracts like it’s going out of fashion. Plusnet don’t care and won’t release me from the contract, even though the previous supplier (BT) could provide WiFi in the house. Avoid Plusnet at all costs. Feel like I’ve been had over.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Herne Bay Kent Plusnet  
Their technical support team is manned by clowns. They find it funny when your internet isn't working and because you are not an account holder they are not going to do anything citing GDPR and laugh in your face.

Here is a situation. I work from home and rely on a stable connection. Our landlord (who is an account holder) is on holiday in Asia and has limited access to the phone plus the time differences. Neither he is able to do any troubleshooting from another continent.

I call these clowns and report a problem. They say they can see an issue on the line but not going to do anything since I am not an account holder as they can't share personal information due to GDPR.

I say that I am not interested in whatever personal information they cannot share. I say that I live at the address, have physical access to the router to do all the troubleshooting, can log in to the router's control panel, have a landline number, address, name of the account holder, etc. Just need it fixed.

They laugh in my face, refuse to transfer to a manager and say the manager will not call me back because I am no one.

I guess their main customers a people who don't share houses with anyone else or never go on holiday.

This is an absolute joke to not be able to resolve a problem that they see our line is having (and admitted to) by blindly referring to GDPR.

I DO NOT ASK FOR ANY PERSONAL INFORMATION I JUST HAVE PROBLEMS WITH INTERNET FOR 3 WEEKS STRAIGHT AND WANT THEM FIXED.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cambridge Plusnet  
After reading other reviews seems they have more complaints then praises, not surprised we had no internet for 3 weeks. After speaking to numerous people they never rung us back, we spoke to the manager who finally sorted things out but we still had to wait another week before we were connected. Will not be renewing my contract when it runs out. They need people who will sort the problem out when you ring them and to get back in touch with you and keep you updated.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Doncaster Plusnet  
Absolutely atrocious service. Every month for the last 6 have had an erroneous bill in their favour, necessitating calling them, min 15 minute wait. Always promising to correct but never do, don't think they know how! Can't wait for contract period to end.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
BH23 Plusnet  
New customer to plusnet. Old broadband turned off 7 days ago and still no router has arrived from plusnet. emails to confirm broadband was live on the same day as the old contracted ended. Customer service refuse to expedite a replacement router or allow me to buy my own. we are still without a router. Terrible experience. We do not recommend this company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
UK Plusnet  
my broadband drops constantly, says connected but no internet. I have spent weeks and 8hrs plus trying to get it resolved. The staff make things up and dont know what they are talking about. one promised me a refund then the next person refused it. the worst customer service experience I have ever had
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Hampshire Plusnet  
Like all the others will only guarantee 1Mbps when we know that 7Mbps is achievable. Owned by BT who control the network so no competition.
We are in a rural situation so nobody cares.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wigton Plusnet  
Support for anything technical is abysmal. Spent many hours on the phone trying to get sense out people who know less about broadband and FTTC than I do.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Nr Southampton Plusnet  
Changing to PlusNet is probably one of the worst decisions I've ever made. In the three months I've been with them, I've had Open Reach out twice, lengthy conversations and chats with PlusNet and my internet is still mainly shocking

It's 9.15pm on a Tuesday and I've just run a speedtest

Download Speed (Mbps): 0.99

Upload Speed (Mbps) : 7.83

Ping Latency (ms): 350

They're charging me £27.50 a month for this!!!!!

Just don't go there - for the sake of your own sanity - just don't
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Angus Plusnet  
Ordered broadband, needed a new router as I currently have talk talk.

They messed up the order and didn't bother sending me a router, when I phoned all they would say was "we can't do anything other than post you a new router with 3-5 working days delivery"

No escalation route, no manager to talk to, no effort to fix the problem.

Absolutely useless, I'm going to be without internet on the run up to Christmas just when I need it for shopping.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Hampshire Plusnet  

Loading...

  • 3223 reviews, showing page 9 of 81, skip to page 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk