Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.7 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3.3 stars

Based on 2147 customer ratings since 2021-05-18 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,556 Customer Reviews over 89 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Lincolnshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet for 2 years and the service has been consistently horrible. 'Due to high demand' - I always get this message + 30 minute wait on their tech help line. My internet drops out and they seem unable to fix anything. A dreadful service. The t.v. adverts are the opposite of how they really operate.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leigh, Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My parents had a problem with download speed when they upgraded from one plusnet package to another, instead of 6Mb they get 0.2Mb download. I have been an e-commerce software developer for over 20 years and even I was put off by their veiled threats of charges when I tried to raise a problem record, none the less I provided all the details Plusnet needed including the diagnostics from BT, and installing a spare router and a new line filter and testing on many different occasions, and now they wash their hands ... to quote "Since we are not the landline provider, we cannot specifically test to pinpoint the fault or report it to Openreach, only perform a broad test that will return with a fault or not. Please speak to your landline provider in order to raise this fault."! So they expect my parents who are over 70 and all the other people out there who may not be quite as savvy to try to deal with BT directly. Very disappointing, thank goodness for CISAS.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    County Durham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I have endured nothing short of a terrible time allowing Plusnet anywhere near my phone line and broadband service. Please read my experience before contemplating your choice of phone/internet company - I don't want anyone else to go through the stress and pain I have suffered and so I am sharing my experience as it was...

    I was persuaded to cancel an order with BT in favour of Plusnet's "Outstanding Service". I did order a transfer of line and a fibre broadband service from them.

    Plusnet cut off my Talktalk phone line including my valued home number and broadband service on August 4th in error without reconnecting me to their service. This was not the correct day as I had already requested a much later date some weeks before, because my wife has a lot of night shifts and access to my home office communications is critical at the present time. I was told that there had been two serious mistakes with my seemless transfer and my number had been terminated by mistake as well.

    I have been chasing around for hours on end calling and writing on their ticketing system which appears the only way to get anything done or complain but nothing seems to happen. When I called they simply said that complaints were not taken by phone. My complaint seems so far to have been ignored (but then perhaps that is OK as they say it might take 5 days - or more I was told when I called as they had a lot to deal with at the moment and the systems were down that day apparently!) - So are mine - internet and phones for my home office (VOIP) and home phone line!

    They now say they have allocated a definite day more than 2 weeks hence as the earlier dates I requested are now not available for the restoration of my service that should still be operational - not quite the same as waiting for a seemless transfer a couple of weeks or so late - is it?

    Having decided I did not trust Plusnet to install my service again (after all the mistakes and poor service) and not too sure whether this date is actually booked (they have a odd requesting system which didn't happen for me twice before). I decided to order a transfer of my line to BT which can be done in 5-10 days (quicker than waiting for Plusnet to reconnect me). However because of Plusnet's double mix up my line can't be transferred at the moment! I have tried to discuss this with someone at Plusnet but they don't seem to be able to help me despite the fact they are in effect locking my line up preventing me doing anything.

    My only other option has been a radical one (justified I feel). I have this evening abandoned my home line, number and internet service and ordered a completely new line from BT for installation. I know now with confidence that although I will have to wait a little longer that my new service with BT will be installed on 28th August by a company that I can actually have a dialogue with and rely on. Unfortunately it is not quite the service I want as the unlimited service with BT is too expensive for me so I have had to settle for a 20G limited service. This is I feel a desperate solution to a serious problem that I simply cannot tolerate the loss of all these critical services any longer. The Plusnet line is therefore now surplus to requirements and I am wondering whether it will be possible to recover the number that is so valuable to us?

    This action has been a very costly (£400 down in pre-payments), lost my long term land line number (what a pain), no internet and phone for home and office for 3 1/2 weeks not to mention all the wasted time and stress trying to resolve this.
    I am considering my legal position with respect to the various aspects of this and how and in what form Plusnet could make this whole dismal saga up to me and my poor wife. We are beside ourselves with the whole thing!

    If a manager at Plusnet is reading this then perhaps you could give me a call on my mobile. This web site may be the quickest way to initiate a dialogue with someone who actually cares at Plusnet? I say contact me on my mobile because my land lines are down and I only have sporadic access to internet. I did call a few times on my mobile and after queueing for long periods when answered I was told no manager was available and that all complaints should be directed to the ticketing system (5 day response at best) and I was concerned with the call charges I might be racking up calling an 0800 number on my mobile.

    Or alternatively apparently I can write a complaint to their headquarters. Then I can have a blistering 10 day response time!! I have chosen the faster approach and heard nothing so far.

    So if you have read this far and are considering what phone/internet company to use then you can make up your own mind, I have simply shared my experience with Plusnet on this occasion. I would also like to ask the managers at Plusnet to withdraw the advert advertising the great customer service which keeps coming over my car radio and now makes me grind my teeth. Unless my experience is an isolated one, which I suspect it is not, them your advert is, in my opinion, a misrepresentation of your poor customer service through a slow ticketing system.

    My final comment is simply that this is the worst customer service that I have ever experienced with any company I have dealt with particularly when it has been their mistakes that dropped me unnecessarily into a distressing crisis. It has made me feel that the managers their do not seem to care at all.

    My feeling is that I should consider issuing some sort of legal proceedings for damages if appropriate refunds, appropriate financial compensation and an apology are not forthcoming in double quick time.

    Any response Plusnet or do I have to pursue this along those avenues?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Be wary when joining if you ever plan to switch away. I was with Plusnet for many years, decided to switch away, then got 5 emails and a text demanding money after the switch date when I was no longer a customer! Plusnet said they weren't notified of the switch (even though it's automated), so I had to pay for 2 weeks after the switch date and then another 2 weeks after that to cover "notice" which they already should have had from the automated switch-over, then pay £30 fee because the new provider "wasn't on their network". None of this is clear or fair, but it's all buried in the T&Cs so you're stuffed. All that money and years of being a Plusnet customer and then they screw you for a few pounds if you try and leave. I've put in a complaint and another to Ofcom. Shameful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scarborough
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Plusnet before they were bought out by BT. I wanted to transfer my broadband from another home which was Talktalk to this property. When I called plusnet about how to cancel they said I would be charged a £30 disconnection charge. I then said I was moving an existing talktalk account and the operator then said there would be no charge. Guess what, they charged me £30. I have had three further phone calls with their operators and a number of e_mails from Plusnet threatening to take my outstanding bill to dept collectors. They also gave me an in-depth understanding of why I incurred a charge. I have paid but I am infuriated that they gave me incorrect information in the first instance. I found it impossible to speak to a supervisor. I also made the point that they must have changed their contracts when BT bought them out because I would never have joined a company that charges the user when you dare to leave them. My advice to anyone is not use Plusnet because when things go wrong they are inflexible and do not care about their users.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid Plusnet!! I paid for high-speed (up to 38mbps) unlimited broadband. When I connected a smart TV I had constant buffering. When I rang Plusnet, my two support calls took first 54 minutes and then 57 minutes ON HOLD waiting for tech support. Tech support then told me that HE had a smart TV and his freezes sometimes.....Really, this is not a diagnostic...so I decided to leave. Leaving PLusnet is VERY HARD! (yes I was out of contract). They insist that you have to speak to someone on the phone, they 'won't accept' notice by email, they give hard sell - which is laughable considering that even when trying to leave you have to wait ON HOLD for ridiculous amounts of time. Never Never Again!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Would not recommend them at all. A 15 minute wait time to speak to to an advisor comes as standard and they can be quite incompetent and slow to sort things out. I don't understand why their customer service is rated so highly, I certainly don't.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Brent Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I was signposted to Plusnet through Simplify because Virgin Media my previous ISP were not available in the area I moved to. I have been dogged with problems since signing up to Plusnet, first problem was the router did not arrive, I contacted their customer services and they had to re-order another router. Realising the order I was quickly billed for may not have been placed on their system I contacted Plusnet to get a connection date. I was informed that my service would go live on the 12/06/2014. Considering that I had ordered the service at the beginning of May I was not impressed with the speed of Plusnet's activation date. Plusnet sent me a text informing me not to connect my router until I received a message that the broadband had gone live. The date promised expired and I called Plusnet and discovered that the package they had sold me was not available in my area, they now had to change my order. I was downgraded to 8mb but reassured that they would upgrade me on the 01/08/2014 when BT put more capacity into the local exchange. Ok, maybe not Plusnet's fault but why sell a customer a product that does not exist in the first place?,.. I waited patiently for 5 days for my downgraded product to go "live",...no text message by the 17/06/2014 and I was calling Plusnet back to get an update on my broadband activation date. I was informed by the customer services department that they would do everything to get my broadband service up and running asap. On the 19/06/2014 I received a text message informing me that my broadband would be active by midnight on the 25/06/2014, but please do not connect your router until you receive a message confirming your service is active.I waited patiently on the 25th anticipating a message and as it was nearing Plusnet's support line closure time I decided to call them . I was informed that my broadband was now live and I could be connected immediately by one of their technical advisors,...where was that text message????,.. they said they had sent me an email,...doh!!.. I have now been active with Plusnet for just under 2 weeks, not impressed with the speed. I ditched their skinny little male to male RJ11 cable for a Belkin (superior product in my opinion),..also removed the BT plate on the master socket for a new faceplate to eliminate the filter dongle supplied by Plusnet. I was hopeful that these mod's would improve my speed,I was receiving .7mb download speed instead of the claimed "up to" 8mb from Plusnet. I have only managed to squeeze an extra 1mb with the improvements, so still very slow broadband, lets hope BT get that upgrade in place in August,... grrr!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    The broadband itself was fine. Our shock was the horrific customer service. It took us two days, being cut off five times, and almost three hours on the phone in total to cancel our account because we're moving. Oh and also cost us £142. Shockingly, shockingly bad. Don't put yourself through it (after you're cut off the third time you near on lose the will to live).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sleaford, Lincs
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Left Plusnet a year ago to go back to TALKTALK (who really, really do have poor customer service) this was mainly because my existing TV supplier no longer offered Sky Sports on a monthly basis. Bad move!!! have bought myself out of the contract to return to Plusnet.

    Changing back to Plusnet and switching to fibre has been a good experience. A few teething problems and a misunderstanding were quickly and efficienlty sorted by friendly staff who knew their stuff and held real conversations rather than just finding a relevant(????) part of their script to read.

    It's great to be back - can't understand most people's comments. Perhaps it is like other walks of life - doing a good job is only what people expect and therefore do not comment, whereas the relative few with bad experiences make a lot of noise.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    risca
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had a rgular 10mb connection download an 0.36 upload then it fell apart for 5 miserable months whe my dl speed fell to 3mb andand upload down to 0.03 .got an engineer out who said I had 12 mb to the router but only 4 mb after so changed to another plusnet router still the same .changed supplier to sky and now have 12 mb dl and 1.1 mb upload and ping for gaming droped from 80 to 19
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Falkirk scotland
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    We moved over to plusnet after consistently getting ripped off by BT enough was enough ! Found plusnet to be quick and easy to change over too, staff very helpful. Switch was done and no fuss or problems. Broadband speed might be slightly slower but hasnt really made any difference. paying half what i was with BT, thanks Plusnet x
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible customers support, slow broadband, 45 mins on hold normally when you call them, £30 to cancel.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    mERSEYSIDE
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Ok when no problems - then its denial time. Customer is threatened with service being blocked when plusnet got its admin wrong. Has to be customer fault! They lie, misinform you. Leave well alone!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    sutton-in-ashfield, nottinghamshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had PlusNet broadband put in due to the English based customer service and support, what I didn't realise was how often I would have to ring them.
    Was sent a faulty modem which only after a month of no broadband they sent a new one out which does work but will need resetting regularly which they send you instructions of how to do this so you don't have to keep ringing them. I would not recommend PlusNet and when contact up with them will be changing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tredegar
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I just switched from sky to EE, however EE messed up and had only placed the order at one end or something and they the lied to me about compensation so I canceled and went to Plusnet (by now i was already 1 week without broadband as sky had switched my broadband of expecting EE to take it over) plusnet said they couldn't take it over as an order was still in place with EE, despite me ringing EE 3 times to confirm it had been cancelled (so this took another week) then plusnet informed me it takes a week to set it up and gave me a go live date. i then got another go live date later than originally told for no reason whatsoever, but even that date came and went with still no broadband, plusnet then told me the order was cancelled as EE had switched of my phoneline, (despite them telling me they wouldn't until it was switched) so a month later I still have no broadband and have been told it will be at least another week though haven't been given a date yet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I read all the reviews two years ago, I looked at the prices... I bought a flat, I needed the internet, PlusNet seemed like the obvious choice. This is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a bad review. These cowboys are the epitome of getting what you pay for. It took close to three months to get online in a city central location (no refund, having spent hours and hours on the phone (haaa customer service?!!!?). I've then tried to cancel.... Plus Net... you robbing "nasty" people, I hope you rot in the fiery depths of hell.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Plus net are the worse broadband company I have ever dealt with. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. We moved house and ordered the service on 10th April. On 18th April nothing had happened, contacts plusnet who said the direct debit hadn't been set up but they hadn't bothered to let us know that. Paid for package on 18th it's now the 28th and still no broadband connection. Absolute rubbish
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I actually sought out a review site where I could leave my feedback for Plusnet, because their service has been that good.

    We've been with them for a few months and are also in the process of completing a house move, so we've done a reasonable test of their service. All I can say, is that our experience has been excellent throughout.

    We took their 2.99 unlimited broadband deal, paid the line rental up front, and signed up for an 18 month contract. Getting us up and running was smooth and hassle free; all their communication is via email or mobile text message, but they communicate a lot and updates are frequent, which I like.

    The broadband speed is okay. I haven't actually checked what speed we're getting but it's fine for our use, which includes some surfing, game downloads for the children and on demand tv use through YouView. We've had to reboot the router a couple of times, but we had to do that a lot more when we were on SKY.

    The service in the house move has been excellent. They booked an engineer and then text us the day before to let us know that all the work could be done at the exchange and so the engineer visit wouldn't be needed, hence saving us a day off work.

    When we arranged the house move, they offered to waive all moving and connection costs, and reduce the monthly broadband charge from £9.99 to £5.99, if we extended our contract from 18 months to 2 years. So, we got the option to stay with a brilliant supplier and save money! Erm....let me think about that for a while....

    Clearly others have had poor service or poor experiences, but I have only good things to say about Plusnet. I think their service is brilliant and absolutely way above the very poor service we had for years with SKY. I just wouldn't go anywhere else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I was considering switching to your service.
    However....

    A friend who is having problems with broadband installation has been threatened by one of your emloyees.

    When trying to discuss resolving her problem she was told...

    "IF YOU TRY TO RECORD THIS CONVERSATION, WE WILL SUE YOU""

    Please do not insult me by denying this threat was never made by your employee. The person who told me about her experience with you is thoroughly reliable.

    I have been considering PLUSNET as an alternative internet provider, but not now.
    I've also seen many negative reviews of your service.

    Please don't reply by tellingme that you have many 'satisfied customers'

    The measure of quality of service is how few disstisfied customers you have.....not the satisfied ones.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    leicester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID DO NOT GO WITH PLUSNET... I recently moved from talktalk to plusnet with the promise they would be faster and would be hassle free switch, on the day of the switch talktalk stopped the internet as they should but plusnet did not start the internet I rang them and after a 45 min wait spoke to a man who kept putting me on hold for 5 mins at a time and came back with no answers, in the end it took over a week to restart my internet as plusnet state: WE DID NOT HAVE A LINE TO PUT YOUR INTERNET ON... surly this line should have been held when we paid which was 6 weeks before we even moved over to them. we was promised speeds between 3-5 as talktalk was only 2.. currently my speed is not even 0.5 rang them and after waiting for nearly an hour to speak to someone was told they would look into it.. 2 weeks later still waiting on a reply... we are currently trying to get out of our contract as they have breeched speeds they promised... I will advise anyone to get out of it THIS COMPANY IS A COWBOY NEEDS TO BE SERIOUSLY LOOKED INTO... I was told they had won awards for customer service however I seriously do not know how they have done this because eberyone I speak to does not have a clue about what im talking about and everytime I speak to someone I just get fobbed off with another excuse...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    leicester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT GO WITH PLUS NET. Absolute shocking service. Was promised they would take over by talk talk and it came to the day of switch over and we where left with no landline and no internet. After waiting over half an hour for someone to answer on my mobile they said there was no capacity. We where promised to be on in a couple of days, which once again didn't happen. It wasn't until we said we wanted to cancel, after having no internet for over a week they final put us online. KEEP WELL AWAY!!! CHEAP PRICES FOR THE RIGHT REASON = ABSOLUTE SHOCKING COMPANY
  • Reviewer
    Location
    sussex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not go near this company its part of BT and the service shows they tried to connect me to broadband engineer said he called but he did not at all. The next visit will be in two weeks so i have no service whatsoever. Great start for 24 hours so i think lets get outta here and go to a company who can actually deliver. Here the problem starts they will only let me leave if i forfeit my annual line rental for one day of phone immoral and illegal sale of goods and services act covers this one . MAC code will not be supplied for at least 24 hours WHY its all tactic to tie you into them so they can supply shocking customer service and leave you in a situation where its difficult to leave
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Service - what service!!

    - Waiting times of 45 minutes for technical help or 30 minutes for customer service. I logged a complaint when I finally spoke to customer services about the long waiting times. It would be useful if customers could leave a telephone number and someone could call back as 45 minutes is a long time to sit on hold.

    Speed - I was promised a speed of 7Mbs but have 0.7Mbs (speed with TalkTalk 13Mbs). I only moved from TalkTalk as I needed a static IP address.

    The technical help desk could not fix the speed problem and took my phone number. I am waiting for them to call back. I wish I had read these reviews before moving to Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gillingham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    * It took them five weeks to connect my phone line in my new house.
    * Open Reach (BT) engineers were useless.
    * My broadband is at 0.4Mbps despite the area average of around 8Mbps
    * Customer service is poor with hold times typically 40 mins.
    * The price isn't even great.
    * New customers get much better deals than people who have had plusnet for six years.

    There are plenty of decent telephony providers out there. Plusnet isn't one of them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Rude and obnoxious staff!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Kilbride
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    My mum is 80 years old all she wanted was broadband for her tablet but took phone line & plusnet have left her without a phone for 5 days so far & she missed all her birthday calls spoke to them after I sent an email.They said top priority a sill have no word back.STAY CLEAR FROM THEY COWBOYS
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I pay only £2/Month for unlimited broadband. I should get 14 Mb but I get between 1.7 Mb and 7 Mb (if a good day). With O2 I always got 12-13Mb. I cannot watch (ever) BBC iplayer without cuts (or Lovefilm). Gaming? What is that? Since I am with Plusnet I cannot even dream about playing CS or BT4.

    Avoid even if you get it for free. It's pointless. I can't watch a movie in 1 go without having to reload 5-8 times.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LEIC
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor tel service. Always 30-40 min wait, even on Sunday morning !. Slow broadband. Not nec cheaper than talk talk . Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Dreadful company!! Our broadband regularly stops working, meaning I have to phone plusnet (usually sitting on hold for ages - recently was kept on hold for over 45 minutes before speaking to anyone) and wait 2-3 days for them to sort it out. Most recently had to have an engineer come out to the house - had to wait 9 days for an appointment! Still unresolved, waiting for plusnet to contact me about a new router, and now the phone line is not working either. I submitted a formal written complaint to their complaints dept, which I see from the online 'question' has been received but I have received no apology or even acknowledgement of this! They do not charge for the days without broadband but seem unwilling to acknowledge the massive and repeated inconvenience caused and their customer service staff frankly don't seem to care. Will be leaving my contract as soon as I am able and will definitely never choose plusnet again! Has also put me off B.T. somewhat as Plusnet is a subsidiary of B.T. although will read some B.T. reviews first.
    0 out of 10 for plusnet i'm afraid!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedford
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Plusnet / New Call Telecom - the epitome of FALSE ECONOMY - you'll be attracted by their offer of cheap broadband... However, my experince from that point on has been nothing but pure disappointment... It took them over a month to send a BT engineer to my property to work out there was a fault on my line - cue huge bills from having to surf the web at coffee shops or on my 3G phone... In one month I went over my download usage limit - I was asked to pay 50% (immediately by debit card) of the capped over usage to clear my account - which I dutifully did. How annoyed I was then to next month receive a Direct Debit from my bank account of almost £100 - equivalent to approx. 6 months of what I would expect to be billed. It transpired that despite the previous call where I was informed of the over usage and I cleared the account AND asked for my download limit to be increased to 'unlimited' they had only succeeded in taking my payment by debit card - they had not in fact increased by download limit to unlimited, NEITHER had they allocated my payment - meaning I was in effect being double charged for something which should have not been allowed to continue.
    As I type this a month has elapsed, countless hours of phone calls and promises made which appear to come to no fruition when the promised refunds fail to materialise in my account. At the last call I have just made I have been promised a full refund into my account NEXT month - but I hold no hope - it's been promised before and not happened. My money is still with the company - in effect being held to ransom - all the while they continue to extract monthly direct debits without sign of recourse. In a nutshell I've overpaid at least 3 times what I thought I was going to be billed (to date) when I first took out the contract. If i were you I'd go for one of the big name reliable companies that won't leave you more out of pocket than you thought you would be.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newbury RG20 9DX
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful company. Switched to BT in Sept 2013 and they continued billing me. They owe me £70 but unable to get through on their award winning helpline. Have rung 8 times and waited over an hour in total. Avoid them like the plague.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Hello
    Didn't get as far as getting a broadband service from PlusNet. Within 24hrs of my order, they had taken a deposit out of my account and set up a direct debit. Shame their service did not match the same speed. After a week I phoned them and asked why I had not received any email contact from them. They said their journal showed they had sent an email saying they could not connect me to Fibre Optic, but they would supply me with asdl broadband/telephone service. Having confirmed my email address with them, I asked them to send the email again. I got nothing, so ended up sending them a recorded delivery letter cancelling my order and asking for my money back.
    You would have thought that PlusNet would have phoned to say they could not satisfy my order as they had no response from me from their email. Why would they think that I wanted to swap like for like (I am with TalkTalk)Broadband. As I have found out. My phone line is not Fibre Optic enabled at the moment. This should have been apparent to them at the point of ordering.

    Regards
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have purchased a broadband and phone package from Plusnet 2 months ago, however I have yet to gain access to the internet on a package that I have been paying for for the last 2 months!

    The problem is a simple to resolve one that it seems the staff at the company can not be bothered to resolve. My internet connection was activated just under two months ago and I was supposed to receive a router before this date, however no router came. After contacting Plusnet they told me they sent another one. 10 days later no router. Called again, they said they sent another one, the story is the same and ongoing. My address is 100% correct, as

    1. I receive all my mail from various different couriers including royal mail.
    2. The Engineer who installed my phone line seem to find my address very easily. (This service was prompt, mainly because they are a sub-contractor and not plusnet)

    Plusnet refuses to send me a router by any form of recorded delivery, and they require me to pay £90 to cancel a contract they have not upheld!

    They customer service (UK based as they advertise) are incompetent and seem to be bored and sleepy.

    I moved to Plusnet because I had purchased the service for my parents many years ago when they were Force9. And assumed their service was still as good.
    I am now going to move my parents internet to someone more reliable as well, as it seems even TalTalk is providing a better service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    norwich
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband slowest around poor customer service and broadband keeps cutting out
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    PLUSNET = more like SCAMNET: Absolutely awful service
    I recently joined plusnet and have been sorely disappointed. Glad I was smart enough not to enter a contract. It did mean forking out £100 to get set up (and ripped off) but at least I can give notice immediately.
    It started with me being lied to and told the up front £100 payment included 1 month in advance. Since this was paid before the service went live, I was told that in the next month, I would be refunded pro rata
    Then, to throw a spanner in the works, plusnet tried it on and said they were taking a random debit I had not agreed to and which contradicted the contract. I had to contact my bank to block it.
    This led to a catalogue of problems. By the time the actual agreed monthly direct debit came round – due the mistake made by plusnet, my bank had not yet unblocked the account. So I was forced to pay by card.
    To add insult to injury, I was badly ripped off as plusnet claimed I had to pay another month in advance. So I have paid 2 months in advance for only a few weeks service!
    So watch out for this scam. Make sure you get the written contract upfront. I now have to write the card provider I used to make the most recent payment and tell them to block plusnet in case they try to take more money.
    SCAMMERS! I am so annoyed I got ripped off. Now begins the battle to get my money back from these scam artists.
    PLUSNET: It is very short sighted to scam the public like this – what happens is online reviews such as this appear to warn other potential victims, and you will get the reputation you deserve
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norwich
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Speaking with customer service depts. normally fills me with dread, but they seem to be a necessary evil in life, so...after my discount period came to an end I contacted PlusNet to see what they could offer for a new contract. This call was handled in such a professional, helpful, and friendly manner that I immediately signed up again for another 12 months. It is very unusual for me to immediately roll over and renew without fully exploring the market for the best deal, but having had no complaints with PlusNet on any level to this point, and having recently experienced shoddy service from various other customer services, PlusNet is the best encounter I have ever had with a customer service dept. by miles.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Doncaster
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Signed up, gave them a mac code, paid my money. Moving from BT. Didn't hear anything for a month. Got onto customer service, no one had dealt with my transfer. Told to get another mac code (more hassle from bt) Looks like they didn't want my business. They are part of BT so probably don't like people changing to the same service for less money than bt. Waste of time, customer service wait time on phone.... 30 mins. They didn't do me proud!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somerset
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Horrifically bad. Took over two lines on 1.11.13 and its been a disaster ever since. Two engineers have been sent out to check the "faults" there are no faults on the line or with the equipment - the fault is Plusnet. Customer service is shocking - hours and hours listening to overloud music and being passed from pillar to post to speak to people who do not have a clue what they are doing. Promises of the same or cheaper bills are false - they've doubled. Having had a wonderful service from a company that they have "acquired" we are now experiencing the worst service known to mankind, actually there is NO service at all! Don't touch them with a barge pole.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hants
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Stay away from them. only way to contact them is a 30min wait on a premium nr. No Email address and no way to resolve problems. They have an ironic playlist while you wait too - someone there has a sense of humour!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.