Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.7 stars
  • Speed
    3.3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.4 stars

Based on 1937 customer ratings since 2021-07-05 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,571 Customer Reviews over 90 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bushey
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely appalled with their service. I joined plusnet in Nov 2013 and ahd no issues for about 8 months. After that, I have had issues after issues. This is the second line my phone has gone dead. The first time, they were able to fix it within a week. This time, they tell me they have no idea because it is an underground fault and they need to dig up..etc. and have to get permission which takes up a lot if time..etc. I have paid for my land line in advance, so they have taken my money but it has been over 2 weeks my land line is not working and they cannot tell me when it will be working. So, I have paid for a service I cannot use. Since Nov 2014 I have had broadband issues where it keeps going off at various times. Every time I called them, I had to wait for about 30-35 mins to speak to someone. Then I got told various things, promises that everything will be fixed but the issue was still there. The funniest thing is that every time I called, the person Is poke to apologised on behalf of his/her colleague for the misinformation they had previously given me!! What kind of company is this? What kind of training are they given where one colleague has to apologise for the other for the wrong information I was given. My land line is till not working; I made a formal complaint and the manager or whoever it was had the nerve to tell me that they cannot give me a guaranteed time of when my issue will be fixed and also cannot guarantee a fault free service!! I requested to be let off my contract but again was told that they cannot do that because the fault was not due to them!!I mean really??? Yes, they use BT services but that is not my problem. I am their customer and if they cannot provide a service then they are at fault. I am now stuck with this useless company. I regret using their services..stay away from PLUSNET!!!! Stick to virgin media or Sky!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Maldon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Main gripe I have is when something goes wrong and you need to contact them - you're hanging on for half an hour before someone is available to speak to you. That's terrible customer service. Customers waiting for than a minute to get connected? I would sack the entire call centre management team! Most companies operate within 90 second call answer rates as their target SLA. God knows how PlusNet can live with themselves, given the time it takes to speak to someone there. Clearly the senior management of this company care given the fact that this is happening ...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Evesham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Until recently we had not had cause to contact Plusnet technical support or customer service. Now we have, we fail to understand their claims for good customer service completely.
    Sunday 11th January our internet just stopped working. All the normal processes were followed with the technical support team but it was necessary to call an engineer. 1/2 day lost from work , no engineer turned up despite having spoken twice since to the fault team and being advised to pass all new information we had to the engineer visiting Wednesday. When challenged Plusnet just said someone cancelled it at their end and they didn't really know why ! They shut the fault down after engineer 1 assuming it was fixed. 5 engineers, 5 lost days from work they decide it's REIN issue and despite everyone from the faults team to BT knowing it was a dusk to dawn issue, they sent the engineer at 1 pm. This was 4 weeks ago and they have sent 1 text and 1 email since. Having heard absolutely nothing, and suffering without broadband at key times ( after work in the evenings) for 8 weeks we decided to call and cancel our contract on grounds of non performance. Only to be told by the customer service team member that I was telling lies and that I had been getting service. He absolutely refused to take notice of what I was saying about the down times and refused to read their own records to verify this. Infuriating to say the least. Then I spoke again to technical only to find out that they had closed the fault case down again in 16th Feb. 3 times they have had process failures and they will not accept that they have issues!. They need to be on watchdog. We suggest everyone who has suffered from their rudeness and incompetence contacts Watchdog and the relevant ombudsman ASAP.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northwest
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Since i took their "Fibre" 80/20 service it has suffered from congestion during peak times,(slower speeds )and Plusnet seem to be incapable of finding out what it is,this problem has been ongoing for over 2mths with no resolution in sight,I have several friends who live nearby same area and they are with different providers but have the same product 80/20 (FTTC) and they are not seeing the issues that i and other plusnet customers are So it looks to be something that plusnet should know about and be able to sort out
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Baker St
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband speed sucked, but since they're using BT infrastructure, it's not really their fault. Most of the broadband companies uses BT infrastructure so what is really the difference between them? Customer service. To be honest I never really bothered to call them even when the internet was down or slow as I knew it wouldn't change anything, but the only time I needed to call them was to cancel the account as I had moved out. Every time I called, there was a 15 min queue in their call center. Some months elapsed because i didn't have the patience to wait on the phone for so long, therefore I had to pay for a service I wasn't using. It would have been simpler if I could just send a letter or cancel online on their website, but that was not possible. I have just hung up with them, I've waited 34 mins and 42 seconds where 34 minutes of it I was waiting, and 42 seconds was how long it took to cancel the account. At least the people that run the call center was efficient!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stroud
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Weve been having problems for months. Slow speed, dropped connection, loss or poor calls. Plusnets technical support is nonexistence and they blame our kit. I've replaced at grwat expense everything. Next to go will be plusnet. I will sign up with another provider. Dont go near them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    doncaster
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have had problems with plusnet from the morning of the agreed and planned for fibre activation day I phoned that morning to ask where my router was and was told it would be in the post. The engineer was booked for a time between 1 till 6. At 1 pm the line went off so I assumed it was the engineer it came back on at 2pm. At 3pm I phoned the supose to be help desk which took 22 mins to ask if the work was completed and did the engineer need to come to the house because he had not arrived. The representative told me the engineer would need to come to the house and put me on another line to find more about what the engineer would need to do. I waited 10min before putting the phone down to continue waiting for the engineer. At 5.15pm I phoned again because it had become obvious no engineer was coming and the help desk knew this but did not tell me. The help desk wait was again 20 mins and then another 15 mins to be put through to another department where the representative told me that they had known for five days that the engineer was not coming out and that the only thing happening that day was my current broadband would be turned off and the plusnet line would be installed and it would be 24 hours before the broadband and fibre could be reordered. So I had wasted a days holiday from work for nothing. If i had been informed straight away I would have been willing to wait., but I know now that I was not told because they were waiting for the 14 day cancellation period to expire. I believe the people on the help desk knew the engineer was not coming but it must be policy not to tell customers. I decided to wait to see when the next activation date would be because I thought this would be quicker than cancelling and moving to another firm, but the next activation date was another two week wait so I decided to cancel with a full refund because they had not provided the service we had agreed. I have been put several questions on their internet help site none of these have been answered I even asked if they would phone me but no one phoned so I again phoned their help desk to see why no one was reading my questions I informed them if they were not willing to give me a full refund I would stay with them if they gave me free calls and caller id for the inconvenience and distress they had caused. The representative said he did not have the authority to offer me this so he put me through to the cancellation line where the representative told me she would have to talk to her manager before agreeing to this. She said she was going to hang up and get straight back to me. I waited 1.5 hours and no call was received I rang again the person I spoke to this time was Andrew Carr. Andrew could not find any recordings from the person who said she was going to talk to the manager. So she must have been lying and had no intentions of talking to a senior and had just put the phone down to get rid of me. In the end Andrew gave me my full refund. Thank God one of your staff listens but its been a very long wasted journey.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely appalling service, I have been trying to amend the account details from my son's name into mine as my son previously paid the bills but has been travelling for the past year. After numerous calls to them from both me and my son, who incidentally is trying to call from remotes areas in New Zealand they will not cancel his name on the account. The phone calls to them are horrendously expensive as it can always take between 30-45 minutes just to get through and for my son, extremely high. He has stated in 2 emails to plus net who have confirmed that they have received these but still they insist that they need him to call and confirm. They have happily advised me that once the account has been changed they will greatly reduce the tariff, currently as a person living on my own in a flat and using little wi fi, however they constantly charge me around £35 per month! I am extremely unhappy with this so called customer friendly organisation and strongly urge everyone else to go elsewhere. Unfortunately the area which I live gives a very limited choice of provider, and I do not want to cancel the direct debit and risk harming my son's credit score.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Slough
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Im with plus net since June 2013 I Switched to fiberoptic June 2014 not had any single issue with speed and reliability I highly recommend fiberoptic then normal broadband & their customer service is five-star and prices are very reasonable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Westcliff on Sea
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have just left Plusnet after 13 years. I thought there customer service was good until today.

    They are going to charge me a £30 cessation charge. A charge that was not invented when I joined all those years ago and certainly not in my original t&cs. Hopeless on the phone they don't even understand the point I am making . I don't recommend this company after this mugging which will end up in the small claims court.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ipswich
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Despite continuing good reviews from Which?, I have recently experienced appalling service from Plusnet. The bills have become increasingly expensive and internet speeds have deteriorated rapidly (it took 6 phone calls and a month to get the speed back up - webpages wouldn't open).

    I therefore decided to leave Plusnet in favour of BT and contacted their cancellation service in order to cancel the account. Plusnet sent the MAC code but didn't cancel the service or the account. The installation went smoothly with BT and speed is far higher (double what Plusnet was).

    After more phone calls and terrible customer service, always being promised to speak to a manager but it never materialising, I managed to finally cancel (having to instruct my bank to put a stop on the account).

    A word of warning do not use Plusnet - waits of over 30mins every time you try to call, they don't respond to emails and will not call back when they promise to. I will be chasing compensation for time and work lost whilst having to rectify this matter.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Very reliable and decent speed but quite frankly the most incompetent outfit I've ever used. Had to make three separate appointments for installation, took a day off each of them and the first two they cancelled without even doing me the courtesy of informing me. When it came time to cancel they said that any outstanding bill would be resolved via Direct Debit yet I have just received an email telling me to pay an outstanding balance or it will be passed on to a debt recovery agency. Their claims about customer service are obviously the product of some jaded and sadistic sense of humour.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Typically British company, badly run from start to finish. installation was a joke, engineer turned up three days late and seemed clueless, cocked up the connections on my router and forgot to activate the fibre at the exchange so was stuck without internet for another two weeks till PN sorted it, no apologies offered. At lest 45 minute and often 1 hour plus waiting times to get a call answered, staff seem arrogant and sometimes rude, CONSTANT drop outs of service (every hour or so the connection will drop for 5 mins or so, PN aren't able to help, (even the BT service checker they suggested I used doesn't work correctly!!!). Getting decent speeds when my internet does work which is about 80% of the time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Great when the company started up, but much growth within a short period has resulted in appalling customer services - all areas. They are just too busy to respond or assist, that's when you finally manage to get through to them. I have recently complained by email to Chief Executive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    rotherham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Right then, plusnet customer service very friendly on the phone and promise you every thing will be OK.
    Now for the translation we don’t have a clue what we are doing and we will get round to it one day.
    Its only taken 18 months to get them to install fibre, don't know how they can run that TV add
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Sounded good when I signed up I went with Plus net because the customer services were in the UK and they promised a fast fibre optic connection for a reasonable price and they promised no drop off during peak time. However I was a little concerned that there was no cool of period, as soon as it's installed - that's it! but I trusted them. as soon as it was installed we had problems my smart tv is located directly above the modem and it is connected/hard wired with a Cat 6 cable. Even so it buffered when streaming movies. I was paying for 35mb/s which should be sufficient but when I did a speed test I was getting less than 18mb/s I used 2 other speed checkers and all delivered the same results and at peak time the download dropped to 9mb/s and the upload to 3mb/s.
    So I decided to call their award winning customer service. After 40 minutes on hold trying to get through I realised that I would rather speak to someone outside the country quickly rather than not speak to anyone in the UK!
    I tried on 3 separate occasions with the same results and when I finally got through to them they simply said it mush be my phone line to the house which they could do nothing about. 18 months later now my contract has come to an end I have switched supplier... added to which plusnet have charged me a £30 disconnection fee. I emailed them explaining the problems I have had and they simply didn't care they said Sorry you had issues you should have contacted us more and the disconnection fee stands! I couldn't be more disappointed and I urge people not to be drawn in by their promises like I was.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Durham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    This is a bit of a mixed review which reflects my experiences with PlusNet.

    Firstly I had left Sky and moved to TalkTalk who almost bankrupted me by deleting my phone number without notice and issuing a new one which they wouldnt tell me what the number is. As I am self employed this was major. Sky couldnt help as the number had been cancelled and TalkTalk refused point blank so I cancelled the service and came to PlusNet who said they could help - brilliant!

    Firstly though there was an error by plusnet as they put the order through on the wrong number so it was rejected. This was only flagged up because I was constantly checking what was happening. Second time though it went through fine although the changeover was delayed quite a bit.

    After the changeover I realised I wasnt getting CallerID - this is chargeable extra by Plusnet even though it costs them nothing. £12 a year!
    I also realised that the international calling package I'd paid extra for only allowed 300 minutes whereas with Sky it was unlimited. So basically PlusNet was not really any cheaper than Sky for a more limited package.

    In the weeks that followed I had a few problems with errors by Plusnet. All were resolved after a phone call.

    Whilst on the subject of phone calls, it is great that Plusnet support staff are all UK (yorkshire) based. They are very helpful and in the most part very friendly and knowledgeable. However wait times on the phone are extremely long. Again in comparison to Sky the wait times are terrible although once through to someone the quality of service is good.

    Despite being the same line as with Sky my internet speeds are massively reduced. In fact PlusNet now claim my line should be getting 11Mb/s (it is capable of 21Mb/s). With Sky I had a D/L of 16.5--17.5Mb/s and upload of 1.0-1.2Mb/s. With Plusnet this is down to 10.5-13Mb/s down and 0.3-0.8Mb/s up.

    Plusnet also have very aggressive traffic management and their peak time (which is actually 16 hours of the day!) can cause real issues with downloads. Choppy video on Youtube and lots of buffering and download speeds dropping to 2.5Mb/s

    So all in all they are very nice people who are happy to help but the quality of their product is far below expectations. Additionally I moved away from Sky due to huge price hikes but in reality PlusNet aren't really much cheaper once you take the true details of the packages and compare them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    slough
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi I am a new customer to Plusnet, when I join the service they told me my line speed is 2meg which I will be getting, I was getting this speed with sky before, but after joining Plusnet I am not even getting 1meg. When I called them they said the speed we told you was estimated and they is the speed you will get. I will not recommend Plusnet to anyone and will leave asap.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DREADFUL APPALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.
    I went to PN as I didn't want to use BT due to past experience by me and friends and family. BT haven't been at all good. However I have recently been told that PN is owned by BT. If this is correct, it doesn't surprise that the customer service and treatment of it's paying customers is so bad. They use the excuse of 'terms and conditions' to do whatever they want to.. Put prices up, even thought you haver a contract, charging if you decide to leave the company. Any excuse to get money out of you. They recently put the line rental charge up by just over a pound a month for every customer. They have over 3 million customers, which means they instantly increased there income by almost £4 million pounds a month. !! Corporate greed and profiteering.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    N. Kent
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Slow speeds, sometimes slower than dial up. Sporadic broadband service, router not fit for purpose. On the plus side the staff polite & helpful but lack capability to do anything. Worth paying the early termination fee to get out.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northampton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Oh how far this company has fallen. After 3 years of loyal service i have cancelled my contract with them thanks to 22 day fault lead times and 10 day customer complaint lead times. Communictaion from them is poor and in some cases rude, download and upload speed are never what is advertised and they will drop the cost for new customers without changing your price so you end up paying more.

    Would steer well clear!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I used to get a regular 7 meg plus speed. I now get 5.3 at best. They claim nothing is wrong and blame an extension lead that I DO NOT HAVE. Likely to change ISP very soon.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I didnt think l could hate a British company this much. Problems with them from sign up, to installation up to CASBACK offer to call waiting to speak to Customer Services 15/45 mins OMG they are in communications. After waiting they refused to let me speak to a superviser and said they would email me my outcome. Worse than useless.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I followed their instructions and sent a scanned copy of my mother's death certificate along with my contact details and offered to settle the balance on the account.

    They ignored my contact details and sent a demand for payment by post to her empty house! When I found it I rang the number they gave and was given a twenty minute wait on the phone before some poor bloke received my customer feedback and took my payment.

    He explained that they had received my email but some automated system had spotted that payment was late and forwarded the issue to a debt recovery agency. What kind of people choose to ignore my offer to pay and invoke debt recovery instead?

    I found the whole experience thoughtless and insensitive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nr Alton Towers
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I had been with BT for several years with no real serious issues but contact with them when I did have a problem involved frustrating calls to India. Operatives reading from a menu list who were not the slightest bit interested in the fact that I had already tried all of the remedies they read out (I've been in IT for 30 years)before ringing them. That aside they (BT) had begun to charge like rhino's over the past few years and I was paying over £50 pm regularly. So it was with much trepidation that I settled on PlusNet. UK call centre and £15 pm cheaper even when the introductory offer had finished. I had read the reviews on here but I am old enough and wise enough to know that reviews are skewed to the negative. Most people who are happy with their service do not bother to leave positive reviews whereas someone who has had a negative experience will almost certainly have a moan. Anyway, my experience was first class. My fibre plus broadband was transferred seamlessly on the promised date with texts and emails keeping me informed at all stages. My phone changed a little later and again seamlessly. Broadband speed was a little up and down for a week or so until the necessary calibrations had completed but again I was informed this would happen and again I was informed when it had settled to its expected speed. I thought I should do what most people seem not to do and leave details of a positive experience to even out the balance even if only a little. I have put four stars for customer service and for reliability only because its too soon to give an objective score so soon. As far as I am concerned though PlusNet dealt with my transfer faultlessly and for that I thank them and congratulate them heartily. Well done.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful, useless company. Took SEVEN months to connect and then Plusnet still didn't connect on the date they finally agreed to. Within weeks prices went up and the poor wifi signal has resulted in many complaint calls to the company. Staff obviously trained to be sympathetic to appease the situation but I found this incredibly annoying and patronising especially as they still didn’t even try to rectify the problems! One call advisor even told me how I should sort out the wifi myself as Plusnet only provide a basic router. Will be leaving as soon as possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Strathclyde
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I have only been with plusnet for over a week, so early days. Everything went smoothly from start to finish. Polite helpful staff, engineer polite and helpful and arrived on day stated. Broadband speed fine.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hackbridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They are just useless!

    It took them 6 weeks and 8 attempts to come and install my phone line, on most visits engineer was only coming to say I am the wrong engineer! and then again I had to wait for another booking in more than a week time if lucky to hear the same thing again and again and again!

    Some of the engineers were just clueless and I had to tell them what they need to do, and of course they didn't know how!

    Customer service on the phone was a mixed experience, some were nice, polite and apologetic, while most others with sloppy-shoulders and often rude!

    I finally decided enough is enough and cancelled! and guess what, in less than a week I was all up and running using another provider (that very big one as a clue!)

    Just don't waste your time with Plusnet! It dose not worth it and considering the time and energy you waste, (even if you are on minimum wage) you would still loose big time!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    WILTS
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    After being an uneventful 5yr + Plusnet ADSL customer I decided to stick with them for fibre upgrade.

    In short it seems an 'automated order system failure' meant nothing happened to trigger my order despite me getting emails telling me when I needed to stay at home for the engineer to arrive.

    A long wait for telephone customer service and they COULD NOT CARE (I felt like non of my previous years of custom mattered) and they did not even offer any sort of fix than I was to ring up plusnet sales.

    I decided to move away.

    In moving away I found much better offers as a new customer.

    They have grown too big now and become chaotic.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Notts
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I switched from bt to plus net and from day 1 my problems started. After fitting the plusnet router I only had a wireless signal in the room it was fitted in, whereas with bt it had been throughout the house. Complaints to plusnet were treated with disdain keeping running through the installation procedure as if I was a moron, but I persevered until all they would offer was a new router which I duly installed, which made absolutely no difference. I then gave up with them and tried to solve the problem myself with boosters etc to no effect. Then when my contract expired with plusnet I immediately switched to bt, got their new router in, hey presto I had a signal throughout the house again!

    I thought that was the end of my problems and I just moved on but then as if to add insult to injury, plusnet kept on billing me even though I had transferred to bt, and it wasn't until I cancelled the direct debit that the issue was crystallised. But even now 3 months after switching, they are chasing me for a payment not made because I had cancelled the direct debit. I suppose they are all as bad as each other but the hassle, cost and appalling equipment provided by plusnet must make them the worst of the all. Do not use plusnet is my only comment, life's too short!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chorley
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Awful, awful, awful!! I joined because of the £70 cash back incentive. Service was delayed by weeks because of technical problems and they had to send engineers out 3 times. Voicemail messages from Plusnet said no access to property needed and then on the day of visit from the engineer, he left a voicemail message saying he needed access!!! Recieved an email from Plusnet during this time saying they were pleased to report that the system had been live for 14 days and download speeds achieved were greater than initially anticipated!! Eventually went live but service intermittent and download speed poor. Still waiting for my cashback 5 weeks after promised!!! Avoid them like the plague!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    The most appalling, rude and wholly unsatisfactory service. Lots of hidden charges as well.

    Terrible, would never use them again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leamington spa
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Their site doesn't provide an actual sales number to buy their products? The provided numbers put you through to a generic customer service number that rang for over 10 minutes. I gave up what total IDIOTS. I'm off to buy from a company that lets you talk to their sales team.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We recently moved and signed up for Plus Net on the 12th of January. Every Friday since that date they have claimed our internet would be ready to go, this was clearly a lie to keep us hanging around. They won't talk to me claiming they can only speak with my partner, he has tried to make me an authorised caller, but this process takes weeks, Now they are saying we will have internet by the 13th of February, but I'm assuming this is a lie as well. I wouldn't sign on with this company of incompetent liars!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    sheffield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    i Signed up for Fiber beginning of august 2014, was advised it would take up to 4 weeks to complete the installation.
    5 months on and countless lies, miss-information, line faults and even blackmail from plus-net support, the fiber broadband was finally installed.

    i was also told i would relieve 3 months of the package FREE and that they could do me a better deal on the package i previously signed up for in august.
    this information was also lies.

    i am now having to pay the 1st 3 month despite being told it was free, and my overall bill has been reduced by about £1 a month (£15 over 9 month period) and then for the remaining 9 months it goes back up to full price!!

    in short i have received little to no compensation for the hassle and stress caused by the miss-information, lies and blackmail this company seems to revel in.

    i would not be with Plus-Net had i not been blackmailed into staying by their cancellation dept.

    i would not recommend this company to anyone.
    Sign up at your own risk!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bedford
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Appalling support.
    Opened a slow connection ticket in Dec 14, its now Feb 15 and nothing has been fixed, they blame BT who say there is an issue but they can't find it and that' all they can do!
    Ticket goes unanswered for weeks at a time despite being chased by myself.
    Avoid Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I was promised an automatic (sent by cheque within 60days) £50 cashback when signing up, when my confirmation email didnt mention the cachback I rang up to check it add been applied, she confirmed it had been and yes it was automatic, 5 months later and many, many emails and still no £50, first they said there was no offer, then there was but I wasnt entitled, then I was entitled but did not claim it in time... useless. Broadband speed seems to be ok most of the time but online tv frequently freezes, connection drops and signal barely reaches the next room.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tamworth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    do not go with this company wish i had read the reviews before i took out a 12month contract broadband speeds vert very slow keeps dropping out 40min wait today to speak to customer service. will not be renewing my contract with them after 12 months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wirral
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Into my second month now with PN.
    What a difference to the slow offering I had previously from Sky.
    Change over went exactly as I was advised, router landed when they said it would, Openreach chaps came and did their bit when I was told they would (they were actually an hour early!).
    I was overcharged on my first bill by £5, but a couple of emails later, that was credited back to me.
    Getting Fibre free for 6 months is a great bonus, and at a cost of £5 or more less than Sky, I can't fault PN (And their fibre speed is twice what Sky could deliver)
    Well done Plus net.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Burley in wharfedale
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Gave notice and asked for Mac code to go to BT. Next day broadband speed slowed down to 0.2mbs now still have a week before switch over. Are plus net breaking a code of conduct. I don't think it is anything to do with my kit.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.