Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.5 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 4345 customer ratings since 2020-06-19 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,379 Customer Reviews over 85 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    preston
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Well the experience with this company was so bad its hard to explain, the award winning customer service is shocking.Takes 30-45 mins to answer, 4
    times i rang with the same problem only to say they will ring me back, they only rang me back when i changed to another provider.the problem was i wanted a cheaper package as my contract was about to end so.so i agreed to a new contract a little cheaper as my children have left home and me and my wife hardly use the internet,but my bils stayed the same i contacted them they said they will ring me back but never did this happend 4 times so war a bit mad and decided to change my provider. they got in touch and said i would have to pay over £200 to leave.i told them that the contract was void because they had not changed it.they also said they have listend to my recording and i agreed to another 18 month the same package as last time. I told them this is a lie and wanted to listen myself,they told me this would cost me £10,so i agreed still have not heard from them about this only letters asking for money. This company is a joke and you should keep well away.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Cannot give plusnet any stars have been trying to cancel my father in laws account for 6 months he is in advanced stage dementia and does not even know what the internet is plusnet have promised numerous times to cancel account have just been told they are passing it on to debt collectors bring it on plusnet let's expose you for the shifty uncaring unprofessional company YOU DID NOT DO HIM PROUD
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tegg
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    TERRIBLE SERVICE when moving home they extended the contract from 12 months to 18months. I did not know until I switched provider and started getting debt recovery letters. Can not get hold of customer services, nor do they reply to any mail. You can raise a question. but are lucky if you get a reply from them. TAKE HEED go elsewhere YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stafford
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    The worst company. Twice messed up my order. One month without broadband . Customer service don't have a slightest clue what they are doing. Don't respond to questions,ignoring enquiries,cut you off during live chat. They don't deserve even one star. Plusnet did not make me proud !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bexhill
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Had high hopes but I can't wait for my 12 month contract to end so I can swap. Speed is soooo slow and forget trying to watch a film without the annoying circle appearing!

    I hate to say this but the broadband from Talk Talk ( who I swapped from) was better!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West midlands
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely shocking service ...... Part of BT say no more
    Stay well away from this company
    Had 2 accounts with them .... Cancelled both contracts with them
    Be aware !!!!!!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Doncaster
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Absolute garbage! I may aswell not even have internet. I'm paying for fibre and the connection speed is slow nothing loads and when I'm lucky enough for it to load it just buffers anyway! I definitely wouldn't recommend. Phoned customer services multiple of times and the phone cuts of! Definitely switching I shouldn't be paying for something im not getting
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Really awful service, price is considerably higher than when I started because they upped line rental charges. Just don't bother.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Since joining up I've had nothing but problems.

    From internet cutting off every 3 or 4 minutes to speed dropping to between 1 and 2 Mbps when I'm paying for 76!!

    Wait times to speak to customer service are obscenely long, and some staff I have spoken to seem to delight in causing further annoyance - as if their beastly service wasn't bad enough!

    I am leaving this dreadful ISP.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Worst than the worst. Switched my broadband a week ago but never sent me the router. No broadband since. Customer service feeding me lies and desperate not to resolve my issue. Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bolton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusting company disgusting customer service only had it 5days does not work called to cancel over 1 hour on phone passed from one person to the next now want a cancellation fee even though I’ve paid for 1 months supply would never recommend to anyone
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Covnetry
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I moved house on 13 July 2019. At my old house, I had Plusnet broadband+phone service. Internet access is vital to my work (and modern living). They gave a an engineer appointment date 15th July after calling them 2 weeks in advance. I paid all the installation charges (£100 Plus). I took off from my work and despite waiting in all afternoon on the day , the engineer didn't show up. A quick search on Google reveals that this a common failing, especially for Plusnet it seems. Neither the engineer nor Plusnet bothered to contact me. I called Plusnet, and was on hold for 30 mins to find out what was going on, only to be told that Plusnet didn't know why the engineer hadn't showed up, and the chap I spoke to said Openreach failed to make the appointment, that they had no real excuse . The soonest they could offer to send an engineer was after 2 weeks.This is not acceptable, I lost whole day since I took off from work and i don't have internet for 2 weeks. I asked them how they are compensate me on this? Lady replied they didn't sign the ofcom voluntary compensation scheme, which say provider has to pay £30 per day for missed appointment and delayed repair following loss of service £10 per day. Since Plusnet is not signed with ofcom, they can't provide any compensation. It is very frustrating because I lost my work, no internet service for 2 weeks and money, it completely Plunet mistake because they didn't communicate me. They are not bothered to do anything. There is no rules or regulations in this country to avoid these things in the future ??
  • Reviewer
    Location
    CRUMLIN CO ANTRIM
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Internet is rubbish customer care is rubbish to ring your charged and on hold for over an hour to chat on line with them over 1 hour you jump from 2 in queue to 1 and back to 2 and back to 1 and so on and so on only thing reliable is them taking their payment exactly on time would never recommend these people anything else but them would be an improvement dusgusted and can't wait to leave them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    The mars lunar rover receives better ping than I do. I can't even do video calls without lag and poor quality. I even have plusnet fibre and I only have <1mbps upload speed. People is the most rural areas of the world wouldn't even be impressed with Plusnet. I'd rather have no internet than them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible customer service. Slow internet, when it works. When you complain i was told ''well go to another provider''
  • Reviewer
    Location
    sale
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I'm disappointed with plusnet. My mum has been a customer for 11 years and still has her original router. She is on a very basic plan, she uses less than 10 gb a month data. The old router is unreliable and slow. I have asked for a new router and the answer is 'NO'. She is 88 years old , completely deaf and relies on email to communicate with everyone. The best suggestion from customer support was you can probably get a router from somewhere else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    To be honest it really sucks, it’s the wrost broadband I ever had, always loading, speed is really poor and zero reliability.
    Can’t wait to change the contract. Greatest regret of my life for having Plusnet in my house.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cumbria
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    The worst customer service department on the planet. You always have to wait in excess of 15 minutes to be then passed to another department (another minimum of 15 minute wait, you then get passed to another dept and you wait again then get cut off just like a carry on film! You get no answers, shameful pathetic service, use this company and get bored waiting. Use a respected provider not this tin-pot outfit!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    huddersfield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I have been without a fully operating answerphone since 23 September 2015, I have raised at least 7-8 questions; and no-one at plus-net seems to have the ability to ensure repairs have been undertaken correctly. today an engineer telephoned and said the line was faulty and crackling fading, total garbage, the fault is at the exchange and responsibility of BT...apparently it needs a working port -a lift/shift and someone has got their wires wrong!
    NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE plus-net they have cost me considerable money in missed appointments and to new users I say that unless we see change with compensation forthcoming then I shall not renew my contract FEB 2016 NO WAY!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Plusnet used to have good customer service and a reliable connection. In the past couple of months this has deteriorated to the point where we now have absolutely no connection and have to wait at least 45 minutes to talk to anyone on the phone, who are now unhelpful and do not offer the service they used to. We are unable to get out of the contract despite the fact we get absolutely nothing they said we would. Would not recommend them to anyone else!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Do not use this company!!
    I ordered broadband with plusnet at the start of October with the plan of having the account setup and engineer booked for the start of November, when I was planning to move house. I was told by Plusnet that this would give plenty of time to get an engineer and they would book one for the day we moved in. Myself and my partner both work from home at the moment so Internet is essential for us. It gets to a week before the end of October and I call Plusnet to confirm an engineer was booked and they assured that I would get confirmation by email. No email arrives so I call again only to be told that no engineer had been booked by Plusnet and they would do it in this call, this in now 3 weeks behind when I originally ordered my broadband and this means an engineer can't be booked for 2 weeks into November and 2 weeks after we were meant to move. Due to this we haven't been able to move house and have been staying with family instead so that we can work.

    I then get an email saying Plusnet have delayed our broadband appointment because they forgot to book a survey even though I told them at the very start that a line needs to be connected. Finally I am told our service will be expedited and that we will have an engineer on the 23rd. Two days later I get an email saying the date has changed again and that the service is further delayed. I am still without Internet and the ability to work due to the constant mistakes this company make.

    No point during this process have they called me to explain what has happened and instead I have had to chase them for updates. There is absolutely no customer service offered by this company. As soon as my line is finally connected I will be moving providers. Don't waste your time with them!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Burley in wharfedale
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Gave notice and asked for Mac code to go to BT. Next day broadband speed slowed down to 0.2mbs now still have a week before switch over. Are plus net breaking a code of conduct. I don't think it is anything to do with my kit.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glos
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    5 Days only with Plusnet
    Where to start
    Bill discrepancies
    20 Minutes wait on phone, girl very pleasant but did not seem to understand when told problems
    Impossible to chat online, keep being told to try later
    We want to cancel, but have no means of doing so
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Halifax
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    The whole service is absolutely disgusting. You have changed our phone number after over 30 years and cannot get it back apparently although you have emailed us saying our normal number would be back to us. You have not rung us back when you said you would between 7 - 9 pm this evening 2nd February 2017 about getting our number back this has not happened. Internet now works but we will have to contact everyone we have had in our life with new phone number and we were promised a phone back which never happened. Absolutely miserable customer care Plusnet do not care about anybody we need compensation for this absolute unbelievable ridiculous outcome. You have admitted the mistake absolutely and we are left having to contact everyone we known for over 30 years. We need to know what you are going to do about this. We are wanting compensation for this you have made absolutely everything worse. Doctors, dentists, vets every single contact now needs changing. Chips in dogs and horses now need changing because the telephone number is wrong. All the tags on the dogs collars need replacing as the contacts are wrong. All the chips in horses and dogs and the freeze brands on horses need changing.

    Our ratings for satisfaction in your company now are an absolute nil for telephone services although the internet connection now works.

    You have slammed the phone down on me tonight after waiting over 45 minutes.

    I am absolutely disgusted all this was caused by your company.

    I would appreciate any feedback you can give our experience has been mind blowing horrendous.

    Cathy and Russell Ramsden
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bridgend
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    We have been unable to get broadband on a regular basis for the past three weeks, I have made three phone call each one waiting at least an hour for a response, my issue has still not been resolved, no one has bothered to contact me. They are advertising every day for business, whilst not being able to deal with the customers they have already got, avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    York
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I have just cancelled my broadband service with them after three generally poor years of dismal speed, drop outs etc. I am being charged £84 cancellation etc. fees. A ridiculously high amount. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. Their customer service is abysmal - you have to wait up to half an hour to get through to anyone on the phone - I was told on the phone that my cancellation fees would not exceed £40 but I have now been told it is over double that. Don't bother with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrington
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    AVOID THIS COMPANY OFFER YOU SERVICES WHICH ARE NOT AVAILABLE AND TAKE YOUR MONEY FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE REFUNDING IT SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE STRONGLY ADVISE TO AVOID PAY THE EXTRA GO ELSE WHERE

    Absolutely disgusting company with no manners what so ever I would strongly recommend no one to go with this company you wait 30 minutes to get to speak to someone and when you do they don't want to help. very rude to you and then just put the phone down when you are in the middle of talking,tryed to contact them to join them and they lied what services you can be offered take your money and then let yu no in a week that they can't even offer you the service you agreed to and then when you speak to someone they are foul mannered unhelpful,how to treat new customers and they a supposed to have award winning customer service with a partner company something doesn't ad up I will be tell all my friends family everyone I possibly can to avoid these arrogant none helpful advisers who don't care about anything apart from taking your money!! AVOID THIS COMPANY WORST ADVISERS EVER
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I was forced to change to PlusNet as Freenetname had been taken over and so I was advised that if I wanted seamless service, I needed to go with PlusNet. I had little choice if I wanted uninterrupted service, so I was told. What an enormous mistake!
    The service has been appalling! I was unable to receive emails initially and so asked PlusNet to help sort the issue out. Their solution was to duplicate my mail box, which has caused immense problems, resulting in the fact that I do not and cannot use that mailbox anymore. It has attracted mountains of spam, scam emails and virtually anything unacceptable that you could think of. The mail boxes - because there are now TWO - required so much managing that I gave up and now do not use that address at all.
    In addition, my children cannot now even do their homework because the broadband is so slow. They cannot get at the sites they need sometimes within 15 to 20 minutes. They gave up and we had to apologise to the school for the speed of the service here. I have had various phone calls with customer services and they have offered to send me another router - that happened last time I complained but there was no improvement in the service. My IT friend tells me it should not make any difference in this instance anyway and he has advised that this service's speed is so unacceptable that I should ditch PlusNet and go with another provider who can provide an efficient service and value for money. For ease of service and continuity I would like to stay with PlusNet as I have my phone with them as well. However, I was not even able to look up a series of websites efficiently the week before half term to plan my children's half term holiday and was unable to remotely access my school account so I could help my students at school because the speed of the service was so amazingly poor. I was told that if I changed provider, I would have to 'pay through the nose' but really what service do I have when my children cannot even do their homework efficiently in the evenings and I cannot plan their half term break or do my work efficiently? I'd like to see what Plusnet's response is before I take action. However, I'd like the response to be factual and I'd like PlusNet to tell me how they are going to improve this service and quickly. I'd also like evidence of the improvement too.

    The children go back to school on Monday and I hope I don't have any more tears of woe because they cannot get online to do their homework. I also cannot afford to be unable to access my work from home because of the poor slow service provided.

    I am going to approach Watchdog about this service as I believe it is sufficiently bad that it needs attention. I can see that there are others who are equally as dissatisfied as I have looked at the PlusNet website and other broadband sites.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Axbridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Total crap just been on hold for nearly an hour, supposed to have been set up over a week ago and then this afternoon, appalling service am going to try to cancel this
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ashton Under Lyne
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    To be fair, I like the fact that their customer service is in the UK. Most of the support staff have been polite and appear to listen to your problems. However, one time when I said I couldn't continue phoning and waiting for engineers to visit (I've had 5), the woman seemed puzzled. So here's my experience. Ordered fibre broadband. Openreach engineer showed up - I'm on the wrong exchange and he can't do anything today. After listening to a tinny version of "Simply Irresistible" and other random tunes I explained my problem. A question was opened online and another engineer was booked. I received an email saying I had a new provisional telephone number and I was given a new date for an installation. The number was incorrect for my my area so I pointed out that I was probably still on the wrong exchange. I got no response, but an engineer turned up and said he couldn't do anything because we were on the wrong exchange. I received an email saying I would be billed for a further visit because I had given the wrong information. I had only given them my name, address and bank details so I was not impressed - especially since I had tried to point out I was still on the wrong exchange. I took it upon myself to find the cabinet number and name distribution point and I contacted customer services. More Robert Palmer, more promises to sort things out. A third and fourth engineer were sent out and in between much emailing and Robert Palmer listening. Eventually engineer number five installed a phone line. However he told me I should contact Plusnet customer services because his job was for a phone service and not broadband. Ok, take it away Mr Palmer. After listening to a few tunes, I was told that I couldn't have fibre broadband after all and I could either cancel or accept ADSL. I've gone for ADSL because I don't fancy another load hassle involving Openreach. It's supposed to be up and running by Thursday so we'll see what happens. I'm sure customer service training is all about keeping the customer calm and, perhaps having a smile in you voice. However, money would be better spent on technical staff or people to chase up Openreach. They also need to listen when you are telling them what the problem is. Finally, they need to call back when they say they will and they need to read and answer your questions.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somerset
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Have just joined Plusnet recently
    There was speed issues which my last provider continually failed to address, however Plusnet solved this now have 5.6GB (last provider 0.7GB)!!
    Their technical services have been fantastic setting up new account and setting up my emails etc.
    Early days but so glad I made the switch.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Salisbury
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I tried to switch to plus net - the service I received was dreadful. The engineers visit did not go a head as planned twice and no one contacted me, I constantly received emails asking me how I wanted to proceed with my order and had to spend hours telephoning to tell them I wished to continue only to be emailed the following day with the same question. There call centre is a waste of time - it my be free phone number but it takes nearly an hour to talk to someone only to be placed on hold again!
    I would definitely not recommend them - cheaper they may be than some, but peace of mind, trust, confidence and custom service are worth the extra because you won't get any of these with plus net.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Can't provide the services they sell you and not interested in helping you or sorting things out when you ring them (if you've got them time to wait in a queue for half-an-hour). Save yourself the bother and avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Alyth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    3 years with Plusnet with 5mbps,so not movies or music and for £32/month only:) I was complained with not successful but they arranged appoitment with,,engineer,, but hi was to busy and did not comes.
    I sent email that want to cancel contract because I am strongly not enjoy speed and customer service since 16.06.2014 with last payment.
    After 2 weeks Plusnet sent me outstanding fees but I had Direct Debit so all payments had been automatically.
    I did not paid because they do not want to explain me why and for what I have outstanding fees.....and for last2 months not answers.I had a couple of good enough reasons for cancelling but they do not want to understand me.
    Plusnet blocked my access to my account and doN't want to give MAC code which is required for the next provider...but this is not all. Plusnet is still connected with my line and do not want disconnect....

    So slowest broadband,poorest and most rude service ever
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    AWFUL SERVICE FROM AN APPAULLING PROVIDER

    I’ve spent hours on the phone to them in the last few weeks and I’m getting pretty sick of their attitude. The average time spent on hold before my calls have been answered is over an hour. They are then rude and are quite happy to lie (I know for a fact that they have lied to me) and blame anyone but themselves for the short comings in their service. . My broadband is generally unusable, about 0.2Mbts and drops out completely a lot of the time. Unfortunately tied into a contract and hae been told I will be charged exit fees if I leave, even though they are not providing me with the service I am paying for.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Worcester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Have had no internet only in front room, cuts off as soon asti leave front room, they advised Ethernet cable for ps4 in bedroom which I have done and still cuts off, but where do you put cable to iPhone or tablet??? There are a joke been set on phone for 15 mins as can't log on to there site y
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Unfortunately can not recommend Plusnet. Very unreliable poor broadband. Far below the promised speed of internet. Even though I had fibre. It’s not as cheap as advertised and better price and quality fully available nowadays from other providers. And most disappointingly customer service - not great. Not supporting , not prompt and not pleasant
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Highlands
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    All was well till I moved home. Line faults and road needs dug up, the fault of BT of course! Blackmailed into accepting callout charges, failure to communicate, promises re billing broken and the refusal to address the issues have left me wishing I'd never dealt with Plusnet. Plusnet blame BT, yet BT own Plusnet! It's not the speed of fixing the fault that upsets me, it's the lies & the lack of communication. Apparently Plusnet customer complaints department is offline so I can't even speak to them. I have lost all faith in what used to be a good company to deal with.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    10/10 for anyone who loves holding music and incompetence.

    A company that advertises itself as having great customer services.
    Signed up for fibre broadband, a week later I receive a text telling me BT have uninstalled the line and I therefore need to pay them a £50 activation fee - why is there not a system in place for them to say 'by the way BT, don't deactivate that line because we'll need it'?
    Also, on the website it says that the activation is free, but this is different from the line installation - fair enough but this needs to be clearer.
    When phoning I was in the queue for 30 - 50 mins on every occasion.
    Final part of my rant: calling after hours and selecting the options for anything other than the tech support team (eg cancellations team) just transfers you to the tech support team, without saying anything like 'by the way this department is closed, so we are transferring you' just leaves you on hold for 40 mins until you finally get someone who can't do anything for you.
    Absolute shambles.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Calver
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Actually awful. It's always buffering even when there's just one person using it. It switches off and on randomly and doesn't even work half the time.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.