Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.7 stars
  • Speed
    3.3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.4 stars

Based on 1937 customer ratings since 2021-07-05 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,571 Customer Reviews over 90 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could give negative stars I would. I ordered their unlimited fibre, got a date for the engineer to call. No engineer turned up as the order hadn't gone onto their system. Somehow. So they order it again. This time the engineer date is booked (another two weeks to wait). To cut a very long, angry, frustrating story short, they ended up suspending my order, cancelling my current subscription with my provider (without my permission) and now I'm in limbo without phone or broadband for at least 10 working days. Only sign up with Plusnet if you want an experience and disruption from hell.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Herefordshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Plusnet are absolutely awful, constant drop outs and slow speeds. No help beyond "have you tried resetting the router?" from customer service. Will change internet service provider as soon as I can. Please, I urge anyone to stay away from them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bradford
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had been with Plusnet BBand for several years without issue but a few months ago speeds fell : often < 2Mbps and sometimes < 05Mbps. Took 27hours for my son to download a game! I bought a new router and recently had 2 engineer visits. Still no commitment (dates or actions)to fix my issue or offer ADSL2 despite competitors offering it from the same junction box. Going to test my luck with another provider - couldn't be any worse! Where is fibre optic - it's 2015 !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    PLEASE BE AWARE:

    I've given Plusnet over a year to resolve my issues- they still have not.

    They have been given information from an engineer confirming there are hardware issues external to my house- despite this they persist in telling me I have "wifi issues".

    Now they lie and tell me I have an outstanding balance - there is no outstanding bill on my account - and they cut my services. Within one week they send me a letter informing me that "as a result of the outstanding balance your account has been de-activated".
    I'm sure this cannot be related to the complaint I logged with CISAS, surely?

    I have told them I will pay this erroneous bill, under duress, if it existed. It does not exist and I cannot pay a bill that does not exist- there is no outstanding bill showing on my online account even though I have asked them twice to create such a bill and I will immediately pay.

    It has been suggested to me that they just want to cancel my services with you rather than complete the necessary work on your own hardware, surely not.

    It took emails to the CEO and a complaint to CISAS to even get them to engage with me.

    I write this as a warning to others.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dunstable
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We signed up to Plusnet at the beginning of May. It took until the 23rd June to actually be connected. Since being connected the broadband is awful, keeps dropping and having absolutely no connection at all. God help it if someone wants to use the laptop and someone else is on their internet on their phone!!

    There customer service is absolutely ridiculous. No help what so ever and have been very rude. Are saying we have to pay a leaving fee even though we are still in the 14 days of receiving it.

    KEEP AWAY FROM PLUSNET!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Please do not use Plusnet for you internet service provider they are a disaster. All the reviews on their website are a fake. My connection has been dropping a million times in a day need to reset the modem several times and when you call them to fix it you have to wait on the phone for 45 minutes. Even after waiting they promise to call you back and never do and no one wants to take ownership. When I called them about the internet they were insisting on using an engineer and charging me £50 I had just changed broadband a day later from TalkTAlk and everything was fine. PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BUY BROADBAND
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Sussex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Further to my review on here on 20/06/15 Plusnet replied on 24/06/15 with the following:

    "
    As it stands we do not inform customers when there contracts are about to expire. However, we do from time to time send special offers via email. Unfortunately you are opted out of the special offers which we send out.
    "
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Biggin Hill, Kent
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with PlusNet for a number of years. At best their service was indifferent and patchy but in the last two months it has dropped off a cliff. You have to wait ages for technical support which is no help at all and its hard to see how customer services could care less than they do. Then to add insult to injury, they want to charge you £30 to leave them. They are a shambles and an utter disgrace. My cat would provide a better service. Go with anybody else - these guys really are the bottom of the barrel.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had the same as another person giving a review. Bill went sky high, was told my contract had expired. I asked what offers there were if I renewed the contract. I was not happy with the offer and then was told they would throw in a 50.00 cashback. I was told by the lad renewing the contract that he would get the 50.00 sent off to me straight away. I never received any money back. Kept phoning, then told that it takes 60 days to get cash-back as this is done by another company. This was not mentioned when I renewed. I have had dozens of emails from Plusnet saying they had opened a question with regard to this problem.
    I received an email from plusnet on 9th June 2015 saying the cheque would be with me within a week. I phoned on 17th June as I still had not received any cheque to be told they would open another question which would close on 24th June 2015. Today 25th June I phoned to say I still had not received the cheque only to be told an email with cheque details had been sent to the email address I was using with my previous provider????? They only took my previous provider email address at the initial phone call in 2014 when I wanted to change to Plusnet, and this was only because he said it would be a couple of weeks before Plusnet could connect me to their service and they wanted it in case they had to contact me prior to the change-over. Why would the cheque email go to an email address I havn't had for 15 months when they gave me a plusnet email address when I took the initial contract? And which they and I have been using since April 2014.
    I am very dissatisfied with this company. I would not recommend them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wrexham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband speed has got slower and slower, now averages .69 download speed. But I cannot contact PlusNet - 30 min wait on phone, online chat not available and no possibility to email them. It is intolerable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Great for the first few weeks then it's downhill all the way. Speed is dreadful and you can wait up to an hour to get through to customer services.
    I am paying £16-99 a month just for broadband so it's not the cheapest supplier by a long chalk. They tell me it's because I am in a rural area and yet BT don't distinguish between rural and city, same price everywhere.
    I should have stayed will narrow band. You live and learn.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I set up with PlusNet after reading reviews online about how good they were, I had had issues with Sky and Virgin before and wanted a connection that would not be watered down by the popularity of a service provider in my area! so a good deal, especially with the price and for Fibre too..

    From September to February, I had excellent broadband, no wireless issues, nothing! then bam! Connection kept dropping! keeps dropping, I cant view pictures online, see web pages, I have to re-start my internet again & again, reset the router over and over, just to get a web page up! Today, I've had to give up and move my office downstairs to the router and work from the flipping floor! just to get a more reliable connection and still!! with Ethernet cable attached to my Pc, the connection drops constantly! SORT THIS OUT!!! I've a business to run here!

    Customer Service! Is a shambles, I've been fobbed of with excuse after excuse after excuse! I used to be a BT engineer, so the excuses were laughable to me, I've had to keep trying to set up a PPOPE connection direct from the BT modem to the PC! which hasn't fixed things at all! I am about to give them 14 days notice to fix my broadband or I'm taking my cash elsewhere and ripping their contract up for breach of service! DON'T go to Plus net! EVER!! Sky were better & Faster than this on old copper wires! that says a lot!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Windsor
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I recently (reluctantly) signed up for fibre broadband with Plusnet, having previously been a customer. Last time round I experienced long delays getting connected and was left for weeks without phone and broadband. No compensation was offered and I experienced extremely poor customer service. I thought I'd give them another chance but really wish I hadn't. I took a day off work to wait for an engineer to install the new service. However, despite their written confirmation, it transpired that my order had not been processed owing to a problem with their automated system. I only found this out when I contacted them online the evening before to double check the engineer was booked. (Also, my address on their system was incorrect but I was told they could not update it.) Again I was not offered any compensation for the inconvenience and time off work and again I experienced dire customer service. Eventually, I managed to get my initial costs refunded and my account cancelled having phoned them at my expense. My advice would be to avoid this company. They simply cannot handle it when things go wrong and their customer service is appalling. DO NOT BELIEVE THEIR ADVERTISING!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Sussex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been using Plusnet and have been a big supporter however I have been left with a bad taste recently after my bill went from £7.50 per month to £30 - £40 per month (prices differed each month).

    I phoned customer services who informed me my contract had expired (part of the jump was to do with now paying phone line per month where previously we paid the phone line up front, the additional cost was because we were out of contract).

    I said to the adviser that I haven't received any notifications informing me my contract has expired, he said that I had received one and then tried to get me to renew my contract. I checked all the emails including deleted emails and I couldn't see any informing me of the approaching expiration or confirming expiration or asking me to renew.

    I then tried contacting them using the online chat where the adviser said they don't send 'end of contract' reminders it is down to individual users to know when their contract expires (conflicting information). I am so unimpressed they don't send simple notifications, it seems pretty obvious to me extra revenue is being made from unsuspecting customers instead of sending out simple renewal notifactions.

    If they had just sent a simple automated email informing me my contract was ending do I wish to renew, I would have renewed. They have obviously made a business decision not to do this.

    I sent a complaint last week and am currently waiting for a reply. I will let you know their response if they reply.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been using different broadband companys in the past 10 year,this one call Plusnet is absolute the worst ever company,waiting for half month until the installation date.stay home for the engineer from 8am-6pm. nobody turn up,call the customer service for 40 minutes,speak to a staff, simply tell you the engineer will not be here and also can not tell you when will the engineer come,no text no email nobody tell you anything,can not believe this is a uk company,avoid for your own safe.Top 1 rubbish.I would give 0 Star if I can.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somerset
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been with thema long while (+8 years) and witnessed their helpfulness and value decrease and decrease ... now just another of the pack!

    This review is of the last 18 months in which time the reliability has been poor and the the handling of it has been unhelpful. SHAME.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Plus net has a bad reputation in my area, speeds vary from 0.01mbps down, to a whopping 1mbps on a good day. Ping is around 300 to uk servers, upload of 0.05, virtually non existent and extremely expensive. It's all our fault, despite a payment towards a new router, and nothing wrong on our side.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Internet historically slow and unreliable. Router would crash occasionally. When i wanted to cancel my contract, i first had to wait 20 minutes in the waiting loop, then they told me i had to pay the remaining 9m on the contract and that i had to pay it right now or would be passed on to their debt collection business.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Petworth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After changing from SKY I signed up for 12 months with this lousy bunch.
    The speed is the same but the supplied router is absolute rubbish with poor signal in places at home where previously with the Sky router was fine. Router is in the same place after contacting their help line I was told to try other channels which I did without success I was told I should buy another router Im not prepared to do that I was told I would get the same service as my Sky a/c and as I was using an Ethernet cable I was ! Well after changing to save a couple of quid it has cost me more on our Mobile phone bills as we constantly run out of data because our mobiles connect up to cell rather than find the poor wi fi signal. I'm stuck with them as my contract still has 10 months to run
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with plusnet for over 15 years when it was still dial up with no major issues other than loosing the connection once and having to replace the router.
    until the technology got faster and we started using tablets and ipods.
    Firstly we apparently went over the monthly data allowance when the kids discovered face time and was presented with a £10 extra bill without prior consent. with |O2 you get the choice to purchase more date fist or it just slows down until the next month.
    Therefore we decided to move across to unlimited to prevent this and that's when the broadband speeds slow down to as slow as old dialup.
    When I asked the said it is because of your location from the exchange that the speeds were slow.
    Now moved to BT and the speeds are a lot faster
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I normally don't like to write a review but Plusnet definitely deserved one. I have placed a order for a fibre optic internet 2 weeks ago. The day before I contacted plusnet to complain about not having received the router. After wait for more than 40 minutes, I was informed that they had a technical issue and they wouldn't be able to complete the installation on the fallowing day. I'm very disappointed with the level of professionalism. I should have been informed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid at all costs!
    Switched from talk talk to plusnet 2months ago. Broadband speed is okay but our nowtv and Netflix freeze often where as this never happened with talk talk. Apparently the same broadband speed.
    Our current deal is an 18 month contract -12 months free broad band and we only pay line rental then after 12 months we pay £9.99 plus line rental.
    However we are having to move house and plusnet have decided that this is going to cost £65.90 plus after our 12 months of free broadband instead of paying £9.99 plus Line rental we will need to pay £17.49 plus line rental. As if moving home wasn't expensive enough. Other options were if we took a new contract for 24 months and lost the 12 months free broadband and payed the rate of 13.50 plus line rental then we could have the move for free but then stuck with awful broadband for two years. Or we could cancel our contract and have to pay £195.05.
    It's a shame as if we hadn't of switched - talk talk would never of charged us to move or increased the contract price. Will have to pay the moving fee and then the increased price of £17.49 plus line rental till our 18months is up and I will never buy anything from plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Hopelessly uncoordinated customer service. Wasted half a day trying to get a five-minute fix when I switched over from TalkTalk. I do not recommend them and will not be renewing the contract.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    wakefield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    i am overall 100% satisfied with plusnet fibre broadband,it took just eight days to connect my fibre connection, there was a problem at the exchange but this was sorted the next day, i have excellent connection all around the house no buffering when streaming or playing online games and customer service has been better than any other internet provider i have had before, very friendly and helpfull. well done plusnet another satisfied customer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Don't believe the service hype, it is rubbish. 45 min wait for an answer each time, didn't send router in time, wrong information, faulty router when it did arrive, no back up. The advertising standards agency should shut them down.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Littlehampton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    We had trouble from the very start. The installation engineer did not turn up -apparently it was the computers fault. Tried to telephone to re-arrange and was passed from pillar to post.
    Each time they transfer the call you get put on hold for 15 mins -even when you try to cancel
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    Comments
    I've just switched my fibre broadband to Plusnet and I must say it all went very smoothly and am switched over with no hitches in 6 days from the time I placed my order early one evening.
    I found the Plusnet webchat support very helpful for a few questions I had and I didn't have to wait long to "chat" to someone. Additionally I found the communication from Plusnet excellent.
    Too early to comment on broadband speed but so far so good!
    I nearly didn't go with Plusnet having read the bad reviews on various websites, but since people with bad experiences are more likely to review than satisfied customers, I decided to go ahead anyway - and I've been very pleasantly surprised ....so far.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Doncaster
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would liked to have put lower scores but couldn't. It took 3 weeks for them to even get my phone line on after taking over and then told I have to have a temp tel. number until they can get my old number. Internet has just been activated nearly 1 month from sign up date and I am using neighbours to write this as its un usable as so slow. Signed up for fibre but on ADSL. Engineer failed to arrive on 3 occasions, and I waited in. Fed up with being lied too or not being called back. I would advise everyone to lick yourself in the head before signing up with plusnet. I am going to cancel and go back to my old provider. Oh and did I mention quickest time to answer phone was 29 minutes.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Greater London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Very poor customer service. Wait times on phone never less that 20 min. The customer service staff raise questions but no action is ever taken. You call back to chase. Another 20 mins (at least) on hold. They raise another question. And so on. I should have stuck with SKY. Plus Net, for unknown reasons, cancelled my phone line so I also lost internet. This was after having been with them for 3 weeks. No one can tell me why they took this action. Have been without broadband and landline for two weeks. Spent over 4 hours over the past two days trying to get someone in Plus Net to own my problem. Hopeless. Do not go with Plus Net.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Rugby
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Agree with many reviewers here, Broadband got worse over the last year, dropped every evening about 8.30. I tried to change but they did something weird to the line before the agreed date so that BT couldn't pick it up again for 11 days. Plusnet said they could restore it within 2 days and gave me a great deal. I have been without BBand for 10 days now anyway so I should have waited and given BT a chance. Customer service is a joke, they just pass you round from team to team of scripted morons, having waited on the phone for 30 mins with irritating music. They don't value their customers. To be fair if you ring their tech support line at about 6.45 a.m. you tend to get someone sensible, if powerless, and they try to goad the account teams into the correct action. To quote their engineer, "this place is full of idiots". I'm giving them 24 hours before I cancel the lot and go back to pigeon post.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    stroud
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    After reading many good reviews about PlusNet I just want to share some concerns I have about them. 1. Total inability to transfer our original telephone number across from our old supplier despite numerous assurances causing loads of inconvenience, upset and time wasting 2. Their router completely crashed my Macbook. Took weeks to realize it was their router doing it. Poor effort PlusNet, unimpressed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    PlusNet are rubbish, Router did not arrive installation date did not happen. lame explanation of no email confirmation of order. not at all happy with PlusNet I do not know why I am leaving Talktalk????
    I think PlusNet are overwhelmed with orders and struggling to keep up but its the customers who suffer,
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bexley London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor unreliable slow service with difficult to contact and robotic customer service agents. Would give zero stars if an option. Transferred to Plusnet BB 3 months ago. 3 faults since each lasting several days. No BB faults in previous 11 years with BT using same exchane and line. Awaiting new router, due in several days BEFORE they will consider sending an engineer. AVOID this provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    it was ok while we where with them,didnt reach the promised broadband speed ... but as i left i still was charged for another 6 months and i went threw the hell trying to get my money back!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stamford
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I usually switch utilities/insurances etc on an annual basis in order to ensure that I am getting the best deal. However I have now been with Plusnet for 4 years.

    Previously, I was with Talk Talk (big mistake!) and switched due to poor connectivity and customer service. Plusnet haven't disappointed me yet.

    Considering we are in a rural area and at the end of the exchange, the internet speed is fairly good. In the four years we have been with Plusnet we haven't had any issues *touch wood.*

    Their prices are excellent. I'm super happy because they are honest. Out fo the blue I recieved an 80pound cheque as the prices had been lowered in our area (I didn't even know) and they had been charging us the old price. They could have kept this quiet and I would have been none the wiser, however instead they were honest and acted with integrity and gave me a cheque for the difference.

    Overally I'd thoroughly recommend Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Midlands
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They took all my details for a new connection. Received nothing so after a few days contacted them and they have no record of the sale. Went to them for their supposed excellent service, but they are clearly a joke outfit like the rest
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They don't accept email.
    I've been off for about six weeks this year so far.
    They apparently cannot remotely diagnose a fault with the modem they supply, and left me to discover that this was the fault lately. I thus was at the mercy of the £85 charge for BT outreach to enter muy home and diagnose my modem.
    I have to ring them now (and wait however long that takes) to get a MAC code.
    After 8 years, most of them fine, I'd say they are now dreadful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Merseyside
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    My broadband service was switched early, not on the specified day.
    I was left with no service for six days as the plusnet router took six days to arrive (not two or three as indicated by plusnet).
    Spent 30 mins in a queue to contact customer service.
    When the router arrived it had been locked to another user name. there were no instructions in the manual to change the user name. which meant another 30 mins in a phone queue waiting to speak to customer service. Total time spent on phone to customer service before successful connection was 70 mins. Very very poor customer service, slightly cheaper but I wish I had stayed with EE.
    Download/upload speed is exactly the same.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could I would give this terrible company 1 star, but unfortunately it's not possible.

    After experiencing connection problems me and my partner decided to upgrade to Plusnet Fibre. And this is where the fun started. At the begging of may they arranged an engineer to come at our place. We were told that he will be be there from 8-13. Since both of us work 9-18 my partner had to take a half day off. Around 12 engineer called to say that he won't be able to come in as the line is still owned by BT. At this point we were quite understanding.

    So the appointment was rescheduled for 02/06 8-13. This time I asked my employer if I could work from home. When I woke up I discovered that the internet is not working (I was told that it will only be disconnected for half an hour), so I had to buy BT for £8 a day. Which was also kinda understandable. The engineer came and told that the internet might take awhile and might only be on by midnight. Which didn't happen. We called support team and it turns out that the engineer forgot to attach the main fibre box !!!! Oh and the wire wasn't even plugged in the fibre socket. Which didn't matter much as we didn't have internet anyway.

    After raising this issue, the 3rd engineer was scheduled to come in and fix this problem on 04/06. My boyfriend had to take the morning off again. BUT THE &%$^ DIDN'T SHOW UP!!! They didn't bother to warn us and so my boyfriend lost 4 hours of work!!!!!!

    We have raised this problem and asked them to come in before or after our work hours as we can't afford to take any more time off work! And all that plusnet can say is that the engineer can only come in from 8-13 or 13-18. Obviously they don't know how to deal with issues and don't appreciate or care for their customers.

    Since they cannot be bothered to come through we have asked to cancel fibre and return our shitty internet (at least it worked most of the time). But now we have to wait 4 days until it will happen.

    So here you go PLUSNET SUCKS!!!
    Summary:
    3 failed appointments from their side (even though if the customer isn't home at the arranged time they must pay £50!!)
    7 Days without internet!
    Lost time at work
    Extra expenses for BT internet!

    P.S. Oh by the way this will go everywhere I can think of.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Windsor
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Maybe not the absolute fastest but the connection has always been stable and you cannot beat their U.K based customer service team!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.