Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.6 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.4 stars
  • Reliability
    3.5 stars

Based on 1788 customer ratings since 2021-08-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,580 Customer Reviews over 90 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Holywood, Northern Ireland
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Changed this month from BT, who were over charging and poor value for money. Cannot prise Plusnet highly enough, very fast smooth change over, and internet speeds are much faster than BT for a lot less money. highly recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I would like to first thanks Sam Hargreaves for his outstanding customer service that he provided. I recently moved home and was waiting for 2 weeks for my internet and phone line to be set up I received a tx from plusnet saying an engineer will be out 14 October between 8am-1pm I had a day off and was called into work but my wife was home for a short while as she had an appointment with the doctors for the little ones as they where in well unfortunately that had to be missed due to the fact that no engineer appeared and she stayed home all day waiting. I was furious so I called in the morning and spoke to Sam Hargreaves and appoligised for the inconvenience it had caused. He stayed that there was a mix up and no engineer was needed to come out imeddiately he offered one month of my broadband and went out his way to even call back on my mobile on two occasions to set up my new router which I had purchased from tesco as I lost the plusnet one I could not thank him enough for the service he has provided overall I am very satisfied with the customer service and how quickly they can resolve issue people of you can't get through to them on time well then I suggest you try calling first thing in the morning and you definitely will get through.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wigton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Best broadband provider we've had in years. Strong fibre optic connection that does wave up and down a bit but otherwise stays above 60mb. It was set up in half an hour with no delays. I can finally download movies and games in a time frame of minutes instead of days, and nobody is complaining that their streams are crashing constantly.

    Not related entirely but it's worth reminding people reading these posts that the vast majority of people will only write up reviews when they want to complain about something.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bristol
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    Comments
    What a faff!! Been over a week now waiting for our broadband to come back up!! Plusnet said it would take no more than 4 days! My mobile data is through the roof.. cant watch catch up tele... and the customer helpline is USELESS my husband is a IT consultant and can do a better job than this.... VERY VERY unhappy!!! Get it sorted plus net or we shall find some other service that says what it will do and is honest to their costumers!! We are paying good money and you cant even provide the service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    southampton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Biggest Mistake I have made going to Plus Net Firstly the router they supply has no range like the Sky I had previous despite being in the same location. Had to buy 2 wifi extenders If you stream movies don't expect to see the end of them as it constantly drops out. Phoned them and after a 45 min wait I was told they were allowed to drop out 5 times a day and mine had only dropped out 3 times in the last 24 hours Drop outs can last mins or hours but they said they are allowed I was also told they are NOT a premium broadband supplier so don't expect a premium service Roll on March 16th when I can dump this lousy service in the mean time I must tell everyone
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Super ISP when I first started about 6 years ago - good speeds, reasonable fast customer service.

    But it's gone down the tubes since. Rarely get advertised speed, total drop outs are common, and it takes a lifetime to get through to a human being at customer services - not that they're usually the slightest help anyway. Great with promises, not so hot on action.

    They've recently offered me fibre, but my question on how the hell they can guarantee high speeds when they can't even maintain ordinary adsl speeds brings just corporate guff.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Durham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible beyond belief. Customer service pay you lip service to pacify you but the problem is never solved. Plusnet admit that there is a broadband issue and then state that fault is corrected but it is not. I have had no broadband issues at all until i signed up to plusnet, coincidence i think not! I am currently paying for a service that is not fit for purpose!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Beckenham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    We were originally with Talk Talk when we signed up with Virgin to get a better deal. However, despite several texts from Virgin confirming they would be attending for the installation, no one actually turned up! Were very annoyed especially as my husband, who was very ill with the flu at that time, spent the day moving furniture, taking stuff off of wardrobes etc., so that they could run the cables. Decided to stay with Talk Talk who informed us that it was "too late to cancel the cancellation" and disconnected our broadband and telephone line the next day. Bit annoyed with Talk Talk and Virgin so signed up with Plusnet. Very smooth from start to finish. They reconnected our phone line the very next day. Had to wait a couple of weeks for fibre optic broadband to be installed as they were fully booked, however, on the day of the installation the engineer (who was very nice) turned up at 8.00am ringing beforehand to say he was on his way. Throughout the 2 week wait for the broadband we received regular texts and emails with updates. Since having the service installed we have had absolutely no problems with the broadband or telephone. My only slight niggle was that I had to ring them a couple of times (once to get the caller display added to the phone and the other time to confirm they would still be coming to install as Virgin made me a bit paranoid)and had to wait about 50 minutes on one occasion and about 35 minutes on the other before I got to speak to anyone. However, as the calls are free I just got on with my life whilst having the phone on loudspeaker. Once I did speak to them, they were very pleasant on the phone and actually sounded like they knew what they were talking about. All in all I am very pleased with their service and would definitely recommend them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    oxfordshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    useless,unreliable and takes weeks to do anything, leaving is also a nightmare. Do not want to let you leave after agreeing to you leaving, then wont refund prepayment period. Have wasted litterally hours on the phone to them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been waiting for Fibre optic broadband for almost 3 weeks, after BT failed to keep appointment. No response from Plusnet, but my money is OK.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been waiting for Fibre optic broadband for almost 3 weeks, after BT failed to keep appointment. No response from Plusnet, but my money is OK.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hoddesdon
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Throttling seems to be endemic with budget providers.
    Frequent drop out and times when no service available.
    Glad I'm not paying huge sums for this.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Just appalling service on all levels. I ordered fibre on 31 July and sine then have had it for 3 days only. Routinely wait 40-45 minutes to speak to customer service, but it is usually 90 as once through they transfer you to another department where you suffer the same wait to get through. My fibre has been cut off three times by PN "in error" but each time it takes 15 days to restore. I'm now on my fourth reconnection and so can post this. I'm often sceptical of bad reviews, wanting to give the benefit of the doubt, but PN are truly the worst company I have ever come across in all aspects. Aside from those gripes the phone line crackles and, having put in 5 (five) requests for caller number display, which costs me 99p per month) it has never been switched on. Aside from emails, which take 10 days to answer, phone calls which take 45 mins to answer, and live chat where the operator on the other end cannot write in even vaguely comprehensible English, I have tried mail and courier. All to no avail. I think the only solution is a trip to Yorkshire. Life is too short. It should not be like this. Anyway, AVOID AVOID AVOID.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pontypool
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved to plusnet from talk-talk and I thought I'd never say this but "come back talk-talk, all is forgiven!". In comparison, talk-talk is fantastic! Or to be exact, plusnet is absolute rubbish. They messed up every step of the switch-over, which took about one month from order - so much for the 10 working days. Charged rates for service provision above those agreed, and were late in sending the router. When it finally arrived, I couldn't connect because they omitted to "switch" the service on!. As for the internet service provision itself, it's slow, almost guaranteed to "fall out" at least once every evening requiring a reboot of the router, and as for trying to talk to someone from the tech department - you've got to hold on the phone for about half an hour having to put up with the most diabolical "music" you can imagine before hand. The advert says "we'll do you proud" - what nonsense - I'll have the wooden spoon every time (refer to ad). I've unfortunately got another 11 months of the contract to go - it'll not be 11 months and 1 day I assure you - my advice? Simple - AVOID AT ALL COSTS
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aldeburgh
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I cannot rate it as plusnet are terrible I have been waiting for installation of a line since June 8th 2015 and still no further forward and cannot speak to anyone that seems to do anything. Their advert should be taken off the tv
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Taunton
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID AVOID AVOID. These people are completely inept. I haven't had a reliable broadband service since the beginning of the year, and after hanging on the phone for 30 minutes plus every time I ring to tell them about it, they fiddle around and supposedly fix the fault. Then a week later its the same again. I rang to cancel my account back in July and was persuaded to go over to fibre which I was told would sort everything out. It didn't - I just pay more, and now they are trying to tie me in to the 24 month contract I only took out on the basis it would solve the problem. I am now in dispute over their termination fee. Money for nothing, that is.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Ignore the ads - speed dreadful, crackling phone line, engineer call outs cancelled without notice, lagging, dropping out - could go on and on. Over half an hour waiting for Customer Services. No refund for advance payments. Shocking, shocking service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stafford
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My internet speed and connection has been really bad lately. For the past two days I have been getting less than 100kb/s I have no idea why, it is normally 2mb/s or above and my connection is better. I can still watch youtube and stream films in HD quality though. Over all I think Plusnet for me has been bad overall, at the moment I cant even talk or play with my friends online because of it and that is what I enjoy doing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    grantham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Following a house move PlusNet were incapable of handling the transfer. After weeks of frustration, incompetence and broken promises I moved to a new provider. I am now in dispute with them over cancellation fees. Yesterday they sent me a bill for £20425.00 They seen more interested in advertising how good they are but their systems appear chaotic and unable to cope; apart from sending money demands. It is virtually impossible to get through to them and when you do succeed they are no help. Best steer clear of PlusNet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    When I changed to another broadband supplier they said sorry you are leaving and cancelled my direct debit.
    Then the accounts dept said they couldn't access my direct debit and they couldn't take my monthly payment.I told them I had changed my supplier and that they had cancelled my direct debit I spoke to their accounts and they told me I owed £12.63 so I sent a cheque for this amount on the 10/10/15 .on the 14/10/15 I receive a letter saying I owed £1263.00 I later received an email with an apogee but still saying I owed £12.63 . A sad end to a to a relationship with a company that had up until then been vert good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    huddersfield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID PLUSNET - Peter Kay might reckon these guys are just great but on every account they are terrible. I was cut off for 2 weeks phone and broadband - no help at all - you have to call them to find out what, if anything, is being done, as go through the usual 30 mins plus wait just to talk to a really unhelpful adviser who knows nothing and is totally demotivated and uninterested in pushing for any action. Speeds were below what was publicised when it did work. When you send them an email it took 10 days to get a response. DIRE - AVOID!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    huddersfield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    I have been without a fully operating answerphone since 23 September 2015, I have raised at least 7-8 questions; and no-one at plus-net seems to have the ability to ensure repairs have been undertaken correctly. today an engineer telephoned and said the line was faulty and crackling fading, total garbage, the fault is at the exchange and responsibility of BT...apparently it needs a working port -a lift/shift and someone has got their wires wrong!
    NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE plus-net they have cost me considerable money in missed appointments and to new users I say that unless we see change with compensation forthcoming then I shall not renew my contract FEB 2016 NO WAY!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    kettering
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    take no notice of there adverts about customer service 20 minute wait on the phone gave up once. Having changed my bank I received a email asking for more card details and if I did not give it to them my service may be reduced apparently it takes them10-14 days to set up another direct debit.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Haverhill
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    Like so many on this site, Plusnet have messed up big time. Not going to go into all the details but it would appear that within the Plusnet company 'Arse and Elbow' springs to mind. I would definately not recommend Plusnet to anyone . . .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I ordered fibre from plusnet at the end of August. No contact from plusnet and nobody turned up on the assigned installation date. I called to complain and they said I had to wait another month, I asked to cancel but they said I would be liable for the whole term of my contract if I did! Anyway they gave me another installation date a month later. No contact from plusnet and nobody turned up on that installation date either. This is the worst customer service I have ever received from any company ever! I wish there was a rating lower than 1 star!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    north Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Words fail me. We have our internet and landline through plusnet, DO NOT USE THEM.
    I have had no landline or internet for 2 WEEKS. Part of which my husband was away and I was alone in threes middle of the countryside.

    Took day off work at great expense too me, told I would be fined £50 if not there. They didn't turn up!!!
    Numerous calls from work...numerous promises. Still without any phone or internet. BE WARNED
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Good honest broadband from Yorkshire? Leading customer support? Yeah, right...

    Worst issue: A completely private and unique email account, that had only ever been given to PN's billing system and has never been used anywhere else, has been 'leaked'. This has happened to *many* other PN customers using similar unique and private PN-only email addresses (there's a way to do this so that no spammer should ever get hold of the address unless it's given out by the person it was given to). PN doesn't seem to care that they can be the only source of this supposedly-accidental leak of confidential information about their customers. I now recieve hundreds of spam emails a week to an account that had existed for years without any at all, until PN leaked it. PN has tried to ignore and belittle this incident on their forum in the hopes that it just goes away and people forget about it. Customer support refuse to discuss the issue and just regurgitate useless advice about how to avoid spam in general.

    Other issues: The speed drops significantly (almost unusable) every night, between midnight and around 2am. I live in a quiet-ish area and there's no way that it is local contention or interference. This has gone on for several years on PN.

    It's a shame. PN was good once, many years ago. Not so now. Of course, BT own them now and pull the strings I imagine...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Corby
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Worst mistake of my life, joined plusnet due to their advert, unfortunately on the day I got my Broadband set up with them I realised I made a huge mistake, I mean the 1st day the Internet went down I phoned them up so see what is up and waited 50 minutes for my call to be answered.
    The fibre broadband speed I had was so slow, I was unable to have 2 Internet windows open at the same time, some larger website were impossible to view, I called Plusnet to report the slowness only to get told I will need a laptop so they can talk me through how to test that the modem or router are working fine, I informed them that I do not own a laptop and was told I need to purchase one otherwise they can not help me!
    I put up with this problem as I wasn't going to get a laptop, I was then informed that they are putting up their prices and due to this I could cancel my contract early without any cost to me, I did cancel and went to another provider still using Open reach cables but with this companies router etc and the speed is brilliant.
    A month after I received a email from plusnet informing me I had to pay 1 months phone line rental by mid September otherwise they will send my information to a debt collector, I phoned plusnet and was told there is no amount to be paid and they had credited my account so the balance was zero!
    I received a letter yesterday from a debt collection company saying I have 7 days from the date of the letter to pay plusnet £115 otherwise they will take the matter further, I straight away called Plusnet and after waiting 35 minutes my call was answered, I got told the fee was a cancellation fee, I explained that I was told and still have it in writing that no charge will be applied to me for cancelling early, unfortunately Plusnet have no record off this so today I emailed them a copy off this message and got a automated email back stating my email will get a response within 10 working days, however the debt collector wants payment within 4 days now!
    Plusnet are a joke,Please do not fall for their advert like I did, the companies they say they are better than are in fact much better than plusnet as I have found out!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Beware of Plusnet if you plan to move home. We paid for line rental upfront and had a good deal with no contract end date, we looked for this as we were planning to move in the year. However when we came to move they slap a £65 moving charge on you which is hidden in their T&C's! Wouldn't refund or offer any help it was either pay this or lose the line rental savings we had already paid. Thieving scum bags!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely filth and rubbish. Beware of this fraud company who tell something else on their website but cant transfer even your number to their network. Their customer service reps are without any real knowledge about how things work. they take more than 15 minutes to answer the calls of existing customers. Waste of time
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Up until now Plusnet have been really good. The broadband was (and still is) fast enough, at least where I live, for two people to stream movies, browse the internet, etc. and the phone service was, well, a phone service. I also used to think the customer service was good, to the point that I'd actually recommended Plusnet to people. So far so good. But now they have changed the website... Want to email about leaving or renewing? You can't do that online... Want to raise an online query/ticket? Can't find how to do that either... So then you try and call them. You want to wait for 15-30 minutes these days then hey? But it's okay, because they then tell you that you can sort your problem out on the website. Phew... Wait, what?? So yeah, now that reasonably priced year's broadband and line rental has run out, I don't have the time to wait half an hour to try and get through to them on the phone, so now I'm being overcharged on a monthly basis... Thanks, Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    southport
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst broadband I've ever had, not worth the lower cost. It cuts off randomly at times, slows down regularly Please don't go with this company it's aids.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    This company needs to do everyone a favour and give up!! Give up and stop letting people waste their money with their rip off contracts that are impossible to get out of without paying out a fortune!!! They should have to pay for counselling sessions for their customers with the stress you have to go through!!!! Honestly save your health and choose another company!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Order was due for delivery on 2/9/15. My existing broadband went off and I had no service. Spet over 12 hours on the phone with unhelpful and rude support staff. After 2.5 weeks took legal advise and cancelled the service. They then tried to charge me £188 for the phone part of the package. More legal advise and they backed down. Moved to Sky without any problems
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Seend Cleeve
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I was with plusnet at my previous property and they were very good. Since moving this year Ive taken out two new accounts with them, one for home the for my business.

    Both accounts have been totally unacceptable, my work account speed regularly drops down to 0.3mbs for days on end.

    My home account, despite starting the order on 28 August I still have no internet connection as of 6 October. I have contacted them by phone 4 times and have spent 15 hours on hold. I have had two engineers appointments and had to wait a total of 12 hours for those. Thats time that ive had to take off from running my business which is in its 1st year, so at a delicate stage. Having to put customers orders on hold to deal with this bullshine is not good.

    We have to have the internet at home as my partner is a teacher and has around 2-3 hours of schoolwork that she has to do each evening. Because of plusnet she is already over a month behind with her targets and is danger of receiving a written warning for this.

    My business has lost £675 in revenue because of plusnet.

    Hopefully they might see this
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    When I joined Plusnet, only ADSL2+ was available where I live so I had an up to 15mbps broadband speed. The property was newly built so the line had to be installed by BT before I could start. I have no phone and no intention to ever get one so having to pay for a line rental was a sting, but I know that's standard for ADSL.

    When I ordered broadband I was charged then asked to book a date for installation. The earliest date available was almost a month away. Ouch.

    Soon after this, I started receiving parts of text messages trying to tell me there was a problem and asking me to text them back. I tried texting back but the phone number they sent the message from wasn't a valid number for me to text. The company also tried calling me a few times, despite me telling them I was disabled in a way that makes me unable to take phone calls.

    I finally managed to get online at a local pub to see the emails they'd sent me. They told me I'd given them the wrong address and the installation date I had booked was never actually booked. I hadn't given them the wrong address; all the info I gave them at the start was correct. I told them it was the right address and they tried again.

    It got to a week after the date I had originally booked before a BT engineer came, who was very nice. A few days later they turned on the phone line and started charging me the line rental, even though I had never asked for it and it was useless to me without ADSL.

    Weeks passed before they told me the ADSL was turned on, as apparently there was a problem with my account. It took a formal complaint to PlusNet and Citizens Advice to get them to fix the problem. Before the formal complaint, Plusnet had ignored several emails I had sent for two weeks. Even after this, I never received a reply. I expect they ignored me so they wouldn't have to reimburse me for the copious amounts of money I had to spend on BT FON to get online to keep moaning at them.

    After they told me the broadband was ready and working, I struggled with setting up the router as it couldn't connect. It's been some time since they sent me this message, and I'm still without internet, and they've still not responded to my official complaint, request for technical help, or request for reimbursement. I will be getting reimbursed, and I will be taking this to higher authorities.

    I am now down around £100, lost my job, had to restart medication for depression that I managed to come off, lost a lot of sleep, shed many tears and suffered panic attacks due to their terrible service, complete ignorance, and exploitative and malicious conduct.

    Obviously I don't recommend Plusnet. I have never in my life been more abused by a company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tonyrefail
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have recently experienced no end of problems with Plusnet.I needed to purchase a new router and was told that if I wanted a free router I would pay for post and packing and if I renewed my contract I could have a cheaper deal. This I did and was told I would pay £5.99 a month , a saving of £3. However an email informed me of a monthly cost of £8.49 would be taken. I phoned to query and then complain when I was told they were unable to do any deals. This surely if they record calls then my information can be checked. I am now bound by an 18 month contract, I wish I had never heard of plusnet! I also had connection problems with new router which took weeks to rectify and an engineer visit that failed to happen. I complained about this and had a refund of £25. They also sent emails when they were aware I had no internet connection and to contact them by telephone is an absolute nightmare!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South West London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible, terrible customer service. You have to wait 30-45 minutes to speak to their operator. I have waited 2 months to get some answer from them. At the end, they told me that my previous provider rejected them for several times. They ask me to pay additional £49.99 to proceed my order. It is not my fault that two providers failed to communicate. Why do I have to pay for their mistake?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Camden town
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the worst broadband ever,when I got the broadband they said the speed willbe between 10-17mb but I'm getting 2-4 mb.when you call them about this they don't responde to you,after a hard try if you get in touch with them still you don't get your problem solved.I'm using this broadband for 3 months and honestly,I called them 9 times for slow connection or dropping connection.I can't even cancel this broadband because I've to pay £60 for fee.Plesse those of who just about to join this broadband,I personally,request you guys do not join this crap broadband,if you do then your gonna have to face the issues that you never thought of.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Simply awful. Useless reliability, we've had at least once a month on average where we have Internet problems. If we were not on a prepaid plan I would leave immediately. My advice is to pay a little more and go for a better provider. The online chat service is useless for fixing issues, the team are not technically apt and simply ask customers to report a fault. They also have a ridiculously structured set of questions to answer to get through the troubleshooter before reporting a fault. It assumes everyone has a home phone and spare micro filter and router.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.