Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.5 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 6458 customer ratings since 2018-05-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2685 Customer Reviews for Plusnet

  • Showing page 5 of 269, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I decided to move from Plusnet to BT because of slow Internet speed and Customer Service, particularly now that you could keep your email addresses despite changing providers. I changed over from Plusnet to BT and Plusnet instead of making the necessary detail adjustments for continuation of our two email addresses with BT, just cancelled our account. On contacting Plusnet, and having been passed around and told that I couldn't keep our email addresses, I spoke with a Manager who said it was correct, you can change provider and keep your email address. She apologised and said she would arrange for our email addresses to be resurrected and that it would take a couple of days. After some five or so days of not having any emails coming through I contacted Plusnet who advised that resurrecting a cancelled account cannot be done and as such I have lost everything. Hence my new email address and I am still making contact and trying to make contact with all the people and businesses and authorities that communicate with me via email. Nightmare! Plusnet's commercial - .......NO PROBLEM - for me is the biggest lie on TV. If you use Plusnet hope for the best but PLAN FOR THE WORST.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Billericay Plusnet  
AVOID PLUSNET, THEY DON'T CARE TWO HOOTS ABOUT YOU.

I used to get 9 meg with Sky. Swapped to plusnet a year ago and this dropped immediately to 7 meg (at best).
Recently had a line fault and lost everything. Openreach quickly fixed the problem at the box at the end of the road.
Since then my max speed has been 4 meg. Plusnet will make no attempt to get me back to 7 meg because it still meets the new ofcom minimum requirement of 3.5 meg.
Beware of the minimum guaranteed speeds when you sign up because that is what you may end up with for the whole contract period. The speeds splashed all over the adverts are no guarantee that you will get anything like this. The minimum speeds are buried in the small print.

36 meg fibre broadband !!!!! You might end up with 10 meg from one provider I noticed. These advertised speeds need to be changed to minimum guaranteed speeds.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Plusnet  
In a town of 30,000 my house is one of 3 with no Openreach connection due to the line being left in disrepair. Ordered Plusnet on 15 August and after incompetently handling the matter and charging me every month for 7 MONTHS they finally tell me there will be a £4k charge for me to repair Openreach lines that are not even in my property!Then they blacklisted the property so no one can ever apply from here - don't want the hassle of having to actually make an effort in customer service.
The service with Plusnet is dreadful. Hours of waiting. Agents don't read notes. Repeating everything and they never listen. Untrained workers only sticking to script. Utterly incompetent. I used to love them but never again!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Scotland Plusnet  
15/3/19 Decide to join Plusnet due to positive reviews and my son having joined recently with no problems.
Supposed to go live on 29/3/19
On 25/3/19 no router had arrived. Tried to call but waiting time was too long for me to wait. Tried online chat, all lines busy.
I then went away for 2 days. On return on 29/3/19 no router or Royal Mail red card. My previous provider had disconnected the line so I had no internet.
Tried to track order from email with link to ‘track your order’ to be informed that I had no order.......
Rang customer services. Explained. After checking, member of staff said the router would be delivered in 2-3 days and apologised. I asked about compensation and was told I’d have to call back after set up to claim compensation.
1/4/19. No router. Rang customer services. Was told the router would be 4-5 days. I said that I was told it would be 2-3 days and that it hadn't arrived. I was told there was nothing she could do. I again asked about compensation and was told that I would get refund of the rental for however many days I was disconnected. I asked if she thought that was sufficient. I rang off.
2/4/19. No router. 14 minutes of online chat waste of time. Was told there was billing error on my account........Offered me one month line and broadband rental refund. He didn’t answer my questions. When asked when router would arrive, was told 3 working days. Online chat recorded.
Simultaneously got email saying my hardware had been ordered and would be 3-5 working days....
14.27. Rang customer services again..... was offered £40 to go and buy a router. Told 3-5 working days for theirs to be delivered. Asked to speak to manager. Said I didn’t want to buy router as I knew nothing about them. Asked why their router could not be sent express delivery. Their routers sent out from warehouse not them. Explained it all. Data on my mobile running out. Error made by first person who took order? Manager will look in to it and get back to me within 2 hours. This call was 22 minutes.

Manager called back as promised. He’d arranged router to be sent out recorded delivery and gave me delivery tracking number.
His confirmation email said that the agreed ..... was ‘XXX’....... phone call agreement was £30 credit.
7pm. Tried to track router on Royal Mail. Not trackable. Tried again at 11pm. Still not trackable.
3/4/19. 7am. Router still not trackable on Royal Mail
9.42. Tracked again. Royal Mail saying it’s been delivered. I was in at time of delivery so it had been delivered wrongly. Eventually went to neighbour the other side of estate, not in. Back home to write letter, delivered it. Owner of other house (not my address) contacted me having picked up my letter.
Got back at lunchtime and collected the TWO separate routers sent... the address on both parcels was wrong. The first one I opened had wrong power cable. Luckily 2nd parcel had right one. Connected computer after some help from Technical Support. Phone and printer also connected.
Later:
Smart TV not holding connection via WPS. Dropped connection every time I turned TV off and I had to reconnect by pushing WPS button and starting again. Rang TV company. They found same problem. Suggested it was router at fault as TV had worked perfectly with previous provider.
Ookla speeds through the night poor - worst at 7am when upload was 0.02.... best was 35 so average well below 38/40 for which I am paying.
4/4/10. Tried Smart TV again. WPS lost.
Rang Plusnet. 31 minutes later got answer from Technical support. Established it was probably faulty router as I had suspected. Told they’d send out new router. As I had been sent 2 routers in error, I agreed to change routers as most likely problem was that. Now have to reset phone, computer, printer and TV.....
4/4/19. Installed new router. Connected computer, iPhone and printer. WPS on Smart TV still very dodgy but appears to be working and not disconnecting every time.
Speeds extremely slow - often less than 1......
Online chat said the speed to my property was 38 - of COURSE IT WAS!!
Changed channel - speeds slightly better but nothing like 38 - 40.
Have asked for increased compensation as Plusnet is part of BT who have signed up to Offcom agreement at £8 a day. I had no internet for 5 and a half days. Awaiting answer.
Totally fed up with the whole service and after all the t5ourble, still got slow speeds.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Exeter Plusnet  
Absolutely awful! Stay clear!
Award winning customer service? Absolute joke, I had the worst time with this company.
Lied to, mislead, treated awfully thr list could go on, save yourself the stress and stick to the big providers.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Nottingham Plusnet  
We moved a month ago, and took plusnet with us. Since then, there is always an issue after another one. Everytime, we're told to wait 2 working days... And then there is again an issue, so need to wait again... It's been a month, we still don't have internet, and they ask us to pay the bill...
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Chesterfield Plusnet  
Months of drop outs and copy and paste scripts from CSR’s no manager call back when promised over charging of account frequently even when they breach their own terms and conditions... avoid at all costs
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wales Plusnet  
Absolutely shocking customer service. Incompetent
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London Plusnet  
If I could give no stars then I would.
Someone wrongly used our address for a new contract.
When we received the letters informing 'the new occupier' about their new contract we IMMEDIATELY informed Plusnet, we did everything they asked us and received email verification to assure us that this error had been taken care off.
To our HORROR we woke up friday morning to find phone/ internet dead.
Thinking a quick call to customer services should sort this out turned into an unfolding nightmare of poor couldn't care less customer service pas
sed from one department to another every time having to retell the story from the beginning. Put on hold for half an hour.. then cut off. Ring back. Rinse and repeat all day long.
No apologies, no help, no offers to alleviate the situation. Just blankly told you'll need to sign up for a new contract and it will take two weeks minimum.
Great Plusnet. I'll just lose two weeks earnings because of your sheer incompetence and don't even bother taking ownership of YOUR mistake or offer ANY help in alleviating the problems caused by YOUR mistake.
No courtesy calls from a customer service rep to apologise nothing. Having to hound them constantly while they waste away your day passing you around one office to another, putting you on hold, cutting you off, wearing you down.
PLUSNET.. We'll let you down..... We'll make you mad... We'll make you wish you chose another damn company to provide you with basic phone and broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
North Devon Plusnet  
Honestly the worst service I have ever encountered. After it unreliably turning on and off consistently for the year we've had it we had to resign up after they terminated our account because our neighbour switched providers? when we resigned up they said they'd have to inspect the property to see if the wifi would work EVEN THOUGH we have had plusnet for a year and our landlords for the year before therefore the property has been accessible for internet for 2 years with them. Engineer was sent to the property without informing us (even though he had to come inside to 'fix' the connection) and when we rescheduled they got the day wrong twice! We were promised the internet would run within 24 hours of the engineer arriving, the engineer confirmed that it should be available straight away and they only needed to run a signal to the exchange. THEN we are told on the phone we will receive it on the wednesday the WEEK AFTER the engineer has visited. TODAY IS THE THURSDAY, THE INTERNET IS NOT WORKING AND WE HAVE RECEIVED NO REFUND FOR GOING WITHOUT INTERNET FOR OVER A MONTH OF TRYING TO RE-SIGN UP.


NEVER EVER GO WITH THIS SERVICE, THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND GIVE YOU NO SERVICE
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
bristol Plusnet  

Loading...

  • 2685 reviews, showing page 5 of 269, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk