Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 5486 customer ratings since 2019-10-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3194 Customer Reviews for Plusnet

  • Showing page 3 of 80, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I have been with Plusnet for many years and they used to be good. Unfortunately the service now is hopeless. If you have a problem,it takes at least 20 minutes to get through to customer services and when you do, you are speaking to a computer with a human voice. If you want to speak to a real human, you have to get a call back which can take up to 72 hours. Of course the chances are that you won't be at home when this occurs. I definitely would not reccommend Plusnet so don't be fooled by the TV adverts that boast about the wonderful customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Highlands Plusnet  
I have been without a fully operating answerphone since 23 September 2015, I have raised at least 7-8 questions; and no-one at plus-net seems to have the ability to ensure repairs have been undertaken correctly. today an engineer telephoned and said the line was faulty and crackling fading, total garbage, the fault is at the exchange and responsibility of BT...apparently it needs a working port -a lift/shift and someone has got their wires wrong!
NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE plus-net they have cost me considerable money in missed appointments and to new users I say that unless we see change with compensation forthcoming then I shall not renew my contract FEB 2016 NO WAY!!!
huddersfield Plusnet  
Decent provider customer service is quite good - do not have to wait too long to speak to someone and they are courteous.The speed is a letdown only 2.6megs aginst a standard line max of 4
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bracknell Berks Plusnet  
I really thought Talktalk were bad until this lot came along. Slow speeds, cut off broadband as they continue to repair lines and blame BT. Never again will I use Plusnet
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wirral Plusnet  
Informed I wished to switch service to new property, gave 4 weeks notice told no problem? After 5 weeks eventually had a phone line then informed they had misplaced order for broadband ? so will have to wait 2 more weeks ! Customer Service wait approx 30 mins, sometimes informed that you need to ring back later as C.S busy ?
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
cornwall Plusnet  
I have been with Plusnet for 3 months and have superfast broadband. Quality of service, price, broadband speed and quality are excellent and exactly as described in my contract. I do not have to speak to Help/Centres overseas which is a big plus. Have had Virgin, BT and Sky in the past Plusnet is so much better. Virgin might claim faster speeds but no good if your system has repeated outages.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Rochdale Plusnet  
Outrageous. Miss sold product resulting in heavy bills with no recompense from customer services other than "well you can complain if you want but it's just the way it is" I'll be cancelling today.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Uk Plusnet  
We were with Plusnet for 7/8 years.. I chose them because of the award winning customer service which was awful.

Soon after joining we had an intermittent problem. It was then I found Plusnet were poor in delivery, service and resolution.

Loads of 60 min cs calls Waiting and In 7 years it was never resolved until I paid for it.

Useless. Less than poor.

Whenever I spoke to someone I was told it was my end. They sent charts, suggested changing hub channels (after I had told them twice I had already done it),

So I listened to them and bought a nighthawk router. £165 to fix the one thing that could be wrong. No change.

I gave up for a couple of years and then during Covid I picked up the mental fortitude again. This time I got someone that really tried to help but, now, after 4 circuitous email I paid for an engineer to come and fix it. He changed the lead from the sub box (which is 20 feet from the house) termination box and cable. And it works a treat.

Plusnet are poor in spirit and delivery. I’m so glad we left
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Addlestone, Surrey. Plusnet  
No one should give Plusnet their bank details or set up a direct debit for this company. They steal customers' money. When you call them they apologise and promise a refund but this never materialises. I was with Plusnet and I moved house. They took over my neighbour's internet and phone line! They apologised and acknowledged it was their mistake. I asked to terminate my contract since it was within the 14 days initial period after I started a new contract for moving house. They promised to refund me for the month they charged ahead. Instead they stole £58 from my account. I phoned them several times, every time they promise to refund me but they never do. This is a dodgy company. Peopel should not give them their bank details or set up a direct debit with Plusnet.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Brighton Plusnet  
I was supposed to switch to Plusnet on the 26th November from Talktalk. My Internet connection was cut off on the 21st November,and I lost my phone connection on the 26th. Eventually, after much drama, I got my Internet connected a week late, on 3rd December, but still no phone on the 5th December.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Swansea Plusnet  
You get what you pay.
It is cheap, however the line is intermittent and slow most of the times.
Be careful when you leave them, as when you notify them, they will send you an email to acknowledge the fact you're leaving, however they will then deny and explain that the email was automatically sent. They will finally charge early cancellation fees. Probably best to send them a letter to cover you in case you decide to leave them
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Kent Plusnet  
Customer service is a joke. Tried phoning and not got through yet. Takes an age to get through via chat.
They eventually answer twitter or Facebook.
Not like TV adverts....
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
County durham Plusnet  
I have just left Plusnet after an awful two years. I don't normally leave reviews, but this is the worst company I have ever had to deal with.

To summarise my experiences - I have made 94 calls to this company for faults, failures and mistakes. It took them over 3 months to get my internet working, and then it was dial up speeds. It took them another month to get the speed up to what I was promised. The majority of the people that work in their customer services and call centres are generally incompetent, unprofessional, sometimes rude, idiots. On the rare occasion that you do deal with someone who is capable, their service is soon let down by having to refer you or hand you over to another employee out of the talentless pool of dead carcasses that work there.

Every time you request a change to the service or there is a fault, prepare yourself to have to make numerous phone calls to resolve even the simplest of problems. Of the 94 calls I have made I have found that the person you speak to (obviously you have no control over this) has a much higher bearing on when the issue will be resolved, rather than what the actual issue is. Some of the simplest faults have taken weeks to rectify, and if you don't keep calling them, they can take a lot longer.

Thankfully I have now left and switched to another provider. The experience has been a breath of fresh air, there have been a few minor issues with the new provider, but they have all been resolved quickly and promptly. This is a very different experience to PlusNet, who I am still having to call as they have cocked up the final bill and rather than rectify it before it leaves my account (Over two weeks to sort this before the bill date), I have been told to wait until the excess charges come out, and then I can contact them to get it refunded. I am sure I will break 100 calls before this is resolved.

"We'll Do You Proud" - Far from it!
AVOID LIKE THE F****ING PLAGUE!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Wakefield Plusnet  
Moved from talk talk regarding security issues but had trouble from day one with lack of correct billing and plus net failing to take payment but insisting it is not their problem. Speed is okay at best of times but regularly drops out or slows down to a crawl. Not satisfied with their service.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bristol Plusnet  
We are a property investment company. We signed up to Plusnet to supply broadband at 3 properties. After 1 month only 1 of them is up and running, at 1 they failed to set up the account at all and at the other they refuse to accept there isnt a phone line at the property and keep cancelling my installation appointments (3 times now)

I wish I had never signed up with company. Buyer beware!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Plusnet  
Is it possible that you could be further away from how you project your company on adverts...
Shocking on every angle! Double charged me for 9 months (endless battle's to get my money back) minimum 30 minutes to speak to customer service, then a web of lies to fix your faults..
Avoid at all costs
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Plusnet  
Always advocated for Plusnet being excellent and customer service and broadband was OK and reasonably priced. I switched suppliers so I could get fibre (through cable as I live too close to an exchange to get FTTP - rediculous I know!) They then cancelled the direct debit and began chasing for a payment which I was very confused about as they are the ones who cancelled it!

Got fed up of the threatening letters and calls over a meagre £14 (probably spent more hassling me for it!) so tried to call to pay and tried to pay online. Yet their site didn't work, nor did the phone number!

Got there in the end, you can tell that BT are starting to have their influence since the acquisition!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Chester Plusnet  
Plusnet keeps you on hold for an average waiting time of 30 minutes and when you finally get through you sometimes get cut off/disconnected so you're expected to phone them back and wait for another life time before getting through again.
Why can't they have the decency to phone you back so they can at least try and rectify your problem instead of ignoring it. I joined Plusnet for their Customer Service but what a load of rubbish they are.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wales Plusnet  
They sent me three routers which never arrived, every phonecall up yet just offfered me free month of broadband which is good except without a router there was no broadband to get free. Finally cancelled and the lady on the phone informed me none had been sent out. Thanks for the wasted time guys!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newcastle Plusnet  
The WORST company in every way. After 4pm BroadbNd is so slow, all phones are turned onto 4G. Customer service is appalling, no one speaks to anyone and you go through the same story over and over again. Chasing bills for money not owed after cancelling contracts. Terrible company AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Surrey Plusnet  
Worst internet provider I've ever dealt with. Poor speed, poor reliability, next to no effort to try and resolve any issues. Every time I've been in contact with their customer support, I'm told to check the same potential faults with the router, as if I haven't tried everything under the sun already. My opinion, go for any provider but these guys. Virgin would be my no1 choice.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
United Kingdom Plusnet  
I am so surprised at how good PlusNet are. Okay, the service is not the lowest in terms of price but the feedback/communication has been A1 and generally they have been very good.

I would always recommend them
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Twickenham Plusnet  
Beyond terrible customer service. Avoid at all costs. Would give zero stars if it was possible.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Plusnet  
Three weeks of faults two days off work for engineer visits and no further forward, worst provider.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Burghfield Common Plusnet  
Had an intermittent fault with my service, booked an engineers visit which Plusnet automatically cancelled. Eventually got an engineer to attend, the service was then out for a while week with a further two visits. I spent 5+ hours on the phone, the agents don't have a clue and there is no consistency in handling calls. In the end Plusnet agreed that they would wave the contract cancellation fees. I think they'd given up.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Reading Plusnet  
Plusnet are absolutely awful, constant drop outs and slow speeds. No help beyond "have you tried resetting the router?" from customer service. Will change internet service provider as soon as I can. Please, I urge anyone to stay away from them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Herefordshire Plusnet  
Great company! If you like waiting half hour for a 2 minutes clip... Terrible service, tried calling multiple times and they didn't even pick up... Finally got hold of someone and they said they would sort it.... They didn't. I don't know if it is incompetence or greed that's the route of this shambles of a company but seeing as they're jacking up prices for a terrible service, I'm guessing greed. I hope Your inadequacy doesn't extend to your personal lives or you'll have some very disappointed spouses on your hands
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Gorleston Plusnet  
I have had to cancel my Plusnet yesterday 15/07/17 after a complete waste of time and money.
I ordered Plusnet fibre extra broadband on the 08/08/17 through one of there customer service reps over the phone, who told me an engineer would be coming on 15/08/17 between 8am and 1pm to install a new phone line at the cost of £49.99. I then received an email confirming this for the said date and time. I called Plusnet on monday 14/08/17 to ask a simple question to see if they would notify me any time in advance so i could make sure someone was at home at the time but was told they would try but couldnt guarantee it, So I took the day off work so I could be in for the engineer and sat at home waiting.
The engineer never turned up, so I called Plusnet to see what the problem was, after 20 minutes on hold I got through to a very nice lady who searched through my account for a while to see what the problem could be, she then told me that the initial date for the engineer had been automatically rejected on there system the day the booking was made and that the engineer would be coming on the 22/08/17 to install the phone line.
They knew it had been cancelled a week before the initial date and did not even have the courtesy to inform me, I lost a days pay and was charged £49.99 engineer cost for the privilege with nothing to show for it, to then be told I would have to be in on the 22/08/17.
So I called to cancel, if this was how it was going to start I didn't want to risk any more.
The first gentleman I spoke to was extremely pleasant and as I explained the problem and why I would like to cancel he was very understanding, he then transferred me to the Plusnet options team who would see if there was anything they could do to prevent me leaving.
The second gentleman I spoke to from the Plusnet options team, the one who was supposed to try convince me to stay told me two things, that the date given was only a provisional date and not necessarily the date they would be coming which to me was a bit of a kick in the shins as the previous lady from Plusnet had already told me they knew on the day I signed up that the engineer date had been rejected, and secondly he told me that there was no point in cancelling as I wouldn't get broadband sooner anywhere else if I cancelled because they had already put the order In, again to me was one of the worst arguments of trying to keep a customer I had ever heard.
I confirmed to cancel again and he agreed to do so.
Within minutes I received an email stating Plusnet had auctioned my request to cancel with immediate effect and I would be refunded my engineer fee and first months payment totalling £79.98.
I then received a second email stating no initial payment had been taken so no refund was required, so I double checked my bank and sure enough the payment had been taken out on 08/08/17 so back on the phone to Plusnet.
After 20 plus minutes on hold I got through to again a very pleasant gentleman and explained the problem regarding the email saying I wouldn't be receiving my refund, he checked the system and couldn't understand why I had an email stating this as he could clearly see that the money had been taken by Plusnet and there was no reason to not to be refunded, after a brief hold I was told that it had been raised to the Plusnet billing team as he couldn't authorise it there and they should rectify the problem within 24 hours. We will just have to wait and see.
Luckily I did record all my calls with them as I have automatic call recorder and double checked all my facts before writing this review on my experience with them.

Regards

Alexander
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Stalybridge Plusnet  
Absolute joke of a service. Had to pay 80 to get an engineer out and wasted two days annual leave because the first engineer who turned up couldn't do the job needed.was told oh it doesn't matter because you're getting 75 cashback once the service is up and running any way. The service itself took a whole month of back and forth to sort out. When it finally came I waited for the cashback. And waited. Just called up and asked where the cashback had ended up. They sent an email out 3rd September asking for me to claim it as if I wouldn't just want it automatically. Absolute scam. For whatever reason the email ended up in my spam box and because I didn't kick off with them asap I've ended up missing the "deadline" for a task I've never been verbally told I had. Such a disgraceful way to treat customers and that was a lot of money for me. There is absolutely nothing the company is willing to do because the email scam is in the small print. Never again and I'd advise all friends and family to stay far far away from these guys.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
England Plusnet  
Absolutely appalling service. How can as service provider company operate on this low level of competence is beyond me. I received an e-mail telling me I have overdue cancellation charges to pay. It included a phone number to phone and to settle the changes. I phoned in only to be told that they no longer take payments over the phone. Not a big deal, the automatic answer points me towards a website called plus.net/pay to settle the bill. I type it in and of course it comes back with an error. Left with no other options I am phoning in again, am told the waiting time to speak to an advisor is currently 15 minutes. I have already been waiting 35. Plusnet, I suggest you sort out your service because you will have no customers left. In today's world filled with broadband companies and choice, you really need to rethink the way you treat your customers.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aberdeen Plusnet  
Take my advice folks dot use this internet provider bad service,bad custumer service with unrealistic terms and condition.

My internet has been cut off(without my permission I'm with Sky) only to find out that plus net is my new provider this was possible by simply a person claiming that they live at my addres( easily could have been done by Plus net as a tactic to over take better providers).Contacting custumer service reveals shocking bad service,they can't do anything about they're mistake can't even call their clients in my case the stranger that registered at my addres but they have permission to take over the Internet line from different providers like virgin,and sky. Money making scheme on people's back.Waste of time...
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Plusnet  
terrible customer service. Depending on who you get on the phone will determine what "story" you get told.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
edinburgh Plusnet  
Used to be good but now ... have slowly become the Ryanair of broadband providers
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh Plusnet  
Absolute useless. Customer service is nil. Short of staff as when I chat to one of them, I was told. I spent 45mins on hold and still nobody answer the phone. It his happen to me 3 consecutive times within 2 days and decided to chat which was useless too as she could not deal that problem on wedchat and advised me to ring them instead. It an absolute waste of time. Deal with bigger company not this cheap rubbish.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aldershot Plusnet  
Absolutely terrible service, been with Plusnet for almost a year now had no improvements and had multiple engineers saying different things about why the connection speeds are so bad. It’s like there constantly making an excuse for problems and don’t fix it all they want is your money and don’t give it to them. The highest Mbs we have had is about 20 and that’s doesn’t last for long either. There unreliable, unpredictable and the worst broadband ever.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Plusnet  
Absolutely horrendous Broadband I’m that annoyed I’ve had to make another Review. For the past few months of being with Plusnet there have been nothing but bad, the customer service is awful and not helpful at all, the connection is unreliable and usually only reaches speeds of 8-10mbs (megabytes per second) and I can barely even browse and search with the Wi-Fi with ought being disconnected. I cannot remember one time where the Wi-Fi was at least “Decent”. This Broadband needs to be shutdown and that isn’t an over-exaggeration either look at the rest of the reviews. My main advice: Do not waist your money on this crappy broadband- Is not worth it
  • Speed
    2 stars
Plusnet  
I’m that pissed off this is my 3rd review. Honestly, not much to say about this company other than they are a bunch of rip-offs with poor, slow, awful WiFi. My Internet sometimes can’t even reach above 1mb!!!! When We’re paying extra for “Fibre” which is apparently meant to give you “25mb” the “engineers” know no more than I do and are useful as a brick wall. Unless you want to put your money down the drain then don’t get sucked in to their contracts.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Plusnet  
rubbish, customer service even more verse you have to min 15 to 20 min for first answer and then on and on, i made contract so i am stuck but please read review before making your mind.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
DAGENHAM Plusnet  
So so so bad... I got fibre optic but it is so bad. Speeds of like 4 megabits per second are way below anybody's standards.
Manchester Plusnet  
The worst customer service I have ever experienced. Call waits of over an hour for months and no sign of improvement. Had to pay £140 to leave - letter sent to wrong address and had to wait on phone for an hour to pay this as no automated payment line. Funnily enough if you ring sales you get through instantly. Will never return. Avoid!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Minehead Plusnet  

Loading...

  • 3194 reviews, showing page 3 of 80, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk