John Lewis Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for John Lewis Broadband.

Overall Customer Ratings for John Lewis

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.4 stars
  • Speed
    2.5 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 2175 customer ratings since 2012-08-04 (Show recent ratings)

Visit John Lewis Broadband   Read our John Lewis buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

521 Customer Reviews for John Lewis Broadband

  • Showing page 1 of 14, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I am into my second year with JL Broadband, my only complaint is their approach to customer loyalty, they aren't really bothered if you stay or go at the end of 1 year contract, they reluctantly agreed to allow me to stay with discounted rate for new customer but no cashback. Not the John Lewis never knowingly undersold approach. In terms of relaibility and performance, 5*.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Devon John Lewis Broadband  
Reported to John Lewis on Jan 2nd, connection is dropped around ten times each day for exactly 2.5 minutes each time. According to John Lewis it is now fixed but as the dropped connection log below shows it remains exactly the same. This problem started when we switched from EE to John Lewis, paying almost double the previous rate for a fibre extra service which is really not acceptable.

Net Uptime Monitor Failure Log (NetUptimeMonitor.com)
Licensed to nick sheron

=======================================
12/01/2019 17:20:52 Log Start
---------------------------------------
Failure Start Length
12/01/2019 17:22:38 0:02:17
12/01/2019 19:34:34 0:02:28
12/01/2019 19:58:48 0:02:29
12/01/2019 20:11:38 0:02:28
12/01/2019 20:35:03 0:02:28
13/01/2019 06:48:49 0:02:26
13/01/2019 07:45:51 0:02:27
13/01/2019 08:21:08 0:02:28
13/01/2019 08:54:08 0:02:26
13/01/2019 11:10:13 0:02:25
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
winchester John Lewis Broadband  
So many bad reviews, I think people only tend to review when a bad experience so I just thought I would say I have been with JL for almost a year, perfect switch and first class service ever since
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Salisburt John Lewis Broadband  
Six weeks without reliable telephone or internet over Christmas 2017, repeatedly told no fault snowing, had to wait for a BT openreach engineer. After using my mobile to call both JL broadby and BT and arranging appointments directly with the engineer myself I once again had internet. This week the problems begin again, this time I'm told again that the system isn't showing a problem (just like last time) and if it's the router I can buy another one.

Dont waste your time or money, I would not recommend this company if my life depended on it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Crawley John Lewis Broadband  
We left this company before the year was up as our Broadband was so slow. We were told we would not pay a termination fee as that was the reason we were leaving. They then sent a text and an email asking for money for the months left. Our new company agreed if we paid they would credit our account. Today I went to pay and was told my bill had been passed to a debt collection agency. I have never in my life been in debt or owed any money. Disgraceful...Beware of this dreadful company
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Devon John Lewis Broadband  
Slow & unreliable from the start- somedays perfectly adequate, the next capricious.
Pus a router that has the range of a thrown tissue.
Complaints are met with the same scripted response "everything fine this end"
JL should hold its head in shame
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
FRINGFORD John Lewis Broadband  
This was the worst experience I have had in several years of switching Broadband providers. I left JL after one year in November to another provider : they have continued to bill me via direct debit six weeks after the service was closed with no explanation about why they are continuing to take money. The only way to stop this has been to instruct the bank to cancel any further payments to John Lewis .

Once the account was technically closed on 21st November, any method of contact about the account disappears leaving only the option of a call centre looked after by Plusnet. I have now done this explaining the situation three times which is frustrating. Despite three phone calls of getting on for one hour, this is still not sorted. Very poor customer service John Lewis and PLusnet .
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Yorkshire John Lewis Broadband  
I have left JL because they were unable to solve my internet problem and I was without a connection for a month. Their efficiency, customer care and manners are appalling. I had been with them for 11 years. I was accused of forgetting my password, even though I changed it with their supervision several times. One insulting person asked me, patronisingly if there was anyone else in the house who could help me. I have used the internet since it began, including in my job in Media. Before deciding to move to Zen I researched though 'Which' who were the most reliable suppliers. JL come pretty far down the list. No one at JL knew how to solve the problem. It started with an outage in their accounts department when payments were not taken with DD. I am going to write to their MD Paula Nickolds but I doubt she or anyone else will reply.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
West London John Lewis Broadband  
I am very upset and regret changing to John Lewis. Like others - I wish I had seen these reviews before signing up.
I trusted the brand - and the fact that the service is operated by Plusnet was a deciding factor - as I was already a long term Plusnet customer - with a Plus net email address. I opened the JL account on the phone and asked the chap I was dealing with several times - can I keep my Plusnet email address - he assured me that would be possible and I had told him that was a major factor for me.
Well - they have lost my Plusnet email address and are trying to tell me it cannot be retrieved - I wish I had never changed! I have had their Broadband for 5 days only now - and this morning I had no Internet - the helpline tells me OpenReach have been called and will attend within 48 hours - meanwhile they have done something to tide me over and it is working at this moment - but I have no faith.
I cannot comment on speeds etc. yet as I have only been using it for a few days (the change went ahead on 27th December when I was away).
I have made a strong complaint to JLB about the loss of my email address - but no reply yet.
London John Lewis Broadband  
Unreliable broadband with worse than poor customer service; treating a know-how customer like a stupid. Now to leave I have to pay a fee! Rot in HELL JohnLewis!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London John Lewis Broadband  
I tried to download my first bill, no joy, I tried phoning but they cut you off.I sent an e-mail to question why 23rd November, no answer. I have cancelled my DD and gone back to BT for some decent service. I will pay my last bill when I get an explanation from them, but I will not pay any cancellation fees as I consider they have breached their contract for service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
cam gloucestershire John Lewis Broadband  
What a nightmare ! If only I checked other reviews first !
Trusted the name stupidly.
Very poor broadband speed ,despite great speed before with BT.
Terrible customer and technical service too, and they want to charge me for leaving !
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Tewkesbury John Lewis Broadband  
Moved from Bristol on November 1 and signed up for John Lewis Fibre and 'phone service from 5 November. Got an email saying my sevice has been connected and advising me of 'phone number. The 'phone had a dialling tone but could not make calls. When i dialled the number the phone rang but not in my house. The next day a lady ( turned out to be a neighbour)called asking why I kept calling her, she was calling from my ( supposed ) number. When my ' phone was finally connected hers was cut off. Fibre broadband ( promised speed of 34 Mbps) turns out to be broken string with speed between 0.2 and 10. After a week got a letter from plusnet telling me that someone was moving into my house and that they were taking my number. The letter, from the head of customer services, stated if there were issue to 'phone them. I dialled the number on the letter which was no longer in service. Got through on the website number told them I had only just moved in and was not moving and wished to keep the number. Two days later I was cut off. I then got a call asking if I would mind giving my router to my next door neighbour as she now had a phone and broad band service again. Made several calls and was told I would be reconnected in about 10 days time but on a different number. Chased this up and was told the order had been cancelled also that their system had suffered a fault and that the only way to speed up the process was to rejoin, at a cost of circa £87 which would be immediately refunded. 'Phone was finally reconnected but on yet another number. The fibre broadband has yet to be resolved. I have been promised the refund of the £87 but some three weeks later am still waiting. I have spent around 15 hours on the 'phone to them, about the only person in plusnet I haven't yet spoken to is Peter Kay. I joined John Lewis broadband based on customer service I have received from John Lewis over 40 plus years and having endured talk talk cutomer service for about 7 years. I was wrong in thinking talktalk was as bad as it gets.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kilcreggan John Lewis Broadband  
Absolutely terrible - DO NOT USE JOHN LEWIS!! The speed is flakey and drops all the time. When you try and cancel they make it next to impossible - you can't get through to their customer service department, or when you do the call drops - then they over charge you in the hope that you give up trying to get a refund, which you will because they are unbelievably painful to deal with AVOID AVOID AVOID!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Devon John Lewis Broadband  
Brilliant, even with poor speeds and old line, 60+ years old apparently.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Colosseum Rome John Lewis Broadband  
Like others on here I thought joining John Lewis broadband would ensure a good experience. Signed up and paid for first month Then got letter from BT telling me they’d relinquish the line at an entirely different date to what I’d agreed with John Lewis broadband. Then the games began. Queries went unanswered. Complaints get ignored. Because I haven’t actually been connected yet I can’t cancel but getting thru to anyone can help is impossible. Just been transferred to someone who can help and twenty minutes later still on hold. Don’t go there at all. The customer service is deplorable - I could swear the last person I spoke to was drunk , i do know the woman before that conversation couldn’t have cared a toss about the problem. Shocking. They’re worse than BT and that takes some doing!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Pontefract John Lewis Broadband  
What a shame that Plusnet who supply John Lewis broadband is giving John Lewis such a bad name. I know from being a John Lewis customer for years and have worked for the company that they do not treat their customers like I have experienced with Plusnet over the last 6 weeks that I have been with them. I only signed up with them because of John Lewis's good name and didn't know anything about Plusnet.
Plusnet add says 'We'll do you proud' No Plusnet, you don't. A note to John Lewis: Dump Plusnet and get a broadband and phone company that can deliver the standard of customer satisfaction that we have come to know and rely on with John Lewis.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Norfolk John Lewis Broadband  
Terrible service!After waiting for two weeks for getting the service, they just easily told me to wait for another two weeks! I waited for another two weeks and again, nothing came! and again they said that you have to wait for another two weeks! So I have just cancelled it and now I think I have to wait for a year to get my money back! So, I put zero star as they are really unsustainable!
Bath John Lewis Broadband  
Wished I had checked the poor reviews before I signed up, worst company I have ever used , can't seem to get anywhere with them despite trying lots.
Want to leave but they threaten charging me to leave,despite their horrendous service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Tewkesbury John Lewis Broadband  
Switched to John Lewis 6 months ago and had nothing but issues. The speed and reliability of the connection is appalling. Given up on customer service trying to resolve issues. This is without doubt the worst broadband service i have ever had.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
co durham John Lewis Broadband  
I can’t comment on the speed and reliability however I can give customer service zero stars. Switched over and 5 days later still no broadband. Customer service unhelpful and then I receive an emailing telling me they are delighted to credit me £2.80 for no service. Wish I had read all the reviews before switching.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Berkshire John Lewis Broadband  
I cannot put any stars as I do not feel that customer service actually cares about their service they provide. Existing broadband ceases on Monday and to dateJohn Lewis broadband not working. They did not activate the broadband on Tuesday and only did this when I rang them up on the 5th. They have kindly offered me £2.80 for my loss of downtime and then I was asked how much compensation I wanted!!! Totally regret moving to John Lewis Broadband.
Berkshire John Lewis Broadband  
AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS
John Lewis Broadband has been the worst broadband company ever. their payment system is appalling and so is the Customer services as well, if your thinking of joining John Lewis Broadband AVOID AVOID, they are a rip-off, there don't care about there customers and the put there price up when you're in contact with them, this is a nightmare company stay clear of this rip off company
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
UKAli98 John Lewis Broadband  
Like others below, had trouble after 15 years trouble free. Charged twice in error. Refunded and given £15 for the trouble so all ok now. Would have been 5 stars all the way 3 months ago but they are now sorted. Reliable once up & running. I recommend this provider.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Vale of Glamorgan John Lewis Broadband  
Been with them for nearly a year. No problems switching. Moved house recently and took only 6 days to connect phone and bb with no hassle whatsoever. Plus net took over 2 months with many calls to sort it and refund overpayments. Very very satisfied and would recommend
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Dumfries John Lewis Broadband  
Terrible connection (often nothing). Ridiculously poor customer service and serious lack of care and THEIR legal responsibility to resolve things yet they still think you should keep paying them! Stay clear everyone is my earnest advice!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Devon John Lewis Broadband  
Really poor customer service. Had to call 4 times in the first month because the account hadn't been set up correctly. Every time they were experiencing a "higher than expected call volume", I experienced 8 minute waits.

Bills aren't fully accessible with Chrome or Internet Explorer.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London John Lewis Broadband  
Very bad customer service. The staff don't seem to know what they are talking about - seem to be getting different information every time I contact.
Took money for installation and promised a refund within 3 days- still no refund 10 days later. Took money for broadband even though the subscription hadn't yet started. When cancelling the subscription told 3 days by one member of staff, then 21 days, then told I would receive a refund via cheque.
Very quick to take money without actually providing a service to the customer. Poor.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Leicester John Lewis Broadband  
I don't recommend John Lewis. I switched my elderly parents over, difficult but done, however when there is a problem the website login to the account doesn't work, the '24/7' technical helpline isn't answered, problem after problem. Also the International calls which are supposed to be included only relates to mobiles in US and Canada, no other countries, but that isn't stated anywhere in the sales pitch. Odd 10p Other charges appearing on the bills. Don't recommend
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Herefordshire John Lewis Broadband  
DO NOT GO NEAR THIS. Absolutely appalling. Took money out of my account upon ordering their broadband and then didn't hear from them again. Contacted them and was told there had been a 'system error' so had not been ordered. 2 weeks now without broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Oxfordshire John Lewis Broadband  
A month after instigating a switch to JL Broadband and no correspondence from them (except notifying me immediately that they were taking the first DD payment) I chased them to find out what was happening. They then switched us from PlusNet (the same provider) and cut off the phone line. 10 days later I am still waiting for the problem to be resolved. DO NOT SWITCH TO JOHN LEWIS BROADBAND.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
South Wales John Lewis Broadband  
To quote their website "We'll answer you within 24 hours during our operating hours."

Not a chance. I've been waiting for 13 days now. I've even raised another query, quoting the original query number. That was on Friday. It's Monday now and nothing yet. Avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Hereford John Lewis Broadband  
Absolutely the worst Broadband I have ever had. Stopped being able to reach the end room of my small flat within 2 months, painfully slow even in the living room where the box is and customer service either don't pick up the phone or don't respond to my queries online. Completely shocking.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London John Lewis Broadband  
No problems at all. I consistently get 20Mb speed on ordinary (not fibre) broadband.
As I'm in a rural area they are cheaper than PlusNet who actually provide the service. £20 per month inc evening & weekend calls & caller ID seems pretty good.
18185 works fine for cheap calls
The PlusNet forum is a good place to get technical answers
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
West Devon John Lewis Broadband  
The customer service provided by John Lewis broadband is abysmal,you wait for a long time for anybody to answer who then direct you to somebody else so you wait until they answer.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Gwent John Lewis Broadband  
Cant complain about the broadband speed or reliability .The problems arise with the promised free Bullguard security package which i still havent got to function. And the promised John Lewis e voucher which I am still waiting for .Customer service needs a complete overhaul . Keen to extract money from you but not so keen to sort out problems .I cant recommend changing to them .
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
East Yorkshire John Lewis Broadband  
Terrible broadband, keeps disconnecting (like 6 times in the past 4 hours)

Customer services is awful. Phone answered after waiting between 15 to 40 mins each time. I've called them about 7 times in past three days.

Still being told I have to wait for another 72 hours before they will send out an engineer. So that will be about 6 days without useable broadband.

But hey, they will apparently discount my bill for those 6 days!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ilford John Lewis Broadband  
I'm getting constant time outs. Speed check was giving upload 0.1mbps and download 3 mbps
Been like this for three days
Support line wait is about 15 mins
Their lazy reason is that I get slow speed us because I use wi-fi
WiFi can't make it this slow and unusable
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ilford John Lewis Broadband  
Two weeks in and I am really happy to have changed to JL from talktalk. As far as reliability is concerned, I see no difference and I am happy that it meets my needs.
Customer service is 100% better, I did need to contact them on the day I changed over and the problem was solved straight away by a very courteous young man. The change over was smooth ad clear, everything happened as they said it would.
I have only one complaint and that is the little booklet that came with the modem could have been better. I could see they had tried to make it straight forward but I think the problem is instruction books are written by people who wholly understand the product. It would be such a simple thing to do if they ran them past the sort of people who might have a problem. Quite inexcusable though, was the picture of putting the plug together, it was back to front! Having said that, I always seem to have a gripe with instruction manuals and if I wasn't retired would consider making it my job to put them all to rights!!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Chichester John Lewis Broadband  
Just about fed up with John Lewis,keep saying they Can't take our direct debit,the money is always there.Last time we hadtopay late fee +pay over phone it was there new system.Now what is it,spelt something wrong I suppose
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Kent John Lewis Broadband  

Loading...

  • 521 reviews, showing page 1 of 14, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk