John Lewis Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for John Lewis Broadband.

Recent Customer Ratings for John Lewis

  • Satisfaction
    2.4 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    2.2 stars
  • Reliability
    2.4 stars

Based on 306 customer ratings since 2020-06-19 (Show all time ratings)

Visit John Lewis Broadband   Read our John Lewis buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

747 Customer Reviews over 19 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I was with Waitrose.com for 10+ years and apart from little glitches had no trouble at all. From the time John Lewis started the amalgamation of Waitrose and Green Bee to JL, things started to slide. At the change-over (totally unannounced, to me, anyway) I found myself with a screen that looked like old 1980s computers, with no way at all of marking several emails at once in order to delete (can only mark minimum of one page at a time!). Also, 400 plus emails that I had kept disappeared overnight and JL infer that this was me, and they have no "cloud" facilities for deleted emails which is probably true; deleted emails disappeared from their box for hours at a time and suddenly reappeared, I am still in e-correspondence with JL but I am not at all happy considering my happy years with Waitrose.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    surrey
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Price increased within a few months. Informed me via email that unfortunately I didn't get as it went into my junk. Please note that all their other emails come into my inbox!
    Coverage was poor and service satisfactory.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St. Briavels, Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have had 3 breakdowns in broadband and telephone in
    December. Impossible to even get through to JL - I tried at different times throughout 3 days and the recording said a 30 minute response time. With poor mobile reception there was no chance of getting through. I had to resort to snail mail to ask them to register the fact that I had no broadband or telephone. I got a letter back saying they would respond within 7 - 10 days!!
    I changed to John Lewis as I have a JL credit card and
    have always had excellent service when dealing with them. I shall have to change to someone else.
    I cannot believe that John Lewis themselves are doing nothing to rectify this enormous problem. They are ruining their good reputation.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Inverness
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I asked to change in early October having read a glowing report in Which magazine. I wish I hadn`t. They took my deposit and set up a direct debit with a promise of having it all done in "10 to 14 days" quote. Nothing happened so I called and they seemed unable or unwilling to help. After a couple of calls and being unable to speak to someone senior I asked to cancel the deal and return my money. Then they tried to collect my direct debit which I thankfully had stopped. They wrote asking why they hadn`t been paid!! I wrote to the MD Andy Street which was replied by the Executive Complaints team. They said someone would contact...noone did. I have taken advice from Which Legal services and have sent them a letter accordingly to ask that my monies be returned. It hasn`t and they don`t even have the courtesy to acknowledge my mail. They have taken on the wrong guy and I will sue them and shame them mark my word. I will ensure all and sundry know how they operate and are nothing short of thieves. John Lewis I held in high esteem prior to this . They are now at the top of the list for bad service. MY ADVICE IS DON`T GO NEAR JOHN LEWIS BROADBAND. Read these reviews and BEWARE.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Inverness
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not touch them with a barge pole. They are awful . They have taken my money and given me nothing for it and after many phone calls and emails to their MD i have nothing. They even tried to collect my next direct debit which fortunatly I had cancelled. They haven`t heard the last of me
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Been with jl for over 4 weeks just noticed that I can only call out from house phone and not recieve calls today payed my bill one day late considering they give u 14 days to pay , as soon as I payed they cut me off ...., I'm really annoyed as my husband uses the phone for his business so u can imagine how many calls we have lost , however today been trying to call JL from 3 and each time I've call been on hold for 30 mins so gave up then rang at 5.30 bear in mind they close at 6 I was on hold till 6.45 really disappointed with the service so will be on phone first thing in morning , fingers crossed I get it sorted xx
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wirral
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Poor service, been with them a year almost and it’s a monthly occurance - poor internet, tel line issues...yet again today tel line is down, internet slow, have 6 weeks to go till end of my contract...told line fault will be fixed by end of the week...I’m can’t stand the poor service anymore and I’m leaving early..paying the early exit fees, but I just don’t care -it’s been such a poor service!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crawley
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Six weeks without reliable telephone or internet over Christmas 2017, repeatedly told no fault snowing, had to wait for a BT openreach engineer. After using my mobile to call both JL broadby and BT and arranging appointments directly with the engineer myself I once again had internet. This week the problems begin again, this time I'm told again that the system isn't showing a problem (just like last time) and if it's the router I can buy another one.

    Dont waste your time or money, I would not recommend this company if my life depended on it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The speed was very poor during evenings and streaming was a nightmare specially with Netflix. From time to time without explanations there was no service Customer service kept blamed the fault to be my modem or router so spend a fortune replacing equipment's twice over and no change. Then they start blaming my computers and TV for it! No discount was offered as they believed it was not their fault as the line tested ok, Speed at its best for fiber was 13Mbs. 14 months of putting up with the service changed and never looked back. Now with same modem and router as before and no other modification getting 48MBs !!! So noting wrong with my equipment then just very poor service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hampshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Tried to change from BT. Phone line connected but not broadband due to JLB error. Two weeks after changeover no update received, no router despatched. After 45 minute queue technical support told me that broadband order had been 'cancelled' although my recent bill shows I was charged for it. After a 25 minute queue for customer support was told that it was a JLB admin error that would eventually have sorted itself out (!) yet no emails or calls from JLB to explain/reassure. Another week delay now expected (2-3 weeks without broadband). Wish I'd stayed with BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Godmanchester
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid at any cost. Customer service really polite. Unfortunately no service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newport
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Please save yourself a lot of hassle and DON'T sign up with these amateurs. I have never been with a telephone company that has been so stressful to deal with ever right from the very beginning and until know (5 months later). It's like you call them and they say they are doing this and that on the call when in fact they aren't doing anything. There seems to be no upper level of management that you can escalate things to either on the telephone or by email, so you just end up having to get angry at the customer service rep who can't do anything for you anyway. Join them and you will see what I mean when it all goes wrong, which there is a likelihood that it will. For me unfortunately my next move is OFCOM as the head office can't seem to solve my latest problem which is being automatically overcharged every month for mobile phone calls which were part of my original call plan 5 months ago and so far they have been unable to refund the extra £50-60 each month I'm being overcharged by. Jokers!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Central Scotland
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    taken money, no broadband and impossible to get money back! absolutely appalling. they got all my details wrong despite many repetitions(other than my card details funnily enough) took money out of my account, no communication from them as they took down wrong email , name etc....... ??? essentially stole £29 of my money , i cancelled when they were unable to fix my name, email etc on the account. they also promised switch over would happen on weekend then this wasn't possible( they just said what we wanted to hear so they could get a sale) don't be fooled by the British call centres since the people do not want to help and are very difficult to communicate with! I have made 10 phone calls over the last 2 weeks in an attempt to get through to someone with a brain cell who can help me. i'm polite on the phone to them but it is really frustrating they come up with all sorts of excuses as to why they can't refund (no access to a system until after 5 pm? they can only refund with a cheque but need authorized by a very senior person who is never available) Many of the call centre staff do not have a good grasp of english and have no desire to help customers. they'll promise a call back from a manager but then they never call back... one manager did call eventually but said he couldn't access the system and promised to call back .... i doubt i'll get my money back - ive heard some people have to wait weeks. thiefs. if a person walked into John lewis and shoplifted they'd get done. Why is it ok to nick people's money John scammy lewis?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Monmouth
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Please avoid at all costs. Despite a great initial discussion, prompt receipt of the router and notification that we were live on teh correct date we have actually had no b/b for weeks. I have repeatedly told them to contact me via landline as we have little mobile recption and funnily enough - no b/b but they insit on texting ot emailing. The only progress is when I contact them. Their staff are bordering on rude. No respect for the time or frustration of customers caused by their lack of service. They make BT look ok and that's going some
  • Reviewer
    Location
    winchester
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Reported to John Lewis on Jan 2nd, connection is dropped around ten times each day for exactly 2.5 minutes each time. According to John Lewis it is now fixed but as the dropped connection log below shows it remains exactly the same. This problem started when we switched from EE to John Lewis, paying almost double the previous rate for a fibre extra service which is really not acceptable.

    Net Uptime Monitor Failure Log (NetUptimeMonitor.com)
    Licensed to nick sheron

    =======================================
    12/01/2019 17:20:52 Log Start
    ---------------------------------------
    Failure Start Length
    12/01/2019 17:22:38 0:02:17
    12/01/2019 19:34:34 0:02:28
    12/01/2019 19:58:48 0:02:29
    12/01/2019 20:11:38 0:02:28
    12/01/2019 20:35:03 0:02:28
    13/01/2019 06:48:49 0:02:26
    13/01/2019 07:45:51 0:02:27
    13/01/2019 08:21:08 0:02:28
    13/01/2019 08:54:08 0:02:26
    13/01/2019 11:10:13 0:02:25
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Dont bother useless, gave up after 3weeks with no connection and cancelled before i went mad.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This internet service provider may say John Lewis, But it is not a John Lewis Brand at all. In fact, the internet is provided by Plus net.

    I was with JL Broadband for a year. At the beginning I bought the regular broadband package. The minimum guaranteed speed was about 8mb. I was receiving 1.2mb. They failed to fix this issue.
    My only option was to go to Fibre with a minimum guaranteed speed of about 25mb I got about 14mb. After weeks of complaints It finally got resolved, however for the rest of the year I was constantly raising complaints both online and on the phone.

    They don't like answering queries and they haven't a clue on the phone. They are very rude in fact and talk to you like a piece of garbage.

    My router brand was ZyXEL. I know, I know: 'Who'
    It was awful. Signal collapsed daily, needed reseting regularly. By the way. That takes 10 - 15 minutes simply to reboot.

    When I finally reached a year I left. But my troubles continued. As they don't like answering queries from customers, they don't communicate with each other in house either. My service was disconnected, however they continued to charge me and even threatened me with Debt Collectors. It was clear as mud on my bills and history. Service cancelled, please finalise account. Ignored in house.

    Overal
    If you would like internet that you may or may not receive, have problems constantly, have emails and query go un-answered leading to frustration and anger. Then John Lewis Broadband is for you!

    If you want an easier provider that are cheaper and better. Go elsewhere.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Comments
    Unreliable, unprofessional, nightmare, waste of time and energy, stress and anxiety are the words come to mind. PLEASE don’t sign up to John Lewis Broadband!!

    Every day something comes up, one day the internet doesn’t work and I have to wait for a week to sort it. Then the spear goes down, they sent to engineers wasting 2 weeks without internet. Then I can’t access website and now their website is down.

    The worse ever service I have ever had. Do not go with John Lewis and read all reviews before making a decision.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Cannot recommend this broadband provider. speeds were inconsistent at best. Also watch out if you join as 14 day cooling off period starts the day after your order this service and not when the service starts!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I signed up with a half price offer for 3 months and was charged full price (refunded after a complaint).
    When broadband went down I was told they can no longer check the fault, it has to be sent to the faults team who could take 72 hours. It was resolved but took 24 hours. Took 4.5 and 9 minutes to answer phone but was a UK agent. The router needs resetting about once a week
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid! Unable to answer any questions, waiting on BT constantly for answers! John Lewis is plusnet who use bt! Just use BT, so much easier.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    No router received by switch date and have been told it will take 3-5 working days and until then no broadband. What a service!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Don't touch John Lewis broadband!!! This is the worst company I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Shocking customer service including mis-selling me fibre which is not available in my area. They failed to inform me of this fact and only when I called back to find out why I had no wifi was I notified that I was not able to get fibre. I then down-graded to ADSL and was told that it would be active in 3-5 working days. A week later no wifi!!! Once again I called and was told that the fibre had yet to be cancelled and they couldn't install ADSL until the fibre order had been cancelled and that could take another 10 working days.
    Apart from the above, every time you try to contact them you have to endure 30 minutes of torture listening to the elevator music while waiting for an agent to take the call. Hire more people John Lewis - it's not rocket science!!!
    I cancelled my account on 28th October and today 5th November I was billed for the fibre I never received. Unbelievable. Am at a total loss.... I lived in third world Africa for many years and never did I ever experience such incompetence or disgusting customer service as I received from John Lewis. A total disgrace. If I could have selected minus 5 stars I would've. Don't even consider this incompetent company. They should stick to selling clothes and leave broadband to companies who know what they are talking about.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    As all the other reviewers my service from them has been appalling, sat on hold at the moment for 30 minutes and they still haven't even answered the call. They owe me over £300 from failing to provide a service and have still not paid... only interested in taking your money .. AVOID!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    manningtree
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Now become so unreliable & they are no help in changing
  • Reviewer
    Location
    MISTLEY
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Joined JL 3yrs ago and it has up till now been good. However it is now abysmal fault calls being ignored even though when the contract was agreed for minimum 3mbs ( the most we could get at the time)they now say they have re-written the contract down to .9mbs ( no notice given) currently it won,t even register to test. This is how they treat key worker 2hr requirement needs!
    AVOID AT ALL COSTS they could not care less. PLUSNET have to be one of the worst
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Maidstone
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    What an absolute garbage company to deal with.
    Appaling customer service.
    DONT think by going to these clowns you are getting a decent service... been waiting months for a refund, and they dont know where it is!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Herne Bay
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Nothing but contempt for this company. So very helpful staff. Only been with them since 09/2017 and had nothing but hassle from day one. Connection is a big joke if you can connected at all? Its costing my Wife and I to break the contract £130:40 which we cant afford but what can one do? A decent service we need not keeping fingers crossed and praying when logging on. Back to the drawing board but who is a decent helpful company??
    Under no circumstances give this compnay your business but PLus Net their server is a part of BT.

    Never again has cost us money like it has other with their story's of woe
    I give zero stars for all catogories i clicked Customer services in error.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    No customer service staff have no upper management for you to escalate any problems Plusnet advertising customer service won't let you down!
    DON'T BELIEVE IT
    Problems are just repeated 48 hours before update 48 hours for next update 3 weeks still awaiting for it to work!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bath
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible service!After waiting for two weeks for getting the service, they just easily told me to wait for another two weeks! I waited for another two weeks and again, nothing came! and again they said that you have to wait for another two weeks! So I have just cancelled it and now I think I have to wait for a year to get my money back! So, I put zero star as they are really unsustainable!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Todmorden, West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved to JLB after a price comparison website said they were the cheapest. After less than 1 month JLB increased the monthly cost. I was angry that JLB offered a fixed price contract for 18 months on price comparison then changed it after 1 month. Called JLB. My first introduction to their 'Customer Service' was being asked 'What do you want me to do about it?' and immediately being told there was nothing that could be done. After 2 months of disputes regarding intermittent service, slow speeds, long call waits and multiple spam or 'Stock' emails as JLB like to call them, I finally got through to a call handler. During each call I had said I wanted to log a complaint but nothing was done. JLB don't answer emails, they have a portal you have to log into in order to email them. At one stage JLB completely deleted my account, erasing records of my complaints and preventing me working from home. I would regularly call, complain and give my availability for callbacks, yet I would either get no call back or would be called back when I had already stated I would not be available. Most of the middle managers/Complaint Handlers I spoke to were unsympathetic, unpleasant and one inparticular seemed to do nothing other than aggressively shout me down. Even now after going to CISAS (The ombudsman) and being offered a settlement payment, JLB are still sending me stock emails, dodgy invoices and generally SPAMMING me. JLB is the archetypal cut corners approach to customer service, delegating the onus onto the customer to constantly chase them at the customers time and expense. Ask yourself "Is saving £2 per month or so on my broadband really worth slow speeds, a service that constantly disconnects, an email account jam packed with SPAM, aggressive unpleasant and unhelpful staff and a lot of wasted time?"....If the answer is "Yes" look no further. I'd like to say that JLB had at least one positive; unfortunately even the Wireless router looks naff and the hold music (which you'll be getting very used to) will drive you towards insanity and/or violent criminality
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Exmouth
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Left before my contract even began, the customer service was so bad. 15 minute waits to speak to someone, awful defeaning loud music while they put you on hold or transfer you to someone else. Two out of three people I spoke to were unable to find my details. Then when I asked for confirmation in writing that the account had been cancelled, I got two 'contact us' messages requiring me to log into a website to see the reply, which I was unable to do as the password I was given didn't work.
    One operator apologised for the wait and poor customer service, saying that the company is in the process of training up another 100 operators. Ignore the Which recommendation, as the reality falls short of expectations from the JOhn Lewis brand.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT USE THIS PROVIDER - They have scammed us out of over 80 pounds. After 2 months of back and forth (they will blatantly lie to you over the phone, saying they will call you back and then never do - promising an engineer to come out and then saying it was cancelled with no reasoning or notice) we still have no internet. They are extremely deceitful over the phone and will constantly shift the blame to their partner company Openreach in an attempt to get out of ****. I cannot stress enough how painful this experience has been. Avoid like the plague.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don’t go near them with a barge pole. Cancelled my contract due to a home move. But the move was delayed so I then called to delay cancellation of contract. Was told it was fine and received email confirmation as well. But then was disconnected anyway. Was then basically told it’s my fault and that I shouldn’t have listened to the last agent I spoke to who agreed to the extension. Awful customer service, argumentative and rude. Never going back
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Anyone working at John Lewis Broadbabd should be ashamed for letting their colleagues and employers rip off the public. I have paid for a service they have not supplied, they can not give a date if and when they might supply broadband, the Provisions Team investigate the complaints against themselves and they refuse to escalate and issues. Simply put John Lewis broadband is the worst on the market.Total scam artists. Avoid like the plague.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Andover
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's a very frustrating situation, my list of problems seem to be growing (rather than being resolved) and the implication is that perhaps they hope most of their disgruntled customers will give up.

    As at 15/12/20 I still haven't had my money back despite a promise it would be "immediately" refunded.

    John Lewis Broadband is actually PLUSNET. I have found it to be a terrible service.

    The PLUSNET (aka JL Broadband) team seem paralysed by internal chaos, slow management reaction times, denial and an overwhealming lack of service ethos.

    Customer services are almost impossible to contact, they assume you are the problem and deny that "you" the customer could have struggled trying to contact them.

    I cannot comment on their broadband speeds or router performance because after switching to them, then waiting over a month getting nowhere, I was eventually forced cancelled the service.

    When I finally got through and raised my issues by phone. The service rep only wrote that I wanted to cancel the service but did not make any note of 'why' or record my complaint.

    I then wrote back with several issues spelt out in a simple numerical list of points. Amazingly the next service representative wrote back, starting with an illiterate paragraph that made absolutely no sense, then they asked me to write explaining what the issues were - clearly not having read my bullet point complaint letter.

    I received a further letter saying my case is being looked at. It implied it was impossible not to be able to reach customer services... Problems were due to Covid.... I should have continued waiting/I should have been in touch earlier... i.e. I should understand their problems...!

    So in summary, please don't waste your time on JL Broadband or PLUSNET. Read the other complaints, we're all fundamentally saying the same thing; If they don't record the complaints then the stats don't reflect the problems.

    NB. John Lewis Partnership please disassociate yourself from PLUSNET. They are wrecking your reputation.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norwich
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I was locked out of my waitrose e-mail and no-one was able to help. I run a B and B and lost customers .

    They are HOPELESS don't use them or John Lewis
    I have had a truly terrible time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Comments
    I decided to switch to John Lewis for precisely the same reason as several others here, John Lewis’s good reputation. I was not initially advised that’ll email was web based, I found this out when I couldnt get mail direct to my mobile after speaking to a guru at O2. This was bad enough but then my home internet connection was so spasmodic I didn’t know how long I could suffer this. In the end I switched provider. JohnLewis certainly got their own back on me, they completely destroyed all my current email and all my contacts. Nothing left and no way to recover hundreds of missing email addresses other than from memory and a few helpful friends. I am extremely annoyed to say the least, not sure who to contact to vent my anger.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Auchtermuchty
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    big mistake moving from BT to John Lewis. We are rural so do not get good speeds but was told by JL that we would get same speed as our BT service (3.8Mb). In fact we have never got more than 2.9Mb in the more than 8 months since the changeover. All John Lewis customer service said is to take it up with BT myself. WE also now have drop-outs vitually every day and sometimes multiple times in one day. We certainly won't be staying once the contract expires.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst broadband company I have ever had.
    Since I’m with them, the internet was slow always.
    Now I’m moving out so I had called them, and I said to switch the internet off with the End of the month 31st!!
    They switched it off at the 13th and they said it would take 2 weeks until they can switch back on.
    I’m moving gout that time, I can’t do my home office for 2 weeks. Very poor customer service and very disappointing!!!

    Don't recommend it to anyone!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.