Hyperoptic Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Hyperoptic.

Recent Customer Ratings for Hyperoptic

  • Satisfaction
    3.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.7 stars
  • Speed
    3.7 stars
  • Reliability
    3.4 stars

Based on 122 customer ratings since 2020-05-18 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Hyperoptic   Read our Hyperoptic buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

199 Customer Reviews over 5 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shockling bad customer service but more importantly extremely unrelaiable., constantly slower service despite subscribing to the faster service. It breaks down reqgularly It is also very expensive. Unfortunately my block Is a already committed to this service. I would avoid this company and go for a better more reliable brand name.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Appalling. I signed up for 100Mbs and got about 4. Customer service tried very hard to fob me off and I had to insist an engineer visited. Turned out they had connected us wrongly at another point in the building. Service is frequently dropping altogether, and is never anywhere near what they promised in terms of speed or reliability. I’d recommend it if you want to pay good money for a slow and unreliable service though, as they deliver on that. Just dreadful, I am sorry to report.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Buyer beware when you first get Hyperoptic you get the speed you pay for after a couple of weeks it drops by half when I ring customer service the guy trys to tell me im getting the spped I should be and must be something broken on my pc that's doing that I tell the guy dude I build and fx pc's for a living and I can tell you 1000% theres nothing in a computer that can reduce cable speed so he hung up on me ….ill stay for the year as its still better speed then I was getting before but if I see a better offer im gone
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After having a really bad experience with Hyperoptic service in a previous apartment I swore I would never have anything to do with them again. Unfortunately we have just bought a new apartment where Hyperoptic is the only realistic option because alternatives are super slow. After waiting 2 weeks for an engineer to come I took the morning off work for the appointed time slot and needless to say nobody turned up. No text message to say they were going to be late, no email from Hyperoptic apologising, nothing. I spent two hours on the phone to 3 different people trying to find out where they were. Eventually an engineer turned up two hours late and explained that two engineers were always required in this building and they only sent one. So yet again we are at the receiving end of this company’s utter incompetence. I simply do not know how they are in business. A manager pointed out their customer service award which based on my experience in two different properties is an absolute joke. I would strongly advise having nothing to do with them unless you have absolutely no alternative.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    speeds constantly down. have to phone up to fix it every time
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Been over a year. Contract finished, call them and offer me a better package and free upgrade for the modem. The new speed upgrade is amazing and the modem flies! For £25 a month I think it’s a bargain. 2 kids on youtube, streaming a football match, wife on the pc and everyone is happy at peak hours. Defo recommend it!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Not Happy & Would NOT Recommend: Ongoing Problems Develop Over Time
    (I have to use tether 4G iPhone connection to write this as HyperOptic is again not working)
    HyperOptic were installed in our block in Westminster and after HyperOptic initially cancelled the installation, eventually it was installed. All worked fine to begin with but then the problems started to develop.
    Interestingly, after many years with Talk Talk on normal copper wire broadband, these problems never happened, and that was with Talk Talk(!).
    Firstly, the HyperOptic Internet connection comes in and out, and HyperOptic speeds move up and down. The signal strength on Wifi for a device next to to the router moves in and out.
    Then, more problems develop. The Internet goes down for no reason. This has happened a few times now and usually in the morning. The Customer Service team just make excuses, like it is something to do with my iPhone, iPad, Android phone, Windows laptop, Amazon Fire Stick, Echo Dot etc.
    Then the speed slows down dramatically, to slower than my old broadband with Talk Talk. Websites don't load up quickly at all.
    HyperOptic make ongoing excuses, like it is the Wifi router that they provided (yeah... right!), and it is the 2.5 Mhz or the 5 Mhx Wifi channels impacting one another (then why does your Wifi router offer both?).
    I worry why the Internet is so unreliable and slow with HyperOpic. I worry that they utilise the network differently over night and in the morning, redirecting capacity.
    I would not not recommend the HyperOptic service. The problems continue and are painful to deal with their Customer Service.
    I know this sounds odd but as soon as I can get out of my contract, I will go back to Talk Talk(!).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    If you want a broadband network where you get yourself 1 Gbps networking and end up with 2-30 Mbps, then you are in the right place!
    I'm not joking. We got 1gbps networking but were then told we already had it, so woohoo!
    I connected to the network, and the internet was off. Oh well, guess I gotta restart the router!
    Didnt work. Oh well. Time to call customer service!
    They actually dealt with the issue and made the internet work. But, when I first did a speedtest, I got 1 mbps download and upload. What a disgrace.
    Nowadays I got 20mbps download, but still. Why?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Not sure about all the negative reviews, but my own experience with Hyperoptic for the last 3 years has been all positive. Great speed, reliable connection, particularly important nowadays while working from home, good customer service.
    Only recently had an issue with the broadband, called customer service on Friday, had 2 blokes visited my apartment couple of hours ago (on following Monday), changed the router and all back to normal.
    Perhaps their service is not consistent and depends on the area, but again, my experience with them in south east London has been all positive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Service started out great, brilliant support all the way through the contract, but then...

    I found out they signed me up for a 12-month contract for £67 per month right before I was due to move out.

    Based on their site £64 is pay as you go 1GB service, and 12-month contract appears to be £46 per month.

    I discussed this with their management and they advised that this was a contract I signed, my question is why would you give me the worst possible option (doesn't sound very customer-centric to me).

    So it sounds like they screwed me from the start. Safe to say I would not be recommending these guys any time soon.

    Luckily I only had about 2 months left in the contract as I had to move out of the property I was renting, so I ended up paying for the remainder 2 months.

    So, I worked out that the lifetime value of a customer for Hyperoptic is around £128. I would have been happy to take them to my new place, but since they were such (expletive here) at the end I have chosen to stay well clear of them.

    Just a word of caution to everyone else looking to sign up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have contracted the package 30Mbs download & 1Mb upload about 6 months ago. It has worked well until August/September, more or less. I then started feeling that my connection was not so great as before (specially for upload). Coincidentally, I got an email by the end of August offering an upgrade to higher speeds for a small fee. I ignored and kept testing the connection speed at random times using the google online tool. A week ago, I contacted the company to ask what was going on since the upload speed has been persistently about 25%-30% slower than expected. After an initial helpful support that didn't solve the problem, I started getting non-sense responses to my inquiries claiming that it's normal to get speeds like these (30% less than agreed is normal??? with optical fibre...) because of interference from other wireless signals/routers and that I should consider to upgrade for a fee!! I want to highlight that I tested the connection using ethernet cable several times during the last 2 days and the only time it really worked at about 1Mbs was very very late at night.... In summary, the problem here is that first, the agreed speed is not being respected. Some variation is expected but 25-30% less is too much. Second, pushing to contract higher speed rather than solving the issue is at least disrespectful. Given my whole experience so far, I do not recommend this provider and I recommend to stick to those well-established in the market. Prices are a bit higher but you really get what you pay for. That's all I want, to get what I paid for, no more, no less.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    WOW - been with these guys for 2 yrs on 1Gb - solid connection 8-900 mbs both ways - i have experienced no down time in 2 yrs. Customer service is flawless. cannot recommend highly enough. A benchmark all companies should strive for.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Around August 2017 I signed up for hyperoptic, after tolerating Sky for the past few years. Sky broadband used to experience breaks in connectivity throughout the day, and was often affected by weather. Customer service took forever and it was an utterly disgusting service.

    Paying around £20 a month plus £50 off through referral, my 2 bedroom flat is using the cheapest deal that hyperoptic provides cuz we are broke students...however it has not disappointed once. No hidden fees AT ALL. Other than for installation (which was fast and free), I have never needed to call customer services as there have been no issues at all for the past year.

    Will definitely recommend to everyone!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    Comments
    I had Darien come set up my internet broadband and he was really helpful and precise and got the work done easily without creating a mess.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I don't understand all these negative reviews. We now have Hyperoptic for at least 5 years in our block of flats and I never heard of or experienced any downtime.

    Installation went without any issues and the engineer was polite and did a great job. He routed the cable nicely along with the ceiling, precisely to the point I wanted to have the router. Since then I buried the cable in the ceiling and extended the cable. Easy enough to do.

    Initially, we had the 100Mbit connection which was upgraded for free to a 150Mbit connection. While working from home and being reliant on a fast and stable connection I upgraded to the 500Mbit connection. I used the online chat to do that and it took literally a second and I had my 500 up and down. For this, you obviously have to connect via a cable. A lot of customers seem to complain that the wifi doesn't deliver the promised speeds but most computer wifi adapters max out (if you are lucky) at 300Mbit. If you are in a different room, forget to get full speeds. That's simply not possible. You could run cables and have multiple access points to achieve this.

    I also had an issue with the old first router as I wanted to assign more static IP addresses and they send me a new one immediately free of charge.

    Speed is as advertised and I get an incredible ping of 1ms. For the cost of now £35, this is a bargain.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with hyperoptic for over 9 months now and I have to say they are probably the best provider I have ever been with.

    Installation was simple mainly due to everything already in place with the new building. Activating it took minutes and we were connected.

    Have not had any realisability issues and I regularly check the speeds and they are consistent even at peak times. I am on the 30mb package which is perfect for streaming and using two devices simultaneously.

    For the price and service they really are the best in my opinion.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute joke of a service, line goes dead for a minute or two in the middle of meetings, several times, each day, everyday. They fix it for you over the phone and back to the same "service" the next day.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We bought the fastest (and most expensive) available hyperoptic package as we were tired with BT's intermittent service. It is indeed fast - but only as long as you are right next to the box. Stroll a couple of yards down the hall to my bedroom and I get less than 0.5mbps download speed. Honestly! What a terrible box they sold us. Does anyone know a provider that can deliver a service in the whole flat?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    100mb package.
    Been connected for just over 2 months.

    The promises made:
    No more dropping out;
    Very fast speeds.

    What we got:

    Constant drop-outs. And I mean constant. What's caused me to leave this review is the fact -- yet again -- my internet connection has dropped 4 times in the past 5 minutes. This is not a rare occurrence; it happens frequently every day.

    The speeds are fine -- does everything I want it to do. Not 'amazed' by the speeds by any means.

    Installation was a bit of a shambles.

    Customer support aren't able to help to get a stable internet connection.

    I left PlusNet as they had a habit of dropping out for long periods of time. Hyperoptic's advertising promised an end to that. But they're just as bad. Scratch that, they're worse. I'm seriously considering paying off my contract and going back to a mainstream provider.

    Would not recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Our building went Hyperopic about three months ago in a building of 60 flats although I don't know what the uptake rate is in the building.
    I have the 1Gb/s package and a wired Ethernet network including wired connections to my my Smart TV and Amazon Fire Stick.
    I have been very pleased with the connection, made a huge difference to when multiple devices were using bandwidth simultaneously.
    Ping varies between zero and about 7. When the network is not busy, Downloads Ookla speedtest and steam dowwnloads usually come in around 800Mb/s which is very good, during peak times there is less bandwidth but will usually not go below 400+Mb/s. Uploads more variable, usually 800+Mb/s but sometimes a lot less, presumably depending on what the neighbours are doing. The best speed I have clocked on the wireless 5Gz connection is about 300Mb/s.
    It has also made me realise how slow a lot of the internet still is...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Not reliable, falls out all the time and some of the worst customer service I have experience anywhere for any product. They wanted 30 days prior notice before my contract ended even though my contract was a 1-year contract, which forced me to pay for almost a full month. On top of the rudeness I encountered, they wanted to claim an early cancellation fee, cannot believe how people stick up with this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They installed their router in my flat 5 months ago and since then nothing happened. Service is still not live anywhere in the development. Apparently they encounter blockage over blockage whilst 5 months ago we were told that the building is live.
    Maybe they get better reviews ones their services is usable but so far they are a complete fail. Who wants to wait 5 months for their broadband?!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Be very careful if you are considering signing up to Hyperoptic. They are a bunch of amateurs, not real professionals. They are vastly increasing their network footprint without building in IPv6 infrastructure to the point where they have had to implement CGNAT. In practice, this means you have to share a public IP address with several other customers. This prevents you from connecting to your home network from elsewhere. It has also resulted in problems with unstable network speeds and inability to connect to certain websites.

    This morning I was unable to connect to the British Airways website despite being able to do so from my work network and from my mobile phone (on 4G). I called up customer services only to be told that this is a frequent issue because website providers sometimes block shared public IP addresses they do not recognise and that I would have to call up British Airways myself to resolve the issue. The other option I was given was to pay an extra £5 per month in order to have a static IP address. This is ludicrous. Surely it is the ISPs responsibility to resolve these issues and completely unacceptable that I should have to pay an extra £5 a month just to have the privilege of a working internet connection! Why should customers have to do their job for them?!

    In summary: dreadful customer service. Poor network infrastructure and the bosses are clearly only interested in making money and don't give a toss about their customers. I wish I had stuck with my Sky Pro ADSL connection. It might be slower but at least I know it is reliable and actually works.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    STAY AWAY from this awful company. Completely inconsiderate - when I initially ordered I've been asked to wait for 2.5 weeks for the next available installation date. Now they have cancelled my broadband installation one day before arranged installation date and rescheduled it another 2 weeks after without consulting me. I called them and explained that I've been living without internet for 3 weeks already to which they replied, there's nothing they can do, although it says on their website that they will prioritise for customers who don't have internet connection. I could've ordered with some other broadband provider if Hyperoptic were transparent and and would give me more notice before cancelling installation. I never felt so let down and frustrated by a service provider.
    Also it's apparent that they are cutting costs by outsourcing their customer services to Serbia with staff who's English is rather poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    About two weeks ago I wrote very negative review, starting: "Stay away. In years I didn't have such problems with broadband as with Hyperoptic..."
    It appeared that the problem was with a cable between router and socket. After replacing the cable the broadband works fine. I wanted to withdrawn my previous review but I don't know how.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Disgusting service , engineers were unqualified and were rude and a complete shambles , it took 6 months for installation of router and the connection is unreliable and pretty useless, don't get fooled with this service you're better off with BT or one of the named providers - this lot are a bunch of Cowboys ripping you off !!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Decent speed and good customer service, however it is pointless when internet drops every time you connect to a VPN because there is no static IP addresses. I bought an add on for another 5 pound a month for a static Ip and it still does not work. Do not even waste your time or money on hyperoptic if you need to connect to an external VPN
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Thank you very much for Colin George help to install my internet cable. He was very knowledgeable, being patient, clean and even he helped me with different idea. Really i appreciate hyperoptic company has such a nice man.
    I really recommend this company to others.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Moved to Hyperoptic from SKY after our development was enabled to receive their service. Mindblowing... to go from a broadband experience which constantly fluctuated between the bearable and the terrible to grinning at <15ms ping gaming and consistent 75MB throughput wireless was just amazing. Unfortunately we've recently moved and werent able to take Hyperoptic with us. Im now stuck pondering between a return to SKY or BT and feels like Im returning to the stone age!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    LIARS - AVOID AT ALL COSTS. If I could give zero stars I would. Twice booked an installation with them, they confirmed they would be able to install it in my flat and told me they had installed it in my neighbours' flat (I have pictures of messages confirming this), engineer arrived and said it couldn't be installed. One of them is lying. Terrible company. AVOID.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My site was listed as ready for installation so I booked an appointment for a Tuesday morning. The engineer arrived, told me the site want actually ready yet and left. I phoned hypertopic who assured me the site would be ready for installation by the following Monday and so booked me another appointment. This time the engineer came and left without informing me and it was up to me yet again to call up to see what is going on. I'm now told that they don't know when the site will be ready.

    Additionally, the customer service is terrible. Be prepared to wait for 20 minutes on hold only to get through to someone who has to then put you back on hold whilst they put you through to the team who can handle your question. This time however you won't get through to anyone, instead you will be put through to their automated answerphone service after which the call will promptly disconnect.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Lots of mixed reviews with I dont understand. I have been a customer 2 years now and have had no issues. Im on my second router now and get 170 Mbs in East London. Hyperoptic always reply to our emails (usually Petar or Zorica) within minutes and recently said they had a new offer where we upgraded to a new router and paid less per month !!! we are very happy customers .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If there is 0 I would award it!!! Sooooo slow… the upload is around 500-800 Kbps which makes opening websites and video conferencing a nightmare!!!! Even on the chipset package you’ll expect a proper online experience. My mobile internet is better..... don’t let me start on the coverage- we have internet only in the room the router is and then the connection is keep on dropping off. Working from home is almost impossible!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We have a small family and don't do anything too intense and our experience has been quite bad to be honest, especially in comparison with the usual suspects.

    Examples of poor service:
    - We opted for quite a fast speed option but realised later that the router installed by Hyperoptic wasn't capable of achieving such speeds! What solution did they provide? The guy told us to go buy another faster one!!
    - We got disconnected more times in half a year than we did with BT in a few years.
    - After explaining that we weren't satisfied with the service and that we were moving house so wanted to cancel the service, they said we'd have to pay an early termination fee which was more than we anticipated because they restarted another contract midway through our original contract because we downsized to a lower speed. When we tried to negotiate maybe moving the service to our new address, they couldn't because they're a small company and it was out of their coverage.
    - They constantly send you emails asking you to recommend contacts to sign up to their appalling service; it seems like they make more of an effort marketing rather than actually providing a good service!

    I would strongly advise against signing up with Hyperoptic and stick with the main players.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Everything has been perfect, remeber reading a review about them not turning up for install, but for me they turned on right on time, 30min ish to install then i was online, 5 months on, speed has always been fast, never had a issue. Wish i can buy shares with these guys.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I would highly recommend that you -*avoid*- this company.

    1) I phoned up in July 2017 to book an installation. One was scheduled for two weeks later.

    2) The day before installation, I received a confirmation text in the morning. In the evening I received a phone call saying that my installation had been cancelled with no reason given.

    3) I phoned up a few days later to ask what the issue was. Apparently there was a dispute between Hyperoptic and the Building Management.

    4) A few weeks later the dispute has been resolved and I am asked to rebook the installation. This was scheduled for three weeks later (as no earlier slot was available).

    5) Saturday 2nd September 2017: I was told that the engineer would phone 30 minutes before arriving to confirm the appointment. This did not happen, but at least he turned up.

    6) The engineer could not turn on the internet because the building management offices were closed (as it was Saturday). Hyperoptic know that the offices are closed on Saturdays because they do installations all the time in my building. Why did they book the installation for a Saturday then?

    The engineer said he would phone me back later that day to rearrange.

    7) No phone call back. I call Hyperoptic on Sunday - they say they will phone me back.

    8) No phone call back. I call Hyperoptic again on Wednesday - they rearrange the engineer to come back on Thursday. I confirm that I will not be in the apartment - Hyperoptic say this is fine.

    9) On Thursday I receive two answer phone messages asking if I am in the apartment. After four long phone calls to different people at Hyperoptic it turns out I do need to be in the apartment. An engineer is scheduled for Friday.

    At this point I accept that I may never have internet and that Hyperopic has no communication between departments.

    10) On Friday, the engineer is meant to come between 9 and 12. At 12 I ring up Hyperoptic asking where the engineer is - they say he will be there in 30 minutes.

    At 1pm, I phone up again. They say he will be there soon.

    At 1.20pm I receive a phone call saying that the engineer is on his way.

    At 1.40pm I receive a phone call saying the engineer is lost.

    At 2.20pm the engineer arrives. An apology for the lateness would have been nice at this point.

    At 2.26 I am told that the original installation did not work and it will have to be re-done. I am so bored of Hyperoptic by this point.

    The only available slot is in 7 days' time.

    All I want is some internet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Speed is good but if you’re a renter stay away - they demand you leave the router in the property when you vacate. If you choose to just take it then you’re charged £70. The reason why this is an issue is because most rental properties do a check-in and check-out report and if anything is left in the property you incur a charge. As such, leaving the router will then incur a charge from your estate agent so you’re screwed either way. It’s also a bit sly as it forces the new tenant to get Hyperoptic (which is quite aggressively pushy) and doesn’t allow for a fair market. The speed is good though, but a heads up to any renters that you will essentially incur an additional fee if you then leave the property you initially had Hyperoptic installed in.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Couldn't ask for more! Amazing speed (I have the 1GB option), No downtime for me in the last 6months & was quick and easy to set up l.
    Only improvement would be to supply a better router - you can't get the most out of the 1Gb service with the router they supply
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I suppose Hyperoptic may provide great service, but I never managed to get past the equipment installation phase. After a three week wait, an engineer came in to instal the equipment. He failed to complete the job on the day and said that Hyperoptic would send someone within two days. A two day delay did not seem not ideal, but was quite acceptable. However, when I called Hyperoptic the next day to enquire about the appointment to complete the installation, I was told that the next available slot was in two weeks. So, effectively, Hyperoptic put me at the end of the queue. Even if my experience is an exception, it still shows the poor quality of customer services at Hyperoptic.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Yes they deserve 5 stars. We have been with Sky nearly 3 years and payed nearly £30/month for these 3 years and received a speed of no more than 4.5Mbits/sec which was an upto 17Mbits/sec package, couple of months ago i received a message saying that Sky will raise their prices £1.5/month both broadband and line rental that we should pay for £33/month for the slowest broadband in the UK.With Sky I've never seen a download speed more than 600kb/sec but now with the basic package of Hyperoptic which is 20Mbits/sec i have a download speed of 3Mb/sec which is 5 times faster than Sky and nearly £15 cheaper.The installation process was fast and smooth,the engineer insisted on cleaning the dust after finishing the job and i said i can do that no worries, couple of hours later i had the cheapest/fastest internet connection in the UK including line rental which you use Hyperoptic modem to connect your phone and it has a crystal clear connection. I definitely recommend Hyperoptic, maybe it is not a billion pound company but you will get the cheapest/fastest/reliable (been using for 3 weeks now) broadband connection in the UK.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.