EE Home Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for EE.

Recent Customer Ratings for EE

  • Satisfaction
    3.4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 504 customer ratings since 2021-08-16 (Show all time ratings)

Visit EE   Read our EE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1,562 Customer Reviews over 40 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fife
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I recently changed service provider (from EE to Plusnet) - not entirely hassle free as I expected it should be.
    The changeover date was set to be the 25th of October 2016 and this duly happened with my phone, but not broadband, which was re-instated on the 27th. Nothing too stressful so far, but then I received an email stating that my phone services were to cease on the 18th of November even though the changeover had already taken place. I phoned and was told that EE placed a 14 day extension on my account after being notified of actual transfer having taken place.
    I phoned them and the matter was resolved to some satisfaction after being told that a new bill for the month in question was not being raised. No mention of part month which I feel I am owed.
    However, I do feel this 14 day add-on is ridiculous and my main reason for writing this is to warn others and for them to check if this has been applied to them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    south yorkshire
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    I orded ee fibre in the middle of October after a week went by I noticed my phone was working and find I had a new number ee never told me then a few more days went past then I text saying my activation date 17/12/14 by 23.59 I looked in morning and found my router to have a red light after 4 days of ringing ee I finally spoke to someone who told me my order had been cancelled he set another order up which after speaking to someone today that order cancelled aswell another order today 23/12/14 and I have reseaved a message telling me my my internet will be activated on 21/1/15 what a joke just wondering if internet will be a bad as there customer service , reliability, speed and the worse thing I hate been lied too. Also to add I say 1in 5 staff now what there on about better odds on a lottery scratch card lol &&&& look elsewhere $$$$$$
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible! Download speed is 0.29mbps on most days and drops to 0.00 during peak times (aka, literally does not work for a few hours each day). There hasn't been a single day where it has been higher than 2mbps and thats nearly 10x slower than the minimum they are contractually obliged to give us. It is criminally bad service/connection - literally.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible! Download speed is 0.29mbps on most days and drops to 0.00 during peak times (aka, literally does not work for a few hours each day). There hasn't been a single day where it has been higher than 2mbps and thats nearly 10x slower than the minimum they are contractually obliged to give us. It is criminally bad service/connection - literally.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fife
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Further to my recent review of my exit from EE and transfer to Plusnet, I feel it is only fair to add that I have received a final bill showing an overpayment. This amount is to be credited to my bank account.
    I therefore upgraded my overall satisfaction score.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely shocking service. They advertise 1mbps upload speeds and when they turn out to not exist (given the upload is basically non-existant) they say it's not a promise.

    Terrible company, don't sign a contract with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Deeping St. James
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We were with Plusnet and then switched to EE. Almost immediately, the issues started. Service down during peak times, slow download speeds - and I mean slow! 1mbps was not an infrequent occurrence. Called and complained and after 3-4 days and numerous calls it seemed to be fixed. That last a couple of months then same issues. A few months after that they changed my contract without letting me know (they say they sent an email - presumably straight to my spam folder) and when I contacted them about it a few months later they refused to change it back or cancel without paying a cancellation fee. Madness. After multiple calls and arguments they let me out without a cancellation fee. Although yet to switch so wouldn’t be surprised if they take a payment when the time come. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We've just switched to EE and haven't had any DSL carrier signal on the modem since the switch. Customer service took 50 minutes to reach the first time, and their response was to "Try again in the morning". They didn't seem equipped to deal with the problem.

    When I tried the next day, I was met by a recorded message saying that EE was having problems generally, and so the phone lines were overloaded, and to try phoning back later if possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute Shambles. Line speed, both up and down absolutely horrific - when it worked - line flapped constantly with 100% packet loss every 15/20 minutes.

    No tech support, ran through the same script with call centre far too many times before I became bored, official complaints bounced bag, EE where not interested to see router logs to prove issues.

    Quite amusingly, I've had to post this review 3 times due to connection failing... AVOID. Use a good ISP such as A&A
  • Reviewer
    Location
    NEW MILTON
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Internet really bad. My wife by mistake continue after first 12 months. I need find way to cancel this broadband. First 3 months was really bad,no internet or was slow. Later they send new router, we had internet 50% time but was slow. Now after my wife renew , we have internet about 12 hours from 24 and 5 days from 7.really disappointed. Yes it's cheap but not worth. As I need use more my mobile internet so basically not saving money but loosi g.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Quite literally the worst provider I've ever experienced. Continually drops from the most horrific 'traffic management' (or throttling to me and you). Abysmal customer service - after 9 months of issues, constant complaints and engineers (one of which they charged me for without warning, despite the issue being on their end) I have finally been allowed to terminate the contract early.

    There is no reason on earth why you SHOULD go with this farcical brand. Save yourself a great deal of trouble - buy somewhere else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tamworth
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Seeing so many unhappy customers i consider myself as a very lucky guy. I was switched to EE from Sky in 14 days. The day when I suppose to be connected there was some kind of issue and i was not connected after all. I called customer service. I took me less than 2min to speak with lovely lady. She explained that usually problem like that is being sorted within 2 days. Fallowing day I came back from work and internet was up and running. I have fibre plus 67 mb/s and I get 74 mb/s every day. No issues with EE what so ever. I would recommended EE broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Preston
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Useless broadband and when I decided to change the home broadband provider got extra charges.
    Best way is to avoid EE.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Comments
    DONT USE EE:
    - Took 8 weeks instead of 2 to get the broadband
    - Impossible to talk to someone, take hours before someone pick up the phone and they are useless
    - The broadband keeps on going down
    - Speed change all the time
    - Ping time 300Ms (my phone is faster)

    I've been using broadband in london for the past 10 years and this the worst experience I ever had, used to be with SKY and they were great same with BE THERE in the past.

    Stay away from EE
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Paying for 38G speed getting 16G at the mo. The line deliverd 37.8G when the contract started but gradually got slower and slower after that. Also broadband has dropped out over a dozen times in the last 2 days, have complained. Will change provider as soon as the contract runs out.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After being with we broadband 4 days before my contract was to end they cut me off as they never took my payment out of my bank on 15th december 2019 for a year of service always had trouble with EE with my payment date and promise internet speed if that how they treat loyal customers I won't be renewing my service with them on 8th jan 2020 FACT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    NOT FOR DOMESTIC USE. The broadband speed gets choked on evenings and weekends (any time im not at work basically) and the service organization is terribly unreliable, i attempted to change address with EE, to be told i couldnt be set up till 4 weeks later when an engineer is available. Didnt turn up (i was told the appointment had been cancelled 3 days before, no one even pretended to have tried telling me) and i had to wait another 3 weeks. this is among several other occasions of disappointment, therefore i would not recommend EE, as you will find yourself with a leaving fee of £29.96 WHETHER YOUR OUT OF CONTRACT OR NOT.
    The only good thing was the customer service staff who seemed to be doing their best, always polite but it gives me the feeling they are only there to take the heat for the higher disregard of customer satisfaction.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorking
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Thought I would add a decent review to counter balance the negative. I was offered to upgrade from broadband to fibre broadband. Negotiated a decent deal (comparatively), £30 for 12 months then £39 for 6 months for 38mb unlimited and anytime calls. The router arrived in three days. I was expecting some engineer to fit it but when my internet shut down last night I simply plugged in the new router and in about 10minutes I was up and running again. At which point I got an email telling me I had moved over to the new plan. Might have been better to send me the email before they switched me over !! Otherwise so far so good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Egdware, Middlesex
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Comments
    Poorest service ever, I moved from Sky to EE because I upgraded my mobile package and was convinced signing up to EE broadband was cheaper with happy days ahead. If used BT and Sky in the past 10yrs and I've had NO outage with BT and maybe 2 outages with Sky in that time.
    Firstly, the call centre in India is a nightmare, as they are limited in their assistance, secondly the service is ridiculously poor. They promised 7mbps and my speed fluctuates between 1 and 2.5 mbps. PLEASE DO NOT SIGN UP wit EE. they are the worst serivce out there.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bolton
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I just cannot use this EE broadband because it is too slow to work. It takes ages to log on, it takes ages to download an email. That's a s far as it goes. Try to download a busy site of a video and there is no chance. What kind of garbage broadband is this!!! I am so sick to death of complaining to there technical department. After 4 months of complaining nothing is better...NOTHING!!!! I got this as a fixed term and fixed price contract for 18 months and they have put the price up!!!! EE is a SCAM!!!!! KEEP AWAY FROM EE!!!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've been with this RUBBISH company for 3 weeks.Youtube keeps freezing and buffering all the time. Internet pages are so slow, my computer is 3 months old. Customer service put me onto an engineer in India who I could hardly understand. He told me I was getting the right speed. I was with AOL before and had no problems. I joined EE because they were.doing a cheap deal, now I know why. They want £116.49 to cancel the contract after I've already paid £132 upfront for the phone line. if you're looking for broadband don't join EE, RUBBISH COMPANY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wells
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    leased line, no control over service and have to ask BT nicely if they can resolve the problem - cheaper but ***** unless you are on a budget and do not want streaming, internet, wifi or any service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hackney London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    If you like nostalgia, go for EE broadband. The connection is so slow, that you think you are stuck in the 90s with a dial up modem. If you want to watch youtube, EE might not be the company for you. The customer service is a farce. You have to explain basic concepts to them when it should be the other way round. At least they have seen IT crowd. "Have you tried turning it off and on again?"
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Durham
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    I can't star any of the others as I was misold my broadband,tv,phone which by the way keep crashing. I would not have gone with them if I know what I know now they reel you in then bang bills are twice as high as they promised. I have been with them 2 months and the have had over a100 quid already a I phoned to cancel and they want nearly 400 quid of me even though they misold it to me so anyone thinking if going with them think really hard first
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband is a complete disaster . Drops out after any phone call comes in, regularly loses it's router settings, is incredibly slow during the day, communication with team in India ( despite v English names) is desperate and in summary, keep clear , I'm looking for alternatives now as the system is rubbish and there is no alternative to resolve the oh so very many frustrating issues
    I am amazed the service is so incredibly poor for such a major provider
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Internet constantly fails. Customer services are rude totally unhelpful and don't give a damn why you have rang. I have been having problems for over 2 weeks now and hot no where with customer services. I'm actually very surprised I am able to send this review before it kucksme off again .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sidcup Kent
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I signed up for EE broadband and promptly cancelled after reading the extremely poor reviews on this site.

    I then read the reviews for Virgin, BT etc (which incidentally were just as bad!!) I decided that people probably only post bad reviews and do not bother with posting good reviews because they are satisfied and cannot be bothered to take the time.

    I decided to jump back in s**t or bust and go for EE £2 a month unlimited broadband with free weekend calls.

    I have to say that I am totally satisfied with the service I have received. EE communication about the process and ongoing communication about the installation was top notch.

    I did intially have a problem with the speed of my broadband which was incredibly slow (the phone socket in my house was at fault) and so I had the chance to see how good EE were at sorting out problems. I would give them 100% in their efforts and their endless calls to me to deal with the problem. I even had a chance to speak with the call centre in India and found the tech guys there very helpful.

    My broadband is now running smoothly and as I was previously paying £29 with BT for unlimited broadband (not even Infinity) along with their mandatory charge of £1.75 for their call waiting service, making a total of £31.75 per month I am now an extremely happy bunny with a yearly saving of roughly £350.

    My speed now is equivalent to what I was receiving from BT on their bob standard BT Hub.

    So peeps I would say to you take the plunge and give EE a go.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Waltham Abbey
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    The reliability and speed of this supplier is dreadful my broadband is forever saying it is not connecting and it is slow.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Persuaded in store to take up Home Phone & Broadband with EE. Always been ok on mobile phones and they told us we could keep our email address so got ourselves talked into it. Worst move ever! E mail stopped working, spent hours on the phone waiting to get through - then cannot understand what they are saying most of the time. Technical staff were abrupt, rude and very unhelpful. Asked to speak to a supervisor and they put you through to a phone that rings for half an hour then cuts you off. Get through to their complaints team who promise to investigate and call you back and a week later you're still waiting. Get back in touch with the original store and turns out they lied!! Letter done to their Head Office and Ofcom.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    dudley
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Comments
    EE get no stars for anything!They don't sort out issues,the speed is diabolical and they don't reply to customers complaints unless you threaten them with ofcom!!Terrible!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    birmingham uk
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    hopeless broadband, poor customer service, wish i'd never left BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    _
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Utter trash, avoid at all costs.

    None of the technical support that you will get to talk to have any real idea about how Internet infastructure works outside of the general help booklets they receive to help them with the majority of low level issues.

    Draconian TMP's leading to horrendous (and I mean utterly moronic) latency spikes, short term dropouts and packet loss to every service imaginable because as stated before - whoever set up their Net Inf in the first place must have been a tool, as in - an actual tool, like a wrench or screwdriver with the most basic of cognitive functions.

    If you are in desperate need of a stress enhancement tool, or a reason to really let off some steam - apply today for EE broadband.

    If however you are a sane, normal human being - avoid them like the bubonic plague and act like it's the mid 1300's.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS BROADBAND!!!
    I signed up to the broadband, and it was a complete disaster. When I tried to cancel it, I was put through different people and they were rude, and dismissive. Guess what? You can't cancel it until after 1 month, or else you have to pay over £100. I'm going to contact watchdog, because this simply cannot go on.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Comments
    Awful awful company to deal with its been a week since my broadband was supposed to be turned on its still not working and the best they can do is get someone from india to call to tell me to turn the box off and on again.Customer service couldnt care less i was told they would send an engenier to fix it that never happened all in all with out doubt the worst broadband provider ive dealt with avoid avoid avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The internet speed is ok in my area , but the it is the customer service that they have got to improve. Service is bad . The operator will often transfer your call & make u wait for a very long time ( more than 10 minutes ).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Comments
    Such poor customer service, bad selling skills, tried getting a contract with them & it took them 5 days to call back even though they said they would ring back in one hour, very bad attitude & could definitely say there advert is wrong *best uk network* very wrong, worst network in the uk, & this also comes from a 18 years old lad.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Heswall
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    OMG. I thought I had seen it all. I had a business critical need to get this up and running and they totally messed it and then again and then again and then again. I have spend around 15 hours on the phone and had nothing but trouble. AVOID. REGULATOR PLEASE PLEASE JUST CLOSE THEM DOWN.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Abz
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Switched from Sky to save some money, bad idea.

    The no-downtime was actually 12 hours with no communication from EE. One business working day gone.

    We are currently receiving less than 50% of the speeds obtained with Sky.

    Spent over one hour on the tech support line where we had to explain how broadband works because they did not understand even basic terminology.

    Finally got them to increase the IP Profile Cap although we are still no receiving a good speed. Throughput is terrible. Online gaming and streaming worthless.

    In conclusion:

    Poor broadband service
    Useless Indian based tech support who admitted to having no techinical training and therefore couldn't help.
    General poor customer service.
    Crap no brand router

    Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The most pathetic broadband ever. I'm so frustrated by the constant disconnections, ruins all my progress. takes hours and I mean literally hours before someone answers the phone if you want to make a complaint. They promise call backs but yet to receive one. Regretting my decision to leave BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Boston
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst broadband ever if you do gaming or you need connection for work, just DONT CHOSE EE. without the reason on some of the days its keep turning off every 5mins. some times speed sucks... switched 4 months ago and now i regret my decision..

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.