BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    2.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.9 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 15463 customer ratings since 2018-07-23 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2838 Customer Reviews for BT

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Having been a BT customer since 2010 I have now got so fed up with their new customer offers that I have contaced them to cancel with the aim of moving to Plusnet and then returning in a year. However because I have a £1.31 discount till June 2015 they want to charge me £130 to leave - thats 10 years of the discount which in itself only lasts a year. So I asked to discuss it with a manager the call centre operative flatly refused to put me in touch with one - basically these are the rules take it or leave it. so I'm stuck with BT till June 2015 what a total Rip off
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Leyland BT  
Internet speed is fine, but drops out randomly for anything from a few seconds to a few hours. This can happen very frequently.

This is especially annoying if you're playing a video game and the whole game freezes leaving you powerless to react.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London UK BT  
Its ok if nothing goes wrong, but any "Techie" calls go to India and the English is barely understandable - no use when trying to explain things. I was trying to get to the bottom of why I was getting a low signal but I couldn't understand what the Indians were saying and they couldn't understand me !! Left in the lurch.
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Buckingham BT  
BT have an OK broadband speed, this is not just me but other people I have spoken to. However they also have a very poor customer service, and broadband reliability is something which almost doesn’t exist when you’re with BT. Internet randomly shuts off, currently using my mobile data to write this review because the internet shut off again would you believe it or not. Wouldn’t recommend, go for Virgin Media instead.
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
Don’t BT  
Ober the years Ive tried many different services and providers. I rank Talk Talk as the absolute worst. NTL put me off ever trying Virgin. The absolute vest customer service without a shadow of doubt is O2 which I have at a 2nd address. BT attracted me with the sales pitch and the free wifi but in truth its not as transparent as O2 and neither has it the support. I dont want to knock yje firm when they dont deserve it but I see little in the way of good news staying long term . I will however persevere a bit longer.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
South Wales BT  
E mail Gavin Patterson CEO and explain the problem and you will very soon have an executive complaints handler to deal with one on one.....simple!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
ludlow BT  
BT is not want you think. I can think of three services that are excellent in comparison to BT.
BT customer service talk the good talk but do not deliver. There are unforeseen extra charges which bump up your budget so making it difficult each month. If you want to get out of a contract it will cost £260. The broadband will stop working for no apparent reason and the phone reception can be distorted with static. Most people I know are with other providers despite the fact that the broadband is 10% less faster. But why? Because the overall customer service is good. One or two good services does not equal customer satisfaction. Very disappointed, very shocked and will not ever go back to BT. Rubbish!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Streatham BT  
Bt what can I say? I went with them two years ago to get the TV as infinity had been instead and Virgin couldn't give us TV. The pallaver to get the broadband phone and TV installed an running was unbelievable with endless calls to BT and the so called technical centre in India [ who to be fair at the time did at least call back ] even though they couldn't fix the problem of a "stuck" order. The whole thing had to be cancelled at started over again and still there were delays and letters asking me to return equipment which didn't need to be returned. Eventually it was all sorted [ but it took around 4 weeks to get everything working properly anf=d hours frustration on the phone to polite but useless people who didn't or couldn't keep their promises or who couldn't understand the issues ] .Since then the broadband and TV service has been fine with speeds as promised of 38mb. Prices have however risen considerably over time .

Recently they wrote to me putting up the charges saying if I didn't take out another contract with them they were going to charge me around £7 more and would no longer get Sport lite [ which I don't watch anyway ] .I called BT ,after getting quotes from other suppliers and they kindly agreed to offer me the current service plus BT sport for considerably less than Talk Talk or Sky - I was happy again or so i thought . Then the problems began .

The BT sport duly arrived the next day and I called their sales team to ask if i could have the HD channel bolt on . You would have though this simple request but no . This was agreed and an order submitted told it would take probably a couple of hrs but at worst it would be 24 max.

No HD channelled 24 hrs later - nada. Called 150 [ long wait and user automated system with a Scottish lady telling me how important my call was and would i like to use their web site which proudly announced "sorry for the delay" and gave information none of which was relevant or did not solve the issue ] .On getting through to the Oders team or tech dept or who ever they were the saga with their Indian call centre began. 150 answered and after a further interminable wait to muzak was put through the ] I have called them 5 times and on each occasion i have been assured the service will start and on two occasions would be called back as they were personally monitoring my order . I have to say no such calls were ever received and I am still without the HD version of the channels [ at one pointI even lost the exisitng internet / non hd channels but miraculously they were restored 6 hours later ].
I have had to spend hours on the phone waiting and explaining to some very polite but disingenuous and ineffective staff who have basically fobbed e off with a load of old tripe and unfulfilled promises [ lies I suppose ]. Even one of the women at the call centre told me SHE had been cut off by the Orders Dept. Every time you must speak to a different person and they all parott the same script but despite promises they don't solve your problem - which in my case where is my order ?

In frustration I googled the BT's CEO e mail adress [ Gaivn Patterson ] and wrote to him . This at least resulted in a prompt reply although I suspect it was probably computer generated since it arrived about 9pm in the evening but was singed from "Gavin". All very mately I suppose he can afford to be but since Iv e never met him and he's not my friend Ifound this a rather superficial and dare I say it American overly familiar way to sign off to a customer and shareholder { why? I am seriously asking the question ]

....I have now been passed to the Executive Support Team [ whoever they are ] to claim to be taking ownership of the problem and not to contact any else in BT as they might get confused [ from my experience that would be a racing certainly] .The claim they will get back soon ... we will see.

I pointed out MR patterson that surveys by Which ? and others show BT a the t bottom of the league for customer service and that now I had experienced the reality of BT I was in full agreement.

I have also loolked at heir website on quality issues and they have all the mamagmetn speak and about stuff programmes to improve service , Quaky assurance , ISO9001 .[In my epxpereicne the assurance rating is useless since basically BT set the standard they want to meet - one it seems that is not very challenging - and then they get accredited because they can meet it!] .tere was aloud off giiif about customer care building "shareholder value" to persuade gullible persons to invest with what is basically the a privatised PO telephones service monopoly writ large and with a similar level of service to boot.

Whilst I have been happy wth the broadband which has lived up to expectations I cannot sy the same for their customer service, problem solving and their call centres which are the worst Ive ever experienced { although Vodafone on occasions have come a close second . ]

I would be loath to recommend BT to anyone they are simply too large .

[NB 17 years ago my PC got infected with an autodialler virus and BT allowed my quarterly phone bill to get to neatly £500 - it was normally about £40 - before someone contacted me . They had already paid the fraudsters in Vanuatu for frusdent calls I hadn't made and refused refund me anything. Ofcom were useless too, although I later discovered I could have sued BT to get the money back . I left them immediately and swore I'd never go back. I should have stuck with Virgin or gone to Sky . The only reason I went back to BT was because wanted improved TV and broadband and didn't want a sky dish on my house - however that would have been be a small price to pay given the problems I've had with thier call centres. Why do these companies think outsourcing to India or wherever will improve their service ? I suspect it is all about saving money of course and not as they claim building "shareholder value" I am sure there are plenty of location in England who would welcome BT establishing a call centre there. It is British telecom after all and not Asian Telecom.

Don't bother with BT if you have an alternative - if you have problem they are simply dreadful and their cal centre staff even lie to you [very politely ]but lie is still a lie , - anything to get you to hang up . Awful, and I have shares in this company must be mad ! [ They are soon to be sold ].
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Surrey BT  
Price constantly rises, indifferent and unreliable service. The only efficient thing about their service is the dependability of getting a bill
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Grateley, Hampshire BT  
Just switched to BT broadband few days ago and found that the braoddband speed very slow at times and connection unreliable. By replacing the BT home hub (router) with my netgear dualband router solved all the problems.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London BT  
Got Fibre Optic a year ago. worked straight off at 80mbps+
Now slowed right down to 45mbps
contacted BT and after several checks identified my line has been turned down to 45mbps
When I asked why I was told it was due to my previous issues (I'd had none) and that an engineer would go to my local exchange and tuned it back up, they haven't (no surprise)
Now I know 45mbps isn't really slow, but I checked with BT before buying that I would get 80+ and did for a year.
They still say 80+ is available and my neighbour get it, so I'm left paying for something I'm not getting.

Out of interest if you go to http://speedtest.btwholesale.com

then run a speed test you will see the speed your getting.

Once you've done that select further diagnostics

enter your broadband related phone number and run diagnostics test

The result will display the speed available on your connection.

Its less than when you first had the service then its a BT issue. Don't be fobbed off by BT telling you its not down to them.

It may be that they've turned it down for existing customers because the exchange is struggling, thats simply not your issue and you should get what you signed up for and are paying for.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Northants BT  
I use to get Just over 6 at a previous address, this one seems very poor in comparison.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Barnstaple Devon BT  
Fixed price contract is very expensive compared to current deals Nil response from customer service
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
cuffley BT  
I moved to BT infinity from Talk Talk as I was not happy with the service. What a mistake it has turned out to be!
Out of 10 and a half months of the contract BT have only managed to get the minimumum speed for 2 months. The rest of the time it is way bellow the minimum. I have tried phoning and web chats multiple times and no one did anything to improve it. The customer service is useless! Cannot wait to leave. Avoid at all costs!
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Cambridgeshire BT  
Pathetic speeds!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Headcorn Kent BT  
Horrendous experience with BT. Don't go with them. They said they'd give me vouchers when I joined. Didn't. Just phoned up - they have a recording of the guy telling me I can have them, and they won't give them to me or the equivalent of them?????? They lied to get the business, overcharge, and they are so so so unprofessional on the phoen. Don't trust a word they say. Go with someone else.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bath BT  
I really though I had bought a fast service but I tested it today after reading the reports in the press and instead of 8MB i had 0.8MB. Not good enough I will change supplier (currently BT)
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London BT  
This speed has slipped from 6mbps to less than 2mbps
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
spalding BT  
Was going to move to sky for free unlimited broadband deal. BT then offered a similar deal so I stayed put (better the devil you know than the devil you don't). Ever since my broadband has been wholly unreliable. A real issue as I work from home quite a lot. Rang up to complain. Apparently no problem with line but a dodgy hub. New hub arrived - low and behold exactly the same problem. Call me synical but free unlimited broadband seems to mean you have to fight it out with everybody else for the service - I've been a Bt customer since 1995 but clearly loyalty means jack! Unless it improves I will be moving at the end of the year!!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
SHROPSHIRE BT  
move from sky to BT mistake slow cant connect drop in signal should of stayed with sky now stuck 12 mounths
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Borders BT  
Charged me over £80 to cancel my line (my initial contact had finished a few months earlier). Over £50 a month for basic broadband, which wasn't that reliable. Ripoff.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London BT  
Poor when you have a problem. Difficult to contact VERY.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bradford BT  
Customer Service and ability to deal with problems is a disgrace from their Indian Call Centre It a service given on the cheap and it certainly shows.. Getting anything right is just a bridge too far for them. Monkey's would do better
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Devon BT  
I have been with BT for a number of years, they promised infinity last year, just been told it will be another six months! I can hardly finish a game on FIFA 11 without it dropping. I'm moving to sky, I like the look of anytime +
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    5 stars
London BT  
quick to repair faults but speed of broadband is DIABOLICALLY SLOW.Download speed average of 0.468 mb/s over last month
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Dihewyd BT  
Absolutely useless!!!!!! Took 6 weeks to activate. What a joke!! Internet speed not as fast as they guaranteed it would be and customer services couldnt give a flying monkey about there customers
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
BT  
The only reason I am posting a comment is that I have just phoned BT, which took numerous numbers to phone, to upgrade from Option 1 to option 2. Having agreed the upgrade I asked the question about whether this was a new contract, to which the answer was yes. I cancelled it there & then as I only have 4 months left on my current contract & feel it's a complete con., to start another 12 month contract, especially when I found out only by asking the question.I am an existing BT customer & would stay, but my current view is that I will now move.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Weston-Super-Mare BT  
Look at all the negative reviews. All these people can't be wrong. And they aren't. AVOID BT. I have been trying to correct an overcharging error on my account since I joined 12 months ago. I have wasted hours and hours with BT and got nowhere. They are currently overcharging me by £100 and have disconnected my broadband despite being involved in a dispute resolution process with the ombudsman over this.

Their customer service is absolutely hopeless.

BT need to realise that there are a finite number of potential customers in the UK and once they have annoyed/frustrated/ripped off the majority of these, they will no longer have a viable business
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
SHROPSHIRE BT  
AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL. We used BT years ago and were messed around so much that we had to get the ombudsman involved and then stopped using BT's services. A few years later...we moved into our house in Feb 2018. After being told by several people that BT were much better now and our new house was only fitted with a BT connection...we just decided it was easiest to use them again. Well, how wrong were we. Firstly they sold us a wrong package...unlimited broadband costs £30ish a month but they signed us up for limited broadband at the same price...and we went unknowing over every month being charged £90-£100. We put a complaint forward for this and they said it would be cancelled immediately and we would be put onto a the new package and sent a free of charge recording box for the inconvenience. Well 3 weeks later and no box..I contact them to be told that no package was cancelled and no new one ordered...meaning we were still being over charged. I spoke to about 6 different people who you had to explain the whole situation to again. 4 people cut me off on live chat and I had the phone put down on me once. Finally after weeks and weeks they have cancelled our packaged and put the new one in. They have offered us....£30 for the inconvenience!!!!?? What an insult. Will NEVER use this company again.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
ringwood, dorset BT  
Just don't do it.

New build took 11 weeks for Openreach to connect. I know some will say its a different company, but given they're BT branded you'd think they could have some sway.

Tried to connect me on 8th August, failed, didn't tell me. Phoned up on 9th, found out about failure, AND an engineer visit they booked which they needed to access my house for.

Got random automated email the following weekend stating I would be connected from the 15th. Phoned up, found our they'd fixed the 'routing problem' offsite... Had booked day off work for visit.

Now connected, but yet to receive the promised call from the complaints department after over a week.

Communication is terrible, and i would not suggest anyone goes near them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Milton Keynes BT  
staff rude and unhelpful.viewbox needs new ariel as will not work with sat dish.was told should have read small print.phone has no caller display or answer phone any more again was told to read small print.kept waiting on phone when trying to explain my problems.what a hassle don't go there
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
huntly BT  
Been with BT for 5 years was originally really very good - new home hub with top speed BT infinity package arrived 1 year ago & problems began - rarely reached anywhere near speeds advertised as was totally unreliable, dropping out daily in a major city which is astonishing. Never seem to accept they may have a hardware issue with there router - even though I'm stood next to it and cannot get online.

So were quietly leaving & happy to pay £30 cancellation fee to try out Virgin Media.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
Brstl BT  
I cancelled because of the many price rises and when your tied into a contract there's little you can do. The service was relatively good but did go off on many occasions. Absloutley discusted with them. We cancelled well with the 30 notice and they decide that they are going to charge us for the next month and once the final bill is generated then they will refund us...after 7-10 days. Be different if we owed them. Waffle on about the terms and conditions but where's the consideration. Just out to Rob your money so glad I cancelled. Been passed about departments for an hour minutes absloute rubbish!!!!
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Pontefract BT  
Well, this is mostly about customer service I guess. I'm currently over an hour into my wait for an answer on the helpline and the web chat system kept me waiting for 40 mins before just disconnecting. I don't expect other suppliers are much better.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Chesterfield BT  
Following resetting of an e-mail password by an Indian call centre techie my e-mail stopped working. A quick call to 150 got me to Ireland where I was fed a line of utter BS yet promised a call back by an expert at a set time.

The duly appointed time came and went and was exceeded by two hours when a call mysteriously came through on my mobile - which I wasn't expecting. Unfortunately the call rang out. Ringing 150 again I was told that there was nothing that could be done, India would ring me again when they were able, they could not define a fixed time. Realising I was beaten, I hung up, did a quick internet search to find out how to complain.

Yet another phone number and another wait for 15 mins for it to be answered by an abrasive woman from the "Billing" team who couldn't help me and was totally disinterested. When I asked why a member of Billing was answering a complaint call I was told we ALL answer complaints. It's nice to know that your complaint call is not going to a dedicated team but just some disinterested staff member who couldn't give a toss quite safely with no redress. I was told that things were the way they were and I would have to wait. The reason I was contacted by my associated mobile was because there was a fault with my landline - curious that - as I was talking to the hapless BT Billing bint by..... the supposedly faulty landline!!!!!!!

Well, I am still waiting but I haven't been idle. After 20 years of being a loyal BT customer and after three abortive, painful and stilted calls with Indian customer service within that time period, I have finally had enough. I will be swapping to Plus Net who curiously enough despite their BT links offer a 30% cheaper equivalent package with call and tech support centres in .... Sheffield and Leeds and with an award winning customer service group to boot..

My opinion of BT is that it doesn't matter how long you have been with them, customer loyalty counts for nothing, they just don't give a ****... and are an unmitigated, 24 karat shower of utter ordure and that is being polite.

My advice, is to other disaffected customers is to vote with your feet and secure a better service at a more competitive price. - just like me.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
BT  
i have been trying since 4th august to upgrade to infinity2 .i have been promised various discounted deals none of which have been acted on by bt. i have rung countless times, ring backs that have not happened,i am at present having complaint investigated which will take up tp 17 days.BT are the worst company i have ever dealt with.i have asked to speak to line managers but i think they live in an ivory tower as they are never available. UNLESS YOU ARE DESPERATE DO NOT USE BT
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
east anglia BT  
Hopeless customer service, good enough when it is working.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Letchworth BT  
First off, Internet and product fantastic, no problems. CUSTOMER SERVICE NONE EXISTENT. Moving home in 2 months, wanted lines setting up in new prop before plastering and decorating. Guy said yeh no problem £50 for an engineer. I will call you in an hour to book a day. Call was never returned, neither have the last 6 calls. Over 5 hours waiting on the phone and now Im told that it wouldn't be £50, it will be £180!!! Absolute joke. Appealing customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bury BT  
Appalling service..They 'conned' us into a further 18 contract while we still had 6 months to go on our original contract.
Didn't find out until we decided to leave...Then they wanted £200 penalty.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Hereford BT  
What a useless company this is today received Email telling me my bill is going up by £4.65 or 11%. No explanation, nothing. When I try to log in to sort out using CORRECT details ,it says not recognised so cannot complain. So my bill goes up 10% with no comeback other that to leave...which is exactly what I will do. If you haven't joined BT please please don't. They are a bunch of cheats who despite billions of current year profits have increased current charges by 10% ..or higher. Disgraceful. Andrew Mitchell. CA89BA
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Carlisle BT  

Loading...

  • 2838 reviews, showing page 9 of 71, skip to page 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk