BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 8289 customer ratings since 2020-06-19 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,117 Customer Reviews over 78 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Total money grabbing con-artists. When you sign up, they tell you everything is great over the phone, but they do not make you aware that there is literally NO 'cooling off period' after receiving the full terms. This means that if you agree to the sparse terms they explain over the phone, hang up and then disagree with the full terms & conditions which you can only read once they email them to you, you're stuffed. They also do not make you aware that the cancellation fees constitute HALF the line rental which is over SIXTY POUNDS and you have no choice but to pay it because they've tied you into something you didn't know the full terms & conditions for. I will be avoiding them like they have rabies from now on and I suggest you do the same.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Since upgrading to Infinity with Hub 5, my consistent historic data usage has jumped from just under 10GB per month to over 20GB. Have rung and complained so many times that their usage monitor (which my billing is based on) is inaccurate.

    Technical Department advised me to download thinkbroadband monitor to my desktop and guess what? It proves my usage is no where near what BT are stating!

    Now am locked in this on-going battle to be heard. Their excuse is that my home hub is faulty and that the wireless can be picked up outside the home due to security issues?

    Checked all round my house - am on the WPA2 Personal and it is secure (with padlock symbol showing).

    Technical Department asked me to change wireless key - did this - usage still escalating?

    Technical Department sending a replacement hub? Not sure how that is going to affect the usage monitor which is clearly inaccurate.

    BT are thieves - they are stealing from me as in the 2 months since upgrading they have said I have gone over my 20GB allowance. Strange as last month I was away for over 2 weeks and there was no usage whatsoever?!

    Now at the stage where I will have to write to OFCOM and considering going public with this.

    How can they get away with this?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    BT call centre and support line in Bangalore is a joke, had to ring them to sort out a problem with my 90 year old father's switch to BT mail. They don't understand you and you can hardly understand them, my father would have had no chance! After 2 hours on the phone I was ready to sob with frustration at the constant repetition and lack of understanding. In the end they gave up and so did I . I found the answer to a fairly simple problem by searching Internet forums. This call centre is a disgrace avoid BT like the plague.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Camberley, Surrey
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Been with BTyahoo mail for years and no problems.
    Change to ne BT Mail is terrible.
    System is slow , features only work occasionally, cant format emails easily or properly.
    And then - you try and contact anyone at BT for help - they are totally useless.
    If you want a package to send business emails on with some decent prompt back-up - DONT CHOSE BT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    west sussex
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have had problems with going over my limit on broadband, which is confusing as i am on unlimited as by bill clearly states, i have spoken to many people at BT which is hard when you do not get a english speaking person and those who try to speak english are awful to deal with, i have never been able to view a bill online due to a cock up made by BT when setting up my account and also have had my direct debit payment changed without any notification or warning via post or email to let me the CUSTOMER know. My recent dealing with BT was to set up a new deal and should ony be paying £45 a month but the last 3 bills are £73 £83 £96 . I only use the web for emails and searching the net. BT cannot give anyone a breakdown on there broadband other than you have gone over, no dates or times or even what you have been doing e.g. downloading, streaming. BT are by far the worst company of all time and as soon as my contract is near the end i will be going elsewhere. I think this will end up like the PPI where people were being ripped of and someone will eventually blow the whistle on BT and there practices. I turned my pc of and broadband at the router and have not used it for 3 weeks and guess what i still went over my limit, this just proves they are lying thieving scum.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bempton, East Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I've been a BT customer for longer than I care to remember & have always had issues of one thing or another every year which take forever to get resolved. Most are concerning the "deals" they give me. They treat any loyal customer like something they wouldn't tread in, except if they think you're going to leave. WELL I AM THIS TIME! I understand the issues with my broadband speeds, I live in a rural location 4 miles from the exchange, but it doesn't excuse their attitude. I was going to say incompetence but actually they're very good at promising & not delivering whilst continually overcharging. My latest issue concerns my broadband deal which was due to run out in January but as I signed up for BT Sport their email said any broadband deal I was currently "enjoying" would be extended to the DNS of my years sport contract. Guess what, they started charging my an extra £5.70 a month so every month I had to call Calcutta to be assured a refund would be made & the overcharge wouldn't happen again. I got a refund of £3.86????? For some reason & the overcharge continues each month & I have to call again. I got a call today from someone over here to tell me the broadband deal didn't last till June when my sport contract ends & there was never such an extension to current deals! Imagine his shock when I offered to forward the original email as I still had it! Yet he still rabbited on about maybe I could ring their customer options number where someone could sort me out another deal. Total bunch of vvankers!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gateshead
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Changed over from Sky on 17th April. We have been watching BBC,ITV etc through the Sky box as we don`t as yet have an aeriel. Tuned in to watch football on Saturday 26th and found we had no channels. Only technical advice I got was that I need an aeriel for updates to be installed. After 54 minutes on the phone and explaining that the channels I wanted to view came through broadband and not the aerial, I was told I needed an aerial for the updates. So after 1 week I now have no tv channels. I am told that a manager will contact me in the next 5 days to try and resolve after I said I was cancelling and going back to Sky. Think very long and hard before changing to BT. If you threaten to leave them you speak to someone in this country. For so called technical advice you speak to someone thousnds of miles away. I spoke to 5 different people in 54 minutes.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Horsham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'm currently with BT and have nothing but problems with them, I'm on a upto 16mb unlimited anytime calls package even tho my line is only rated upto 8mb and for the last 3 months im only receiving 1mb at peak times so I complained to them that in itself was a horrible experience, I was told im on a congested exchange and they would see if anything can be done, nothing has been done and since Wednesday morning this week I've had no broadband at all from them, so I spoke with a BT mod and he said he cant do anything until 9th may when a new update will take place, so I said I want to cancel my account then and he flatly refused to agree to it so im kind of stuck now and find it unbelievable that this can happen with-in the British law system.

    I understand that every area and exchange will differ in its output, but BT have spread themselves very thin and as a result there is a massive number of congested exchanges, so at peak times 6pm - 11pm and all weekends you will be in the slow lane.

    They are not easy to contact and once you do get through to someone you can understand they are bordering on being rude and sarcastic.

    If you try and be herd via their forums then forget it as they have that base covered also,
    They move your post around in their forums to suit themselves and to hide your complaints with-in a web of old post.

    They also use India call centres that will send you mad if you ever do have to phone them.

    The worse thing I ever did was to let this cowboy company be my isp. all they provided me with was a headache and frustration.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    East Anglia
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been looking to change from BT to another provider as BT charges are very high, but after reading other reviews on other providers I will stay with BT. Never lost a connection, speed is very fast and found the customer service Dpt. (in India) very helpful, yes they did take the trouble to phone me back to see if all was O.K.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely appalling. Our speeds at best are 2mb - apparently. The reality is more like 1mb and add to this the fact that it is so unreliable. Much of the time the connection is so slow that it times out when trying to browse the web, at other time the signal drops completely and we get the "No internet connection" message. Multiple calls to BT on result in being made to go through the exact same scenarios of restarting the router, unplugging cables, etc etc. This in itself is irritating but when you reach the end of it and they say "well there is nothing wrong" it gets even more irritating. On three occasions we have had people try to connect to us remotely and found that they couldn't and yet STILL say there isn't an issue. On every occasion we use out BT landline for a call they have to phone back to the mobile because the quality is so bad that they can't hear us, and yet, STILL say there is no issue! We have asked times for an engineer only to be either flatly refused or told it will cost us £150. To cap it all off, each and every call you make, even if it is within the same hour, you have to start from the beginning with the process of going through their check list. I have suggested to people to read our notes before to see that this is a redundant request but they have flatly refused saying that they do not have time to read the previous notes! Then what is the point? really? I despair. Use BT at your peril.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I placed an order for BT phone and infinity as I decided to move back to them from Sky. I was told everything would be up and running on 14th April.

    My phone has transferred over but nobody had the courtesy to tell me that there was a problem with the Infinity. I used their contact form to contact them with my order reference etc and got a reply saying it would take 10 days to reply to me. They then sent an actual reply saying I had to call another team as the digital team don't deal with orders. Why ask me to fill out a contact form then?

    I phoned them and they say that the engineers can't fix the fault at the exchange until Friday as they don't have the part they need. BT don't have a spare part for their own exchange?? So the rest of the week without internet and they say that they cannot do it any sooner than Good Friday. I wonder if they actually will sort it out on a Bank Holiday. I'm furious with the lack of information on their order tracking system. If it says "delayed" then at least explain why, without having to call and wait on hold.

    If your phone and internet works then do NOT move to BT. They are absolute jokers - and not the funny kind. I wish I had just stayed with Sky. BT are a total waste of time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Exeter
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    It was all great for about 3 1/2 years, and then we began to have problems. I believe this was in no small part to your "upgrade" of the BT Vision service. What a disaster! As well as BT Vision service developing problems, our Broadband service began to drop out frequently. Having requested a new BT Home Hub for weeks (as it was clear we have a Broadband problem for months) a nice sensible lady, Bandita, has at last agreed that we must have faulty a Home Hub (Version 2.0 from 2010), and is sending me a new one. Too late dear BT, I have signed with Sky having complained to you on numerous occasions about the Broadband service AND the BT Vision service, to no avail. Whilst BT, last week, upheld a complaint about the wrong advice I was given by BT over the telephone (BT complaints having listened to a record of a conversation I had with one of their "advisors"), BT refuse to make any offer of compensation. Well, dear BT, I guarantee you are going to either spend a great deal of time, and/or pay me at least £60, as I'm taking my complaint to your regulator. BT have failed to provide the service that I have paid for, and have failed to train their team of advisors sufficiently to deal effectively with issues from customers. I have spent many hours in total on the telephone to BT, politely trying to get you to do something. I would much rather have spent my time doing something more productive. BT - you should be ashamed of yourselves!! I'm glad to leaving you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT Infinity installed Dec 2013 & there is never a week that goes by we're we have no Broadband & to top it all for the last 2 days hourly breaks were the broadband has failed to work...BT then say we have to pay for an engineer to come out and check the sockets etc....What a joke ... Customer Services leave a lot to be desired!!! Now thinking of leaving BT.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT is the worst service I have ever used. Over the past 3 months we've been getting broadband speeds of a maximum of 10mbps and a minimum of 0.01mbps - both of which will occur in 5 minutes of each other. After spending many hours on the phone and going through the same useless and redundant 'restart the hub' process we finally got an engineer sent to us - who assured us there were "no problems" and was gone in 5 minutes. Their customer service is appalling with a woman even hanging up on us whilst we were mid-discussion - not to mention the people we couldn't understand as they're all based overseas. I would rather pay double the price we're currently paying and go with someone else rather than BT but as they're unwilling to cancel the contract we have with them it looks like we're going to suffer till next year.
    My family and extended family have all been told of the issues we've been having and i can assure you that BT have lost customers for life because of it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    York
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    So far so good. I have changed over from the terrible direct save organisation. System is efficient and service is good. Having read some of the comments posted by others I am keeping my fingers crossed the good service continues. So far so good :)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bridlington
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Thought i would put this here so nobody gets BT it is horribly slow
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst service ever and very deceitful....was told I could access my service anywhere in the world via their links to FON etc internationally. Having traveled to USA, Africa, Middle East and Europe I have never once been able to receive the service... I still have to rely on my 3G with Iphone which is very expensive....complete con...!!! Don't sign up with them..! I wont be renewing my contract.....ever again..! this brand is damaged beyond repair and will take several generations to regain consumer trust.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Keighley
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Fail to understand how a company this remote from it's customers, and expensive still exists. May as well be Bangalore Telecom, and why is it only when We've had enough and leave are they suddenly interested and the ability to deal with someone feigning empathy and caring comes in to the equation. Never again. Too expensive and too lacking in caring and customer service. Now we have left, somehow they say we have placed an order for 12 months telephone contrct, which we certainly did not. The explanation behind this when we contacted them made no sense and i'd question the legality, never mind the morality behind it. Never again, even leaving them is like getting rid of a bad smell that hangs around
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Keighley
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Incredibly rude and unhelpful customer service, extra charges for services I was told would be free. Cannot express how much you would be better off with any other company. I joined them because i wanted broadband for my children s school work i also got land-line, they joined me with no problem but after the first month they got the bill and when they'd received the bill they suspended my broadband and land-line for 2 weeks, caused me so much trouble, id advised any one with children to never join BT because its a completely terrible service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorking
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    So 4th of march came and everything went down, internet and broadband. Spoken to BT several times and they keep saying it will be fixed in a few days or a week, almost a month later and what have they done? Nothing, keep getting guesses. For a service we pay for this company is absolutely terribly at resolving issues. Luckily we can cope without a landline as we use our mobiles however what if this is happening to an elderly couple? What if they have an emergency? All I can say is I am already pursuing other options to look at other providers as Bt had said 3 weeks ago that they were fixing the fault.. Until I spoke to someone a few days ago and they disclosed that they 1 have only just found the fault 2 need to get out to see what needs to be repaired and have only just ordered the cable.

    Now you may ask, is it just my property? The answer is No. Aparently it is quite alot of people affected including a school. So well done BT for the urgency in this matter. They seriously need to re-think the customer service and engineering side. If it takes almost a month to resolve an issue like this then where are there priorities as I can assure you by the look of how this problem is being treated it is not there customers who are coming first.

    I suggest if you are looking to join BT, then put them down the bottom of your list and look at Virgin or another provider who will most likely get things done and not make excuses.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Midlands
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is abysmal. They signed me up for packages that I did not request THREE SEPARATE TIMES in twelve months. Contacting them is a nightmare so I presume they think most people will give up and accept the unasked-for charges. Their support staff seem to not care one jot. A deceitful firm in my experience.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ilford Essex
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Dont bother with infinity, the service is awful, the line drops all the time. In 6 months I have called the tech team over 30 times, had more than 10 engineers who fix the so called problem and 48 hours later the same problems occur. Slow wifi, dropped connection or no connection. Customer service is non existent, impossible to end contract even when service is no good. Please, i beg you, go with Virgin
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely useless and unprofessional company.

    I was moving into a property and needed broadband working as soon as possible due to work requirements, so I called over two weeks in advance to make sure everything would be set up in time.

    Received a call from a bored sounding women two days AFTER the date I'd been assured to tell me the service would be ready in another ten days. When I tried to complain I got cut off.

    Called back, got through to a bloke who obviously did not care in the slightest, and was informed my service was delayed because the previous tenant told them they couldn't stop the service yet. Why the previous tenant had a say on my service I still do not know.

    Asked for broadband to be turned on the same day as the phone line, was told it's not possible. I work in networking, it's definitely possible and only takes a couple of minutes to do.

    Said I would like to cancel my order due to the poor service and received a happy "ok". No apology for bad service, no compromise on delivery times to get me to stay, nothing.

    Shockingly bad customer service from start to finish, false information provided, no form of reparation or compromise offered, all-round unpleasant to deal with.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would like to comment on reliability and speed but have been waiting over 6 weeks for them to even get a phone line connected. Hope their broadband is quicker than their engineers. Getting through to customer services is a nightmare, kept on hold for ages before being answered, obviously on my mobile phone. Rubbish service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ashton Hayes
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Beware of BT. I live on my own and I have had no phone now for over two weeks. They text you with an appointment and then they do not turn up. The staff do not tell the truth to customers. My health has been affected by the way they have dealt with me. Sadly I have lost my mother unexpectedly and she was on a 24hour care system whilst I worked full time so that I knew she could get help if she needed it . Yes they will leave people without contact before they will fix the problem. Terrible firm to deal with even if you pay your bills by direct debit. Papers here I come with my story.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Dorset
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Originally swapped from a poor broadband service provided by Orange which was unreliable and slow. BT offered a 'professional service' with the home hub 3 which professed to not disconnect at every opportunity, sorry to say we are lucky to get 15 minutes of uninterrupted broadband over the day. Technical assistance from BT's 'technical' department MIGHT be good if English wasn't their second language, infuriating at best and equal to our previous unreliable and slow Orange service.
    As a note the free BT sport isn't supported on our smart TV so had to pay to view the so called free package only to view Moto GP, if you're a sad viewer of overpaid footballers you'll be in your element, boring football and more football, another poor service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Adlington
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Horrendous"service". No broadband for 2 weeks. Constant phone calls to try and get it sorted. Promises of "some one will call you back". Believe me - that never happens. Been on now for 3 days and told Im going to exceed my allowance. Worst decision I ever made to move to BT. DON'T BE TEMPTED. JUST DON'T DO IT!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Co Armagh
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT ARE THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER CAME ACROSS, They are robbers and don't care , I was sent a bill for one months rent of £98 pound within 3 days I got a reminder with a different quote this time for £158 pound, which I paid straight away without question, which I should not have paid, why was this amount put on top, ringing is no good to these people as its run by talking machines, well my contract is up 1st july and I can not wait, and I wont be paying another penny either, £158 pound for broadband and 19 calls on my phone, shocking, if everyone just didn't take their crap and left, they wouldn't be able to RIP people off, only indian call centers and no disrespect but if you are a bit deaf like me sometimes its hard to take in all they are saying ,I will NEVER in my life EVER be a customer of bt again one greedy rubbish company I am just sorry I paid £158 pound yest, after they got payment they restricted my broadband for almost 48 hours, my daughter had to ring several times and almost beg to get it turned back on again goodbye BT,good riddance robbing pensioners of all the money they have 19 calls and broadband £158 for I month.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oldbury
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT Broadband is amazingly bad. I used to be with Sky and never had any issues with my broadband, I wish I never changed. I can't stay connected to my broadband for longer than an hour at a time without it cutting out, the diagnostic tool is just there to waste your time asking you stupid questions and not resolving anything and the customer service is just dire. Each time I've complained they just send me another HUB, blaming the problem on that but it still persists. I've never been so frustrated, I'm stuck in a contract with them but as soon as it ends I will be going straight back to Sky. Please don't get your broadband from BT unless you want to be paying for something you will only receive temporarily.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Setup was a nightmare. Utterly horrid. I have never been so stressed before in my life. Despite giving all advanced warning installation only started 2 days after at which point we were informed (after being on the phone for over 2 hours and being transferred to and from 3 different call centres), from the technical support suggesting that I go out and purchase an old fashioned telephone to test the line from my socket to their exchange.
    They couldn't make it any faster and it was totally stressful especially with my wife needing internet to study from home in the middle of moving house.
    We also had this idiotic broadband talk which was never properly explained to us and seemed to half work and which I asked to be turned off - with the lack of paper bills it was only recently that I noticed that this was *still* being charged for despite my request.
    However, speed is good. 18meg/20 consistently, occasionally connection cuts out requiring a hub restart which is a bit annoying. It's fine now, after setup, but the whole process reflects poorly on their customer service. My wife hates the random cut-outs and wants to switch to virgin but their customer support isn't much better.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Enfield
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I thought my case was bad and made me angry. Having read most of the comments here, I was kind of the 'lucky' one. I am so far, happy enough with the technical side of the services. The area that I am not happy about is when contacting the customer services. There was no help in anyway, basically they just want to say "this is it, take it or leave it". As an existing customer for almost 30 years, I thought I was loyal, I have never asked for anything eg discount, I pay my bills on time every quarter all these years. But when I decided to upgrade our broadband to infinity 2 (not having it install yet) I will be paying more than a new "valuable" customer, no discounted few months offer etc. I was on the phone to BT to sort out some internet problems to start, and was decided to have it upgraded after a long chat with the engineer, I complaint about not being told of some of their offers which I could have had (this was when I realised afterwards) and I was told, as BT personnel, they do not need to tell customer, it is up to us to shop around....bla...bla...bla.

    I have been in touch with two officers, this is what they say in the end "if you are not happy, you can cancel your order"!

    Nightmare talking to them!

    But thanks for the comments, I will look at the bill more carefully.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I signed up for broadband and calls just over a month ago when i was drawn to the attractive offer of half price broadband for 6 months. Not knowing what my usual usage would be i took the minimum package with 10GB usage per month at £5 per month and then £10 per month after 6 months. I went over the usage in my first month and have already exceeded this months usage. So it is clear to me that i am on the wrong package and should have taken out the unlimited package, also on offer at half price for 6 months. When i have tried to move to the correct package i have been told that i would then pay the full monthly costs of 16.99 and not receive any discount. the discount that persuaded me to join up in the first place. This is because i am not a new customer, even though i have only been a customer for just over a month! I feel I have been tempted into a good deal and then had that deal taken away from me straight away. I am not locked into a 18 month contract feeling disgruntled that i have been mislead. Why they couldn't just let me move to the unlimited package with the half price for 6 months offer i don't know?! It's total BS. I will not be continuing with there service after my contract has run out.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I used to have Virgin Media (not my choice but landlords) and oh my god was that the worst. Not only is the speed god aweful but the reliability is a joke.
    Switched to BT and i've had fast internet with very little downtime. Best thing is there is no fair-use policy like you do with virgin so I don't get throttled when I need to download something from steam.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Isle of skye
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    Comments
    I was with talk talk for the last few years. Recently my broadband speeds were down to 0.5 in the evenings making watching youtube or anything impossible. I spent hours on the phone to their help line and had an engineer out who said there was no problem with the line.
    I decided to move to bt although the reviews online made me wary. I had good reports from friends who are using bt broadband. I took the plunge and ordered bt unlimited broadband with evening and weekend calls. I received my hub 2 days before connection date. And on the day of connection I was struggling on with my old talk talk connection at a speed of 1.5 and received a text from bt to say my bt broadband was ready to use. I unplugged my old router and plugged in my new bt hub. Took just a couple of minutes including taking it out of the box. The router took a couple of minuted untill the light turned solid blue and typed in the wireless key and password into my ipad and was online. Less than 5 minutes and it was surfing at a speed of 6.5 I have only had it for a week but the speed has remained above 5 in the evenings and during the day. So far very happy but I will write another review if there are any problems at a later date. I still think that getting reviews from friends and neighbours in the local area is far better than online reviews.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    shams
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I joined BT on 14/02/14, I have broadband but no land line, over 4 days I am having a hellish time, it is absolute torture, customer service is an incompetent one and have no clue and gives no help whatsoever.
    do not join, do not join BT you will regret.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Shocked by BT's customer service/tactics when it came to leaving. First BT operator said they would send out MAC code in post and should arrive 5-10 days. After 2 weeks called again and I was assured MAC code was in the post. Called again after a further week and third operator left me on hold for 18mins only to tell me they would call me back - they never did. Called again to be told that MAC code could in fact be given out over the phone - not impressed. BT = expensive + dreadful customer service. Hopefully EE will be better - they are certainly more price competitive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I renewed contract with bt and as the old router was providing never-ending disconnection problem, they sent a new router but the new router was even worse than the old one that the Internet gets disconnected every five secs. I called bt and the tech guys have been doing never ending testing but would never call me back. I had to call back every single time, they promised to call back for four times but never happened. After never ending arguing with hopeless customer option team as well as tech guys for entire three days, I ended up going barking mad at them, and they finally proposed to send a new router. They are just absolutely irresponsible, useless and hopeless in helping or sorting problems out!!!!!!!!! Just can't wait till the contract ends. And no wonder why people complain so much about bt.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Argyll
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Reviewing this simply due to the fact of how shocking BT's Broadband is. For the last year the Broadband in our area has been disconnected every second night without fail during peak times for around 1-2 hours, on top of this when it is actually running you are lucky to get any decent usable connection, when streaming video's you are consistently directed to 140P, even on this you still run into buffer problems, whilst contacting customer services about the situation BT essentially said there is nothing they can do until Fibre is installed, even then I doubt their speed will be all that great. Would highly recommend not going with BT for Broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Mytchett
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    WOW.
    What an awful company.
    I switched over from Sky Broadband last May, as the current infrastructure only offered me up to 2Mbps, in reality it was only 0.7Mbps.
    BT had a fibre backbone, so could offer much higher speeds. I clocked it at around 79Mbps.
    After 2 missed appointments, and 2 days off work on my part, I finally had it installed. As a goodwill gesture for wasting my time, the guy on the phone offered me my first 3 months free, which I agreed was acceptable.
    After 3 months I got a huge bill for around £190. So I called their ridiculous phone system, and on the 3rd or 4th try managed to speak to someone. They denied all knowledge of this promise of 3 months free, and I urged them to listen back to the phone call as I would like the goodwill gesture that I was offered. They said they would listen to the call, and call me back within 7 working days. 7 days passed, no phone call. I called again (through THAT phone system) and asked why I hadn't received a call. No knowledge of the request. Great. Apologies, blah blah, they will call me back within 48 hours. No call. Getting angry now.
    After a few calls on different days, trying to get somewhere, I gave up hope. Very angry at this point.
    So I had a moment of madness and decided to email Mr Ian Livingston.
    He replied back within about 20mins saying he was very sorry and would pass my details onto a 'top level customer service manager' - sounded promising.
    Sure enough, the next day I had a call from a lovely lady. She said she was sorry I've had such a bad start with BT, and that she didn't need to listen to the original call. She will refund all the charges so far, including the late payment fees (I refused to pay a penny until it was resolved).
    So, as of 1st October 2013, I was about £4 in credit.
    Wonderful result!!
    Alas, it has gone downhill from there.
    My standard month bill is £44.45, Infinity 2 + line rental.
    I don't have a phone connected to the phone line, and BT Infinity 2 is unlimited - so I know what my bill will be each and every month.
    Unfortunately the BT computer system doesn't see it this way.
    I had a letter saying "You are using more than you should, so we are increasing your monthly payment to £70 to cover this".
    I was furious.
    Every month I call them, speak to managers, other staff, explain the whole story time and time again. I have been on the phone for 2hrs more than once and not got anywhere.
    They have taken a total of £350 over the last 5 months (5 x £70), instead of £207.25 (5 x £41.45).
    So I figured they owe me £142.75. They refute this.

    Another thing is they generate a quarterly bill, which I wasn't told when I entered into a contract. I am also on what they call 'Monthly Billing' as opposed to a standard Direct Debit, all because I wanted the DD to exit my my account on a specific date. This practice is standard in the 'Utilities Industry', apparently. Which is funny because I don't have this problem with my gas and electricity providers.
    By having a 'Monthly Plan' (they tell me) that the amount can be adjusted by them each month as they see fit. BS.

    All I wanted was a bill each month for my usage. Whether that's in advance or not, I don't really care, because I KNOW what that bill will be because I CAN'T go over my allowances due to it being unlimited and not having a phone connected.

    I had my final call about a week ago, and after 2 hrs I asked to speak to the cancellation department. After another lengthy hold, and explaining the whole story AGAIN, the adviser said I couldn't cancel as there was an outstanding debt on the account and I need to speak to billing first. I was furious.
    An outstanding balance?? When I am owed over £140??? I couldn't believe it.
    Again I was put on hold, back to billing. On hold waiting for a manager... Explain the whole story YET AGAIN... Either he hangs up or we get cut off.

    .........

    Speechless.

    So, I'm still at odds as to what to do.
    No matter how many times I speak to them, or who I speak to, I never seem to get anywhere.
    Heaven knows how much time and money I have spent calling them from my mobile.

    To add insult to injury, Sky released their own fibre service about 2 months into my BT contract.

    On another note, 3 weeks ago some nice person decided to crash their car into the green BT node at the end of the street, severing internet and phone connections to my whole street. This is not BT's fault I know, but it took around 2 weeks to fix, with no email or phone call to apologise. I called them to ask why I very rarely saw an Openreach engineer at the crash site. They said they would look into it...

    Internet is back now, so I'm expecting a refund for the 2 weeks I had no Infinity 2. What do you think my chances are?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    central london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    15 months without a phone line and without broadband, and BT are sending debt collectors to take £600 off me for a service they haven't provided! This is with the ombudsman now and also registered at ofcom.On the 31st October 2012 I contacted BT and informed them that I would be moving house on the 1st November 2012 and asked for my phone line and internet to be moved as well. The lady seemed intent on selling me the infinity package and I accepted to upgrade to this.

    It took you over 6 months for BT to arrange to connect the broadband. I made over 40 phone calls to BT chasing this and all the while from October 2012 - May 2013 they continued to bill me for the phone line in my OLD residence despite not having connected my phone and not providing me an internet service in my new residence where I was now living.

    I made several formal complaints to BT, the first being in March 2013 having waited 4 months for a phone line connection but they were all ignored.

    Thorughout December 2012 - April 2013 they were unable to arrange a visit to connect the lines - they gave dozens of excuses for the delay, including a claim that I was in a remote area! (i am in central London). Each time I rang I had to explain everything all over again and then they would say they would call back but they never did. I wrote to them but never received a response.

    They then left me a voicemail while I was abroad telling me they were going to attend in May to connect my line. I was abroad at the time, so did not pick up their message and was clearly not here in London to let in their engineer. They made no effort to agree the time of the attendance with me first.

    At various times BT said they were going to waive the first 2 months or 3 months line rental for the massive inconvenience caused but none of their subsequent bills reflected that.

    The phone line and infinity connection was supposed to be as a package of £80 where the phone line connection charge is included but instead they charged me for both separately coming to a total of £130.

    BT continued to charge me for a line rental from 31st October 2012 until 25th May 2013 despite not offering any services whatsoever.

    They charged me for phone calls made on my old line after I moved out of my last property on 5th November (£130.59 and £26.88) by the new tenants that had moved in and they did not disconnect the phone line in my old property despite a written order form saying they would.

    I made several formal complaints to BT but they did not respond to any of them. (they never do apparently)

    I then made a complaint to the ombudsman and in response to this BT refused to speak with me at all about my service and disconnected my broadband altogether and charged me a disconnection fee!

    A preliminary investigation by the ombudsman asked for BT to pay me £100, a full refund of the excess charged by BT and a formal apology but their bill does not reflect any of this. BT have still not paid a refund. This whole saga has cost me a fortune (60 phone calls to BT from my mobile on their premium line in order to chase up the absent services that they had agreed). I have been obliged to use my mobile phone for international and other calls and this has added several £100s to my expenses over 15 months.

    BT did not answer any of my letters or emails and did not respond to 2 more formal complaints submitted by post and by email.

    However, they did react to my complaints to the ombudsman by then piling on a late service charge of £7.50, then £2.00 and then proceeded without warning to disconnect my broadband.

    BT then added a further disconnection charge.

    BT then proceeded to add more and more to the bills despite still not providing a service.

    Now I have received a letter from a debt collection agency and from BT to inform me that they have added a further 25% to what BT were billing me previously for 'late payment'.

    I would warn all of you out there to avoid this draining and time wasting nightmare. BT is an awful company.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.