BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 11651 customer ratings since 2019-07-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2973 Customer Reviews for BT

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
My speed is much lower than promised. 4 was the promise 2.8 the actual, sometimes lower.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Dorset BT  
I have been with BT Broadband for 3 years now and complained as I was only getting half a MB speed. BT kept telling me I was too far away from the exchange, I have since found out I had a tag on the line and BT removed this so I am now receiving about 2 MB. It is a shame they did not sort this out from the begining so that I could have not had to suffer such a slow down load speed and made numerous phone calls. My advice is do not give up and keep on at BT until they send out an engineer who can test what speed your actual line is capable of on their meters.I also suggest you ask them to check if your line is capped or tagged!
Hope anyone reading this can get their service improved like I have as customer service gives lots of conflicting information and occasionally you will get a good BT staff member who goes out of their way to help you instead of consistently being fobbed off.
Thank you BT for eventually sorted it out and can I get a refund?
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Luton BT  
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

I am their present customer and they are the worst.

Just moved house and was told that internet connection will be there from 10th Feb 2017 at new address. Around 9th Feb internet connection was disconnected around midnight from old address so that a new connection can be put up on 10th Feb at new address.

Whole day of 10th Feb 2017 there was no connection. Nothing on 11th either and when on 12th Feb I contcated BT then I was told that there was a technical glitch. When I asked that if there was any glitch then why wasn't I informed....BT representative had no answer to it.

I asked them to get me the internet connection by Monday ie 13th Feb 2017 anyhow and I was told that it's not possible because there is another company called Open Reach who are going to do it and we dont know when.

Today is 16th Feb 2017 at 2:00 pm and still there is no sign of my internet connection although I am talking everyday to their customer representatives. Best part is that they assure you that you will get it but they don't know when.

Me and my husband work from home and it has been a big blow to us monetarily and has been very very stressful.

AVOID BT PLEASE.
  • Speed
    3 stars
Birmingham BT  
When it works (90% of the time) it's brilliant. When it does not, then customer support is a nightmare - press this, press that, hold ................ AND it's not cheap !
Had to apply for the credit twice when BT Sport went off line due to COVID-19.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
RBWM BT  
I took out a new fibre contract in February 2018. The cost was £29.99 a month for 18 months. In June 2018, I received a letter informing me that my monthly payments would be increasing by £2.50 a month in Sptember 2028. This would increase my contract payment to £32.49 a month. The letter also included a weblink to a personalised offer. Following the weblink took me to an 'offer' that would allow me to keep my monthly payments at £29.99 a month, as long as I committed to a new 18 month contract. What a total scam BT. Essentially, they sign a new customer up to a new contract at an agreed price. Four months later, they send the new customer a letter attempting to pressure them into a new 18 month contract, or to have to pay more for their existing contract. I called BT customer services and politely explained that I was unhappy with their letter. I questioned why they were increasing my payments from £29.99 to £32.49, yet would be happy to keep them at £29.99 if I would sign a new 18 month contract with them. I explained that as a new customer, this felt like extortion. There was nothing they would do to help me, so I have no excercised my right to leave my existing contract due to a change of terms. I've now gone to Sky and got the same fibre deal for £25 a month. A saving of £7.50 a month once BT forced price change comes into effect. Thanks for nothing BT.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bristol BT  
I took out a new fibre contract in February 2018. The cost was £29.99 a month for 18 months. In June 2018, I received a letter informing me that my monthly payments would be increasing by £2.50 a month in Sptember 2028. This would increase my contract payment to £32.49 a month. The letter also included a weblink to a personalised offer. Following the weblink took me to an 'offer' that would allow me to keep my monthly payments at £29.99 a month, as long as I committed to a new 18 month contract. What a total scam BT. Essentially, they sign a new customer up to a new contract at an agreed price. Four months later, they send the new customer a letter attempting to pressure them into a new 18 month contract, or to have to pay more for their existing contract. I called BT customer services and politely explained that I was unhappy with their letter. I questioned why they were increasing my payments from £29.99 to £32.49, yet would be happy to keep them at £29.99 if I would sign a new 18 month contract with them. I explained that as a new customer, this felt like extortion. There was nothing they would do to help me, so I have no excercised my right to leave my existing contract due to a change of terms. I've now gone to Sky and got the same fibre deal for £25 a month. A saving of £7.50 a month once BT forced price change comes into effect. Thanks for nothing BT.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bristol BT  
Worse company I've ever dealt with

After 15 years of being with Sky I moved to BT and I have regretted it ever since. Not necessarily the products but they are con artists!!!
I have been stung twice (stupid me) once was I was being charged wrongly for broadband so I called and then said 'yes I can see you have I can change it now'..... Didn't realise that meant tying myself in for 12 months for nothing.

And then same happened with BT sports I called and said on the phone there was a problem they said they can sort it- I replied with 'this isn't going to tie me into anything is it, I've been stung before'...... Got a no and then found out today it did!!!

BT found my call proving this was said by me BUT after the person recited there speel at the end of the call and I said yes to it, I was saying yes to tying myself in...... Couldn't make this stuff up.

What is disgraceful is I have no option to take this further without huge headache and it's not good enough from such a large company.

They should be ashamed of themselves!!!
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Devon BT  
The Indian support is not very good as I cannot always understand what they are saying.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
basingstoke BT  
Having conducted your B/Band speed test i am taken aback by the 193% slower than available to me. I realise that there are quite a few factors to be taken into account and that the advertised download speed is not to be taken at face value however, 193% is, in any subscribers view, unacceptable. What i would like to know is, which ISP controls my local exchange (Lynemouth, Northumberland) as i have tried comparisons, ie; Orange, Talk Talk etc. and find that i can not get their package as advertised because they have to use someone elses system and pass the extra cost on, in order to provide me with B/Band, i suspect BT. To me, this is an anomally as everyone, no matter where they live should be able to get any package that is ADVERTISED. As far as connection is concerned, BT ADVERTISE that they have the best in the land, i say no. The times i have lost my connection is unbelievable compared to when i was with ORANGE aka WANADOO. Help???
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Lynemouth, Northumberland BT  
Speed at best under 4mbps as opposed to the contract of 8mbps. Intermittant performance and various drop outs o occaisions.System needs to be greatly improved before I sign up again.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Tonyrefail BT  
We carried out a community funded project on our estate for over 400 residents to receive FTTP capabilities. We worked alongside BT, being made multiple false promises by their marketing team. As soon as the connections went live, they ceased all communication with us, and when customers had to complain about service, they were not interested at all. Worst display of customer service and lies from a large company I have seen for a long time. Zen is definitely now our preferred supplier.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Newcastle upon Tyne BT  
broadband good fast speed etc, TV nothing but problems, keep losing channels and can't retune normal TV eg itv2. Switched from Sky big mistake on my behalf, will be going vacancies January 2018. Only had Bt TV 3 months and had more problems with it than in that time than 20yes with sky.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
La13 BT  
Had a great service until after 2 years with broadband the contract ends and I end up getting charged £50, for 2 months in a row.

It was really nice for BT to tell me the contract would be ending and I would need to give them notice before leave. Absolutely appalling! I would recommend them highly before this happened, but I will not be returning in the future!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Sheffield BT  
My broadband has been fine only issues are with the TV package.
Absolutely horrendous customer service, after them overcharging my account by £70.04 they withheld my money and said they would take it off my bills each month until it was paid back, every month i had to ring to complain as they continued to take money from me, this has went on for 4 months. At every phone call trying to speak to so called managers with unpronounceable names, getting nowhere was very frustrating, also when asking questions and explaining my frustration to be given a number of long silences with no answers adding to my frustration, i think is an appalling way to treat a customer, when asking for a reference number for which i have many off them now after every phone call, he tried to give me a digit less, so when he heard me counting the digits he then repeated the number giving me an extra digit, knowing his mistake. I cannot wait to be out of my contract with them and will not be using them again.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
burnopfield BT  
Had BT for 2 months now, had several issues, slow speed was the first. Guaranteed minimum speed of 32Mbps, any time i run a test with nothing else connected but my laptop, i'm lucky to get anything above 22Mbps. Phoned BT, customer support was good and attentive, they identified a fault, the BT engineer came out, and was receiving above 30Mbps. Four weeks later, it keeps dropping out, reported again, there is another fault with the line, speed is slow again. Waiting on it to be 'fixed'. Not holding my breath that it will stay fixed.
Also you should note, that with my previous broadband provider, the router where it was placed offered a solid wi-fi signal throughout the house. With the BT router, in the same location, the wi-fi signal is very patchy. This can only be on purpose to encourage you to spend additional on their wi-fi extender at £100 each.
I will be considering my options over the course of the next couple of months.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kilwinning BT  
Problems with BTMAIL requiring I reset my router (2-3 times a month). Best speed ever 2.8m & worst 1m.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Luddendenfoot BT  
Overall installation was quick and painless. The speed was a great improvement over our old provider and the HH5 performed reasonably well.

However after the first 8 months we have noticed a considerable drop in reliability in our connection to the HH5, we have normally 3 mobiles and 2 pc's connected at once and the router will flat out stop responding for a good few minutes.

Not sure if it is just our device or what, but I have read that this is a problem that happens to this version of the home hub.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northampton BT  
I've been with BT since December 2012. It took them 7 whole months to finally spot and fix the problem with a brand new line. Crackling noises in the voice line, intermittent disconnection in the internet line.

Since 2013 I had to move house twice and obviously had to transfer the service. The whole transition was just a nightmare with the customer service being the worst by far in the planet!

Lately, I requested the existing line to be transferred from my wife's name to mine. They treated that as a new account, had to cancel the existing services, reactivate them under my name. How stupid that is?

And on top of that, they gave me a new phone number; they never have told me that is was part of the procedure (although it was supposed to be just an account holder change) and had to request renumbering after the new phone line activation. That task is supposed to have been completed within 24 hours. 9 days later and 4 live chats with CS, renumbering has not been completed yet.

Conclusively, the service from the technical side of view, once set up correctly by their side, it works fine. But that could take ages with a customer support like this!!!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Essex BT  
I have the highest level of broadband Infinity and the latest Hub 6. The service is very expensive, with prices rising at least twice a year. The broadband drops out whenever ther is the slightest storm, wind or rain. TV advertisements are usually dishonest and deceitful, making outrageous claims as to coverage and reliability. 'Deals' are offered to new customers only with no regard to loyal customers.
Would advise anyone to look elsewhere as BT offer a poor, expensive service with little respect of customer loyalty.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bognor Regis BT  
internet keeps going off when or just after I download films.. was pretty good until it went off on thursday 30 july . I called bt , was on phone for 3 hours on thursday. 4 hours on friday. 3 hours on saturday, 1 hour sun morning. and I just tested my download speed which was 5.09
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
easington colliery BT  
Considering I'm supposed to get around 3.91 and am only getting 2.5max on a good day.The sooner BT puts down cable then maybe the speed would be somewhat faster
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Llanelli BT  
Speed varies by 100% and is low in the late evenings i.e. midnight. The service is expensive and does not offer any significant advantage. Reporting faults can be a long drawn out process often with language difficulties. Especially annoying if you report the same fault several times and know the solution i.e. a reset of the board in the exchange which appears to have a software fault on it causing a lockup. If you want to stay with them and reduce your costs ask for a MAC code. When I did they discounted by 60% provided I signed up for 12 months. I still went ahead and signed up with Sky. Lets see how that goes!!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Ossett BT  
As usual advertised speeds of 8Mb don't even come close to the actual figure of 1Mb even though i am quite close to the exchange. If this god forsaken town had any choice when it came to suppliers I would change without hesitation.
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Whitehead BT  
still very slow but 8 miles from nearest exchange what else can we do?? Take what we are given I suppose
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
rural suffolk BT  
Paying for 76mb and on a good day today n the middle of the night I manage to get 24mb. I do not live in the countryside and two roads down they get 60-80mb. Bt can not explain why this is, they only say the exchange is too far from my house. Really disappointed
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Southall BT  
I have had problems with going over my limit on broadband, which is confusing as i am on unlimited as by bill clearly states, i have spoken to many people at BT which is hard when you do not get a english speaking person and those who try to speak english are awful to deal with, i have never been able to view a bill online due to a cock up made by BT when setting up my account and also have had my direct debit payment changed without any notification or warning via post or email to let me the CUSTOMER know. My recent dealing with BT was to set up a new deal and should ony be paying £45 a month but the last 3 bills are £73 £83 £96 . I only use the web for emails and searching the net. BT cannot give anyone a breakdown on there broadband other than you have gone over, no dates or times or even what you have been doing e.g. downloading, streaming. BT are by far the worst company of all time and as soon as my contract is near the end i will be going elsewhere. I think this will end up like the PPI where people were being ripped of and someone will eventually blow the whistle on BT and there practices. I turned my pc of and broadband at the router and have not used it for 3 weeks and guess what i still went over my limit, this just proves they are lying thieving scum.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
west sussex BT  
Good service from BT but cabling needs upgrading and therefore very slow broadband in the area
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bedford BT  
my fiber broadband has dropped to about 2 mbs download , despite paying for "up to" 52 mbs. I am only 100 meters from B T cabinet
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
ch88ad BT  
Pathetically poor service, over 25 hours on the phone trying to get incorrect charges emotes from my account. BEGGED for somebody with the right level of authority to speak to me to reverse incorrect charges and the release me from the remaining ten months of contract. Nothing doing - silence. Complaint letters - unanswered. So, I cancel the direct debit and call ZEN (A++++ SERVICE!) to hook me up.

Then I get a response! And what a CRAZY experience that was. HELP!! They won't let me go!! SAVE ME!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Lincolnshire BT  
wasn't too bad while I was with them but trying to cancel has been a nightmare and they even charge £40 to stop your broadband.I cancelled in may and got a letter saying we are sorry you are leaving yet they recon im still with them and they are trying to charge me up to 26th july and ive been on virgin since 16th june
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
notts BT  
BT are literally the worst company I have ever known, there customer service is discussing every single person I have spoken to must be the most incompetent people Iv ever had conversations with in my life. None of them communicate. They cancelled my account without telling me then took over 10 days to set up a new one so was 2 weeks without broadband or a telephone line in a terrible area for signal, after notifying them I had a new born baby and need a telephone line asap. I confirmed with one of the staff I was not paying the one off charge £35 set up few as their service was a disgrace, she discounted that and I paid my bill. They
have now today decided to take £35 from my account for the set up fee that was agreed I didn't have to pay and they tell me it takes 3-4 days to look into the phone calls which will prove I'm right and then will take up to 10 days to get my money back. They are an absolute disgrace I would be embarrassed to work for the company DO NOT USE THEm UNLESS U HAVE TO unfortunately I'm in a new build and we have to use BT.
  • Speed
    3 stars
Borough green BT  
Very poor customer service. The cost for my internet increase with ~2-3 pounds every 3 to 4 months, started with 34 pounds and now I have to pay 39,99 pounds! Never again! I will switch as soon as possible. I can’t recommend BT!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Newcastle upon Tyne BT  
I needed to close my account as we had an eviction notice and we are all leaving the house (which needs workings and no one else will live there).
The account is in my name but was shared by 4 people and is too expensive for me to move it. I called 2 times asking how much I would've faced to stop the contract earlier and I've been told £30, both times. Based on that I took my decision and called the third time to close it. Surprisingly I've been asked £93, from an advisor that started to explain how stupid I was to leave BT, checking my private usage, and not being helpful at all.

I closed and called on another moment. I was asked £130 this time. I asked to speak to a manager to explain the situation but my request was denied.

I opened an official complain and received an email which told me they would've call me back in 48, maximum 96 hours.
After 144 hours nobody has got in contact with me.

Who called, instead, was the office for payments as I cancelled the direct debit.
He put me through other 3 people, one of them was more like a robot than a person, not able to conversate with me, since I finally closed the account.

Now I face a massive bill for an house where there are not people living in and where I cannot even access anymore.

BT makes you a fool, doesn't care about the situation, and has not will to help you in any way.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
London BT  
I have been a BT customer for 30 years. Recent problems started when they moved my email from Yahoo to BT. Weeks of problems accessing email and now lost access completely when trying to link email to my BT Id. Spent an hour on the phone with an engineer taking over my computer. Problem their end but he could not fix it. Complained by letter and tried the fix they suggested but still no joy. Now lost access to my BT account. Can log in using my BT id but it says because of technical problems they cannot show me my account details. Complained but no word yet when it will be fixed a week later. Of course the prices all go up in December. Now looking to leave BT. Have already moved to another email service provider. They seem to be spending all their money on TV sport rather than telecoms.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Colchester, Essex BT  
Been a BT customer for a number of years and currently have BT Infinity. I moved from Eclipse who for me were the best but at that stage didn't kprovide fibre. Fortunately I have had few problems with BT, if I did I would have gone elsewhere. My gripes:
I upgraded to super fast fibre last year, apart from a slight increase in upload speed I did not notice any difference. Numerous online tests followed until I discovered that BT cannot provide superfast fibre in my area. When I spoke to customer services it was "my fault" as I did not formalise a complaint.

In my view BT don't take care of their own customers - you will wait between 30 minutes to get through to customer services. Horrendous.llloll

BT won't negotiate at renewal, fantastic offers for new customers but unlike competitors and for the rest of us no incentive to remain. I was offered a £1.15 discount on broadband on the basis I had paid a whole year for a service BT couldn't provide.

I've renewed again this year to allow me to find a reliable ISP that takes care of its customers - if there is one out there.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Croydon BT  
There is direct fibre optic to premises where I live - BT of course (monopoly).
The max speed offered at my address is 350 Mbs / 50 Mbs.
I ordered Super Fibre 2
which is 74 Mbs / 20 Mbs. I achieve 10 Mbs upload and BT says there is nothing they could do about it. This is how they screw customers at address where they have monopoly. I would never join them if I had a chance to choose other provider.
HOW CAN THEY OFFER 50 Mbs upload at the address and they can't provide anything above 10 Mbs?? I will never choose them again!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Glasgow BT  
Broadband service reliable but much slower than advertised at my address. Customer service very poor, polite perhaps but staffed mostly by people who can do no more than read scripts. Much of the response is telephone only, i.e. no audit trail of the poor service, and if you're stuck with Yahoo mail, you may have to change your password twice a day through no fault of your own, and BT say it's not their product so tough luck.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Hampshire BT  
Fibre speed found to be way below what they advertise. Keeps dropping connection. Expensive when at end of special offer
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Leeds BT  
Sainsbury's Gift Card never arrived and they were appalling when I contacted Customer Services. Dreadful Indian Call centre. Junk mail pushing BT Sport every two or three weeks. Prices exploded as soon as contract up. Just spotted small print with days to go I had to opt out not in to BT Sport after free 6 months. Broadband itself was good but when it cut out it was down for hours rather than minutes. I went with them as I needed a new line installing in a new place and they were cheapest for that. But left as soon as contract was up and woukd never go back based on Call Centre service and Gift Card con.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Whitehaven BT  
Bt tv new set up. Who thought this new way of using bt tv was better. It's rubbish. You can't see information as it's put up over last program watched. It's defiantly !!!! Not easy to use. Having done survey regarding all aspects of bt tv I think it's taken a backwards step.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Cardiff BT  

Loading...

  • 2973 reviews, showing page 7 of 75, skip to page 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk