BT Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    2.8 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.9 stars
  • Speed
    2.6 stars
  • Reliability
    2.8 stars

Based on 18245 customer ratings since 2018-03-24 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2783 Customer Reviews for BT

  • Showing page 6 of 70, skip to page 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Difficulty undrstanding customer Services
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Home BT  
Is this the worst most heinous bullying company in the UK?
Hike their prices up whenever they feel like it and when you exercise your right to leave they try to bully and threaten you with all sorts. This is the second time (yes, how stupid am I) I have been with BT and I left them early last time because they upped their prices mid term. Chasing a fe £ that time cost lost them £100s, now the same thing has happened again.
To be fair to BT I know people who simply pay the increase and are happy paying through the nose so I guess overall the awful business model of ripping people off does work for them.
However BT will never ever get my direct custom again.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Isle of Wight BT  
BT are without any shadow of a doubt the WORST company of any of the telephony provides. Their customer service is SHOCKING, we tried to cancel our domestic line, they incorrectly cut off our business line and broadband. We are a retail business and could not take card payments for a week. To cap it all they tried to charge us to reconnect even after they admitted it was their error and tried to tell us we were in a new contract as a result. They really shouldn't have the name "British" in their title, they are a disgrace to this country. Ive had to spend countless hours on the phone to them, and with their overseas call centres getting anything done is nigh on impossible, assuminy you can actually understand the person you are talking to. I will be ditching BT business in favour of Virgin Media business (I have Virgin Media at home now), they may not be perfect but they are a darn sight better than BT
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Hertford BT  
BT service is very good, however they try to get you to sign up with vouchers for £100 and £50 which they do not honor. Don't know how they get away with this deception.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
BARROW-IN-FURNESS BT  
Having switched to BT Infinity from Orange standard broadband, I have seen no discernible improvement. Just before writing this review, I experienced two pauses while watching iPlayer via the Infinity hub. On a few occasions,, my desktop has lost the connection. Perhaps if there were several people in the house all sharing the hub, it might come into its own. I have several months of my contract to run so performance over the remaining period will determine whether or not I feel it is worth the extra money. At the moment I reserve judgement.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Reading BT  
The service is terrible . The automated system with varying voice tones to keep you in order is terrible . The engineers analysis is sometimes very poor . Over 6 hours of my time on the phone trying to get them to sort it and in the end sorted it myself using an old hub . Now I wait for a replacement hub . They don't pay recompense for list time , time off work , lost use of equipment or anything .
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Peterborough BT  
Very poor connection at times. Helpdesk appeared not knowing how to diagnose the problem efficiently
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Derby BT  
Firstly, service, in one word, is PATHETIC. BT took a sweet 20 days to put up the line. And the line did not work! They took another 7 days to fix the problem.

The speed was excellent. It worked without problems for exactly 2 weeks. After that, the disruptions began. The modem would stop working every 15 minutes to two hours, for 15 seconds to 3 minutes, at random. This basically means that you cannot stream movies without having interruptions at random. You cannot VPN into office without having to go through the trouble of reconnecting at random intervals.

Then comes customer support. Support folks are mostly a friendly lot with intentions to help. Though the intentions rarely translates to actual proper, satisfying resolutions.

I took the connection because of the speed and unlimited service, but little did I know that the advertisement not mentioning an uninterrupted service meant that the service would be as pathetic as it is!

I would rather go for lesser speed with download limits than continue with such a horrible service, but unfortunately, they want me to pay a discontinuation fee of some sort. I think I might take this to court since there are many ongoing, registered complaints regarding this.

The saddest part is that this is my first experience in the UK, and I am thoroughly disappointed because the so-called "Third world nation" that I come from, offers much better service, reliability, customer service! So much for the British experience..

PS: No nationality based offense meant. But the BT service so far, is what it is.
  • Speed
    3 stars
Cambridge BT  
Customer service is awful. If you start a chat be prepared to wait a very long time and for your question to fail to be answered
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Leeds BT  
I very rarely post reviews of this nature but my experience today with BT has been so frustrating I want to do something in the hope BT will address their complete lack of customer service.
I have been a BT customer for many years; land line and broadband. On Sat 15th August my Internet failed. I quickly ascertained from BT that I needed a new hub. This could be supplied if I renewed my contract. I agreed and the hub was due to arrive yesterday. It did not arrive and today I received a letter confirming my contract but no hub.
I have today spent over three hours on the telephone with an overseas call centre and all I have achieved is to make myself really cross.
Consequently I decided to change supplier. Within less than an hour of doing this I received an e-mail asking me to reconsider with a request to call a completely different telephone number. I was also informed if I did change I would be charged almost £320 in cancellation fees. Despite the fact I cancelled within the 14 days and BT had failed to fulfil their part of the agreement. When I rang the call was answered immediately. Clearly BT respond only when they are in danger of losing business, existing customers are of no value.
BT need to address the use of overseas call centres. Whilst the people who work in the centres are very pleasant they are completely ineffective.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Oakham BT  
Low speed as opposed to the published speed ! Line check carried out and all ok. Moved router to a short direct connection to the main bt box and disconnected all other devices. Ran the speed check again and it was still low.
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Sunderland ( Tyne & Wear) BT  
The speed is average but drops considerably on a regular basis, far too unreliable.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
South East London BT  
Awful reliability. Lost it for over 24 hours last week AND lose connection at least once every day - usually less than 5 mins BUT still awful.

Will change provider once contract finished.
  • Speed
    3 stars
Surbiton BT  
Beware of BT. I live on my own and I have had no phone now for over two weeks. They text you with an appointment and then they do not turn up. The staff do not tell the truth to customers. My health has been affected by the way they have dealt with me. Sadly I have lost my mother unexpectedly and she was on a 24hour care system whilst I worked full time so that I knew she could get help if she needed it . Yes they will leave people without contact before they will fix the problem. Terrible firm to deal with even if you pay your bills by direct debit. Papers here I come with my story.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Ashton Hayes BT  
worst customer service I have ever experienced, it takes around 5 attempts just to try and speak to a human being then they don't care or act on what you ask for
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
bristol BT  
The broad band is terrible it is also very overpriced I was paying over 50 a month for bt infinity yet it had some really slow speeds
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Birmingham BT  
Speed varies from 17 to tonight less than 5Mb/sec
Had engineer out twice recently to rectify the problem, but the problem keeps returning
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Newbold Verdon Leics BT  
BT Local office in Wolverhampton, are USELESS, do not get involed with them, they have addesd items to my bill, told me they would sort it all out but they never did, causing a massive problem of £4500+ overcharge.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Whitchurch BT  
My speed is much lower than promised. 4 was the promise 2.8 the actual, sometimes lower.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Dorset BT  
I have been with BT Broadband for 3 years now and complained as I was only getting half a MB speed. BT kept telling me I was too far away from the exchange, I have since found out I had a tag on the line and BT removed this so I am now receiving about 2 MB. It is a shame they did not sort this out from the begining so that I could have not had to suffer such a slow down load speed and made numerous phone calls. My advice is do not give up and keep on at BT until they send out an engineer who can test what speed your actual line is capable of on their meters.I also suggest you ask them to check if your line is capped or tagged!
Hope anyone reading this can get their service improved like I have as customer service gives lots of conflicting information and occasionally you will get a good BT staff member who goes out of their way to help you instead of consistently being fobbed off.
Thank you BT for eventually sorted it out and can I get a refund?
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Luton BT  
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

I am their present customer and they are the worst.

Just moved house and was told that internet connection will be there from 10th Feb 2017 at new address. Around 9th Feb internet connection was disconnected around midnight from old address so that a new connection can be put up on 10th Feb at new address.

Whole day of 10th Feb 2017 there was no connection. Nothing on 11th either and when on 12th Feb I contcated BT then I was told that there was a technical glitch. When I asked that if there was any glitch then why wasn't I informed....BT representative had no answer to it.

I asked them to get me the internet connection by Monday ie 13th Feb 2017 anyhow and I was told that it's not possible because there is another company called Open Reach who are going to do it and we dont know when.

Today is 16th Feb 2017 at 2:00 pm and still there is no sign of my internet connection although I am talking everyday to their customer representatives. Best part is that they assure you that you will get it but they don't know when.

Me and my husband work from home and it has been a big blow to us monetarily and has been very very stressful.

AVOID BT PLEASE.
  • Speed
    3 stars
Birmingham BT  
I took out a new fibre contract in February 2018. The cost was £29.99 a month for 18 months. In June 2018, I received a letter informing me that my monthly payments would be increasing by £2.50 a month in Sptember 2028. This would increase my contract payment to £32.49 a month. The letter also included a weblink to a personalised offer. Following the weblink took me to an 'offer' that would allow me to keep my monthly payments at £29.99 a month, as long as I committed to a new 18 month contract. What a total scam BT. Essentially, they sign a new customer up to a new contract at an agreed price. Four months later, they send the new customer a letter attempting to pressure them into a new 18 month contract, or to have to pay more for their existing contract. I called BT customer services and politely explained that I was unhappy with their letter. I questioned why they were increasing my payments from £29.99 to £32.49, yet would be happy to keep them at £29.99 if I would sign a new 18 month contract with them. I explained that as a new customer, this felt like extortion. There was nothing they would do to help me, so I have no excercised my right to leave my existing contract due to a change of terms. I've now gone to Sky and got the same fibre deal for £25 a month. A saving of £7.50 a month once BT forced price change comes into effect. Thanks for nothing BT.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bristol BT  
I took out a new fibre contract in February 2018. The cost was £29.99 a month for 18 months. In June 2018, I received a letter informing me that my monthly payments would be increasing by £2.50 a month in Sptember 2028. This would increase my contract payment to £32.49 a month. The letter also included a weblink to a personalised offer. Following the weblink took me to an 'offer' that would allow me to keep my monthly payments at £29.99 a month, as long as I committed to a new 18 month contract. What a total scam BT. Essentially, they sign a new customer up to a new contract at an agreed price. Four months later, they send the new customer a letter attempting to pressure them into a new 18 month contract, or to have to pay more for their existing contract. I called BT customer services and politely explained that I was unhappy with their letter. I questioned why they were increasing my payments from £29.99 to £32.49, yet would be happy to keep them at £29.99 if I would sign a new 18 month contract with them. I explained that as a new customer, this felt like extortion. There was nothing they would do to help me, so I have no excercised my right to leave my existing contract due to a change of terms. I've now gone to Sky and got the same fibre deal for £25 a month. A saving of £7.50 a month once BT forced price change comes into effect. Thanks for nothing BT.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bristol BT  
Worse company I've ever dealt with

After 15 years of being with Sky I moved to BT and I have regretted it ever since. Not necessarily the products but they are con artists!!!
I have been stung twice (stupid me) once was I was being charged wrongly for broadband so I called and then said 'yes I can see you have I can change it now'..... Didn't realise that meant tying myself in for 12 months for nothing.

And then same happened with BT sports I called and said on the phone there was a problem they said they can sort it- I replied with 'this isn't going to tie me into anything is it, I've been stung before'...... Got a no and then found out today it did!!!

BT found my call proving this was said by me BUT after the person recited there speel at the end of the call and I said yes to it, I was saying yes to tying myself in...... Couldn't make this stuff up.

What is disgraceful is I have no option to take this further without huge headache and it's not good enough from such a large company.

They should be ashamed of themselves!!!
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Devon BT  
The Indian support is not very good as I cannot always understand what they are saying.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
basingstoke BT  
Having conducted your B/Band speed test i am taken aback by the 193% slower than available to me. I realise that there are quite a few factors to be taken into account and that the advertised download speed is not to be taken at face value however, 193% is, in any subscribers view, unacceptable. What i would like to know is, which ISP controls my local exchange (Lynemouth, Northumberland) as i have tried comparisons, ie; Orange, Talk Talk etc. and find that i can not get their package as advertised because they have to use someone elses system and pass the extra cost on, in order to provide me with B/Band, i suspect BT. To me, this is an anomally as everyone, no matter where they live should be able to get any package that is ADVERTISED. As far as connection is concerned, BT ADVERTISE that they have the best in the land, i say no. The times i have lost my connection is unbelievable compared to when i was with ORANGE aka WANADOO. Help???
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Lynemouth, Northumberland BT  
Speed at best under 4mbps as opposed to the contract of 8mbps. Intermittant performance and various drop outs o occaisions.System needs to be greatly improved before I sign up again.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Tonyrefail BT  
broadband good fast speed etc, TV nothing but problems, keep losing channels and can't retune normal TV eg itv2. Switched from Sky big mistake on my behalf, will be going vacancies January 2018. Only had Bt TV 3 months and had more problems with it than in that time than 20yes with sky.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
La13 BT  
Had a great service until after 2 years with broadband the contract ends and I end up getting charged £50, for 2 months in a row.

It was really nice for BT to tell me the contract would be ending and I would need to give them notice before leave. Absolutely appalling! I would recommend them highly before this happened, but I will not be returning in the future!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Sheffield BT  
My broadband has been fine only issues are with the TV package.
Absolutely horrendous customer service, after them overcharging my account by £70.04 they withheld my money and said they would take it off my bills each month until it was paid back, every month i had to ring to complain as they continued to take money from me, this has went on for 4 months. At every phone call trying to speak to so called managers with unpronounceable names, getting nowhere was very frustrating, also when asking questions and explaining my frustration to be given a number of long silences with no answers adding to my frustration, i think is an appalling way to treat a customer, when asking for a reference number for which i have many off them now after every phone call, he tried to give me a digit less, so when he heard me counting the digits he then repeated the number giving me an extra digit, knowing his mistake. I cannot wait to be out of my contract with them and will not be using them again.
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
burnopfield BT  
Problems with BTMAIL requiring I reset my router (2-3 times a month). Best speed ever 2.8m & worst 1m.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Luddendenfoot BT  
Overall installation was quick and painless. The speed was a great improvement over our old provider and the HH5 performed reasonably well.

However after the first 8 months we have noticed a considerable drop in reliability in our connection to the HH5, we have normally 3 mobiles and 2 pc's connected at once and the router will flat out stop responding for a good few minutes.

Not sure if it is just our device or what, but I have read that this is a problem that happens to this version of the home hub.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northampton BT  
I've been with BT since December 2012. It took them 7 whole months to finally spot and fix the problem with a brand new line. Crackling noises in the voice line, intermittent disconnection in the internet line.

Since 2013 I had to move house twice and obviously had to transfer the service. The whole transition was just a nightmare with the customer service being the worst by far in the planet!

Lately, I requested the existing line to be transferred from my wife's name to mine. They treated that as a new account, had to cancel the existing services, reactivate them under my name. How stupid that is?

And on top of that, they gave me a new phone number; they never have told me that is was part of the procedure (although it was supposed to be just an account holder change) and had to request renumbering after the new phone line activation. That task is supposed to have been completed within 24 hours. 9 days later and 4 live chats with CS, renumbering has not been completed yet.

Conclusively, the service from the technical side of view, once set up correctly by their side, it works fine. But that could take ages with a customer support like this!!!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Essex BT  
I have the highest level of broadband Infinity and the latest Hub 6. The service is very expensive, with prices rising at least twice a year. The broadband drops out whenever ther is the slightest storm, wind or rain. TV advertisements are usually dishonest and deceitful, making outrageous claims as to coverage and reliability. 'Deals' are offered to new customers only with no regard to loyal customers.
Would advise anyone to look elsewhere as BT offer a poor, expensive service with little respect of customer loyalty.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bognor Regis BT  
internet keeps going off when or just after I download films.. was pretty good until it went off on thursday 30 july . I called bt , was on phone for 3 hours on thursday. 4 hours on friday. 3 hours on saturday, 1 hour sun morning. and I just tested my download speed which was 5.09
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
easington colliery BT  
Considering I'm supposed to get around 3.91 and am only getting 2.5max on a good day.The sooner BT puts down cable then maybe the speed would be somewhat faster
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Llanelli BT  
Speed varies by 100% and is low in the late evenings i.e. midnight. The service is expensive and does not offer any significant advantage. Reporting faults can be a long drawn out process often with language difficulties. Especially annoying if you report the same fault several times and know the solution i.e. a reset of the board in the exchange which appears to have a software fault on it causing a lockup. If you want to stay with them and reduce your costs ask for a MAC code. When I did they discounted by 60% provided I signed up for 12 months. I still went ahead and signed up with Sky. Lets see how that goes!!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Ossett BT  
As usual advertised speeds of 8Mb don't even come close to the actual figure of 1Mb even though i am quite close to the exchange. If this god forsaken town had any choice when it came to suppliers I would change without hesitation.
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Whitehead BT  
still very slow but 8 miles from nearest exchange what else can we do?? Take what we are given I suppose
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
rural suffolk BT  
Paying for 76mb and on a good day today n the middle of the night I manage to get 24mb. I do not live in the countryside and two roads down they get 60-80mb. Bt can not explain why this is, they only say the exchange is too far from my house. Really disappointed
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Southall BT  

Loading...

  • 2783 reviews, showing page 6 of 70, skip to page 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk