BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    2.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.9 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 15499 customer ratings since 2018-07-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2838 Customer Reviews for BT

  • Showing page 4 of 71, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
After getting well and truly sick of BT saying 'there is nothing wrong our end' when failing miserabely to resolve the uk's worst broadband ever, I feel this statement really means 'we are still stealing a lot of money out of your bank account and giving you next to nothing in return despite knowing we are breaking our contract'. Our BB keeps dropping every few minutes, can barely stream anything of which in this day and age is a crime given the legitimate streaming services we pay a lot of money for. Yesterday I did a speed test getting 0.7mb but they are charging me for 50mb (nothing wrong our end then eh). After several phone calls and endless tech walkthroughs they literally said there is nothing more they can do and I have their 'refuse' package until July 2019. It sickens me to the core. We have brand new laptops and phones etc and they ALL drop BB frequently (but nothing wrong our end). They even suggested putting a BB signal booster between the BB router and our laptops of which is approximately 5 feet away in direct view? They even suggested hard wiring our laptops so that we have ethernet cables lying all over the living room floor? They make my blood boil and cannot stomach the name BT never mind all the rubbish they spout. Until the day I draw my last breath I will NEVER EVER have their Fisher price equipment in my house again (no offence Fisher price at least your stuff worked!)
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Leicester BT  
Always slower than what you are paying for. Done with BT.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Romford BT  
First off, a one star rating for their reliability and customer service is still an overstatement. We have had issues from the start of joining them and it hasnt got better. The internet is more unreliable than anything, we thought Virgin Media were bad but currently the only thing we can rely on from BT is a lack of help from support and our internet to die. They have come out and replaced our cables as that was apparently the issue but shock horror, we are still suffering and will be without internet in the house over christmas. If you are looking to join BT i would look elsewhere, i think a potato is more reliable.

Back to their support, i contacted them multiple times regarding an issue with the bt app. The first person took 20mins without answering a single question thrn directed me to an "expert". Thr expert then didnt have a clue and when i asked a question he couldnt answer, the chat was disconnected. Their customer service is non existant and if the answer isnt on their script they say they will send an engineer out and then say you may be charged if the fault is our end (last i checked this would still be their issue as they installed exerything)

Avoid, avoid, avoid at all costs unless they buck their ideas up and change their service completely.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aylesbury BT  
It's just so bad!
We have the Infinity package which averages 0.78 Mbps when it works (should be >60), but most of the time it's zero. Be wise, go elsewhere for your broadband.
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
BT  
The most disgusting company in the world
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Longsight BT  
Complained to BT about our Broadband constantly dropping out, each time I did this BT advised me to get a better, faster Deal, a new contract. Now we are paying over £50 a quarter. We tried to end our Contract and were advised we had to pay £216 if we pulled out. We still loose connection from time to time and BT say they don't guarantee constant connection. They said, "Complaining on social media can be effective" lol check out Facebook posts, EFFECTIVE? Are you kidding? We have been bludgeoned into paying more and more each time we have complained, by telling us to upgrade to this and that, and I'm sure we are not alone? Did this ever happen to YOU? We had an Openreach engineer sent out to our home to fix the fault by BT? Great he found out what was wrong, fixed the problem. All good then? No. The engineer went out to his Openreach Vehicle and filled in his report stating No problems found? WHY? Because BT-Openreach would get away with paying Compensation to Customers if the report states this. BT allowed this, turned a blind eye. Now today if the Engineer finds a fault in your home you have to pay a fee of £75. Is that the same TRUSTED Engineer from OPENREACH sent out by BT? Yes it is.
I've spoken to BT today asking them to change over my account to my wife's name as my health is deteriorating and it would be less stress later on. I have also asked for a lesser cost contract £29.99 for 18 months. As advertised on TV, But they refused.After 50 years being with BT. My Advice to all that want a phone-broadband etc, stay well clear of BT. you will not be disappointed.
michael n Betty lewendon
ps
Were you or your family, or Buisness treated with the same Scam-Con, by BT- Openreach to deny Thousands of Customers Compensation? BT-Openreach must have all the Engineers reports, Was your fault report same as ours? Lies, Ofcom UK media watchdog, have they been informed about this pratice?
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
READING BT  
Several weeks ago I reported problems with my router, far from the three days as promised on the adverts, I am still waiting. Every time I speak to BT customer service they assure me that they have placed an order for one to be sent, each time I check my order History and nothing has been sent. My complaint has been escalated to the highest level and was given final assurances that my new router has been sent, but the same thing has happened again. Please avoid BT at all costs.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bristol BT  
Avoid avoid avoid. Can't believe how disappointed I am. Ordered the service on 29/11. Was supposed to be active 6/12. Nothing happened and I called the customer service. They said the engineer made a mistake and it will be activated 11/12. Nothing happened. Called the customer service and they said the engineer is rescheduled for 16/11. Northing happened. Same stuff happened again and the next "activation date" is 19/11. Bt has one job and that is to turn my broadband on. They have failed to do that simple task for 3 weeks now. I would never recommend anyone to change their service to BT.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London BT  
Unbelievable. Broadband speed is awful. BT don’t guarantee speed of WiFi in my house only wired connection. BT TV hasn’t been working for 3 months. They will only send out an engineer only if I agree to pay £85 if the fault is in my house? Don’t trust them! Poor poor service!! I was with Sky for 10 years. Not one problem. No one.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Epsom Surrey BT  
Not recommended customer service non existent ,service not fir for purpose. Happy to take 43.00 per month and offer a new package ,for no internet
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Juniper hill BT  
Do not use this service. I have been locked in a contract for 24 months now and cant wait to leave. Monthly prices have been upped 4 or 5 times during this time and I now pay almost £50 for a broadband only service. Never again
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
Chippenham BT  
The worst service I have ever been in contact with. Booked an installation, took a day off work and no-one turned up. BT told me the engineer came at 3.30pm but I was waiting all day, so basically a lie. I re-booked for another day and called BT twice to make sure they would come, they told me on both occasions that someone would definitely attend this afternoon. Called them a third time and BT said that the appointment was changed for the next day, without bloody telling me. I cancelled straight away, I am not paying some muggy company my hard earned cash even and this is even before the initial installations.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
London BT  
LN12DF, Paid for 60mb-80mb Broadband but actually receiving constant 29.3-29.5mb, and there has been no Dial Tone since Friday on landline!. This is paid for BT Broadband Super Fast Fibre II: and this a breach of contract since Friday 07/12/2018. Hope anyone working for the Telecom Regulators, Ofcom read this. Now on telephone line: 0800 800 150 and usual BS about sending out an engineer and a callout FEE. Same script different day.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lincoln BT  
crap sevicie for cusmomore support
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
manchester BT  
I have been having issues with the router since mid October, contacted BT on numerous occassions, speaking most of the time to rude staff who were sending me instructions for hub 5 or smart hub while I have got hub 4! They were aware as they had asked before. Asking me to split connection, etc. Ended up with having 3 engineers who ordered new hub for me. It didn't arrive so I contacted them, they don't know anything about it! Once it arrived, the speed has dropped so complained again, then they sent me some texts and asked to reply what would cost me extra money. In addition, on one occassion I asked when my broadband contract would expire, lady told me the 4th of January. I rang them at the beginning of December to cancel, I was told that line rental contract expires on that day, broadband contract in July. So lazy! Honestly, I'm fuming, never had such bad issues with Sky or Virgin. I can't wait the contract to be finished!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Manchester BT  
I though Virgin media was bad but god damn ! BT sucksssssss just like the guy below stated no BT internet and its been 3 weeks that the board band box arrived.
Called emailed chatted about 10-15 times to only get a email of a manger who said ''To help with your query please call BT on : 0800 800 150.

Sorry we cant help on this query.''

Damn need to start listening to reviews !! Virgin medai was bad for me but BT! I didn't even get to try it. sorry im leaving.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
hampshire BT  
Absolutely disgusting customer servive my service shouldv been activated on 19th november 2018 its now the 11th december 2018 and its still not on iv complained numerous times no responce my case is at level 3 complained case but aint seen no change and the lack of communication is disgusting iv requested my order to be cancelled still not done iv requested that 4 or 5 times if your thinking of joining think twice
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wolverhampton BT  
Annoyed that BT do hard credit searches when your just enquiring about the date/ cost of broadband and don’t go through with the order.

They should let you know
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh BT  
BT custemer for phone many years and broadband for a few years. Switch to Fibre but had 9 days without broadband due line not set up. First person claim ethernet cable and would take 5 works to receive this to sort problem which was wrong and needed engineer. 6 days after second person said engineer required. spoke to rude line manager offer £10 as complaint. then tried to charge £85 for the engineer which was the incorrect as previous showed under £50. finally had engineer solve broadband and he confirmed normally no charge for fibre set up. spoke to second link manager about complaint again poor service and like previous manager lied about complaint service at BT. not all staff are bad as previously spoken to other members in other offices and ok. Broadband staff are just poor at everything. BT just rubbish and I would never use them again
Surrey BT  
If you plan switching to BT, beware they would cut your existing broadband service on Friday morning and leave you whole weekend and bank holiday without Internet connection - which has happened to me. And they won't give you any compensation either. What they boasted "Switching today, connected tomorrow" is totally ******** and lie. BE CAREFUL!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Croydon BT  
They are FULL OF ****.
Besides the fact that they actually have speed drops constantly, their internet crashes on a weekly basis, super expensive and ling their asses off.
On their superfiber page they lie about Virgin Media which was the best and fastest internet provider in UK for a long time and they will be the best stil.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Slough BT  
I bought a BT broadband in 2016 and then renewd on 17.In 2018 when i was getting a problem with their speed download/upload speed and worst customer service experience ever i had in life, decide to change my provider spoken to BT few times about my last day of ending contract and so on. after switching provider (in process)after few days later received an email from BT stating that i need to pay £86 for cancallation fee due to i am in contract with them till 2019. So i contacted BT customer service lady doesn't know what she is talking about and all the time TRYING to selling me BT package in a different ways. which i said NO for any package after waiting 45 min over the phone, customer service lady mentioned me i had renew my contract in arpil 18 for next 12 month contract. which i was completely disagreed with her as why would i will buy a new contract when i am already in contract and new contract is more expensive then old contract thirdly i had not received any emails or notifcation that about new contract or switching to new contract.
I also mentioned about previous conversation with BT customer service agent which they had confirmed me my last date of ending contract in nov 18.
Honeslty after spending 3 weeks talking to them its feel like on these customer service is Dumb, and stupid which doesn't understand as well as no communication with each other.
IF this case not resolve here i will take it to MANAGING DIRECTOR and THEN COURT.
Piss taker BT. Stay away from these morons.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
dartford BT  
Following resetting of an e-mail password by an Indian call centre techie my e-mail stopped working. A quick call to 150 got me to Ireland where I was fed a line of utter BS yet promised a call back by an expert at a set time.

The duly appointed time came and went and was exceeded by two hours when a call mysteriously came through on my mobile - which I wasn't expecting. Unfortunately the call rang out. Ringing 150 again I was told that there was nothing that could be done, India would ring me again when they were able, they could not define a fixed time. Realising I was beaten, I hung up, did a quick internet search to find out how to complain.

Yet another phone number and another wait for 15 mins for it to be answered by an abrasive woman from the "Billing" team who couldn't help me and was totally disinterested. When I asked why a member of Billing was answering a complaint call I was told we ALL answer complaints. It's nice to know that your complaint call is not going to a dedicated team but just some disinterested staff member who couldn't give a toss quite safely with no redress. I was told that things were the way they were and I would have to wait. The reason I was contacted by my associated mobile was because there was a fault with my landline - curious that - as I was talking to the hapless BT Billing bint by..... the supposedly faulty landline!!!!!!!

Well, I am still waiting but I haven't been idle. After 20 years of being a loyal BT customer and after three abortive, painful and stilted calls with Indian customer service within that time period, I have finally had enough. I will be swapping to Plus Net who curiously enough despite their BT links offer a 30% cheaper equivalent package with call and tech support centres in .... Sheffield and Leeds and with an award winning customer service group to boot..

My opinion of BT is that it doesn't matter how long you have been with them, customer loyalty counts for nothing, they just don't give a ****... and are an unmitigated, 24 karat shower of utter ordure and that is being polite.

My advice, is to other disaffected customers is to vote with your feet and secure a better service at a more competitive price. - just like me.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
BT  
Worst internet I’ve ever experienced in my life.
Slowest speeds, disconnecting constantly, the worst customer service, engineers seem to continually miss appointments and they give you, wait for it a whole ..... £10 as compensation!! Not like I’ve taken days off unpaid to sit and wait for them not to turn up so £10 doesn’t really come close!
I’m moving in 6 days time and can not wait to never ever have to hear the name BT ever again!
I’m paying for fibre optic broadband and get a whole 4 mb download speed, IF IM LUCKY.
I can not describe how angry it makes me when I’m half way through a game or watching a film and boom it’s gone.
Do yourselves a favour, never go near BT for anything, EVER.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Swansea BT  
BT are rubbish. Decided to use two cans and some string. Send message by pigeon was much faster . Don't call them for advise as will bring out a side of you you did not know was in you. I turned into a monster because they are robot's spuying out pointless tech advise you have tried before you called them .charge you a fortune to tell you to switch it off and on again.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kent countryside BT  
the greed is pathetic.went from £29 to£58 after 18 months.I don't know why they treat you as a mug while giving new customers a great deal.anyhow have switched to talk talk for £20.its up to us to leave after 1st contract ends.its dead easy,your new supplier does all the work
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
MIDLOTHIAN BT  
Get pushed from pillar to post, don't actually get factual answers, rude customer services, and now ain't even answering the phone, internet issues for nearly a week now. Been on phone for half hour and pay £44 for the previlege. Not a happy customer sort it out.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Taunton BT  
This company is shocking I moved into my new home and gave 2 weeks notice to BT that I was moving. I spoke to home move team who explained I will be getting my hub posted and a engineer was booked also, I was happy with that set up.

On the day of the new hub arriving I rang to find out what time they were turning up. This is where the problems started. I was calling the customers services team they did not recognise i had moved and could not find the information regarding any engineers or Wi-Fi hub being sent then they cut me off.

I rang again and that person also said the same thing. I called up a 3rd time and they found my details without any problems? I was then told I would have to wait, 3 more weeks with no phone, WiFi or TV.

I made a complaint 1 week ago but have heard nothing back from them. They are the worse company I have dealt with, they lie and tell you stuff that is not true. The funny thing I have texts and email confirming it all.

I have no choice but to use these jokers I will be emailing the onbusman, and telling everyone because they want to ignore me.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Silverstone BT  
Not even worth one star absolute disgrace set dates for activation no engineer comes they continually have messed order up cancelled and re ordered apparently that’s their process for me has happened four times in a month and with that comes another arrival of new equipment and their bill. I have been left lots of equipment I can’t use and been without broad band service for over a month just received another delay confirmed today . if u wise avoid bt and go elsewere
Northern iteland BT  
Absolutely shocking, would not recommend to anyone, waited nearly a month for connection still waiting, was told if I cancel and go to another provider that everyone goes through open reach and I would start all over again and would end up waiting longer, guess what a week after that get a call from bt saying they have cancelled my order by mistake and guess what got to start again, wished I'd gone elsewhere, it's more like customer we don't care.
Shavington Crewe BT  
Terrible customer service. Needed to switch to a new account after other flatmate moved out but we were already using BT. They had no problem turning off our broadband but haven't set up a new connection. Get fobbed off every time I call with no one taking action or accountability to see our problem to resolution. I have to call every time and explain the problem and then get connected through to a different person where I have to explain again. Would never have gone with them if I had read the reviews first.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London BT  
This is a terrible service. Slow speed, dropouts, OMG this is so bad.
Do not sign up with these guys.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
DORSET BT  
Worst experience of my whole business career. I don’t want to go into deatil as I simply don’t want to waste anymore time. Ended up costing my company thousands. Find another supplier for business phone and broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ayr BT  
Absolutely disgusted with BT! Have cancelled service within 14day cooling off period because they have failed to instal my new phone line and broadband on 2 occasions and failed to send engineer despite promising a visit todaySpent hours and talked to many agents on phone to no avail so have cancelled the service.BT are utter rubbish and I advise you to avoid them like the plague!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Croydon BT  
Fixed price contract is very expensive compared to current deals Nil response from customer service
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
cuffley BT  
Ridiculous WiFi, slow speeds paying for 50 barely getting 10mb/s , poor connection issues, says it’s connected but no internet , download speeds are better in potato than their hubs and you’d get better customer service from a lamppost than one of their staff keeping you on hold through till your mid 20’s
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Smith BT  
horrible customer service. kept me at home all day just to inform me that the engineer has postponed the visit to tomorrow on his own! while the system still gave today's date and sent confirmations on the arrival of the engineer. customer service has no idea and just apologizes. worst provider ever. don't even think of trusting BT. they will screw you over their monopoly position over and over.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
london BT  
I've never left a review for a company before so I think that says enough. I would advise anyone to leave BT alone. Absolute crooks. Increase the price whenever they choose. Always make everything in their favour. They charge you for everything. Tell you that you can't cancel till they say pretty much even though they know my internet is faulty. The TV service is dreadful and about 20 years behind sky. When you phone you'll be passed around departments for fun. Please avoid them. Price started at £45 a month then shortly into my contract they upped it to £53 because they can! Oh and we had a month of trouble 18 months ago with the 4k box as well. Will not miss them. Got to wait another month till I'm free. Never again will I gone with BT.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Yorkshire BT  
I bought a broadband in London from BT in order to get some wifi. It took me more than two months, and 6 engineer visits, wich 4 never showed up. I still don't have wifi by this time, and when you cal service, they'll find excuses for all of this, by saying that it's not their fault, when it is.
You will be also the one in charge of pushing them to work, will need to call them every day for over a month period of time asking them info about all of this.
DO NOT get bt, if you don't want to spend a lot of useless time to useless service.
London BT  
The worst provider I've ever been with. The connection always goes down, is ridiculously slower than what I was told I would get when it does work, and they were 2 weeks late installing it. Couldn't hate a company more!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Carlisle BT  

Loading...

  • 2838 reviews, showing page 4 of 71, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk